Over 10,000 Proton Saga booked for RM26,999

protonsaga.jpg

UPDATE: The Proton Saga will be replaced in January 2008 by the Proton BLM.

Ironically, despite the popular talk of thousands of unsold Protons lying around in stockyards, the recent offer for the Proton Saga for only RM26,999 with special finance packages has received very good response from the public.

Over 10,000 units were booked in less than a month, and there is now a waiting period of about 3 months for delivery. The Saga offer has turned from what people perceived as a move to clear stocks, into a case where production has to be stepped up to meet the demand. This will look good on Proton’s quarterly financial sheet.

It will also help Proton regain market share from Perodua. Think about it, the cheapest Saga represents the same market share amount as an expensive Perdana. If you can push out lots of Sagas where everyone can afford it, your market share will increase. Plus, the people who can only afford cars in this price bracket have already spent their money on this relatively good deal, and will not buy the upcoming Kancil Replacement.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 4:01 pm

Its a good thing. Cheap cars are never a bad thing.

Sadly, this looks like a short lived thing. Last dying breath I would say.

• schdmitz (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 4:07 pm

it is a good news for youngster and those families who run on motobike that need a car to run around……Bad news is after few years where these car should go?????kedai potong????or send to indon as 2nd hand car??

• J (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 4:08 pm

Any other Proton models will be on sale as well ? Perdana, Waja, Wira ??

• kody (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 4:29 pm

wahlaueh…

more bad quality cars on the road…

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 4:34 pm

So does this means that Proton is gonna continue production of the Saga? Since its selling like hot cake, they might just continue milking on this 20 over year model.

• ChipS (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 4:35 pm

Any idea why Proton can offer their SAGAs at this price and not the other models ? 10k units, isn't that a huge increase of vehicle sales for Proton ? Will others follow ? Hope they will…. or is this just "lelong"…."stock clearence"….

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 4:37 pm

Waiting list is 3 months!?

PROTONG is trying to grap money from RAKYAT, not trying to help or service the CUSTOMERs. This model had been produced more that 25 years since the first model launched by Mitsu, therefore NO royalty fees to Mitsu now and the profit margin is MUCH higher than WIRA, Perdana……Juara even if the price is as low as RM27k. I guess the profit is nearly RM12k each.

10,000x 12k = RM120,000,000 cash will be collected immediately.

Simple right!

• 707 (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 4:40 pm

That is good economics man…good strategy by proton hah hah

• mofo (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 4:45 pm

Its good news for P1, they finally understood the basic economy

Low Price – Higher Demand

• funbox (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 4:54 pm

Continue production? Isn't it suppose to roll out replacement model soon? Pls sell something not >25yrs old "new" product!

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 5:22 pm

An uncle of mine just got his about 5 days ago. Now the air-con's broken down and he has to wait a few more days for replacement parts. Not too sure about it, but I think he's already regretting his purchase.

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 5:26 pm

Oh yeah, talking about old product, I just realised the Saga isn't much different from a Nissan 130Y Sunny. Designed about the same time, 1300cc, carburetted. So, basically people are paying 27k for a nearly 30 year old model, only that it's supposedly new stock. Go figure.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 5:27 pm

For goodness sake, shouldn't Proton even be coming up with a replacement model for this car? This car has been milked for ages and we all know precisely why Proton has kept it as it bread and butter.

I guess it wouldn't bother me so much that they are still keeping it if they actually made the car better than its original debut car. I'd rather stick to the original Magma.

• mymyvi (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 5:30 pm

what else is there to say other than whatever P1 sells some people will flock and get it even it means its dangerous to be behind the whels of such a car… maybe they like the idea of being real life crash test dummies

come on a model that has been on the drawing board for god knows how long .. more than 30 years? so will we see any "old is gold edition from proton? " maybe they should revive the original tiara back from the dead.

• ysyslys (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 5:44 pm

last breath……..not a smart move.

wtf 27k for 25 age model with 1.3 manual carb.

better 27k for secondhand toyota seg 1.6 efi.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 5:52 pm

MALAYSIAN …a por nation, easily being trick by crocodile type of company like Proton. the idiotic,no safety,no dignity milo tin on wheels Saga IS NOT CHEAP. Only easy to purchase, TO CLEAR STOCKS.price at registration day 26,999 and tomorrow…NO VALUE. you buy this 'no dignity,moving overpriced metals on wheels' you have to drive it until its need to scrap, and not to mention this promotions come with THOUSANDS OF PROBLEMS which will need lots of sacrifice, your time, comfort,(proton got comfort ka), this purchase never a peace of mind. maybe wife will look for new husband, maybe kids dont want to go to school.maybe you will ruin your company reputation…..

