BMW officially ends E60 M5 production to make way for the twin turbocharged F10 M5

BMW has announced that they will be officially ending the production of the E60 BMW M5 to make way for the F10 M5 which will be unveiled sometime next year. BMW has produced a total of 20,548 of the high performance variant of the 5-series. Out of these, 19,523 were saloons while the other 1025 units were BMW M5 Touring which was released in 2007.

The high performance sedans featured a 5.0-litre V10 petrol engine that produced 509hp along with a tire burning 520Nm of torque which was either mated to a 6-speed manual or a 7-speed SMG gearbox. This resulted in a 0 to 100 figure in just 4.2 seconds going on to reach a top speed of 337km/h, but was electronically limited to 249km/h.

Unfortunately BMW still hasn’t specified any details of what the new F10 version of the M5 will contain. That’s not going to stop the automotive fraternity from speculating and predictions include a V8 twin turbo currently seen in the BMW X6 M and X5 M, which will be tuned up to produce more than 500hp and an equally earth shattering 680Nm of torque.

Not that it’s relevant at this moment in time, but there is a high possibility the prices of an almost new M5 will drop with the release of the new F10 M5. Thus for fans and prospective buyers of the E60 M5 should keep close to their BMW showroom. It has also been said that Malaysians won’t really take to the new F10 M5 due to its unimposing looks as compared to the E60, Would that be right? Have your say.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• gtr blogger on Jul 08, 2010 at 6:27 pm

R.I.P. E60 M5….. One of the best!

• shawal on Jul 08, 2010 at 6:30 pm

I haven’t seen an F10 in the flesh yet!!!!!!! only the new 7 series…
    but my peeps saw and said it looks the business, sorry it looks awesome!
    Im sure the new M5 will blow everyone’s mind with its looks and its power!

• Anti Proton on Jul 08, 2010 at 8:51 pm

yes its fantastic….even better to drive….if u prefer smoother rides

• blo0d on Aug 01, 2010 at 9:40 pm

i’ve seen it in flesh. in kl theres 1 or two

• Anti Proton on Jul 08, 2010 at 6:51 pm

finally hate this ugly m5

• Jaas torre on Jul 08, 2010 at 6:55 pm

About time they retire the monstrosity that chris bangle and his team have imposed upon us

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 08, 2010 at 7:04 pm

I think needing the M5 to look overly aggressive is besides the point of such a car no?

I see a lot of Bimmers which put on M3 or M5 badges on regular 318 and 520s….

I would probably do the complete opposite. Take the M5 badges off…..They actually have a “badge delete option”.. if you spec’ed a BMW overseas.

If you have enough under the hood, you don’t need people to know. I’ve had a few sports cars, and all you’d attract are unwanted attention….both from cops and wannabe street racers….

• I agree. I’d go for the subtle M5 look rather than the “Look at me, I’m a monster!!!” look. It’s for your own driving pleasure. If want to show off, I’d buy a Jaguar .

• James on Jul 09, 2010 at 9:22 am

well said. There are just too many fake M3s and M5s out there, boosting their self ego while it’s actually under performing.

• True, well because a real M3 or M5 is very very xpensive. so they only use m-sport package, u can knw tht its a real M3 or M5 by looking the speedometer, if its not 300km/h, its not an M or the side mirror there.. got a vent

• Alpha on Jul 08, 2010 at 10:50 pm

the best M ever for me is the E92/93 M3!!yeah!!ftw!!

• I’m quite certain the E60 M5 was only offered with the 7sp SMG gearbox and never with the 6sp manual.

The E60 design was well ahead of its time and still looks modern next to its peers.

• Paul Tan on Jul 09, 2010 at 12:39 am

http://paultan.org/2006/12/10/e60-bmw-m5-now-with-manual-transmission/

• phas3r on Jul 09, 2010 at 8:07 am

in malaysia they are only SMG M5 e60. in other countries for example usa they are available with the manual.

the M5 E60 produces 507PS(500hp) and has a top of 250kph.

and f10 with some bodykit(like the f10 m5) will look mean. but then again m5s are always meant to be understated

05′ e60 m5 are now available for rm380k

• the best m5 ever

• Yup…F10 was unimposing for me….Juz not astonishing as E60 M5…Juz wonder this maybe the most unsuccessful generation for 5 or M5 series. ~Sad~

• Orders are coming thick n fast bro for F10. I wont write them (F10) off just yet.

• Enthusiast on Jul 09, 2010 at 9:01 am

Not sure why BMW want to turn to V8 turbo as the previous V10 NA is already in the state of perfection.

• Because the Audi RS6 kicks E60 M5 a$$. The HP race is never ending.

• Enthusiast on Jul 12, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Haha… True true… But Audi best engine still comes from their V8 FSI. Love the sound came out from those. It give me shiver through my spine when first debut for its RS4.

• new 1 is V8 Twinturbo charge instead of the low displacement natural aspiring engine… but will bring more power than the E60 M5 worr… a bit nice too lah… dno how expensive will it be..

• E60 M5 on Sep 16, 2010 at 11:25 am

Will the price for E60 M5 drop to below RM300K? Whatever it is, E60 M5 looks more fierce than the new F10 M5