New Ford Mondeo unveiled

Ford’s new Ford Mondeo will debut at the 2007 Geneva Motor show, in it’s three forms, 4-door sedan, 5-door hatch as well as the estate variant. Ford says this is probably Ford’s most elegant and technologically advanced car they’ve ever launched, and it is a very important car for Ford’s new line-up.

Standard equipment for the new 2007 Ford Mondeo include ESP stability control, a Thatcham Cat 1 alarm system, follow-me-home lights, a trip computer and an auxillary socket for connecting your MP3 players. The Ford Mondeo will also feature Ford’s new Easyfuel capless fuel filler with fuel inhibitor to prevent the car from being refueled with the wrong fuel.

The interior has a classy piano black styling, and thanks to it’s high beltline, feels more upmarket and gives the occupants a more cosseted feel. Ford has also ensured plastics are soft touch. There are four different trim levels, the basic Zetec series, a mid-range Edge trim targetted at business and family needs, and two top of the line trims: Ghia and Titanium X.

The 2007 Ford Mondeo will go on sale in June 2007.

New Ford Mondeo unveiled

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 2:27 am

Finally, it's been launched… I really like the looks of this new Mondeo, looks so "un-Ford"-like… Cool.

• happymeal (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 2:45 am

those aircond vents looks tiny… doesnt seem to suit the theme of the car. angular everywhere..suddnely got tiny airvents. but if they kept the overly large oval focus design, then it looks like a part-sharing programme…hehe

and the centre console looks like something from the koreans, hmmm.. looks great from the outside though. y the hidden tailpipe?!?!?

• transformer (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 3:06 am

Wish our bolehland tax barrier able to invite this great car here!

But not at this moment……..

• Mayonaise (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 3:09 am

^ You're right, Ford Asia Regional won't allow Ford M'sia to bring this car in becoz Ford M'sia is having trouble clearing off 2005-2006 excess stocks.

One insider told me that there's still 300+ units of Ford Vehicles left unsold.

• mattyboy (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 3:34 am

Mayonaise

I can well believe that, I was in a Ford Showroom at the weekend and was offered 20k discount on a Focus 2.0s without really showing much interest. Dread to think of the impact on future value that such heavy discounting will have. I think there seems to be a fear and/or lack of trust in Asia on non premium European cars. There is no reason the new Mondeo couldn't go head to head with the Accord/Camry here on price but who (apart from me lol) would buy it??

• Zongtwi a.k.a Speed (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 3:43 am

so much for the much touted iosis concept as the new mondeo…hampeh. the iosis concept looked such an amazing car. what a waste…would definitely watch this space if ford actually has the balls to make a production model of that one.

• shooter (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 3:43 am

a very handsome bread-n-butter car (for the rest of the world at least) indeed. In an egilatarian market ( unlike ours), i see no reason for this ford not to be a success. is that a 6 speed shifter i see?

• mystvearn (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 4:15 am

James bond debut this few months ago :D

• protonGL (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 4:25 am

i know ford try harder. from the rear looks like try to put the best of everything on one piece of car, a little too busy i think, over style maybe …but nothing is wrong with that,

• normal_user (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 4:55 am

Ford is not that popular here maybe because of the perception that its spare parts are hard to get and expensive. The focus is european engineered and many doesn't realize that its driving dynamics are superior than its japanese counterparts. People are judging cars based on their looks and popularity on the road. Its the perception and mindset of the car buyers that should be changed. Poor ford.

• albagmane (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 5:23 am

hmm… the multimeter display seems to be a head turner… but i think the rear seems to be unmatched with the front…

• BrakeFader (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 5:49 am

This is an upmarket car which tries to have its own sporty appeal, like Mazda 6. The rear lights look odd. Like trying to act cute with that ^=^ eyes.

Nice car but I would think this would be heavily overpriced compared to other counterparts. Touching 200K maybe? I always have an impression that Ford is overpriced compared to its competitors but service wise is top notch. So its up to buyers on what they want to prioritise.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 6:45 am

To normal_user,

Whoever thinks that Ford parts are hard to get and expensive are obviously morons who couldn't care less about cars. Toyota parts are bloody expensive and I don't see any of them complaining (maybe most of them own a Toyota and are too embarassed to admit that their cars are actually not as reliable as a Mazda, and spare parts are expensive… LOL).

• acbc (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 7:01 am

Wow… looks better than the current fugly Honda Accord! :)

• e-nabilll (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 7:19 am

its gonna sell n sell , the mondeo is an iconic car in europe…reliable and inexpensive….thats y alot of ppl bought and it and its offered in so many variants and engine types….looks ok ..the rear looks like the new lancer…very out of place…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 7:28 am

Mondeo is for European market. I don't think it will be market in Malaysia. What I know last time is it is same class and similar pricing with Waja in UK!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 7:29 am

But this new model look solid like BMW 3 series!