• j91752 (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 5:56 pm

Upset ! still selling the same "cake" … but it is even more Upset when the order hit more than 10,000 within a month !!! ? !

• ganz (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 6:02 pm

different people with different opinion..

27 k for a "brand new" car or 27k for a "decent" 2nd hand car?

as for me, i'll take a brand new car..

u leave in a country where u don't have much choices.. the only thing.. nobody force u to stay in malaysia..

however.. proton should consider wira at this price..it no longer hot cake selling.. but rather hot pizza selling

• xg9 (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 6:28 pm

agreed with ganz…

ppl who buy this car dont have much choices… even if they dont like it, its a better deal than kancil or the kancil replacement….

as for ppl who have lots of money, for sure they buy something bigger, more comfortable than this…

if theyre selling wira around this price…. cant imagine the consequences.. lol.. its gonna be the best selling car in the world..lol

• ckengyo (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 6:32 pm

then what happen 2 kembara replacement? postpone another year?

• acbc (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 6:39 pm

Wow… massive profits for Proton!

• motberg (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 6:45 pm

brilliant! drop da price and gain some market share… why not do for all proton models? after all, this has been their only selling strength. sell it cheap n some fellow who cannot afford a 'taxed up' car will have no choice but to buy proton. that worked for them for a couple of years but in recent years they got too ambitious and proud and thought they could compete with other makes & pushed out modelsafter models that were ill researched and designed… i mean anyone ever sat at the back of a Gen2?? or the horrendous makeover for the Waja? or the new Satria Neo that is SMALLER in space than the old one? wat kind of twisted logic is goin behind Proton doors?? so go ahead and sell your cars at a lowered price and increase your market share. go ahead and cheat the rakyat. we'll see wat happens when AFTA is fully enforced then…

• motberg (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 6:48 pm

On another note… hey Paul, whatever happened to the 'water powered' car that was lauched last year amidst much fanfare by Pak Lah? I see all the LMG showrooms empty and some even have "TO LET" signs. hmmm…. another 'hot air' projects our G so keen to do??

• khimfoh (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 6:52 pm

"Over 10,000 units were booked in less than a month"

Goes to show you that people still want to buy cheap cars, no matter how outdated it is.

• dino (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 7:06 pm

From the title….i think 70% was those father from average family buying a car for their 'P' license children….even they know this car is 25 yrs old car….but if they won feel pain while car get in crash….compare to u buy a 2nd hand toyota corrolla…plus this car look safety than a kancil even bigger….and the other 30% i think they r those low life style friends….they not like u all so rich…even buy P1 olso waja & gen-2….they no budject…if they got Mers olso can buy rite?

• hondadriver (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 7:27 pm

people still buy cheap cars, because not everyone can afford an expensive car, or even a car that costs RM40k. I think its selfish to think that just because we can afford more expensive cars means everyone else can too. Some of us may laugh at the poor old saga, but its common practice for other manufacturers as well, to meet the needs of the market.

When i was in south africa recently, i was quite shocked to see VW still selling the mrk1 golf from the 80's(all the latest VW's are also available there), similarly, nissan and toyota also had 80's models still available brand new. Simple reason, not everyone can afford a new car.. Manufacturers are just meeting the needs of the market. Even a person who doesn't earn as much as a civic or even a waja owner, has the right to own a car.

acbc, doesn't all car companies sell cars for profit?

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 7:30 pm

if want cheap then dont buy car la, buy cheap bike…why no comfort? same la like the saga, why no safety? same la like saga(saga is worst can kill other road user).

if the People so weak then this crocodile type of company will keep the slaughtering….

this saga is NOT CHEAP, like you buying a ROTTEN NASI LEMAK how? cost less but come with dirrhea? then how? why compare Kancil and Saga? comparing oni the price? however the car segment? typical third world mentality. everything also money first? berapa? apa pun berapa?

p/s second hand toyota/honda (even ten years old) better than brand new Proton…guaranteed.

p/s SAY NO TO OPEN DOOR WHEN PAYING TOLLS

• aesthari (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 8:00 pm

LOL, you got me there mycar_stolen, with SAY NO TO OPEN DOORS WHEN PAYING TOLL. I agree with hondadriver; not everybody can afford expensive or average cars, but the point here is that the Saga IS an overpriced car.

• timber8115 (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 8:15 pm

my uncle just bought a new wira. so boring………

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 8:30 pm

The funniest bit is they advertised abt being patriotic, to commemorate 50th ID, I was like wakakakakakaka. Patriotic? Then get a Perodua la!! That's patriotic AND smarter buy. Nuff said.

