Volkswagen says Proton talks to resume soon

So the PM has said one thing and Khazanah Nasional has said another. The best way to know if the Volkswagen talks are on or not is ask Volkswagen right? It appears that Volkswagen is still talking to Proton, and is preparing something to reopen discussions with Proton again. This piece of news comes from a Volkswagen spokesperson, however it’s not known what discussions are these, and whether it will involved a stake transfer, or just some form of cooperation.

However, whether the cooperation involves a stake or not is going to be irrelevant to who will be managing Proton as the government has said it will never hand over control of Proton to a foreign company.

“We are seeking a strategic partner to have a firm collaboration of the strengths of both Proton and the partner, and we believe this will enable Proton to become more competitive. A collaboration must be in line with our thinking and our position, otherwise there cannot be an agreement. What this means is that we will not simply hand over Proton, we have our stand that a prospective strategic partner must accept,” said Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

Let’s stop for a moment and have a look at where Proton’s thinking and position has gotten it so far. Do we really want to stand by that position?

Responding to the earlier call by the PM to stress on the importance of Proton turning itself around soon, Khazanah Nasional says all issues should be sorted by the end of 2007. Khazanah Nasional has met up with the PM and briefed him on what’s going on with the talks with Volkswagen and other parties like General Motors.

Khazanah Nasional wants to work with a partner through a strategic alliance – basically selling some equity is possible, and are willing to look at the control of certain parts of the business such as manufacturing, which would benefit the most from a foreign partnership. I am sure Proton has it’s product planning sorted out under this new management – they have Bob Hall after all, and he’s certainly not an idiot. His team should be equally capable. I believe most of the “misses” rather than hits are projects from the old management. The products are going to come soon, but if manufacturing does not put them out properly, no one is going to buy them.

There is some kind of plan B in Khazanah’s books – if there is no strategic partner to be found at the end of all the talks – product pricing. It will make “recommendations” to the government accordingly. I have a really bad feeling about this… the only way to make Proton products more competitive through pricing alone is to make Proton cars cheaper, or everyone else more expensive. Go on, try to guess which one is more likely?

Anyway, there is some hints in the media that the new talks between Volkswagen and Proton will be about something new, and with the recent rumour of an Indonesian Volkswagen base instead, I really believe there is some amount of chance that Volkswagen will be using the PT Proton Tracoma Motors plant in Indonesia. It’s just what I see with the few vague pieces of puzzles I’m trying to put together.

Source: Bernama, The Star

Khazanah says talks with Volkswagen still on
Proton in the red for financial year 2006
Volkswagen looking at Indonesia instead?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 12:47 pm

u get the feeling vw really wants proton for their SEA expansion plans….poor them thy hav to deal with khazana first….if government had no stake in proton,this deal wil had went through ages ago purely on business sence….

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 1:13 pm

still talking ah?

i hope they talk until potong close shop then bagus loo.

tell lies greater than clinton

suck bloods greater than soros

• kl55 (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 2:19 pm

FUYOHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
    lu sien bo. .

• BrakeFader (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 4:08 pm

One minute. yeah.. we're still talking..

Another minute… Eeeee dun want to fwen with you liao… talks are off…

Then again… yeah… we're still talking…

(repeat as necessary to keep the public excited)

• acbc (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 4:41 pm

Sigh… if no news in 2-3 months, Proton better start clearing old stocks at 50% discount already.

• Ah-Ba (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 5:39 pm

Biasa-lah bang, Proton mah!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 5:40 pm

T A L K – On, off, on, off, on, off, on, off………………. Perhaps P1 already install "auto mode" for this on, off, ……!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 5:46 pm

“We are seeking a strategic partner to have a firm collaboration of the strengths of both Proton and the partner, and we believe this will enable Proton to become more competitive.

—————-

What strength Proton have, "built tough"? "Lotus handling"? "Campro"?, "airbag"?, or

"Stone age milo tin on the wheel"? or "open door pay toll" ?????????

