RM2 for a liter of RON97 from 1st September!

Fuel Wallet GaugeDespite the change of ministry leadership, the proposed restructuring of fuel grades and pricing will go ahead as scheduled. The new Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob has announced that the price of RON97 fuel will be increased to RM2.00 per litre from the 1st of September 2009 onwards, which is also the date that RON95 and Euro 2M diesel are expected to be introduced into the market. That is an RM0.20 increase from the current price. We’ve paid RM2 per litre for RON97 before as that was the price during the period of the 18th of November 2008 to the 2nd of December 2008.

It’s not known yet at the moment what the new RON95 grade fuel (which replaces RON92 in the market) will be priced at, but when Datuk Shahrir was the minister he said that RON95 would be priced at the same price as RON92, with the income from RON97’s hiked price used to subsidise RON95 fuel.

Hopefully this is still the plan. Get ready for massive jams at the petrol stations on the last day of August!

UPDATE: RON95 fuel will be replacing RON92 and will be priced at RM1.75 per litre, which is up RM0.05 from RON92 prices. Although nationwide roll-out is only expected to be fully ready by September 1st 2009, the new RON95 grade fuel is already available at 2 Petronas stations in Putrajaya. In addition, there will not be any ceiling price for RON97 fuel so petrol companies can feel free to come up with premium versions such as Shell V-Power as long as they inform the government.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Reasonably Insane on May 12, 2009 at 8:29 pm

what?? damn!! campro can use ron95 right?

• is RON 97 = V Power grade?

• Since the fuel price price hike a bit recently,yeaa, now they start talking about price hike again…..

• Black Dog on May 12, 2009 at 8:45 pm

I'll agree if they stick to what they have said before and don't simply change policy whenever they want. Change…change…pening kepala.

At least can look forward to some good quality diesel with compatible diesel cars by September. New Sorrento diesel by Sept?

• www.apesaje.tk on May 12, 2009 at 8:48 pm

Hope that the ron95 price will be around RM1.50. Not sure Campro (old one) can use RON95. Can someone confirm with this ?

• droll on May 12, 2009 at 8:49 pm

i don't think vpower is ron97. i think vpower is ron97 with additives. :) just my thoughts lah.

anyway RM2/L is still not too bad. otherwise, switch to RON95. most cars today can take RON95 comfortably.

• tishaban on May 12, 2009 at 8:50 pm

a18, V-Power in certain parts of Europe is RON 95-98. V-Power in Malaysia is still RON 97 only with additives.

So we will have 3 grades of petrol in Malaysia: RON 95 (RM1.xx), RON 97 (RM2) and Shell V-Power (RM2.15???).

• tanasi on May 12, 2009 at 8:51 pm

these fuckers. should have voted them out the last GE. today I will register and vote for the coming election.

• raverus on May 12, 2009 at 8:58 pm

Just when 'they' can't rip you at Perak, 'they' rip you financially, i hope this is not a up and down thing.

• nabill on May 12, 2009 at 9:13 pm

my middle finger is feels itchy ! this is so sick at times like these , so sick

• Roti naan on May 12, 2009 at 9:16 pm

I bet after the naik 20cents for petrol, all the prices of rice, milo, sugar, etc will "increase" unexplainably…..

Transportation companies will take advantage of the situation, even though the main movers uses diesel….

• azrai on May 12, 2009 at 9:16 pm

The RON95 will price at RM1.75 instead of RON92 now at RM1.70. Those V-Powers already RM2.12 now. So the 'normal' RON97 will be priced at RM2.00.

• azrai on May 12, 2009 at 9:17 pm

You can get the RON95 from today at Petronans Putrajya stations.

• proton12vauto on May 12, 2009 at 9:21 pm

aiseh, bulan puasa lagi nak bersesak2 ke petrol station pada last day of August.

Hari raya no more duit rayalah nampaknya.

• dcwhz83 on May 12, 2009 at 9:39 pm

i dont understand the reason why there would be jam at last day of August… for me i am driving an old car, and i cant wait until i can get RON95 with lower price actually… RON92 is incompatible with some national or japanese makes, but RON95 is compatible mostly… so i am looking for a few cents decrease incentive to switch to RON95 instead of trying to use RON97 all the time, coz my car isnt a performance oriented one…

• kerelbort on May 12, 2009 at 9:40 pm

why we always jump and called ppl name? i still don understand.. is that now Malaysian are broughtup? rooting for the other side doesn't mean they will reduced it significantly.. since they also doesn't have any experiences and only know how to make popular promises and never to keep them. ok enuff of politics.

anyway… almost all car use RON95… since RON97 is include petrol tax, RM2.00 should be a good price and RON95 should be prices lower or same as RON92 since the petrol tax will be used to subsidize RON95, there's some old old car work rather well with RON92, and have problem with RON97 anyway… V-power included more additive and u actually paying for the advert, u can try infinity BHP to have the same rush…

Hoping that RON95 is price hovering RM1.65 – RM1.72..

• shoryuken on May 12, 2009 at 9:42 pm

The "act" and the "say" is totally opposite.

What is having a economy committee to monitor the economy when non-replaceable item can just simply hike the price even the oil price is being tax and earning them lum sum of money. Increasing interest rate for foreign car purchase?

The only way they do business is hike price of the current product, introduce a cheaper quality of product, and tell all people only drive expensive car need to pay the higher price of Ron97, where normal people like you no effect by using a lower-grade product Ron95, and believe me, there is people buy this story, or else how can a lower quality product car can survived for 20+ years.

a18, RON97 is what you pumping into your car now.

I think the G remain say is say, action is totally different.

• tommyboy on May 12, 2009 at 9:44 pm

[quote comment="237710"]these fuckers. should have voted them out the last GE. today I will register and vote for the coming election.[/quote]

You get my vote, comrade! Still have chance to vote them out in next GE. Yeah People's Power is the ay to go!!

• TreeHouse on May 12, 2009 at 9:54 pm

soon people will steal petrol like the movie fast and furious haha

• waja2000 on May 12, 2009 at 10:08 pm

i just can say Goververment please introduce Ron98 at RM2 ….. Ron98 required for new engine. no much different form Ron95/97, but Ron98 is new standard…..

• waja2000 on May 12, 2009 at 10:11 pm

[quote comment="237699"]what?? damn!! campro can use ron95 right?[/quote]

according Gen2 fans at taiwan use Ron95 will feel less power, and take more petrol, but if use Ron98 petrol, more milege compare to Ron95 and feel more power. feeback form Gen2 owner at taiwan

• the fighter on May 12, 2009 at 10:18 pm

i think v-power is RON99 grade la..coz my friend altezza which only can use RON99 and above only suite with v-power,once he pump with normal RON97(shell pump station at suburban normally dont have v-power)…the engine was batuk2..

