Nissan and GE signed agreement to develop charging stations for electric vehicles

Nissan and General Electric or GE have both signed an agreement that will see the companies work together in developing charging stations for electric vehicles. Both companies will focus on ‘smart’ charging stations that will help ease strain on electric power grids and provide better accessibility to recharging.

“Together with Nissan, we will take a comprehensive look at what technologies will be needed in the car, on the grid, and at home or work to make smart charging a reality,” said Mark Little, director of GE Global Research. Both companies will soon reveal specific projects under the new partnership.

Electric vehicles can be a good solution for emissions-free and fuel-free motoring but the major problem for now is infrastructure where owners may find it hard to recharge their cars especially during long distance trips. The other problem is that no one can give a straight answer regarding the life span of a pure electric drivetrain, especially the batteries.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder Singh Sidhu thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled and everything in between. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• Squawk on Apr 27, 2010 at 12:37 pm

How long will the charging take? Will it be like going to the laundromat? Might as well just let people swap for new batteries like A Better Place.

• Peter on Apr 27, 2010 at 1:22 pm

Nissan is very very serious in making hybrid and better emission cars now…….Good move…

• way to go jar jar bigg!

• p4k4abu on Apr 27, 2010 at 7:31 pm

LOL

It reminds me of the “dragon” in Neverending Story too….

• dexter on Apr 27, 2010 at 3:08 pm

so ugly…

• azrai on Apr 27, 2010 at 4:26 pm

Even big company like nissan and renault is busy in JV. Before this it was Renault-Daimler JV.

• xterra on Apr 27, 2010 at 11:26 pm

why oh why hybrid car has to be fugly….

• rexis on Apr 28, 2010 at 10:38 am

By far this is the best looking full electric family car.

And guys, this is full electric vehicle, it run and charge like your hand phone, not hybrid.

• The whole backup infra for electric vehicle must go hand in hand with the introduction of the vehicle itself, otherwise it will not take off. In Singapore, the government already charted the infra road map towards the building of the eco system. Imagine the parking lots with charging points, all you need is to SMS your car reg no: and charging point no: and you can plug in and start charging. The electric cost will be agregated into your house hold monthy electric bill. If you charge at off peak time you gets cheaper rate. If your car is fully charged but you are not going to use it for an extended period, you can reverse charge back into the grid and gets the bill deduction accordingly. Your car navigation GPS will be updated with nearest charging point and will inform you if it is available. There’s a lot of integration work between smart power grid, billing backend, and location based info system before all these can happen. Europe and China already have a few pilot cities with this sort of facilities, in the SEA region, I think Singapore will be the first one. As for our boleh land……

• Squawk on Apr 28, 2010 at 1:35 pm

Yes, there’s a lot of thought and integration needed for such a system. Korea and Japan are also currently running such programs. If not mistaken, there’s a place in Japan where only EV/hybrids are used and Korea plans to electrify their buses that gets its charge from the road.

• scoobydoo on Apr 28, 2010 at 3:19 pm

The EV initiative is not going to take off unless it recieves the support of the Government in terms of both infrastructure, legislation and financial incentive to both customers and manufacturers in the form of tax allowance/deductions and grants. Reason being, there is just no volume to expect the cost of ownership of one of the machines to go down. No scale. So the Government has to act as the market maker, here a keynsian approach has to be undertaken as observed in initiatives in US, Europe, japan and Korea. With respect to our beloved Bolehland, i hear that the revised National AUtomotive Policy is pushing for the adoption of EV and Hybrid in Malaysia. I guess the kinks are being made in PoopooJaya to determine what policies need to be crafted to create a market acceptable to the manufacturers and the rakyat. I forsee a fleet testing initiative coming up soon like in the US. Maybe POS Malaysia can start off by electrifying or hybridise their fleet…i mean they need to save up in all areas inorder to improve the paying conditions of our postmen, plus, make malaysia a little bit greener