The full NAP review text released by MITI

Here’s the media release from MITI detailing every bit of the National Automotive Policy review. More stories on this issue to come later. By now you would probably already have seen this embedded document viewer used on this site a few times before so please use the Full Screen function for the best reading experience.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express disappointment with the recent NAP review, criticizing it for favoring the wealthy and neglecting the average rakyat, especially lower-income groups who struggle to afford new or imported cars. Many highlight the continued protection of Proton and high taxes, which inflate car prices and limit choice. Several commenters mention concerns over older cars becoming unroadworthy due to mandatory inspections and the impact on low-income families. Others feel that the policies favor the rich, promote corruption, and do little to improve local industry or development. Some suggest the policy further widens the gap between rich and poor and that it benefits cronies and elites. Overall, sentiments are largely negative, with frustrations over government policies that seem to disadvantage ordinary citizens.

• Jeffery on Oct 29, 2009 at 9:07 am

1st… 1 Malaysia, again we feel dissapointed with the government…give us fake hope again… we tot it wil be better bt nw is worst off… lol… "smart" move!!!

• infinity on Oct 29, 2009 at 9:15 am

nth exciting…bad news is tat my dad needs to send his old faithful wira for inspection yearly…ngam ngam 15 year-old by next year…

• kimi_ on Oct 29, 2009 at 9:39 am

It doesnt need a GENIUS to tell that this NAP policies is BULL SxxT and CRAP…

• scanzew on Oct 29, 2009 at 10:20 am

bad news that not really pleasant to read it…huhh

• dirtyoldmen on Oct 29, 2009 at 2:31 pm

don't worry la. in this sunshine state, rules are meant to be broken….. and that's the rule. :P

• Master Mind on Oct 29, 2009 at 2:34 pm

quite good especially on ckd frm ASEAN rate……

• katak on Oct 29, 2009 at 3:27 pm

yeah Proton are still a protected Baby after 30 years well good for you proton so u can make toys car. We are proud of you by making us pay higher for car which are imported and also you mak3 us looks pirate too.

thank you proton for making us 1 malayisan stupid

• Jimmy on Oct 29, 2009 at 3:30 pm

If I were the authority, I will purposely ask my staff to SLOWLY examine each 15-year-old car so that there is a very long waiting period, and I will purposely increase the fee to RM600 per car. Haha, now you want to change your old car or not? I save RM5000 and get extra pay. AND I am going to terminate the petrol subsidy for car above RM150 000. Ha ha, whether you are poor or rich, all of you are 'DALAM TANGAN AKU'.

• Automotive_Critics on Oct 29, 2009 at 3:33 pm

Tax same je takde perubahan. buat penat je tunggu. hmm tahun depan pakai proton lagi la nampaknye.

• azrai on Oct 29, 2009 at 3:44 pm

Haha. Who ask you to wait. The G will never ever thinking of reducing the tax. it is their bread and butter. I still thinking what the other ASEAn countries think about it. maybe they will retaliate. Just like Hiace export to Thailand before.

• Lizzard on Oct 29, 2009 at 3:46 pm

when everyone use foreign car..Rich person want to use what?? Helicopter??

at least they have one level upper than poor people..

2nd hand foreign car cheap what..

• common sensor on Oct 29, 2009 at 3:47 pm

As expected, the consumers hate it (as there was no immediate goodies); but IMHO, government has to protect its revenue (as they had not be able to develop alternative source). The way I look at it, in the long run, its good for the industry and its eco-system because specific deadlines are given, as such each affected industry could plan ahead of time. These are signs of more transparency and liberalization. But of course, the policy has to be converted into tactical, so delivery system is also important. Should the people hate it so much, then, its high time to change the government in the next election, and subsequently change the policy …

• Good Job on Oct 29, 2009 at 4:11 pm

the next policy change will b determine on proton's stategic partner. if got a handsome partner than sure can give more discount la to u guys who wants to buy foreign car. i doubt a 'new' gov will change the existing policy as they all are politician who will twist and turn and bring us all to the same lubang kubur.

• N Abdullah Bin Tan S on Oct 29, 2009 at 4:18 pm

1)

" All CBU and CKD Tax structure remains"

Meaning that there's no cheaper car for the poor low-income group. Paying a RM36k for the Baseline Proton Saga with the income of RM2k as a full time security guard in Menara TM?

How can i afford it !!!

(note: A rubbish truck driver in Australia earn 3-5k a month and can afford a Toyota Camry and a house)

2)

"Open AP issued will be charged at RM10,000"

RM 10,000 charged to the AP holders? Just a piece of cake. A non-AP holders that sell the Import Used cars has a margin of more than RM15k, i can imagine how much the real AP holder earns happily.

"A fund will be established from the income collected and will be used to assist BUMIPUTERA enterpreneurs in undertaking, among others"

ONE Malaysia Vs BUMIPUTERA enterpreneurs !?

BN annual meeting speech:" No more racism but united" Vs BUMIPUTERA enterpreneurs !?

Bunch of rubbish…

3)

" Foreign company that make luxury passenger vehicles with engine capacity of 1,800cc and above, and on the road price not less than RM150,000", can be granted with 100% Manufacturing License ownership in Malaysia?

So now BMW can pay high price to buy the Manufacturing License from the local company !! Yeah, unless BMW give up their 1.6l Prince engine that found in MINI and BMW 116 and spending lots of money to buy non business-sense 100% ownership.

Who else left?? Benz and maybe Lexus in the future?

• anak dato' kk on Oct 29, 2009 at 4:20 pm

Tak paham, sbb apa org malaysia sendiri nak tgk company malaysia bungkus! Teruk sgt ke produk dia n bagus sgt ke produk dari luar ni? Jgn menan sorak tp kampung tergadai…..

• mandatory inspection will create more revenue for the Govt and then there will be opportunities for corruption to happen. a lot of old cars are still roadworthy out there….did they even think about the ulu kampung folks who depends on their old set of wheels to get around. what is going to happen when their vehicles are declared "not road worthy". before the G decides to force ppl to buy new cars, they also must make sure that public transport is upgraded otherwise the poor and low income group will be even more pressed

• ericfoong81exe on Oct 29, 2009 at 4:44 pm

The GOV will just tell you to be patient…."sabarlah….wang masuk pocket ku dulu", this is how they act since long time ago. Closer the gap in between the wealth and poor group ppl's gap??? Totally bullshit, this policy is to provide those blood sucker more variety to chose for the luxury car to buy.

• Premium on Oct 29, 2009 at 4:51 pm

yahoo!! now i can get BMW at much cheaper price, Toyota Alphard also…wow!! thanks you for giving the ministers much cheaper premium brand…

• MADBOY on Oct 29, 2009 at 4:54 pm

ls said,

October 29, 2009 @ 8:26 am

mandatory inspection will create more revenue for the Govt and then there will be opportunities for corruption to happen. a lot of old cars are still roadworthy out there….did they even think about the ulu kampung folks who depends on their old set of wheels to get around. what is going to happen when their vehicles are declared “not road worthy”. before the G decides to force ppl to buy new cars, they also must make sure that public transport is upgraded otherwise the poor and low income group will be even more pressed

————————————–

Seriously, U would rather have 15 years old cars with a lot of problem on the road than 15 years old safer cars?

If the car are well maintained, I don't see any problem for it to pass the test.

• dumdass on Oct 29, 2009 at 5:09 pm

With the manufacturing license granted for 'luxury vehicles 1800cc and above' plus the Vehicle Type Approval, does this mean that we can now actually have a kit car industry? Albeit a higher end one.

• ammar on Oct 29, 2009 at 5:09 pm

This does not bode well for vintage car owners. I have two cars above 15 years old. And even though it's road worthy, who's to say some punk in JPJ won't approve it just to fatten his pocket? It's not the first time that's happened.

• whodz on Oct 29, 2009 at 5:15 pm

Tax Sheet tu macam copy paste saja. Malas nak buatla tu. hehe.

• moha3774 on Oct 29, 2009 at 5:16 pm

I suppose it would only be fair if, the car owner be given rebate of the cost of going for inspection "only if they passed the test". And none will be given to those who fails.

• the problem is, to bring the car for inspection…queuing…or calling the puspakom mobile team for inspection….

even , today…queue already long….unless…they are going to open more puspakom branches or puspakom franchise…

• laburit on Oct 29, 2009 at 5:22 pm

I'm neutral about this… I see pro and con….

But I expect P1 and P2 to improve drastically… I have no problem to buy their products…

Keep well your customer and improve after sales services….

• strada on Oct 29, 2009 at 5:28 pm

sokong BN? itulah akibat nya… no good news la…….

