Something’s definitely up with this Proton Exora…

At first glance this looks like just any other Proton Exora, except for the fact that even after it has been launched for quite some time now Proton found it necessary to put generous amounts of black tape on it. The lower fog lamp area peeks out from the taped up sections and what we can see is the old pre-MC update fog lamps without the chrome.

But the headlamp is very much covered up – there could be some kind of facelift headlamp hiding in there. Or it could simply be an old mule with the headlamps taped up from before and not removed.

This is where it gets interesting. The rear muffler is different. I don’t think there would be any reason to have a new rear muffler installed on a mule, other than to test a completely new powertrain and/or driveline ;)

Big thanks to the photographer Asan Taring for these! They were snapped en route to Malacca. According Asan and his friend, the rear end of this vehicle looked pretty different from a regular Exora. This is all so very mysterious!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Proud2BMalaysian on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:43 pm

most probably this is the test mule for the rumoured exora turbo

• dont think so, if its an engine test y bother to tape the body? so much going on for this
      mpv i think becoz itz not selling well which is below their sales target-3000 p.m. min.

is there something wrong with the pic or the rear is actually lower than usual exora?

• Maybe this is a Mitsubishi

• pdvilq on Jul 24, 2010 at 4:06 pm

This is not MPV…

• Johnny on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:43 pm

kepissh2 is coming.. hahaha

• exlive3 on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:44 pm

the bodywork i think, does look differ than the current model…the window are slight smaller and spotier maybe…

• nabill on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:44 pm

and the rims look like 16′ rather than 15’……!

• COOL!

• notakosong.com on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:45 pm

exora 4wd??

the body seems a bit wider, or is it the camera?

• Haidir on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:46 pm

1st, luv to wait. infact i luv fiesta along with its attractively price 85k equipped with ESP n TC

• nazri on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:47 pm

bigger exhaust.. bigger CC or turbo maybe?? just my wild imagination.. :p

• Baldwin on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:51 pm

could it be a CPS Turbo?.. hmmm

• syamus on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:51 pm

Definately turbo version!! Can’t wait.. :-)

• nebula87 on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:51 pm

i think proton is going to dig in a Turbo Engine for Exora..
    facelift for Exora is good, since its current looks is not that attractive..

• aimanMALAYA design on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:53 pm

r u sure with the roofline???

• akupunya on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:53 pm

is this an exora? why I see it kind of different car on the second picture?
    it looks more sporty like caldina…maybe the black taped give the impact..

I am very sure that is a turbo -CPS 1.6 where you can pay ur roadtax at 1600cc price and get boost power like a 2000 cc machine..akekeke

For the proton team, you all should change the exora front design to be an odesey style (mata sepet with big mouth). and also the rear part should use expensive design lamp.

and also, the steeritn design should be change also.
    the dashboard must be included with lcd screen.

• nasilemak_jr on Jul 19, 2010 at 11:36 pm

yes, i agree. it looks totally different.
      the body not too high like the current exora

• qozh moreno on Jul 22, 2010 at 1:47 am

model baru ler tu tengah testing…
        powertrain baru…
        drivetrain baru…
        maybe it’s a compliment with the new waja gt perhaps…
        can’t wait to see…

• stutong on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:12 pm

mengikut perancangan proton……proton PERSONA R akan keluar dulu baru exora turbo……tapi itu cuma perancangan sahaja…..hehehehe…..

• i taught it is a new suv from proton…the second picture makes me feel like that…but its the exora turbo….

• My guess is testing campro 1.6-turbocharged?

• Testing a Turbo unit maybe??

• KuDaunISmall on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:56 pm

turbo?

• frossonice on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:56 pm

From behind, the stance of the Exora looks rather odd. Not as tall as normal Exora out there. It is seem to be a little bit lower and wider. Or the picture is compressed?

• azlan on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:57 pm

1st! wow

• here’s an idea for Proton to test new powertrains/engines without attracting attention; use a a test drive car with proper plates and need no tapes.

that way, other motorists would assume it’s just another owner who pimped his ride.

• Sparc on Jul 19, 2010 at 12:58 pm

Possible….testing a new type of engine…

• dinocomot on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:01 pm

firsto!! the roofline sure is damn low. proton caldina perhaps? erk

• moha3774 on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:02 pm

why does the picture stretched..loks like Exora with Caldina stance..