• tansri on May 12, 2009 at 10:18 pm

this is actually be a good news if they priced the ron95 to cheaper than rm1.80…

if it is true…>>

good news for avanza, myvi, viva etc user!

but i think p1 cars has min ron 95 too..so good news for all maybe..

• xenogearz on May 12, 2009 at 10:19 pm

[quote comment="237715"]I bet after the naik 20cents for petrol, all the prices of rice, milo, sugar, etc will "increase" unexplainably…[/quote]

sigh…restaurant owners will use this opportunity to increase the food prices again…last time when the price of petrol went down, the food prices didn't come down that much…zzzz

• the fighter on May 12, 2009 at 10:21 pm

what about diesel price? increase too? bad news for diesel user..like me..

• 4G63T DSM on May 12, 2009 at 10:33 pm

Both my cars can only run RON97 anyway. so this is nothing but a price hike for me.

Both will need some serious detune to run RON95.

My guess is, they will do this after Raya…as they always do.

• Perak Victim on May 12, 2009 at 10:40 pm

last year when global petrol price went up, M'sian petrol price shot up too and almost every daily necessity went up along with it.

When the price per barrel oil came spiralling down though, the price of our food and car maintenance parts still the same.

Now the G wanna increase the price again eventho the rakyat are facing possibly another round of 1997

every1 get ready to tighten your wallet.. oh unless you're from BN or royalty

• S-Vee-four on May 12, 2009 at 10:54 pm

Paul may I ask what is the source of this news?

Why are they announcing this months ahead? In the past, all anouncements were made overnight to prevent profiteering /stock-piling.

• Never expecting the lower than what you're paying now for your gas. RON95 if RM1.80 is good enough. Just because last week oil price increase a bit the ministry can increase the gas price too BUT when the oil price heading south, they're very reluctant to slash the retail price.

Yes, our gas still cheaper than some countries in ASEAN but their Civic like our City price. SG public transport is one of the world best/most efficient system–l never need a car there.

No thanks to make it everything is so expensive in Malaysia, even used car price twice double than many countries.

• azrai on May 12, 2009 at 11:09 pm

Check this out :- http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2009&a… Confirm RM1.75

• Please increase our diesel price to the same level of Thailand if not SG. We're manufacturer of the world cleanest diesel but we get second dirtiest diesel after Indonesia. Let the market decide the hi quality diesel price and no subsidy to foreigners at all cost.

Our house cost more than 3 average same house in Indonesia, their car also cheaper, gas more or less quite similar.

• ManBelonPunya on May 12, 2009 at 11:16 pm

this is really s**t!!.

increase ron97 price just because of introduction of ron95 into our market?

why not maintain 180cent for ron97 and put 150cent for ron95.

suatu hari di kedai runcit:

najib: aiya tauke, knp ini barang sudah mahal?

tauke: harga minyak sudah naik maa…

• gen2lama on May 12, 2009 at 11:25 pm

[quote comment="237719"]aiseh, bulan puasa lagi nak bersesak2 ke petrol station pada last day of August.

Hari raya no more duit rayalah nampaknya.[/quote]

luckly i'm not affected by the news…..can buka puasa & terawih with peace…no need to rush for the petrol…

and dah save a lot to celebrate hari raya….

NGV – Cheapest & higher RON

• Ahmadeus on May 12, 2009 at 11:42 pm

Proton and Perodua cars can use RON 95 right? What kind of cars can only run on a RON 97 onwards? would these typically be the high end cars like mercs and bmw? can they run on RON 95? or theyneed at least RON 97?

• Littlefire on May 12, 2009 at 11:45 pm

Last time when the fuel is expensive all the ppl rush to install NGV until those mechanic charge until RM5k+…

Now those people which install NGV at a high price all starting to regret… LOL!

Anyway heard the news that 2 Petronas will have Ron95 at RM1.75/L.

Why not upgrade the Ron97 to Ron98/Ron99?!? I think is too near to Ron95!

Somemore not fair to let Petronas only dominate the NGV business…

• Ferox on May 12, 2009 at 11:47 pm

This move is reasonable in my opinion.

• theanswer on May 12, 2009 at 11:47 pm

i heard from the news..the price for ron95 will be rm1.75. anyone hear the same news? tv3 i guess…i watch it when i was at the bank around 1.30pm i think.

• pokok on May 12, 2009 at 11:51 pm

people first.performance now.price hike soon.

• RON Pro on May 12, 2009 at 11:56 pm

BMW can run on RON91~98, why can't you national & cheapo japanese car?

• anonymous on May 12, 2009 at 11:57 pm

thestar mentioned that RON95 would be priced at RM1.75

• newdriver on May 12, 2009 at 11:59 pm

Some noob question…

RON 97 – hijau?

RON92 – merah?

Can new honda city use RON 95?

Thanks….

• mat_7824 on May 13, 2009 at 12:02 am

RON95 – RM1.75 per litre…

• Mintz on May 13, 2009 at 12:03 am

[quote comment="237755"]Paul may I ask what is the source of this news?

Why are they announcing this months ahead? In the past, all anouncements were made overnight to prevent profiteering /stock-piling.[/quote]

It's in the news today my friend. Read The Star online..

• rempitjunkie on May 13, 2009 at 12:13 am

I don't understand why you guys are whining about. Ron95 should do the job for most cars in Malaysia except you're running on higher compression engine that requires higher octane.

Goods prices shouldn't be affected as all lorries and most vans runs on diesel and don't get me started on Petronas monopolising NGV market cos NGV is by far profitable product

• freeze on May 13, 2009 at 12:13 am

I won't be one of those queuing up on 31 august to fuel up. Because RON95 will be cheaper than current RON97. And honestly I used to fuel up RON92 (before they started locking the 92 pumps) I felt no difference.

So I don't mind if RON 97 goes to RM3.50 per litre and use the profit to subsidise RON95 at RM1.40 per litre.

• Shiang on May 13, 2009 at 12:13 am

What is wrong with them?

Zzz…

• proton12vauto on May 13, 2009 at 12:24 am

Littlefire, because only PEtronas able to subsidised the NGV to the public. ;-)

• proton12vauto on May 13, 2009 at 12:25 am

[quote comment="237767"]Last time when the fuel is expensive all the ppl rush to install NGV until those mechanic charge until RM5k+…

[b]Somemore not fair to let Petronas only dominate the NGV business…[/b][/quote]

Littlefire, because only PEtronas able to subsidised the NGV to the public

• to the gov, it is more of the petrol upgrade and price adjustment, but to the people it is a petrol price increase. gov need to disperse more information on this to make people understand. i dont like the scenario where everyone take it as a price increase, hence give cheap reason to businesses to increase price in everything they can. if the car can use 95, then it is actually a cheaper petrol.

paul, good if we can have list of common cars in malaysia that can take 95 or can only take 97 and above.

