Proton in the red for financial year 2006

Proton has posted it’s fourth straight quarterly loss amounting to RM11.8 million (pre-tax) for the first three months of 2007, compared to a profit of RM129.9 million ringgit during the first three months of 2006.

For the full fiscal year of 2006, Proton has lost a total of RM619.9 million ringgit (pre-tax), compared to a net profit of RM46.7 million ringgit during the 2005 period. Revenue for 2006 dropped 37% to RM4.92 billion.

Proton says this is because of weak sales, which plummetted 40% down from 183,824 units to 110,358 units, however it has measures in place to try to improve sales with two more new models to be launched this year. Proton says these two cars are potentially high volume cars, which will give Proton it’s much-needed sales boost.

In the exports department, Proton exported 20,595 during the 2006 financial year, almost double from the 12,526 units in the previous financial year.

They have to turn around. They cannot be going on making losses. They have to do whatever they think is necessary. I have decided, since Volkswagen is not interested in the proposal that Proton wants in terms of equity, Proton needs to talk to other people,” commented our Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, giving more weight to the previous news that Volkswagen has decided to locate it’s plant in Indonesia.

Speaking of Indonesia, Proton Holdings Bhd and Tracoma Holdings Bhd has extended their acquisition exercise, giving more time for Proton to acquire PT Proton Tracoma Motors at RM340 million.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jake (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 5:59 am

..very very bad situation for beloved proton..

..4th quarter, proton was saved by the saga promotion..

..cash depleted almost RM1,000 million, partly maybe due to new development ie new Gen2 sedan, Waja MC3 and BLM???

..huhh, i'm like a fellow from Jetro, is still rooting for beloved proton to tie up with Mitsubishi…..came on proton, charge ahead!!!!

p.s. sadly to admit proton fate is actually dictated by the gov, more acurately the PM of the day.. come on Pak Lah, wake up!!!

• J (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 6:02 am

of course la .. parasite still living in Proton :)

• w_lighter (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 6:08 am

This is wut happen when u focus ur sales on export instead of on ur own home turf. You see ur worldwide sales goes up and rev goes down. Coz sales volume is low when Malaysian options list starts to grows.

• mits27 (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 6:27 am

Good news indeed…

• demio121 (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 6:30 am

from those numbers, there is 1 good news. Export sales double but the losses from the home market far out-weight the good news.

Perhaps the government should juz tell whoever interested "nah… you take everything. No need to pay me anything but juz promise that you'll keep all the job in Proton".

whatever model coming in Aug, Proton better make sure it sells else can bungkus.

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 6:38 am

yeah agreed on you…….if not….proton is dead meat! seriously!

• Dogster (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 6:45 am

Its always sad to see a company losing money. I feel for you proton. All I can say is give what customers want or die… as simple as that.

• floyd (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 6:51 am

the reason why VW wasnt interested in the deal was bcoz of equity. With the govt holding majority share VW would have been hand tied and cant say anything, just follow protong/govt ways like a buffalo.

Let's see which big auto company will be 'interested' in a partnership with protong with govt having the majority shareholding. If there is one, consider that one co as deliberately stepping on a land mine.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 7:02 am

“They have to turn around. They cannot be going on making losses. They have to do whatever they think is necessary. I have decided, since Volkswagen is not interested in the proposal that Proton wants in terms of equity, Proton needs to talk to other people,”

or rather

“They don't have to turn around. We will ensure that they won't be going on making losses. We will to do whatever we think is necessary. I have decided, since Volkswagen is not interested in the proposal that Proton wants in terms of equity, Proton just needs to talk to other people,”

well, fella commentors, go and figure it out yourself what i am trying to convey in the revised comments..

if we don't get rid of this tumour…it will forever be the pain in our A$$. ha ha ha

• Malaysia BoXXX (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 7:04 am

Proton loose 620million only…

Goverment and industries loose billions loosing the oppurtuniy to become automotive hub. Our people loose billions driving expensive junks. It is better to close it down.

• PGlang (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 7:56 am

Inefficiency, wasting taxpayers money, raise civil servant salary, better close down for good…wat a blood sucker!

• acbc (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 7:58 am

Faster die… pity those who suffered from QC probs from buying Protons! Without Proton, the G-man will not impose silly NAPs or 300% taxes on imported marques.

• McQueen_CARz (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 8:25 am

Our present PM should not take the blame for P1… P1 is already rot after 22 years in the auto industry but did not prove anything under P1's pampered father, our ex PM.

Hence, as chinese said.. both hand with fleshy tissue. How can our resent PM do… he will do the best for what it is an future as well….

Now we can see how impact P1 yet govt has not open the auto market… open little P1 shake like mad… Now we can see P1 is working hard to get foreign market…

When can we enjoy cheaper car… then P1 has to prove they well know aboard such as price and quality/reliability… Our PM is trying to mature P1 and make them use their brain… I prefer let P1 stands alone for sake to learn to independant….

CHEERS P1!!