• paxter on Oct 29, 2009 at 5:35 pm

well… i am done with this country if no one actually sees it they are blind… last 5 yrs our FDI is 15% of what it was in the 90s… we give tax relief the wrong group, and we have lost so much FDI from potential car companies that were finding places to put their plants around SEA bcs of that "car"… This NAP and the budget can go f it self… Had enough of the getting F over… hell i just checked my average salary is lower than what i can get from that country in the north… and MORE in the south….

• Tiadaid on Oct 29, 2009 at 5:43 pm

paxter said,

October 29, 2009 @ 9:35 am

well… i am done with this country if no one actually sees it they are blind… last 5 yrs our FDI is 15% of what it was in the 90s… we give tax relief the wrong group, and we have lost so much FDI from potential car companies that were finding places to put their plants around SEA bcs of that “car”… This NAP and the budget can go f it self… Had enough of the getting F over… hell i just checked my average salary is lower than what i can get from that country in the north… and MORE in the south….

————————-

Bla bla bla…you can go find some greener pastures if you want, instead of moaning and cursing about it. But the question is, COULD YOU?

• sonyman on Oct 29, 2009 at 5:43 pm

same goes here, cost i dont mind driving one, and that one is as good and better than others, but by the looks of it we all hope it improves

maybe we should let Top gear test drive the cars and let them review, if it passes then i think i wont mind driving one.

• MBX Boy on Oct 29, 2009 at 5:52 pm

Huh? Small cc's no change at all. But big cc's duty decreases!! What nonsense is this? What happened to tax the rich, give to the poor? Secretary salah type kot.. I was expecting the new budget to be no change at all or at least very very slight decrease in duties. I was expecting this, and it would have still been bad news to me. BUT, how can this BN go BACKwards??? This news is worse!! I know you want to protect Proton, but Proton should NOT be overprotected. Do you know what happens if u have a child and if you overprotect and spoil your child? U r gonna get children who grow up to be semi-retarded adults!

BTW, paxter, well said!

• sproc on Oct 29, 2009 at 6:20 pm

Just full of shit …

• Just_Once on Oct 29, 2009 at 6:20 pm

Hi Paul,

How is your BMW car going on? Could you make it before the automative parts due date? Hope it's still worthwhile the hobby you have. How is the vintage hobby lovers will affectted…

• wochomi on Oct 29, 2009 at 6:28 pm

VERY good govt plan. Innovative and progressive thinking. Rakyat untung. Can get to sit in cheaper proton cars. Proton keluar any models also can sell now.

• MADBOY on Oct 29, 2009 at 6:35 pm

laburit said,

October 29, 2009 @ 9:22 am

I’m neutral about this… I see pro and con….

But I expect P1 and P2 to improve drastically… I have no problem to buy their products…

Keep well your customer and improve after sales services….

———————

Proton yes, perodua, I'm not sure. They don't really have R&D located in Malaysia.

The R&D benefits will apply to all car manufacturers, if the qualify. It just, as at to date, only proton qualify.

• the rich is getting richer, the poor is getting poorer.

• In ur dreams le if wanna buy imported car. P1 n P2 lives forever.

• Give more grants… good intention. But implementation always crap!

Some more, got grants, bosses go play golf banyak-banyak, change new cars, buy/renovate bungalows.

Hub? Whey… wake-up la… it's already Thailand la. They have left M'sia behind so so far. Now they got all except raw materials to build car (plastic, metals).

R&D? You dream it! They spent lots of money going for golf, karaoke and other clubbings, in the name of customer entertainment. So wonder what's left?

• One more, 1800cc above lux car… emm, seems like it's to please defient VW to open JV plants here. SOMEBODY is going to fill their big pockets from this…

• alpha999 on Oct 29, 2009 at 7:17 pm

Arrhhh………nothing has changed from customers' side……same all stories…diff days…

• illumiricon on Oct 29, 2009 at 7:20 pm

if this is such a bad policy, I wondered what policy is the best in the eyes of you guys?

• Jimmy on Oct 29, 2009 at 7:28 pm

Hey my dear hambas, why should I make a proper car??? Give me just one reason. Expensive crappy TOY cars you also have to buy. If not, I will make your life more difficult. Ha ha ha, I am the winner, all the time.

• xtend2damax on Oct 29, 2009 at 7:29 pm

anak dato’ kk said,

Yea, kereta buatan malaysia memang teruk! Kalau bagus sangat kenapa mereka perlukan perlindungan?

• illumiricon on Oct 29, 2009 at 7:36 pm

xtend2damax said,

October 29, 2009 @ 11:29 am

anak dato’ kk said,

Yea, kereta buatan malaysia memang teruk! Kalau bagus sangat kenapa mereka perlukan perlindungan?

————————————————————

aku pakai Saga 2009, aku x rase teruk pn. ade kekurangannye, yes, but I get exactly what I paid for…

• Jimmy on Oct 29, 2009 at 7:37 pm

Hey where got Indianese/Banglas/Indons??? I don't see many of them in KL. Newspapersss said there are only 10 000 of them in whole Malaysia. I am sure that's not going to threaten you or your family in any way!!! Fitnah again, see how I sue you.

• katak said,

October 29, 2009 @ 7:27 am

yeah Proton are still a protected Baby after 30 years well good for you proton so u can make toys car. We are proud of you by making us pay higher for car which are imported and also you mak3 us looks pirate too.

thank you proton for making us 1 malayisan stupid

——————————————————————

as like u said…korean car manufacturer also make their people stupid..their auto protection even worse than bolehland..don agree search la info from net

• toyowira (Member) on Oct 29, 2009 at 7:40 pm

anak dato’ kk said,

October 29, 2009 @ 8:20 am

Tak paham, sbb apa org malaysia sendiri nak tgk company malaysia bungkus! Teruk sgt ke produk dia n bagus sgt ke produk dari luar ni? Jgn menan sorak tp kampung tergadai…..

this is because proton sell their car cheaper at oversea but much more expensive in local.

cuntry like korean/japan ,their citizen enjoy better sepc. car for local model compare to export model with cheaper price.

• illumiricon on Oct 29, 2009 at 7:43 pm

toyowira said,

October 29, 2009 @ 11:40 am

anak dato’ kk said,

this is because proton sell their car cheaper at oversea but much more expensive in local.

cuntry like korean/japan ,their citizen enjoy better sepc. car for local model compare to export model with cheaper price.

————————————————————

how can u say that proton sell their cars cheaper overseas? just based on currency exchange? man…this is beyond currency…it's just not that simple…

• toyowira said,

———————————–

u wrong man…better spec yes but not price k….they even buy back low spec they xport than sell in their country…don believe search la info

• PooKeeMaBiEn on Oct 29, 2009 at 7:47 pm

Oh Ostolia here i come to you , please wait for me at Melbone airport …. hasta la vista Malingsia ..

• illumiricon on Oct 29, 2009 at 7:53 pm

can't even spell Melbourne right…wish u luck there mate…

• Micheal on Oct 29, 2009 at 7:53 pm

toyowira,

how sure are you?

if they sell it cheaper pun,

will u buy it?

hah?

i dont think so..

Proton cars are cheap enough…

for families…

you can get a family car for 40k

can produa sells like that?

i dont think so…

proton helps the low income ppl so much…

it just sum1 rich like u doesnt sees it..

• Roki Balboa on Oct 29, 2009 at 7:56 pm

then the conclusion… I choose SAGA SE, my previous car Perdana.. cause i live in malaysia..

confort.. big bonnet… happily ever after… dont care TOY car, HOrN car whatsoever..

u think PRK can maintain their vote in next election? keep your WET DREAM ON..

When u become the boss..u create your POLICY… so??

no need to cause TAU TONG @ HEADACHE by talking shit here..

what did u get by SHITTING here? anyone??

• Rx-ate on Oct 29, 2009 at 7:58 pm

I hope the other ASEAN countries will retaliate by imposing high taxes on Protons… let them taste some of their own medicine.

Siapa yang makan cili, dia lah yang rasa pedas.

• toyowira

as for japan..the car sell so cheap like hell but…………search info in the net better search yourself rite

• Micheal on Oct 29, 2009 at 8:07 pm

PooKeeMaBiEn said,

October 29, 2009 @ 11:47 am

Oh Ostolia here i come to you , please wait for me at Melbone airport …. hasta la vista Malingsia ..

———————————————————–

yah…

sure… Malaysia dont need you…

• mr_3m on Oct 29, 2009 at 8:09 pm

toyowira said,

anak dato’ kk said,

this is because proton sell their car cheaper at oversea but much more expensive locally (e.g. to you & me).

