Injured Valentino Rossi keen to join Ferrari as third driver

Injured Valentino Rossi keen to join Ferrari as third driverWhen speed is in your blood, it doesn’t matter what machinery you’re on, even if going fast on two wheels isn’t quite the same as doing it on four. Valentino Rossi, the undisputed king of MotoGP is one such person. He regularly tests Ferrari F1 cars, posting times that aren’t far away from what the guys who make a living from F1 do.

And because of that, he has always been linked with a possible switch of sport to F1, and more specifically, the Scuderia. However, the MotoGP man was recently quoted as saying that he would not want to be one of the two main drivers in Ferrari’s line up, which goes hand in hand with Ferrari’s push to have three car entries on the F1 grid.

“To have a strong team like Yamaha’s (in MotoGP), Ferrari should hire Sebastian Vettel alongside Alonso, I would like to explore the possibility of a third car for myself,” Rossi told Italian sports paper La Gazzetta dello Sport.

Over the Italian GP weekend at Mugello, Rossi crashed during practice and suffered a fractured leg. The Doctor had four screws inserted into his leg in the first operation and he will undergo a second operation today. It will be some time before he gets on a bike again, or a Formula 1 car.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• What a bummer, Rossi might be out of the motogp for the rest of the season due to his injury. Hope he can somehow recover for the msian legs later towards the end of the season. At least can see him ride there….

• theanswer on Jun 07, 2010 at 3:02 pm

yeah..thats what i thought b4 this..did all the racer learn all types of auo racing before they decide to enter which type of race tht they want. its like stated in their syllabus.

• michaelk on Jun 07, 2010 at 4:03 pm

speedy recovery for ‘d’ man in motogp…no rossi, no ‘shiok’ factor in motogp.

• raoul on Jun 07, 2010 at 4:08 pm

I’m am track marshal with SAMP in the late 80’s till 90’s.

During the 500cc days in the 80’s & 90’s with less forgiving bikes then and with less advance tires compound, rider use to prone to highside crashes.

Highside is a nasty way for injuries and all top riders suffer similiar fate like what Rossi experiencing now.

I think Rossi will be able to recover fully soon in couple of months and be able to ride well.

Actually the main injuries that can really keep a rider out in racing is in the wrist !!
    Ask any racing rider out there :)

• Mujahiddin on Jun 07, 2010 at 4:43 pm

Rossi’s injury is quite serious though, meaning it would take a long time for recovery. Note that, many bike racing legends has suffered from nasty and to some extent, career ending accidents – Wayne Rainey, Mick Doohan and Carl Fogarty.

• rageaccel2 on Jun 07, 2010 at 4:50 pm

agreed with raoul… actually its been predicted that rossi only missed 4-5 races. bcause he only need 1-2 months to recover. same case as his team mate lorenzo when he fractured his wrist couple of years back. under an intensive care, real short time for him to recover.

i think, the doctor surely could make it to sepang in october. but he probably can kiss this year’s c’ship goodbye.

rossi’s dad was a rally driver.. he gets to drive the car every weekend since he was small.. so no wonder he got some skill in auto racing..

my 1 cent la..

• Like Doohan before.

• FIREPOLICY on Jun 07, 2010 at 5:50 pm

rossi, u need a cockpit to protect u..go for F1

• omanjedi on Jun 07, 2010 at 6:04 pm

Hope for the best for Rossi. MotoGP will never be the same without him. We just cannot predict what’s he’s going to do but at the same time encourages his main competitors to compete against him until the end.

Unlike Doohan which likes to leave the others behind. Very boring.

• Squawk on Jun 07, 2010 at 6:35 pm

Nobody can beat Sebastien Loeb’s (WRC) feat of sitting out the last part of the season due to injury and still won the World Championship. :-)

• awg1031 on Jun 07, 2010 at 8:06 pm

winning the champioinship with a slower bike makes rossi legendary to me (during gallouises era)..but i hope rossi recovers fast, motogp is boring without him..

• rageaccel2 on Jun 08, 2010 at 3:06 am

ya’ll got a point there.. hehehe…

• amien7 on Jun 10, 2010 at 10:05 am

yeah, i do agreed with that. No rossi in motoGP will make the race soooo boring..
    I think everyone who watch motoGP has always put their attention on this man…
    Hopefully he will recover fast and ‘Semakin Di Depan’…

Viva rossi!!