• arcana (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 8:42 am

honestly if they are doing their best to secure P1 a future, they would have not held to the stupid idea of major stake or equity. that will only ruin the company's future becoz nobody in their right mind will invest or turn around a company with no say or no power to do anything. investors have no power and control = back to square 1…..P1 equally will rot under their hands.

not only that, its too expensive a lesson for P1 to get independent on its own….i dont mind if it comes from their own funding or watsoever…..if it would come from our taxpayers money…..i'm sorry, just let it die…..we've already paid more than enuf for it to learn how to survive for 20+ years thru blood sucking expensive cars.

• nmh (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 9:05 am

proton is dying…let read 'yasin' to accompany

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 10:06 am

VW ….. our only hope…… haigh~

what lar you all protonians.. what you all doing?

• shooter (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 11:47 am

they'll blame everything/one, but themselves for getting into this mess, and they'll never swallow the bitter pill to help themselves. so much for pride. I said once and I'll say it again, the fat f@&ks that run P1 got no business in the car business, if they have to hire mat-salleh(s) who can make things right, then DO IT!! national pride is gonna run this into the ground.

• kody (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 4:01 pm

Wahlaueh…

pak lah…again… it seen like our PM tend to act like NATO (no action talk only)… Just close down our National shame & stop sucking $$ from rakyat!!

Even if P1 can release 2 new models in this year, as a consumer & p1 owner it is better to observe for any defects from its new launch models. Quality from P1 are well known suck… even it has extremely slow….slow improvement in it's process quality… materials quality for the car still the worst (IMHO)…

• ys (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 4:03 pm

shame on u Proton.

without proton, we are already automobile hub in south east asia.

why VW, Toyota, and other big automobile giant invest in Thailand, Indonesia, Philipine then malaysia? do they have as peaceful country, as we have?

because of u Proton, our G has come out with all silly red tapes which scare all invester away.

why our inport is more than export? is it because the world market is slow?

Nope, it is because ppl who interested to invest in malaysia has gone to other SE Asia country.

Open the market before too late.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 4:11 pm

The only way to TURN around is to ask the Ppl to support Proton and book SAVVY or SAGA or what so ever as many as possible now …………Come on lah bro it is your PAYBACK time, No EASY money all the time.

If VW took over Proton, the first thing they will do is to FIRE all the IDOITS members. ABB knows Sh&%$&t about Auto industries, No bargain Power No plans, No Future at all. Step down lah PACIK!!

Maybe ABB asked VW sound like this way: Please LAH Brother, pleasee support our National Project lah, You still can make money from it just the different is I get more YOU get less only. Better then NOTHING mah…..CAN or NOT?

VW reply: Go F yourself lah!

• normaluser (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 4:24 pm

VW is not interested anymore? How come he is so sure?

How come the G is so stupid to let VW go? Forget about equity, control, this and tat. Proton is dying, and without VW, I pray that it will continue to die because I know Proton can never be competitive without VW, and the rakyat will never have a chance to taste of owning good quality cars at reasonable price if Proton exist.

What is the G thinking? What a total waste of taxpayer's money. RM600Mil +!!!!

• eantautjk (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 4:54 pm

Pak Lah ordered P1 to turn around. So, before this public order, guess what P1 is doing, striving to make more loses? I have a feeling that Proton will become Naza very soon.

Btw, Paul

What does PT Proton Tracoma Motors do? Distribution or production? If production, why we need more capacity. If distribution, isn’t it akin to recent news where local dealers are asking for more and more compensation (our money) just to close shop. What ever happen to that story?

• thecrash (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 4:58 pm

the 2 cars… gen2 sedan (campro cps) and waja mc3 (campro cps + new gearbox).

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 5:06 pm

I'm surprised that the sales have dropped this much despite apparent turn arounds.

They released 2 recent new models (Savvy and Neo) plus the super discounted Saga (which sold ..what 10k units?) and still sales DROPPED 70k units??

Goodness. god…unbelievable.

2 more new models that are potentially high volume sellers? (what? Gen2 sedan new? Proton is just canibalising its own sales by having 3 sedans)

Are people going to be swayed to buy them? The last 2 new models from Proton hasn't exactly gotten Myvi like sales.

• Kaboda (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 5:32 pm

I hope everyone realises that Proton's losses are our losses in Tax payer dollars eventually. This parasite has been leeching off us for what 20 years. How much longer can we allow this to continue? There has to be some accountablity to shareholders and the people. Its simple economics if a company isnt profitable on its own close it the hell down. Do we need another 20 yrs to find out that it still cant compete in the world car market ?

• raverus (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 5:42 pm

look whos running it?

malaysia boleh!

• BigCar (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 5:43 pm

that true w_lighter.. They must give local car same quality as export car

• intermilan (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 5:49 pm

look like pak lah finally admited that VW just fast track potong promotion to hell.

Ppl already smell this rot long ago coz there is no further supporting news from VW after the G said they 'desperately' want to continued talk cock with VW. Hidung tak mancung, pipi tersorong-sorong.. or perhaps just buying time before ppl start asking again (so have time to think for another BS)?