—————————————————————

MALAYSIA NI KAN NEGERI TONGGANG TERBALIK…. what is wrong is 'right'… and what is right is no longer the norm, and somehow 'feel' or 'look' 'wrong' to the surroundings/people…. CORRECT?

answer: correct, correct, correct…. see everyone put the 'correct' thing under the carpet already…. and no one notices it anymore…

*sigh* so everyone don't put up any hope lah… IT IS HOPELESS… you can even see or get 'defender' of the this 'wrong' system like anak dato kk etc etc…. they are just happy with the 'skewed' system etc… because the rich gets richer and the poor gets poorer…. in fact we are already poorer by the day… we're getting to the poorest stage now…

• To those who are driving a Proton and think they get what they paid for, rethink pls. U are paying 36k for an empty car which has low safety feature, for the same price see what ppl from other counties can get…

• illumiricon on Oct 29, 2009 at 8:21 pm

mr_3m said,

October 29, 2009 @ 12:09 pm

if the system "so skewed", pls feel free to suggest a system that is so superior, the one u think will make us both rakyat n the county better in term of wealthiness…

oh…u are getting poorer…pls don use the word "us"…i'm definitely not in that group (i'm not rich, but i'm trying all my best to be one, not just whine and whine)…

• illumiricon on Oct 29, 2009 at 8:26 pm

Ken said,

October 29, 2009 @ 12:19 pm

To those who are driving a Proton and think they get what they paid for, rethink pls. U are paying 36k for an empty car which has low safety feature, for the same price see what ppl from other counties can get…

—————————————————–

i paid 38k (thru bank loan of course), and i get an airbag, a quite big spaces in front and in the back, the boot also…

and the same price?? u're converting currency directly…it's just not that simple..u can't just make the conclusion based on that alone…it's more than that…inflation rate, the power of the money there, consumers' power, the per-kapita, and much much more… it's much more than just currency…

• mr_3m on Oct 29, 2009 at 8:31 pm

Micheal said,

October 29, 2009 @ 11:53 am

toyowira,

how sure are you?

if they sell it cheaper pun,

will u buy it?

hah?

i dont think so..

Proton cars are cheap enough…

for families…

you can get a family car for 40k

can produa sells like that?

i dont think so…

proton helps the low income ppl so much…

it just sum1 rich like u doesnt sees it..

———————————————

aiyoooo, micheal, u work for P1? P2? or local industry? either way, good for you lah… cause u r still working, if not have to tanam anggur…. before you say proton helps the low income ppl so much, hv u actually research this exhaustively before passing this conclusion… how do you know if proton don't exist… a lot of the so called 'poor' people could be driving Daihatsus, Nissans, Toyota, VWs, Minis and the like, if the Govt choose to make Malaysia an automotive manufacturing hub instead, rather than create A PATRIOTIC BRAND?

You need to study the flaw in the set-ups of the P1 structure lah then you will understand why people hate P1 so much (Ooppss, u r part of the structure is it???)… it's things like the vendor structure that tarnishes P1. If you ask me the root cause of the problems IS NOT PROTON itself. It's the people running it and surrounding it, who try to eat as much share of the cake (and probably don't bother sharing anyway)… the victim is the customer lah, the poor people like me & you… in Malaysia, we mix business with politics too much, I'm not saying other countries don't do this also but it's just that we do it to a degree that is not even acceptable in most countries…

opppsss… did I hit some nerves around here? Sape makan cili, dialah terasa pedas….

by the way, how u say proton help low income people again… this very same people have to pay (now 10 to 15 years instalments) for their 'beloved' Proton you know, tie to debts some more with banks (who coincidently is part of the system – again Govt hv interest in this)… income so measly RM800-RM1000 already buy car. And you call this help??? Help my f00t!!!!!

It is not as though Proton 'sedekah' this car to the poor people on a plate, right? Proton also make billions of profit from their early years what…. it's only recently they realised that they are 'ripping' a couple of years too many from their customer base… hahahahha…

think la first before you write, orait… *peace* V

• Well, in the end you juz have to agree that its the taxes that made the difference. No matter how you calculate, the cost of making a car is still same because the source of raw material and such don't actually differ much with automaker company.

• Rx-ate said,

October 29, 2009 @ 11:58 am

I hope the other ASEAN countries will retaliate by imposing high taxes on Protons… let them taste some of their own medicine.

Siapa yang makan cili, dia lah yang rasa pedas.

——————————————————–

do they have national car manufacturer like proton…rebadge yes same like produa but their market potential so huge as

bolehland 28mln people (from CIA poverty line 5.1%) , indon wat almost 200mln(17.8%), thai almost 70mln (10%), philipne almost 100mln (30%), viet almost 100mln (14.8%)…their market so big but miskin. eg phili almost 70mln market potential so big we only 26mln although vey low poverty line..indon MPV market, thai 4×4 market, pili and viet not so sure..bolehland passnger car market…we are small market but biggest pasenger car market……im not economist k.this from my own understanding n observation n info..get fact first than argue better than thin air info..rite other search la info sendiri

• Ken said,

To those who are driving a Proton and think they get what they paid for, rethink pls. U are paying 36k for an empty car which has low safety feature, for the same price see what ppl from other counties can get…

—————————————————————

but i don need to think all other thing.. high income tax, high edu, high medical, high food price, high land price, no petrol subs, no food subsidy..internet sub, and so many high thing..

• illumiricon on Oct 29, 2009 at 8:56 pm

Ken said,

October 29, 2009 @ 12:40 pm

Well, in the end you juz have to agree that its the taxes that made the difference. No matter how you calculate, the cost of making a car is still same because the source of raw material and such don’t actually differ much with automaker company.

——————————————————–

agreed with you about the tax. i for one think that the tax is appropriate, considering us didn't have to pay other taxes compared to other countries…

i remembered watching a movie Pursuit of Happyness (Will Smith)…it's based on a true story about Chris Gardner; now he's a millionaire. there was this part where the govt just took the money from his bank account for tax he can't afford to pay (and that time he didn't even had a job)…

p/s: u all shud see how he struggles and thrives as one of a well-known broker…from a homeless father with a small child…

sure u get what I mean right? peace….

• illumiricon said,

October 29, 2009 @ 12:21 pm

mr_3m said,

if the system “so skewed”, pls feel free to suggest a system that is so superior, the one u think will make us both rakyat n the county better in term of wealthiness…

oh…u are getting poorer…pls don use the word “us”…i’m definitely not in that group (i’m not rich, but i’m trying all my best to be one, not just whine and whine)…

same with me..im not poor n i do not to be one (also not rich but want to be rich)

• mr_3m on Oct 29, 2009 at 9:07 pm

illumiricon said,

October 29, 2009 @ 12:21 pm

mr_3m said,

if the system “so skewed”, pls feel free to suggest a system that is so superior, the one u think will make us both rakyat n the county better in term of wealthiness…

oh…u are getting poorer…pls don use the word “us”…i’m definitely not in that group (i’m not rich, but i’m trying all my best to be one, not just whine and whine)…

—————————————————————

woowww…. i love to respond to people like you lah illumiricon…. oppss… r u one of them, who are *enjoying* at one end of the "skewed" system….

look… there's no space here in paultan.org to suggest my 'superior' or 'ideal' system… but here in Malaysia, the policy is simple, people like you may prefer to avoid or not listen to the complain or feedback from whining (that's what you labelled me) people like me… these very people always like to think it is all nice and HUNKY DORY with their way of doing or running things, and that these things do not need any more improvements… hahahha… what a joke? are you of those 1Malaysia supporters ker?

and who says i'm whining? And when I say poor or poorer, it is a relative word, poor relative to whom? You don't know who I benchmark it against… so don't try to make too many assumptions based on my short statement…

You say you are not rich, that is well & fine with me… against whom? Bill Gates? By the average of the every Malaysian, you could be rich already what!!!… anyway, it's your right to 'defend' any system you like… I'm just saying, things can be better if you run a business like a business… and Proton is definitely not one of them that is run like a proper business… more like a business that is run to feed some *well* connected people… and don't try to defend when THAT IS the reality out there…. and it is not just Proton by the way, so open your mind a bit lah…

everybody work hard to avoid being poor, and to make things clear to you when I say poorer by the day, it means, your current wealth doesn't grow faster than the escalating living costs (cars, house, food, utilities & other necessities, even taxes etc etc)… not everyone is in your fortunate position to earn at a faster rate than that… OK?

So at the very least, have some conscience & some sense of pity to this group of people… you, for sure, doesn't look like someone who would fight for their rights… judging by the fact that you don't or want to be categorise as 'poor'…

Fine by me if you want to include me in the poor group, but I do wonder why are you sooo offended by that term when it is only meant as a "relative" word… … it makes me wonder even more of the nature of our education system… and I won’t get into that here…

• deathstars on Oct 29, 2009 at 9:11 pm

damn..they want to reduce car on the road,and Puspakom aka government need some money to roll on as well for bank interest 12 years loan when you get a new car??.

