Volkswagen’s TSI Engine

golf_tsi_enginebay.jpg

Volkswagen produced this infomercial for the Volkswagen TSI Series of engines. Volkswagen aimed to produce a motor that both offered fuel economy as well as performance, together with driving comfort in the sense that driving will not be a tiring process that requires you to rev your engine to high revs all the time to get decent pickup. Cruising around with city driving under 2,500rpm without feeling the engine is lacking in torque offers a more relaxing drive.

Recently, Volkswagen added a 1.4 litre turbocharged engine to it’s TSI family, joining the existing 1.4 litre twincharged engine. Interesting to note that the intercooler for this engine is water-cooled, and is integrated into the intake manifold. The use of a single turbocharger in this TSI-badged engine means TSI does not refer to the twincharging method of using both a turbocharger and supercharger for forced induction anymore, instead referring to small displacement, low fuel consumption, and high power Volkswagen engines.

This video focuses on the new 1.4 litre single turbocharger TSI engine, and differences with it’s twincharged sibling.

Volkswagen announces new 7-speed DSG gearbox
New 122hp turbocharged 1.4 litre and 7-speed DSG from Volkswagen
Volkswagen cranks up twincharged 1.4 to 200hp
Volkswagen Golf GT 1.4 TSI and 2.0 TDI
Volkswagen’s twincharging Super Turbo TSI

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• szw (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 4:13 am

this is what i call European technology .

• ryan_foong80 (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 4:49 am

Lovely hmm… Protong what are you waiting for!…

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 5:20 am

proton? cannot imagine……

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 6:06 am

Suzuki already anounced 30% drop

When I expect same from VW?

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 6:14 am

so what they did is a lite version of the twincharger version which is better, and hopefully more smooth ride.

• digiman (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 6:46 am

hhmm

wonder if they are gonna plug this into the polo…

hhmm

• arcana (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 7:51 am

very informative indeed, VW for small displacement winners…..BMW for bigger displacement champions……europeans are really great in motor engineering. currently turbodiesels and VW's turbo and super charged engines are the best for city driving that provides ample torque and saves fuel.

come on japs….when are we gonna see such engineering in your lineups? although there are some great engines from the japs but most of em are not available here unless its imported. so far the only 1 close to those award winning engines will only be the civic 1.8.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 8:40 am

Not only VW going for smaller displament, PSA, citroen and renault also moving it to reduce emission and reducing the FC of current cars… Now in Europe they are also moving to made small and powerfull cars such like Mini, Clio, Panda and etc.. This is because their fuel price also quite high compare to us and they need less FC car to drive along city and highways… Turbo is a great way of reducing road tax and emission control.. Well think of it a 1.4 TSI engine in a Waja with 7-speed DSG gearbox.. Wow.. Roadtax already save then current and the HP and torque already kill that 1.6 louzy campro engine… Is killing 2 birds with one stone! Brilliant! VW mucks!

• proton GL (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 8:40 am

i remember the Acura moto 'precision crafted performance'.

well this from the VW is likely suitable for the moto above

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 1:20 pm

we want reasonable and quality cars

• sxe10r (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 4:36 pm

Cool Engine ~ 1.4 Baby with 170ps + 7 speed ….. soon 200Ps !!!! I like the engine performance … really extream design …. Supercharge + Turbo charge the 1st car in the world … someday i also think to have a 4A91 + supercharge n Turbo lol … will be mivec + turbo + supercharge 250ps … dreaming …

• azolkipl (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 5:43 pm

Come on, don't be a cracker nut. The TSI line of engines all have higher horsepower and torque than any similar displacement VTEC/iDSI/VVT engine. That means they will definitely burn extra more fuel than the japanese engines to give that much more extra gain in performance. The better way is to compare similar horsepower engine's fuel consumption. Take for example a Honda Civics 1.8l engine at 140 PS, and 174NM. I bet you the fuel consumption isn't as impressive as the TSI.

• azolkipl (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 5:45 pm

ooops… wrong post.

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 6:15 pm

Err.. i doubt that the 1.4L TSI will drink more then the Japaneses Honda 1.8L I-Vtec engine.. Turbocharge in Europe normally using low pressure for normal used car, like volvo.. So If u read about turbocharge, it actually save more fuel then the 1.8L thx to its low torque and better combustion of the pressured provided.. The Europe are not same with Japanese who want more preformance and does using high pressure turbo like Evo or WRX Sti.. Eventually If ur car can move under 2000rpm with 7-speed DSG or 6-speed manual even climbing a hill is a breeze for turbo.. For N/A car the torque and HP band are higher then Turbocharge so u need to rev to overtake or climb hills.. I own a L502 turbo kancil and the FC is more save then my old caburated kancil.. That why i know the advantage of turbo.. Try asking those people who drive turbo cars.. not all are worst FC as u think.. Only those hardcore modifiers who want more power will suck more FC..

• shooter (Member) on Jun 06, 2007 at 10:53 pm

i know the twincharger produces 168hp, how much does the one with just a turbocharger makes? has VW brought in the Golf GT 1.4 TSI? and how much does it cost? any chance the Golf Plus will get the same engine?Also, will Suzuki assemble the Swift Sport here as well? will both cars be offered in the two door guise?

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 6:34 pm

Small turbocharged engines are very fun I'd say, once you get used to the hardly noticable turbo lag you'd hate to go back to the sub 2.0litre NAs again.

• KL-ATR (Member) on Jun 07, 2007 at 7:08 pm

Great animation in this video. Man… 80% of torque at 1250rpm… gotta love this engine! If VW can bring this in at RM120k, I'll happily book one!!!

• Michael on Jun 29, 2009 at 3:51 pm

Hi guys

Hope anyone can help.

I have seat leon 1.8 TSI and now I would like to compare the engines 1.4 TSI with my 1.8 TSI does anyone can tell me some web page or any info of this two engines as I am not able to find anything on web. I am sorry for my english i am from czech republic.

thank you all for any information

• notohipocrit on Jun 25, 2010 at 2:43 pm

i wonder if potong make this 1.4l engine feedback will be like this :-
    what?!, 1.4 hah? got pickup or not? can climb hill or not? bla2potpet2…..
    why i say like this? because of exora experience

good thing vw who make this engine