• gen2lama on May 13, 2009 at 12:31 am

[quote comment="237767"]Last time when the fuel is expensive all the ppl rush to install NGV until those mechanic charge until RM5k+…

Somemore not fair to let Petronas only dominate the NGV business…[/quote]

regret? sorry bro…even i'm planning to install my new local MPV with the NGV kit..

just ask any petronas owner the reality….even they reluctant to add more NGV pump…petronas are operating on loss…update yr knowledge please….

• Maybe its a bad news for other, but for me its a good news.. My car can run minimum RON92, so RON95 is good enought for my car..

• BTW, i dont think barang naik if RON97 price increase.. Commercial vehicle don need RON97 to run smoothly, mau kasi gaduh saja kata RON97 naik, barang kena naik…

• [quote comment="237767"]Last time when the fuel is expensive all the ppl rush to install NGV until those mechanic charge until RM5k+…

Somemore not fair to let Petronas only dominate the NGV business…[/quote]

Its not about dominate, but another company don want to sacrifice lah… normal NGV price is double (if not mistaken) than Petronas subsidized NGV price.

• gen2lama on May 13, 2009 at 12:41 am

[quote comment="237794"]BTW, i dont think barang naik if RON97 price increase.. Commercial vehicle don need RON97 to run smoothly, mau kasi gaduh saja kata RON97 naik, barang kena naik…[/quote]

diaorang aapa kira? janji ada alasan naik harga…

malaysia lack of comsumer power….

• My Saga 1.5 auto with Carb engine, at the petrol filler, its stated Ron97+ only. can you believe that? This will kill me later …argh…!!!

• Michly on May 13, 2009 at 12:55 am

most car can run ron95 . 97 is just slightly better. unless u have a higher compression sports car then got problem .. if can afford sports car, what is 2.00/liter.

By the way , Vpower is already at Rm2 now. if shell dont increase it might as well Vpower instead of ron97.. 2nd tot .. shell earning big time.. haha

• Ill vote BN next GE because last GE i vote Pas and Adil. Nothing man Pas dand adil. Bola sebijik pun tak bagi kat budak Kampung. Itu minyak ada 2 pilihan buy la ron 95 ajerrr

• aiyoo suzuki swift buleh pakai ron 95 ker?

• DannyArcher on May 13, 2009 at 1:25 am

i have this feeling that they will increase the price before 1sept

• Annihilated on May 13, 2009 at 1:51 am

Paul,

I think it would be great if you could write/publish the minimum RON requirements article for.. say.. top 10-15 most popular cars in Malaysia. This will keep people more aware of their RON requirements rather than start commenting / commenting without any basis.

Also, it'll be interesting of you could also list a few higher than standard RON requirement.. Murcielago LP640 maybe? idk.. Thanks!

• scanzew on May 13, 2009 at 2:15 am

hahaha

now the customer should know bangla said to us at petrol pump;

a)ron 95—->merah

b)ron 97—->hijau

• scanzew on May 13, 2009 at 2:30 am

maybe we hav to realized that we are start using second class petrol and 'merah' petrol althought driving a merc….but i still digesting it huhuhuhu…

regular 'merah' petrol customer wannabe

• sponge_bob on May 13, 2009 at 2:37 am

WTH ? When petrol price increase , some of you only know to blame government . See the big picture , global la abang , which country does not affect by petrol price hike ?

Why wanna relate petrol price with GE ? See PR , what they did for us until now . They just know make problems and bising when they got rip Perak . When I read the news , I said , " Padan muka ! " . Where is DS Anwar with his word to take the government and now he went AWOL .

Since we got a new petrol version which can be used by most of the car , that will be coming out and cheaper , well , then use that . And stop cussing and complaining with the 20 cents increase .

If you own a performance car , then get yourself for the price of performance petrol . Otherwise , open your own oil rig .

If it is about chain reaction that ignited by the petrol price hike , that would be the morality issues of the company ( I do not denied we have bad parasites in the government that only care about money politicking ).

I have no idea about NGV cause my knowledge about it is limited .

BTW , government or concerning companies to release more information about the new petrol .

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 13, 2009 at 3:08 am

[quote comment="237755"]Paul may I ask what is the source of this news?

Why are they announcing this months ahead? In the past, all anouncements were made overnight to prevent profiteering /stock-piling.[/quote]

its all over the online papers.. i suppose they want people to get used to it as all malaysians always do given enough time.

as for prices of goods, i dont think it will go up much if any, because when petrol was above RM2, the most of the stuff that went up in price, didnt come down after that. The question i have is, is RM2 a ceiling price? what happens if the price of oil goes up like crazy again? price goes up?

• Changpw on May 13, 2009 at 3:35 am

I think intro RON95 out to market is a good idea.

But there have a Problem with the G.

Just imagine – currently:

RON92=1.70

RON97=1.80

just assume the Price of RON95 between RON92 and RON97.

RON95-1.75

When 1Sept2009

RON 97 INCREASE 20CENT TO 2.00

RON 95 IS 1.75.

G claim that will put less subsidies on RON97 and put more on RON95 .

just want G to explain , WHERE DID THIS 20 CENT GO ?

i wonder all this guy mathematics ability .

• Littlefire on May 13, 2009 at 3:35 am

[quote comment="237788"]Littlefire, because only PEtronas able to subsidised the NGV to the public. ;-)[/quote]

Yalaa.. I ask 1 shell owner before.. They dont have the license to get NGV! If u want, open Petronas… Even Ron95 Petronas get it first…

Anyway, i heard that the Petronas station only can survive in Malaysia… Other country… Only it's lubricant manage to get in international market, but not the fuel market..

• Ueekkk on May 13, 2009 at 4:20 am

chiu ci pek ……. next election ….. u re going down…… increase car interest and now …… petrol ….. in australia ppl buy proton half price of malaysia proton …. why our own ppl malaysia will have to buy more expensive than other country while this is malaysia made …. this is so bullshit ……. again …. chiu ci pek

• bugbear1986 on May 13, 2009 at 4:27 am

4g13, 4g15 can only use ron97 or higher lvl of octane fuel rite?

• MisterBenjo on May 13, 2009 at 4:37 am

All modern cars nowadays can use RON95.why u all panic? the only thing i do not agree is the increase 5 cent.My kancil and all Perodua cars can use Ron92(RM 1.70 before) as they design for Ron90. Campro engines in Malaysia market designed for Ron95. All other modern engines nowadays have knocking sensor intergrated so there should be no problem.

• civicminded on May 13, 2009 at 5:19 am

new civic can use RON97 ??