• mymyvi (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 8:43 pm

I wonder with so many of us commenting badly about Saga sales, I don't know how are the people in proton are working up their logics? Are they really listening to us (their potential customers)? Its also true not all of us are able to afford or choose to buy brand new cars, but then I beg to differ Kancil might share the same price but its targeted at different market segment.

People these days look beyond just the size of parking space a car might take up, yes true the saga takes up bigger parking space but then not necessarily more reliable than say kancil. If cost is the main driving force for this market segment, why people are gullible enough to commit to an older technology which is not proven to be cost saving for the cost concise part of society.

Well said Motberg, proton is not market focus. As to your question about the LMG's plan to roll out Water powered engine, its actually a rebadge Dadi from China, the engine is a mitsubishi engine, the water powered thing is quite sensitive issue. I shall refrain myself from commenting about it here. If you looking to buy a car don't wait for the water powered car look elsewhere thats my honest advise.

• veritas (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 8:58 pm

agree with Mymyvi … proton is selling crappy car for us to ogle over .. fat chance I'm going to buy a P1 anytime soon … be better off with P2 ..waiting patiently for the new P2's model launch. That will make proton run for its money.

• Paul Tan on Mar 26, 2007 at 8:59 pm

mymyvi and veritas, you are both the same person. why are you talking to yourself?

• pkimalaysia (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 9:06 pm

10000+++++ would die..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 9:06 pm

10,000 units egual to: –

1. Our road will have additional 10,000 unsafe low quality car that exposed the owner and other road users to potential avoidable accidents, more injuries and damage of properties (road, the car itself, roadside trees, etc)!

2. With 10,000 x 101 problems as standard features. 10 K owners have to spend their precious time at SC to fix 1.01 Million standard problems. If 1 problems equal to 2 hour, then we lost the productivity at 2 Million hour or approx. 83,333 days or 228 years.

3. With this Merdeka sales celebration? There are still ignorant (or due to budget constraint by buyer that P1 try to manipulate) buyers buy this stone age Milo tin on the wheel!

4. This is the worst case of P1 never concern about rakyat welfare/safety and lowest rung of Corporate Social responsibilities, but purely suck until last drop of juice under NAP!

Pathetic! Sigh ………

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 9:09 pm

Paul Tan, mymyvi and veritas talk-talk sendiri syiok-syiok mah, cannot meh!

• veritas (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 9:31 pm

husband n wife cannot comment ah?

• myNeo (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 9:54 pm

i am not a fan boy of proton…but why most of us like to bash proton like there's no hope for this company…. don't all of you know when we keep telling the same bad thing to one entity … it will not go back to the good state.what we speech is like a prayer for me.yes saga body is like "tin Milo" for somebody….even the kancil is " tin Milo " but everyone is not bashing perodua.it is bias for me too see like perodua is the saint while the proton is an evil.

Don't blame the buyers for stupid in buying 70's/80's technology.It is 1300 cc engine and more superior than 850cc engine.Far more spacious than the "SLK".Has a little emphatic feeling to those who can't afford far more luxurious car like Camry or Accord even a Waja . Blaming proton in selling old technology to the poor citizen is not pathetic because we live in real world that are not fair.

• armandd (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 10:06 pm

~ speechless ~

• Hikaru (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 10:14 pm

I guess there is only two things that can be discern from all this. firstly Proton is trying to sell Milo tins which people are gladly buying up. Secondly, neither Proton or the Rakyat are that advance in the sense that they don't value their own safety or their customers' safety.

Yes making money is good for Proton and consequently the people. But staying stagnant is not a good thing for progress. it's just Proton's way of making quick profits. Besides, who has verified the bookings numbers? Maybe someone is cooking the books to enhance their value? Are we really going to see 10,000 Sagas going around? Or are they all gonna break down once they leave the showroom?

Buyers are aware of what they are buying. It's up to them to buy whatever they think it;s right for them.

• layman (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 10:46 pm

I am not a Saga owner, but feel uncomfortable with people cursing this car will crash, 10,000 more will die, cost for their funeral and ……so on.

Come on, be realistic, how many % of fatal accident involve this car model/market number? Don't just curse the middle income people for nothing. They buy this car is because this is best suited their needs and budget.