• junaidi on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:05 pm

Look at the windscreen rake!
    Or is it the same as the current Exora?

• Zargus on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:07 pm

I had to guess…….Persona-R mule car…

• jakaalll on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:40 pm

agree with u…perhaps this is for PERSONA-R

• klaka seram on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:35 pm

yeah, looks like Pesona R. Using Exora platform, and turbo engine
        mmm yummy

• klaka seram on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:18 pm

yeah.. maybe Pesona R, using Exora platform with turbo engine

• moha3774 on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:07 pm

….or…the tapes makes the test mule looks wider than usual…

• eisyam on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:10 pm

project pheonix on the test……………..maybe??

• mitlanevo on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:10 pm

exora turbo luxury edition?

• eisyam on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:12 pm

why the 2nd pic the exora look quite width……is it becos the pic is stretch or it maybe new proton design???

• Jeffrey Chew on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:14 pm

is it they lowered the roof ?

• klguy on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:15 pm

it looks lower. a turbo version?

• i love it on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:16 pm

turbo is coming out soon..way to go proton..already standby my money to order ^_^

• Could be a new engine….bigger cc?

• colouring contest on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:18 pm

i like the black..looks evil OTR

• hvannees on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:21 pm

What is rear muffler in bahasa? anyone?

• baruang on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:22 pm

may be turbo version is near eh..

• Yes it is. They are testing turbo version in Malaysia.

• Lightning McQueen on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Looks like laa turbo will definately needs
      1. new hood/front grille to cater intercooler.
      2. tailpipe will be bigger to cater higher exhaust fume mass flow rate

• hauzi302 on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:22 pm

I wonder if that is an Exora, mainly because the width of the window looks different compare with the current on-the-road Exora.

• HirumaKecil on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:56 pm

Sport Exora to beat caldina????

• MoFaz on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:50 pm

i does looks lower than current exora… it’s like ‘caldina’ version of exora. probably turbo!

• keep on bashing on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:23 pm

Probably facelift model with CPS Turbo engine?

Yummy!!!

• faiz joko on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:23 pm

wah. hebat proton!

• look nice from the back….

• wow..sporty…but, from the back, macam tak kena saja..from the side view is ok..just wait laa

• Yazeed on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:24 pm

exora da ade second model ke? cepatnya…..caya lah proton….

• Summerhart on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:24 pm

Hmmm…the waist line seems kinda high in my opinion. A MPV & SUV hybrid perhaps or a Volvo XC60 Crossover competitor perhaps?

• Wira Tua on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:25 pm

why is it the profile is low like the current oddessy? I never like the damn huge & tall exora…this much lower profile looks good..

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:25 pm

exora turbo is coming!!!…yippie!

• Wira Tua on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:25 pm

+ how do u know it is a proton? dont have any badge whatsoever..

• luristvan on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:55 pm

look at the plate number laa..

http://paultan.org/2008/12/02/spyshot-2009-proton-mpv-sheds-some-of-its-disguise/

same as previous kan??

• Hello….. the shape…. the front bonnet…

• madimat on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:25 pm

Sir Paul,

The 2nd pic, is the pic distorted, or is it the new body design..? Looks more like a Caldine from this angle. wow,.. this is getting hot in here! Need your clarification to cool things down!

• Katak on Jul 19, 2010 at 11:03 pm

That 2nd photo is a result of some crappy cameraphone lol.
      But, I hope it provide Proton with a bright idea.
      For their next design project or any conceptual work, they just distort whatever they have design in Photoshop!!! Voila!! A crappy design suddenly become interesting & actually make our Paultan reader salivating :)
      Save lot of money & no need to employ Mat Salleh design consultant or Korean advisor ^^
      Photoshop Boleh!!! (But in this case, crappy cameraphone boleh!!!!)

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:35 am

genius.. crappy camera phone is the reason?!! i bet you are a photography expert which can see what we regular people cant see… you should go held a class, nationwide, about how to take good picture using our mobile phone, so that it wont be crappy as what we see here..

