Cheaper Proton GEN2 for the UK market

Proton GEN2

The balik kampung deal fever seems to have infected Proton UK as well, with the prices of the GEN2 receiving slashes up to £2,800 (RM17,520) according to Proton. The 1.3 litre Proton GEN2 now costs £6,995 (RM43,770) while the 1.6 litre version is now priced at £7,495 (RM46,900).

The GSX LE in particular has a price slash of £2,800 and free leather seats worth £1,000. It now costs £8,495 (RM53,160) for the manual and £8,995 (RM56,300) for the automatic and features four airbags (front and side), climate control, foglamps, a tailgate spoiler, all-round power windows, a CD player, and steering wheel audio.

All models come with a 6 year warranty for the powertrain, and 3 year warranty for the rest of the vehicle.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments highlight that Proton sells cheaper cars overseas, like in the UK, with better specifications such as more airbags and safety features, compared to higher prices and fewer features for Malaysian buyers. Many believe Proton's strategy is driven by market protection, political patronage, and to clear old stock, often at the expense of local consumers. Several comments criticize the company for not offering competitive features, safety, and pricing locally, and unfairly subsidizing foreign sales. There is frustration over the lack of innovation and patriotism, with calls for Proton to focus on improving quality and prices for Malaysians first. Overall, sentiments are mostly negative, criticizing Proton's approach as unfair to Malaysian customers.

• Bebelon (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 3:44 pm

stupid Proton!!! sell expensive in this country and sell cheap abroad!!!

• ignas (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 3:47 pm

so cheap over there with the best in everything. what we get here are crap selling at premium.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 3:57 pm

Price is the same la …we dont have 1.3 and they dont get 1.6 CPS

• ndmervin (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 3:57 pm

Clearing old stock or is it because bad sales volume?? SIGH…

• ameen (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 4:23 pm

maybe they want to clear up all the old stock before sell the new gen2 cps.. in our bolehland, cps n non-cps, were not so different in terms of price..ryte?? just my opinion..

• nebuchadnezzar (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 4:38 pm

MisterBenjo said,

September 23, 2008 @ 3:57 pm

We do have 1.3 version here.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 4:56 pm

nebuchadnezzar said,

September 23, 2008 @ 4:38 pm

MisterBenjo said,

We do have 1.3 version here.

———————————————————

that is long time ago man…1.3 (A) – they brought it back from uk bcoz stock overload there.

• 1.6 gen2 full spec
      1 pound = RM 4.9
      8998 pound = RM 44075

12000 cheeper then malaysian market…

1 Malaysia concept..
      sales cheep to orang kaya, sales expensive to orang malaysia.

• kingglim (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 5:01 pm

As usual, Msians r always kena conned…

• lowprofile (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 5:15 pm

yup, we get conned and we love it. we are subsidising the cars overseas and,… we love it too!!

• gogorock (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 5:17 pm

haha, car market so bad nowadays and how come Proton or Perodua never do a better promotion back in our own country?

Sometimes, wonder whether we should be supporting this brand anymore?

• tanasi (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 5:21 pm

why do u wanna buy Gen2 1.6 at 46k? better buy Persona!

• lchan (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 5:22 pm

GBP2.8k is helluva lot! Thats almost 20%.

• n8cky (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 5:23 pm

YA..right..
    Sell cheap to others, sell expensive to Malaysian, like everything.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 5:50 pm

Malaysian are very good hearted people ma. They like doing good things. Love to do charity. If kena conned or screwed left right, oso say ok.

Malaysia Boleh!.

That is why proton sell cars in UK cheap-cheap….

• MyviKiller (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 6:05 pm

Clearing their old stock by end of the year I think… Or Chrismas balik kampung deal?

• torque (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 6:05 pm

I’ll support Proton only in the way I see fit and fair! This is just not right. Why can’t we learn to be more like the Japanese? Offering the best of technology and models to our very own countrymen? Doesn’t the people of Malaysia at least deserve a better built and cheaper price models compare to other countries after 25 years of support? I know that we have the CPS model right here compare to else where but I think price is also a sensitive issue here in Malaysia! Bagi la orang2 Malaysia ni muka sikit, jangan satu hari nanti komplen orang2 Malaysia tak bagi muka plak. Sigh! :-(

• abtm (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 6:12 pm

is it that important to succeed overseas until you have to beg ppl to buy? Comeone, if your’re gonna give discounts give it to Malsysians who’ve been forced to drive your shitboxes for over 20 years! We deserve better

• rodimus (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 6:53 pm

As always v get the crap, other get the good one!! Those cost already including shipping fees n yet better build quanlity!!! Poor old malaysian……..

