MPs concerned over Clarkson’s comments

It appears that Jeremy Clarkson’s opinion on the Perodua Kelisa like the one shown in this video have caught the attention of the Parliament.

DAP-Tanjong MP Chow Kon Yeow and BN-Ledang MP Hamim Samuri enquired whether Perodua had taken measures to defend against the negative publicity that Jeremy Clarkson’s review had caused. Senator Datuk Abdul Raman Suliman responded that there has been no negative response or complaints on the Kelisa from UK buyers.

I normally appreciate DAP doing what it has to do as the opposition, that is to oppose and question every move and motive of the reigning party, but this is just silly. Everyone knows Jeremy Clarkson is just doing what he does best, entertaining the audience, and it is only his personal opinion, plus he never talked about the quality of the car, just the manner in which it was built – to be a money factory without passion.

Plus, it must be understood that the Kelisa was given that review in the UK market because the UK car-buying market is not controlled by the NAP, thus many other modern and better specced choices are offered at affordable prices. There’s no need to get so defensive.

Jeremy Clarkson annihilates the Perodua Kelisa

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:21 am

Maybe Proton would defend itself against the negative publicity by its owner.Maybe.

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:26 am

if u ar good then nothing to be afraid of lar…

come on,Malaysia National car boleh!

• Hikaru (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:31 am

Alamak, Malaysia boleh…..Jeremy's comments was made Eons ago. Now only "it has come to the DAP and BN members" attention and debated at parliament. It seems like not only our car is a money factory but also our politian are either deaf or computer illiterate to only know about the comments.

Please lah, jangan memalukan rakyat lagi. I already can imagine what jeremy is going to say, "Apparently the Malaysian Govenment was not happy about what i did to the Kelisa, 3 years after i destroyed it." *queue* *laughters*

• silverfish (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:40 am

Oh god, can these people please not make a fool of Malaysia and its people.

• drM (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:43 am

this is a joke.

these MP got many things to do, instead of giving their UNDIVIDED attention to Mr Clarkson.

he is the host of the top car show in the world. and you guys are the shameful half past six men and women.

so, roll… HPs.. before I whacked you in the arse!

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 12:59 am

Jeremy would say, after 3 years… it is still rubbish!

Can't believe MP are bringing this into parliament. Isn't there other important stuff that is going on in our country?

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:09 am

aiya… clarkson is juz an entetainer lar… we cant trust fully 100% of his opinion… besides we manage to see he often introduces exotic cars (from wat i read through nst's cbt every sunday… definitely cant review of wat he says lar…

• BettaSplendens (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:29 am

"Patriotism has nothing to do with making a good car. If we show our so-called patriotism to buy a junk car, then we’re stupid – it’s our hard-earned money dude…"

GT said,

December 20, 2005 @ 4:05 am

Totally agree wiv this statement.

• armandd (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:31 am

for a politician who's not a 'kaki kereta' like us, that would be a normal reaction for him after seing the video, i guess. maybe he's out of ideas but still wanted to 'cucuk' the gov, that's all..

• ab (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:31 am

Clarkson's right, we msians have been forced to buy horeshits for too long now!

• 20v_ke35 (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:33 am

Aiya,…stop la doing this. When you unsatified, you get mad. Be proactive laa… Think and try to fix what people complaining.

BTW free world, freedom of speech…..

• Cire (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:34 am

Worrisome.. not bcos of the car, but the MPs focus of work, and the maturity of their mindset. JC have criticized his local Transport minister with full photo too in his talk show, but you never see their House debated over this..

Anyways, the whole entire local MP thingy have its own thread by its ownself.

• wookie00 (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:45 am

all i can say is…. GOOD ON YOU CLARKSON!! HAHAHAHAHAHA

• offroader manix (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:46 am

LOL………….I find this hilarious….just the same old Jeremy.

What he did was a little over board….but I think he is right.

Malaysian manufacturers are concerned with $$$ and there's no passion. I agree with him

He believes in the RIGHT to CHOOSE and SPEAK where here…..we are restricted. We all comes from a different culture " Of course "

M'sian comes from a culture which doesn't allows us to choose but UK is a free country. A citizen is allow to speak freely there.

So this video I think not only interprets the free will to choose but the RIGHT'S when choosing. He thinks most of us cannot choose and must settle for 2nd best……… in the expense of someone concerned with $$$ and not for the country and rakyat welfare.

Interpretation is always deep……..and it interpret different opinion and it tests our deep thought………or someone is thinking.

Your opinion is SKIN deep !