• stutong on Oct 17, 2011 at 3:19 pm

this exora turbo…..its patern and size just like toyota wish….trust me….i already saw it at Centre Of Excellence Proton…..hehehe

• montana on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:31 pm

turbo???

• i don’t know which is wrong..my eyes or the 2nd picture..looks it got low roof or re-design rear end..rear windshield looks small than current one..how about u paul?..

• prolever on Jul 19, 2010 at 7:18 pm

this is maybe the persona 2012 mule….
      you can see the A pillar for Exora and this car is different ..

• eadgez on Jul 19, 2010 at 7:41 pm

i agree with u! seems like the passenger windows seems it has been changed.

• it looks wider and shorter….no sure if its due to picture distortion or what.

• carmaxspeed.blogspot.com on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:33 pm

campro turbo inside????????

• the body shape from behind looks like caldina..

• hampeh on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:03 pm

mcm proton wagon jer…kalo pasang turbo campro n sporty bodykit..mesti laku punyer lah…cayalah proton…

• LittleMin on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:34 pm

y the roofline become so sleek one?
    it’s almost as sleek as old toyota wish or toyota caldina dy..

or is it photo angle problem?

• Alex Yoong on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:34 pm

you sure its a Exora? Looks like a Wish

• jamal on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:37 pm

new engine perhaps? or proton forgot to peel off the black tape?

• theanswer on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:38 pm

hurmm..interesting..turbo?

• Alvin Goh on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:38 pm

Haha after taping up the car from behind its looks very Volvo-ish XC series car, but dont know lah what is up with Proton, right after the MC facelift, another tweak to the model is being done, if that is the case those who had bought the MC would have been shortchanged! Imagine if it is you and me who bought the MC today, and all of a sudden MC2 comes out in a months time!

• tiadaid on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:48 pm

It’s probably the new exora turbo

• hampeh on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:04 pm

alvin..u suck

• MoFaz on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:54 pm

this is not MC. it could be totally new variant. and most probably turbo – sporty exora, like caldina. so it could also be more expensive than current exora.

• Hurm…facelift perhaps?

• swoosh3553 on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:42 pm

Turbo coming? But why lar launch so many versions in a span of just couple months period? This will cause those who has booked to be in “aiyah… just booked, and this came out” syndrome!

• MyDear on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:07 pm

haha .. when 10 years model in line .. people also aiyah .. always change pun haiyah .. :P

• pororo on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:44 pm

terbo?

• DaydeSIANG on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:45 pm

Still got the big fat arse… =p

• humaizi on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:45 pm

great! I really hope proton could come up with 2.0 engine, and priced below RM90k. Exora is actually a good looking MPV and compare with Citra, exora is better in term of size and exterior looks.

• meghengge on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Is this an upgraded Exora or a new “wagon” by Proton? the door line is also different. It is going higher up toward the back…

• Zahar Zain on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:47 pm

Is it just me or have the roofline gotten lower on this mule? Looks to be a lot lower from the normal Exora.

• the window is narrow….
    the roofline is low…
    small rear window….

new model?

• Ma[X] on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:17 pm

I think proton is trying their new phoenix engine. Weight for approx. 7 person added in the car for testing. That’s why the roof line is low. This is mule car for Exora Turbo!!! Comes with major facelift here and there. Exora Facelift on road 2011 isn’t it? Bravo Proton!

• ” 7 person added in the car for testing. That’s why the roof line is low.”

Will the weight affects the looking that much?

• prolever on Jul 19, 2010 at 7:21 pm

you bet…this not Exora….
        did you notice that the roof line curve like caldina at the rear…
        and for the pheonix engine nad the gearbox… they will use current persona as the mule …

• i dont know but hopefully it got v6 under the hood..hehe..

• current trend now smaller engine displacement and i dont think proton will make one…2.0 or 1.8 maybe but definitely not v6(2.5 to 4.3 L)

• hampeh on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:06 pm

campro turbo in exora wagon…cool…

• luristvan on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:54 pm

jeng jeng jeng….

• littlefire on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:54 pm

Well.. We all knew that then Campro turbo is coming.. Should be this 1.. Anyway if can snap the rear wheels got disk brakes.. I think can even be sure it is!

• timber8115 on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:54 pm

could this be the Turbo-charged campro IAFM engine underneath it?

