Official photos of Peugeot 508 make their way online!

Official photos of both the sedan and wagon version of the new Peugeot 508 have been leaked onto the internet, finding its way onto Forum Peugeot. The new 508 replaces both the 407 and the 607 and was first shown in concept form as the 5 By Peugeot concept.

The car should be powered by the usual stable of PSA engines including the 1.6 litre Prince engine mated to a new 6-speed transmission. It is also the first Peugeot to showcase the marque’s new design language – that huge metal-toothed grin is gone.

I think the wagon looks better but it’s unlikely to be introduced here in Malaysia under Nasim’s distributorship, but hey never say never. Who would have thought that you could buy a 1.6 litre direct injection turbocharged hatchback for just over RM110k?

Look after the jump for the leaked gallery of the new 508 range.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1315]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Anti Proton on Jul 13, 2010 at 12:45 am

honda accord lights, audi r8 grille?

• I Just don’t feel the front! It’s like a camry that got crossed with a China make car! Gotta see it in the flesh to judge tho.

• First thoughts that come to mind. Slap a trident logo on the hood and it looks like a Maserati. And the wagon definitely looks sweet. But currently I think their sister company, Citroen, still possesses a better design language.

• maserati…spot on!!!!!!!!!!

• PakAbu on Jul 13, 2010 at 9:22 am

Yeah. Looks a bit like Maserati. :-)

I like this “fresh” look from Peugeot …. after seeing so many “sharp wedges” look currently.

Nice. Very nice.

• Peter on Jul 13, 2010 at 2:08 pm

Yea….Looks abit like Maserati…

I hope the actual model which comes out will looks very similar like this….

• Freeman on Jul 13, 2010 at 1:42 am

So this car will be officially launched at Sept’s Paris Auto Show? Given the usual delayed introduction in Bolehland, it’s safe to say we will get this beauty on our roads just before 2012 CNY?! Maybe I should get a 2-year old Camry and endure 18 months of boring but probably major trouble-free driving first before I can figure out how much Nazim will price this car…. Wait a minute, if the Nissan Teana 2.5 is launched before that and priced below RM180k, maybe I should consider that as well…

• drMpower on Jul 13, 2010 at 1:45 am

i hardly believe this is a pug.

it could be some cars. they lost that face of which their identity. sort of.

or they just realized the face is not working at much luxurious level, like executive sedans?

coz this is really a different pug than the rest of the pugs..

• shawal on Jul 13, 2010 at 3:10 am

After seeing the SR1 concept
    I was hoping their new design direction would be much more daring…
    this car is very sober/safe… have to see it in the flesh
    well..at least they got rid of the big smiley grille…

• Alpha on Jul 13, 2010 at 6:17 am

reminds me of a Passat la.but nevertheless,a really elegant looking car.making the previous gen,the 407 looks awkwardly weird…

• congratulations paul for introducing the “like or dislike” option. It’ll help sort out the worth reading comments from the rest, in a democratic kind of way!

By the way, on the subject of this 508, I do like the external looks because it has cleaner lines, and good combination of angular and rounded character lines. Positive signs of more interesting things to come from Peugeot in the near future, including HDI engines hopefully. Our diesel should also evolve to match by then, let’s hope so too!

• Mazda MPS is a stoopid guy on Jul 13, 2010 at 6:55 am

Very nice… what about the interior ?

• just over 110k? i doubted. 130K-150k more likely.

• PakAbu on Jul 13, 2010 at 12:14 pm

I think the 110k Paul mentioned was for some other car. 308 turbo perhaps?

This one no pricing yet, I think.

;-)

• Hatchback? Which model?

• JULIAN_LEE on Jul 13, 2010 at 7:15 am

BMW Better

• Tommy on Jul 13, 2010 at 7:38 am

It looks like maserati+genesis+Peugeot. Maybe some of you won’t like it, but for me, it’s gorgeous. Definitely, will grab the wagon if its on sale by nasim.

• sonyman on Jul 13, 2010 at 7:53 am

ah it is here finally, so now one more choice between a 407, 508, and 3008.

looks ok ok.,.. but 407 much more sexy looking. but old. if naza update 407 with prince engines and 6 speed gear box,. i will grab one… 407 although it is old…

lets see what nice goodies 508 will offer… but since naza announce they will assemble 408. Then we may still be stuck with old old technology from 10 years ago… what the heck…

So impress us Malaysians, Mr Nasim..

• The Black Stig on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:09 am

I love the front and side subtle and elegance design, no unnecessary bulge curve and lines. Small disappointment is the sedan’s back, look like and old lady sagging butt.. no pun intended.. Hehehe
    No interior shots Paul? conti cars usually have great interior.