But the "biggest strength" of all posses by P1 in our auto industry are suck RM dry, either through tax payer monies, or force buyers to buy low quality high price car, or through prohibitive tax regime by institute NAP!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 5:47 pm

I think the deal should be like this.. You G let me take control of 1 manufacturing factory and i give u P1 one platform or technology to work with but with royalty payment or share exchange… Hmm… Maybe because of this the G delayed.. They scare the VW will control the whole P1 management if the share they wanted is larger then G.. Well i really hope so, why not sell 51% to VW while the G take 49%.. If VW really sells good in Asia and Malaysia, the G still earn right? is a Win Win situation! You can still put some condition like, give our management a chance to work with you VW? Haiz.. sometime these cronies suppliers are afraid that the VW strict quality control will kick them away… If u scare then do your best but not the worst for us! Greedy cronies..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 5:47 pm

Biasalah, goreng-goreng, nanti takut P1 punya share market jatuh, rugi besar dan tak boleh cari makan!

• Phisto (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 5:58 pm

My my….. the cows have already come home and they are still talking forever. Meanwhile Thais and Indons are making steps everyday to be the auto hub in the region. Malaysia boleh…. yeah right.

• cyder300 (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 6:04 pm

We the public see time wasted for so long not only this year but since last year and the years before. We are not in anyway made to understand the situation and why the problems at the talks cannot be solved. We are puzzled by the confusing statements by various parties and the general "tidak apa" attitude from the Gov't and Proton mgnt to resolve this matter. We only see that VW must come in, there is no other suitable or available partners at this time. Its do or die time NOT do or don't do is ok……….. Cheers!

• tishaban (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 6:20 pm

I agree with cyder up there, the govt and Khazanah doesn't seem to have any sense of urgency in getting a deal brokered with VW despite the fact that Proton is bleeding money. WTF?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 6:20 pm

Well the longer they wait, the more desperate Proton is going to get. Its a win win situation for VW.

Proton is like an ugly bride which no one wants….but still trying to play hard to get. It has absolutely no bargaining power. I doubt GM is in any better position to take over Proton given the problems they are already facing. VW is viewing this in a purely business sense, if the government makes it expensive for them, they will simply just go somewhere else.

However, I wont be holding my breath for this. This will take a while. Even with VW on the helm, I seriously doubt there will be changes (at least anytime soon) on the tax structure of cars. The Government will take its (un)fair share of booty regardless, well, at least until other countries start to slap trade sanctions on Malaysia. Even if they handed over tomorrow, it wont be at least 5 years before you'd see any big changes in the industry…. 'fraid our cars wont last that long.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 6:28 pm

As for the "save proton tax". Highly unlikely. It will only force people to buy 2nd hand cars. Maybe that will help re-establishing the 2nd hand car market.

Don't underestimate Toyota's influence on the Thai goverment, there will be some repercussions on applying more taxes on the AFTA agreement. If it goes through, it will sound the death of the local car industry.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 6:37 pm

Where are peYno and tok moh? Good to hear your side of argument, this is blog and is place of free expression balance with respect to other!

• ys (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 6:41 pm

beside this talk talk thing.. is Proton focus on other things like new model?

wasted so much time just talking…if they focus on new modal.. i think it already hit the road by now… dont blame malaysian not buying proton…. but blame proton who never care what malaysian wants?

so.. wake up… and show us yr new model..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 6:58 pm

4G63T DSM, what you said is truth about the limitation of crappy NAP tax regime! This sucking instrument will be wipe out soon by the spririt of AFTA, FTAs with other nation or the like that advocate free trades!

Another factor is market forces – consumer purchasing power, once consumers excercise their rights by STOP THE BUYING, STOP THE SUCKING! No amount of legislative protection measures imposed by the government, either tariff (NAP) or non-tarif (AP) and/or no amount of monies (tax payer monies) pump in by our government can or will save Proton.

Proton long term survival is to find foreign technical partner (i.e VW), produce high quality and achieve economic of scale in order to be competitive in free market, either local (after dismantling of NAP) or export market.

But look at what G doing today, it is still remain talk, and talk, and talk ……… by telling this junk metal producer is "national pride" and must be "patriotic" to support and protect it at all cost! Must be under our control so that we won't lost face, bah, blah, …….. See how much time left to them for T A L K I N G, or P1 left to be salvaged by third party worth RM 2.00.

