Toyota Auris gets facelifted in Japan

Toyota Auris Facelift

The last time there was an update to the Auris and covered on this blog, the 1.4 litre model was replaced with the new Dual VVT-i 1.33 litre engine with auto start-stop capabilities. This happened just late last year.

Now it’s time for a mid-life facelift, with the Auris now featuring new headlamps, taillamps, bumper, grille, alloy wheels and hood design. That’s considered to be quite major considering a typical Toyota mid-life model change these days.

Toyota Auris Facelift

On the inside some materials have changed. The 1.8 litre engine has been upgraded to Dual VVT-i, and is mated to a CVT transmission with paddle shifts. So far the facelifted Auris has only been launched in Japan but expect the updates to roll out in Europe soon. No word yet about a facelift to the Toyota Blade, the Auris’s more premium counterpart in Japan with 2.4 and 3.5 litre engines.

Next up will probably come an update to the sedan variant of the Auris platform – the Corolla and Corolla Altis! But for now, look after the jump for a full gallery.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=552]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• crystalball on Oct 15, 2009 at 11:50 am

Toyota M'sia needs to bring in newer and more exciting

models cos the current lineup esp the Altis and Wish segment seems stagnant.

Auris looks similar to the Nissan Latio.

• booring, pls dont come to malaysia, we hv plenty of rubbish on the road already

• Agree with nmh, don't bring all the dull looking craps here, it's an eyesore to see them.

• faten dasuki on Oct 15, 2009 at 2:51 pm

this is cool.. but i agreed with crystalball.. it is similar to nissan latio..

so it has nothing more special about the design

• akupunya on Oct 15, 2009 at 4:03 pm

kan best kalau proton dpt design kereta macam ini..

ini tak…design exora pun mcm ikan flowerhorn cacat (mutan)..

setakat ni design saga je cun giler..

and i can say that the sage design akan kekal mamca tu sampai kiamat..akekek..yg ada facelifted jer..

• Toyota Fan on Oct 15, 2009 at 4:29 pm

So when are we going to get Dual VVT-i?

• lightning mcqueen on Oct 15, 2009 at 4:42 pm

ello every body, we gonna see more dugong family member on the road soon

• 112bz on Oct 15, 2009 at 4:52 pm

dugong! dugong! dugong!!!

• Lancermania on Oct 15, 2009 at 5:34 pm

another new bodykit selection for the vios??

• tikus (Member) on Oct 15, 2009 at 6:05 pm

Toyota Auris will sell like hot cake coz malaysian will buy whatever shit the T brand sell. TOYOTA Wor !!

• alpha999 on Oct 15, 2009 at 6:11 pm

dugong or watever name la…..malaysian hav always been brainwashed by T-badge…….

• look much better than yaris

• Ah Tan Workshop on Oct 15, 2009 at 8:10 pm

Front looks like a to-be Perodua's MPV… sporty.

• Alvin Toffler on Oct 15, 2009 at 8:19 pm

looks way better than the stupid jazz.

• lazyf on Oct 15, 2009 at 9:46 pm

Rear taillamp reminds me of 1st gen of Vios

• kimi_ on Oct 15, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Is this same class with yaris???

• Falam on Oct 15, 2009 at 10:40 pm

FUGLY,,,,eww

• mystvearn on Oct 16, 2009 at 3:58 am

I've seen the current one in Real life, and it is not that good. Really worthy of Dugong title!

• paparazi (Member) on Oct 16, 2009 at 4:45 am

i don mind the design, but if Toyota…. their design sense going backward i guess

• somehow the front looks like perodua viva…

• angie on Oct 16, 2009 at 7:56 am

whoa, better looking dugong design… keep it up

• Afezi on Oct 16, 2009 at 8:49 am

nice and good specs too..

when msia will get dual dvvt-i?

• bmpower on Oct 16, 2009 at 10:06 am

a fugly, boring car.

1.3? lol!

• DUGONG,,,akakkakakakak

• Rear lights a bit like Satri Neo's….

• corolla axio already facelift … with an unnoticeable lift

i think it was last year

• ayoh dugong lak ekeke cian vios… BUT LETS CALL IT DUGONG yang nih nak panggil ape lak… jap lagi perodua ambk design letak badge P besar kat situ.. ermmm

• to whoever cannot afford toyota, of course they just talk rubbish about toyota ..i think it's a good design..great interior i might add