Proton Updates in Indonesia

Proton says it has managed to position itself in the top three spot in Indonesia’s taxi market, outselling other brands in a taxi market dominated by Toyota and Hyundai. This may be a case of marketing spin here, if the market’s number one and number two is Toyota and Hyundai, this means Proton has slotted itself as number three. Does anyone know who is number four?

Proton’s Proton Wira taxis for the Indonesian market are currently imported as CBU fully assembled models from Proton’s Shah Alam plant. CKD assembly will begin soon. 600 have been delivered so far to taxi operators in Pekan Baru and Jakarta. Proton also has another 1,500 orders at hand. Indonesia’s taxi market is estimated at 22,000 units a year, out of a total industry volume of 300,000 cars.

Proton is also considering CKD assembly of the Proton Savvy and Proton Gen2 if sales go well. Proton has just introduced the two cars into the Indonesian market as it’s passenger car offering. The Wira is for taxi usage only. The Savvy will go for 95 million ruppiah, or roughly RM36,166. The Gen2 will go for 130 million rupiah, which is about RM 49,491 in local currency. Both units are CBU for the moment.

Proton estimates 700 units sold for each of the cars for the first year. PT Proton Edar Indonesia intends to capture 1.7 percent of Indonesia’s passenger car market in the next five years. Proton sales in Indonesia currently ranks at the 16th place, and to gain 1.7% it must enter the top ten.

Bernama’s news report on the launching had a really funny quote in it. 54 year old property consultant Didi Hutapea who bought a Gen2 R3 for his 29 year old wife said, “The Campro engine was developed with input from Lotus. Not everybody knows that it is a prototype for an F1 engine. It also has good suspension and stability. I will promote it to my friends. Definitely.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• infinity (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 9:40 am

prototype of an F1 engine???serious?which team??

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 10:37 am

suspension -yes

f1 engine-naah

f1 engine at least pneumatic valve lift system, or toothed geared cam,

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 10:42 am

F1 engine??? v10 or v8??? really which team??? suspension also??? i didn't realise passenger car suspension is same as F1… damn confused…

lol! i was being sarcastic.

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 12:05 pm

he said good suspension -yes, la i said, no its the same as f1 suspension of course,,

anyway those statement made by 'property consultant'

–sleep-

• Celicazz (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 3:25 pm

gen2 r3 already available there?

what??

what does he mean by the campro has good suspension? or is it he referring to the car?

no 4 cyl engine was participating in f1… he's talking in ignorant…

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 3:45 pm

A better version of commercial:

"Actually THE CAMBRO is developed by LOTOS with 1% input. Not everybody knows that the CAMBRO was used on AEROSPACE for power generation and ARMY transportation and someone might say it was used on F1 prototype in 1945 too. Its used to be tought like a TANK and trustable like your dog. Sometime Good in handling don't worry. I will promote to my FANS. Definately."

HOW about this one?

• mofo (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 4:21 pm

OMG how could they sell much more cheaper from home land ? Not sure why, mayb all i could find it's hiring a ship for transportation is more cheaper than get a Lorry to deliver their products.

Somehow, pls think more FC- if u talks about suspension, citizen wants is "comfort". If you said about F1 with CamBRO, does it drink fuel very well ?

• schdmitz (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 4:48 pm

wat kind of saying is that???? Cannot tell the different between F1 engine and the parameswara technology engine????F1 engine so outdated meh>?? He taught jus like car made in indon???Pajero , Land cruiser , nissan safari using same design????shame!!!the car make must be v happy……ha ha ha

• normal_user (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 4:52 pm

Maybe that indonesian mistaken the Campro for the Petronas EO1 jointly developed with SauberF1. But as far as I can remember, the EO1 prototype was tested on the Waja & GTi, not the Gen2.

mmm I think that guy dont know how to speak english, or he screwed up what he intended to say.. so he ended up talking rubbish. Bernama journalist found it funny and they published it to make the rakyat feel proud.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 5:09 pm

It's good news for the indonesians and bad news for the Malaysians.. Proton selling cheap cars to Indon.. Malaysia Boleh…

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 5:16 pm

Why would they be selling CBU cars in Indonesia cheaper than they are in Malaysia? Isn't it consided "dumping" and illegal in international trade?

No wait, maybe they just didnt include useless options to jack up the price like they do here so some BP companies can make a quick buck.

