Euro NCAP’s top-five safest cars of 2009

Euro NCAP has released the top-five highest scoring cars among those it tested in 2009. All in the list are five-star rated cars, seperated only by their scores. The safest car it tested in 2009 is the Mk6 Volkswagen Golf, followed by two hybrid cars – the Honda Insight and Toyota Prius. In fourth place is the Hyundai i20 while there are three joint winners for fifth place – the Toyota Avensis, Volvo XC60 and the Opel/Vauxhall Astra.

In 2009, Euro NCAP crash tested 33 car models, using up to a total of three cars, three front seats, four child seats and an array of spare parts per model. To achieve the overall rating, the car is usually put through four crash tests, a component test and is assessed by an inspector who considers tests results and the safety equipment and features of the car. In 2009, upon the request of the manufacturer Euro NCAP also considered results from vehicles crash-tested in 2007/2008 and carried out the necessary tests and assessment to upgrade them to a result applicable under the new rating scheme.

In 2010, the threshold to achieve Euro NCAP’s maximum five stars rises from 75% to 80% in Adult Occupant Protection and from 70% to 75% in Child Occupant Protection. The threshold for Pedestrian Protection rises to 40%. Euro NCAP’s poorest results of the year were achieved by the Suzuki Alto and the Toyota Urban Cruiser, both receiving three stars.

View the score chart after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=806]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• rageaccel2 on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:50 pm

1st

• nabill on Jan 29, 2010 at 8:55 pm

thnx to agencies like NCAP for making the manufacturers compete to make cars safer to drive….

• White Jack on Jan 29, 2010 at 9:50 pm

Paul, your "Score Board" half shown only :)

• Hyudai i20, FTW

• kopi-man on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:06 pm

I am wondering when is Proton going to send for testing and market the NCAP result…

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:10 pm

White Jack, click on it for a full view

• Alanore Chong on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:19 pm

Volvo is not as good as Insight, Prius, even Hyundai ??? then why buy Volvo

• Pdriver on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:21 pm

Eeh… where does P1 and P2 stand? Does safety ever come into they concern? The only model sent for Euro Ncap was Waja in 2002 (which is 8 years ago.!!!!!) and was awarded with 3 stars only.. Lots on safety feature had changed and improve since then…… a budget car doesn't have to compromise on consumer's safety. WAKE UP P1 and P2..!

• Pdriver on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:22 pm

BTW.. the test result from Euro Ncap for P1 Waja
    http://www.euroncap.com/tests/proton_impian_2002/…

• MADBOY on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:33 pm

emmm, suzuki & toyota car got only 3 stars.

Just wondering, Proton said its Exora will be able to get four stars during the launch. That was 2009.

The mpv not yet officially tested for NCAP rating. Now, the 5 stars rating is higher for 2010. Does this means, 4 stars rating also higher compare with 2009. If yes, will Exora get 4 stars when it is launch in UK? (or if it is launch in UK)

• redxdevil on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:43 pm

Pdriver said,

January 29, 2010 @ 2:22 pm

BTW.. the test result from Euro Ncap for P1 Waja
    http://www.euroncap.com/tests/proton_impian_2002/…

——————————————————–

where is perodua cars?? i cant see perodua from the list. oh i forgot, p2 is a rebadge car. no wonder not in list. lol

• Pdriver on Jan 29, 2010 at 10:50 pm

Quote from Euro Ncap "Proton claims that the Impian is the first of a new generation of cars that are designed to Euro NCAP standards. Its performance in the frontal impact was flawed, however, while the protection it offered to pedestrians also proved inadequate. This was a disappointing performance but Proton says it intends to improve future designs. The car's body was damaged so badly by the impact that it became unstable. The driver and front passenger risked serious injury. The child restraints performed poorly and it became apparent that, in development, too little thought had been given to their use. The Impian is made only in right-hand drive so in Europe it is sold only in the UK."

• theanswer on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:01 pm

dont be surprise that 3 stars waja came with 4 airbags..only available in uk. but we only get 2 airbag..so wondering how many stars tht we can get?

