Despite being only just recently introduced, the 1.8 litre EA888 TFSI has been phased out from the Audi A5, and replacing it is a 2.0 litre EA888 TFSI. These days manufacturers usually replace engines with ones with downsized displacement, so this move seems odd. But Audi says the larger displacement engine is better than the smaller engine.
The 2.0 litre engine produces more power and peaks earlier (180 PS at 4,000rpm versus the 1.8 litre’s 170 PS at 4,800rpm), is less polluting (154g/km CO2 versus the smaller engine’s 169g/km) and is more fuel economical (42.8mpg versus 39.8mpg). Peak torque is higher too – 320Nm between 1,500rpm and 3,900rpm versus 250Nm.
This 180 PS 2.0 TFSI slots in below another existing more powerful 2.0 TFSI model featuring Audi Valvelift and a higher 211 PS power output.
Now the question remains whether the A4 will receive a similiar upgrade. The A4 1.8 TFSI using the same engine that was replaced in the A5 has only just been introduced in our local market. Look out for a test drive report soon.
Strange.
But then again, whoever can drive this beast won’t be bother by the petrol price!
Peak power at 4000 rpm in a petrol engine with peak torque at 3900rpm?!? A typo surely there Paul?
Paul Tan says: no typo. turbocharged engines tuned for economy are like that. no need rev so high lah.
CAr manufacturers who change quick knows what they are doing. Fact.
Wah, the figures took my breath away!! Impressive engineering again by the Audi. Why should anyone be bothered with the petrol price when running A5 or A4? The engine is more economical than my brother’s Vtec Jazz. Droll…
beautiful car, beautiful engine!
look at those curves, i could just look at it all day.
now all it needs are those KICK ASS daytime running LED lamps!
then i would drop dead.
wonder how much to be sold if brought it by parallel importers.
considering the TT cost around 200-300k, i say around there.
They got money to change, if no money, you be using the same relic for 10 years
Paul – I will give in to your superior knowledge, they are really odd figures for a petrol car thought, if I saw the output figures alone my first thoughts would be a turbo diesel!
Paul – surely you meant “42.8mpg versus 39.8mpg” and not “42.8mpg versus 45.8mpg” – the 2.0 FSI’s figures are a 3mpg or 7.5% improvement over the 1.8 TFSI. The rpm figures are indeed amazing – you’ll barely be off the torque plateau before you hit max power. The numbers imply engine flexibility that is possibly unmatched – on paper, at least – in the segment.
Superb looks – typical BMW – if only I could afford to run one!
so what about a4? not changing to 2.0tfsi, what about price, got affect?
very popular car in europe.
but the europeans continue to amaze. they continue to come up with new engines that have more power, but are also greener, and more efficient.. i’m seriously wondering when they will hit a plateau in terms of performance vs economy.
one of my fav audi..masterpiece…dis car looks really good in flesh…nice..