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 1:49 am

Hikaru said, …."Apparently the Malaysian Govenment was not happy about what i did to the Kelisa, 3 years after i destroyed it.” *queue* *laughters*"….

______________________________________________________________________________

Hahahahaha! That's a good one. Why be defensive? Clarkson was right!

• KL-ATR (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 2:22 am

There you go. MPs showing that they have nothing better to do in the parliment than to debate about things that are not going to improve situations in our daily lives. If someone local were to buy a Saga and do the same thing, is the G gonna sue this person? For smashing his own car? Ok, no bomb so closest is to burn it. What then? Fine him for open burning and force him to proclaim that Saga is the best car on earth??? Sheesh.

Somebody need to remind them that our local transportation is still crappy and they should put their collective mind into FIXING that, not debating about what Jeremy did 3 years ago.

• giyzmo (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 2:52 am

aiyoooo…cant they identify a joke when they hear/ see one?? this is soooooo sad…

• jasonlow (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 3:01 am

i guess tat MP just found out the great old youtube or how to use the internet!

• alternation (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 4:14 am

has DAP lost it's direction and purpose? or just a let-loosed sour grape MP who happens to drive a kelisa he loved so much he called it with fond names like bobby or rocky …

• transformer (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 4:36 am

o.. already wakeup kah? glad that finally someone in d parliament already woken from coma….. after 3 years! sigh!

so rakyat are hoping there would be more improvement, say 1years sooner?

then everyone here would keep our finger crossed for the next parliament to hear some comment on 2005/06….

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 5:48 am

just improve! no use concerning bout this! 3 years already……..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 5:58 am

These MPs must be internet illiterate or just read on the "archives" only!

• xXx (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 6:08 am

Just typical of Malaysian MPs. Debating rubbish.

Looks like we the people pay these monkeys just to debate about some presenter of a poky motoring show destroy a car. Damn…

Don't they have more pressing issues to discuss? Or is it that our country already is nirvana that they are filling their mandotary paliamentary hours by discussing something for the pure sake of discussion?

Come on. We the people vote you for your arse to be planted there for one thing and one thing only. To improve our lives. To bring prosperity and development to all.

And to Clarkson i say good job. I had plenty fun watching that video. Nothing wrong in giving your opinion.

• jamaican elmo (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 6:39 am

but Hamster seems to like the kelisa

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 6:48 am

Duh, this video was made ages ago and they're only doing something about it now? Anyway, I don't see any reason why they should be so sensitive and get worked up about the video; it's just a show.

• J (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 6:57 am

Kepala tadak otak :)

• azolkipl (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 7:06 am

Stupid MPs. And they think that the population between the age of 21-35 don't register to vote because we like to do things last minute. I think the biggest reason I don't register or even vote is because our candidate 'leaders' tend to be stupid and childish.

• nmh (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 7:15 am

if there is no taxjunk…then talk

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 7:17 am

This is just…..shocking. I've always looked up n respected DAP, bt I guess there are some of its members who are "half-past-six" after all.

Btw, from the source: "Replying to a supplementary question, from Hamim Samuri (BN-Ledang), who had wanted to know the measures taken by the government against the comment by Clarkson, Abdul Raman said the motoring writer's comment was made to boost the sale of his magazine."

WRONG!! Clarkson's nt that desperate to destroy it just to boost TG mag sales, n besides, the vid's from him DVD, not on TG episodes he did on Sunday evening. He's more concerned in saving the cars from being "just a machine" to get from point A to B, cuz that disease was started by the Japs thnx to Toyota especially, the most successful in "robotising" the car made w/o soul n passion. He did all that in the name of love for cars. TRUE LOVE FOR TRUE CARS, to be more precise. The car manufacturers that did their homework well will get his praises, especially Alfa Romeo cars to name one, they've always said time n time again: "You can NEVER consider yourself a true petrolhead until you've own an Alfa." Oh yes, they're as reliable as a Proton, as good to drive as falling down the stairs on a wheelchair, bt one thing for certain: their cars have soul and passion and therefore are never, ever boring. The ones that build cars like a white goods ie fridge, toaster, microwave oven, deserve to go to hell, and Perodua, is one of them. Allowing Kelisa to stay alive will only lead to death of cars, and if you guys keep up with Jeremy Clarkson's Sunday column at timesonline.co.uk, you'll get what I mean. He's always ranting abt cars nowadays have a feeling that they're all the same, they're no longer as special as they used to be back in those days, and pretty soon, ppl will no longer compare a car with anoder car, bt cars with public transport, n he predicted the public transport will be the winner while the cars, will be in the museum as an antique.

