Proton MPV sketches preview production model!

Sketches of the front and rear three quarter views of the upcoming 2009 Proton MPV have been revealed on the Buletin Utama segment on TV3 last night, revealing a front bumper design that is reminiscent of the second generation Proton Saga.

Other design details that are revealed include a swage line on the side profile of the car to hide the actual door height.

These sketches may or may not represent how the actual production 2009 Proton MPV will look like as we have not seen an actual test mule being driven on the road yet. All that has been spotted is a test mule using a Toyota Wish body with what is presumably a Proton engine and a rojak dashboard.

WATCH: Buletin Utama TV3, 26th May 2008 – Part 2

Related Links:
First sighting of new Proton MPV-related test mule
Proton MPV due in early 2009

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 4:34 am

That will keep people excited for a while before another one comes out.
    A nice MPV!!

• naikmotoje (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 5:19 am

cun la gk… :d

• sarawakguy (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 6:41 am

Impressive looking,hopefully the real thing will be MUCH nicer to look at…hopefully the price wouldnt be much of a burden to our wallets too!!!!

• azrai (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 7:10 am

A debadged Innova perhaps? With lotus DNA. Look unclish but hey it’s one good design if it’s so. Still wait for the final product, or maybe a spyshot will do. Keep waiting.

• shaif (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 8:16 am

Hopefully, people using PLUS highway near tg malim be ready with digicam as spyshot will be likely in this area.

• ... (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 8:33 am

Hmmmm…

It looks very very similar to Chery V5 MPV. Does this explain the extraordinarily fast development times?

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/07/02/chery-v5-crossover-chery-b14-mpv/

Maybe Proton is following the footsteps of NAZA :)

• kei9 (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 8:35 am

from what i can see, these 2 side profiles haven’t got the same pillars, maybe 2 versions of it to choose from?

But good design it is, those rearlights reminds me of the Mitsubishi Grandis to be honest.

• ... (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 8:39 am

Hmm…

It looks very very similar to the Chery V5 MPV. This might explain the extraordinarily fast development time that Proton is doing.

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/07/02/chery-v5-crossover-chery-b14-mpv/

Is Proton doing what NAZA has done before this time?

• ... (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 8:40 am

Hmm…

It looks very very similar to the Chery V5 MPV. This might explain the extraordinarily fast development time that Proton is doing.

Search Chery V5 in paultan to compare the pictures.

Is Proton doing what NAZA has done before this time?

• normaluser (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 8:51 am

I hope the sketches are production-ready design, not just a concept. The wheelbase look quite long. Can’t quite see clearly the headlights though.

I wonder how much is the output from the tuned 1.6L campro used to move this MPV.

• afroiq (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 9:33 am

a friend of mine working in proton said..that the MPV copy wish frame..copy doesnt mean we take the frame design bulat-bulat..but to make it a base to our MPV..

and he also said that, the MPV might using Campro light turbo engine..same light Volvo turbo..that what he said la..donno if it is true..

anyway, goodluck to proton for their upcoming MPV..

• cyrixMX (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 9:47 am

I was hoping Proton will come out with a full sized MPV .. If the MPV is based on T. Wish, it can hardly fit 7 people, I would consider it as 5 + 2. 5 adults and 2 kids.

• farghmee (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 10:29 am

exterior macam cantik.
    interior mesti buat ergonomik.
    enjin light turbo…hm…can i install that into camxpro gen2? ;)

agak2nye, ble x proton buat design yg ada nilai estetik, eg:
    1. lampu brek ketiga buat dlm lambang proton, time brake lampu tu menyala, nmpk ganas cket rimau tu.
    2. keterangan lampu brek menyala mengikut berapa kuat kita tekan brek. tekan perlahan, lampu menyala cket terang; tekan sederhana, terang; tekan emergency, plg terang + kelip2.

erm..proton should opt for hybrid for the coming years, sooner the better..

Viel Glück!

• BW (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 10:55 am

The back looks like mitsubishi grandis… Maybe it’s a rebadge from grandis or????

• White Jack (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 11:00 am

waaa.a… after this model come out, Proton profit will go even higher. Then no need government help anymore la.

• e-by (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 11:18 am

It look slightly bigger and taller than Wish. Styling wise I think this MPV will be a hit but Proton must price it correctly. It should not price more than RM80k or even lower depending on the cc displacement. I think the correct price should start from RM69K for base model up to RM80K+ for premium (with leather seat, ABS, EBD,cruise control etc). If they can do this, Citra is going to suffer a lot. Maybe some impact also to Avanza and Livina.