• adios on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:54 pm

cps turbo kot..haha

• Will it possible turbo engine…

• xu wen chao on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:55 pm

hahaha… this must the turbo powertrain with cvt drivetrain…. must follow this closely. any other info. i’ve seen this one last month along plus highway during balik kampung. any intercooler seen on this car?

• libralcl on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:56 pm

The turbo version is coming?…..

• Turbo inside ! yes?

• BeemerFreak on Jul 19, 2010 at 1:58 pm

Phoenix engine launching so soon????? Maybe this might be called the exora RS or R3.

• jolly_idiot on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:00 pm

Exola Tubo

• Nutty Dad on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:00 pm

The photo have distorted the EXORA in a good way lol…….
    I think this distorted version / proportion look much better than the real thing.
    Tips for Proton designer:
    Use photoshop to distort any concept or design they actually drawed themselve & voila! “We just turned a ordinary/rubbish design into something actually look good!!!!!
    Can save some ringgit paying mat salleh/korean design consultant to do their job!! lol…

• The trade plate looks normal to me… So I think the pix was not distorted in any way

Is this really a proton? looks nice

• Distortion makes this car look so much better, haha

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:03 pm

this is truly interesting… is it the cps turbo in there?

• Nahar ARS on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:03 pm

This Exora looks lowered like a Toyota Caldina.

Could this be the rumoured Persona R mule?

• 4agze on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:24 pm

those two plonkers up here doesn’t know about car development obviously..by the way they slashing the height of the exora already shows they want to make a sedan out of exora platform..if you really look carefully to the 2nd picture, the suspension doesn’t look like a torsion beam coz if torsion beam surely the beam look straight and the arm was quite ‘senget(tilt)’ which suggest a multilink suspension..
      definitely a new model!!or like this dude above says, a Persona R mule

• animous on Jul 19, 2010 at 6:52 pm

agree with u on the suspension. I always notice big torsion beam on saga blm and Exora, but this one i pretty sure it is senget, similar to persona/wira/waja

• Perdana Menteri Ke-8 on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:32 pm

Agree with you….it is CALDINA WANNABE!!!

IT’s Persona R..

ROAARRRRRRR…… it will kills Myvi WAGON a.k.a ALZink..

• littlefire on Jul 19, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Well not really… Got a lot of Turbo conversion for Myvi engine around Malaysia also… Besides that, Alza will still a cheaper choice compare to it. Do you think a turbo version can below RM60k for Proton? My bet is around RM80k above for a turbochaged Campro, as Satria GTi, Putra & Wira 1.8L last time is almost the same price without turbo..

• Exora Turbo next year

• @#$%^ on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Agreed! Now the tyre looks suitable but before it looks small.

• the stik on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Phoenix maybe?

• Possibler on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:05 pm

Possibly innovatively to lower the floorboard for the 3rd row and hence provide comfort to ALL passengers from Johor Baru to Kangar !! Then i will buy without much tot.

• Nahar ARS on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:06 pm

Proton and Lotus to produce sub-brand:

http://www.theedgemalaysia.com/in-the-financial-daily/170157-proton-lotus-to-produce-sub-brand-car.html

• alucardbelmonte on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:14 pm

Tu la baru aku nak cakap…macam caldina….model baru ke?????? lawa gak kalau design macam ni….atau gambar ni memang distorted???

• subhero on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:15 pm

warhhhh….

• waja_starsilver on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:16 pm

Exora Campro 1.6 Turbo!!!

• firza on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:17 pm

completely a new model i guest…….somehow it looks promising…..

• taboogen on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:18 pm

Hermmmm Malaysia Automative Lighting is bring in new light with code BLM.. hahahaha… might be new light for this car

• hotwheels on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:18 pm

looks slimmer…is it the picture or???

• Chin Eng on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:22 pm

Heard there will be a TURBO coming … :)

• kurikuri on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:22 pm

nice…
    for turbo version i guess..

• theking on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:23 pm

Persona-R is in the making!

• anak2 kita on Jul 19, 2010 at 8:03 pm

mule for for persona r ka…woo igt exora turbo…btw kudos tu proton
      lancer mule xder ka..xcited plak

• massfredo on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:23 pm

power…!!!!