• bugbear1986 on May 13, 2009 at 5:35 am

[quote comment="237854"]All modern cars nowadays can use RON95.why u all panic? the only thing i do not agree is the increase 5 cent.My kancil and all Perodua cars can use Ron92(RM 1.70 before) as they design for Ron90. Campro engines in Malaysia market designed for Ron95. All other modern engines nowadays have knocking sensor intergrated so there should be no problem.[/quote]

nope, obviously u ve nt driven any 4g13or4g15s b4

thse bloody grandmother engine is infamous wif pinging/knocking.. arrr.. ><

• MisterBenjo on May 13, 2009 at 5:36 am

[quote comment="237864"]new civic can use RON97 ??[/quote]

As i mentioned earlier no problem…this action is benefited people who use RON97 before which is majority….the only affected is minority of people who knows their car can use RON92 and some motocyclist.

• gen2 lama on May 13, 2009 at 5:37 am

[quote comment="237843"][quote comment="237788"]Littlefire, because only PEtronas able to subsidised the NGV to the public. ;-)[/quote]

Yalaa.. I ask 1 shell owner before.. They dont have the license to get NGV! If u want, open Petronas… Even Ron95 Petronas get it first…

Anyway, i heard that the Petronas station only can survive in Malaysia… Other country… Only it's lubricant manage to get in international market, but not the fuel market..[/quote]

aiya….go ask the shelll owner again…can he pay the electrical bill alone(if operating the ngv pump)?….then go to the nearest NGV petronas and ask them who pay their electrical bill? and how much per month?

then look around the station…..u will see a separate 'transfomer' install by TNB….who will pay for that…..the answer is PETRONAS….

• MisterBenjo on May 13, 2009 at 5:43 am

[quote comment="237870"][quote comment="237854"]All modern cars nowadays can use RON95.why u all panic? the only thing i do not agree is the increase 5 cent.My kancil and all Perodua cars can use Ron92(RM 1.70 before) as they design for Ron90. Campro engines in Malaysia market designed for Ron95. All other modern engines nowadays have knocking sensor intergrated so there should be no problem.[/quote]

nope, obviously u ve nt driven any 4g13or4g15s b4

thse bloody grandmother engine is infamous wif pinging/knocking.. arrr.. ><[/quote]

Older engines yes as they might need higher RON because of the engine abuse for years…I have seen alot 4g15 wira owners filled their tanks with Ron92 before.

• WRT9222 on May 13, 2009 at 5:48 am

I don't know why our government always bully citizen, very clearly that the RON 95 is lower grade than RON 97 but want to sell RM1.75 per little. imaging current RON 97 only sale RM1.80, for future you pay only less RM0.05 but get lower grade petrol. For me i will stay to use RON 97, no demand then government can cancel this suggestion.

• keong on May 13, 2009 at 6:09 am

i pump shell regular and V-power on alternate basis on my 1.3wira…. kekeke..

no problem for wira to use V-power right??

• pokok on May 13, 2009 at 6:37 am

it is just a suggestion…im sure the government will consider all the matters.if not…then i guess the minister will also sing the coke song…OOOOHHHH…CAMNILAH…CAMNILAH…HIDUP KITA CAMNILAH…

• [quote comment="237729"][quote comment="237710"]these fuckers. should have voted them out the last GE. today I will register and vote for the coming election.[/quote]

You get my vote, comrade! Still have chance to vote them out in next GE. Yeah People's Power is the ay to go!![/quote]

I also will register and vote them out, everyone please… join us. I'm sick with the current G. Sure price of goods will increase la.. berani buat berani la tanggung

• Tiadaid on May 13, 2009 at 9:12 am

I really don't know why people think that by changing governments it'll have an effect on oil prices. I really don't…

• Tiadaid on May 13, 2009 at 9:19 am

Come early September, my fuel bill will reduce by RM2! Thank god my City has a minimum RON of 91.

• my home is just beside the petronas putrajaya at precint 9..

the petrol pump closed today because they launch the ron 95 fuel..

• Need advice (from anyone who understands) I don't. If a particular car's fuel lid is pasted wif a tciker stating "97+ Octane", does it mean the car cannot use RON 95? I know most cars like the Honda City, the requirement is only RON 91 but im not surre whether the car wif that particular sticker can run on RON 95. Any side effects? Anyone can help in explaining? Thanks in advance.

• issit september or next month? i watched buletin utama last nite, in the news marquee, it said ron95 will be introduced next month??

• _xXx_ on May 13, 2009 at 4:20 pm

I think more ppl will be queueing for the ron92 than the 97.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 13, 2009 at 4:30 pm

[quote comment="237927"]I really don't know why people think that by changing governments it'll have an effect on oil prices. I really don't…[/quote]

i totally agree with you.. people who think so are not in touch with the 'real world' out there.

• biggie on May 13, 2009 at 4:42 pm

i think this is a brilliant move. A cap on Ron95, and float+tax on Ron97.

Support the idea, at least all the round table meetings etc. that I have to work round the clock to make like thousands of different scenarios to consider have been implemented.

btw not all scenarios are rosy from whichever angle that you look at(consumer, govt., dealers and producers) with different possible economic trend possibilities. Right or wrong… well statistics never predict it will be 100% whatever scenarios possible.

• King Samurai on May 13, 2009 at 4:59 pm

[quote comment="237766"]Proton and Perodua cars can use RON 95 right? What kind of cars can only run on a RON 97 onwards? would these typically be the high end cars like mercs and bmw? can they run on RON 95? or theyneed at least RON 97?[/quote]

Bro, all Campro engines recommended to run on RON 97 or higher…mostly japanese engines can run on lower RON as low as RON 91 except for some high-end engine like the V6 and tuned engines like the K20A in Type R, same goes to most higher end continental engines.

Now who actually benefited from this time around RON97 price hikes? It would be those middle to upper income earners who use non-national cars where their engine can run smoothly on RON95. What about middle to lower income group who can only afford to own Campro petrol heads like saga, gen2, persona, exora & waja?? These people made up more than 60% of the whole nation's employment pie chart and these people are to being forced to buy national cars (which is cheaper) and being forced to buy RON97 with higher price at the same time..pump RON 95 engine will go knocking and soon will kaput…more money to throw for repair, overhaul and so on…

There you go…thank you for voting..

• tokmoh on May 13, 2009 at 5:03 pm

Funny… "the income from RON97’s hiked price used to subsidise RON95 fuel". So they hike 20sen to "subsidise" -5sen ie increase 5sen?

Now I'm not a whiny brat shouting for subsidy all the time, but I think they really should just stick to RM1.70/L for RON95.

• NgvUser on May 13, 2009 at 5:06 pm

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/05/12/rm2-for-a-…

LittleFire ..I take it u are not an NGV user…it is because of Petronas able to subsidize us Ngvusers at such a low price..

Regardless of petrol increase or decrease..NGV users are enjoying an all time low cost of operation ..Whether it is an initial expensive installation or not in the long run we are laughing to the bank…

What to do .ha..now that NGV installation have drop down price better go install…don wait until sept ..then only cry foul lar..too expensive..lar..