Who in the right business mind set will take minority share without management control yet expected to act like white knight by pump in billion and transfer technology to feed this ailing white elephant. The G just think potential partner like VW must carry out "social responsibilty" by saving Proton without any commercial return. Come on man, back to reality, this is purely biz, nothing to do with pride and patriotic. Talk about pride and patriotic, alomst all rakyat already carry out patriotic and pride duty by become law abiding citizen, pay tax, proud to be Malaysian, hoist Malaysian flag during merdeka and other world class endeavors, etc.

To be proud of and treat this junk metal as national pride, absolutely ridiculous! I my self for sure feel very proud of what Selangor Pewter, Peter Choo, Zhang Toi, Datok Lat, Anita Sarawak, Sidek family, etc achieve and contribute to our nation's pride! Hidup rakyat! P1 errrrrrrrrr ……. talking!

• tishaban (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 7:13 pm

BTW, anyone read the entry in autoblog about Porsche filing for takeover of VW? How does this affect the talks if any?

http://www.autoblog.com/2007/06/01/porsche-offici…

or directly from Reuters at

http://www.reuters.com/article/tnBasicIndustries-…

• waimak (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 7:17 pm

i dont know who's fault is this but it's taking waaay to long. If the talk is on and progressing, it should have taken off a long time ago. My gut feeling is telling me that this is not working. Trust me, in a business, if its a GO its a GO as simple as that. No 'still talking', no 'waiting to come back' and those sort of things.

• Xoomie (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 7:51 pm

Guys, an insider told me that the talk with VW will go on till the year 2020

Malaysia Boleh !

• floyd (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 7:53 pm

Joe,

milo tin is quite okay larr!! milo can is hard what. How bout coca cola tin. I think it fits protong better. LOL

• shooter (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 8:03 pm

i think the Rakyat, P1, Bob Hall and the negotiations are all victims politics overriding critical business decisions. it happens everywhere in Bolehland. I mean the recent breakdowns and leakages in G'vt complexes/buildings is one big indicator- contracts given out to those with connection NOT those with capabilities. the same thing with P1- the vendors(at least not all of them) and the people running the company ( non of them got back round in automotive business). PUT THE RIGHT PEOPLE IN THE RIGHT PLACES DOING THE RIGHT THING. Is that so hard? I guess in the G it is……..

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 8:32 pm

Cari makan aja, TAK boleh ke?

Goreng….goreng….goreng…….nanti Saham juga jadi panas panas.

Orang Buta pun boleh nampak lah! Jangan TIPU, penipu.

• Jay (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 9:43 pm

Ha Ha look at Proton ….. very bad shape….always disappoint customers … they deserve it. I salute those who go for other models. Even the perodua is a much better car.

Waja – lousy car…chep interior…large fuel tank…no power

Gen 2 – Campro – try to fool the people….where got power

Iswara – sardin tin with the lowest quality

Wira – the only proton i like…pretty ok to be honest….but need to replace…very old model ady.

Perdana – 4 speed auto, ageing already…..come on do something or stop production lah

Savvy – worst RM 43K car on the planet

Juara – haiyo

Satria Neo – another let down….what a non innovative interior design

Advice to all, potong cars may look attractive..but reliability ? …. like an old …saying …. "Don't judge the book by it's cover". Thank you

• aripson (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 9:54 pm

hey guys, you know what… I got something from a reliable resources that N A Z A has been buying Pro Ton shares, slowly, quietly, bit by bit since early May. So recently T S Na si mudin had called up his guys at N A Z A for a take-over briefing… and since that move (buying da shares in early May), T S Na si mudin has posted his men at Pro Ton (both in management and prod-line)….

Interesting, isn't it!

And today, on the NT V7 breakfast show, there is a news-line stating that our T P M has commented that, any potential new owner/partner of Pro Ton must obey such "indescribable" foundation regulations… What does he mean by that?

So guys, expect the un-expected! Soon T S Na si mudin will announce, or his political friends will announce, THEIR intentions of taking over our pembuat kereta nasio-nal…

Damn! I was looking forward for a Perdana Rep Mod that would look like a Passat!

!

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 10:43 pm

ya qing sien liao……..

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 11:12 pm

Proton do waste our citizen bloodly money just sell it to VW so tat we can have a fair & nice quality car from VW … Proton STOP it and SELL off !!!!!