The 1.6 Campro turbo consider not bad as more and more manufacturer opted with a turbo charge and low cc displacement. It will reduce cost but also give adequate power. To customers, the roadtax will be kept minimal. Not sure abt fuel consumption as turbo engine usually will drink extra fuel.

• Xoomie (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 12:10 pm

More like MAzda MPV than Toyota Wish to me

• faizulamin (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 12:24 pm

farghmee

i’m totally agree with u!

• chuakz (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 1:28 pm

i really hope they’ll take some styling cues from the lotus apx concept….

• moha774 (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 1:48 pm

Chuaks,

Look at the rear window, the styling cue is there… heheheh, by the way, checked with UK intellectual Property Office website, the final design for MPV has yet being register for by Proton

• aries_shadowheart (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 2:33 pm

IMHO it look ok to me but cant see it clearly. Pic are too blur. For fuel consumption I think it have better fuel consumption if using light turbo than using NA campro engine because Na campro are underpowered and this car are heavy.

• aries_shadowheart (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 2:40 pm

farghmee
    cadangan no1 itu payah sikit la aku rasa utk proton buat sebab nampak ah beng la pulak.
    kalau pasang light turbo tu ke gen2 rasa boleh. tapi tengok le berapa bar boost dia…sebab kalau tinggi aku rase proton mesti reinforce blok enjin tu.

• whiteeye (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 2:50 pm

Hear are some critic for proton, how many car’s do you want to copy? Car’s from 1990 something until now today, it does not come out with your own design need not to say about the engine just the design is already copy and paste. Sorry to say that, for example Proton Saga is just a copy of Mercedes, Savvy a failure car to Myvi in the market. Weather coming up mpv surprising or not at least come out with a design from your company rather just copy. Another things is that proton cars is cheap but quality wise, need not mention, if Proton come out with a mpv by copying need not to production it. For my information New coming replacement Perdana also copy design. Proton need not meet up the stage to Global compare with Toyota, Honda or Mercedes.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 2:58 pm

its good to c the sketches…its look like mazda 5 + grandis…anyway..hopefully it will b good

• mitlanevo (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 4:14 pm

from the sketches, looks nice….

hopefully the size is as big as Wish, Stream etc….

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 4:40 pm

I hope they price is well, not because I would buy one;

(i’m banned from buying a proton by my fiancee due to her bad experience with proton..yay, way to go proton! hahaha..i did quite like the Gen2CPS)

but hopefully this will act as the catalyst to “encourage” other brands to lower thier prices. I’ve already got my eyes set on either a lightly used Wish/Stream or a new Livina.

• gonggok (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 4:40 pm

whiteeye said

“Saga copy of Mercedes”. Wahh really ahh…. must buy it then!!

Come on, there’s very little originality left in the auto world. This is especially true when it come to mid size MPVs. You’re pretty much constrained by the same limits of length, width, height and wheelbase. Plus who’s to say Proton’s MPV copies something? We don’t even really know what it looks like!!

A Chery rebadged? No, TSZ has said repeatedly it’s Proton’s own platform. Anyway it’s interesting that the light pressure turbo idea is gaining traction…

• bisco (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 4:51 pm

oh shut up whiteeye. Like Honda and toyota are soooo original. The design is not even final. So blurr some more. All we are holding on are quite frankly still guesses.

But I guess, you don’t care do you? Hentam first. Think later.

Doesn’t matter if toyota comes out with crap avanza. They shit something out, and some of us just worship it. Japanese maaa.

• jazzer (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 5:39 pm

whiteeye said,

May 27, 2008 @ 2:50 pm

shut up r whityee…proton doesn’t need ur view r

• MyviKiller (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 5:45 pm

whiteeye said,

Hear are some critic for proton, how many car’s do you want to copy? Car’s from 1990 something until now today, it does not come out with your own design need not to say about the engine just the design is already copy and paste. Sorry to say that, for example Proton Saga is just a copy of Mercedes, Savvy a failure car to Myvi in the market. Weather coming up mpv surprising or not at least come out with a design from your company rather just copy. Another things is that proton cars is cheap but quality wise, need not mention, if Proton come out with a mpv by copying need not to production it. For my information New coming replacement Perdana also copy design. Proton need not meet up the stage to Global compare with Toyota, Honda or Mercedes.
    —————————————————————-

Hello? Open up your eyes… Or maybe you got white eyes so you can’t see well…

Anyway, it looks more like the previous gen Ford Galaxy at the front.

