2010 FIA GT1 spec Nissan GT-R finds customers

This is the GT1 Spec Nissan GT-R that will run in the 2010 FIA GT World Championship. The GT-R will race in the top tier GT1 class along the likes of the Maserati MC 12, Corvette Z06, Ford GT and Saleen SR7 (GT2 class features lower powered cars like the Ferrari F430, Porsche 911 GT3 RS and Aston V8 Vantage). Nismo campaigned a GT-R last year, but Nissan’s motorsports outfit has found two customer teams for 2010 – Sumo Power GT (UK) and Swiss Racing Team. The season starts in April at Abu Dhabi’s Yas Marina Circuit.

The 2010 spec GT1 GT-R is powered by a 5,552cc V8 engine with 600 bhp (the regulation limit) and “over 650Nm” of torque. Power goes to the rear wheels via a six-speed transaxle gearbox. The race car only weighs 1250 kg, so you can imagine the performance of offer even though Nissan doesn’t give any figures. Brakes have six-piston calipers with carbon discs and pads all round.

Go ahead and download a new wallpaper from the hi-res gallery after the jump!

[zenphotopress number=999 album=772]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Bruce Ban on Jan 16, 2010 at 7:56 pm

Why is the rear bumper black? Damn this is a real Godzilla!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 16, 2010 at 8:22 pm

looks fast. goes even faster. next thing we will know the proton fan club will come here saying their proton campro is faster than this

• Mayonaise (Member) on Jan 16, 2010 at 8:39 pm

The rear bumper is black because that's the bumper's original color. No paint were put on it because these GT1-spec GT-Rs will be sold to customer racing teams that will customize the car's body color themselves.

• Whoa :D But why black bumpers? :-:

• Mayonaise (Member) on Jan 16, 2010 at 8:42 pm

Oh, hold on a sec, after looking closer at the rear bumper, it looks like it's entirely made out of carbon fibre.

• black…because its base line.

• kodok on Jan 16, 2010 at 9:02 pm

asam said,

January 16, 2010 @ 12:47 pm

black…because its base line

itu proton…

• dukeKTM on Jan 16, 2010 at 9:16 pm

It's a monster…Gojiraaa..

• chimeraEM on Jan 16, 2010 at 9:39 pm

watch out gt1 racers here comz GOD-ZILA!!!

• Ferruccio on Jan 16, 2010 at 9:51 pm

Gigawave was supposed to run a pair but the company closed shop just before New Year so I'm glad to see Nismo having replacement customer teams already for the new GT1 World Championship.

Looking forward to see it against the fabulous looking Murcielago LP670 R-SV. Awesome looking car

• Gajen on Jan 16, 2010 at 10:02 pm

monster

• Annihilated on Jan 16, 2010 at 10:14 pm

asam said,

January 16, 2010 @ 12:47 pm

black…because its base line.

Hahaha… I like!

• rocku on Jan 16, 2010 at 10:15 pm

Mayonaise, yup its B-line. So this car not powerful enough.. haha

• taboogen on Jan 16, 2010 at 11:17 pm

black because its carbon fibre… really sayang ma want to spray cannot show off

• V70T5 on Jan 16, 2010 at 11:51 pm

whoaaa… this is too awesome!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 17, 2010 at 12:01 am

still i don't think it can race with the MC12

• mitlanevo on Jan 17, 2010 at 12:35 am

MONSTER !!!

• albagmane on Jan 17, 2010 at 1:23 am

yummy yum yum! this car is truly gorgeous… no matter how it becomes!

• mystvearn on Jan 17, 2010 at 1:42 am

More things to discuss aside from black bumpers :P

• chimeraEM on Jan 17, 2010 at 2:29 am

i tink in term of out right performence/ i dun tink it can match up wif d mc 12 n aston n vett's..bt as a package i tink it can push d other realy hard…many times b4 nt d fastest wins bt d shrewdest team n car setup…take advantage in corner speed, exit speed, braking, reliability n wide range of tuning…

i tink tiz car can do well, if d spec n early reports r true

• black…because its base line.

LOL !

• corolla_KE70 on Jan 17, 2010 at 2:57 am

what do this car has to do with campro? get a life…

• peYno on Jan 17, 2010 at 3:25 am

Mazda 3 MPS said,

January 16, 2010 @ 12:22 pm

looks fast. goes even faster. next thing we will know the proton fan club will come here saying their proton campro is faster than this

=====================

i know, ah beng japs wannabe will say their myvi car with DVVT is more powderful tahn GTR..

prrrfthh

• subhero on Jan 17, 2010 at 4:00 am

black… because its base line..

what ever colour their put, its still look like a monster..

• mu_77 on Jan 17, 2010 at 7:36 am

This car is base line model… lousier than proton, proton BLM more powerful…

• theanswer on Jan 17, 2010 at 8:20 am

i think it can compete with mc12 and the rest of the supercars..it's not the stock v6 turbo engine(which can already reach 300kmh)..but 5,552cc V8 engine! even in super gt race gtr use 4.5L v8 engine.