Come to think of it ..better don install NGV…i don 't wanna rebut with you to pump my NGV.

• tokmoh on May 13, 2009 at 5:12 pm

[quote comment="237993"][quote comment="237766"]Proton and Perodua cars can use RON 95 right? What kind of cars can only run on a RON 97 onwards? would these typically be the high end cars like mercs and bmw? can they run on RON 95? or theyneed at least RON 97?[/quote]

Bro, all Campro engines recommended to run on RON 97 or higher…mostly japanese engines can run on lower RON as low as RON 91 except for some high-end engine like the V6 and tuned engines like the K20A in Type R, same goes to most higher end continental engines.

Now who actually benefited from this time around RON97 price hikes? It would be those middle to upper income earners who use non-national cars where their engine can run smoothly on RON95. What about middle to lower income group who can only afford to own Campro petrol heads like saga, gen2, persona, exora & waja?? These people made up more than 60% of the whole nation's employment pie chart and these people are to being forced to buy national cars (which is cheaper) and being forced to buy RON97 with higher price at the same time..pump RON 95 engine will go knocking and soon will kaput…more money to throw for repair, overhaul and so on…

There you go…thank you for voting..[/quote]

Since the beginning, Campro is tuned for RON95 lah!! Actually, the middle and lower income group benefit this as their petrol bill is cheaper at 5sen/L

• Freemal5872 on May 13, 2009 at 5:33 pm

I have a Wira 2002. The last time fuel price went up and I learned about such fuel grade, I checked my manual as well as other forum sites and you know what?? It's suppose to run on RON 97!!! Apa macam sekarang?? Can Proton please help to do some re-setting so can use RON 95??

• King Samurai on May 13, 2009 at 5:34 pm

Since the beginning, Campro is tuned for RON95 lah!! Actually, the middle and lower income group benefit this as their petrol bill is cheaper at 5sen/L[/quote]

Tokmoh,

Are you driving a proton with Campro or not? My 2005 Gen2 fuel lid sticker and its owner's manual stated 'UNLEADED PETROL NO LESS THEN RON97 ONLY'. How do you explain that? If you're a proton engineer..please give me explaination what is the effect if I'm pumping the RON95 in my tank for long run…say after 6 months what will happen to the engine? Anyhow, I'll rather drive my honda and restrict this Gen2 for weekend use lor..

• aliBaPa on May 13, 2009 at 6:08 pm

[quote comment="238004"]I have a Wira 2002. The last time fuel price went up and I learned about such fuel grade, I checked my manual as well as other forum sites and you know what?? It's suppose to run on RON 97!!! Apa macam sekarang?? Can Proton please help to do some re-setting so can use RON 95??[/quote]

Is it really possible?

Wira?

waja or perdana is more reasonable.

• tokmoh on May 13, 2009 at 6:09 pm

[quote comment="238005"]Since the beginning, Campro is tuned for RON95 lah!! Actually, the middle and lower income group benefit this as their petrol bill is cheaper at 5sen/L[/quote]

Tokmoh,

Are you driving a proton with Campro or not? My 2005 Gen2 fuel lid sticker and its owner's manual stated 'UNLEADED PETROL NO LESS THEN RON97 ONLY'. How do you explain that? If you're a proton engineer..please give me explaination what is the effect if I'm pumping the RON95 in my tank for long run…say after 6 months what will happen to the engine? Anyhow, I'll rather drive my honda and restrict this Gen2 for weekend use lor..[/quote]

I think campro built in 2005 is similar with my fren's 1-month-old Satria Neo's campro. The manual did say RON95.

• aliBaPa on May 13, 2009 at 6:10 pm

[quote comment="238004"]I have a Wira 2002……I checked my manual as well as other forum sites and you know what?? It's suppose to run on RON 97!!![/quote]

wira???i can't believe.

waja or perdana is more reasonable.

• King Samurai on May 13, 2009 at 6:13 pm

[quote comment="238012"][quote comment="238005"]Since the beginning, Campro is tuned for RON95 lah!! Actually, the middle and lower income group benefit this as their petrol bill is cheaper at 5sen/L[/quote]

Tokmoh,

Are you driving a proton with Campro or not? My 2005 Gen2 fuel lid sticker and its owner's manual stated 'UNLEADED PETROL NO LESS THEN RON97 ONLY'. How do you explain that? If you're a proton engineer..please give me explaination what is the effect if I'm pumping the RON95 in my tank for long run…say after 6 months what will happen to the engine? Anyhow, I'll rather drive my honda and restrict this Gen2 for weekend use lor..[/quote]

I think campro built in 2005 is similar with my fren's 1-month-old Satria Neo's campro. The manual did say RON95.[/quote]

Bro, its what u think…I own one…so does bro Freemal5872. Tak payah tengok manual…just check at the fuel pump lid cover sudah cukup..or just go to any petrol station..see some protons filling petrol, ask the owner if u mind to see the sticker behind the fuel lid…unless the owner already kopek the sticker lar….

• aliBaPa on May 13, 2009 at 6:16 pm

[quote comment="237984"][quote comment="237927"]I really don't know why people think that by changing governments it'll have an effect on oil prices. I really don't…[/quote]

i totally agree with you.. people who think so are not in touch with the 'real world' out there.[/quote]

Changing govt is needed for other issues, but oil prices of cos are not, bcos it's global….not control by us.

• aliBaPa on May 13, 2009 at 6:20 pm

[quote comment="237808"]i have this feeling that they will increase the price before 1sept[/quote]

yeah, flip-flop.

• Hidup Rakyat on May 13, 2009 at 6:25 pm

Please do not support BN. They only know to increase the petrol price. They have no contribution to the country but only grab our money. Please do not vote them in the future.

• traffic is already bad on bolehland so, who cares..?

• Littlefire on May 13, 2009 at 6:58 pm

[quote comment="237995"]Now those people which install NGV at a high price all starting to regret… LOL!

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/05/12/rm2-for-a-…

LittleFire ..I take it u are not an NGV user…it is because of Petronas able to subsidize us Ngvusers at such a low price..

Regardless of petrol increase or decrease..NGV users are enjoying an all time low cost of operation ..Whether it is an initial expensive installation or not in the long run we are laughing to the bank…

What to do .ha..now that NGV installation have drop down price better go install…don wait until sept ..then only cry foul lar..too expensive..lar..

Come to think of it ..better don install NGV…i don 't wanna rebut with you to pump my NGV.[/quote]

Hello brother.. Before fuel price went up, NGV installation is around RM3k some even cheaper. But during the fuel price went up, all the mechanic starting to cut troat.

Besides that, our engine is not design for NGV used. For long run, what is the side effect? I even heard the mechanic mention must use lubricant which are design for NGV engine, older cars piston ring are more easy to wear out using NGV. Besides that the gas tank almost 50kg+ and take a large area of the rear boot. Not many mechanic are well trained to install NGV or even maintain it, as some are just road side mechanic. How we know they are professional?