• chap_de_x (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 7:32 pm

dun see it clearly…any choppers here..plzzz translate it for us to get the better picture of this drawing…hmm what i can say from this sketches is this mpv will be big…bigger then wish i think…nice design if its ed up like this…g luck p1

• s60t (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 8:00 pm

If they use the wish as a base it will definitely sell well.In the real world how often do you take 7 adults without your kids.most people buy the MPV to take the family and grandparents without resorting to using 2 cars. The wish 3rd row seats are OK for up to small sized adults if you shift the second row forward.A mid sized MPV will be more affodrable,better to drive and more economical to mantain than a full sized MPV like the naza ria.

• szw (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 8:22 pm

very nice…

• mystvearn (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 9:10 pm

can anyone post that Power Point presentation here. I want to see that car trend-says improving there.

• rsrulz (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 10:52 pm

Many people said that proton copy design.
    At least they are better than chery, proton cars do not look exactly the same as their copys, in fact, they look quite nice.
    Look at the chery qq, it looks just like the Chevy Spark.
    The MPV looks quite nice( don’t forget, the last shot Proton had in making an MPV was with the Juara). If it is reliable and cheap, Proton will have the whole package. I think Proton is improving, I will give them a chance and I Proton want to see Proton succeed.

• rsrulz (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 10:56 pm

bisco said,

oh shut up whiteeye. Like Honda and toyota are soooo original. The design is not even final. So blurr some more. All we are holding on are quite frankly still guesses.

Doesn’t matter if toyota comes out with crap avanza. They shit something out, and some of us just worship it. Japanese maaa.

I agree with him, white eye is too harsh on Proton just because its made in Malaysia. Most of Proton’s designs are much nicer than the design that Toyota have been coming up with lately. I think the Avanza is rubbish.

• ah liew (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 11:15 pm

hmm…. i wonder what Proton will name the new MPV?
    Perodua named theirs Rusa
    Maybe Proton will name it “Kambing” MPV. haa! haa!

• aksMs (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 11:39 pm

Last night, I get to watch the very 1st season of the new Top Gear (where the 3rd host was Jason, not James). And reading this posting from Paul reminded one of the episode where JC was showing the cleverness of the interior in a XC90.

Now, I’m not talking about 4 wheel drive or how it will look like etc. What I want to say is, and hoping for in this upcoming MPV, engineers at Proton should come up with something like the one in the XC90. It’s how we can utilize the seating arrangement, the compartments, cup holders etc. Not just the looks. (I’m not saying farghmee’s idea is bad, but let’s focus onto the main issue on who’s going to actually buy an MPV).

If Proton is using the 1.6 CAMPRO engine, then I think most likely they will use the 5+2 seating arrangement. My concern is, how much space left at the boot when we use the +2 seats at the back? I’ve rides in a Wish and had to seat at the back once. Not a very nice ride for me to say.

It’s just one of a few of my concerns with this new model. I’m sure there’s a lot more inside you guy’s head. And I know IT’S NOT JUST ABOUT THE LOOK!

My 2 cents. :)

• document (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 1:09 am

Looks great! I think it wil be great if Proton refer to Toyota Wish or Mitsubishi Grandis (Best MPV 2007)… That’s fine if proton can give us these good thing even though be blamed for being a copy cat. So proton, hope u wont make us disappointed.
    Here are my personal suggestion to this brand new MPV:
    1) the brake light is using LED light like Myvi.
    2) the light of the meter panel is optitronmeter like Myvi and color is white. The common problem for present proton car is red light meter…. so terrible and lousy when look it at nite… Eyesore for me and not ergonimic.
    3) There is a turning indicator at the side mirror.
    4) The interior design should be ergonomic….Take attention to the leg space…
    5) No more lousy door handle and nob like new Saga.
    6) hope there is some active safety feature like ABS, EBD, air bag.
    7) The price is reasonable.
    8) Fuel economic and great power or torque.( No more failure or lousy cam tak pro engine.)

Wish Proton can do a great job and get a good result for this new MPV… Good Luck, Proton! We are waiting to see it.