GM?? this company gonna just delay the demise of potong while create various problems along the way.

However, pak lah seems like emphasizing that potong has nothing to do with him (no kroni inside), so pandai-pandai sendiri la! gua tolong sikit (hence NAP but this policy could not stay for long or else), just buat cukup syarat.

of course the different politicianscamps dont want to declare war with each other just bcoz of low-quality car.

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 5:53 pm

I wish Proton good luck.. but i doubt.

Most of the people who bought Proton cars as their 1st car will not buy a second Proton due to it's poor quality and outdated models.

Furthermore, Proton manufactures cars as they like or they think the market like. But in fact they know nothing about the market trend now. Until now, they yet to built SUV and MPV which most of the people wish to own one.

• layman (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 5:56 pm

If I were the gomen, I will impose increase tax on car of all the other brand, so everybody will force to buy Plotong, with this Plotong will not only survive but prosperous. Put it this way our gomen have the ultimate power to do anything inside our country.

• motberg (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 6:25 pm

i got solution to P1 prob… get the Govt to tax all other car makes with a SPC (Save Proton Campaign). and put the tax rate at 500%. So now only the very rich can afford to buy other car makes, leaving the rest of Malaysia with no choice but to buy Proton! muahahahaha…

• J (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 6:30 pm

Ya… Proton make us jobless (we were supposed to be Asia Pacific automobile assembly and creation hub)

• Xoomie (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 6:39 pm

"Proton says this is because of weak sales, which plummetted 40% down from 183,824 units to 110,358 units, however it has measures in place to try to improve sales with two more new models to be launched this year. Proton says these two cars are potentially high volume cars, which will give Proton it’s much-needed sales boost."

2 new models? Could it be either Gen2 Sedan? Savvy Sedan / IRM? Waja MC3?

• wookie00 (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 7:01 pm

haha… no surprises there at all for Proton.

An international news site quoted:

"Proton's market share has fallen sharply in recent years due to the whittling away of duties that have made imports more affordable, and a persistent reputation for poor quality and unimaginative models. "

Persistent reputation for poor quality and unimaginative models…. that to me kind of sums up our national car maker in general.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 7:16 pm

Two more new models? I wonder if "re-introducing the face-lifted model" is counted as introducing a new model.

I guess we'll have to see. Proton really has to step up this time. I'm not biased towards any other car companies but if Proton is going to churn out rubbish and make losses all the time then they should just shut down. If they are determined to improve, they will flourish. It's as simple as that.

They have the potential and the financial backing to become a young, up and coming marque but with the lack of determination and attention to quality dragging them down, disaster is staring it at the face much closer than ever.

• kody (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 7:42 pm

wahlaueh…

the tiger became pussy cat right now… meow meow call for G help… On their web site they just put on all the good comments from users to attract potential buyers… i wonder if P1 really setup a official forum for users to feedback… haha… it needs atleast 3 operators to feedback all complaints…hehee…

So, let's see how long will this pussy cat can survive the stift competition.

• azrai (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 8:01 pm

Maybe it's Pak Lah's intention to let Proton dying slowly. The Dr.M's legacy and brainchild.

• darkbrother (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 8:02 pm

no matter what…govt still makes money thru overpriced import cars and APs. It doesn't matter for them actually…

• zenzan (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 8:04 pm

proton current model is not fit wth what malaysian want,fuel effiency,low cost maintanance etc.proton now offered new model car above 30k,i think if savvy can sell same price wth iswara that will be increase their sales.more malaysian nowday want compact car ,the prob is proton didn't perform good reasearch in car market,they should the trends automotive nowdays…

• waimak (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 8:09 pm

Let the businessmen run Proton, govenment should dispose some of the interest and then hold only small minority. Then implement the cost cutting program, offer VSS, cut down cost where necessary, delete redundant positions, plan a new direction. If Proton can stand alone, without any foreign patner (which quite impossible these days) then it would be better and possibly it could stand tall.

Or maintain the same game and get ready to hit the bump, hit hard and go down the drain, painfully.

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 8:11 pm

Hey guys,don't always blaming meh…The proton is ours(rakyat), so..let the G ppl do their way…they need to defend this P1,don't let it tke over by someone that not from us..We know that we also have P2,don't just stand on 1 production company..We also need P3,P4,P…..for nex automotve company from malaysia..

So..for the ppl that' always blaming,wake up meh…Don't be NATO(no action talk only)…if knew somethin or got ideas,please split it out..Please arise for our automotve industries..if know how to make a car better,please be a part of our automtve indstries…gave your ideas..or..make ur own car…

because,automotive is art..

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 8:22 pm

This is getting really boring now. After all the talks and so-called "strategic" moves to bring it out of the slump, Proton is still at square one.

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 8:32 pm

"Proton says this is because of weak sales, which plummetted 40% down from 183,824 units to 110,358 units, however it has measures in place to try to improve sales with two more new models to be launched this year. Proton says these two cars are potentially high volume cars, which will give Proton it’s much-needed sales boost."