• w_lighter (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 8:56 am

Is it just me or does that car hav a hint in every corner of the new lancer X???

• Mayonaise (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 9:07 am

To Jeff Ooi:

The Mondeo is a Ford's "World Car", meaning it's available worldwide. Hong Kong , Thailand, Taiwan, Japan, China, Singapore, etc. will be selling the Mondeo. We in M'sia can't get it becoz of Ford M'sia's screw ups. Read my previous posts.

• Charger (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 9:42 am

BrakeFader: I always have an impression that Ford is overpriced compared to its competitors.

Try comparing prices between CBU Ford Focus against CKD Honda Civic. Which is overprice, huh?

• redwings (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 11:09 am

This is all because of the taxation issue on the CBU cars by our Bolehland…

I read What's Car magazine, Ford Focus was lower graded than Toyota Corolla and Honda Civic…(reliability, quality and etc)

Infact, Ford Focus is cheaper than the other 2 rivals in UK..

Ford Focus is matching with the rivals such as Renault Megane and Vauxhall Astra..

Sorry, just a comment…

• BrakeFader (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 4:52 pm

Charger, I won't put the Focus and Civic on the same level although they are having the same price tag range. As Ford's Malaysia's only entry level sedan, RM110K is too high.

I've seen the Focus in flesh and if you ask me to make a choice between Civic and Focus, I will surely go for the Civic.

Yes, you can blame it on CBU taxation.

• waimak (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 4:57 pm

Very compact and sporty, but one thing I cant get rid of my mind is that 'heavy' rear bumper look. I have the same feeling with the current focus too..

• RM (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 5:14 pm

Looks decent. Many will buy based on looks alone.

• khimfoh (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 5:18 pm

The rear of the new Mondeo looks kinda out-of-place with the overall exterior design of the car. What are the engine displacements of the new Mondeo ?

• Mayonaise (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 7:21 pm

To BrakeFader:

Actually, the Focus 1.8 is not an entry level model. It's in Ghia trim, which is pretty top of the line in Ford's language.

If you really want to compare prices between a Civic 2.0 and a Focus 2.0S, the Civic is overpriced. Civic 2.0 is priced at RM121,392.10 and Focus 2.0S is RM121,388.00 (both OTR without insurance). Let's not forget that Civic is CKD.

• funbox (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 10:12 pm

To Mayonaise,

Focus is a CBU from Philiphine, after taking the 80% import duty, definitely Civic CKD is more value for money. So, which is being overpriced??? U need to compare apple to apple, not apple to orange.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 10:40 pm

Funbox:

Ok, next time I'll compare a Civic to a Civic and a Focus to a Focus based on your Apple and Orange concept.

• deliciousbeethoven (Member) on Feb 12, 2007 at 11:03 pm

Whats the big deal about the Easyfuel capless fuel filler? My 4 year old Renault Scenic has one, and starts with the key still in my pocket – something Toyota is pretending they invented on the new Aurius.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Feb 13, 2007 at 12:11 am

Cehhh, macam rupa G2 saja……if only the interior is of the same quality

US cars….hmmmm, cant sell anywhere………

i'll give 2 out of 5 stars………

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Feb 13, 2007 at 12:34 am

what is the "follow me home light'?

first encounter with Fiat Panda but forgot what the salesman explained.

• Mayonaise (Member) on Feb 13, 2007 at 1:35 am

To mycar_stolen:

Maybe it's something like what Mater mentioned in the Pixar movie, Cars, "It's the Ghostlight!!" LOL

• mitlanevo (Member) on Feb 13, 2007 at 1:37 am

blah blah blah, blah blah blah, and keep on blah blah blah non stop……

I don't give a damn at all, this is a very nice car, hope to see this Mondeo in our country…..

• Cire (Member) on Feb 13, 2007 at 2:35 am

Looks a bit like the Evo for the front, bimmer on the side fender signal, and a bit Audish on the rear waistline, and a bit Volvo like at other angle of view.

This car looks like it have been designed by a team of people from various brands they designed before.

Yup, the tail appearance looks busy, and the sudden white off mosaic tail light looks out of place.

Interior, quite blend and unelegant, probably its a driver's car. More on brute power perhaps?

The wheel arches seems to be a tad overdone. Too muscular look, like its just being injected with botox, puffy and smooth. If they could just trim it a bit narrow instead of the wide screaming arches, it would fit in nicely with the wheels adorned.

• AMG (Member) on Feb 13, 2007 at 3:14 am

Front end look like Iosis

• mattyboy (Member) on Feb 13, 2007 at 3:26 am

Mayonaise – I thank you for been the only other voice of reason here and preventing me from pulling my hair out (what little I have left).

