2007 Ford Ranger TDCi launched in Malaysia

Ford Ranger Launch Mid Valley

The latest and most powerful pick-up truck to join the Malaysian pick-up segment has just arrived – the new 2007 Ford Ranger TDCi featuring the latest generation Duratorq 2.5 litre TDCi engine. More details on the truck as well as a video after the jump.

2007 Ford Ranger TDCi

For those who like the macho looks of the Ford F-series trucks powered by huge V8 engines in the North American market, you’ll find some familiarity in the Ranger’s design cues which are somewhat inspired by the F-series. Ford believes a truck should look like a truck (and not a Storm Trooper helmet on wheels IMHO) and I wholeheartedly agree with them. The sight of the Ranger parked in the classic front three quarter view with the front wheels turned slightly to the direction the car is facing – just looks great.

On the front you get square headlamps that portray sturdiness and toughness, and a big three bar grille which has become the signature of all modern Ford trucks. From the side, you’ll notice the new Ranger has a much higher shoulderline which extends to the rear bedliner too – this means a deeper bedliner, therefore increasing load capacity to 1,266 litres. Another item on the side is exceptionally large side mirrors which are also aerodynamically designed to reduce wind noise, thus improving NVH levels.

2007 Ford Ranger TDCi

Speaking of capacities, the interior has plenty of storage space – five cupholders, a large dual-deck center console storage area with an upper storage for small items and a lower storage for 9 CDs and larger items, as well as an 8.1 litre glovebox. I played around with the switches in the interior and they felt good to touch, especially the power window switches. They just have good feedback when you flick them.

The sound system is an AM/FM/MP3 CD receiver, integrated into the center dash area. Much work has been done to improve NVH levels in the new 2007 Ford Ranger. For example, the oil pan is specially designed with a dual layer configuration to reduce vibrations across the oil pan. The propeller shaft has dynamic dampers.

2007 Ford Ranger TDCi

The new Duratorq engine is has 22% better fuel economy (7.7L per 100km) than the engine in the old Ranger it replaces, yet makes alot more power. The Duratorq 2.5 litre TDCi makes 141bhp/143PS at 3500rpm and 330Nm at 1800rpm. Despite torque peaking at a low 1,800rpm – which is good BTW – it doesn’t go down the hill after the peak. Thanks to a Variable Geometry Turbocharger, the torque curve remains somewhat flat, only dropping slightly towards the redline. A wide and strong torque curve is matched well with 5-speed gearboxes for both the auto and manual variants. A 5-speed auto means this is the only pick-up in it’s class here in Malaysia with a 4 forward cog and 1 overdrive forward cog setup. The auto transmission variant also allows changing from 2WD to 4WD at speeds of under 100km/h via a simple dial switch.

The front brakes have twin calipers, while the rear brakes are the usual drum with Load Sensing Proportionate Valve, typical of a pick-up truck setup. The brakes have anti-lock capabilities, and also have Electronic Brakeforce Distribution. There are dual airbags for the front, and these are dual-stage units.

2007 Ford Ranger TDCi

The new 2007 Ford Ranger TDCi costs RM88,639 for the 4X4 XLT automatic variant while the 4X4 XLT manual variant costs RM83,739. It will be available May 9th 2007 onwards, and will be available in 5 colors. Colors available for both the auto and manual variants is Silver, Panther Black and Racing Blue, while Inca Gold is only available with the automatic and Tango which is some sort of orange is only available on the manual.

Below is an ad clip featuring the Ford Ranger, I thought it got the point across pretty well although it might seem slightly over the top.

Video: Ford Ranger Ad

2007 Ford Ranger TDCi

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 11:55 am

Looks real solid!

• agnesia (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 12:54 pm

Storm Trooper helmet on wheels…

is that 'shooting' STORM successor TRITON??

• muflis (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 12:59 pm

the video ad is awesome :)

em, TRITON does looks like a very sad Storm Trooper on road :p

• jtshin (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 3:19 pm

nice clean design… this is really how a truck should look like… maybe build it bigger with wider wheels.. then it'll look better.. anyway.. love it…

• qmk9133 (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 3:25 pm

still triton thrives.