• one more thing i don understand…..if car in other country cheap y they don buy damn cheap car eg..y i don see merc, bmw, evo, hummer and many other high price car in our country….in their road so many..do u see soooo many that car..neither from movie, news, youtube, iklan nor other sources….y they need budget car if car already cheap???? so confuse

• one more thing…if there are people need bajet car other country la kan if lorry rubbish collector can buy camry then who buy that bajet car pengemis ker or kanak2 or robber…i don know….pelik la kan

• mr_3m on Oct 29, 2009 at 9:31 pm

illumiricon said,

October 29, 2009 @ 12:26 pm

Ken said,

—————————————————–

i paid 38k (thru bank loan of course), and i get an airbag, a quite big spaces in front and in the back, the boot also…

and the same price?? u’re converting currency directly…it’s just not that simple..u can’t just make the conclusion based on that alone…it’s more than that…inflation rate, the power of the money there, consumers’ power, the per-kapita, and much much more… it’s much more than just currency…

—————————————————————

illumiricon,

hahahha… isn't that an irony?…. by saying that you need a bank loan to buy a car, and please tell me HOW LONG is your loan? 3 years? 5 years? 9 or 10 or 15 years? In some countries, you don't even need to go buy a new car, a fresh graduates can get by using Tube/Underground or public transport or buy a good quality 2nd hand car etc etc and don't even need to go for financing, most buy cash and avoid being in debt…

Those bullsh*t about economic measurements of per-capita & other factors etc etc etc… that is already distorted…. the huge income of several people (make this few *cronies* ehem ehem) divide with the population figure, sure is misleading.

And if Malaysia is serious about becoming a developed nation, look at things from all angles lah… not just what you get from a Proton Saga at so and so price… some here must be a product of a *failed* education system… no hard feelings…

and see how M'sia wasted huge funds to build mega-tower projects, mega-national car project but FORGOT or FAILED to educate it's people to accept differing views and encourage its people to think and NOT JUST FOLLOOOWWWWWW and accept what is on their plate blindly…. like some here… ;-)

• MACAM MACAM ADA……….

maybe we can ask toyota to rebadge n ckd it as p2 vios, p2 altis, p2 camry. and maybe, mana tahu…. p2 Mark X or P2 rav4 or P2 LAND CRUISER…

hahahaha

then P1 can do p1 lancer, p1 pajero, p1 delica,

same like Inokom/hyundai n Naza/KIA

suzuki p3, honda p4, and so on…….

MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!

• mr_3m on Oct 29, 2009 at 9:47 pm

dp said,

October 29, 2009 @ 1:32 pm

MACAM MACAM ADA……….

maybe we can ask toyota to rebadge n ckd it as p2 vios, p2 altis, p2 camry. and maybe, mana tahu…. p2 Mark X or P2 rav4 or P2 LAND CRUISER…

hahahaha

then P1 can do p1 lancer, p1 pajero, p1 delica,

same like Inokom/hyundai n Naza/KIA

suzuki p3, honda p4, and so on…….

MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!

——————————————

this is I like!!!

It all comes to what or where our real capabilities lie… R&D? manufacturing? or assembling? Each require different level of technologies & skills.

But bear in mind also that even Toyota or Honda type of company will fail if they are run or managed like Proton. Do you think Honda or VW can cope with the politics of our local vendors (or more like component vendors run by politicians)? Without protection, of course they will fail….

• illumiricon on Oct 29, 2009 at 9:52 pm

mr_3m said,

October 29, 2009 @ 1:31 pm

When I’m asking for you to suggest, I’m trying to get my eyes and mind open to see and understand what actually u are implying on from your words and bashes…

Instead you’re replying as if you wanted to force people (me in particular) to accept those slaggings and bashings..

I’m not in the intention of trying to say that I’m right, but instead trying to express what I understand from the issue. You may have a different one, or maybe a better one, and that’s what I’m trying to understand…you didn’t give any, so from there you get my assumptions…

Did I sound offended? Maybe…and so did you…

• illumiricon on Oct 29, 2009 at 9:54 pm

Ken said,

October 29, 2009 @ 12:40 pm

Well, in the end you juz have to agree that its the taxes that made the difference. No matter how you calculate, the cost of making a car is still same because the source of raw material and such don’t actually differ much with automaker company.

——————————————————–

agreed with you about the tax. i for one think that the tax is appropriate, considering us didn’t have to pay other taxes compared to other countries…

i remembered watching a movie Pursuit of Happyness (Will Smith)…it’s based on a true story about Chris Gardner; now he’s a millionaire. there was this part where the govt just took the money from his bank account for tax he can’t afford to pay (and that time he didn’t even had a job)…

p/s: u all shud see how he struggles and thrives as one of a well-known broker…from a homeless father with a small child…

• mr_3m on Oct 29, 2009 at 9:55 pm

Some of the vendors (not all, OK) they are the ones killing P1 reputations. Why do you think the power windows failed last time around? What next? Exploding cars because of flaw in the fuel tank design or fuel tank not supplied according to specification? Have you noticed how many crash victims suffered or died of burns recently in the news?

These are the things that make me sceptic or hates the current system. Some of you don't get me wrong, I would buy P1 or P2 if I know it is competing on a level playing field with other manufacturers. Currently it is not. Because of this 'no competition', it's getting complacent, only recently woke up a bit. But now may be falling asleep again… I don't know. Someone please wake them up if you find them asleep especially if the protection continues…

• genozide on Oct 29, 2009 at 9:56 pm

For me the only article right in the policy is the requirement for all car above 15 years to go for annual inspection before issuance of road tax.

Agree that there are areas of manipulation whereby we may end up paying thru our nose for inspection fees and so forth.

But we cannot dispute that there are many vehicles out there which are not safe…We find many cars with no lights, corrossion beyond recognition and etc etc…

Annual inspection puts to rest the uneasiness arising from this issue.

The public unfortunately only considers another public safety when there are rules to follow. E.g. will you wear seat belts if it is not mandatory?

When we can find newer cars with no malfunction indicators….what about the older ones?

The rest of the policy clauses…hmm…it is just drafted to benefit the relatively few while impacting the majority…A visit to the developed countries speaks more words about automotive policies and how the people enjoy driving their vehicles than what it is painted here….

• m3t4ph0R on Oct 29, 2009 at 10:01 pm

Just want to share some info..

My colleague is currently working on petrol subsidy system.

As we know, it will be implemented on 1st Jan 2010

He told that oil price at that time will be @RM2.40 (not sure 95 @ 97)

What am I trying to highlight is, for

1.3L & below – got 100% rebate

1.5,1.6 – maybe 80% rebate

2.0 above – got nothing..

if let say under your name got 3 cars diff. cc, JPJ will randomly select only one. maybe it will be the largest cc.

Perhaps, he told that we might get 100L rebate…not sure /mth or /year.

Still we need to wait for official statement by our G. cheers!

• the dumbest ppl buy cars.. geniuses buy properties..

• Stop buying Proton-P on Oct 29, 2009 at 10:12 pm

Just stop buying proton and perodua for at least 2 years

the money they earn from rakyat.. where it goes ?

• MADBOY on Oct 29, 2009 at 10:14 pm

m3t4ph0R said,

October 29, 2009 @ 2:01 pm

Just want to share some info..

My colleague is currently working on petrol subsidy system.

As we know, it will be implemented on 1st Jan 2010

He told that oil price at that time will be @RM2.40 (not sure 95 @ 97)

What am I trying to highlight is, for

1.3L & below – got 100% rebate

1.5,1.6 – maybe 80% rebate

2.0 above – got nothing..

if let say under your name got 3 cars diff. cc, JPJ will randomly select only one. maybe it will be the largest cc.

Perhaps, he told that we might get 100L rebate…not sure /mth or /year.

Still we need to wait for official statement by our G. cheers!

————-

so, if u don't own any car, but u fill petrol for other people car, u get what rebate arrr?

• illumiricon on Oct 29, 2009 at 10:15 pm

mr_3m said,

October 29, 2009 @ 1:55 pm

i'm quite embarassed to say that I agreed with you about the vendors…i drove one, and it does make some silly sounds coming from the door compartments…my fren even told me about the power windows issues (gladly mine still ok)…the main problem that need to be sorted out is exactly the vendors and the QC…

but still i'm satisfied with the car coz i'm putting my judgment based on wider issues and points…

i once drove a Hilux…98k and i get a pickup with no-power, and a very very hard plastics (i love the steering wheel though)…:)

• saki77 on Oct 29, 2009 at 10:16 pm

"And if Malaysia is serious about becoming a developed nation, look at things from all angles lah… not just what you get from a Proton Saga at so and so price… some here must be a product of a *failed* education system… no hard feelings…"

mr_3m ni mangsa fail education system ke?…

meraban x habis…

writing pon xde la macam org bijak sangat…

But he sounds like he thought that he is clever than other people..