• infinity (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 11:03 pm

this saga is at the price of a kancil…compare both models…what's the difference?saga bigger..saga bigger engine…saga got boot space..saga and kancil both also using carb engine

so, for those who wanted to buy kancil, i dun c y they wont consider this saga…

as for proton, i would say smart move…there r 2 possible reasons

1. proton want to clear stock so that the replacement model can be launched (how i wish this is true)

2. marketing strategy..to overtake perodua…(take note that perodua is launching a new model soon..and by selling more saga will reduce the potential buyers of the new perodua…)

• infinity (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 11:13 pm

saga and kancil is of similar price…let's compare them…

saga is bigger…saga engine is also bigger…saga have boot space…and both saga and kancil have is using a carb engine…

so, i dun c y those who wanted to buy kancil will consider this saga as it offers more…

as for proton, i would say smart move…there might be 2possible reasons for this move…

1. proton need to clear its stock so that it can introduce the replacement model (still having my finger crossed for it to happened)

2. marketing strategy..proton wants to overtake perodua (take note that perodua is launching a new model soon…so, the more saga is sold, the less the potential buyers for the perodua new model…)

• haroldz (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 11:25 pm

Quick scheme to over turn the financial heavy loss.

typical malaysian business stail.

P1 CEO hv the job bcos he kroni to some powerful ppl in G.

actually most of the GLC's CEO know nothing about business.

true or not?

now u now y there r so many unsold wiras in P1.

sell it 2 indonesia.

• theking (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 11:38 pm

Well done Proton.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 11:48 pm

strategy that works. Kudos to proton!

• hondadriver (Member) on Mar 26, 2007 at 11:54 pm

Hikaru,

VW, Nissan and toyota are selling "milo tins" as well with their 80's models still in production in other countries (refer to my earlier post above). so whats your take on them? if you're gonna criticise proton for doing the same thing, i think you should be also commenting on why these megagiant carmakers do the same? it would make for some interesting discussions.

haroldz"P1 CEO hv the job bcos he kroni to some powerful ppl in G.

actually most of the GLC’s CEO know nothing about business.

true or not?" you're the one who said it.. so why dont you tell us if its true or not? .. dont be an idiot who just bashes with no thought like the many other bashers here la. please show that you can contribute some intelligent input and at least make it worth Paul's time to continue posting up automotive news. It's quite clear that a lot of people here are sick and tired of "mindlesS" criticism. there are plenty of foreigners who read pauls website.. they must all be thinking what a childish lot we malaysians are..

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 12:07 am

Way the go hondadriver!we should konw what we are talking about.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 12:21 am

Although this is an old model, I would say Proton is doing a good job is pushing its sales. This is what most average Malaysian need. A car that can fit 5 comfortably with a big boot.

We can all say all the crappy problems that this is a 20+ year old car. From its main strategy to clear stocks, now it becomes a golden opportunity to sell in bulk and put some damage in Perodua's market share of Kancils. Like some people say, why mess with success right? So 10,000 bookings per month might push their sales to 120,000 bookings annually just for this model! So their strategy is Saga -> Kancil/Kelisa/Kenari.

Perfecto! You can't beat them in price/space for entry level cars in Malaysia. Hard to resist isn't it? Won't be surprise if they can continue this model until another cheaper alternative with the same space offering is here.

Of course, we need to take account that not all bookings will have bank loan approvals. Most Proton Saga bookings consist of lower income group that might be insufficient to meet minimum income requirements. Could be some that failed to get loan for Kancil and trying their luck on this Saga instead.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 1:02 am

to aesthari, no offense to u ok, regarding the power window.

to brakefader;

disagree with saga can seat five people and comfort.

sorry this milo tins on wheel/join overpriced cheap metal with wheel..equal to no comfort.

this milo tins on wheels can cause more accidents, as thier slow steering response. take note Proton the only car manufacturer in the whole universe that offer NPS and PS. Power steering and NON POWER STEERING model.(malaysia boleh).

for long distance, too much stree for the driver because of zero comfort and hard to climb hills, this one also can lead to accident. if myvi can go to penang in 3 hours this milo tin on wheels need at least 3 days to ensure safety, driver comfort and saga have longer lifespan.

PROTON NATIONAL HUMILIATION

• transformer (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 1:06 am

i just couldn't get it??? since P1 had quite a lot of non-moving stock, so P1 offers to clear it but now buyer still has to wait for 3 month delivery kah?

i still don't get it ?????

anyway its good lah, as long as P1 employee, supplier and misc. have work to do, then they have income and this translate to consuming those income and would benefit our economy… at least help some… even the mamak stall boss nearby would display smile… (after so many months of stagnant production lines… i guess)

• hondadriver (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 1:23 am

mycar_stolen, everything you said is hearsay. unless you can prove them true, i think you should refrain from posting.