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 7:03 pm

Beli Barangan Buatan Malaysia banyak-banyak…..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 9:22 pm

MisterBenjo said,

————————————————-

you are spot on dude.. spec for spec, it works out to be about the same.. so i dont get why all the strange remarks as usual.

but i do agree with abtm that malaysians deserve better, and i think proton is starting to do that now, slowly, but seems to be headed in the right direction.
    their sales now are really high, higher than they’ve ever been for the last 3 years. if thats not an indication of a better product, and improving quality, why then are people buying their cars? they have other choices now, perodua especially.

• theanswer (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 10:09 pm

“features four airbags (front and side)” damn!

• hyundai (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 10:44 pm

With Korean car around in the market, it will be almost impossible for Proton to stand out from the crowd. People can easily buy an i30 or Ce’ed which is way lot better in any ways.

• csv (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 11:12 pm

told you export model proton better than local made one.

ridiculuous bullshit.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 11:12 pm

why not put off buying for one or two week and work a bit for that one or two weeks and get a golf?

but anyway, as i understand it they talk about market penetration overseas as just a reason to keep thier existance in msia where all the profit actually is. there is virtually no market penetration by proton at all. more like charity.

• mytouch (Member) on Sep 23, 2008 at 11:28 pm

We as Malaysian always being fooled around by Potong market strategies…they are more delighted to kiss people butt rather then lower the car price for Malaysian…so,how are we gonna respect u,dear potong?

• vandenlye (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 12:08 am

this is the way our national car company love our own country, sell cars cheaper to foreigner. Then if someone smart enough to comment on proton, then thats the the one not loving our own country…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 12:13 am

Isn’t it ironic that we get just one airbag as standard despite the high accident rate in our country? I guess most of us are familiar with the Malay proverb – “Kera di hutan disusukan, anak di rumah mati kelaparan.” (Well that’s pushing it to the extreme and of course we don’t want anyone to die!)
    Mind you, £2800 is quite a lot of money – that’s a bit more than a graduate engineer’s monthly salary in the UK. And motorists over there are more likely to choose a used Golf/Polo over a brand new Gen2. Come on Proton, we Malaysians represent the largest slice of the pie. Don’t you have any Raya goodies for us? =D

• ignas (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 12:19 am

the purpose of proton is to keep (rip) our citizen money back into the country and offer lots of jobs opportunities as well. then they grew fat, too fat tat now they’re doing charity overseas, cool! guess i never understand how this industry works in msia.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 12:22 am

By the way, the aforementioned “pie” refers to Proton’s pie, which is made up of…uh…Malaysians, Brits, Turks, Chinese…umm…who else is there? =P

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 12:24 am

@ignas: Yeah…I think Proton deserves some credit for its charity work… =D

• ignas (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 1:10 am

lol yea. if only they would pamper us that way too…. poor rakyat.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 2:23 am

jus curios , those gen2 in UK are thy the old 1st generation Campro or IAFM ??? its definatly NOT the CPS thats for sure…

• legacy88 (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 6:12 am

Well Syabas Proton!

We as a Malaysians support your move. Give another discount to and pamper mat salleh more! It doesn’t matter if we get shittty quality and price here. As a matter of fact we gladly smile and cheer like a ho.

:) Rightttt!

• azrai (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 6:42 am

2 words; anak tiri. Kera di hutan disusukan, anak di rumah mati kelaparan. TQ.

• shaif (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 8:05 am

Is it true that Malaysian is the one who subsidising the every single proton car’s sold in overseas. Anyone from proton management want to answer this. Of course the answer will be market penetration strategy…bla..bla.. but above all thay had to pay respect to local customer first.
    Why don’t proton fit their models with some 4 airbags, climate control for domestic market first. Proton don’t have to pay some shipment charges here, so the price should be on par with what offered overseas, so why can’t they…WHY??

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 8:46 am

Why? Because Malaysians are like sheep, we take whats given to us. They don’t need to make it better, load it better, price it better because we will buy them anyway…..

Proton can only survive with higher than market price in Malaysia because it enjoys anti competitive market protection.

Proton overseas doesn’t have the market advantage so it has to price lower to attract sales. Specs are better, as well as (i’m guessing) the support and warranty.