• ingolstadt (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 7:57 am

my god, another humuliating moment for malaysians.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 8:45 am

Malaysians cepat melenting! Ahli Parlimen kecoh pasal Jezza tu watpe? Banyak lagi isu lain yang lebih penting nak bincang la weh…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 2:00 pm

What a humiliating for Malaysian? Kelisa doesn't vote by the rakyat to represent Malaysia.

What humiliating us are these 2 MPs selected by and representing Malaysian but talk crap in Parliament House even not up to date, but of yesteryear! Sigh pathetic MPs, know nuts about car industry, one ask moronic question, another given crap reply!

Better cut their salary or allowance!

• eantautjk (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 4:40 pm

“Apparently the Malaysian Govenment was not happy about what i did to the Kelisa, 3 years after i destroyed it.” *queue* *laughters*….

and guess what, three years down the road, and the same kelisa is still on sale in Malaysia

• formulalibre (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 5:18 pm

Hooray , our YB's are world famous now . This article appears under Most Popular Stories in the BBC : http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/6528087.stm. The world is looking forward to more crap from our MPs for a good laugh.

• hondadriver (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 5:28 pm

as paul said, jeremy is just being jeremy. thats what made him famous. anyways.. i dont know whats the bother about him anyways.. he has made more fun about korean cars than he ever did malaysian cars. Even the kenari was rated a better handler than the smartfortwo. I dont think he has anything really personal against malaysia.. it makes good entertainment.

somebody said "M’sian comes from a culture which doesn’t allows us to choose but UK is a free country. A citizen is allow to speak freely there."

In Malaysia, we are allowed to speak freely as well, unless of course, you said something openly, without basis or fact or is defamatory against an individual or an organisation. Similarly, in the UK, or even the US, you can get sued as well if you did the same thing. The problem with most people in malaysia sometimes is that, we think free speech means exactly that, freedom to say anything we want to regardless if its true or not of if it is damaging to others, because it is "our opinion" and our "right".

• Gus-Gus (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 5:50 pm

Yikes, the BBC headline is that "Malaysia Lambasts Top Gear Host". Malaysians don't lambast Clarkson, just a couple of backward MPs who have only just caught up on the "happenings" in the rakyat 3 years ago.

BBC – hear this, "Malaysians Lambast MPs for Lambasting Top Gear Host".

Subheading, "General Concensus: Agreement with Top Gear Host's Opinions".

• zaidance (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 6:23 pm

What to do, in Malaysia proton has been condemned by perodua owner. Kononnya perodua bagus and proton tak bagus. But in oversea proton cars are well accepted. Now, jeremy kutuk perodua, and yet tak boleh terima pulak…..apa cerita!!!! Siapa yang kata jeremy jealous malaysian beli lotus (Who said hah!!)…eh perodua mana ada kena mengena with lotus??? Bodoh apa!! Just accept perodua cars is junkkkkkkkkk!!!! Memang betul, perodua just want to make money, they does not concern about driver n passangers safety..

• driver (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 6:36 pm

Yeah, nothing to worry about. No car in this world could not pass that kind of test.

On the other hand, maybe our kelisa can sue him to international court for defarmation? He he, just kidding.

• raverus (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 6:36 pm

get a life……not good is not good, others are just as transperant as it is.

Unlike….u know……….haha.

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 6:42 pm

From BBC news:-

Malaysia lambasts Top Gear host

Jeremy Clarkson thinks Perodua Kelisa sounds like a disease

Top Gear host Jeremy Clarkson has come under attack in the Malaysian parliament for labelling one of the country's cars the worst in the world.

The BBC presenter has been filmed attacking the Perodua Kelisa with a sledgehammer before blowing it up.

But minister Abdul Raman Suliman defended the nation's car industry, saying Mr Clarkson was like a football commentator who cannot play football.

He told MPs, Perodua had not received a single complaint from British owners.

He added that the comments were made merely to boost sales of the Top Gear magazine.

'Soulless'

Mr Clarkson has voiced his frustrations with the small three-cylinder model in both magazine articles and on the Top Gear motoring show.

In one article, he said its name was like a disease and suggested it was built in jungles by people who wear leaves for shoes.

And on the show, he described it as "unimaginative junk, with no soul, no flair and no passion".

He then smashed it, hung it from a crane with a one-tonne weight attached, before blowing it up.