The only benefits is cheap to run, friendly to environment, but we all know the real NGV price is not cheap (as ours are subsidized). Since NGV business is running a lost, why those Petronas station want it? It is funny?!? Or they get even more rebate or money from Petronas/G? Business person are not stupid to run loss all the time!

What i mean is that, the NGV business should be given a chance to all other petrol station to sell. As we all know only subsidized to Petronas station only. Even Ron95 are sold by them now. BHP also own by local, but i also never heard they have subsidized NGV also? It is discrimination?…

• Reasonably Insane on May 13, 2009 at 6:59 pm

[quote comment="238019"]Please do not support BN. They only know to increase the petrol price. They have no contribution to the country but only grab our money. Please do not vote them in the future.[/quote]

this is automotive blog.. don't bring politics in here… go away you PR pest… oppss..

• citizen on May 13, 2009 at 7:02 pm

spongy..why so stupid?? who started all the mess in the first place in perak?? whos the culprit?? when BN 'rapes' the law and constitutional, person like u just simply said "padan muka to PR"..hahaha ur ignorance makes u look stupid..definitely a fool..

• azrai on May 13, 2009 at 7:32 pm

RON92 & V-power RON97 = Red coloured

RON97 = Green coloured

RON95 = Yellow coloured

Maybe sultan want it?

• M using wira…how now?

• NgvUser on May 13, 2009 at 8:01 pm

Besides that, our engine is not design for NGV used. For long run, what is the side effect? I even heard the mechanic mention must use lubricant which are design for NGV engine, older cars piston ring are more easy to wear out using NGV. Besides that the gas tank almost 50kg+ and take a large area of the rear boot. Not many mechanic are well trained to install NGV or even maintain it, as some are just road side mechanic. How we know they are professional?

That's where most of your information comes from, hearsay from people who don't use ngv ..will never have the correct information.

True NGV gas is very dry ..but because we started the car in petrol mode first to lubricate the pistons and with additional lubricants , the pistons and VSR (valve seat recession) is reduced. You can know professional vendors by asking for their license .

Because gas combustion is complete, there's no residue or soot left behind unlike petrol for the engine oil to catch and therefore prologing your serivce maintainence. meaning cleaner engine as the hotter combustion will burn your carbon deposits.

Don't believe ..ask any mechanic doing an overhaul on an Natural gas vehicle.

the engine is generally quite clean.

check www.ngvcommunity.com for more information .

Please check your information correctly with people that uses NGV instead of just hearsay from people who don't . No wrong in checking out the information before installation.

Cost wise for installation. you can't blame installer for raising the price..as there's money to be made. It 's your choice to get it installed or not.

• gen2lama on May 13, 2009 at 8:06 pm

littlefire……

get the fact right la…..READ more…why petronaas ask g to increase the price of ngv many time…but G dont allow…

its easy maa….dont use NGV…very gooooood news for us the ngv user….

go check some of the user…how they install the 80kg tank….

• Just_Once on May 13, 2009 at 8:06 pm

It's true that current campro can run on RON95 after Proton detune to meet G move. Early campro yes again it build to run RON97+. Even Tarago V6 in Australia design to run RON 95, have no complaint running RON91, which is popular octane here.

• [quote comment="238028"][quote comment="238019"]Please do not support BN. They only know to increase the petrol price. They have no contribution to the country but only grab our money. Please do not vote them in the future.[/quote]

this is automotive blog.. don't bring politics in here… go away you PR pest… oppss..[/quote]

HELLO…. we are talking about cars…. not politics…. go to hell u PR…… cakap lebey…. buat haprak….. nak jadi jaguh kampung je…..

• premium fuel should on May 13, 2009 at 8:52 pm

If RON97 is to be regarded as a premium fuel in order to justify the price increase, RON97 should therefore be value added.

I suggest increase the octane number slightly or inlcude additives that improve engine performance and cleanliness.

Increasing the fuel price while crude oil price drops or remains the same will not do justice to the customers.

• Baron on May 13, 2009 at 8:56 pm

what about old engine like 4G93 in Putra, Wira LE and GTi?can use RON95 or not?

• [quote comment="238052"][quote comment="238028"][quote comment="238019"]Please do not support BN. They only know to increase the petrol price. They have no contribution to the country but only grab our money. Please do not vote them in the future.[/quote]

this is automotive blog.. don't bring politics in here… go away you PR pest… oppss..[/quote]

HELLO…. we are talking about cars…. not politics…. go to hell u PR…… cakap lebey…. buat haprak….. nak jadi jaguh kampung je…..[/quote]

Continue rightous about ur politician views..See what will happened. This is just another way to increase the petrol price without obvious changes.. They're getting smarter.

• KeithDuckworth on May 13, 2009 at 9:44 pm

I think PROTON should come out with a statement to clarify which of their models (old and new) can use the RON95 petrol. For the benefit of thousands of owners

• AndrE on May 13, 2009 at 10:22 pm

i saw shell offer rm2.05 for v-power last few days

• gegala on May 13, 2009 at 10:37 pm

[quote comment="237775"]Some noob question…

RON 97 – hijau?

RON92 – merah?

Can new honda city use RON 95?

Thanks….[/quote]

Dun wori.if u read new honda city manual book,it stated that can fill with ron91. So no big deal. I also own new city,will using ron95 starting this sept..peace

• kemosabe on May 14, 2009 at 12:45 am

Strange they could sell RON97 at RM1.80 now, and then RON95 at RM1.75 in September. Doesn't seem to justify the RON95 pricing.

The Gov could just keep the RON97 at RM1.80, and RON95 at RM1.75.

Whats the justification to for the 20cents hike.

Sounds more like a scam.

Lets hope oil prices will come down en route to September.

• jawerians on May 14, 2009 at 12:49 am

i belive most owners of 4G13p and 4G15p out there are not rich people and those engines are not a high performances or sports engine and definitely not fitted to a racing and expansive cars. this price increase will hit us very bad. not to mention any other collateral price increase when fuel price increased soon. please consider us, the user of old protons cars.

• Tiadaid on May 14, 2009 at 1:04 am

[quote comment="238029"]spongy..why so stupid?? who started all the mess in the first place in perak?? whos the culprit?? when BN 'rapes' the law and constitutional, person like u just simply said "padan muka to PR"..hahaha ur ignorance makes u look stupid..definitely a fool..[/quote]

Hekeleh…who started taunting BN about people jumping parties and forming new national government? That's right, its ur beloved DSAI! Right back at ya! If he senyap2 only and focus on doing his job, then the Perak mess wouldn't have happened!