• hondadriver (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 1:24 am

mycar_stolen, everything you said is hearsay. unless you can prove them true, i think you should refrain from posting.

transformer, according to the papers, they sold out on the stock they had, hence anyone who books now has to wait, as they have run out of stock.

• transformer (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 1:40 am

oic, thanks hondadriver!

now its SAGA SALE, then might be WIRA SALE one day ?

can't wait to see WAJA ON SALE too!

( coz can't wait to see those WAJA owner expression! [especially those highly modified(exterior kitted) WAJA] )

• drebar (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 1:46 am

if you ask me, i'd say this should be the right price for Proton cars. we're ripped off, thanks to all the taxes and duties.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 2:43 am

drebar, you want to know the right price, click on here: –

http://www.customs.gov.my/html/cbu2006warta.htm

• japankiller (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 3:49 am

this car suppose should have sell st RM15,000, they have make enough for this my stone age model. RM26,000 sound expensive too.

Like you guys say, this car first day on the road value gonna drop atleast 30%

Those who buy, good luck, cause when your car gone kaput, you still serving your loan.

• VW (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 4:24 am

" SAY NO TO OPEN DOOR PAY TOLL" is very funny…!!!hahahahha…

one of my uncle also open door when paying toll…..hahahah…i fully support u guys …maybe we have to organize a club, name " SAY NO TO OPEN DOOR PAY TOLL" …..especially waja…haha

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 4:43 am

I am not sure if anyone has/knows the saga/iswara pricing since it started its life. I am pretty sure that when originally launched the car ~20K. And here is what P1's strategy which I have seen (& insider info) tells me:

This is only true for the perdana pricing.

When launched ~1995 Manual 75k. Auto 78-82k

In 1999>now, the price increase RM5k for every few months. That time all cars accross the board increased in prices slowly. Now the perdana is at its peak pricing. Any higher it will not sell, any lower, will sell, but less income back. I guess this is marketing strategy, but then its unethical to increase price of a car which has the same interior it has since lanuched till now. Only difference is no Manual transmission now, and that V6 engine, which by today's standard is pretty much prehistoric.

So, you can understand the "why bash" proton. If the price increase transalates into solid product no faults then that is not a problem, but then you expect people to buy a car and have to send in every few months cause of different parts failing at the same time.

Good luck to those who bought the 26k car. Its a bargain. But, I don't want to hear later complaints about:

1. blue backlight-not optimum color, cannot see dials clearly.

2. AC working as best at outside temperature. You turn off AC, still air comes in, you drive in the hot, hot air comes in, drive behind a bus smoke comes in etc.

3. No glove box. I am pretty sure the original saga has glove box and not some long tray below the glove box.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 4:56 am

ALL I CAN SAY IS, GENERALLY, MAJORITY OF MALAYSIANS ARE STUPID

• oranglulu (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 5:40 am

aiyo! last time uncles use to be amaze by india ambasador….production of few decades old new car……now in malaysia we had our few decades old new saga…….where in 1985 it was sold for 18k……now 27k minus one ringgits…….not really a good offer come to think of it……

• òmn&Ati (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 5:42 am

it is true. well said. proud to be one too.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 5:44 am

dont say that ingolstadt.its rude!u r a malaysian too right?

• toritori (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 5:49 am

Yes, again the clock ticks nearer to… end of the world

There are low income group of family, fetch 4-5 of his or her children

on a bike so that they can send their children for a decent education.

Yes, it is not safe and shouldn't be encouraged but morally they are not

wrong.

There are average income group parents, who love their kids so much

and worry sick their children ridding a bike. Yes, the car is without

airbag, abs and other hi-tech stuffs but again morally they are not

wrong switching their kids from bike to car.

When the car sell at higher price people complain, when sell lower

people also complain, when sell with low tech in it people complain,

when sell with hi-tech stuffs in it people also complain.

Being poor is not a crime, just be in their shoes lah

Life will only be better when one can act and think decently.

• TESko (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 5:52 am

mystvearn…. totally agree vit u. if the product shows an improvement, might it be quality or others, i am sure everyone in malaysia will show their support. But this proton is treating us like fools. Shows no respect. That my frens is very bad.

I believe there are at least 1 or 2 ppl from proton reading all these (i was told they are bunch of lazy poofters, hope i m wrong) why not take up a challenge…. like, do a crash test on the "New And Improved SAGA" …… invite Paul to witness it… or let him sit in it while the car is heading for the concrete block ….. just kidding paul.