• rimbun on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:23 pm

hahahaha…. biarlah proton buat kerja
    the new proton model will be launch middle to end of next year..
    just wait and see….

• masami on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:28 pm

It looks like it has been chopped. it would cost more to tweak the existing exora be to as low slung as this.

• matpi on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:28 pm

sure or not exora!! but if correct, big thumb for proton,,

• mohd hafizzul dorifuto on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:31 pm

Exora RS Edition…1.8cc Turbo…7 seater. Jurutera dalaman royak ko kawe tadi.

• Tungau A/L Punat (original people) on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:36 pm

Sure or not this is Exora?!!! How many version more after MC?

• eisyam on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:41 pm

or maybe it’s a proton wagon????

• wutaheck on Jul 19, 2010 at 7:34 pm

proton should venture into wagon body type
      looks like a car but with plenty of cargo space
      how often do you carry full load on exora? i believe during balik kg time only
      i dont want to be driving around alone in the bulky exora everyday…
      a wagon will do the trick…sure sell like hot-cake one!

• eisyam on Jul 19, 2010 at 11:29 pm

well ur though same like me…i love exora, but for single guy like me…it just not suit me, thinking to get a wagon…but what model we can have rite now???

hope it really a wagon from proton…with campro turbo, of cos…hehehe

• wutaheck on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:20 am

well i have to give you thumb up for that!
          while we need to cater our family during balik kg season, it just not practical to drive exora to work on daily basis…unless i can get 5-6 people to car pool with me!anyone?

• gavin on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:41 pm

Campro turbo already no secret

• Finally the Exora Turbo….if it could make something like the PSA-prince (mini & pug engine) 1.6THP bhp & torque would be excellent!

• Caldina la, XC la… the second picture a a bit distorted la, probaly pulled wider a bit. I think what Paul is trying to say is this COULD be the turbo CPS version…

• wakaka on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:47 pm

Proton Exora ‘Wannabe Caldina’ version

• Cardinasio on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:48 pm

looks like toyota caldina,,

• MalaysiaBoleh on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:49 pm

I don’t think this is a Proton, it’s a new Toyota Crossover for the malaya land, caldina mix alpfuck i think, codename valgina.

• waklanproton on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:49 pm

waa…
    jeng2 new car coming!

• quattro on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:50 pm

maybe proton consider to put 1.8L enginene in there

• redfueler on Jul 19, 2010 at 2:51 pm

new one it campro turbo inside

• azlanaziz on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:04 pm

i dunno, but i don’t think the photo is distorted. look at the 1st photo, u can see the rim is in a correct rounded proportion, yet the window is ‘thinner’ than the current exora. one more thing, i also think this one have a lower roofline, look at the distribution of windows and the door heights, current exora like 40/60 from overall heights, in the second photo looks like 30/70. what do u think?

• Shaycoat on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:13 pm

I dont think this picture is distorted. Well, the second picture seemed to be “widened”..but If you see carefully, why the plate number is not widened. By the way the first pic is totally different from exora side profile. It has longer A-pilar and lower roof, which was not distorted.

• Alifz on Jul 19, 2010 at 11:00 pm

Yeah..and if you compaerd the back side glass taped is much smaller than the Exora, even if the picture is distorted..

• ynnad on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:05 pm

turbo turbo turbo…

anyhow, you cant lower roofline without sacrifcing headroom (and space).

• The Black Stig on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:08 pm

Different muffler huh? bigger mayber?.. can I say the turbo Exora is coming?

• Kapitan on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:11 pm

Macam Caldina. bukan la MPV even nampak ambik dari design exora. kalau exora prifile belakang direndahkan sikit lebih cantik.

• betul la, exora MPV besar, kalau bumbung curve sikit dan belakang rendah sikit macam estima, sebab dia besar, keculai alphard semua yang lain profile rendah, tak nampak la macam van

• Chyan on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:12 pm

lol.

Why is the 2nd picture stretched?
    Not sure what’s up. Maybe new powertrain and bumper changes.

• droll on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:14 pm

turbo turbo turbo!!

• pheonix project on the road?

