New Honda Insight hybrid details revealed early in Belgian official Honda magazine

Honda Insight

To think that we had assumed Honda had gotten rid of it’s i-DSI engines, with the new City being available solely with a range of 4 cylinder SOHC i-VTEC engines, but no, we were wrong! The i-DSI engine is still alive and kicking in the new Honda Insight, as these scans from Honda’s official magazine in Belgium reveal.

The Honda Insight will be powered by an Euro 5-compliant 1.3 litre (1,339cc) i-DSI i-VTEC engine that has 8 valves (2 per cylinder), Dual & Sequential Ignition (2 spark plugs per cylinder), and variable valve timing that produces 88 horsepower at 5,800rpm and 123Nm of torque at 4,600rpm.

Not quite the 1.5 litre i-DSI that we are so familiar with, the one that produces its peak torque at a nice 2,700rpm, but looks decent. The somewhat anaemic power figures are helped by the IMA electric motor which adds another 13.6hp and 103Nm of torque. This engine is mated to a CVT transmission, which has optional steering wheel paddle shifts.

Two different trim levels are available – the Insight Comfort and the Insight Elegance. The Comfort has the necessities such as automatic climate control, airbags and etc. The Elegance version adds some extra equipment such as fog lamps, cruise control, heated front seats, automatic headlamps and wipers and the previously mentioned paddle shifts.

Honda rates the new Honda Insight at a consumption of 4.4 litres per 100km on the combined cycle, and 101g/km of CO2 emissions. More details will be revealed at the official unveiling, but for now check out the brochure scans after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=99 album=62]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• alwayswishingforabet (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 12:13 am

very very nice. doesn't look like the mainstream electric-y cars that we've been conditioned to expect. none of those funny rims or anything like that. wonder how long it'd take before it reaches boleh land, and i wonder if they'd price it close to ckd civic prices… so… white is still the colour du jour!

• dzat46 (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 12:29 am

Not quite the 1.5 liter i-DSI that we are so familiar with, the one that produces its peak torque at a nice 2,700rpm, but looks decent.

—————————————————————

This is why i luv my city idsi…very useable realworld power + frugal…very diesel like character

• n8cky (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 12:51 am

Is this going to be like~

Yay, another opportunity for Malaysian to save the environment at a cheaper priced hybrid…

Or, tak yah la, tak ade untung pun, buat ape nak import kreta yg bikin bisnis rugi?…

Or, no way, no market in Malaysia, tax so expensive, wasting energy in promoting it..?

Dang…not even the Prius, Civic Hybrid stil struggling.

• cam.shaft (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 1:14 am

Until plotong launches their own version of "hybrids" which would either prolly explode or catch on fire somehow somewhere, hybrids in malaysia is not viable nor economical. With ridiculous taxes, it'd be a lonnng road before hybrids are seen in local homes.

back to the honda insight, the i-dsi engine is definately the best of its class…but design wise….very prius… =_=

cam.shaft

• figo (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 1:17 am

G will not promote the fuel efficient car because they depend on the petrol income to survive.

When Petrol down (now) they get subsidies from rakyat.

When petrol price going up they get subsidise from Petronas and rakyat.

So, the more u use the petrol the better income for them.

Malaysia Boleh.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 1:21 am

Until plotong launches their own version of “hybrids” which would either prolly explode or catch on fire somehow somewhere, hybrids in malaysia is not viable nor economical. With ridiculous taxes, it’d be a lonnng road before hybrids are seen in local homes.

————————-

As usual.. proton got the blame…. as if the govt will seek proton advice when they set or create their policy…

btw… haven't heard any proton cars exploded or catch fire just yet….

• Sex is wonderful, bu (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 2:06 am

i hate hybrids but this car actually looks quite cool.

• jk (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 2:41 am

Agree with dzat46

Even Honda is still using back the i-DSI (Intelligent Dual Sequential Ignition) for this Honda Insight Hybrid harmoniously mated with the CVT……That's why no regrets for the owners Honda City i-DSI 2003 onwards version…..It's a classic…better than dugong

4 speeder..haha…*sorry off topic*

Btw is this CVT used in this Insight Hybrid 7 speed or what?

• dcwhz83 (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 3:09 am

As usual.. proton got the blame…. as if the govt will seek proton advice when they set or create their policy

————————-

well becoz the govt is not willing to promote alternative fuel and high quality diesel says a lot abt their policy… simply becoz proton doesnt have any cars in that market…

modern high quality diesel engines have more usable torque range than even the modern petrol engines and it sips fuel almost like a hybrid… but we almost cant see any sedan with diesel in our market… sigh…

since we cant change the govt's policy, we can only pray proton has a turbo-diesel engine coming up to revolutionize our car market…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 3:25 am

4.4l=100km, equals to 22.277km/litre. The R series engine in the accord does 17.1km/litre.

A nice improvement there

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 5:08 am

You will have a second opinion when you see this car in 'flesh'

• jamsbong (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 11:05 pm

Honda's Version of the Toyota Prius! Whoah, how NOT creative can you get?

• Sex is wonderful, bu (Member) on Jan 10, 2009 at 11:24 pm

jamsbong said,

January 10, 2009 @ 3:05 pm

Honda’s Version of the Toyota Prius! Whoah, how NOT creative can you get?

———————-

the prius is rubbish.

• jamsbong (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 4:13 pm

If Prius is rubbish then All Hybrids are rubbish. Honda's Insight will not change the people's attitude are about Hybrids.

• Sex is wonderful, bu (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 9:47 pm

jamsbong said,

January 12, 2009 @ 8:13 am

If Prius is rubbish then All Hybrids are rubbish. Honda’s Insight will not change the people’s attitude are about Hybrids.

—————–

the honda looks good

• jamsbong (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 11:36 am

I just read the specs of the car. It is clear that the no.1 priority of this car is to be CHEAP. so no start-stop function, less spacious than prius, it even has a smaller electric motor than a civic hybrid!!

Looks wise, it is a copied of the Prius. If I’m a Prius owner, I’ll simply laughed at the Honda Insight coz it is inferior in everyway and it copied from the master… The Prius.

• jamsbong (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 7:43 pm

If you're a Honda Insight owner, people will said… OH MY GOD! you bought a Prius but I thought you're a Honda fan, what happened?

Then you're gonna have to explain why Honda copied from Prius.

I've shown this car to people and they all said it is a Prius.

• this car will launch here in mysia..the price will be cheaper than civic..