MITI: New Open AP applications still frozen, but we gave 20 APs to “test market”

IMA Meter

The Ministry of International Trade and Industry has issued a statement saying it has not issued new Open APs to a company, which is most likely the newly formed Premier Hybrid Cars Sdn Bhd manned by Putera UMNO exco member Datuk Shahrin Zahari and son of Mofaz director Nik Iruwan Nik Izani.

It clarified that news reports stating the company had received new Open APs was inaccurate, and that the freezing of issuing new Open APs is still in place. The new company had actually applied for 1,200 Open APs for the distribution of hybrid cars in Malaysia but the ministry had yet to consider the application.

Then the ministry subsequently contradicted itself in saying that it had given 20 Open APs to the company for “market testing” for the introduction of hybrid technology in Malaysia, something that Honda Malaysia Sdn Bhd had already done last year complete with full technical backing on how to maintain the hybrid cars.

MITI also added that it is looking into measures and incentives to encourage local and foreign investment to make Malaysia a regional hub for producing hybrid cars. This comes a few weeks after Toyota Motor Corporation announced it would be building the Toyota Camry Hybrid in Thailand.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ssegaraga (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 8:36 pm

I’m sure they want to test the market of “very rich people looking for a guzzler that can still show their concern about the oil crisis”.

• tommy73 (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 8:50 pm

Satu lagi projek cronyism UMNO! Another nail in the coffin of UMNO!

• csv (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 8:54 pm

you believe?

only an idiot believes the official story, especially here in malaysia.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 9:23 pm

more money for the corrupted

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 9:26 pm

Bla bla bla… If still frozen then what the hell 20 AP for testing?

You tot i am 3 years old kid?

If frozen mean totally no AP went out even for testing!

Flip flop & stupid decision… Haiz… No hope of getting cheaper foreign cars…

• King Samurai (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 9:44 pm

What??!!! Test Market??? Regional hub for hybrid cars??Yet another pathetic enigma by the G… Err..may be its the first chapter of The new saga begins…

• tricycle (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 10:39 pm

Very contradictory statement from beloved G. first says no then says yes to test market. As long as G is corrupted and dirty, investor will shy away from Malaysia, and obviously they will go to Thailand, the Detroit of Asean.

Since Ameno leaders are very incapable, why can’t the Emcee A leaders go ahead and do something for the benefit of the people in this country. I thought Emcee A leaders are mostly well educated. If you do something good, then we don’t have to switch G.

Doing something good is different from saying something good. Saying is just saying and doing is actually doing it. Comprendo?

• mytouch (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 10:39 pm

Is the MIT department thinks the rakyat is stupid or what?Try to make up this kind of story to fool us?When will they start to work of somethings that benifit the rakyat,rather then pulling out this kind of bullsh*t?haiz….

• kingglim (Member) on Jun 20, 2008 at 11:35 pm

Sound so familar in Bolehland…1 day said parliament not dissolved tomolo, next day parliament is dissolved; they said petrol price not going to rise, then petrol price is hiked; they said no more new ap, then secretly giv ap to their own friends n families

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 12:07 am

Hybrid cars are expansive, so those 20 cars have a buyer right. Maybe some politicians want to go whole length of Malaysia without stopping for fuel along the way

• lchan (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 12:44 am

“MITI also added that it is looking into measures and incentives to encourage local and foreign investment to make Malaysia a regional hub for producing hybrid cars”…

haha….stupid statement by stupid people.

• Martin (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 12:47 am

Dear MiTi, pls don’t do such stupid act that will potentially bring in Trade War (as other countries might retaliate with more stringent trade barriers) and lose out FDI. what is ur main role and the interest? i supposed the main role is to attract more FDIs and create more employments to benefit the people and ultimately the well-being of the country as a whole. Not protect the interest of one small specific group in the expense of the Rakyat! No more APs…… argh….
    To all existing and potential car manufacturers, pls don’t run away~ :(

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 12:51 am

Dunggu statements, specially brought to you, by Malaysia Govt.

• droll (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 2:14 am

wtf? has yet to consider the application of 1200? if it’s frozen then outright REJECT THE APPLICATION. why do you have to “yet to consider” it??????? WTF!!!!!!!! >:(

• delos3nos (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 2:51 am

Our AP King for 2008 nominations goes to……………………….

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 3:29 am

they will freeze it until they can make sure that the media wont know about the aps being issued.

maybe i should apply for some APs. I’m looking to buy a mansion with helipads.

i imagine what they thais are thinking of the msian government trying to woo investors. already loss the world’s car companies who in turn have invested in thailand. toyota is just the head of the spear. the rest will follow suit and build thier cars and hybrids in thailand. since all thier infrastructure is all there.