• kruzer (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 1:34 am

Lets hope it doesn’t end up looking like a Juara2

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 8:31 am

It will most probably be a 5+2, judging from the market it will be competing in.

And as per most 5+2, there will be little to no rear luggage space with the +2 up. Which is fine for most situations. The prime benefit is the versatility and the handling characteristics of a car.

It doen’t seem logical to buy a full sized MPV for the 5 days of the year (balik kampung days shall we say) that you need 7 seats and luggage space. Then on the other 360 days, 5 seats is more than enough, and you’d waste fuel to pulling such a heavy, big vehicle on those normal 360 days.

Driving 2 cars actually cost less…

• shamel (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 9:43 am

4g6gt said was true indeed,

Do not myopic for the rest of the days when you actually running the car @ natural behavior of your ride.

BTW seemingly Proton will offer 1.6 (as most people believe smaller cc better FC as opposed to the reality OTHERS FACTORS must take into account too) and sliding door perhaps (remember Mazda5) to make it some mpv lost their appeal (some people believe MPV=sliding doors).

BTW l’m supporter of Wish-Stream fraternity + if possible fuel saving CRDi.

• panterna (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 9:52 am

bisco said,

May 27, 2008 @ 4:51 pm
    ——————————————————

well said bisco….

i guess whiteeye wants a 5or7 wheeled mpv or a doubledecker mpv…

that should fit right into his ‘originality’ taste…

• mukhri88 (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 11:35 am

I’m pretty sure the Proton engineers and stylists have looked far and wide at all available samples of mid-size mpv design exterior and interior. If they haven’t, well too bad. European, japanese, luxury, low-class and all sorts of samples and possibilities as well as asking people on the street what they want in an MPV and then, go into a fight with Proton management people in pricing issues.

Tiring work isn’t it?

Hopefully they come up with the best looking (caldina), full featured (safety and power), well priced machine, upgradable and can install bodykits for more garang effect. R3 people can start designing bodykits like Mugen and TRD does for their mid-size MPVs.

Mr CEO, I’m ready to trade in my Ria guzzler.

• Realeyes (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 11:43 am

Very funny Ah Liew, it doesn’t sound very dignified does it? Anyway, good job P1.. The lower back should be lower and it would be more streamlined..

• mukhri88 (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 11:57 am

Consider this, suburban family, a pair of adults, four kids aged between 3-12, how exciting life is for the dad? Not at all. So I’m guessing a sporty mid-size MPV would give a little ‘excitement’, innit. Either that, or an affair with his willing 24-year-old secretary. Hehe.. maybe a speedboat for the weekends.. or a Yamaha R1.. (erm, this example is not me)

Hope Proton wows the crowd!

• nd (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 12:33 pm

Mr. Document,

From what I’ve heard, proton already brushoff the ideas for rear led light to keep the cost down. Pls remember! they are trying to design an mpv that cost RM150K. IMHO, its better to put the extra cost on better durable parts / built quality / safety equipment.

I also like very much the optitron meter. but if they can come up something like similar to optitron but cheaper as Viva meter panel then its good enough.

The interior space / legroom should be much better that Livina but on par with Toyota Wish.

• nd (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 12:38 pm

Edited some missing words. It should be like this:

Mr. Document,

From what I’ve heard, proton already brushoff the ideas for rear led light to keep the cost down. Pls remember! they are trying to design an mpv that cost less than RM85K but pit against Toyota Wish/ Honda Stream which cost more than RM150K. IMHO, its better to put the extra cost on better durable parts / built quality / safety equipment.

I also like very much the optitron meter. but if they can come up something like similar to optitron but cheaper as Viva meter panel then its good enough.

The interior space / legroom should be much better that Livina but on par with Toyota Wish.

• jitra motor (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 12:46 pm

I believe proton willl use campro 1.8 cps, same like our malaysia’s 1st hovercraft

• gonggok (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 1:00 pm

Having another look at the pics, I’am a little dissapointed. It just looks too safe and too conservative. The flanks are big and plain. A little surface treatment, a distinct crease or maybe chunky wheelarches like the Neo would help a lot.