• sayapdewa on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:23 pm

this could be 1st proton wagon model and this might be persona R with turbocharged..can see the air intake at the front…

• Preodua Myvi SE on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:57 pm

wah can see air intake is it? sure not fog lamp braket?

• duasinggit on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:23 pm

bumper blakang, lampu, side mirror macam exora…nampak rendah…macam wish….muffler 2 lobang…enjin cps lg kot…maybe tak de seat untuk third row cam exora….maybe new model guna platform exora

• anak2 kita on Jul 19, 2010 at 8:06 pm

klo new model sedan guna platform exora tuk test…nmpak sgt engine tu kuat dr cps…

• This one is old pic of Exora b4 launch la…

• bigfish on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:33 pm

waja replacement?

• Chyan on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:40 pm

You guys can down rank all you want. The pictures are distorted.

• it have to be a proton as the pix was taken here. I think its a proton new model???

• Dayyan on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:47 pm

Or is this a new Waja with wagon body? Just guessing …

• Goniothalamus on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:53 pm

Exora Rs or Persona R, whatever.. i begin to admire this model.
    No need to check this, i need to check my bank statement first.
    If it’s a Proton, buy! buy!

• karpal sinking on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:55 pm

I don’t think that’s a proton exora iteration

• takin on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:58 pm

looks promising..
    paul..cepat la update!
    cant really wait the new comer from this proton!
    :)

• KorokMu KorokKu Jua on Jul 19, 2010 at 3:58 pm

ARGHHH..MENYESAL BELI AZLA <—-kata pemilik-pemilik ALZink

• scottloeb on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:00 pm

New SUV/Crossover maybe. Noticed the spare tyre (bulging thing at the back). The rear lamp location is very low

• kudabelang on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:02 pm

Definitely from Proton as it used same rego number as here:

http://paultan.org/2009/06/22/proton-readying-exora-b-line-manual-for-launch/

• JULIAN_LEE on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:03 pm

BMW better

• Seriously on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:13 pm

this is definitely a whole new car by itself and not a facelift. Just look at the B-pillar, it contours slightly downwards compare to the higher one in Evora and the more rectangular shaped backglass compared to the Evora. I highly doubt the picture is distorted as the trade plate number looks totally fine.

• ericten on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:13 pm

Why everyone keep saying it’s an exora? We don’t even know if this is proton in the first place..

• gumball on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:20 pm

Rather stupid assumption that any MPV with lots of duck-tape on it, must be a Proton Exora in disguise?

• vtec200k on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:20 pm

this should be a new model . . . so low compare to current exora, the a-pillar is more slant towards forward . . . even the triangular-glass at a-pillar much more smaller and sportier, the whole roof is being lowered, it could be a new model on exora platform . . . p1 definitely going to compete in different segment of low-ride-mpv . . . a good move??!! but where’s the new waja?

• That the new P1 Lancer?

• BTW,

I heard this from KLFM (97.2) this afternoon. a comment by one of JPJ’s pengarah on automotive engineering, Mohamard Dalip (hope I heard that correctly)

JPJ are now testing Proton and Modenas’s electric vehicle. there are some issues that they need to sort out and to make the changes to comply with JPJ’s ruling.
    There are also some imports that had submitted their vehicles. some are rejected and some are still being tested.

JPJ are also still finalizing standards and rulings on these electric vehicles especially motobike.. one these are finalized, they will allow these manufacturers to sell road-legal electric bikes.

He said that this will hopefully completed within this year.

• apexg2 on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:29 pm

heard abt exora will come out with turbo engine,maybe this one…but if notice, if turbo should have intercooler rite and usually in front rite?as the front shape….looks like no buggy space for that…but, twin tailpipe does show…
    the 2nd picture is true and not the picture distortion coz, the headrest looks like the normal size…….and i dun think rear brake oso disc…looks like drum rite…correct me if im wrong..

proton should remember, if they want to make the back end lowered, put it nicely, dun take the same problem as gen2 back seat head space problem….rite….

but, in all condition, dis car looks cool……anybody can do rendering to show the real shape????

• vincent on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:48 pm

Not really.. Look at the Golf GTi, it has a turbo-charged engine but no intercooler. It’s because it’s turbo is a LPT (low pressure turbo, i think that is what its called). So yes it still might be an Exora with the similar turbo set-up.

