Fairuz Fauzy will be the first to officially test the T127

The Lotus Racing team has just launched its 2010 contender and will make its official test debut on February 17th which is this Wednesday. According to some reports on the internet Fairuz Fauzy will be the first to test the Lotus Cosworth T127 in Jerez, Spain. Fauzy was also behind the wheel when the team had its private test session prior to the launch in London. He will then pass the duty to Heikki Kovalainen and the Finn will then hand the steering wheel over to Jarno Trulli. Fauzy’s last official test was back in 2007 when he was the test driver for the Spyker team.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Irmann Malique on Feb 16, 2010 at 7:44 am

1st!!!!

• BASHING king on Feb 16, 2010 at 7:48 am

DO UR BEST!!!!

• KUDOS to FF!! Make us proud :)

• malaysia memang bole on Feb 16, 2010 at 7:53 am

i know you can do it,fairuz

prove to lotus that you can be the main driver for this team

make us proud!

• "70 Plymouth Ba on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:00 am

1st!!muehehe..

way to go Lotus F1 and Malaysian..

• San Peng Road on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:13 am

Can i drive one of those F1 car? plzzz

• San Peng Road on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:13 am

1st yahoo!

• first comment on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:14 am

i start to idolise tony

• asgard on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:16 am

great power to weight ratio comes with great responsibility under heavy breaking points

• Mufasa on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:16 am

sponsor tune group?

• may God bless you..

• Test drive? Like how? Like test driving a new car at showroom ka? smell the carpet. sit on the leather seat, hold the leather steering wheel, try the AC….heheheh…

• Nice colour scheme, still missing the Seven Up logo.

• Tarmiziali on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:35 am

always wanna try this…..FIRST!!!!! Good luck Fairuz. May there be sunshine in Jerez. I will be following via james allen twitter.

• Jamal on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:45 am

fingers cross. hope the car will do well during testing. it will bring good vibes to the team. paul, please update on the test sesions later eh. ur the man paul.

• landofluke on Feb 16, 2010 at 9:00 am

First!!

Bravo to Lotus Racing team !

• zulib78 on Feb 16, 2010 at 9:52 am

1st……..

• hiruma kecil (Member) on Feb 16, 2010 at 10:09 am

good news.. like it..

• iskett on Feb 16, 2010 at 11:46 am

Wow! He has the toughest job of all for a test driver!

Testing a new, 'dara' (virgin is copyrighted, lol) car is a real challenge to sort out the initial problems..

Good luck! Make us proud..

• barakuda on Feb 16, 2010 at 3:51 pm

Congrats Fairuz!! Good luck for the team!!

• run budget on Feb 16, 2010 at 4:09 pm

1st!!!

• all d best!

• anti-morons on Feb 16, 2010 at 4:22 pm

The car didn't look fast.. but hopefully it will be on the track day! Like the colour though… Petronas vs Proton this year… good one..

• Fairuz……. Boleh……Come on Malaysia…..

• tokpaya on Feb 16, 2010 at 5:46 pm

Anyone notice how the plan for Lotus move to Malaysia has been on hold?

Contrary to its glorious launch last year with plot of land already found in Sepang. Maybe that was totally for PR. Looks like Malaysian kena tipu lagi, lambat lah lagi kilang F1 buka di Malaysia

http://www.autocar.co.uk/News/NewsArticle/Lotus/2…

• donno on Feb 16, 2010 at 6:04 pm

Good luck and all the best. Make us proud!

• elite on Feb 16, 2010 at 6:05 pm

reminds me of angkasawan…

• sowhat (Member) on Feb 16, 2010 at 6:24 pm

run budget said,

February 16, 2010 @ 8:09 am

1st!!!

————————————————-

Yeah… 1st!!! no 7 LOL…

• theanswer on Feb 16, 2010 at 6:29 pm

what an important task..he must gives an accurate feedback from the car and pass the info to the technical team.

• kimi_ on Feb 16, 2010 at 7:22 pm

Hope Fairuz dont crash it as Lotus F1 is limited with spare parts now !!!!!!!!!!

