Najib: APs issued for cars stuck at port

najib_tulan.jpgThe government has shed some light on why new APs were issued when previously it was decided that APs for tune-up cars shall not be issued.

Apparently, these APs are for cars already brought into the country and are sitting around taking up space at ports around the country. These cars were brought in by the importers and they just assumed they would be able to get APs for them, and the decision to stop issuing APs for tune-up cars took them by surprise.

In light of this, the special committee that handles AP approvals decided to issue APs specifically only for these cars, and not anymore new ones. Datuk Seri Najib assured after this no new APs would be issued. So now we know the special reason Pak Lah mentioned.

New Open APs and Wald APs issued

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 8:55 am

WTF! Don’t let us think we are stupid ppl! When the car are imported into this country they already needed AP. You say that these cars on the port are without AP’s! Those are smaggurled cars to me! If they don’t have AP’s sent it back! Or sell it to other countries why us! U bloody hell of greed! If not of any $$$ into your pocket! I think you will just abandoned it! What importers believe it to sent? Kanasai reasons! Is just black and white + $$$ u need to get those cars into our countries! Dont tell me in this advance world you cant call or sent an e-mail to cancel the order! This is worst… What in hell will they realize that they are making this Malaysia worst.. Now everyone in the world knew Malaysian are money minded! Even BPR is just a puppet show to the citizens!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 2:17 pm

If you have a Half Past Six G, you will definately having Half Past Six News.

Special AP,…..What a JOKE, AP is already Special case of special, now add another so called SPECIAL APs……OMG!

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 2:18 pm

Najis and ABB should studied in details before making any SPECIAL reasons and Conditions……Malaysia Mana Boleh.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 3:15 pm

Won't be long until someone "whooops" sorry boss. Terorder tune up cars. Stuck at port. Then are we gonna bring all the knights of the special committee rounds table to issue special APs?

• J (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 4:54 pm

sure issue "extra" one la :)

• J (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 5:24 pm

Littlefire has become "Bigfire"…

Cool down my friend :)

They always treat us like "3-year-old" kids as usual.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 5:44 pm

So this means those car are old…. rusty already already too!

• kendo (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 6:11 pm

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/20…
    yeah, or else,

how are these cronies gonna survive!

and pocket the 30% goodies into their private pocket, easy way.

• kendo (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 6:13 pm

salesmen said Camry is in a long waiting list,

6 mths,

as they are plenty ready in thailand,

because NO enough APs allowed!!!!!!!!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 7:06 pm

Apparently, these APs are for cars already brought into the country and are sitting around taking up space at ports around the country. These cars were brought in by the importers and they just assumed they would be able to get APs for them, and the decision to stop issuing APs for tune-up cars took them by surprise.

———–

The custom department should seize the vehicle at Port Klang, instead of issues AP to them. Those involved in this biz should well known on the procedure! And the custom dept should auction these vehicles at its Kelana Jaya office as previously done!

To assume get APs after import theses cars? Huh, just like smugller assume they can smuggle through the border, but if get caught, they should deal with the law, not "close-one-eye" or "legalize" their activities by extend "special reason" to them!

• KY (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 7:08 pm

this whole AP nonsense need to be stopped

• kevyeoh (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 8:14 pm

*yawn*… no comment…

• kendo (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 8:19 pm

too many dirts in this land,

no one want to open the pandora box",

only a total reform and change of goverment

will save this land,

like what happened to KOREA, French (1950s).

• xXx (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 9:47 pm

@$$-heads. Special AP my ballz. Bloody money sucking vermins.

• mofo (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 10:42 pm

You're asking too much !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Buying car, pay tax

Go Mc Donald, pay tax

Go work, pay tolls

Buy 4D, pay tax

Use phone, pay tax

Average p/m paying up to few hundreds to blood sucker. Still not enough, can you guys think about it. WE'RE NOT KIDS, we know how to calculate. It's our money, use it wisely. Poor management/decision, you won't suffer only us feel "the pain of our wallet"

Take our money use it to benefit us NOT YOU. Worth than Ah Long

Drop the AP craps.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 11, 2007 at 11:03 pm

Go buy this book :" Malaysia and the club of doom."