• Mysticmind on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:32 pm

p2 viva not have 4 airbags too.

• tokmoh on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:45 pm

Tengok tu. Datang pula citer pasal proton. Citer lama plak tu, hmph. Kalau ini twitter, boleh jadi "proton bashers r also as ancient as #yorais".

Most of these top scorers are small/medium hatchbacks, impressive.

• dream on Jan 29, 2010 at 11:46 pm

Safety is still not a priority if it cannot be made affordable…for local cars to be affordable, certain safety items may not be installed. The customer can still choose, though a limited one. If low price is a priority over low safety ratings, it's a risk many have to take…Tata Nano in India can be an example, not just P1 or P2

• wajarays on Jan 30, 2010 at 12:09 am

got few proton impian with 4 airbag around kl … one of my friend got the car at usedcar dealer …. full spec of proton impian :

original sunroof

4 airbag

4 abs

traction control system

built in clarion sound system with 2power amp

120hp 4g18p engine … the engine itself got alot diffrent from normal waja 4g18p

• What is wrong comparing Proton and other car company and their cars??

Other car has drivers and passengers. Proton car has drivers and passengers too. They are all human life. Unless Malaysians life is cheaper, like katak…hehe

If proton car (or any other makes) is below standard or average relative to other makes, then Proton should improve their safety standard. Not just hiding behind only…and try buat taktau…

sometimes I wonder, If the proton body structure is lousy (comparatively), then what is the point of being "lotus tuned"??

• mirror mirror on Jan 30, 2010 at 1:46 am

It seems that it has become a second nature among many malaysian to have some deep seated grudges with proton. personally, i have plenty too.

• toy-auta on Jan 30, 2010 at 1:54 am

toyota in the safest list????????????NOOOOOOOOOOOO

• toy-auta on Jan 30, 2010 at 1:55 am

toyota not safe anymore…

• Redwings on Jan 30, 2010 at 2:01 am

Surprise Hyundai i20… 4th place… but still can't sell well in M'sia.

Kah Motor, you can start promote i20… top 5 most safest car to drive…WOW..

• staff on Jan 30, 2010 at 2:05 am

Euro NCAP is made for cars that sold in Europe…

By now, Exora not sale there yet…

But, Paultan had posted the IDIADA test video.. and got result equivalent to 4 stars NCAP… So… keep to it for now, cant ya?

• moha3774 on Jan 30, 2010 at 2:06 am

..manufacturers cant chose which car is going to be tested by NCAP…its NCAP that will buy the car from the showroom and test it without informing the manufacturer, so the validity of the test cannot be argued by the manufacturer….they are testing the car that is on sale to the public…

• theanswer on Jan 30, 2010 at 2:50 am

Surprise Hyundai i20… 4th place… but still can’t sell well in M’sia.

Kah Motor, you can start promote i20… top 5 most safest car to drive…WOW..

we got i10 that score 4 stars in ncap..but apparently the test unit got 4 airbags..while our market got only 2 airbags. make sure that ur 4-5 stars vehicle is full spec..then the rating can be trusted. or else it's a lie because part of the test is side impact..without side airbag u cant get a good marks.

• "Euro NCAP’s poorest results of the year were achieved by the Suzuki Alto"

Last time somebody said Suzuki is building the best small cars in the world? ;)

• drchan on Jan 30, 2010 at 3:47 am

for all VW MK6 GTi owners and soon to be owners, another reason to be proud of. what a feeling driving the safest car in europe if not the whole world

• "Euro NCAP’s poorest results of the year were achieved by the Suzuki Alto and the Toyota Urban Cruiser"

>> Suzuki and Toyota are inferior safety car than Hyundai. (3 cars are subcompact class)

Now, time is changed.

• Annihilated on Jan 30, 2010 at 5:31 am

Funny when people talk about Euro NCAP. Seems like most of us are well-versed on the ratings.

– Can any automaker ask send their car to be tested?

> I don't know. I guess not.

– Is Euro NCAP free from automaker influence?

> I'm pretty sure.