2 new models… is it that Gen-2 FL with CPS engine consider to Proton as new model? hmm… i wonder what new model we can expect from Proton this year… it will be say only no action. then drag till next year… it is already the proton's tren…

• shiftSpank (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 8:58 pm

No matter what we have to say or have said, it has all fallen on deaf ears. The matter of the fact is we are afraid of our government. Their actions and strategic blunders are more fundamental.

They'll forever spend tax payers money because we don't dare take any action.

Being sentimental will not help improve our economy yet alone raise Proton from the grave.

• p1basher (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 9:03 pm

p1 still dont know wat we want? Aim at entry level car, make it affordable and comfortable, low cost but good quality, great fuel economy, & updated.

• pw (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 9:10 pm

2 new model ? we dont want facelifts.

proton can you give us feul economy, technology to match VW/Japan cars or at least something decent to compare with, good interior finishing. Things that works and dont break down after 2 or 3 years or even after the car leaving the factory.

All at reasonably priced to make it interesting enough for us the Rakyat to say that you are giving value for money and not trying to pull a fast one on us and leave us feeling being cheated.

Otherwise you can sell the company for RM1like your italian mototr bike company. Continu like that, come next year you can already close shop. Coz there wont be anything interesting / attractive to sell the company for !!

All you sales network would be gone as the reseller / distributors are all out of biz. and loss of market share. No foreign partner will see any value in reviving a car company beyond that point.

Whatever the decision is better make it clear and make it quick !! Time is running out!!

• gaban (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 9:13 pm

"Proton says these two cars are potentially high volume cars, which will give Proton it’s much-needed sales boost."

Talk first, think later..

• floyd (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 9:16 pm

layman said,

June 1, 2007 @ 9:56 am

If I were the gomen, I will impose increase tax on car of all the other brand, so everybody will force to buy Plotong, with this Plotong will not only survive but prosperous. Put it this way our gomen have the ultimate power to do anything inside our country.

============================

Friend, infact your gomen have done that few times already! LOL.

Do you realise that Hilux Vigo in thai/phils only sell at RM50k-60k, mind you it is 3.0L not like msia's 2.5L, BMW 735 at its host country sell at RM170k but close to RM600k in msia, Suzuki Swift sell at RM45k in Japan but somewhat RM86k++ here? Yaris 1.5 manual is only RM56k in Australia, RM57k in Thailand..and RM93k – 100k in msia.

LOL..i like the car prices in MsiaBoleh Blah.

• kody (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 9:19 pm

wahlaueh…

Hi Dj_VaniLLa, from your opinion, i assume you never own a proton car before, do you?

Does it really matter if p1 is taking over by others?? It's the fact that the people in there just try to grap their salaries (most of them) for easy life & 'tak apa' attitude drag them to current situation. & corruptions making its material quality become worst…

For P1, i don't think the people there think it is a art, it's a cash milking cow.

Have you been part of the auto industries already?? Do you really think that all our opinions & complaints will reach P1 top management??

P1 never really understand/capture majority market needs nowsaday & just keep on their own way… & the result is poor sales & poor quality.

Do you have any ideals for P1 to shine again…???

• floyd (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 10:09 pm

Lets for a moment forget about being prejudice twrds Proton, forget about pple politicising the issue. Lets consider the current Proton goods pricing:

Savvy 1.2litre sells at RM41-45k and Iswara 1.3litre sells at sub RM28k. I dont care about how much addtnl accessories the Savvy has over Iswara but the difft of RM13k to RM15k for smaller capacity engine doesnt make sense at all. These two cars are from the same manufacturer, if Proton thinks it still has profit margin selling 1.3lit for 28k then why shuldnt it get any margin for selling the newer 1.2lit at, say 30k or 32k ??? Remember this same Iswara was selling for RM38k!!!!

I truely believe the overpriced Gen.2 should enter the market at RM40k and not RM55k and the Waja should start at RM44-45k and not RM60k. Commensurate with Proton's "persistent reputation for poor quality and unimaginative models".

Pricing strategy should take the "low entry level" approach rather than "increase tax for import marque".

• oec88 (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 10:17 pm

the worst automotive business in the world? hell yeah lol.

vios ckd also tax us, without tax it will be only around rm55k, let's say waja also 55k, which one will u choose? lol

• knight (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 10:41 pm

Ya ya…

tax payer money is ur money, assuming most of u actually paid ur tax.

Personally I never had any real trouble with my P1 cars that I didn't experience with other cars. Rest assured I've gone thru the whole range cept for savvy and neo. Naza is worse, Toyota is better, Perodua is just the same. P1 shud be slapped for low quality & low tech. They shud focus harder on developing this. Dont stop, dont close down, tat will make things worse.