Maybe die ni overseas educated kot…. tu pasal la..

Memang la Malaysia punya education system tak perfect…

Tapi x payah la sampai nak menjatuh kan orang lain kalau rasa diri tu dah bijak…

I think all those smart and high education people don't even bother to write in this blog…what more to debate this matter…

lu pikir la sendri….

• IndonSiaL on Oct 29, 2009 at 10:21 pm

you want cheaper Vios, Honda, Toyota come here lol.. so we can pancung your head.

• saki77 on Oct 29, 2009 at 10:24 pm

"Just stop buying proton and perodua for at least 2 years"

I think if we stop buying these cars, they will suffer loss…then what will the G do? Abolish all tax on foreign cars?…I dont think so….

Maybe they will use all the power in their hand to force the Rakyat to buy P1 and P2…by force tu maksudnya bukan la paksaan, tp macam2 la nnt G buat supaya kita mampu beli P1 dan P2 je… nak ke camtu?… kalau nak, boikot je la..

Then, fresh2 grad yang baru abih blajar tu nnt terhingin nk beli keta, kalau mampu beli la keta import..kalau x mampu…pakai gak P2…boleh jalan ke boikot tu?

Pehal aku ni negatif sangat ni?….cis hampeh tul…

• Stop buying Proton-P on Oct 29, 2009 at 10:28 pm

haha ! nice

• joshua boey on Oct 29, 2009 at 10:31 pm

NAP = Nothing Actually Policy

• fooled on Oct 29, 2009 at 10:34 pm

i owned a 1986 car. it's maintained well and in perfectly good running condition.

what saddens me is the unavailability of used car parts after June 2011. this force us to buy new car when we no longer have used parts to maintain the car.

does the government want us to take a 9-year car loan to buy a P1 or P2? and drain our monthly income? this will create a wider gap between the poor and the rich. think about it. poorer people, then what? crime rates increase. then what? riots like we have seen in some countries because of the disparity of wealth?

secondly, to say that all cars over 15 years old need to go for yearly inspection. it's true some people said that this will put to rest those cars that are not roadworthy. now, should we not ask why in the first place there are people driving such cars? it's because they can't afford the expensive new car in the first place. and why are new cars expensive? because of the protectionism policy for the local made cars. even local cars are expensive consider expensive to these people who drives car older than 15 years.

why do i drive a 23 year old car? because i saved up slowly and bought it cash without any loan! that frees me from debt.

previously i was driving a new Proton on a 9-year loan. tell me about the suffering of paying the loan monthly for 9 long years. i hardly have any money left to enjoy other things. on the 10th year, the car condition has become bad that i found more joy driving a 23-year-old continental car.

all these new NAP are just not thinking about us Malaysians and are just robbing us off our wealth to enrich certain parties.

Rakyat Didahulukan?

• MBX Boy on Oct 29, 2009 at 10:48 pm

??? said,

October 29, 2009 @ 12:41 pm

do they have national car manufacturer like proton…rebadge yes same like produa but their market potential so huge as

bolehland 28mln people (from CIA poverty line 5.1%) , indon wat almost 200mln(17.8%), thai almost 70mln (10%), philipne almost 100mln (30%), viet almost 100mln (14.8%)…their market so big but miskin. eg phili almost 70mln market potential so big we only 26mln although vey low poverty line..indon MPV market, thai 4×4 market, pili and viet not so sure..bolehland passnger car market…we are small market but biggest pasenger car market……im not economist k.this from my own understanding n observation n info..get fact first than argue better than thin air info..rite other search la info sendiri

————————————————————-

Wow…. very good info! Allow me to spice up your info by adding more.

Malaysia poverty is at 5.1%.

United Kingdom poverty is at 14%.

United States of America poverty is at 12%.

Wow, Malaysia memang very good. Very good governence. Cause our poverty line is set at a much much fairer rate. Look at this:

Malaysia poverty line set at RM500 per month for family of 4.

UK poverty line set at about £1072 for family of 4 (£268 per week).

USA poverty line set at about US$1666 for family of 4 (US$20,000 per year).

Wait, of course our purchasing power and prices of products differ. And for sure, its not right to convert currencies to compare! I'll use local currencies. So here goes, allow me to demonstrate:

Malaysia-Proton Persona 1.6 wit no airbags: about RM45,000 OTR

UK-Proton Persona 1.6 wit 2 airbags: £10,995 OTR

USA-Honda Civic 1.8 (no Proton ma here): about US$20,000 OTR

With this, u are most definitely right. And allow me to add, the whole system is really helping the poor people in Malaysia, and we are actually doing much better here. We are even better than UK and USA! Wow. If a person sitting on the poverty line in Malaysia saves up for a year, with the income, he can even buy a Persona by cash! Our buying power is strong. We can buy more things with our ringgit when we earn in Malaysia compared to those countries. Don't you guys listen to the ministers when they penat lelah explain things to you? Nobody listens anymore. All the other people are confused and talking rubbish.

• squawk on Oct 29, 2009 at 11:08 pm

m3t4ph0r, tell your colleague there're also 1.9cc cars around still. :-)

If every point of this NAP takes effect, I wanna see who the pakciks & makciks in the sawah & kebun who can't afford a suitable new car even if they take a 15 year loan will vote for the next time around.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 29, 2009 at 11:27 pm

oh…i see a neatly typed out bunch of nonsense

• mr_3m on Oct 30, 2009 at 12:08 am

saki77 said,

October 29, 2009 @ 2:16 pm

“And if Malaysia is serious about becoming a developed nation, look at things from all angles lah… not just what you get from a Proton Saga at so and so price… some here must be a product of a *failed* education system… no hard feelings…”

mr_3m ni mangsa fail education system ke?…

meraban x habis…

writing pon xde la macam org bijak sangat…

But he sounds like he thought that he is clever than other people..

Maybe die ni overseas educated kot…. tu pasal la..

Memang la Malaysia punya education system tak perfect…

Tapi x payah la sampai nak menjatuh kan orang lain kalau rasa diri tu dah bijak…

I think all those smart and high education people don’t even bother to write in this blog…what more to debate this matter…

lu pikir la sendri….

————————————————————-

good to see that someone actually wants to read what I write even sometimes you should know it is ONLY MY PERSONAL VIEW… because at least I know, I am human also… I say *failed* because people like you saki77 don't see the problem when some of those people who have to tanam anggur or got 'left out'…. I have to employ so many of them and believe me, no initiative whatsoever… all need to be spoon-fed… you'll will know sooner or later what I mean…

if what I write is proof of the *failed* system, so be it. At least, you hv just agree on one point with me, that the system FAILED or just churn out incompetent graduates who is not employable elsewhere in the world except only by Msia Govt through its half-cooked scheme… by the way, where do our universities sit in the world rankings? even Singapore & China can do better… such a shame…

I admit that I may have 'meraban' more than I should but anyway, glad that it's out of my mind, just writing down my personal views, you for one DO NOT HAVE TO AGREE WITH ME… unfortunately, paultan.org blog became my space to write…. also saki77, I agree with you that all those smart and high education people don’t even bother to write in this blog…what more to debate this matter…. I write in paultan.org just because I am more interested in cars. full stop. if i write about other things, its just because I got carried away. (sorry, paul)…

• Panasonic DSLR on Oct 30, 2009 at 12:17 am

LOL, I just spent 20 mins to go through the comments and found that this is such a waste of bandwith.

The way I look at the comments, there are 3 groups of people here :

A) those whom are severely disappointed with the New Policy eg Paul and the majority of the readers;

B) those whom are here to justify the government’s action eg Anak Dato and the rest of UMNO cybertroopers;

C) those whom are posted overseas and could make better judgements between different countries policies.

From the points put forth by these commentators, there then exists 2 main opinions :

1) A and C argues the case for free market autonomy; and

2) B argues for protectionist measures.

It is just me (and it doesn’t even take my PhD to help me evaluate the matter) or are you guys so silly as to be blinded by the fact that no matter how patient you argue forth your case with examples and pricing tariffs, people in this B group would not be convinced. They are clearly within the limits of the protectionism measures (perhaps they are working in local manufacturers factories, or are mechanics whom need a steady supply of ill-made and ill-put-together cars so that their bengkels would continue having businesses, or are locals whom think that their Rusas are the best MPVs in the world just because they can’t afford an Estima/Elgrand like the rest of them whom have made it- with hard efforts, if I may add) and the removal of these measures would suddenly jeopardise their status, although they don’t have much to start with.