I know after the success of the Saga and Persona Proton believes that playing safe design wise is good business but come on, bring back some flair!!
    Us MPV drivers need a little flair to compensate for the fact that we drive a portable playroom (includes ice cream and crayon stained seat…) :(

• aenz81 (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 2:11 pm

farghmee said,
    May 27, 2008 @ 10:29 am

exterior macam cantik.
    interior mesti buat ergonomik.
    enjin light turbo…hm…can i install that into camxpro gen2?

agak2nye, ble x proton buat design yg ada nilai estetik, eg:
    1. lampu brek ketiga buat dlm lambang proton, time brake lampu tu menyala, nmpk ganas cket rimau tu.
    2. keterangan lampu brek menyala mengikut berapa kuat kita tekan brek. tekan perlahan, lampu menyala cket terang; tekan sederhana, terang; tekan emergency, plg terang + kelip2.

——————————————————————–
    Canteek!!!…idea ni boleh dibawak ke tengah… kalau boleh, signal light pun letak logo proton… biar ia kedip2 logo proton warna kuning masa membelok…. biar org tahu, kenal itulah MPV proton terbaru….

• bmpower (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 3:09 pm

proton not copy cat anymore.
    even perodua myvi facelift copy saga front bumper now! .

after persona, many bashers eat back their bad bash word..
    we will see more later…

• mukhri88 (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 3:15 pm

Alright gonggok! MPV drivers bersuara! Voice of actual potential buyers. IMHO no need for luxury features. Only standard stuff that doesn’t come off or tear easily, waterproof and fireproof. Kids nowadays.

Sporty exterior, of course. Large wheels, maybe. Tak payah kuat pickup, top speed on the highway oni..

• mukhri88 (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 3:19 pm

Actually farghmee’s suggestion, I think third party accessories manufacturer also can supply that, if proton cannot incorporate it into production line. Signal logo proton kedip2…

• waimak (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 3:24 pm

What would draw the mass to buy Proton again? I hope its not the price.

• farghmee (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 5:18 pm

3rd party installation will void the warranty..that’s why i’m suggesting proton todo that as per built. or R3 could materializes this?

i love the old saga with lighted front emblem very much ;)

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 6:00 pm

“What would draw the mass to buy Proton again? I hope its not the price.”

they have the masses again, partly price, and also partly the fact that the cars have actually improved in terms of build quality.

for the future, they need to keep churning out cars that suit the market, as well as further improve and maintain quality.

price is still important. if you continue to have customers who will or can only pay a certain amount for cars(and proton has these customers), they should address that, and continue to sell to them.

• mdjqs (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 7:00 pm

nae bad…but i hope the design is like the prototype by lotus at kl motor show! hybrid plz!!

• munky (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 9:05 pm

im pretty sure the car wont look like in the picture

• n8cky (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 10:41 pm

If the design is exactly the same,no doubt, lotz of ppl will prefer that..
    But sorry to say, seeing the rim they’re using, it’s probably a 15′? meaning the cam-pro 1.8 can’t even hardly push the 16″?and they shifted?

Check-in, if they use their own design. How would it look like?This is just a test drive, i would say..P1 was trying whether their campro can move a medium size mpv..
    Design part, we will still need to wait..
    But frankly speaking, up to the date, the only design inspire me was Neo.Then nothing..It was wira..which also did inspired me.
    So what next? Proton?

• n8cky (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 10:48 pm

whiteeye said,

………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Stop bashing around, comment is all about being neutral..
    From ur comment, i know u hate Proton..I hate too, but i give suggestion, not teasing or bashing..nothing personal

• csv (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 10:58 pm

hohohoho

bad news for livina….

but we still have to see the equipment level and safety and technology of the car.

if it’s still gonna sound like milo tin when closing the car door, or comes with faulty brake etc etc, then no use. all filler, no killer.

they could have a sellout potential here, IF they can do things right.

• document (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 12:18 am

Mr. nd,
    Thanks for ur news. However, i dun think Proton should brush off the rear LED light just to keep the cost down since the actual retail price before TAX of Toyota Wish or others MPVs might be around RM90k. ( Correct me if i m wrong). Myvi also equipped with real LED light and optitron meter. I strongly believe that the more you put in effort, the more will you gain in return. Better quality product is sold, but Proton will gain great PROFIT, encouraging SALES, good REPUTATION, CUSTOMER SATISFACTION…. may be will gain wider sales margin in the world market….
    One more thing is that the design of the Proton meter panel should be modified.. no more racing car meter panel… the potential customer for MPV is family customer, thus no more weird or lousy design. Interior should be good to see, comfort, ergonomic and best quality. Exterior should be as sleek and attractive as Toyota Wish or Mitsubishi Grandis.
    Anyway, I do agree that it is better to deliver useful,better quality and durable features rather than provide those luxurious features like water-proof seat, pedestrian protect bumper, printed anthenna, keyless remote…. But at least, the most common safety and functionality features should be put in this new MPV….
    I wish that Proton will create another history in the automotive world with those features… The world is looking for it… Haha

• nd (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 2:07 am

Mr Document,

You are the right that the price before tax for Wish / Stream could be around RM90K but there are things like worldwide projected sales & production capacity that will be accounted for the unit cost calculation. I think it will a lot more years to come until Proton will be able to achieve a unit cost of a Toyota or a Honda or even a Hyundai/Kia.