EVOKE SET… Proton is one of the brand in my evoke set. However, After going through this site… and consulted all my 10 friends who own waja, i've decided to settledown with a 2nd hand Civic year 03.

p/s : about those 10 friends o mine, could u all believe it they score a perfect 10!!! for being the most problematic car. 1 of them are so damn happy that the car got stolen!!

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 6:01 am

thres a lot of comments 4 this saga!

• mlbl (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 6:05 am

They say a sucker is born everyday. In this case, I think that's 10,000 suckers who just bought a cheap car that is going to cost them more than buying a myvi in the long run and will most likely reach the end of its cycle before the loan is finally paid. Seriously I'd rather buy a 2nd hand toyota anytime rather than a new car which as someone said here earlier, the aircond wasn't working the moment his uncle bought it. The cost of repairing plus the frustration of the car parts breaking down is not cheap in itself..so actually, 26K is VERY EXPENSIVE for a proton saga. Perhaps 10K would be a real bargain. And remember the phrase – cheap things are never good, good things are never cheap!

• mlbl (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 6:08 am

The cost of repairing this so-called "cheap" car will cost more than buying a myvi in the long run. It may even die before the loans are paid fully…i'd rather buy a 2nd hand toyota than this piece of "junk". Remember the phrase – good things are never cheap, cheap things are never good!

• haroldz (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 6:10 am

hondadriver: if i hv answer to ur questions, i wont b in msia.

like pak lah said about corruption, it is hard to prove these cases because there are hardly paper trail/ documents dat can b use as evidence.

if u read/ listen to mass media in msia, surely cant figure out wot happen to our GLC.

all media r filtered n censored for "NATIONAL SCURITY" issues

we still complaining about proton bcos they still not listening to us.

hv u ever buy a proton car?

then try to complain about the car defects n try to claim compensation.

we can be intelligent as the mat salleh in this forum.

but will it change the situation?

think about dat when u pay 4 ur tolls………….

• Sid (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 6:18 am

its a sad thing to see, P1 is claiming that they are very patriotic.. in conjuction with our 50th year merdeka annivesary.. c'mon lah.. if they are really sincere with the gesture.. they should bring down the price on all models.. (saw one banner.. claiming that the stock is limited..) b.s . malu skit lah P1

• drifting4eva (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 6:24 am

I don't have a problem with others buying it. It's a free country-lah last I checked. People have a right to spend their hard earned money as they see fit. You don't like it, then you offer something better. Don't bash all m'sians just coz we don't earn enough money to afford a [insert dream car here].

Me, i'd rather save my money to modify my car and new tires for drifting . . .

• Malaysia BoXXX (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 6:46 am

It's very sad to see a 25 years model being dumped onto poor Malaysians by politically linked company. Isn't this one of a symptom of third world poor capatalist countries?

The safety and quality of current models are proven inferior, and you can guess how this 25 years old model perform.

Many times, we have complained, many times those Crony stay in power, when are we all going to be brave and stop all this nonsense??? Are we totally powerless or just like to make complaints at coffeshop only?

• layman (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 6:51 am

ONLY A STUPID AND ARROGANT PERSON HAS AN IMPRESSION THAT OTHERS ARE STUPID!!!

• rodimus (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 6:52 am

I just wanna said somethings, in M'sia b'cos of our "G" v can't do anythings. Do u thing all our bro n sis wanna buy those craps if their have a choice, u know how much taxes already impose on the non national cars, even when AFTA really come so what?! Our big "G" will always impose the execise tax on it to protect their "P"….. If our PM dare to revoke all the taxes n let market determine who will b the survivor. If really come true, let just prey 4 "P" dun go down without a fight………

• Malaysia BoXXX (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 6:53 am

It's sad to see a 25 years old model being dumped onto Malaysians by politically linked company. Isn't this a symptom of third world poor capitalist countries?

The safety and quality of current model is proven inferior, and you can guess how is a 25 years old model.

Many times we complaint, many times those Crony stay in power. When can we be brave and stop all this nonsense??? Are we really powerless or are we the nation that just like to make complaints at forums and coffeshops?

• topgunthang (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 7:03 am

while its a good move that people can buy cars for about 27k msian ringgit. only problem is that we should be getting up to date designs and safety. not 3 decade old trash like this.

the mat salleh in these forums are more like laughing thier heads off that msians are forced to buy outdated lousy cars by thier own local homegrown company time and time again when the rest of the modern world is moving ahead. and dont think people are so stupid to judge the people of another country based on an internet forum??? if they want to judge you, they will meet with you face to face and find out how your personality is

and dont go comparing msia to some countries like in africa because we are not a third world country not matter how crap our ruling parties and those not ruling are.