Well, this is the typical frog-in-well attitude. If they would just spend time improving themselves (for starters, start reading real English and learn to write proper sentences with minimal typos and grammatical errors), they would suddenly find that the world is much bigger an entity than what they have thought thus far, and BN’s way is not the only way to govern a country.

We have been slipping off the development status with every passing year and so many countries in ASEAN- some whom were more backward than us, have catched up with us and surpassed us even eg Thailand and Indonesia (well, to an extent), as car manufacturers flock to them with investments and job opportunities, just because they come out with policies that make sense (unlike ours that change at every drop of the coin). And we are talking about countries with ex-premiers like Thaksin, whom was not that smart to begin with.

We have alleged criminals running the country to the ground. If only these people could focus on their womanising and anal penetrations instead of making stupid policies that affect the rest of us, Malaysia would have been a better country.

Even a liberal Malay like me feel ashamed to have my country associated with stupid policies too often too much in the international dailies. Go on, UMNO troopers, I bet you guys would now write flaming statements and ask me to go to China, Korea or UAE because I don’t subscribe to your way of thinking (but that’s my right in a democratic country, beb :) . Go on, track my IP address- I use a proxy software so you won’t find me based in Malaysia, silly backward retards.

Sheesh, what a sad bunch of crybabies we have here!

Sipping my latte in Starbucks now… catch me if you can :)

PS : Paul, I hope you’d be able to liberate these retards with your articles and readers’ comments over time. A tall order- yes, but we can dream, can’t we?

• anak dato' kk on Oct 30, 2009 at 12:38 am

Malaysia is 3rd world country ma, so this what we'll get.Don't gaduh2 la, car is still a car….

• illumiricon said,

October 29, 2009 @ 1:54 pm

——————————————————–

agreed with you about the tax. i for one think that the tax is appropriate, considering us didn’t have to pay other taxes compared to other countries…

i remembered watching a movie Pursuit of Happyness (Will Smith)…it’s based on a true story about Chris Gardner; now he’s a millionaire. there was this part where the govt just took the money from his bank account for tax he can’t afford to pay (and that time he didn’t even had a job)…

– Watched that, Its true that we don't have to pay other tax but we do not get unemployment benefit as well. Children there get to go college and Uni at very low cost compare to here where the quota for non Bumi is so low. Even with good result some cant study what they wan. The thing is we pay much tax such as when purchasing car but in return we get back much less compare with others. Btw if I'm not mistaken, Malaysia is the longest ever country to be in developing stage. Reason?

• mr_3m on Oct 30, 2009 at 1:07 am

BTW, I apologise to illumiricon, in anyway whatsoever, i have no intention to "menjatuhkan" or ridicule your view or any individual for that matter. You can agree with me on the vendor issue and vice versa. I believe about sharing views in this blog and when I am out of line, I apologise.

as for saki77, come on la… i probably can spend all day to try point out and counter your views, but then again no need to waste your time or my time.

"Lagi pun saya juga adalah produk daripada sistem pendidikan yang kurang berjaya". And don't assume I'm overseas educated. For all you know, I could be a secondary school drop-out who may have been exposed to various work experiences, see the word here… E.X.P.O.S.U.R.E…. learn the good things from other cultures, be it western or eastern… local or overseas etc etc

Cheers

• Leonhart on Oct 30, 2009 at 1:25 am

No worries guys, i suspect the gov will allow second hand parts to be in even after 2011, then everyone "happy" lor..hahaha..so our tolerance level will be high enough to accept 2015 la..get it?

• nighttrain on Oct 30, 2009 at 1:47 am

Hoi staff Proton.. sudah la tu. Cuba bagi satu brand luar yang jual kat Malaysia yang ko boleh beat dari semua segi. Keta mainland China tak aci ar. Mana ada orang beli pun. Korang sendiri pun beli 5 series second hand sebab takut accident bawak Proton. Letih ar bawak kereta cikai. Boleh upgrade lagi tak teknologi dan safety dan comfort dia. Dah 20 tahun meniaga wei.. tak reti lagi ke nak setaraf dengan orang lain. Kalau setakat setaraf keta buatan China, toksah nak berlagak la HOI!

Bosan ar.. Dah la keta yang elok sikit bos ko pau cukup-cukup harga dia. Amik sikit semangat 'precision german engineering' tu. 20 tahun dah ni korang meniaga.. penat ar keje bagai nak gila. Keta yang sepatutnya mampu aku nak kene bayar tiga kali ganda harga dia dari member aku yang keje kat Riyadh tu. Puas dia gelakkan aku kau tau tak! Toyota Camry tu, Bangla jual karpet aje yang bawak kat sana kau tau tak?

• The summary of this latest NAP is :

a) rich people will get to buy more luxury cars at cheaper price

b) poor people will be robbed of their personal transport, or will have to switch to motorcycles. 2nd hand parts will dry up, and good luck for them that use uncommon model cars to get a new part for their beloved cars.

Now even the freedom to choose our own cars and what to do with them is taken from us. What is Malaysia turning into?

• steelruler on Oct 30, 2009 at 2:12 am

Ape bezanye…

Kete baru ROSAK…… Kete lama ROSAK….

Kete baru ISI MINYAK…… Kete lama ISI MINYAK….

Kete baru LAJU…. Kete lama LAJU….

Kete baru BREK TAK MAKAN….. Kete lama BREK TAK MAKAN…

Kete baru BERKILAT….. Kete lama BERKILAT….

Kete baru excident….. Kete lama excident….

Kete baru KENE TARIK….. Kete lame TAKKKK…

• ricaza (Member) on Oct 30, 2009 at 2:14 am

que said,

October 29, 2009 @ 2:11 pm

the dumbest ppl buy cars.. geniuses buy properties..

————————–

and the geniuses also dumbs..because they also will buy car!!! unless they have jet or heli or A380..

what a dumbos…

• PakLang on Oct 30, 2009 at 2:29 am

nighttrain said,

October 29, 2009 @ 5:47 pm

Hoi staff Proton.. sudah la tu. Cuba bagi satu brand luar yang jual kat Malaysia yang ko boleh beat dari semua segi. Keta mainland China tak aci ar. Mana ada orang beli pun. Korang sendiri pun beli 5 series second hand sebab takut accident bawak Proton. Letih ar bawak kereta cikai. Boleh upgrade lagi tak teknologi dan safety dan comfort dia. Dah 20 tahun meniaga wei.. tak reti lagi ke nak setaraf dengan orang lain. Kalau setakat setaraf keta buatan China, toksah nak berlagak la HOI!

Bosan ar.. Dah la keta yang elok sikit bos ko pau cukup-cukup harga dia. Amik sikit semangat ‘precision german engineering’ tu. 20 tahun dah ni korang meniaga.. penat ar keje bagai nak gila. Keta yang sepatutnya mampu aku nak kene bayar tiga kali ganda harga dia dari member aku yang keje kat Riyadh tu. Puas dia gelakkan aku kau tau tak! Toyota Camry tu, Bangla jual karpet aje yang bawak kat sana kau tau tak?

———-

who is staf proton???

most of people here government and private staff that CURI TULANG malas buat kerja… haha..

I want to go Dubai..want to get RM90k honda..haha

and also u just migrate to Riyadh loor..

Produa and Naza also 'protected' by G mah.. if not protected by 'national status' sure die.. you got downgrade Passo with extra tax ..haha

• Pls stay at the topic..

Don't blame on proton or perodua..

Both seem ok to me…(1991 saga and 2005 myvi)

Only now my saga need to go puspakom check..

How much it will cost us..

1st 10k for the insurance need to pay up around Rm 5++

Now puspakom check..

Paul maybe can get some info for this…

• old timers on Oct 30, 2009 at 2:51 am

cakap berkobar-kobar, last2 undi barisan najis jugak…u got what u deserved…

but dont worry, mamaktahik got some more inside his nostril to give to u all… just wait & everybody will jump to their feet later…haha, mamaktahik, u're right, me-Layu mudah lupa…

• Pyan said,

October 29, 2009 @ 6:40 pm

Pls stay at the topic..

Don’t blame on proton or perodua..

Both seem ok to me…(1991 saga and 2005 myvi)

Only now my saga need to go puspakom check..

How much it will cost us..

1st 10k for the insurance need to pay up around Rm 5++

Now puspakom check..

Paul maybe can get some info for this…

——————————–

Why do you wan to sit a Proton or Perodua if you can enjoy Toyota and Honda at the same price?

Tell me in what way Proton and Perodua beat Honda and Toyota if we were to compare within the same segment of cars.

• Yes, poor people cannot challenge my car har har har.

• You guys just read paultan blog all the times, how come you want to get rich har har har, go to work.

• saki77 on Oct 30, 2009 at 3:57 am

emo gile mamat mr_3m ni…

eh, dont want to waste my time..

ciao..