Competition always benefit consumers. The lack of competition, yields higher average price…same also goes to all the local CKD’ers (including Perodua). They know they can charge more, because people are willing to pay to avoid Proton like the plague. Proton don’t need to price any lower if it can build a good, reliable car and other CKD’ers and Importers will reduce prices. The automotive market here is finite, which would work to our advantage, but there are a lot of other factors that stiffles supply (AP, lack of choices,…), and inflates prices (AP, excise duty, import tax, sales tax)

Say what you want about APs, but anything that stiffles supply and increases prices is anti-competive and helps Proton.

• Hikaru (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 9:12 am

Unfortunately, the way i see it, Proton is the love child of Malaysian Politics and Malaysian Cronism.

As much as it was a good idea when Proton first started by Dr M, it quickly evolved in to a tick or some form of a leech where the it being put in a closed room with a big fat human in it.

Proton survives until today is solely because of the patronage of us, the People of Malaysia, without which they will just dry up and die. Too ensure we patronise Proton, all sort of barriers are being set up “in aid” of our “national pride” (which really isn’t much to be proud of, standing by the road side because the engined decided to give up the ghost mid corner).

All this resulted in an artificiall inflated car price and very limited market choice. The consumer here, is designed to be sub-servient to the manufacturer and in turn to Proton.

Proton can’t survive without us, it is even harder to imagine that it can survive in the open market, hence their strategy to give promos and discounts. From the business point of view, it makes sense. For the home consumer, it doesn’t. Why bite or anger the hand that feeds? Aren’t u gonna lose more if u anger the home crowd, just to sell one or two more units abroad? Perhaps so that we can later say “Wow, our sales increased by 100%”? Or “Proton is rarer than Porsche in UK” ?

To me Proton is the bane of the motoring industry in this country, like many thing else in this country, it should be reformed so that it is viable and that is will serve the interest of the nation and the consumer and not certain individuals and his/her whole kampung.

• tananiki (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 9:17 am

who said same…?
    imagine u earn RM2k here n they earn £2k there…

• ezralimm (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 9:21 am

I digress, Proton is taking a similar path to hyundai (a post WW one company that had a 40+ year headstart btw) and is at a similar stage in growth as a company. Also note that hyundai and kia had even more protection from the government for a longer period of time.

Export models have always been more expensive and continue to be so. Even now with the promotion, the prices are only starting to be similar to that of the local cars.

As for the prices of foreign cars? Well, ask your friends in bangkok about the prices of cars there.Proton cars are more expensive in thailand than malaysia… yet they are still competitive and are class leaders in terms of price.

And dont be too misguided by ads online. A Getz 1.4 (M) 2 door car is only $12000 in Australia (RM36k)… as advertised… but they dont say that delivery (from korea) costs $1500 in the ad… and of course there’s registration+plates+tax etc. So the figure actually approaches the price you’d pay in malaysia.

• SY0H (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 9:32 am

Hi,

Well, I almost wanted to buy that Proton Persona IAFM last time. After thinking through and through, and based on my sad experience driving the lousy Gen.2 last time I have come to a conclusion that Proton is still suck.

Their marketing strategy still suck; sell hell expensive over here and cheaper abroad. Not to mention, they do not provide CPS engine for its new flag model; Proton Persona. Instead they put that lousy IAFM – the so called ‘new technology’. Just extra modified air intake module to feed the old Campro engine. CPS for our knowledge is basically Proton’s version of Honda’s Vtec, Perodua’s Dvvt and etc. CPS technology is a joint research with Lotus (or rather its Lotus who actually designs it?) and rumoured that these CPS technology is also used by one of the famous super car maker in Germany (check Paul.Tan’s previous forum, I’ve read it somewhere).

On the other hand, for Perodua, I never really like their designs. Small and nimble cars. Can’t blame them, they are ‘K-Car’ provider anyways. Nevertheless, good marketing strategy allows them to stay competitive. They provide DVVT for all of their car models making their cars are even more worthy to buy. Not to mention, Perodua MyVi resale value is always 35% higher than Proton’s Gen.2.

I’m hoping both Proton and Perodua in the near future, could provide automatic transmission gear with at least 5 to 7 speeds just like those Honda are doing. Fuel are getting rather expensive and we need far more efficient cars. Safety is becoming a prime concern among road users (ever since we witness a lot of serious road tragedy, many people died horribly). Make Airbags, ABS and EBD as standards as roads are getting congested out there (everybody wants to own a car) and accidents are prone to happen even more. I mean, apart of blaming reckless driver for driving car like an idiot; its also Manufacturer and Government joint responsibility to make our roads safer. Rear seat belts is another good example of safety related law-enforcement but it still not enough.