BTW, look at the driver suit, is it the combination of green, white and yellow

are colour of india flag rather than more of malaysian team…………… LOLOL

• arch747 (Member) on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:42 pm

only idiots who have nothing better to say except 'first…' & yet still not 1st. wat an idiot.. xD

• arch747 (Member) on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:45 pm

anti-morons said,

February 16, 2010 @ 8:22 am

The car didn’t look fast.. but hopefully it will be on the track day! Like the colour though… Petronas vs Proton this year… good one..

hey moron, ehhh anti-moron;

which part if d car doesn't look fast? & while u r at it, how does a fast car looks like..?!

• WtFisDisYt on Feb 16, 2010 at 8:48 pm

he's gonna crash it and put d blame on heikki

• paxter on Feb 16, 2010 at 11:48 pm

i dunno if anyone here knows much about f1

but i would hate to burst ur bubble. Cause F1 test drivers have the worse job for a real racing car driver… its extremely demotivating to be a bench warmer for an entire season + with only like 20 days worth of testing a year teams give their main drivers priority over the bench warmers to test the car. He is only getting this chance cause his backing.

fairuz will most likely only have this one try in the car. Before he wont touch the car till the end of the season He prob do a promotional drive for audience world wide and i bet when the circus comes to KL he will be the monkey in the car seat showing off somewhere in kl for the public.

F1 test drivers only have this 2 months (less than one month left) of testing before they take the back seat. And because there is so little testing in a season he most likely be doing a 1 malaysia PR stunt before letting the real drivers test the car in preparation for the first race.

Once the season starts he just sits there and wait for a chance if one of the 2 drivers injures himself and unable to drive baru he can drive… Being a f1 test driver sucks, especially if you are a real racing car driver… I actually pity the dude…

to

arch747,

Coswarth is a crap engine which has been missing in f1 for a long time last win was in 2003 with the jordan team… ITs a cheap option used by budget strap teams looking for a cheap option…. looking at virgins track time they are 5seconds off the pace, This team will be a one of the better teams of the back markers

make no mistake the top 4 teams are Ferrari, Mercedes, Red bull, and mclaren in no particular order… followed by Renault, Sauber, Williams, force India, Toro roso

and then the last batch lotus, virgin, USF1, Campos Meta

• arch747 (Member) on Feb 17, 2010 at 12:53 am

paxter said,

February 16, 2010 @ 3:48 pm

i dunno if anyone here knows much about f1

fairuz will most likely only have this one try in the car. Before he wont touch the car till the end of the season He prob do a promotional drive for audience world wide and i bet when the circus comes to KL he will be the monkey in the car seat showing off somewhere in kl for the public.

to

arch747,

Coswarth is a crap engine which has been missing in f1 for a long time last win was in 2003 with the jordan team… ITs a cheap option used by budget strap teams looking for a cheap option…. looking at virgins track time they are 5seconds off the pace, This team will be a one of the better teams of the back markers

make no mistake the top 4 teams are Ferrari, Mercedes, Red bull, and mclaren in no particular order… followed by Renault, Sauber, Williams, force India, Toro roso

and then the last batch lotus, virgin, USF1, Campos Meta

1) wow, talk about arrogance….

2) which of my statement that ur replying to…?

• staff on Feb 17, 2010 at 2:32 am

to paxter…

wow.. your statement is like you are very experienced… Please share with us you F1 car driving experience…

OR, you are just worst than the "monkey" you mentioned since you are able to see and touch the car only without any slight chances to sit in it?

• M. Hariharan on Feb 17, 2010 at 3:15 am

Looking at the colour combination for the Team its looks more like a Jamaican F1 Team than a Malaysian. Now this reminded me of the Movie Cool Runnings… LOL

somebody got to pass this msg to Uncle Tony….hehe

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 17, 2010 at 6:44 am

lotus f1 sucks. long live virgin f1.

• Tiadaid on Feb 17, 2010 at 6:48 am

paxter said,

to

arch747,

——————————

Virgin F1 was touted as the 1st car to be designed and tested on a computer, as opposed to testing on a wind tunnel. Being slow is expected.