• thow (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 7:22 am

Deng……10000 units?? So what??? sudah lah proton….no nid volkswagen la…juz shut down la…..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 8:03 am

VW, I second you for ” SAY NO TO OPEN DOOR PAY TOLL” ….. as I own 1st Iswara and later Waja that experience this for more than 10 years! Sigh, pathetic ………..

• mofo (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 10:17 am

LOL so what 10k units.

1st Quarter / 1st Half, i believe their still on RED. For me, i dont care about % percentage on market. As long as can make some solid profit. Satria Neo did make a good job, still not a family and the market might not that huge. Malaysian prefer something we paid 1 buck and get 2 bucks value, P2 able to do so with their new model.

P2 launching new model soon, they (P1) have to do something before its too late. we seen there's good response on lower range price market. What will happen if P2 able to tag their price from 27k to 40k for their new model ? Yes both model is different range but when comes to price and both models have 4 doors (can fit at least 4 ppls), i believe Malaysian don't care about it. Pls do think about FC, ppl will put it into consideration on long term.

Meanwhile on VW deal, ppl keeps thinking once VM deal is successfully in return how VM could benefit them. They aren't dumb, throwing huge investment just for market + production plant ? I believe something to do with Lotus that's what VM looking for. My imagination might goes to far, but there's possibility.

• mits27 (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 10:20 am

To view from the poor malaysian site, it is better to see 10,000 people driving this old junk car instead of 10,000 bikers on road. It is true that this saga is old tech junk without the proper safety, but it is still better riding the bike. Last word, no more duty, we all get cheap car, everyone happy, everyone can enjoy the safety for themselves and their family….

But that stupid G will not allow this, so I blame everything on our lousy G…

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 1:21 pm

Could this be another classic case of buy now regret later? RM27k is quite an affordable sum for many people here. I guess this is for people who just want a car no matter what (the quality, design, safety, etc.) What more can I say? Nobody can blame p1, it's the people's choice (some, not all) that keeps p1 survive.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 4:37 pm

Good god….

Why are people complaining about a cheap car?

There is nothing wrong with a cheaply built car if its actually sold cheaply. Dont care how you look at it, 27 K is cheap. Even in Malaysian terms.

Its still one of the cheapest car to maintain with spares in abundance. there are plenty of people that could appreciate a cheap car, no frills, get from point A to point B. At this price its a motorcycle alternative.

Sure its a milo tin but as we chinese say its still "metal wrap skin, instead of skin wrap metal". Of course you can be a total clot and wreak the car and run into a tree, but who are you to blame then. The car? or the Driver?

Those that complain off electric power window failures…. what the hell is wrong with manual winders you lasy ass. Proton is not the only marque with power window failures. Convert back to manual winders and thats the end of your problems.

Outdated cars, maybe, but this is what Malaysians need. end story. Whats the point of all hi tech cars which are expensive and no one to service them? You have to understand, most of Malaysians still send thier cars to basic foremans.

Ask anyone that own a continental marque and let them tell you how expensive and time consuming it is just to trouble shoot a stupid warning light.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 6:32 pm

83 comments on this topic, and I also not sure the 1ok bookings is real or only Proton spin dr at work. you know lah Proton 'tipu sana tipu sini'.

I agree with mlbl 'good things are never cheap, cheap things are never good!'

and drifting4eva good luck drift elok2.

honda_driver.

this is not your blog and last check msia boleh, so I can post here.subject to Paul's approval.

• motberg (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 9:56 pm

wow, Proton topics always have lots of postings! :) this shows ppl are still 'concerned' about Proton, either they are supporters or detractors. Either way, it's better than of no one paid any attention to Proton…

to mymyvi… actually i was contemplating between buying a Waja or Vios last year, though the price difference is quite big. finally ended up buying a Vios after consulting friends & family. besides the ugly facelifted Waja made it easy! Vios is more expensive compared to the Waja but in the long run I am happy I went for the Vios.

My uncle's Waja (4 years old) recently had it's whole engine replaced and my uncle is one who takes care of his cars like a wife. Another cousin's Waja (9 months old) can't help vibrating above 110km/h. After numerous visits to the Proton service centre, the mechanic had the cheek to say that it's a 'safety feature' so that you won't speed on the highway!!

Anyway, I was just curios about the LMG project since it was launched amidst much fanfare and the technology promises so much but suddenly it's gone all quiet. Then again, this is Malaysia so anything is possible right??

• La YA zhe (Member) on Mar 27, 2007 at 10:14 pm

I like vintage car, this one good mah, cheap yet classic.