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 5:29 pm

Celicazz, dont accuse someone of being ignorant when you yourself are short of the facts. if you did your research, you will know that F1 cars in the 1980's were all 4 cylinder engines.

regardless of what the quote is, and what that guy said, its nice to know that proton has finally managed to sell consumer cars in indonesia after so many attempts in the past. if anyone has ever worked, or done work in indonesia will know, its an extremely tough country to do business in.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 5:44 pm

F1!!!! WOW! Then he must be proud to have a F1 technology car on Indonesian roads. If the indonesian market can fall for such gimmick, then I guess Proton can seriously sell there.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 6:17 pm

PROTON is really one %%^&&**( la. if you guys obeserve carefully that the Gen2 selling in Indon have better specs. sport rims also different.check the local news yesterday.

another reason to not buy Proton, CHEAP IN INDON , SUPER DUPER EXPENSIVE IN OWN COUNTRY.

PROTON A DAYLIGHT ROBBERY COMPANY.

• motberg (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 6:42 pm

Wat a joke! How can a Malaysian made car be sold cheaper in another country? Especially when that country's currency is smaller than ours?? What kind of F***ed up logic is tat? Only in bolehland can the rakyat be taken on a ride… nuff said

• osh_kosh (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 7:39 pm

yeah… really tough… just need a lot of "Rupiah" donation…

• Ricc (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 8:17 pm

The fella who made the comment is definitely an idiot.. A prototype F1 engine?? 4 cylinders?? He's kidding or just sick?

And, 1 more MAIN reason not to buy Proton, its expensive.. :p

BOLEHLAND rules… National car sell at cheaper price in INDON than in Malaysia, after all the duty and freight charges to Indon, still manage to sell at cheaper price.. How great..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 8:18 pm

Where is P1 patriotism toward our own rakyat and have Corporate Social Responsibilites (CSR) when tey sold car at lower price at Indonesia?

Pathetic GLC!

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 8:35 pm

to be fair, we don't really know the reasons for why protons are cheaper in indonesia. from what i hear, its because the indonesian govt. has a better tax structure for CBU cars as compared to our own country.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 8:37 pm

Pathecit GLC means: –

1. Selling car at lower price for export market with better quality and specs.

2. The stone age Iswara that was banned from export into UK at the end of last century or earlier of this millenium due to unable to meet safety standard is still sellling in our market at RM 26,999 in conjuntion with 50 year merdeka celebration? Are we celebrate our 50 years independent by supporting this Milo Tin on the wheel that endanger the owner and other road user! Where is the duty of care to the public, except to squeeze the last drop of juice?

• vexus (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 8:37 pm

we as a messenger should spread out the words to all indonesian not to buy Proton !!!!.

• carisacar (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 9:00 pm

I frequent JKT at least once a month on business trip. I have not seen a single Proton taxi there! It's either Proton is a far far distant 3rd or it's a marketing gimmic indeed!

• carisacar (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 9:01 pm

I frequent JKT at least once a month on business trip. I have not seen a single Proton taxi there! In fact, there are more Nissans thann Hyundai taxis. Toyota is ofcourse the leader. Even Mercedez taxis (as a premium limo taxi) are more prominent! So it's either Proton is a far far distant 3rd or it's a marketing gimmic indeed!

• mofo (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 9:27 pm

Its funny to see our P1 make decision on how the run the business. They thinks what they made, people will buy – who cares. For myself i still found that Waja and Savvy before facelift version is more better especially the Tank.

P2 is making a good profit, there's still a good potential buyers on P1. But they should revise the price and build up confident among all of us on their quality.Lets hope new models from P1 will save them.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 9:52 pm

Although it is rather comical that he linked Campro as a prototype F1 engine, Im trying really hard not to disbelieve him ONLY if he can actually come up with evidence that it really has anything to do with an F1 engine be it the current V8s of today or the 4 cylinder ones from the 80s.

The closest possible links I can find are the Lotus 27 and 22

It is rather funny though lol.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 10:28 pm

i hav seen too much proton taxi already!now they wanna but some taxi in indonesia!?huhhhh!still the old wira!

• goingberserk (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 10:39 pm

Must be mad ! Gen 2 touted to be the testing vehicle for FI .Dunno Dr Didi is a real Dr or a joker. Hahahahahah Kakakakaka……. Who the hell told him that Campro is a prototype of FI must be out of him mind. ! Get serious ! 700 vehicles per year for each model . Thats 1,400 cars for the whole year. Dont tell me thats P1 target sales for whole of Indonesia and thats selling at lower price than in Malaysia ………………………………………………………

Kakakakakakahahahahahakakakakakakkaahahhahahaha.. Shit . Laugh too much till stomach ache…..

kakakakaka………

• adrian (Member) on Mar 19, 2007 at 11:25 pm

If he says that campro tech is F1, he kinda got it right. I'm sure most of you will be surprised about the technology of F1 engines.

Here are some of the regulations imposed for 2007, with engines in particular…

1. Engines must have 2 inlet valves and two exhaust valves per cylinder.

= Something almost all new cars have nowadays.

2. Variable geometry inlet sytems are not permitted.

3. Variable geometry exhaust systems are not permitted.

= Something a few German passenger cars already have, which campro don't have.