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 11:13 pm

Proton Don't waste time & our citizen bloodly money !! …. just Sell it to VW … so tat we can have a fair price & nice quality cars from VW !!! no the Proton :

• xg9 (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 11:29 pm

round 27 of proton bashing

FIGHT!

• waimak (Member) on Jun 04, 2007 at 11:37 pm

If naza wins the bid, then the empire is going to be very big. My hope to have VW quality cars goes up in the air. Naza Savvy anybody?

• bugbear (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 12:36 am

P1: who will scold me? bcoz i taikor mah… lolz!!

• eezarm (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 1:08 am

The Gov shud let VW to take over Proton…

So i, as one of the Waja and other proton cars owners could get quality parts in the future…

The rakyat already spent a large sum of money to support Proton.

So, think about the rakyat needs…the customers needs are always important.

Like my waja, it is still ok, reliable and i have no problem with it.

Normal breakdowns also happen to other cars, right?

btw, the latest Waja is totally ugly…

trying to imitate VW models by having a large logo at the grill?

better stick to the old design or have a better one.

change the old sick greedy management that dont care about its products and put brilliant, creative and innovative people to run it, just to make it better.

• eezarm (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 1:09 am

a comment to the proton management about their product:

'TAK CANTIK PON…..!!!'

• digiman (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 1:30 am

xg9.. like what you said.. hahaha

but you sure round 27? i thought we just entered round 30…

hhmm… if VW do really tie up with Proton, regardless using Indonesia's plant or even Tanjung Malim.. cheap porshe? not a bad freaking idea…

hhmm.. wonder when chery alado will come into the picture.. hahaha

next thing we hear… chery pun mahu, because Proton tech better then chery..

then LMG also want because we need a local manufacturing plant to build our own malaysia water powered vehicle.

then after that, lada will be resurrected and will want Proton. thanks to Roman Abramovich

then we hear Chrysler will also want a share of it…

and guess what? an all good round of entertainment.. poor proton… being push around and offered like a carrot to a horse.. if only they can just concentrate on being better…

i wonder if it would be better if carlos ghosn is hired to bring proton around.. man i dont mind my tax money for that.. carlos ghosn… and we will have LAT to make a comic out of him!

• digiman (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 1:42 am

oh lets not forget about some forgotten road brand… maybe VW not interested.. but Skoda might… hahahaha… big brother send little brother in to chit chat with proton…

hhmm.. wonder when Fiat is gonna make their move…

next you know VW also sent SEAT in…

then we see Hino also want to enter the nego for Tanjung Malim (toyota want to make cheap trucks in SEA)

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 2:08 am

dun talk too much. close shop la. always talk. cakap besar.

said wan to launch another 2 model. better dun la.

nak hantar lagi 2 hantu merayau-rayau kat jln nanti even more people die ah.

now too many hantu oledi everywhere in my. WTF man!

• Kaboda (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 2:14 am

“We are seeking a strategic partner to have a firm collaboration of the strengths of both Proton and the partner, and we believe this will enable Proton to become more competitive.

Is losing money for 20 years and still being able to operate a strength?

How about leaky boot lids ?

Do I need to continue ?

• GTSpirit (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 2:27 am

Only a miraculous rescue act can save Proton from it's impending doom. Why?

1. Proton needs VW. Not the other way around. But PM said that he cannot wait forever for the VW chairman to come and meet him. SO who's the boss again?

2. Proton needs to be seen as better than Perodua. But the only thing that Proton can offer VW is the use of it's manufacturing plants. To assemble VW cars. This will turn Proton to a mere assembler of cars with VW badge, worse than Perodua which uses it's own badge. A no-no.

3. PSA is not interested. GM is too quiet.

4. Ex-PM wants Proton to be sold to a local company, not foreign. But what Proton needs in order to turn around is 1. Billions of cash; 2. Direction/experience (on how to spend the cash wisely – producing saleable models). Which local company is able/willing to contribute both?

5. New, supposedly 100% local-made model like the Gen2 is a salesperson nightmare. So, whatever money coming in is more likely to come from the sale of Mitsubishi-based models. Proton is in the red so there is no money to design new models. Which means we will see the Proton Saga for years to come, probably another decade or two, provided that Proton still exists. Read: Proton Saga 2020 Special Edition. Read: India's national car.