As far as the engine goes, who knows they managed to develop it. Don't forget, Cosworth engines powered many champions before, not impossible for them to do it again, although not this season. But who knows, maybe in the near future their luck's may change.

• race fan on Feb 17, 2010 at 7:01 am

paxter said,

CoswOrth hasn't been missing from F1 for that long. Their last season was 2006 and their V8 used by Williams was revving the highest reaching 20,000rpm and was among the most powerful that season.

How do you attribute Cosworth for Virgin being 5seconds off the pace at Jerez? An F1 car is more than just it's engine and there is a lot to be desired with Virgin's CFD-only aero package.

You must be relatively new to F1 and motorsport otherwise you wouldn't be so quick to dismiss Cosworth as crap. They are arguably the most successful engine manufacturer in the long history of F1. They are a very respectable name. Why don't you read up on their history. F1,Indycar,Champcar, production sports cars and more. They've built various iconic engines like the Merc 190E 2.3 16v. The Lamborghini Gallardo V10 engine is manufactured by Cosworth Technologies for Audi.

Yes they have not been a podium regular lately but calling them crap is way of the mark. This year they are providing 'budget engines' not so much because they are trading quality and performance for cheap cost but because they have the economies of scale. They are supplying engines to 5 teams including Williams.

The F1 paddock is fairly confident that the Cosworths will deliver promising power and consumption figures. The only question is reliability which no one can know for certain until the season gets underway.

• Tarmiziali on Feb 17, 2010 at 7:43 am

Cmon guys….paxter is just giving point of view from an enthusiast eye(unless you really are someone actually involved in F1 then I humbly apologize). He has some knowledge he wants to share and whats wrong with that? I never heard anybody saying 'have you ever played professional football?' or 'Have you ever manage EPL team?' when we talk about football.

But just to play devil's advocate, cosworth is not that crappy. they dominate in the 60s, 70s upto 80s. Then they start to wane before completely disappear in 2000s when ford decided to withdraw any involvement in F1. Now yes, there are the engine 'starter-pack' to any new team until they can afford top tier engines like ferrari or mercedes.

But there is still hope if they play their fuel efficiency and reliability card right. Other existing engines are designed with the rule allowing refuelling. Cosworth now is design to meet 2010 rules. That may be an advantage who knows.

Based on testing times of valencia n jerez also f1 pundits, the big four seem to be Ferrari, Merc, Mclaren and Red Bull(although schumacher said saubers are really quick).

• donno on Feb 17, 2010 at 9:55 am

Wondering if it ever gets on the podium, will we hear the british anthem, or negaraku?

And what happened to the "we are going to employ 300 malaysians"? I asked around (the malaysian racing scene is not big) and i havent found/meet/hear any malaysian technician or engineer hired by Lotus F1.

• anti-morons on Feb 17, 2010 at 3:52 pm

arch747 said,

February 16, 2010 @ 12:45 pm

anti-morons said,

February 16, 2010 @ 8:22 am

hey moron, ehhh anti-moron;

which part if d car doesn’t look fast? & while u r at it, how does a fast car looks like..?!

——————————————————

hi arch747=arrogance moron,

Please search for previous post on teams like Ferrari, Mercedes, McLaren… how their nose is narrower and is tilt a bit downward. Compare also the curve at the side of the cars … this is what I mean by "look fast"…(from what their test run results are). In regards to Lotus's car which the nose is bigger, tilt upward and a bit boxy looking on the side. Which looked like '01-'02 season F1 car. This is what I mean by "doesn't look fast". It's a general opinion/assumption based on the car looks.. people do that all the time.. (e.g assume the speed a Persona and a C-Class Merc merely based on the looks..). I should change my nick especially for people like you I think. It'll be anti-people.who.thinks.they.are.better.than.anyone.and.arrogantly.bashed.other.people.comment.blindly.but.actually.is.an.arrogance.moronic.*sshole.for.example.arch747.