• normal_user on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:30 am

Looks neat and clean. Reminds me of the 406 coupe.

• bloom112233 on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:40 am

Cant imagine only 1.6 engine. But anyhow, overall is nice, especially suggested 110k pricing.

• sochamic on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:41 am

When I first open the page I thought I saw a new Honda Accord…..

• Jaybond on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:42 am

While the rear end looks nice, I’m not quite sure about the front end though. Certainly the gaping-mouth grill has been shrunked this time, but not really an elegant design.

• creator mind on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:44 am

Paul, any chance of getting some dashboard and engine photos? Some additional technical specs would be appreciated too

• JDM car on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:47 am

Nice design car, high performance look like Maserati. Like it very much.
    Hope the interior look also nice and sporty, unlike Korean car Sonata, exterior nice, but dashboad so ugly…

• KlonB on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:49 am

Man, if i hadn’t seen the trident logo.. i would have said “China car now copying pug eh”.. or is it the other way around? hmm..

• scoobydoo on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:52 am

has audi styling cues…

• Ha Gnih on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:53 am

With that kind of price, our very own ‘beloved’ Proton Perdana can gulung tikar and send to junk yard as scrap metals.

• BMALOI on Jul 13, 2010 at 8:58 am

Somehow somewhere it looks like a Mark X. Anyway, I would agree with Chun about the head and the tail look sexy though. How about interior look and feel, Paul?

Thanks.

• PakAbu on Jul 13, 2010 at 9:24 am

Paul, Danny & others.

The Like/Dislike feature is nice.

Thanks!

• reminds me of the C6

• 4agze on Jul 13, 2010 at 9:52 am

wow, the wagon is damn sexy..the styling also better than the current pug around..love it!

• tikus on Jul 13, 2010 at 10:00 am

The design or body shape like Mark X toyota lar.

• mohsin on Jul 13, 2010 at 10:01 am

Not so good looking

• r8 sedan??? :D

• I will buy this car…

• ong chin aun on Jul 13, 2010 at 10:43 am

The car both sedan and wagan look large but not so sporty, and yet only 1.6 litre with turbocharged. However, i still doubt its efficeintcy . Will it be under power ?

• very un-french like, very bland adn generic, without the badge, you would not be abnle to tell what make it is this.

• keluangman on Jul 13, 2010 at 10:57 am

Yawnn….boring design in comparison to last time when 407 came out… I think peugeot is abit confused of the new direction of the design ideas/language….

Wasted my time anticipating this 508….peugeot apparently becomes the “conti” toyota in terms of design!

• mohairi on Jul 13, 2010 at 11:06 am

“huge metal-toothed grin is gone” – what? I love those…

• squawk on Jul 13, 2010 at 1:30 pm

It’s hilarious reading the comments here. Seems like diehard Pug-fans were here. :-P

• dexter on Jul 13, 2010 at 3:24 pm

peugeot have really fcked up the design! The 407 & 206 were excellent, but this is just plain fugly! the whole car just doesn’t look right!

• mujahid on Jul 13, 2010 at 4:33 pm

subjective bro, me i like it….. that’s the way, aha ahai like it..

• libralcl on Jul 13, 2010 at 4:40 pm

Kinda Honda Accord exterior and BMW’s interior….lost of Peugeot identity.

• anti-first on Jul 13, 2010 at 5:30 pm

as a peugeot enthusiast, i’m not ‘feeling’ this car.

sadly, the exterior’s turning into a japanese-style, sanitized design and save for the lovely interior.

but then again, this new model just helped to reinforce the belief (and feeling) that older models looked unique and has more character.

• loollool on Jul 14, 2010 at 11:15 am

so should i choose a kimchi or french toast??

• Anti-Google on Nov 09, 2010 at 3:35 pm

For goodness’ sakes, why is it that some of you still post comments alluding that the new 508 (if and when it’s available in M’sia before it becomes outdated) will be priced at RM110K ???

Paul was only making references to the 308 Turbo 1.6 A/T that is currently available.

Please la….even the current 407 baseline costs RM128,888 (OTR including insurance) so how can ANYONE expect the NEW 508 to cost a mere RM110K??? (for more pricing info., go to : http://www.peugeot.com.my/pricing–specification/).

For those 508 fans, just hope it doesn’t cross the RM160K mark !

Have a nice day and continue your motoring dream (me too….).

• Laughter on Mar 22, 2012 at 10:22 pm

exactly. but can’t blame them for dreaming right? afterall, they all do want to get a peugeot ;)