Not all intercoolers are front mounted, the RX7 and the Scoobies have top mounted intercoolers.

About the brakes, the front is definitely a disc but how can you see the back? It’s not visible from these two photos unless you know something we don’t. lol.

It might be a sedan too, but don’t you guys think that it’ll look weird if it’s a sedan hiding inside there?

• luristvan on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:10 am

There also some car use a side mounted intercooler . Exora already use twin tailpipe!!!

• gonggok on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:29 pm

This isn’t an EXORA….

Look closely, the rear part is fake. I think is is actually a sedan or hatchback…

New PERSONA?

• Maserati on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:37 pm

Yea man,how do you guys confirm this is even a Proton car?

It doesnt look like a Exora to me.Maybe some new model for a different car make?

• who knows, it might even be the next Toyota Innova.

• kurikuri on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:46 pm

can’t u see the plate number..
      same rite with preivous proton cars snapshot?
      simply u guys are bashers…

• maybe trade plate they use? each maker has its own trade plate rite

• HirumaKecil on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:44 pm

Difahamkan, Proton juga sudah memberitahu kerajaan mengenai perkembangan dicapai menerusi rundingan terbarunya bagi memilih rakan kongsi untuk menghasilkan model Perdana itu.

Sumber itu berkata, model Perdana baru itu kelak tidak lagi menggunakan enjin 2.0 liter, sebaliknya menggunakan enjin berkuasa sekurang-kurangnya 2.4 liter.

Katanya, penggunaan enjin lebih berkuasa untuk model baru itu bertujuan mengangkat taraf Perdana sebagai kereta premium Proton, selain membezakannya dengan model gantian Waja akan turut menggunakan enjin 2.0 liter.

“Perdana baru itu nanti tidak lagi bersaing dengan model pengeluar dalam kelasnya sekarang, sebaliknya ia bakal menyaingi model lebih atas seperti Hyundai Sonata atau Kia Optima, malah Toyota Camry dan Honda Accord,”

• john doe on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:20 am

mimpi la kau yg Potong nak lawan Import, ASEAN punya crash test pun belum tentu pass, quality zaman p.ramlee, nak lawan Sonata, Optima, Accord?….pigidah

• ismet on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:47 pm

it was EXORA, already saw it somewhere in proton.. i guarantee you my friends…and yes! it has lower roofline than current exora…

• Preodua Myvi SE on Jul 19, 2010 at 4:55 pm

looks like the exora neo..

• This is sure not an Exora. As you can see, many changes on it, like lower roof, smaller windows, wider car body, and mirror from Persona Elegance! But if it really had a CPS Turbo inside there, it will be great!

• drMpower on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:04 pm

this is the one.

if proton managed to somewhere bring out the low roofline version of the exora, sporty looking like the caldina, then we gonna see the kinda effect that two door coupe did. forgot what its called.

or the sensation of the GTi.

may god. bring this one out. put turbo on it. priced like 80k.

i am excited.

• Expecting Proton dropping a turbo on that engine, because seems like lots of user complaining that it is underpowered.

• Eric G on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:17 pm

I HOPE IT RUNS ON DIESEL!!!

• wakeyme on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:17 pm

http://paultan.org/photo/index.php?album=Proton-Exora-Media-Drive&image=P1020672.JPG

compare with this picture you could spot the different between existing exoras and taped exora. look also size of the back window. window line started from the shoulder goes upright compared to straight window line on the road exoras. there is also reduced gap between rear lamp and bumper. anyone realize that back wiper already gone? definitely new mule for wagon or persona r!

• cut roof to reduce cost and put turbo????

• Faisal on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:20 pm

looks interesting :)

• PutraMalaya on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:21 pm

what a superb job!

• ali38hak on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:27 pm

this is not exora!!!
    there is a new model under it.. maybe new persona or a new model???!!!??

they do it like other brands which use current models up to cover their newbies..