By Syed Akbar.

• noAP4u (Member) on Mar 12, 2007 at 2:19 am

Hmm… I can see where this is headed as far as law enforcement by our gomen is concerned: whenever anyone breaks the law, just retrospectively legalise that specific act. After all, Malaysia Boleh!

For example, if a VCD pirate gets raided next time around, we can probably expect the authorities to just say, "You just pay the royalty lah, and we'll consider it even."

You think the gomen wouldn't, if they can bloody get away with it? They can't, because of the pressure from them Amerikans!!

• haroldz (Member) on Mar 12, 2007 at 3:39 am

There is nothing y'all can do.

ur vote mean anything to me.

I am d LAW n G here.

What?! What cha gonna do?

Go loyar buruk at kedai mamak n eat maggi.

Ur words of criticism cant dethroned me.

cos i am d LAW n G here

and APs r here 2 stay..

words………!!!

G lied to rakyat again.

spesel frenz n relatives were awarded APs.

wot Malaysian goin 2 do?

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 12, 2007 at 4:33 am

Like this, all those AP companies just bring the cars-and "store" it at the port. No need to rent extra space for placing the cars. Then wait few months so that the G gives "Spesel" permit, couple with those who approve get 1 hyper tuned car. Corrupt till the end.

• Cire (Member) on Mar 12, 2007 at 4:08 pm

Probably there's something else that have prompted this move. Maybe someone else is getting more than special treatment, and to square this off with the "crooks", the G come out with this "legal" idea of special AP issuance for cars "imported" in without APs.

Such short explaination does arouse the gen.public to think nothing but bad about the whole idea. The dragon lady is even worse. Pushing all the responsibilities to the AP commitees, claiming innocent on the matter.

Very lacking of transparencies here. Plah's word of fighting corruption and a more transparent G, is all but talk only.

• I my (Member) on Mar 12, 2007 at 5:26 pm

Take out the APs. Open the market ASAP & catch up w/ other countries or car makers.

• ganz (Member) on Mar 12, 2007 at 6:23 pm

muahahaha…. who dare enough to challange the Government??? what ever they do.. they will do it… for the aske of their own

• I my (Member) on Mar 12, 2007 at 7:25 pm

Also why must use depend "only" on the automotive as our no.1 economy, we must have more then 1 output, am I right?

• protonsucks (Member) on Mar 12, 2007 at 7:44 pm

Hei Datuk deputy PM, you think we rakyat all kids huh?? but i know its not your faults to think that we rakyat are all stupid and brainless. Its because all the people working around you are stupid and brainless but damn greedy. So you think we rakyat also like tat.

• xg9 (Member) on Mar 12, 2007 at 8:00 pm

look at that face.. lol… Najis LOL

• ckengyo (Member) on Mar 12, 2007 at 8:22 pm

still didn't answer the question: y ap r still asking around 2 sell at 30-50k per piece?

• whodz (Member) on Mar 12, 2007 at 10:24 pm

3,000 APs? Damn rich if you are AP taiko..Special reason for what?for try to find extra income for next election?

• osh_kosh (Member) on Mar 12, 2007 at 11:14 pm

cheers… now we know what the 'special" reason is… :)

yeah… really special indeed… can't argue with that

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 13, 2007 at 1:08 pm

What the useless and greedy gov we have!!!

Stop sucking money from us anymore, you useless and greedy gov!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 13, 2007 at 9:13 pm

AP Kings suck!

• respolins79 (Member) on Mar 14, 2007 at 2:14 pm

the government will never stop all these AP kings from obtaining new AP. recently one of so called AP holder brought in many reconditioned superbikes from japan. another shipment will arrived april 2007 for many units of recond sport touring bikes,yet the prices are still so expensive….although it is a recond bike…

• respolins79 (Member) on Mar 14, 2007 at 2:20 pm

according to japanese and malaysian trade agreement 2006,CKD cars like honda civic and accord 2.0 will not be imposed on export and tax duty…am i right paul?so come the prices are still expensive?????can u explain paul?

• osh_kosh (Member) on Mar 14, 2007 at 9:24 pm

:)