Volkswagen Golf GTI “Excessive” Concept at Wörthersee

Is there really such a thing as too much modification to a Golf GTI? Volkswagen’s Austrian Wörthersee Show debut is a concept Mk6 called the Volkswagen Golf GTI Excessive, which incorporates a series of small but effective modifications to the vehicle’s running gear to create a sharper, more focused iteration of the iconic GTI.

The list of mods include firmer springs and dampers, a wider track as well as 30mm wheel arch extensions to accommodate the wider track, uprated 370mm brakes at the front and 310mm brakes at the rear, new 19 inch flow-formed BBS alloys with 35mm offset wrapped with 235/35ZR19 track-oriented tyros, a free-flowing exhaust system that’s also lighter in terms of weight, a deep front splitter, revised airdams on the either side of the grille, gloss black sill extensions and a new rear diffuser.

On the inside, you get redesigned bucket seats with integrated headrests finished in black and red, with brushed aluminium and gloss black trim. It’s definitely an interesting set of equipment for one to pimp out his Golf GTI in order to make it stand out a little more. There isn’t a day driving around KL where you won’t see at least one Mk5, and if the new Mk6 becomes as popular as the Mk5 here in KL, it will become a dime a dozen as well. There will always be those who value individuality and will splurge on such mods.

Volkswagen is already seeing the dollar signs and says that if there is an enthusiastic reaction to the concept at Wörthersee, the GTI Excessive may inspire an accessories pack which could be retrofitted to the MkVI Golf GTI to put it somewhere in the middle of the GTI and the Golf R.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Sean Lim on May 15, 2010 at 2:09 am

got more pic?

• faceless void on May 15, 2010 at 7:04 am

EG9 look like….

• mitlanevo on May 15, 2010 at 8:19 am

AWESOME !!!!!!

• Tiadaid on May 15, 2010 at 8:42 am

Perfect name. GTi Excessive for the excessive kind of person

• VW_fans on May 15, 2010 at 9:14 am

Yeah….Yeah…. more pics plllzzzz……… prefer high resolution!!!

• yeah please more pic!!!

• Ben X5 on May 15, 2010 at 9:41 am

yeah.. it look GANAS :P..

hehehe.. love it :D

• hanifhamzah on May 15, 2010 at 9:48 am

extremely handsome machine…..more pics plez…

• More pic please :DD

• I-Have-a-Kimchi-GirlFriend on May 15, 2010 at 1:35 pm

shit… i can’t wait to get one of this now~~ pls.. !

• cool colour and design…..more pic pleashhhh!!! :)

• cool colour and design…more pic pleashhhh!!! ;)

• shokubeni on May 15, 2010 at 5:04 pm

found few more pics here http://www.eurotuner.com/news/eurp_1005_vw_golf_gti_excessive_debuts_at_worthersee_show/index.html

• Wow.. cool for single person like me..

• neo wannabe

• if i’m not mistaken, those are the BBS RE rims, which are forged…

• *whoops!* those are the BBS CH. flow formed alright..

• the stik on May 17, 2010 at 10:12 am

ahh no lah dat is BBS aftermarket made in taiwan.. u can finf it at Klang kedai papan…

• gangully on May 17, 2010 at 10:23 am

Paul, i think after 6 months of launch in Malaysia, you see MkVI Golf GTI everywhere already. And on top of that, loads of them have the ABT kits too.

Perhaps it would be a better idea, if you wanted some individuality, to go for the 1.6 TFSI.

thats gonna be rare…

• IvanGTi on May 17, 2010 at 11:09 am

Everywhere? Are u sure u r not seeing the same one?

I am one of the 1st batch owners of MkVI GTi who got the car in December last year. I have always wanted to meet other MkVI GTi’s on the road but I have only seen not more than 10 times within 5 months.

ABT kit? Only seen once in the showroom. There are quite a few MkVI with Rieger kit tho.

• gangully on May 17, 2010 at 2:08 pm

ok ok, i must admit that i cannot tell for sure if it is the same cars that i am seeing… since i don’t try to remember the plates…but i am quite sure that there are more than 10/12 MkVI golf gtis on kl roads…

what i meant by ABT kit is on the MkV golf gti, not the MkVI.

to digress, i wish VW Malaysia brigns in the 2 door gti, that would be rare too… because knowing malaysians… they won’t want 2 doors…

• korok on May 18, 2010 at 6:02 pm

haha..really dolphin Eg6 look alike..