• Cire (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 3:59 pm

Unless one is a heavy user for carrying loads and off-roading bud, this addition of yet another 4×4 on the road is plain irritating. They are high on the road, blocking front view of other motorist. And because they sit higher on the road, it super irritating to have one 4×4 behind you at the lights. Plus with an ignorant driver behind it who would try his best to ease further near you with the 4×4's super high lights.

How to counter such inconsiderate act. Well, simple. Take out your newspaper or whatever, and use the beam to read the news. hehee.

Anyways, no doubt 4×4 plays its role in the sub-urban where the best road available is the rubbles and pebbles paved red earth, it proves to be most useful and handy vehicle to have, especially one with good Hp and comfort of a saloon car.

By all means launch as many as possible of such vehicles, just keep it where it belongs..the sub-urbs and better still in the red earthed roadways.

sorry folks, that's only my humble opinion.

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 4:39 pm

"Storm Trooper helmet on wheels"

Well said, Paul.

This new ranger is definitely macho and looks American too! Nice ad.

• acbc (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 5:05 pm

I don't think people will use it for off-road since the airbags will automatically deploy upon hitting a bump or tree.

• ab (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 5:09 pm

why buy anything else?

• xg9 (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 5:24 pm

looks like a smaller f150… small for asian, big for american.. hehe… sorry i know nothing about trucks… just one question, why there r 2 gear sticks?

• Mayonaise (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 5:24 pm

Well, Ford is right in saying that trucks should look like a truck. But the Triton also looks good in its own way. Good-looking Ranger, I love its looks.

• calvin5189 (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 5:34 pm

Really great.

Question: Why there always some girls with mini skirt when launching something. What is the purpose putting those girls there? Any connection with the truck? Why dont they have some handsome nice looking guys there.

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 5:42 pm

If u put macho guys there, they tot its for gay men laaaa………..

• rhoma (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 5:46 pm

Cire said,

April 25, 2007 @ 7:59 am

Unless one is a heavy user for carrying loads and off-roading bud, this addition of yet another 4×4 on the road is plain irritating. They are high on the road, blocking front view of other motorist. And because they sit higher on the road, it super irritating to have one 4×4 behind you at the lights. Plus with an ignorant driver behind it who would try his best to ease further near you with the 4×4’s super high lights.

How to counter such inconsiderate act. Well, simple. Take out your newspaper or whatever, and use the beam to read the news. hehee.

agree with u!

actually how does it feel driving this kind of vehicle? i've never drive one but i can see many of them are driven fast. are they really able to go fast on road?

• rhoma (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 5:51 pm

calvin5189 said,

April 25, 2007 @ 9:34 am

Really great.

Question: Why there always some girls with mini skirt when launching something. What is the purpose putting those girls there? Any connection with the truck? Why dont they have some handsome nice looking guys there.

i suppose u a are a female?

• kody (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 6:21 pm

Wahlaueh…

Nice move for Ford to replace its aging & dated Ranger series. Typical American's style of truck outlook. I like it.

Paul, have you try on the back seats?? it's ergonomic for rear passengers? Most of these kind of 4WD do not have convenient rear passengers seats, i meant the seats back rest angle are not convenient for long journey.

• Paul Tan on Apr 25, 2007 at 6:25 pm

the backrest angle is not as comfy as a sedan but its a good compromise, its not as straight as the pickups of the previous generation. however if i buy one, it'll become a 3 seater as when i push the seat back to the position i require to drive, the seat behind me becomes unusable.

• L (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 6:55 pm

its a good and tough looking truck i must say. But i certainly can't say Triton is sissy either compare to this. Mayb mitsu trying to be different from usual square design theme of a truck. I must say mitsu pull it off with Triton. Just the right blend wif curve and rugged and oh, tough too! :)

• wuichi (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 9:52 pm

nice!! i'm saying the price would be around RM80,000++?

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 10:16 pm

Now this is how a pick up truck should look like. The Triton looks like its designed for those confused whether to buy a sports car or a pick up, so they gave them both. The fold out table above the Glove box is something new. Overall very nice. Now time for TCM to release the new Frontier!

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 11:32 pm

i really like the glovebox, unique! it sure does look tough and the dash too looks great! i like it!