• Sayasekolahatapjerr on Oct 30, 2009 at 4:11 am

those who are very "pro p1 & p2" do you know the big boss themselves don't believe in their own product????? Besides the company provided protons, DSZ owns a volvo s40 & estima for family use. Same with our ministers & politicians who prefer to send their children to study high school over the seas. Tak caya?? tanya khir toyo, anak dia sekolah mana kat Melbourne :-) Sekolah menengah kebangsaan tak ada kelas kerr??

• rofel on Oct 30, 2009 at 4:53 am

i bet paxter will still be in this country next year

• Rich Blood on Oct 30, 2009 at 4:58 am

S17 said,

October 29, 2009 @ 7:29 pm

You guys just read paultan blog all the times, how come you want to get rich har har har, go to work

—-

ya lor, agree with u..bodoh land with bodoh malaysial guy.. just want to condem everyday, but do nothing to get money to buy a car..

Dont agree with da policy,just dont buy lor.. you keep posting your feeling for what? these guy want easy money, luxury car..but dont work very hard to get them, just keep bashing here and there.. but what did you get??

LUCKILY we live in Malaysial..everyday got accident..so, it can be spareparts lor.. no need to worry…

• nighttrain on Oct 30, 2009 at 5:01 am

aku pakai myvi aku tahu la ia downgrade dari Passo.. tapi aku pakai sebab aku boikot proton..

• ommph on Oct 30, 2009 at 5:18 am

mr_3m

i beg you please dont bother to enlighten people like, im just gonna point him out, saki77. he's got a set of skewed perspectives. Your valid arguments could not make him understand the issues.

• Mywick on Oct 30, 2009 at 5:36 am

Let's enjoy your national car for another xxx years to come…or work harder, be rich to get the car you want…trust me, DO NOT wait and hope, there will be no cheap import car for forseeable future…not even you dream about it.

• Mazda 3 MPS on Oct 30, 2009 at 5:42 am

easier way, move to another country, like SINGAPORE

• mohamad on Oct 30, 2009 at 6:20 am

After all this year, i refuse to belief that proton doesn't have what it takes to produce a good reliable car. They just doesn't want to. Perhaps because the cost is high but if they think carefully, in the long run it will turn to benefit. But NO! They only think of benefit in the short term. How do you expect proton to be known by the whole world with this kind of ideology.

All they have to do is lower the tax and produce a better car. It will cost a lot of money at first but in the same time we will have a bigger market. And there will come a time where Malaysian people will argue whether to buy proton or import car. But with the way it is now, i don't think we will see it come.

It is either the G know the fact that there's plenty of way to protect proton but they choose to use the easiest way or they don't know which means that our country is govern by a bunch of idiot.

• Littlefire on Oct 30, 2009 at 7:07 am

Does anyone knew that something wrong is going in our country?!?

By next year, fuel subsidy will going to be off…

Besides that, we all knew that a fair competition will give more improvement. But until now, i haven seen Proton have a fair competition. The most is the blood sucking P2, which i think they will also always blood sucking due to non k-car competitor.

Just look at Korea, even though they have unfair protection last time. But how many car manufacturer in their country?!? Hyundai, Kia, Daewood & Ssanyong. They are at least 4 big manufacturer in the past, before Hyundai bought over Kia. See they is competition between them and they improve fast!

Look at us. Always in comfort spot for Proton, and the largest sale for Proton is only Malaysia market. How to survive internationally?!? That why they always took a lot of time R&D, like Turbo engine almost took 2 years. While CPS last time mention will be out by 2006 but delay until 2008. When ask about it, always say R&D, need more testing… Why? Easy, very comfort due to non-direct competition. If i am a competitor, sure i will force myself to built more better technology car compare to Proton. If Proton sales effected, they have to force themself to R&D faster, do things better. Just like last time Perodua snatch their sales a lot until have to built BLM SAGA & Exora!

Now seeing that the G will protect them even more, do you think they will improve fast? Well, who want to bet that AP will never abolish once Proton & BN still survive in this country?!?

• saki77 on Oct 30, 2009 at 8:06 am

what r u talking about ommph?

i only point out when he downgrade others…

and this is an automobile blog….

not to discuss how failed our education is…

did u read my post?…

or u just read when he replied…

see?..waste my time again..

well..got lot of time to waste neway..

• Panasonic DSLR said,

October 29, 2009 @ 4:17 pm

LOL, I just spent 20 mins to go through the comments and found that this is such a waste of bandwith.

The way I look at the comments, there are 3 groups of people here :

A) those whom are severely disappointed with the New Policy eg Paul and the majority of the readers;

B) those whom are here to justify the government’s action eg Anak Dato and the rest of UMNO cybertroopers;

C) those whom are posted overseas and could make better judgements between different countries policies.

From the points put forth by these commentators, there then exists 2 main opinions :

1) A and C argues the case for free market autonomy; and

2) B argues for protectionist measures.

It is just me (and it doesn’t even take my PhD to help me evaluate the matter) or are you guys so silly as to be blinded by the fact that no matter how patient you argue forth your case with examples and pricing tariffs, people in this B group would not be convinced. They are clearly within the limits of the protectionism measures (perhaps they are working in local manufacturers factories, or are mechanics whom need a steady supply of ill-made and ill-put-together cars so that their bengkels would continue having businesses, or are locals whom think that their Rusas are the best MPVs in the world just because they can’t afford an Estima/Elgrand like the rest of them whom have made it- with hard efforts, if I may add) and the removal of these measures would suddenly jeopardise their status, although they don’t have much to start with.

Well, this is the typical frog-in-well attitude. If they would just spend time improving themselves (for starters, start reading real English and learn to write proper sentences with minimal typos and grammatical errors), they would suddenly find that the world is much bigger an entity than what they have thought thus far, and BN’s way is not the only way to govern a country.

We have been slipping off the development status with every passing year and so many countries in ASEAN- some whom were more backward than us, have catched up with us and surpassed us even eg Thailand and Indonesia (well, to an extent), as car manufacturers flock to them with investments and job opportunities, just because they come out with policies that make sense (unlike ours that change at every drop of the coin). And we are talking about countries with ex-premiers like Thaksin, whom was not that smart to begin with.

We have alleged criminals running the country to the ground. If only these people could focus on their womanising and anal penetrations instead of making stupid policies that affect the rest of us, Malaysia would have been a better country.

Even a liberal Malay like me feel ashamed to have my country associated with stupid policies too often too much in the international dailies. Go on, UMNO troopers, I bet you guys would now write flaming statements and ask me to go to China, Korea or UAE because I don’t subscribe to your way of thinking (but that’s my right in a democratic country, beb :) . Go on, track my IP address- I use a proxy software so you won’t find me based in Malaysia, silly backward retards.

Sheesh, what a sad bunch of crybabies we have here!

Sipping my latte in Starbucks now… catch me if you can :)

PS : Paul, I hope you’d be able to liberate these retards with your articles and readers’ comments over time. A tall order- yes, but we can dream, can’t we?

—————————————————————

who u to say anak dato or anything….im from poor family even jabatan masykat n gov tolong..i study and work hard n never complain/ whining..now i can stand my own even ask my mother to stop receive donation coz other needed more…….

i also liberal but muslim liberal…u look more how atheist think but i not say u atheist only way u think…..i ashame with u more.. ungrateful person..

frog-in-well more suitable to u…who does not wan free market autonomy…car policy doesnt mean its economy as a whole it only a piece of pie…all thing has cause n effect…i think u know this u look so educated

PS hope paul can article about auto policy n how they work of bolehland n other country eg japan, korea, US as much as posible

• DayDreamer (Member) on Oct 30, 2009 at 10:49 am

From the book : Rich Dad Secrets

Author : Robert Kiyosaki

The rich follow a different set of rules for making and keeping money. In fact, the rich live in a world most of us know nothing about. They pay less in taxes and set their lives up in such a way that money constantly comes into their pockets. At the same time, they use expenses to their advantage. In other words, it’s the rules of the rich that make them rich.

Guess the Gov / Miti is a big fans of Robert.

• mafia on Oct 30, 2009 at 3:41 pm

anak dato' KK yg bodoh…AND all proton owners…

Yg org marah ialah bila kereta lain jd lg mahal sb nak jaga proton …cuba ko pegi ng arab…proton pesona convert rm=30k jer…kat msia…almost 50k kan

kat thailand keta hoda jazz rm50k+ jer…kat msia 90k+…ko mmg katak bawah tempurung la..