For the police; they should beef-up their law enforcement activity. I actually pity some of these honest policemen. If they’re being flexible we describe them as lazy, ‘curi tulang’ or ‘malas’. If they’re doing their duties (issuing summons) we describe them as ‘cari duit kopi’ and etc. I personally believe, if you break the law, be ready to face the consequences. Crime doesn’t pay.

About AP’s, duties, taxes and etc. I guess complaining here wouldn’t make much different. I hope that our future car policy will abolished or at least reduce these exorbitant taxes for the betterment of our local car industry; then again they must be a significant impact by doing so. I believe everybody will be able to own a decent turbocharged cars making the roads even more dangerous. Mat rempits can upgrade their kapchais to superbikes. Mod Proton owners can upgrade to Subaru Impreza. The roads will be even more congested turning to grid-lock. Not to mention, all of these expensive cars are super-fuel guzzler (for turbo cars and higher cc cars). Furthermore, the Government might have to totally remove fuel subsidy to cater for these increase of super cars.

Fuel deprivation will be an issue. This what happen to USA, it turns out USA is the world’s largest fuel guzzler in the world. With 25% of oil production shifted to USA. No wonder they need to wage wars at Middle East, to sustain their ever-not-enough lifestyle. In addition to that, USA is very famous making super-fuel-guzzler vehicles like those Humvee which is very common amongst those the gangsta-rappa.

LOL, I think I typed too much. Haha. Have a very good day. :0

• EnochKeng (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 10:08 am

PROTON SUCK!

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 10:50 am

i dont see any big thing here.

since proton now ‘rebranding’ and ‘reimaging’.
    they need to do ‘investment and promotion’ about it.

when the car was cheapest in UK market, more people will buy.
    more people buy = better (or bad) mouth to mouth story.
    (just like myvi, it’s not a supergood car.. it’s just an OK car with the right price. That’s it.). Later on.. they might be got a good attention and can sell more and more.. and bring back money to our country.

many ‘typical malaysia’ are just a ‘typical worker’.. they do know nothing about business, branding, and investment. Just like many of us disagree with putrajaya, klia, sic in back 10 years ago.

• jimmy_TK (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 11:11 am

i didnt see any problem here…the promotion only for 1 month…so its clear they want to clear the stock

http://europeanmotornews.com/2008/09/22/protons-autumn-clearance-sale/

quote:
    “Offers end 31st October 2008 and are available on GEN-2 LE models WHILE STOCK LAST”

they just want to clear the stock especially prefacelifted 1.3 gen2…all car makers doing the same…even perodua did the same in UK last year

http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/news/autoexpressnews/205598/perodua_myvi.html

“Perodua is extending its £1,000 cashback offer on the Myvi supermini until the end of March”

and i wait at that time to see any this so called politician/auto journalist to post it on their web…NO ONE post it…wonder why…bias???maybe

it’s clear that proton sell the car cheaper in malaysia compared to UK before

savvy – From £7,295 OTR – RM46,290.7
    neo – From £9,995 OTR – RM63,423.7
    persona ecologic – From £10,795 – RM68,500
    gen2 – From £8,995 OTR – RM57,078

MYVI in UK £7,799 ….cheaper than neo,gen2,persona and just £500 more than savvy

see the difference…NO you didnt see???…ok fine

• bmpower (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 1:54 pm

jimmy_TK said,
    September 24, 2008 @ 11:11 am

I second all of your factual statement. TQ.

And now it make me wonder.. why no one asking Perodua about that?
    go! begging and asking how they treat you all like that?

• BW (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 2:02 pm

Why got better deals abroad? Why our Gen 2 got 2 airbags only where they had 4?

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 2:18 pm

How can anyone claim that “spec for spec” the price is the same? The most direct comparison (roughly same drivetrain and interior specs) is between the 1.6 GLS LE and the 1.6 M-Line (most popular local model)

1.6 L Gen-2 GLS LE M/T – UK Price £7,495 OTR (RM 46,900)
    1.6 L Gen-2 M-Line M/T – Malaysia Price (RM 53,488)

This isn’t even counting whatever additional discounts/extras you can negotiate from dealers in the UK desperate to shift stock. Unlike here, land of fixed price and compulsory optional accessories.