Think about it… I'd rather contribute RM hundreds of millions to P1 and develop the capacity for design and build (because we obviously havn't learned the ropes after 20 years) then to pay billions in royalty going out of this country for foreign makes. All this bitchin about P1 is counter productive bcoz we assume tat if P1 close down prices of other cars will rationalise and Malaysians will have better life. Dead wrong. Without P1, politicians will still 'pow' buyers thru other makes, life (automotive-wise) will still remain as per status quo, cept we would have thrown out 20 year of effort bcoz we blind ourselves to underlying facts and assume we can drive cheaper BMWs.

Do yourselves a favor and complain thru customer service (not here). Give them a real shelling if ur P1 sucks. Do it again and again for another 30 years. Tats how u contribute in making a better Malaysia. P1 in reds is bad for all Malaysians whether you like them or not; and whether u buy their cars or not.

IMO, P1 (Malaysia) shud stop trying to fix this themselves (hire more proven pros to turn this around), keep sharpening the tools (even if it take s 50 years like Hyundai), Malaysians shud keep buying P1 cars (cost-effective) and demand progress in build quality. Above all M'sians shud pray to god P1 improve quickly and don't close down. Otherwise, in future, all of us real taxpayers will pay more as we lose the opportunity to earn.

• haroldz (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 11:00 pm

in the news said high production cost is one of d reason 4 d losses.

how2 cut production cost?

go figure urself la!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 11:11 pm

knight said,

Above all M’sians shud pray to god P1 improve quickly and don’t close down.

———-

Not only P1 suck tax payer monies for its existence from cradle to grave (expected). It is even force rakyat to buy low quality, unsafe yet relatively overprice car that even put consumers life cheap on the road.

Further P1 is the only car maker in the world that Toyota, Beemer or Merc even can't rival in term of "pride for national car" and "patriotic". Now someone from Protonian species intend and propose to add to the "wish list" for P1 by suggest to give religious service by pray to god to save P1?

What a pathetic! Full range of sacrifice, service, protection from Rakyat be it in tangible or intangible terms. Even in communist country, the rakyat only sacrifice for their "dear leader", here we have to "sacrifice every RM use for auto" toward P1, AP king, cornies, etc.

• ab (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 11:16 pm

how much do you think pak lah knows about cars? i think 0. Come on, get someone right (local or foreign) to manage the company… such a waste of potential! Proton is like Toyota in F1 at the moment…all the money in but rubbish out…we need a jean todt or ron dennis!!!!

• kody (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 11:22 pm

knight said,

June 1, 2007 @ 2:41 pm

Do yourselves a favor and complain thru customer service (not here). Give them a real shelling if ur P1 sucks. Do it again and again for another 30 years. Tats how u contribute in making a better Malaysia. P1 in reds is bad for all Malaysians whether you like them or not; and whether u buy their cars or not.

——————————————————

Do you really think that your complaints works?? The customer service personnel will pass your complaints to higher level ?? If so, i think it is still within that customer service's building. it will never get any higher attentions. The customer service will just ask you to come & check at their service centre & that's all. I don't think the P1 car can last 30yrs. If you got cheated twice, can you easily belive in it again… it's better save more money & pay more for better quality.

• vincentwee (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 11:26 pm

if we look into big picture, there are many ppl working for proton.and they has family.

if government stop helping Proton,those ppl going jobless.if they jobless,their child going suffer and they might increase criminal rate in malaysia.

i dont think proton should close.instead,partnership with foreign company that can boost their car quality.

as for mgmt,if PaK lah is wise, he should revamp board of director;

(just like MAS).however,this is impossible since government already insist the mgmt ppl stay.that is y Volkwagen abandon.

• kody (Member) on Jun 01, 2007 at 11:29 pm

hot topics…. flame up…. come bashing or defend beloved P1.

• digiman (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 12:05 am

vincentwee.. i assume you read Freakonomics?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 12:11 am

since Volkswagen is not interested in the proposal that Proton wants in terms of equity, Proton needs to talk to other people,” commented our Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi

isnt it strange? after following this proton partner thing for so long now, its always stated that its negotiated at the shareholder level to make a decision, ie. the government, khazanah..etc., but now the government is saying, nothing to do with us, its proton.

seems like no more support for proton at all from the government.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 12:16 am

What i heard that the DRB hi-com or sime derby is coming in to represent GM to buy P1 equity… Naza will be a second choice now… What i know the 2 new model coming in is to replace SAGA and PERDANA.. The replacement SAGA maybe using Campro 1.3 engine.. The Gen.2 and Waja new engine and gearbox will only be announce as face lift, but not new model.. This is what i heard from my friend a salesman from P1.. They also sad that VW dont tied wif P1.. Thx to Pak Lah and those Greddy suppliers who dont want their hands being fired by VW.. Haiz.. Yahoo! to the high officers, and T.T for the citizens.. Boo… now this prove that our G is Greedy! wif no brain n care for our peoples interest… We want car that are quality and safe but not national pride?!? Does a person died in a P1 car has national pride?!? WTF wif P1! GM is my second choice.. Maybe we will have a lot of chevy optra and Suzuki swift on the road rebadge as P1 in the future LOL! Suzuki not bad laa.. see the bright side.. Got SUV 4X4 Vitara and SX4 sedan some more.. More choice.. If can they might also combine their VVT technology with our P1 CPS leh? Hmm.. maybe even better..