• kimmy (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 11:58 pm

I think the green back lighting is not really outdated. All modern Jaguars and Range Rovers still use them. Btw the truck looks great!!!

• Tanpanama (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 12:03 am

Looks good.But Ford truck doesn't looks that tough to me compares to toyota..Ground clearance is not high enough compares to toyota..For offroaders, it's a little bit a problem…Tough but not unbreakable..

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 7:35 am

I don't understand why this truck is big and with more power, but it only sold the price like 88k, which has similiar price with honda city or vios, and less than honda civic and altis??? Is that special reason?

• Paul Tan on Apr 26, 2007 at 7:42 am

because trucks have almost no tax

• transformer (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 7:51 am

rear seat are very important for family car… at least a 20 deg. reclining are highly appreciated!! PLEASE! and also rear drum! PLEASE make it disc! consumer would pay 2K or 3K more for that!

STYLING FINE! ( tough but not too out of this world! )

VERY COOL ENGINE! ( especially the turque, FC and VGT!!!!! )

Dear Paul, are this Ranger engine intercooled ?

( heard from some orang-balak told that those turbo pickup without intercooler would burn their engine casket more often…. even blown engine, i believe these orang-balak ) heat are just like fire, when small play together but when big want to fight!

• shooter (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 12:48 pm

transformer, i dont think the Ranger or any truck for that matter were designed with the family in mind, if you want a family vehicle get an MPV/SUV/wagon or any other sedan/saloon. its a TRUCK, which part of that word do you not understand?

• sarawakguy (Member) on Apr 26, 2007 at 1:55 pm

Guys…if it is not a FORD I'm driving many years ago…I would not be here today…my FORD saved me and my friends lives that particular day….Even the mechs told me that nothing can withstand that kind of an impact like FORD did…BUILT TOUGH….and a good name too…Hurricane…

I personally would like to have this one in the very near future…!!!! BTW…My former FORD can match with those bigger cc Toyotas in their balak roads on many occasions…heh heh…

• maxtek (Member) on Apr 28, 2007 at 1:03 am

Paul, I notice in the picture with the slide out tray, the interior colour scheme is beige and not the usual boring gray.

Is that available as an option or is it just "eye-candy" since you were at the launch. Thanx.

• ATOMECHTRONICZ (Member) on May 01, 2007 at 5:34 am

Nice double cap. i think is the most powerful original engines double cap wit 141bhp/143PS at 3500rpm and 330Nm at 1800rpm. Price also can accept. but it is a high maintainance car ! jus only save fuel…

• Nice… but not really that nice. I still prefer the F-150 5000cc anytime. I'd rather import one from the Philippines. Also, since I'm left-handed, I'm more accustomised to driving left-hand drive vehicles, as I'm used to signalling with the left hand (that's why I'm well accustomised to current Proton models) and the gearstick shifting using the right hand.. Too bad I'm not living in any LHD country… Also, their trucks have larger clutch and brake pedal surface and well-spaced, as so to prevent slippage or wrong pedal pushing (Ergonomics).

• fhamie on Mar 18, 2011 at 8:44 am

Sye ada mmbeli ford rangar tdci keluaran 2007. Selama sye memakianya sye blum pernah lagi merasakan keistemewaanya kereta ni. Ini kerana beberapa bulan sye mmbelinya, kereta sye telah di rosakkan oleh MEKANIK ford sendiri. Akibat dari kerosakkan tersebut kereta sye telah di OVERHUAL. Rasa tdak puas la beb.. kereta baru d overhual…. Secantik mna pun MODEL Keluaran yg FORD keluarkan klu MEKANIK tidak pandai buat kerja.. ini akan menjatuhkan pretasi FORD sendiri dan merugikan org yg mmbeli keluaran model FORD..

• reuben on Apr 19, 2016 at 3:00 pm

i have one of this. this truck is fun. the sad thing about owned a Ford truck is the difficulty your face when you need a spare parts for your car. And HIGHLY expensive. Money is not the issue. Even if you afford to buy the spare parts, i am not satisfy with the Service Center and the mechanic. Did you train your mechanics, FORD ?