4. Variable valve timing and variable valve lift are not permitted (Vtec, Vvti, VNV, Mivec, bla bla bla).

= Something almost every new passenger car have, which campro was supposed to have but for wahtever reason, they dont.

5. Only one fuel injector is permitted which must inject fuel directly into the side or top of the inlet port.

= Something which is getting quite out dated compared with the new direct injection engines such as FSI, GDI, TDI which injects fuel directly into the combustion chambers. However the CAMPRO's dont have this yet.

So, with these few rules, you can clearly see that the CAMPRO does comply with some of the formula 1 regulations! What a joke.

Makes one wonder how the F1 teams manage to squeeze out 900hp plus from a 2.4 litre engine while abiding to those regulations!

• Infinitt (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 12:00 am

Good move for Proton..i m bored when arrived Jakarta all Vios taxi waiting..lets share the market.

• proton GL (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 12:47 am

f1 engine although basic ,its tuned to the extreme,

its not docile, like a road car which need variable stuff to suit economy and power, and drivebility.

the power gained most on the unbelivebally high rpm (19000rpm if im not mistaken and limited by the fia for certain occation)

though it basic, the thing that the f1 engine have is pneumatic valve spring, which normal car dont have, this feature eneble engine to acheive a very high rpm without having valve knocking the piston due to valve float caused by valve spring of the normal car engine,

and another thing the cam is not belt driven, for reliability f1 choose tooth gear to drive its cam, (issue of how to wistand the stress i think).

so- its a different ball game from the road car, of course,

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 12:48 am

come on malaysian no more buying new proton, we are heading the right way, waja sales now less than Vios , good even though you are contributing more on taxes but at lease your life is more value.

I dont care for whatever reason, but you CANT SELL CHEAPER THAN YOU OWN COUNTRY.

• najibest (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 12:59 am

yup, i'm pretty "SURE" that people would want to ride a WIRA taxi in Jakarta rather than a VIOS that comes standard with leather seat. and then again, sure Proton's are cheaper overseas…otherwise who would want to buy a Proton when you can get a full spec VIOS for just about RM 70k in Indonesia….but don't complain, we Malaysians should be patriotic and always support our national car.. even when they're selling higher spec and better quality cars cheaper overseas than at home… I LOVE this country…

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 1:06 am

700 units per model each year eh… how they gonna make profits like that for investing?

Well, CAMPRO F1 engine… definitely break down everytime when race. definitely be last place even Schumacher drives it. haha… still a long way to step into F1..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 5:03 am

All new cars but old news for old model ……………….

• transformer (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 5:10 am

we are protected by our G for those taxes slapped onto its rakyat!

we had to thanks our votes!

• transformer (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 5:20 am

i can see clearly that there are more stolen Toyota's and Honda's in Indonesia than Proton!

a Honda Civic 1998 sold for Rm20K only….. would you buy a P1 Gen2 at Rm49K ? Anyone ?

sad to say….. most of these stolen cars…. comes from BOLEHLAND!!!

• L (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 5:53 am

maybe this is what they say 'hujan emas di negeri orang, hujan batu di negeri sendiri!' hahaha

• acbc (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 6:17 am

Whoever said that must some blur sotong! F1 don't use 4 bangers!

• transformer (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 6:22 am

hujan shit inside bolehland!

mind you that property consultant Pak Didi Hutapea should get his eyes repaired!!! (or better get a new pair of implants!)

• TESko (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 7:49 am

yo, that DiDi guy must be nyanyuk already. or maybe the 29 yrs old wife wanted a F1 car for their anniversary. Well, if they (P1) can make them believe that they produce F1 engine. Why not they sell the CeP*T SAGA at RM35k to those mat indon!! and sell cheaper Gen 2 and others model of P1 to malaysian. i hv been looking seriously into Gen2 cos my new work need me to drive a lot. Really dissappointed with P1. i will stretch my budget and probably get a 2nd hand CiVic or Altis. I love this site.

• shaif (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 4:33 pm

Last week at Tanah Abang Jakarta saw one taxi with thundercat logo, wow a wira in a sea of Vios and Soluna…feel proud that proton can win the bid.

Good luck proton and try to win the market as the Honda Jazz's price only rm65k.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 20, 2007 at 6:12 pm

dear TESko,

personal opinion and thru advice without any prejudice, please dont buy Proton, buy the second hand civic or altis better. dont talk to PROTON salespeople they are bad people, they are worst than terrorist, make other people life miserable buying a Proton.

make a wise decision.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 1:49 am

shaif – thundercat in the sea of steely jaws of world class lion. "Cukup untuk sumbat lubang gigi aje"!

• szw (Member) on Mar 22, 2007 at 7:54 am

please give proton a chance lar people…