Not to mention

UK VERSION:
    Standard Driver and Passenger Airbags
    ABS + EBD
    3-year full warranty + paintwork, 6 year drivetrain/bodywork warranty, 3 years free roadside assistance

MALAYSIA VERSION:
    Driver’s Airbag only
    no ABS/EBD
    2-year full warranty + 3 years extended drivetrain warranty

So enjoy subsidizing their purchase price, service costs AS WELL AS their safety at the expense of yours and your family’s.

This is probably only the beginning, Proton will probably have to continue slashing their prices in the UK as the new emissions-based road tax scheme is coming into effect there. Road tax will be based on measured emissions, not engine displacement. Campro engines are relatively high polluters which will be another strike against them when it comes to potential buyers. Cue the discounts!

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 2:23 pm

And yes, Myvi with M/T was available in the UK for £6,799… Problem with what you said is that using the exchange rates from that time (early 07), that works out to about RM 47,000, which is still MORE than the equivalent local 1.3 SXi spec costs. The local Myvi SXi also has the same level of safety equipment as the UK version (dual airbags, ABS) So I don’t really see why you expect people to be upset with Perodua.

Also what some people may not understand is that in the UK people don’t usually pay list price for less popular car models. So it’s not really accurate to compare Proton list prices there where substantial discounts are always negotiable, to list prices in Malaysia where prices are fixed. For instance most Protons are available in the UK with around £400-600 discount (RM 3000-4000) from list.

• whiteeye (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 2:28 pm

WTF DO U THINK PROTON DESERVE THIS PRICE MY ASS, IF NOT FOR THE G WAT’S THE PRICE FOR THE PROTON! LOWER THAN 30 K NOT BECOZ OF THE TAX PROTON U HAVE COLLAPSE MANY YRS AGO. UNCLE FUCKER G JUST KNOW HOW TO RAISE TAX.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 3:33 pm

Whiteeye,
    Taxing the rakyat is the govt’s job. Raising tax will be their dream, of course. if not where la the govt get their money? Where to find money to build mega white elephant projects (that would benefit their dearest cronies, brother in-law, uncle-auntie, etc??)

I just love this cuntry

• tananiki (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 3:36 pm

if i work in uk n earn 3k per month… spent 2k per month on basis expense… left 1k for car repayment… less than 1 year can get the car… but in malaysia…? 1k for car repayment means 5 years for 3.5% loan to own a 50k car… what can we blame… blame gov inability to make our currency strong… always convert here convert there but salary no conversion… i wonder y company earning also by conversion but payment to employers different in different country…? e.g malaysia n singapore…

• pippen (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 5:34 pm

To fellow malaysians… http://www.mysinchew.com/node/16635?tid=14

If G dont jacked up the import car price using whatever policies, how can the bank and cronies earn money. With higher import car price, local car can sell higher! thats a very simple logic. The buyers sufferred, non of their concern.

A civic in Canada cost less than US$20K. How much proton going to sell in Msia if that price is sell locally.

For those strong Proton supporter, they are either the cronies families, or…they are just too rich so dont mind to sacrifice the hard earn money for the G for buying lousy products…for 20 years and counting.

• TheDuck (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 5:47 pm

The Gen-2 is certainly a pathetic and over-priced car. Anyway, good luck to the English folks wanting to buy the car. We in Malaysia have enough of it!

• tokmoh (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 10:06 pm

Giler la….murah sial….giler la…..Proton syg org putih lagi dari syg kita rakyat ni…. giler la….jom kite sume jadi org putih la…..

Alrite, now snap out of it edi everyone. Seriously, while the car itself may be cheap, putting it on the road isn’t. Road tax, insurance, etcetc plus all together, I reckon Gen2 is still cheaper here OTR.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 11:42 pm

If the engineers and designers at Proton put a little more passion into their work, nothing can stop Proton from evolving into a highly competitive car manufacturer. I’ve heard some insiders saying that the design team often come up with some brilliant ideas but the management usually refuses to let them develop their ideas. They’d rather make cash-cows (the new Saga is a good example!) for quick profit instead of focusing on quality, in terms of both design and engineering. Or at least that’s what I’ve heard. If that’s the case then Proton is in dire need of some major reform. I was really excited when I heard about the negotiation between Proton and VW, but my hopes were soon shattered. The European automotive world has seen how Skoda evolved from being a laughing stock into what is now a top-notch manufacturer. Needless to say, VW is pretty much the benchmark for quality nowadays. Please don’t get me wrong and lable me as a Proton basher. Proton has the potential to evolve, if and only if they’re truly passionate about cars. Not just cash-cows. Then again, perhaps they need the cash-cows now in order to fund their R&D department? Who knows… =)

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 24, 2008 at 11:57 pm

@tokmoh: One can expect to pay between £100-£200 (depending on CO2 emission) to tax the Gen2, whereas insurance might cost about £300 for a 24-year old man with a clean driving license (insurance in the UK depends on the primary driver’s age and driving record, the type of cover, the location where the vehicle is usually kept, and some other factors). Registration fee for a new car is £55.

