Proton MPV naming contest comes to an end

Proton LogoThe Proton MPV Naming Contest is now closed and Proton says they received a total of over 251,000 entries, or about 11,000 a day consistently. A team of professional auditors have been appointed to audit the selection process and the winners will be notified sometime in October 2008.

“This is a historic moment for us and we would like the public to play a big part in naming the new MPV. We hope the MPV will be Malaysia’s Preferred Vehicle in terms of style, price and utilization,” said Proton managing director Datuk Syed Zainal.

Proton MPV – exclusive initial details revealed!
Proton MPV – first batch to roll-out mid-September 2008
Proton MPV sketches preview production model
First sighting of new Proton MPV test mule

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• freeze (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 11:28 pm

I got a feeling i will win.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 11:37 pm

Good luck.

• merah (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 11:50 pm

haha wish u the best.

• Infinitt (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 12:53 am

cant wait to know the mpv name..

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 1:04 am

i tink i will win…i choose proton ‘ em pee vee’ !

• feez98 (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 3:13 am

Good luck to us all…

• rexis (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 8:21 am

Dun care wat name it is, just show me the damn thing.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 9:38 am

yeah, what is the point having the greatest name but the car sucks?
    (I hope the car won’t be a lemon after all the hype).

• cars-addict (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 9:41 am

i wish i get the new proton mpv for free….

• mokkf82 (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 9:52 am

Haha!~ Best off luck every one. Just don’t the MPV come out sucks with the name that not suit at all.

• nyte_skater (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 2:34 pm

why not share the names that u guys have sent? hehehe..

• rsrulz (Member) on Oct 04, 2008 at 6:08 pm

Funny, MPV can stand for ‘Multi Purpose Vehicle’ or ‘Malaysia’s Preferred Vehicle’

• hypermount (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 11:44 am

PROTON LAKSAMANA
    PROTON LAKSHIMI
    PROTON ADDANNA
    PROTON RAJAWALI
    PROTON IDAMAN

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 2:20 pm

its quite a bad time to introduce a new car to the curent market with falling sales,increased interest rated,bad sentiments all over,terrible political instability n bickering.low or no consumer confidence….but good luck..im waiting for some good quality spy pics!

• clover leaf (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 10:02 pm

P_ 7penumpang

Isit a true 7 seater MPV?

Will there be air-cond blower vents for 2nd and 3rd row seats?

Are the 3rd row seats have ample legs-room/ head-room and not rsvp for small kids only?

If all 7 passengers are seated, will there be anymore space at the back for more than 2 luggage? or force 2 pack the rest onto the roof rack if there’s one?

Hopefully its more versatile and roomy >WISH/ LIVINA

• EnochKeng (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:04 am

Result = Proton MPV

• fyzal (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 8:38 am

Proton Imperia

• SY0H (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 10:58 am

I didn’t have the opportunity to join the competition because my ideas came late. Alas, I would share you guys my ideas.

Proton Pak Lah.
    or
    Proton KJ.

(with this “bodek” name, Proton will received more protection from the Government, seriously, they need to do this).

Happy hari raya, maaf zahir dan batin.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 4:47 pm

so the winner can leak the name??? after being notified sometime this month.. right??

• runpandarun (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 10:19 pm

e-nabill!! hahahaha! i love that name..it makes lots of sense!!

• runpandarun (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 10:20 pm

hahaha ‘malaysias preffered vehicle’

• runpandarun (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 10:21 pm

the last proton my parents ever owned was a proton perdana v6..it was my favourite car.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:10 pm

the proton loser

• farhathaniff (Member) on Oct 22, 2008 at 6:48 am

Proton Bilawhetisloanwira

BIg LAnd WHalE That IS SLOwer thAN WIRA