..for proton saga owners…you deserve a better car like honda city at the same price you paid to poton in Thailand or indonesia…or in the right words outside of malaysia….but forget singapore..but bear in mind theis superbikes are damn cheaps compare to 1 Stupid Msia

• mafia on Oct 30, 2009 at 3:46 pm

Make ur own choice and vote for better msia in next 13thGE…

or else we remains at this damned comfortably living place in msia

• old timers on Oct 30, 2009 at 4:47 pm

Littlefire said,

"Does anyone knew that something wrong is going in our country?!…"

————————————————–

->Easy, gov does not have much money anymore, and cronies are crying for more…that's why…furthermore everybody takut to mess with protong since it's mamaktahik's brainchild and anak mamaktahik in charge of miti now… so u know the rest lah….

furthermore, it's money collection for coming GE…..

• stop this one malaysia man NOW…..

coz we becoming 2 malaysia…the poorest and the richest

• by creating the gab more obvious with their widely used tools…REBATE and SUBSIDIES

• the policy is about continuing protection for THE unsustainable local auto industry and the elites that has the access to the APs.

27 million rakyat supporting a handful of parasites.. and the "government" is taking no action!

do you see what is wrong here?

• illumiricon on Oct 30, 2009 at 7:12 pm

illumiricon said,

October 29, 2009 @ 1:54 pm

——————————————————–

– Watched that, Its true that we don’t have to pay other tax but we do not get unemployment benefit as well. Children there get to go college and Uni at very low cost compare to here where the quota for non Bumi is so low. Even with good result some cant study what they wan. The thing is we pay much tax such as when purchasing car but in return we get back much less compare with others. Btw if I’m not mistaken, Malaysia is the longest ever country to be in developing stage. Reason?

u have a point there Ken. all policies, theirs and ours, do have their own pros and cons. to get everything, maybe it's a long way to go. about the quota, i somehow agreed with u. I'm a malay myself, and I'm one of the Pemuda UMNO's ajk (cawangan onli), but I'm thinking that protecting Bumis had reached its time. to write it off (protection on Bumis) completely, sure we the Bumis are not ready yet, but to decrease its scales, i think it is time. others, pls dont bash me for the statements above, it's just my opinion.

mr_3em, it's ok. i'm sorry too.

• anonymous on Oct 30, 2009 at 7:46 pm

the richer get richer and the poorer gets.. fucked.

• wochomi on Oct 30, 2009 at 8:07 pm

They make a 2012 policy this year. Next year change again lah…. apa susah…. semua boleh in boleh land…. roti telur tambah telur? boleh…. jalan…

Look at VW group for example…. I'm sure P1 has much more financial backing than Vw. There's a phrase used in Indonesian universities…mahasiswa abadi… yup… negara membangun abadi… sampai bila nak bangun dan berjalan tanpa tongkat? Case of hisap candu….

• squawk on Oct 30, 2009 at 8:46 pm

Currently, one "national" car assembler is offering 12 year financing to move their stock. Can you imagine if this policy came into effect and prices of cars are maintained/increased, how it would affect the buyers?

You finish paying the car in 12 years and in 3 years' time, you're subject to yearly inspections. Who'd wanna trouble themselves to buy your car knowing that?

I also can't help but compare us to South Korea. In the 70s, our GDP and per capita income were on par. Like us, SK also has protectionist policies and crony conglomerates (many of which failed badly during the 97 crisis). But unlike us, they don't have oil. Yet see where they are now and where we are.

Even with all that oil, tin, rubber, palm oil, timber money we can't even move ourselves closer to SK's standards? By right we should've overtaken them in all industries. What happened to all that money?

• osh_kosh on Oct 30, 2009 at 10:40 pm

"Rakyat Didahulukan.. Pencapaian Diutamakan…" how true… *sigh*

• Damond on Oct 30, 2009 at 11:03 pm

Register as a voter asap. No matter General Election or small election, Remember to give this Gomen a BIG SLAP.

• epalhead (Member) on Oct 30, 2009 at 11:07 pm

My income tax is >RM30k per annum.

I've to to pay excise tax to buy cars (incl sales tax). needless to say, roadtax + insurance

I've to pay the bloody toll.

Now The BN G wanted to review fuel subsidy…to ensure that only the right people benefitted.

Shit…..Now I am not entitled for the fuel subsidy!!!! F@#* the G. Part of my money was used to subsidised the bloody fuel by I'm not entitled to get the subsidy!! Screw the Government!

As a citizen who pay a hefty sum on tax, what do I get back as a tax payer!!????? You blood sucker!

• Iskandar on Oct 31, 2009 at 3:03 am

Kapal terbang government yg lebih 40 tahun bole bagi terbang.

Kereta Civic EG aku yg baru 16 tahun dalam 2-3 tahun lagi dah tak boleh jalan.

Cinabeng!

• saki77 on Oct 31, 2009 at 4:42 am

if ur income tax is 30k per annum…do u really need subsidy?..really?…

• Vincent Ang on Oct 31, 2009 at 5:46 am

To all the poor Malays who think UMNO is there to protect and provide for them,

Kangkang Adik Kangkang Najis Masuk Lubang. Sung to a popular song.

One big win in Bagan Pinang and Najis f;;' the Malays royally.

Yah! SATU MALAYSIA KANGKANG UNTUK UMNO.

• Pakcik Tak Kayo on Oct 31, 2009 at 7:22 am

Pakcik pakai kereta lama.Anak pakcik pun ramai.Pakcik tak mampu nak beli kereta baru.Macam mana Pakcik nak buat ni.Anak-anak pakcik bnyk masih sekolah lagi.Tolonglah kerajaan…tolonglah ringan kan beban Pakcik ni..

• azrink on Oct 31, 2009 at 9:19 am

we are all doom to be slaves to the Banks after this. slaves for the rest of our lifes

• bangsattumpo on Oct 31, 2009 at 10:41 am

drop 1malaysia, change to 1pocket. 1malaysia meaningless

• mafia on Oct 31, 2009 at 4:19 pm

In United States mazda 3 is just about 16kUSD convert to rm just about <50k,

In Malaysia it's price about rm110k…where goes to rm60k if not to govt's pocket…Pls la malaysian do think about it…

DONT support BN blindly just bcause our parents supported them…We are know in the ICT era la bro…lets send this bloody BN to hell and we hope and push the new govt to remove this bastrad tax and makes better on our living standard.

Go to hell with proton…Saga shud be sold around 15k++ only…that's will help the lower income family for better living…

• Poor people who only wants to drive his affordable car — will not mad at G.

Poor people who wants to drive Ferrari — will mad at G.

• Jumbsuck on Oct 31, 2009 at 4:47 pm

Car buyers therefore have the right to demand from Proton in order to stop Proton getting away with easy life anymore:

1. Proton must provide 15-years warranty with free service and repairs, no question asked.

2. Dual airbags, ABS, immobiliser alarm with GPS tracking, V-Kool security tinted glass made mandatory standard Proton car accessory.

3. Free car replacement after 1 month trial period, no question asked.

4. Proton car loans interest factored only on selling price minus duty taxes (actual ex factory price). Do not double cheat.

Bolehkah Proton? Pasti Boleh Proton!

• donno on Nov 01, 2009 at 1:58 am

So what does this NAP benefit the middle and low income people or the common rakyat here? Their old cars might be scrapped. And does this mean if poor rakyat wanna buy used cars they cant get loans as banks fear after the car is aged 15yrs and above it can get scrapped? So they cant afford to buy a cheap 2nd hand end of 90's MPV for their big family… And they cant also repair their cheap car as a brand new gearbox is more expensive the the car's value. Pity the poor rakyat.

The only people who will benefit is the high income people who now can get luxury cars priced more than 200K, cheaper at around 150K as they can be built locally. So 1Malaysia, Rakyat (rich) didahulukan??

• squawk on Nov 01, 2009 at 10:31 pm

mafia said,

October 31, 2009 @ 8:19 am

In United States mazda 3 is just about 16kUSD convert to rm just about <50k, In Malaysia it's price about rm110k…where goes to rm60k if not to govt's pocket…Pls la malaysian do think about it…

———————————

Not all goes to G. Just try to find out how much bonus those T & H brand staff get then you will know.

• Elvis on Nov 02, 2009 at 2:28 am

Pay 30K annually for tax and complain here? I dont get you on this, you should be smart enough to create cashflow while reducing tax….and at the same time letting your interest pay for your cars….you should get a good accountant, Epalhead.

• very dissapointed!

• saki77 on Nov 03, 2009 at 7:09 am

Agree with Elvis

• Hai…

Jangan le bergaduh pasal kereta berjenama @ proton..ikut le kemampuan nak beli kereta apa….Kadang-kadang ikut rezeki le..beli kereta macamana,mahal @ murah…sama jer..belum kena n merasa.Ada juga kereta mahal n berjenama…kena banyak komplain juga….bila komplain susah complicated ….tolak sana tolak sini..kena ambil cuti le…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Nov 04, 2009 at 11:49 pm

proton goblok