GALLERY: BMW Gran Coupe Concept – behind the scenes

Here is a just released gallery of “behind the scenes” images featuring the BMW Gran Coupe Concept that was unveiled in Beijing last month, where you’ll get to see design sketches of Munich’s four-door coupe and sculptors working on a clay model. The Gran Coupe looks like a reincarnation of the Concept CS, which was shown back in 2007.

Long, wide and low slung, the sleek Gran Coupe is said to preview the next 6-Series (just minus two doors) and provide a Mercedes-Benz CLS rival for BMW. From how good it looks, we don’t see why BMW shouldn’t put this into production. It should be already in the works, judging from how “real” the Gran Coupe looks and Munich’s history of putting the “Concept” tag on near finalised designs.

Previous post and images of the Gran Coupe in the metal is here. Gallery is after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1112]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• looks good…=)

• mohsin on May 10, 2010 at 5:02 pm

Good looking!
    It’s good to have a battle within MB CLS and this baby!
    You rock!
    Er, by the way, where’s a new proton coupe?
    Pls bring back the Putra!
    Sorry to relate to Proton, it just my 2 cents!
    Proton also rock! (I dun even care to proton basher esp to mazda mps!)

• Mpower on May 11, 2010 at 8:27 am

yea agree, proton putra really rocked big time, its a legendary car for us.

• its like a tall car being squashed hehehe.

• Peter on May 10, 2010 at 5:14 pm

BMW is one of the best auto car companies in the world…..

No doubt that this concept will be much better and also beautiful…..

I wouldnt be amazed because BMW is always providing good quality cars….

• beautiful woman making a beautiful model.. hehe

• konoha on May 10, 2010 at 7:04 pm

waaa…..nice!BTW,congratz chelsea…hahaha

• Motorist on May 10, 2010 at 7:41 pm

If BMW is smart, it will go back & relook at the highly successful 1980’s 6 Series (E24) and take cues from that.

The 635CSi was THE car every school boy would dream about. Having Maddie Hayes in the passenger seat is of course the ultimate wet dream ;-)

• DiVo D27 (Member) on May 10, 2010 at 8:12 pm

Wel truThfuLLy i do agRee on Tht..
      Rumours has it tht 8-er is on de sketch board as weL…!!

• mitlanevo on May 10, 2010 at 7:54 pm

hopefully it looks better than the awful F10

• DiVo D27 (Member) on May 10, 2010 at 8:13 pm

cs concept’s souL is a part of it..!!

Yup do kippin fingers crossed!

• terence on May 11, 2010 at 12:59 am

i want one, thanks

• but.... on May 12, 2010 at 10:10 pm

how unthrilling..why don’t ppl with money be a little bit more adventurous with buying cars and put something with more flair in concept & design on the road. bm’s are everywhere..like i wouldn’t be thrilled if i drove out of the showroom knowing there are so many more out there just like mine.