Ford sues US govt for interest on overpaid tax

Ford logoStruggling American automaker Ford Motor Company is suing the US government for a sum of US$445.3 million in what looks like a desperate move for cash. Ford posted a loss of US$2.7 billion in 2007 and has abandoned its previous goal of returning to black by 2009. Ford is suing the US government for interest on overpaid tax money for the years 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1992 and 1994.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 7:17 am

This give our Malysian some idea to kisk out. how about suing the G + Proton for very high exscise duty from our G. if it is abolished, we have excess money to buy food.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 11:30 am

“if it is abolished, we have excess money to buy food.”

whats car excise duty got to do with you not being able to afford to eat? it has nothing to do with food prices..
    cars are a luxury.. if you cant afford an expensive car, you buy a cheaper one, at worst, you can still get a motorbike.. there are more important things to worry about nowadays than car ownership

• azrai (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 11:32 am

Even small cars have excsie duty bro. Want to use motorbike? It’s pity for a three persons in a family. Do you get it clear?

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 6:30 pm

Cool dude, so will we able to sue G for all that stupid implementation thing?
    haha

• ferox (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 6:55 pm

Can I sue Proton for overpaid cars? =)

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 10:08 pm

WE SHOULD SUE OUR G FOR FORCING US TO DRIVE PROTON CARS

• csv (Member) on Jul 14, 2008 at 11:39 pm

wah, 1 company against an entire company, is the odds fair?

i think a very long shot by Ford. well, good luck.

if it works, maybe we can sue our government and proton for wasting tax payer money.

• nmh (Member) on Jul 15, 2008 at 3:43 am

sue gov for overpaid car lah

• rajtheboss (Member) on Jul 16, 2008 at 12:17 am

Its time for Goverment to sue proton for producing poor quality cars using rakyat money and enjoy higher pay, bonuses and allowances including R&D fund