But all the "it looks a bit like this mixed with that and a hint of the other, no, no, don't forgot a smidge of that too" GUYS, its a CAR, a regular saloon (sorry sedan, forgot we are not in UK) so it is going to look more than a but like other sedan CARS lmfao.

A bit like the apple and orange looking the same becuase they are both round!!

• deliciousbeethoven (Member) on Feb 13, 2007 at 3:51 am

Follow-me home lights – useful when you get home at night. The lights stay on for about 10 seconds or so leaving you enough time to get to your from door.

I don't know why this is suddenly a selling point. I got then on my 4 year Renault Scenic – it has got a Easyfuel capless fuel filler and no-key ignition (will start, or can open locked doors with the key in my pocket)

• sudha (Member) on Feb 13, 2007 at 5:14 am

Ooh! Blimey!

This is one cool car….given a choice between the mazda 6 and this, i would take the Mondeo.

Ford cars used to be so popular in Malaysia at one time…cars were selling like hot cakes until the protons came and flooded the market.

chances of the Mondeo coming in at affordable pricing is highly unlike …get ready to see some grey imports.

• funbox (Member) on Feb 13, 2007 at 6:57 am

Mayonaise:

To compare veh price, it would be fair to compare a CBU with CBU, not with a CKD, unless to do specs comparison.

• iamamonkey (Member) on Feb 13, 2007 at 6:58 am

Zongtwi,

Nice to see you back here bro.

I like the new Mondeo, but i think the wheels are too small. Kindda like a body builder with small legs…and the rims are ugly!

• zanggief (Member) on Feb 13, 2007 at 8:14 am

Is tat sibling with mazda6 or volvo s60..? Do this model will be manufacture in the Philipine or Thailand plant…

• redwings (Member) on Feb 13, 2007 at 11:36 am

Sudha,

This is the 2007 brand new Ford Mondeo, and your are comparing with the 2002 Mazda 6… seem not a fair judgement..

Wait until you see the 2008 brand new Mazda 6…

Although, the current Mazda 6 is already 5 years old, this beauty still got the nice and sporty looks..Cheers..

• Charger (Member) on Feb 13, 2007 at 4:28 pm

To fellow BrakeFader, Mayonaise, funbox.

Let's take our discussion to the forum:
    http://paultan.org/forum/index.php/topic,177.0.ht…

• normal_user (Member) on Feb 13, 2007 at 10:41 pm

Its hard to do car comparison in Malaysia since the tax structure is not fair for the consumers. Remember the Autocar test comparison between Corolla Altis, Hyundai Sonata & Peugeot 307 somewhere in 2005? The price are similar but the categories are different. Its not even comparable actually.

Mmm I think my previous remark that the Ford brand is not popular here is inaccurate since its trucks sold quite well. Its the saloon which is having problem of selling well due to the common perception. My wish is that the Focus will bring back the era of ford cult followers (like the Escort & TX3 era). *Sigh*

• touchRMgo (Member) on Jun 07, 2008 at 5:49 am

:-) Got the MONDEO 3 days ago & loves every cm of it. This is the 2nd Ford I ever love at 1st sight after the 1982 3.3liter Mustang I used before. Other than this two, Mazda is always the better version of the rebadged engineering Japanese Fords. Somehow this Mondeo is a Japanessless original.

Cire said, (February 12, 2007 @ 6:35 pm)

“Looks a bit like the Evo for the front, bimmer on the side fender signal, and a bit Audish on the rear waistline, and a bit Volvo like at other angle of view.
    This car looks like it have been designed by a team of people from various brands they designed before.”

Ford owns, including the stylers & engineers team of Volvo, Jaguar, LandRover, Mazda, Mercury & Lincoln and only recently the Indian TATA Group aquired Jaguar & LandRover. Its like Lotus who worked for their owner Proton for the recent bunch of models.

• touchRMgo (Member) on Jun 07, 2008 at 5:53 am

:-) Got the MONDEO 3 days ago & loves every cm of it. This is the 2nd Ford I ever love-at-1st-sight & owned after the 1982 3.3liter Mustang. Other than this two, Mazda is always the better version of the rebadged engineering Japanese Fords. Somehow this Mondeo is a Japanessless original built in Belgium.

Cire said, (February 12, 2007 @ 6:35 pm)

“Looks a bit like the Evo for the front, bimmer on the side fender signal, and a bit Audish on the rear waistline, and a bit Volvo like at other angle of view.
    This car looks like it have been designed by a team of people from various brands they designed before.”

Won’t blame you for that Cire. Ford owns, including the stylers & engineers team of Volvo, Jaguar, LandRover, Mazda, Mercury & Lincoln and only recently the Indian TATA Group aquired Jaguar & LandRover. Its like Lotus who worked for their owner Proton for the recent bunch of models.