6. Nobody in a right state of mind would want to buy a car which the manufacturer itself depreciates it's value so carefreely.

7. No self-respecting used car dealers would want to take in cars which the manufacturer itself depreciates it's value so carefreely.

8. No counterfeit parts manufacturer from Taiwan or China would want to copy parts for a car that nobody wants to buy.

9. AFTA and the impending lift of market protection.

10. Perodua. They have no choice but to copy the Proton-killers such as the MyVi.

Sense can save Proton. Only that in Malaysia, it's almost non-existent. That's why it'll take a miracle.

• digiman (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 2:54 am

hhmm.. i wonder if mahindra wanna make a move to?

hei.. i heard from the grapevine that Proton's factory in Glenmarie is still partially owned by Mitsu.. is it true? if yes, then i am not surprise of the continous saga production…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 4:00 am

They seriously do think that Malaysia is only capable of one local car manufacturer, and if this was controlled by foreigners, all was lost.

Fucks sake, learn from them, then the G can at anytime start another Neutron or whatever Sotong, then grab these people that had learnt all the valuables from VW from the current Proton!

Oh i forgot, when they wanted to pick people who actually had ideas after the learnings, they will again select candidates based on skin colors again.

• matomyam (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 4:29 am

You guys can rave and rant on Paul Tan,s all u want,,me?,,come 2008 ,when cars above 3000cc will be subjected to only 0-5 % tax under japan malaysia FTA,,i,ll be driving my,,jeng jeng jeng,,2007 nissan 350z ,,yahoooo,,

• matomyam (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 4:30 am

You guys can rave and rant on Paul Tan,s all u want,,me?,,come 2008 ,when cars above 3000cc will be subjected to only 0-5 % tax under japan malaysia FTA,,i,ll be driving my,,jeng jeng jeng,,2008 nissan 350z ,,yahoooo,,

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 4:51 am

They increase the price everyone go buy p2 cars @ CKD cars? But I am not sure if price adjustments will be made. Hopefully it will not reach that far

• matomyam (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 4:54 am

My sufferings,for the past 20 over years ,brought about by this proton."saga"..is about to come to an end , as for u guys out there,,STOP THE BUYING STOP THE SUCKING,,

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 4:59 am

if VW takes over/patnership proton then i wont be buying the golf gti anymore same way i boycott proton cars.

btw…..

"""""""""And today, on the NT V7 breakfast show, there is a news-line stating that our T P M has commented that, any potential new owner/partner of Pro Ton must obey such “indescribable” foundation regulations… What does he mean by that?""""

did he hold up a crooked sword and wave it at VW or porsche?

hahaha

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 5:25 am

So long already still have not come up with solution.

So long we also waited for the real campro with cam profile changing (err DOHC VTEC?) and variable intake manifold (Err Integra GSR?). Somehow I dun think it will be a big hit as gimmicks like these dun really relate to fuel economy unless it is like the 12v-16v changeover system (Err VTEC-E??)

Campro ah campro. Until the real campro come out probably Honda's A-VTEC oso out liao.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 6:15 am

joe ooi,please have some respect for proton la wei!!its not a junk metal producer!!many people still drive it around!!almost 50% of proton users never buy the car because they got no choice but because they like it.if u want you can blame the G because they are the one doing all the talking!!nothing got to do with the company!!everyone should realize that!!Proton has no control at all!!vendors da G choose for them!!branch they G give loan and all for them to open wherever they like and now to close they want to give vss again to help them!! 17 vendors were stopped after TUV classified them as C category but 9 came back to produce parts for neo and facelifted savvy 3 even change they company name to come get back into production!!who play a big part in bringing back these vendors who produce super low quality parts??i am sure the G cause they want to help certain people.so if you cant produce new model,you cant get rid of useless vendors,u cant downsize,u cant agree with foreigners who wanna be in control,bring in their vendor and etc then what can proton do??all they can do is shake their head when da G say something and shake their legs when the G say nothing.simple as that!!and the people who the 1 suffering all the time!!VW is a company that really care about their quality and if the G not giving up on local vendor how on earth they will agree??even at the beginning VW have said that if they collaborate with proton they want people to know the car in built by VW and imagine if our local vendor supply thier parts??then VW will get the bad name..same goes to other manufacturer and company who want to buy or collaborate with proton!!so this matter is never goin to end till the G let proton do what they want or sell it entirely to a private company!!