• kody (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 12:16 am

wahlaueh…

hahahaa….. digiman, i agreed with your opinion about vincentwee…

Vincentwee just think about below statements.

Malaysia is the 1st choice for any foreign car company that want to invest car assembly in Asia because of stability of political status. But sadly our stupid NAP turn them out! If Malaysia become car assembly hub, there will be tons of job opportunities & many more vendors can survive better than current situations. For recent example, Greely from China just turn away millions of investment to indo land because of upset by our policy! This is not good for us as to protect some colonies own benefits & sacrified majority rakyat benefits.

• longjaafar (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 12:17 am

Proton should not have been formed in the first place. As I've said before in this blog, it was doomed to die from day one, because of wrong concepts and assumption. To make matters worse, Pak Lah is the bumbling person who is expected to solve the problem. First he says that there was a deadline, ie 31st March. Then the date came and went, and he said that he was 'waiting for the VW to come and see him'. So unlike a Prime Minister talking. Now we are made to understand that there is no meeting between them. In other words, the VW boss had snubbed our PM!

To me, he feels that the problem is too complex and he is actually avoiding it. He is more comfortable giving salary hikes,discounts for low cost houses, opening restaurants and kebaya shows overseas, talking about govt 'delivery system etc etc etc. In other words, he still thinks like a civil servant.

He is a very nice person, but, the problems are way above his head and the apple polishers around him, including Oxford graduates, are at the same level too.

In the meanwhile, Proton suffers, shareholders lose money, vendors and dealers are going bankrupt, and we do not get quality for our money, as Proton is part of our NAP.

What Pak Lah needs to do is to bite the bullet and make hard decisions. Proton can still exist in name, but structurally it will have to be a totally different animal alltogether.

• digiman (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 12:17 am

anyway, i think Proton can make do with alot of baggage, like their factory in Indonesia.

Why keep it when the returns is low (sorry, no data to back it up here, just pure assumption from reading the news, wonder if that can also be trusted or not).

Proton should diversy their Tanjung Malim's manufacturing capabilities, like rent it out to other auto makers (i read somewhere before that Proton's Tanjung Malim was not even at 40% efficiency. some time back though, or was it Perodua? hhmm)

Proton should also start manufacturing Lotus here, bring the technologies back here so can be transfered into the Proton marque (but might hit a wall here as no skills are available to handle these techs)

All in all, money are fairly wasted in many places. Example: why does the service counter require so many people, but only a few counters are open? i can still see some people in the back chatting up with the babes and all, its as if they are there just because they are paid too! holy Sh!t give me a job in Proton! And does each car really require more than 2 mechanics during a normal service? I mean i notice that whenever i go to the glenmarie hell-hole..

my normal service station (proton authorized service center) only 1 guy are needed.. and better still… 1 guy on 2 cars… that is what i called efficiency… and yes, no problem with car…

to tell you the truth, i am proud of the proton brand, i was even more proud when they sponsored norwich.. though i didnt know why norwich… but to see the thundercats logo in EPL, its quite a good talk…

and to hear proton acquiring an ailing lotus, and trying to put it back into the black… it gives us the sense of business sense proudness, cause we are saving the ENGLISH! haha (no offense to the british, just joking here)

anyway.. i pray for proton all its best… get rid of the generals running proton now.. they are like Xerxes generals.. useless and fat.. they need someone like leonidas.. by the way, 300 a great show.. agree?

• azrai (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 12:19 am

How about direct SMS to the CEO or even email to hear what people want? Even Samy Vellu done it before.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 12:28 am

longjaafar,

you make a lot of sense in your posting. very interesting points. cheers.

azrai,

if you've been following proton news for the last 1 year, it would seem that the fate of proton has nothing to do with the top management of proton. i think its best you write to the PM.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 12:31 am

Well i got 1 suggestion, since our G is rich.. why not buy the volvo car company.. Ford is going to sell it.. and their safety and engine technology is far more better then us! Anywayz i just saw the news just now.. BMW is also interest on buying it.. LOL! But anywayz the P1 lost so much money.. So no hope also… If can combine with Volvo.. Wow.. 5-star rated EuroNCP Waja with 2.5Turbo engine! Imagine that!

• kody (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 12:34 am

wahlaueh…

digiman, we pay too much for our 'proud' thundercat…

Even if proton bring in Lotus marque here, believe me, the localise parts (charge sky high slightly lower than original cost, inferior material quality) & mindset of the employess will kill the brand.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 2:17 am

Let MyVian and Vivaian thrash Savvyian!

And let existing and "new" models in Sedan range, Waja, Gen-2, Gen-2 (Sedan), Wira thrash among themselve and eventually close shop! Waste too much time and tax payers monies, notihng to be proud of this blood sucking junk metal machine.

STOP THE BUYING, STOP THE SUCKING!