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 12:01 am

talk is cheap ezra lim. did you buy a proton in australia?

• motberg (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 12:01 pm

wah… so nice. screw the locals and pander to the ‘angmohs’. then they have the cheek to say that we are not patriotic enough. apparently we still haven’t shaken off our colonial days… so much for 51 years of independence

• Proton Sagwa (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 12:57 pm

Gen-2 in UK purchase price includes 12-month road tax, VAT, and registration fee…it is an OTR price.

Insurance is sold by other companies, not Proton, and thus irrelevant to the discussion.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 2:03 pm

Well, there you go – a Proton is cheaper in Britain than it is here! =)

• 3S (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 2:52 pm

Proton have to sell cheap in oversea otherwise , there will be no demand ……..!!
    If i m a business man , definitely i want to sell it at higher price if i can……
    now, talk about the origin country ” Malaysia”, In Malaysia so many people being so proud to own a proton car…..if there is a demand in market, of course proton will sell it more expensive to Malaysia people…..!!
    anyway, Proton’s car still consider cheapest car in Malaysia……!!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 6:38 pm

only the really stupid of all uk people, selfish too buy a proton

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 10:41 pm

@ALPINA BMW: You couldn’t have said it better. Or maybe you could but it doesn’t matter. The fact is, motorists in Britain are simply spoilt for choice!

• topgunthang (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 2:24 am

Akazamabamaboo said,

September 25, 2008 @ 10:41 pm

@ALPINA BMW: You couldn’t have said it better. Or maybe you could but it doesn’t matter. The fact is, motorists in Britain are simply spoilt for choice!

——————————
    thats the way it should be. being spoiled for choice.

3S said,

September 25, 2008 @ 2:52 pm
    Proton have to sell cheap in oversea otherwise , there will be no demand ……..!!

——————————————

proton is selling cheap because there ‘IS” “NO” demand at all.

Scottie Pippen,
    20 years and counting……talk about a long slow death.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 5:00 am

With a budget of £7000, you can choose from quite a wide range of makes and models that are better-built and better-looking than the Gen2. And many dealers are more than willing to knock a few hundred quids (or even a grand!) off the selling price as well as throw in a few goodies!

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 26, 2008 at 12:41 pm

i rather have the real KIA not NAZA picanto, the fiat 500(not abarth), nissan micra, mitsubishi colt, volkswagen fox, citroen c1, citroen c2, ford ka, fiat panda(not 100HP), fiat punto(NOT ABARTH), hyundai getz, kia rio, volkswagen polo(not gti), mitshubishi lancer(not evo), seat ibiza(not cupra), skoda fabia(not vrs) etc…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Sep 27, 2008 at 2:39 am

Yeah dude…hahah…everyone wants the best for their hard-earned money! =D

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 28, 2008 at 12:09 pm

unfortunately we can’t

• protottt.. on Mar 01, 2009 at 7:32 am

Tak tau lah Proton ni..samada diaorang ni pekak @ buta…kenapa proton jual murah kt luar negara…spec and kualiti kaw2 diaorang buat..dlm negara xda safety lansung..pastu suka sgt dok collabrate dgn carmaker europe…diorang x kaji ke market kt malaysia ni mcm mana…part kete europe ni mahal..tgok apa jd waja 1.8, dan tiara…dan mungkin akan menyusul..savvy….mungkin proton tau..rakyat malaysia kebanyakkan berpendapatan rendah..dan xda pilihan…nak x nak.. kene beli jugak proton..nk beli toyota n honda mahal…dasar perlindungan…bila rakyat xnk beli brg buatan mlysia..krjn bising…brg xda kualiti sape nak beli…we want the thing 4 every 1cents that we spend out..

• protottt.. on Mar 01, 2009 at 7:34 am

proton cumer leh cover operasi dgn hasil dlm mesia..2 hga mahal..citt