• faizfadil (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 6:24 am

I don't really understand about proton…. they don't even have a market strategy at all…… they are more focus at overseas rather than our own country…… might as well proton give up….. look at preodua….. their business is blooming…….

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 7:45 am

But Prem3377, refer to your comment above,

I don't see any difference between the G and Proton. At the moment what i could see is G + WTF = P1

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 8:47 am

Prem3377 said,

joe ooi,please have some respect for proton la wei!!its not a junk metal producer!!many people still drive it around!!almost 50% of proton users never buy the car because they got no choice but because they like it.

———

Junk metal producer! This is the "maximum" respect I can give to P1 already lol! But do P1 respect me and public at large who are their customer, as well as tax payer that keeping supporting them for the last 20 yers ++? Ask yourself?

They like it? go to Labuan or Langkawi, then you can truely see what kind of car the people like under free market! Go and travel there makan angin cum field survey on the preference of car by consumers overthere!

Now you try to "save P1 assh***" by portray P1 is the "victim of circumstances" just because G is the master of everything what P1 can or cannot do! Hee, hee, hee ………………..

OK look at below equation: –

P1 = G = NAP = AP King = Cronies = Crocs = Suck rakyat monies!

Do I need to explain more?

Anyway, why peYno and tok moh "absent" from this thread? Wonder and wonder why ……. they must be outspoken Protonian ……

• digiman (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 11:16 am

Observer

care to clarify on your statement of maintenance cost is over a thousand? is this in one maintenance alone? or over a period of time?

• kody (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 5:29 pm

wahlaueh…

cock cock cock… ehhhh why so long the sun never rise up…. oohh because it is blind chicken & only know talk cock… whenever it wants & never bother others… because it can't see & thinking of others are the same blindness… hahaa….

STOP the corruptions, bring up the quality! I MEAN MATERIAL"S QUALITY!! then no VW alliance, i think lah…. proton still can survive…

How many times they said talk still on/off???

May be pak lah call VM president, 'Good morning Mr. VM president, just to say hi to you' then hang up the call. Go and tell public the talk still on… hahaa…

• Observer (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 5:47 pm

I totally agree with Joe Ooi. Due to inferior quality, the car maintenance cost is quite high. Have spent few thousands for the maintenance because I can't afford a new car. Also, the recent promotion for saga, my iswara is worth

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 6:21 pm

Wah… is this what our DPM means by Flip-Flop??? If that's the case, Proton has been flip flopping for so long I can't even remember.

Prem3377, make no mistake. Proton IS the G! They own major share, they place whoever they want at the helm, they dictate who are the suppliers. The Government should do what they're suppose to do, run the country, not companies! Operating Proton is a major conflict of interest.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 7:11 pm

i used to think the government are idiots to talk about trying to control blogs, citing bloggers do not post the truth, but only speculation and untrue facts.

but after hanging around pauls blog, its sad to say that its quite true. most of everyone seems to post mainly based on emotions, but not on the facts at hand. i think people like joe ooi should take away the politics, and emotions, and actually try to post something productive, rather than ranting and raving on forever. i think you are wasting your time joe.

for a start :faizfadil : i think you are very wrong on that.. no car company can ever survive just by concentrating on the domestic market. with 30% market share, proton cannot survive selling in malaysia only. under the new management, they've managed to increase exports from 12,000 last year to almost 21,000 this year. in just one year, i think thats a good sign.. they need to make more money, or they cant come out with new models.

so far, the waja, savvy, neo, and gen2 were done under T.Mahaleels time.. From what i gather from sentiment on forums, the Gen2 is the most hated car. Waja people dont complain as agressively, and people who actually own the neo and savvy, seems to be a happy bunch, with only complaints coming from people who dont own a neo or savvy..(strange). i dont own a proton or a perodua.. but i'm not about to go around saying negative things about them, that would make me look stupid imho.

if the latest news from proton is accurate, which it should be, since paul has spyshots of the car testing already, 2 new models are due, and this are the 1st real models coming out from the new management. with new models taking 18-24 months to develop from scratch based on industry standards, thats about the right time since the MD, syed zainal joined proton.

with or without a partner, this will definitely be the make or break for this new management. if the 2 new cars dont do well.. they will be in serious trouble with or without a partner.