– Is there a star difference between having curtain airbags and none?

> there should be.

– Can a same car marketed over here use the rating?

> obviously not. only one with similar spec-ed CBU from UK may.. I think so.

• Gajen on Jan 30, 2010 at 10:07 am

i still remember watching top gear crash test review on 3 cars…toyota avensis 5 stars….ford fiesta 4 stars….proton waja/impian 3 stars….LOL

• Mysticmind on Jan 30, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Ex Perak MB , DS Nizar is one of the victim of stucked toyota camry pedal?! Lollll…

• Day deSIANG on Jan 30, 2010 at 6:11 pm

A good start for Honda :)

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 30, 2010 at 7:19 pm

congrats…but where is volvo and saab

• staff on Jan 30, 2010 at 8:33 pm

to gajen…

At that time… range rover also got 3 stars…

• Mazda 3 MPS on Jan 31, 2010 at 11:50 pm

staff said,

January 30, 2010 @ 12:33 pm

to gajen…

At that time… range rover also got 3 stars…

——————————

well 3 stars and five stars made a lot of difference. between the range rover and proton, the proton problem was it killed anyone that was inside it. the range rover was safe but they did not count the velocity and higher impact of an suv, which compromises safety.

• budlee on Feb 01, 2010 at 9:08 am

this is malaysia.. you think common normal people would want a more expensive car with safety features. Even the salesperson at the showroom calls these safety features as accesories similar to sport rims and tinted windows..

hence you got a lot of standard myvi, standard viva, B line persona, J type vios, basic exora, basic Citra, basic Ria, etc running around in Malaysia..

the public is not educated with airbags, since many still put tissue box over the passenger airbag cover or some put handphone holder on the steering wheel.

dont forget people till carry their children in their lap with passenger airbags, some still put child seat up front even the rear facing ones..

proton and perodua can easily put 4 airbags in, (dual front airbags, and seats with built in side airbags) and if RnD is efficient another a pair in the knees, another a pairs of curtains at the windows and perhaps another pair in the rear doors..

then lets put it ESP as standard, along with the ABS, BA, EBD..

would this push up the price? like at least around RM6k..

i know many of consumers would prefer to skip "these" options and get a bigger wheels and install LCD at the passenger visor along with better stereo, body kit, and alloy rims..

since Perodua is getting technology and design from Toyota (as with Skoda from volkswagon, nissan from renault, mazda from ford, soon chinese cars from hummer, chinese cars from sab, chinese cars from volvo, basicall everyone is sharing everything, so why the fuss really with perodua and toyota.. hisssh) new Perodua cars should fare better in safety test when you look at how the body deforms, although we probably have a start struck out since we lack a few airbags and ESP

• asgard on Feb 01, 2010 at 11:16 am

got few proton impian with 4 airbag around kl … one of my friend got the car at usedcar dealer …. full spec of proton impian :

original sunroof

4 airbag

4 abs

traction control system

built in clarion sound system with 2power amp

120hp 4g18p engine … the engine itself got alot diffrent from normal waja 4g18p

——————————

which dealer hv this,how much it cost

• SafetyOfficer on Jul 29, 2010 at 10:34 pm

my 9 year old car got 10 airbags on top of EBD,ABS,traction control,ASR.it comes standard when i bought them.actually its cars from europe are not expensive . malaysian tax makes my car expensive..if minus the 300% tax and 30% sales tax and deduct another 10% excise duty..my car price would par with any proton or perodua price..i’ve seen my AP of my car and the import price after conversation was RM24k.

so price issue is not a big deal actually..its the manufacturer who will cut corners as much as possible and put the burden to the buyers..for example if u want airbags u gotto pay extra..

actually the govt should emphasize on safety and ruling for any manufactured cars locally.put it as a mandatory like the european govt did. No NCAP,No Airbags,No Safety,No sale!

Thats why u can see most japs and proton/perodua cars models sold with 2 airbags or no airbags at all.compared to european cars sold with a minimum of 6 airbags on top of other safety switches..

so price is not the issue but mentality that matters.