• Kaboda (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 3:08 am

Joe as you can see the sales are down. The buying is stopping but the sucking continues how lah friend ?

• nmh (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 3:19 am

Shud stop vote for BN just to close Proton in the next election….i afraid i have to vote PAS to eliminate Proton and NAP

• torishimeyakuin (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 4:49 am

Hehe..the saga of Proton is becoming more interesting day by day.

I had already told previously that VW is not going to be there for Proton. And some of us predict that Naza might snatch Proton's stake which is open for sale now, and i reckon NO. That is not going to happen as the saga of Proton story is not written to be like that. Furthermore, actually Naza himself is struggling for their survival while keep losing sales and trust from people even its own employees. Sime Darby also won't be there since they had already retracted them self off the race at the very beginning. I already told you who are the prospective fiancees of Proton before. The mix of americana and malaysiana.

Anyway i just would like to see the issue related to Proton (which is making loss and moving down) currently from 'a bit' different perspective. The bad news and things for Proton would apparently turn out to be such heavenly good news and different approach for others.

1) While Proton is making huge loss, may i say it, his step brother (P2) and his foreign-expatriate buddies (UMW-Toyota etc) is recording such a handsome profit/revenues.

2) While Proton is loosing his patriotic customers and market share, his step brother and foreign buddies is tapping a lot of new customers and enlarging their market shares.

3) While Proton is always bluffing and keep on talking, his step brother and foreign buddies is steadily working and planning their next strategies.

4) While Proton is announcing that they will come out with 2 new models somewhere in year 2007, his step brother had already launched a new replacement model and his foreign buddies had already teased with several numbers of their new coming models.

5) While Proton always go to the big papa G crying for help, asking for $$$ and consultation, his step brother always go to the real slugger in automotive world asking for their consultation and expertise advice – The TOYOTA Group.

6) While Proton always like to act snobbishly and talking big as a national pride, his step brother and foreign buddies always seem to be more low profile and humble.

7) While Proton always bloating proudly that he can live independently as the sole true national car manufacturer in motherland even by trying hard to make people forsake the factual history about his long engagement to the Japanese Ms. Mitsubishi during his initial crawling stage, his step brother always cherish and keep grooming his relationship with his partner while never try to hide the fact of their partnership from the public.

8) While Proton always consider himself as the premier and pioneer of national car manufacturer, his step brother don't give a damn shit about that bloody feudalistic status hence kicks Proton bantam arse out from the 1st position pole.

9) While the cocky Proton always blame others and accused his ex-partner to be stinky and stupid, his step brother cunningly try to be seen as credulous and inexperience whilst quietly keep on learning from the slugger and expert.

10) While Proton world is full of politics, less business ethics and keep losing a lot of money, his step brother also seems hard to prevent and keep far away from the previous 2 'ics' factor but the only different is the magnitude thus still able to make a lot of money.

At the end of the day, the true losers of all are the people of motherland when their hard earned $$$ got sucked by the bloody sucker…hahaha.

• transformer (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 4:50 am

ya.. would vote for both Banyak Naik and P1 to R.I.P. IMMEDIATELY !

no chemio, no laser or transplant can help that cancer(ous) P1

from brain till toe nail already cancer(ous)

RIP and we would breath new air….

• mits27 (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 6:35 am

Just close shop lah, proton, you are the laughing stock of the world and shame of malaysia…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 6:52 am

Kaboda said,

Joe as you can see the sales are down. The buying is stopping but the sucking continues how lah friend ?

——————-

Sales down, sucking continue but less, and eventually the final blow to them is they are "ON THE WAY" to dig their own grave!

Keep on STOP THE BUYING, EVENTUALLY THE SUCKING WILL STOP!

Next, big VSS for their staffs, pity those worker especially who have family to feed. But this is not P1 concern! P1 concern and now their desperate act is still talking to goreg goreng P1 share! Let it be, let it be, let speculative and market forces in KLSE make P1's share worthless in the near future! We rakyat sure go through the pain but for better future, it is worth the pain now rather than sink together with P1.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 6:55 am

No matter, wait few more quarters until proton is cannot be safe, and announce bankruptcy, and let a china car maker buy it up. Just like MG Rover

• the man (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 9:36 am

just heard from somewhere …..Proton Holdings Bhd and Tracoma Holdings Bhd acquisition exercise that cost about RM 340million shall be sign soon. The protonian want to rename the new co. from PT Proton Tracoma Motors …to PiTy Proton in coma…muhehehehhehe

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 12:30 pm

knight,

Do you understand what is "comparative advantage", "the invisible hand", "economy of scale", "efficient allocation of resources"? Do me a favour, stop being obsess of wanting to be a car maker if you are not up to the mark.

P1 deserves to …

• floyd (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 11:08 pm

knight said,

June 1, 2007 @ 2:41 pm

"…Do yourselves a favor and complain thru customer service (not here). Give them a real shelling if ur P1 sucks. Do it again and again for another 30 years. Tats how u contribute in making a better Malaysia. P1 in reds is bad for all Malaysians whether you like them or not; and whether u buy their cars or not……"

=====================================

Excuse me..30 years?? you must be joking! No wonder msia is always lagging in many aspects of national development. If we have few more thousands of people of this kind of attitude you can kiss goodbye to the developed nation status vission in another 30 years, let alone 2020.