“make Malaysia a regional hub for producing hybrid cars”. what a joke. already failed miserably when all the worlds car manufacturers have invested hundred of millions in thailand building thier nests there. that itself is the biggest incentive that car companies need.

• azrai (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 6:59 am

Test market? The UMNO’s market already been tested on the 8th March this year. Even Muhyiddin want to test market for Deputy president of UMNO in December. Rubbish statement.

• VPowerRacing (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 7:13 am

I hope everyone in Malaysia knows who owns this

‘newly formed Premier Hybrid Cars Sdn Bhd manned by Putera UMNO exco member Datuk Shahrin Zahari and son of Mofaz director Nik Iruwan Nik Izani’

and i hope everyone in Malaysia is wise enough..

These people only want to make profit…i wonder how’s their after sales service

but who cares…since they only sell luxury cars…

Let all the Putera Umno buy their cars from them…and let them just fool among themselves…

There’s Honda Malaysia…and we can always get our hybrid from them…they can guarantee you the after sales service..

Let’s be wise……

• LHQ (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 8:52 am

Maybe they just want to earn “enough” money for themselves before the claims of
    Anwar Ibrahim about the takeover becomes true.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 9:17 am

Now what’s the G’s mind is to eat as much as u can before u step down by others!~

Stupid trick by stupid G. AP’s for test? Test my butt ma! Want to sell hybrid cars wo. Later test out only 5 of it and conclude that Hybrid tak sesuai……
    Then the rest would be selling those luxurious cars d.

Great job G! You do more corruption la, you kill your own self nia.

• tikus (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 10:15 am

Ali Baba story

• NARUdaARC (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 10:53 am

Who the heck need a hybrid car?
    Have u seen the prices on one of those things??
    Hybrid cars should be cheap to help citizens cope up with the hiking fuel prices so dont put a hefty price tag on it!

• REDDEVIL (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 4:16 pm

Oh.. no… another ambitious statemnet. Regional hub for hybrid car? Not again.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jun 21, 2008 at 4:35 pm

HYBRID CARS? UNLESS THEY MATE A HYBRID TO A BMW 318d, IM NOT BUYING ONE OF THOSE WASHING MACHINES

• kimikewl (Member) on Jun 22, 2008 at 2:18 am

I wish I didn’t read it but i read! aarrgghhh!!! the G thinks rakyat so stupid or are you covering up the sample APs after media got to know about it?

• sonyman (Member) on Jun 22, 2008 at 2:52 pm

ai ya, coool down everyone.. we all know about the problem.. lets see whats the next step this so call company wanna take.. who knows what will happen then thailand is making so many cars now…
    as obvious it is, the gov is protecting the ppl within it. you see, sabah also backfire… what will happen.. we all just stay tight and relax and watch what happens and take the right action.. dont be like gov. say a lot, cannot do but when something happens… keep quiet,…. deny deny.. no thats not true… u realise the words coming from the mouth.. relax relax ppl… dont so up set,, just remember how to vote the next time..

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 8:10 am

Looks like MITI got caught in a corner…yet again. With all the negative press on cronyism and corruption, they better watch their step, as people are paying attention now.

No this, maybe that, not sure…they never seems to be in touch with the rest of the population.

Seriously, do they really need new APs for Hybrid cars? The old “normal” open APs will bring in Hybrid cars just fine. I’ve seen 2 Prius’ in my housing estate already.

“new APs” = Gravy train for another individual.

• shaif (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 8:29 am

It is saddened to see MITI got a flak from people but the original problem caused by the elected party who got a vote in the election. Gov. servant just ‘makan gaji’ ma, which got to work under various type of political master. Better release the AP rather than being kick to remote places.

• japankiller (Member) on Jun 23, 2008 at 5:13 pm

The price of the new hybrid car should be crap.

How much you can save on the fuel consumption on this hybrid car compare to the the car with out hybrid. And consider resale value of the hybrid car cause the battery probably won’t last long and would cost you heap to get a replacement.

Boloh MITI..

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 4:56 pm

i want diesel not hybrid

• topgunthang (Member) on Jun 25, 2008 at 12:40 am

these car lithium ions/nimh batteries last as long as your laptop battery. so if your buying a 3-5 year old hybrid it might still be ok coz the battery would have already been changed. question is how long the new one will last. a friends civic hybrid just got its battery replced. 2 years old. oh and they had to pay for it. aud3000.

could be an odd case out since its suppose to last about 8 years.

anyway they are selling it to get the 308 turbo petrol or diesel if they can wait. impressive build quality and quality interior materials when i went test drive with em. very cheap as well.