Perodua is part of Toyota group. So it has the resources from Toyota subsidiaries / vendors which make it possible to get the led light for myvi at a reduce cost. But still, IMO perodua models are greatly overpriced for the size. Take a look at the Nautica for example. Maybe this could be the reason why.

• farghmee (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 8:44 am

cool Bros. :)

in industry, there is a term: Economy of Scale.
    that means:
    the more production, the lesser cost.
    vice versa,
    the lesser production, the more cost.

on production wise, about rm90k wish etc.,
    the production capacity is high, so should the price is low tentatively.

• n8cky (Member) on May 29, 2008 at 10:56 am

whiteeye said,

Stop bashing around, comment is all about being neutral..
    From ur comment, i know u hate Proton..I hate too, but i give suggestion, not teasing or bashing..nothing personal
    Probably u’re talking about Saga rear lamp looks like mer-c?
    Why not check-in the brand new c200-kompressor? the rear and front lamp looks like 01/02 City, 03/03 Camry rear lamp looks like previous BM-3series. Check-in wat’s the meaning of bashing, what would u say, if u’re bashing the Toyota/Mer-c?or will you?

• document (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 12:35 am

I understand that and I give those suggestion because I think they could be the benchmark to Proton. There is no sympathy in business. Only the best will win the market. Believe it or not, it is a real fact. I just hope Proton can become better and better. The most important thing for Proton are to gain back the customer trust and enlarge his market share. Thus, provide a better quality car is a need.
    One more thing I would like to comment about Proton cars is the rear light. ( Sorry to say it again). I often seen quite number of the rear light of Savvy, Gen 2 and Persona do not function properly when I was waiting for the traffic light to turn green. I quite curious about the quality. Isn’t those cars still NEW ??? It would be quite dangerous for the driver at night. Although most people might think it is not the critical issue. Hope Proton can take attention to this quality issue even this is just a “small matter”.
    I wish Proton car would be my “Top of the List” when I want to change a new car in the future. For now, so sorry to say ” NO ” to Proton. Still not enough reason to gain my trust. Good luck!

• skil2u (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 12:39 am

Why dont P1 use Petronas E01 Engine. If i not mistaken it is 2000 cc. And this engine have no problem to move p1 new mpv. Both Petronas and Proton are GLC. They can share the technology

• bisco (Member) on Jun 24, 2008 at 8:02 pm

document said,
    I understand that and I give those suggestion because I think they could be the benchmark to Proton. There is no sympathy in business. Only the best will win the market. Believe it or not, it is a real fact. I just hope Proton can become better and better. The most important thing for Proton are to gain back the customer trust and enlarge his market share. Thus, provide a better quality car is a need.
    One more thing I would like to comment about Proton cars is the rear light. ( Sorry to say it again). I often seen quite number of the rear light of Savvy, Gen 2 and Persona do not function properly when I was waiting for the traffic light to turn green. I quite curious about the quality. Isn’t those cars still NEW ??? It would be quite dangerous for the driver at night. Although most people might think it is not the critical issue. Hope Proton can take attention to this quality issue even this is just a “small matter”.
    I wish Proton car would be my “Top of the List” when I want to change a new car in the future. For now, so sorry to say ” NO ” to Proton. Still not enough reason to gain my trust. Good luck!
    Dei tambi, people dont change their bulbs pun you want to blame p1 ke? How about the faulty BMW Angel-halo headlight? I sometimes see new Audis stuck on the road, but I dont hear people hentam Audi like they hentam proton. And it’s amazing how you relate this after that to your “Top of The List”.
    To be honest, so long as any brand of car is put into Affordable category it will NEVER be on the TOP of your list if you can afford something else more luxurious. Plain logic laaa… guna otak sikit.
    Do you, by any chance, know whiteeye?