• formulaone on Feb 17, 2010 at 4:37 pm

lotus f1 racing car impressed me. i think one of the best outlook this year. its better than ferrari even mclaren also. like the retro color scheme..proud to be malaysian.. hope they can do well soon. i'll give them 200% support!! can't wait to see them in Bahrain.. peace!!

• arch747 (Member) on Feb 17, 2010 at 4:54 pm

yeah right, I'm sure Gascoyne and his team at Norfolk purposely design the 'nose' that way so that the car will be slower than the Ferraris & Mercs…

• race fan on Feb 17, 2010 at 5:45 pm

donno said,

February 17, 2010 @ 1:55 am

Wondering if it ever gets on the podium, will we hear the british anthem, or negaraku?

And what happened to the “we are going to employ 300 malaysians”? I asked around (the malaysian racing scene is not big) and i havent found/meet/hear any malaysian technician or engineer hired by Lotus F1.

I hear it will be the Negaraku because the team was legally entered under a Malaysian entity. It's going to upset a lot of F1 traditionalist but fortunately the probability of the team having the anthem played is next to nil at the moment.

I've also heard that they have not hired any Malaysians except for the handful of publicized high profile senior management individuals. Then again people in the motorsport industry don't think the team is sustainable.

All smoke and mirrors for PR I'm afraid.

• apexg2 on Feb 17, 2010 at 6:02 pm

Fairuz…show them u can be the driver for 2011/2012 season…u can make it bro..

• fazron80 on Feb 17, 2010 at 6:19 pm

Until the reaL race starts noone will know what the outcome will be for supposedly crap cosworth engine. After the 1st race then everyone can bash like hell. Let's see if the lotus's supposedly big nose will make them slow. Maybe it's design that way so it can fly hehe. Well can't wait for the season to start and see what the outcome for F1 newcomers.

• race fan on Feb 17, 2010 at 7:41 pm

People who call Cosworth as crap don't have any respect for the brand because they're ignorant to Cosworth's long history.

I feel a little sorry for Fairuz because he will have absolutely no driving opportunity once the season starts and no chance of proving himself worthy as main driver.

• staff on Feb 17, 2010 at 8:44 pm

@ tarmiziali,

This mr paxter was condemning the test driver by calling him monkey. The way he wrote like he had been in those seat and experienced the ride…

So, that why he SHOULD share his experience. If not, he may be worst than monkey he mentioned…

Thats all…

• NiceCar (Member) on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:41 pm

emmm.. wait and see.

• ridzuan on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:43 pm

I want to see LOTUSF1TEAM win at GP BAHRAIN

• ridzuan on Feb 17, 2010 at 10:46 pm

LOTUS WIN AND WIN!!!!!!!!

• Mazda 3 MPS on Feb 18, 2010 at 12:16 am

ew. with michael schumi here. this will be the next minardi.

• Gen2 Biru Muda on Feb 18, 2010 at 1:50 am

Finally proton badge on a racing car instead of bike…

• Tengkurex on Feb 18, 2010 at 1:52 am

latest update from Jerez F1 testing

09:49 Petrov is back in the pits after another installation lap. Fauzy down to a 1m35s in the Lotus, five seconds slower than Massa who is fastest

• Tengkurex on Feb 18, 2010 at 1:56 am

Virgin haven't on track yet since 08.00am or 4.00pm malaysian time.

• Tengkurex on Feb 18, 2010 at 2:00 am

Fairuz fauzy is more faster than Hamilton at Jerez right now

• Ferruccio on Feb 18, 2010 at 6:37 am

Savour the moment. This is the last time this week Fairuz will be behind the wheel. He will probably sit in again for a day of testing next week and that will be his last time in the T127 ever, unless some Trulli or Heikki gets injured mid season.

There is very little opportunity for Fairuz to prove his worthiness to be the main driver during today's and next weeks test days. The only thing he can impress upon is that he can do a fine job as a test driver which everyone in the world of single seater already know.

• darrenkuok on Feb 18, 2010 at 5:26 pm

i'll potong if it gets a podium place..

JOKE