KL-ATR.. i cant agree with you more. hope they dont screw up running of the country also.

• digiman (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 7:16 pm

Observer

care to clarify on your statement of maintenance cost is over a thousand? is this in one maintenance alone? or over a period of time?

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 7:25 pm

If ppl wan affordable cars, then 2nd hand protons are the option coz they can be had at quite low price for the very budget constraint many. But due to high loan rates and banks limiting approval, buying 2nd hand protons seems to be a less of an attractive option. Kinda contradicting that the cars are cheap to own but not cheap to maintain in some sense.

What more to say for the condition of proton cars after several years.

I can imagine what the management is going through now. Tackling lack if sales, reliability issues, quality issues, vendor issues, shooting emails here and there, barking here and there, shifting the blame here and there, turnovers etc.

Like a big storm over a house with its roof leaking like crazy. What would they do for the best fix? leave the roof as it is just relocate the house to less stormy area.

• longjaafar (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 7:51 pm

I really do not understand the PM's statement which says " I have decided that VW is not interested".

Was it a case where he was asked a quesion and he was not ready with an answer, but still wanted to look and sound authoritative?

There are too many people in high places talking about Proton, and that's why no one can decide.

• crackho (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 9:20 pm

Bila mau habis ini cerita. Pirates of the caribean only 3 hours also cannot tahan already.

• kody (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 9:54 pm

wahalueh…

——————

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

June 5, 2007 @ 11:11 am

———————-

bro, sometimes the postings may base on emotions, but remember the emotions + experiences + knowledges. Knowledges & common senses are somethings that do not need any true facts on hand. How true are your comments even you said P1 owners (Neo + Savvy) are happy bunch. mana web link, where are your on hand facts??? base on your experience & knowledge after read some posts…

Neo & Savvy may be good, i tried to sat in a Neo before & sadly with my 178cm height, my head was touching the roof top when i wanted to seat straight.

that's my 2cents. happy reading!

• Observer (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 11:51 pm

digiman,

Problems was started from 3rd year.

Over the past 4 years, few k spent on water pump, speedometer, temperature indicator, leaking pipe, axle etc… excluding tyre, brake etc (basic maintenance stuffs). Wondering whether the parts are checked before release !

• ys (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 2:59 am

observer,

pretty sad to hear you are having so much problem with your Proton. something to share from my experience

i think i made a right move then u.. when i decide to buy a car 2 1/2 years ago, i got 2 choices. Go for new wira (RM46k) or buy a second hand sentra

i opts for the later. 7 years old Nissan Sentra B14 cost me RM35k.

today, my sentra is 10yrs old and with minor sound here and there (dashboard already harden) but it is in perfect condition. good fuel economy (i manage 15km/l on highway and 12km/l for town use).i travel very often. around 4000km/ month. not much complaint from me.

Proton, sorry to say but i have to…. you are lousy.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 5:17 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,

June 5, 2007 @ 11:11 am

i used to think the government are idiots to talk about trying to control blogs, citing bloggers do not post the truth, but only speculation and untrue facts.

but after hanging around pauls blog, its sad to say that its quite true. most of everyone seems to post mainly based on emotions, but not on the facts at hand. i think people like joe ooi should take away the politics, and emotions, and actually try to post something productive, rather than ranting and raving on forever. i think you are wasting your time joe.

———-

My answer to your posted statement is BIG YES and small no: –

Post based on emotions, but not on the facts – go and check the facts of our selling price under NAP crappy tax, look at the fact that Langkawi Waja(A) selling at RM 38K and at peninsular it is RM 64K. So this is the FACTS, the BIG FACT that NAP is sucking rakyat blood dry! This is P1 car only, don't need to mentioned about imported car anymore!