• satuarah on May 14, 2009 at 1:06 am

“RON95 pula menjadi produk harga tetap yang dikawal kerajaan,” katanya pada sidang media selepas melancarkan petrol baru itu. Hadir sama ialah Timbalannya, Datuk Tan Lian Hoe; Ketua Setiausaha kementerian, Datuk Mohd Zain Mohd Dom dan Pengerusi Petronas Dagangan Berhad, Datuk Anuar Ahmad.

Beliau berkata, rakyat tidak perlu panik dengan kenaikan harga RON97 di pasaran kerana RON95 menawarkan kualiti dan prestasi sama hebatnya.

Mengenai pemansuhan RON92, beliau berkata, walaupun harga RON95 agak tinggi berbanding RON92 yang kini dijual RM1.70 seliter, petrol baru itu lebih berkualiti.

Ketika ini kadar penggunaan RON92 hanya sekitar lima hingga 10 peratus daripada jumlah penggunaan keseluruhan petrol di negara ini sejak 2000 hingga tahun lalu.

"Pelaksanaan penggunaan RON 95 adalah usaha berterusan bagi memastikan rakyat mendapat kualiti petrol lebih baik pada harga yang disubsidi kerajaan. Semua jenis kereta boleh menggunakan RON95 termasuk yang berkuasa tinggi.

"Selain itu, penggunaan RON95 yang sesuai dengan enjin kenderaan membolehkan pembakaran sempurna dan lebih berkesan sekali gus menyebabkan kurang pelepasan bahan pencemar ke udara," katanya.

Ismail Sabri berkata, penjualan RON95 mendapat sokongan agensi kerajaan berkaitan, syarikat minyak utama serta industri kenderaan bermotor.

"Perbincangan dengan industri kenderaan bermotor mendapati kebanyakan enjin kenderaan yang digunakan di negara ini boleh menggunakan RON95," katanya.

http://www.bharian.com.my/Current_News/BH/Wednesd…

• Reasonable on May 14, 2009 at 1:09 am

This nation required HERO… Ron95 introduced with Ron97 price hike! It can only tells you one thing! Government rules! So shut your mouth and follow… A lot of members are correct, they should vote others during the GE… But the same thing will happened, whenever there is a hatch filled with gold, regardless of what party you are, you will take it too… Greed lies in everyone of us… it's only a matter how greedy will that particular person be…

• proton12vauto on May 14, 2009 at 1:13 am

NGV is bad for our engine. go ask taxi driver or limo driver, how bad condition their engin..

• jawerians on May 14, 2009 at 1:14 am

want to add some. For p2 kancil owners who currently enjoyed RM 1.70 RON92 get ready to bring extra cash after 1 sept. I also belive most kancil owners are also not a rich people. i wonder who will really get benifit from this price hike? thanks G for your make people headache vision.

• crappyblog on May 14, 2009 at 1:22 am

[quote comment="237902"][quote comment="237729"][quote comment="237710"]these fuckers. should have voted them out the last GE. today I will register and vote for the coming election.[/quote]

You get my vote, comrade! Still have chance to vote them out in next GE. Yeah People's Power is the ay to go!![/quote]

I also will register and vote them out, everyone please… join us. I'm sick with the current G. Sure price of goods will increase la.. berani buat berani la tanggung[/quote]

Hey Paul why u did not snip this away? Cmon. you suppose to be apolitical and not promoting your poilitical views… i am getting sick with this PR crap…while they are making themselves rich in any means… power first…rakyat later.. the tales of two con parties in the making….

• Very soon we will see the price hike on everything….

Why dun put RON 95 at RM1.70 since it is replce RON 92???

It is hopeless and nothing we can do to prevent the price hike…many companies has cut pay like 5%,10%, or even 20%…so how can we live on

this???

• [quote comment="238072"]I think PROTON should come out with a statement to clarify which of their models (old and new) can use the RON95 petrol. For the benefit of thousands of owners[/quote]

I think they're running short of 'owners'..

• crappyblog on May 14, 2009 at 1:24 am

[quote comment="238071"][quote comment="238052"][quote comment="238028"][quote comment="238019"]Please do not support BN. They only know to increase the petrol price. They have no contribution to the country but only grab our money. Please do not vote them in the future.[/quote]

HELLO…. we are talking about cars…. not politics…. go to hell u PR…… cakap lebey…. buat haprak….. nak jadi jaguh kampung je…..[/quote]

Continue rightous about ur politician views..See what will happened. This is just another way to increase the petrol price without obvious changes.. They're getting smarter.[/quote]

What Pakatan? Live under pakatan..even fucking drain cannot be fixed….and tell to be righteous…I want to dump the PAKATAN for good!

• crappyblog on May 14, 2009 at 1:26 am

What about you guys go to kelantan and drill oil..maybe can get free!

• Tiadaid on May 14, 2009 at 1:35 am

[quote comment="238113"][quote comment="238072"]I think PROTON should come out with a statement to clarify which of their models (old and new) can use the RON95 petrol. For the benefit of thousands of owners[/quote]

I think they're running short of 'owners'..[/quote]

How you know?

• [quote comment="238117"][quote comment="238113"][quote comment="238072"]I think PROTON should come out with a statement to clarify which of their models (old and new) can use the RON95 petrol. For the benefit of thousands of owners[/quote]

How you know?[/quote]

'I think~'

• sponge_bob on May 14, 2009 at 1:50 am

[quote comment="238047"]

Because gas combustion is complete, there's no residue or soot left behind unlike petrol for the engine oil to catch and therefore prologing your serivce maintainence. meaning cleaner engine as the hotter combustion will burn your carbon deposits.

[/quote]

Gas combustion will never be 100% complete . In engineering the best efficiency would be carnot cycle efficiency . For normal petrol engine , efficiency normally within the 26%-40% . For normal diesel engine , its about 40%-50% . For NGV , it might be reach 70%-80% or maybe 95% below .

In engineering , whenever there is a COMBUSTION process , definitely will have residue / waste ( due to second law of thermodynamics ) . For NGV , it might very less ( approximation to negligible when you compare with petrol engine ). The output of an NGV system might be less but we could not be sure , depends on what type of engine you are using ( typical are piston / reciprocating engine ).

If the mechanics says to you , NGV is completely clean , then he should have limited knowledge about combustion process . Even one drop of water ( output ) from electric/hybrid engine is an output/residue . Regardless of how you define the level of hazard for the engine output .

• [quote comment="238116"]What about you guys go to kelantan and drill oil..maybe can get free![/quote]

O o…now i get the coming from…probably ppl out there're expecting free oil that's why they do not appreciate the price hiked? But i think the best is still remain the same price as it is..

• SAMTOH on May 14, 2009 at 4:14 am

What the F**k…. !!@$%&())..

BN boleh… Make malaysian people suffer..

• fearsome on May 14, 2009 at 7:08 am

Pls pls stop talking about politics.

We should focus on economics.

We should focus on education.