Bolehland the capital of vintage car

This is the No.1 Proton Blue Ocean Strategy where

1. Elimate the safety

2. Reduce the comfort

3. Increase the 'LOWER' price effect

4. Create the 'Vintage' sense

Proton Boleh

• intermilan (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 1:46 am

who care?

• Kaboda (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 2:03 am

How many people are posting about this topic, is this some kind of record ?

Anyhow here is my 2 cents, is there a right and a wrong?

Wrong maybe cus we while buying this cheap piece of crap we are supporting a company thats been stealing money from our tax dollars for years.

But can you deny a cheap deal no matter the risks? We all know about proton quality its famous for its faults, but who knows you might be the lucky one with only one of the 20 issues your car could face.

Think about it also 2nd hand car, wont need new brakes,suspension, maybe an overhaul ? We are talking 5k – 10k who knows maybe more. So your honda / toyota could be easily 40k after you get it done right.

Plus a new car feel is always nicer than a 2nd hand one no matter how good the condition of the 2nd hand one has been. There is nothing like something new.

No sarcasm intended, good luck to those who bought this car.

• ys (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 6:11 pm

i am not sure about you guys but i personally think 27k…emm.. very good deal.

2 of my friend already made the booking.. although it is milo tin but i think the confort level is still much better than kancil (sorry produa fans..)

so.. if you can't affort a 70k vios or 50k waja.. why not go for 27k saga right?

at least you will not lose that much when selling it..

cheers..

• dzat46 (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 6:29 pm

Hopefully this will start a price war …..gud for us the consumers. Ths will put pressure to P2 pricing esp for its new Kancil Replacement Model. Anyway cars prices from P1 & P2 (if they are really patriotic!!) should be around ths region so that ppl can afford to buy car esp those who riding small bike wt their family & kids.

Sooo worrying when seeing those ppl on bikes wt wf,kids & even babies, really "kesian" since they can't afford to buy cars for their families. Hopefully they can afford this car which definately safer than bikes.( i know since i use bike to commute to wk by choice…due to economic/time saving reasons..he3x)

• ganz (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 7:29 pm

ingolstadt .. yes we are stupid.. so what??

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 7:55 pm

I take half an hour to go through 90++ comments.

My comments/conclusions:

1. Why someone is so ego and said others is stupid? Come on, blog is a way we share our own opinions and comments, but not for scolding.

2. P1 is not forcing someone to buy their car, if you are RICH, then go a head to buy BMW, Audi, Bentz and etc. If you prefer P2, then go a head too..

3. If you are not afford to buy "BIG" car, or else wanna to swap riding a motorbike to driver a car, then the Proton Saga may become one of the choices.

4. Good things may not cheap, but cheap things may quite useful.

5. Pls do the correct comparison: if you compare Volvo S40 to Proton Saga about the safety, sure the S40 win, if you compare Proton Saga with motorbike, then the Saga will win.

6. Root cause of the death from road accident is cause by human attidute, not a car. Car safety only a adaptive way, not corrective way.

• layman (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 8:13 pm

Now P1 has done their part in helping people, when P2 and NAZA will carry out their duty? or they will continue to suck our blood?

• ganz (Member) on Mar 28, 2007 at 10:01 pm

ahahhahahaha… people just hate proton .. that all..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 4:49 am

NiceCar, why soooo……………. "long-air"

Just one statement to describe it: –

STOP THE BUYING, STOP THE SUCKING!

• NiceCar (Member) on Mar 29, 2007 at 8:52 pm

Joe Ooi said,

March 28, 2007 @ 8:49 pm

NiceCar, why soooo……………. “long-air”

Haha.. "paiseh" lah.. i also realise I so "long-air".

But after you read 92 comments, sure have a lot of "things" to write.

Yup.. agree that –> "STOP THE SUCKING!"

• kerajaan78 on Apr 20, 2010 at 12:27 pm

!!! Bastard Proton Car !!!
    My car: proton saga LMST 1.3 always make me “pening kepala”; the overheated warning light alyways going-up and make me crazy…. The personal for proton serice also can’t solve the problem…. very damn car…. !!! Bastard Proton !!!!

• bahar on Jun 07, 2010 at 7:22 pm

Bro Kerajaan78,
    Why go to P1sc? Lmst is the simplest car on Earth.
    Even bawah pokok mechanic can do…
    I do the repair and service myself…
    So far I don’t have any problem with this 2-year-old car..

• aisitheru on May 25, 2014 at 3:30 pm

I would like to buy this car,secondhand Proton Saga LMST regitration year 2005 sudah hbis byar,hrga paling less RM 9600..is it berbaloi??any suggestion..