Talk about "milo tin on the wheel" or "junk metal producer"! "Do you smell what the Joe is cooking" …… hee, hee, hee, .. must be "most beautiful" language to describe P1's product. Otherwise this organization that lack corporate social responsibility is still think that they produce something not only force rakyat to buy, but expected to view their endeavor as nation's pride and patriotic!

Take away politics and emotions – This should be applied to P1 themselve as it is "political and emotion" by always do a lot of NATO – No Action Talk Only. They are neither genuine biz entity nor deserve respect/confident from local consumers/rakyat.

Post something productive – If we adopt system approach, if the input is shit then the out put is faeces! Again,this apply to G/P1, ask G or P1 to talk somethng productive like what is the long term survival of P1, more tranparency in revealing or make press statement about tie up talk with VW/GM. etc. But what we got the news for at least the last 2 year are al crap and bullshit talk only – every one from G/P1 want to talk and talk only – goreng-goreng and hope the share price will jump sky high!

so, the most productive I posted here is STOP THE BUYING, STOP THE SUCKING!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 5:21 am

BanyakMasukWorshop – why? Are you own P1 car as well that always have to make unnecessary visit to P1 service centre? If that is the case, it is norm, and it happen to me as well.

• the man (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 6:56 am

somebody got berita harian, printed one..? read inside. there are short news what will happen if VW take on proton. 90% vendors will be terminated. Those vendors according to VW are the source of all problem in proton. all these vendor submit the unreliable parts to proton. imagine one of us driving everyday with 90% parts that uncertain in term of quality and reliability. No wonder many people die on the road. I can't find the online version. may be the editor take it out due to pressure from the G…..heh.

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 7:35 pm

hahaha, wondering they will launch new model named porton talky or not? since so much of talking and long time already………..haha.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 9:03 pm

eezarm said,

June 4, 2007 @ 5:08 pm

change the old sick greedy management that dont care about its products and put brilliant, creative and innovative people to run it, just to make it better.

——————————

Syed Zainal, their current MD is from P2 previously, so you've inadvertantly called P2 "old sick greedy management".

@Aripson

Sure or not? Na si hv gone that far to add his wealth? Blood hell….

@BanyakMasukWorkshop

Kinda agree wit you, there are few complaints from Neo n Savvy owners compared to older models, won't that suggest that Proton hv improved at least under Syed Zainal? If Proton's still under TM, GG Proton.

Well, it sure is good to hear VW still in talk, bt truth is, I believed G will announce later a special 50th Merdeka message abt Proton will still be Msian, n that it don't need some German or whoever to come and "mess with national pride". W/e it is, I decided nt to complain anymore, since everyone here "have confidence in the gahmen" and wants to "keep democracy alive in this country", they know best, and they did what's best. Thnk you everyone, let's vote for this party again, w/e happen, "it doesn't matter", cuz Pak Lah is "still in control. Do you want him to become more strict?"

• tec96248 (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 2:36 am

tokmoh said,

June 6, 2007 @ 1:03 pm

eezarm said,

June 4, 2007 @ 5:08 pm

——————————

Syed Zainal, their current MD is from P2 previously, so you’ve inadvertantly called P2 “old sick greedy management”.

==the MD, a person really difficult to change all or everything on the management, a whole team. old habits difficult to change than replace it.

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 10:35 pm

the man said,

June 5, 2007 @ 10:56 pm

somebody got berita harian, printed one..? read inside. there are short news what will happen if VW take on proton. 90% vendors will be terminated. Those vendors according to VW are the source of all problem in proton. all these vendor submit the unreliable parts to proton. imagine one of us driving everyday with 90% parts that uncertain in term of quality and reliability. No wonder many people die on the road. I can’t find the online version. may be the editor take it out due to pressure from the G…..heh.

—————————

anyone got a scan of that page or just a photo. would surely like to read it. a foreign company trouble shoot one of the main problems immediately while the proton pledges to improve/ change management all that bullshit for 10 bloody years with no result.

hehe…funny its called national pride….its more like a national disgrace….

it really doesnt matter who you vote. all the other parties are lousy anyway and are just as bad.

neo and savvy owners a happy bunch? maybe coz they use to own old satrias and sagas. does that make neo or savvy a better car than the satria or saga/wira. yes. does it make neo and savvy a good car compared to the rest of the competition in the world. No. A Big No!