Volkswagen CrossGolf gets updated ‘face’

The Volkswagen CrossGolf is basically a Golf Plus with offroader styling, much like what the CrossPolo is to a Polo. The ride height has been raised by 20mm, giving ti a ground clearance of 111mm. Over here in Malaysia we only get the standard Golf body as a Golf GTI, so what Volkswagen Malaysia has been selling is the Golf Plus, essentially a larger, higher roofed version of the Golf but still keeping within the C-segment. What you see above is the new CrossGolf which still has pretty much lots in common with the outgoing model technically but has been updated with the new Golf ‘face’.

Engine options include the wonderful 1.4 TSI engine making 160 PS and 240Nm, which is an upgrade from the 140 PS version in the previous generation CrossGolf yet saves about 0.5 litres per 100km compared to the outgoing car. The double clutch DSG gearbox is now on all engines except for the 105 PS TSI engine, and all of the DSG used are the 7-speed version except for the 140 PS TDI engine where the older and more proven wet clutch 6-speed version is used to cope with the typical diesel higher level of torque.

Of course, although with increased ride height it does not have all-wheel drive so you probably can’t consider it a bona fide off roader. If you want a real offroader based on the Golf chassis you can look at the Tiguan, which has been designed to cope with offroading, which is why the DSG has been swapped out for a regular 6-speed auto – it is has creeping ability and is said to be better at handling the kind of movement that’s required of rough trails.

Look after the jump for hi-res photos and the full release.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=876]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mduan on Mar 02, 2010 at 3:31 am

it looks ugly

• Rupa dari depan macam Matrix aje.. for the price, I will definitely not buy. Sorry VW.

• paparazi (Member) on Mar 02, 2010 at 4:24 am

true, it was Matrix replacement~ha ha just joking!

• interior is good,but i just dont like the exterior like the golf plus..looking a bit weird.

• Mazda 3 MPS + ANTI P on Mar 02, 2010 at 4:45 am

i like it. but i can never think of a reason to buy it. it's not beautiful, it's not useful. it was made for a world, buy a world that doesn't exist.

• shoon1983 on Mar 02, 2010 at 5:40 am

new cross polo is wayyy better…

• Seen one @ mutiara and i don't understand why pick this over very good lookin golf…rabun kot

• niuhje on Mar 02, 2010 at 5:41 pm

slow down VW… slow down!! I know u want to b d no.1 automaker in the world… but haven't we all learnt anything from Toyota?? Haste makes waste…

• paparazi said,

March 1, 2010 @ 8:24 pm

true, it was Matrix replacement~ha ha just joking!

_____

It's the Matrix reloaded.

• Alpha on Mar 03, 2010 at 12:25 am

it's 98% the same look with the previous gen's CrossGolf.