We shou;ld focus on improving the nation.

Pls pls do not use foul language.

• Tiadaid on May 14, 2009 at 7:32 am

[quote comment="238119"][quote comment="238117"][quote comment="238113"][quote comment="238072"]I think PROTON should come out with a statement to clarify which of their models (old and new) can use the RON95 petrol. For the benefit of thousands of owners[/quote]

How you know?[/quote]

'I think~'[/quote]

You think is not a good answer….

• hmm can the ron95 and ron97 mix ? lets say i have been pumping ron95 then suddenly i wan to pump ron97 into my car which still has ron95. Is it advisable ?

• optimist on May 14, 2009 at 4:20 pm

why [quote comment="238115"][quote comment="238071"][quote comment="238052"][quote comment="238028"][quote comment="238019"]Please do not support BN. They only know to increase the petrol price. They have no contribution to the country but only grab our money. Please do not vote them in the future.[/quote]

Continue rightous about ur politician views..See what will happened. This is just another way to increase the petrol price without obvious changes.. They're getting smarter.[/quote]

What Pakatan? Live under pakatan..even fucking drain cannot be fixed….and tell to be righteous…I want to dump the PAKATAN for good![/quote]

Hell yeah.dump them for good. So much hype and sensation.do your f****** job first for god's sake before your want to take over this country. Pakatan has changed people's mind to be cynical in everything. A sad thing really.

• 4G63T DSM on May 14, 2009 at 4:56 pm

If you car does not have a knock sensor. DO NOT go below the rated octance requirement as noted on the fuel lid/owners manual. You could damage your engine if you run long term with the lower than mininum rating.

Saga/Wiras do not have them, or any cars with a carb, or older cars. So run the proper fuel.

Bear in mind your engine's octane requirement will increase a few points when they are old, due to carbon deposits in the combustion chamber creating hotspots. If you car has a 95 octane requirement, it may as need 97 to run correctly after a few years (depending on how well the car is driven – short distance stop and go driving usually is the worst)

For newer cars that have knock sensors, there is no issue. You can run as low as you want with the expense of a power loss.

I have trouble with RON97 on our Wira 1.5 Auto. I will have to detune an already underpowered car to run RON95. My 1.8 Satria only runs 97 as well, same detune is necessary to run RON95.

The irony is, our new Accord will run anything we pump in…even RON92.

So there you go, if you are just low-middle income stuck with a Saga/Wira, you'd get futher raped by our lovely government. If you can afford a new car, then you wont care less about this.

If you have a Saga/Wira, you could ask your mechanic if it is possible to retard the ignition timing to allow you to run Ron95. Usually its just turning the distributor to retard a few degrees. Takes 10mins. You will feel the power loss.

• 4G63T DSM on May 14, 2009 at 4:59 pm

[quote comment="238203"]hmm can the ron95 and ron97 mix ? lets say i have been pumping ron95 then suddenly i wan to pump ron97 into my car which still has ron95. Is it advisable ?[/quote]

1/2 tank RON 95 + 1/2 tank RON97 = the equivalent of RON96.

So yes, you can mix it as long as the ave RON does not go below your minimum.

• Vincent on May 14, 2009 at 7:42 pm

Guys,

Please do not think only about our self. Overall public will be affected by:

1) Eliminating Ron92 with more expensive Ron95(if same price no issue, but it is NOT).

2) Increase the RON97 price by 11.1% which actual market value is generally should be lower. (Gov cutting all the subsidy, so where is OUR TAX money?).

3) Price of Petrol is RM2.80 when oil per barrel is USD147, but now the oil per barrel has reduced to USD60, why is RON97 going to go up to RM2.00 from RM1.80?

Just let our good friend know, we will remember all this and when the day we cast our vote. All will be reflected :).

• Nonoow on May 14, 2009 at 8:37 pm

err.. , i used RON92 for my P2 kancil +kembara and even my old EF2 Honda n still using then until now, no different…the car still run and never had a problem with the engine..at least i save some bucks to buy other thing which is more important..ya la, my car is not a sport/performance car…hehehe…as long it can take me to my destination that enough..

and thinking to try the RON 95 to my new installed 4age, hahaha

• [quote comment="238311"]Guys,

Please do not think only about our self. Overall public will be affected by:

1) Eliminating Ron92 with more expensive Ron95(if same price no issue, but it is NOT).

2) Increase the RON97 price by 11.1% which actual market value is generally should be lower. (Gov cutting all the subsidy, so where is OUR TAX money?).

3) Price of Petrol is RM2.80 when oil per barrel is USD147, but now the oil per barrel has reduced to USD60, why is RON97 going to go up to RM2.00 from RM1.80?

Just let our good friend know, we will remember all this and when the day we cast our vote. All will be reflected :).[/quote]

Wow…..tat's like..hmm, I cldn't agree more..this is a way to increase price without drawing much attention. As well, those pro-G will say, tat's good!!!

• Those has mathematical distortion, the price are going to increase this Sep. Now I don't care whether the price increase or not..neither the G is doing a good job or trying to conn the rakyat. I just want to know will RON95 harm my engine if my engine used to RON97. I remember my Satria oil cap written RON92, and I switced to RON92 for 1week, and it gave me all kind of engine sounds..I do not want this happen to my Sylphy,k???Understand???not all rakyat can afford to change their car from time to time!! borak!

• tokmoh on May 15, 2009 at 8:40 am

[quote comment="238014"][quote comment="238012"][quote comment="238005"]Since the beginning, Campro is tuned for RON95 lah!! Actually, the middle and lower income group benefit this as their petrol bill is cheaper at 5sen/L[/quote]

Tokmoh,

I think campro built in 2005 is similar with my fren's 1-month-old Satria Neo's campro. The manual did say RON95.[/quote]

Bro, its what u think…I own one…so does bro Freemal5872. Tak payah tengok manual…just check at the fuel pump lid cover sudah cukup..or just go to any petrol station..see some protons filling petrol, ask the owner if u mind to see the sticker behind the fuel lid…unless the owner already kopek the sticker lar….[/quote]

Nye nye nye nye!!! Sapa malu skrg?

Kan Paul dah post psal sume keter Proton bole pakai RON95. n btw, Freemal5872 uses a Wira lar, not Gen2.

I think Proton put RON97 cuz scared msians buntu kepala dunno wtf is RON95. Just look at how many ppl who can fill in RON92 with their kancil, kelisa, myvi, vios, city etcetc. Do they do that? Or they will still fill in RON97?

Just shows the kinda knowledge msians hv abt RON n their car. Berbuih unker Chips explain psal RON, hampeh gak

• Anger on May 16, 2009 at 7:44 pm

[quote comment="237710"]these fuckers. should have voted them out the last GE. today I will register and vote for the coming election.[/quote]

There you go TANASI! This is the spirit we need in our young generation!!!