Perodua is Malaysia's second national carmaker and began producing small compact models in 1995.

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 7:13 pm

"unimaginative junk, with no soul, no flair and no passion"

this words is not for me yeah jeremy…

bcoz we've the imaginative thinkg for cars, we're very soulful about cars…& we got passion too…

hmmmm….anyone..please!!! please make a way for people like us to be part of this automotif industries…

or do a reality show exactly like "The Apprentice"

• dawgHause (Member) on Apr 05, 2007 at 7:17 pm

once again malaysia boleh.

we really know how to stick it those british chaps and show them what asses we are.

my goodness its just a twenty quid car. Thats built in a jungle clearing with bits originating from japan.

• ybng (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 2:31 am

Actually, I did not know about this video until our MP talked about it. Yes, I agreed that this should not be discussed in Parliment, wasting everybody's time there. They could look at some other more pressing issues like too much subsidies for petrol etc.

I wonder if Mr.Clarkson knows that these soulless cars actually make some poor people here happy ? He may have forgotten that some people just want to go from point A to point B ? And not too fussy about the drive ? It beats waiting for a bus or riding a motor bike with wife and kids in the rain !!

I am sure if these people are rich like him, they will buy something with more characters , like …… ?

• peYno (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 3:40 am

Pity u la malaysian..

this car is not bringing malaysia flag… everybody knows perodua just assemble this car and rebadge from original Daihatsu coure ..

Japanese must be laughing at u MP… pretending.. kelisa is malaysian car???

prrrrfthhhh

• avanza (Member) on Apr 06, 2007 at 7:37 pm

That kelisa trashing stint was done so long ago! Why now? DAP is kinda late on the issue. DUH!

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 07, 2007 at 12:25 am

he smack the car not because he hate kelisa, korean, malaysian made, but he frustrated when a car is not design in a manner of proper design, like chris bangle specialized on bmw, pininfarina for ferrari, thus the involvement of a single designer will personalize its design toward certain brand hance create a strong image of that particular brand directly derived from his original talent and creativity, more if the designer know the history of the car itself, and how he realate history in developing his design,

..what he so frustrated when he said a car designed by 'corporation', for the goal is to make money, threfore the car said 'no design' lack of soul,

-id agree with him in design perspective ,although its a cheap budget car, should properly design, sholuld have image, ,,,and to create image/ although without strong piece of automotive history, other aspect could be a good refernce though to generate an initial concept in creating unique image of a certain brand,

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 07, 2007 at 4:53 am

last time Mr. Bean blew up the Iswara Dr. M was furious, Mr. Bean appologised, but that was like after he did that clip. This is like years ago, and IF you really had a choice, you would go with Swift rather than Kelissa. Just shows our buying power and Gov screwing the car prices

• silverfish (Member) on Apr 07, 2007 at 8:05 am

Lovely, our MPs have made themselves and Malaysia, look like fools.

http://www.finalgear.com/news/2007/04/05/malaysia…

http://forums.finalgear.com/showthread.php?t=1824…

• stevarac (Member) on Apr 07, 2007 at 8:11 am

It takes a bunch of jokers to treat another joker seriously.

Everything must be wonderful with our great nation that we have nothing

more important to deal with.

After all , we are already 50 great years old. ???

• shooter (Member) on Apr 08, 2007 at 12:57 am

i totally agree w Jeremy, its (Kelisa) just a basic transport tool to get from a to b. but what does the ministers know, they dont have to go thru wat the rakyat does, they have cronies that make them afford better choices, and i'll bet that even if u give a kelisa for free they wont want to be seen in it, much less experience wat we all can afford thanx to the preferential treatments our beloved P1/P2 enjoys. but irks me the most is that the malays from the heartlands are not exposed to these facts, by design, and do not know that things could, and should, be better.

• topgunthang (Member) on Apr 08, 2007 at 10:42 pm

i agree with shooter and jeremy. he is telling the truth. and is just saying what most of us are already thinking.

i think he should have done the same again to the proton savvy, gen2 and neo. which just happens to be a good idea to boost sales and audience. as i do beleive in trashing a car or any product that you dont like as long u have bought it and can afford it.

as for the received zero complains from UK kelisa owners…thats just bullshit. or maybe they just went ahead and trashed the car without complaining.

• Sue Mars on Jun 06, 2009 at 8:29 pm

Well Clarkson is Calrkson…I basically dont think anyone would would do what he did literally on their cars. Just be careful when driving…..dont race, be civilised on the road, (mind you if he did that on the ford, it would end up the same)