• fuyiopo on Jan 17, 2010 at 8:39 am

I dont think this car will ever be sold to us…. This is a racing car. Brilliant piece from nissan!

• fuyiopo on Jan 17, 2010 at 8:41 am

Correction for my previous post >.<

I dont think this car will be able to reach us, it will be freaking expensive(XXXX Goons are excepted). This is a racing car? Anyway, brilliant piece from nissan!

• yeah kick their ass! show them Godzilla is really not just anyhow given.

• JT350Z on Jan 17, 2010 at 9:09 am

This might be just as quick as a mc12 or maybe even quicker… the standard GTR with 480hp and 1600kg is only little bit slower(<1.0s) than the road version mc12 which is lighter and have 660hp.

• patiniox on Jan 17, 2010 at 10:48 pm

nissan ke toyota ke kia ke, apa2 pun proton jugak is the best

• Ferruccio on Jan 17, 2010 at 10:56 pm

No comparison to the road going GT-R should be made. This is a rear wheel drive purpose built for racing, machine. It's got a completely different powerplant to the roadgoing version.

It will compete against the Lamborghini Murcielago LP670 SV-R built by Reiter Engineering, another spectacular looking machine

• chimeraEM on Jan 17, 2010 at 11:27 pm

get a lyf u proton fanatics!!!!…d oni reason ter is a proton is is bcoz d continous protection by d gov n suppression of free trade n bcz of tiz v can nvr buy wat our our money is worth, ridiculous..if i start ill go on n on, sory paul out of topic

• wochomi on Jan 18, 2010 at 2:23 am

No cupholders, no sound system, no flap-flap-solar-leaves…. what a rip off.

• peYno on Jan 18, 2010 at 3:01 am

back and front bumper copy from super Myvi SE.

ah beng must be happy with it

• peYno F**K on Jan 18, 2010 at 4:23 am

there again….mr.peyno knows everything..how the hell in the world u know he is myvi supporter…

ppprrrfffhhh

• peYno F**K on Jan 18, 2010 at 4:27 am

this peyno guy should get the hell out of this topic..if u wanna defend or talk about proton..go to proton forum or any other topic related to the news about proton only…and same goes to the proton basher..this is not topic about proton or perodua…

• malaysia memang bole on Jan 18, 2010 at 4:36 am

mazda 3 mps

i can say that my kereta lembu can go even faster,right.HAHA

stop bashing proton even in article about nissan gtr

get a life,moron!!!

• Jaybond on Jan 18, 2010 at 5:29 pm

Such a shame, that the FIA GT rules outlawed 4WD. And just like the SuperGT, it's quite pointless to campaign this car without using it's original configuration. Unless, Nissan planned to build a road going version of the RWD, 600+bhp version. Afterall, FIA GT should be a production based racing series.

But what Nissan could have done in the first place, is to lobby hard & persuade FIA to allow 4WD and set some restriction (e.g min weight or max power), so as to have a more level playing field. That one, is more relevant to the road cars. Just like the original Godzilla , the R32 had shown in those Group A racing days..

• Wira 1.8(A) DOHC UK on Jan 18, 2010 at 5:30 pm

will this monster car environmental friendly?

better take in a modified Tesla Roadster, enjoy racing excitement while save our planet…

• chimeraEM on Jan 18, 2010 at 6:28 pm

4 D RECORD IM NT A PROTON BASHER!!!

• peYno F**K on Jan 18, 2010 at 11:02 pm

me either not a proton basher or perodua basher…and im not proton and perodua defender too..but some of the proton fanatics out there are really take serious about the comment relating to proton…and some of them like peYno will think ure proton basher who are driving myvi caror other perodua models..and also ure japanese wannabe…i don't know what kind of guy he is…yayayaya..he is 'mr. always know everything'…

• winteringtourer on Jan 20, 2010 at 11:20 am

my comment will be pointless as it is just my insignificant opinion ….

y the fia gt car look like a mess, got so many lubangs here n there?? IMO the super gt 1 look so much better..low sleek and got nice livery oso..stil GOJIRRA

ftw…..

lol thats just what i had to say.

• Jaybond on Jan 21, 2010 at 4:35 pm

Those lubangs are there because of the purposes – Aerodynamics & Cooling (Brakes & Oil Cooling)

• winteringtourer on Jan 22, 2010 at 2:24 am

ye la obviously.. juz the super gt 1way look better thats all…….

• GTR FAN on Feb 19, 2010 at 2:49 am

Proton and perodua ppl…says copy from here n there…but i say…GTR ORIGINAL…myvi se = wannabe race KONTOT passo and proton = wanabe MITSUBISHIS + LOTUS + VW (waja is copied from BORA) u get a WANABE MALAYSIAN HYBRID that dont worth a penny …yes im a malaysian..and i don like crappy cars modified and tuned into more crappier ever…

PROTON = EPIC FAILURE and JUNK

Perodua = BETTER FUTURE but still not close to perfection

• i dont care i want this gtr :-)