You can make mistake but you cant make mistake forever. Failed you may be in your first attempt, second attempt but not after so many attempts like 20 years. Com'on P1 is not the first carmaker around, learn from the success & failure of other carmakers. Theres no place for trial-and-error & make buyers pay for the errors.

I say P1 should buck up not in 30 years but 3 years, if ever P1 still deserve any more chance.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Jun 02, 2007 at 11:25 pm

Knight only read crap-nomic, freak-nomic and Protonomic!!!!!

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 03, 2007 at 5:50 am

dont be like children guys…….its bad…

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 03, 2007 at 7:39 am

I think that the G tot that we r all children that's why they mambo cambo around our people with fake news to cover the ass… Do you know why our G so powerfull now.. thx to the incident of 1969 election and the racism they done to other race… "Jika anda tidak menyokong umno or bn maka peristiwa tersebut akan berlaku". This is the speech that have been said by Tun Razak "Evil genius" who is now the deputy PM father.. He also take the minister of defence that year.. same like Najib now.. (That's why our old parents always support BN most of the time, BN for development.)

So if the P1 lost to foreign power.. I think najib n his people will starting to point out his keris and try to take over P1 by force again… I felt Pak Lah is not strong either in Politics and economics… He is just a puppet, and is about time Najib will stuck his keris behind Pak Lah when things gone out of control.. This P1 failure maybe one of the agenda najib and opposite parties will use againts Pak Lah… P1 will be the same fate with MAS.. I think they will fire a lot of P1 officers.. Now they want a tie-up just like mitsubishi long time ago.. but i think is hard now coz every car-maker also want more benefits.. and our G always want more then others… thinking P1 is national pride, blood sucking company which give us cars that are not worth every penny we spend on it… Haiz… it just made me sad of thinking it.. Do you know why P1 rugi? SAGA is a totally disaster model to sell… When they cut the price they also cut the earnings of each car… They don't have new models to sell and they keep on selling old models to earn.. Even cutting the price wont help much.. only the poor and less pron to car technology will buy the SAGA.. Do you all believe that P1 sell so much SAGA? I think not.. only a few rumors to made us to go to P1 to ask… I think when they say SAGA is good i think P2 VIVA already sell twice the numbers of SAGA selling…

What i think P1 needs is start to cut down cost of old cars.. Do more promotion to clear old stock.. Gen.2 and Waja is almost the same category.. Try categorize each car model more specified and price them strategically.. The Gen.2, Waja and Satria neo price almost the same… People may confuse when purchasing a car.. More quality issue in the car interior and green engine output.. try outsourcing designers, like KIA and Hyundai doing now.. Look at their car so futuristic compare to P1, Malaysian wau, thunder cat design… I think only Malaysia can sell those cars..

Each car P1 made is made from our money, So if a P1 made low quality cars.. mean they waste our money making useless cars… So what the point of wasting our peoples money in a car which suppose to protect and give us more movability… They have a mindset, just made a car and sell for profit but never think of us driving behind the wheels… Others car manufacturer listen to customer like Toyota and VW.. that why they improve and made more sales due to feedback from customers.. P1 complain so much also deaf ears.. Feedback also done so late.. Every thing in this world are moving fast now.. China is coming, india is next.. Even Thailand are better then us… P1 i think ur time is short now… choose the right decision or die..

• volvolover (Member) on Jun 03, 2007 at 4:09 pm

What discounted saga? I would say not so expensive sage. 27K car without tax you can get much better car to be saga. Oops, saga is not even a car. Just some metals with wheels and some toy carburretor engine.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 03, 2007 at 6:03 pm

close shop la. quickly close shop.

like others people said: STOP BUYING. STOP SUCKING

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jun 03, 2007 at 6:04 pm

oooo…sombody mention my blogname:)
    need somthin to tell kah kawan..

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 03, 2007 at 11:30 pm

proton is hopeless now. if they bucked up 20 years ago maybe. The fact stands that proton has no chance of getting a foothold in ANY market in the world including malaysia (even with a significant tax advantage here they are still bleeding like crap). people should be able to judge from this known fact that the chances of it becoming profitable is an absolute zero. hyundai and kia are going into toyota corolla territory while chinese car makers are filling in thier shoes. there is no place for proton as i suspect chinese car manufacturers cant outprice(in terms of value and reliability) proton pretty soon regardless of the tax disadvantage. they are already penetrating world markets like the US, UK and australia.

most proton is going to is ask for government injected funds while a large proportion of that is siphoned off directly to personal accounts.

• digiman (Member) on Jun 05, 2007 at 1:37 am

i keep seeing a lot of repetition hear…

• Google on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:57 pm

Every after inside a even though we select blogs that we read. Listed below would be the latest internet sites that we choose