Yeah.. its time to get a new model, the awaited World-Car which was announced :-)

• info from insider. don’t tell anyone i told you this.

coming soon:

Exora PS (pickup truck version – single cab)
    Exora PD (pickup truck version – double cab)
    Exora Coupe (two door version)
    Exora Chancellor (2.0L V6 longer wheel base)
    Exora Neo (hot 2 door turbo charged hatch for the young at heart)
    Exora Emas (hybrid based on original platform)
    Exora PS Emas(pickup truck single cab hybrid)
    Exora PD Emas (pickup truck double cab hybrid)
    Exora Coupe Emas (two door hybrid)
    Exora Chancellor Emas (longer wheel base hybrid)
    Exora Neo Emas (hot hatch for the environmentalists)

• Look like Caldina……? Wagon kot…..

• wow! wider and lower…dats more like it! wih some changes on the light…this gonna be huge worldwide! or maybe start with south east asia first! proton invasion!

• mechanical on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:43 pm

high a bit lower, maybe to re-shape like caldina, wish or new odyssey..

i believe is a turbo version..

if i got one, lowering the suspension..you will say wow!!!!!!

• It looks more like a wagon model than an mpv

• caldina wannabe ………brilliant mitchmatch ……cost efective by proton

• 4G63tDSM on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:54 pm

huh? thats not the Exora..thats something completely different.

Interesting nonetheless.

Looks like an Exora-based stationwagon…..or some drivetrain test mule for the next Persona. But its weird proton would go that far to make a mule.

• freeze on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Paul, thats for sure NOT any regular Exora. Look at the second picture. The roof line comes down quite a bit after the B pillars and goes low till the back. But if you look at the standard exora, its almost straight all the way.

And the waistline is much higher, and comes upwards towards the end

Could it be a smaller version of Exora??

• Horny_James_H on Jul 19, 2010 at 5:59 pm

I like the shape of it

• upinipin on Jul 19, 2010 at 6:00 pm

i think this is Proton SUV, based on exora. I thought i’ve seen a chop by chaku on proton suv before somewhere before…

• ProtonInsider on Jul 19, 2010 at 6:09 pm

Guys, this really is a new Exora Turbo in the making. Launching is due on March next year. Now they are making an extensive test all the way. The platform is of course from the current Exora, but overall height is few centimetres lower than our current Exora. Engine wise, still a Campro. But I’m sorry to say that this is not the CPS one. This is just an ordinary Campro, without IAFM too! The only thing is that–is has been turborised. And yes, they are Caldina-lising this model for purpose. There are few models used as reference in making this latest model of Proton, and they are Honda Odyssey, Honda Stream, Volvo XC90 and Toyota Caldina. For your information, the third row seat is still there. But for tall person, you may find it is not comfortable enough to sit there, because of the limited headroom due to its lowered rear roofline. Anyway, we keep our eye on this model and see how it progress! ;-)

• 4agze on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:04 pm

dream on mate…exora turbo will still be an exora but with turbocharged engine..there is no way they gonna change the body..it just not p1 way to change the body for the same model..to much cost to do that such the new stamping dial just for the purpose of this

• Seriously on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:04 am

agreed. It just doesn’t make sense to have build a new body for the same model. If it is what it is… it should be a new model all by itself. take away the third row seats, and we’ll have something totally new to look forward to :)

• WTF? they already said to some press that it the turbo engine will have CVVT on the intake side. plus that CVT gearbox and the 6-speeder….

• umno juara tipu rakyat on Jul 19, 2010 at 11:43 pm

wow cool!!…lower looking exora definitely sportier!…a caldina with 7 seater! :D

• roofline is soooo damn sleek, unlike the original Exora. this is a major facelift or what? dang i love it <3

most likely: different/bigger muffler = more powerful engine = CPS Turbo :D

• hangmedan on Jul 19, 2010 at 6:32 pm

Chery Eastar new coming model? looks like Chery from back…

• elite on Jul 19, 2010 at 6:32 pm

proton cars…as usual all the hype (from fanboys a.k.a hundreds and thousands of proton staff)…but later on can’t sell more than 500…

• corolla_KE70 on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:07 pm

wow, we got an economist here. care to share some facts regarding proton saler records, friend?

• kimi_ on Jul 19, 2010 at 6:32 pm

The platform is for Waja Lancer or New PErsona,,,,,,The mule or chasis of Exora just for

disguise it..

• Arcane on Jul 19, 2010 at 6:42 pm

High shoulderline, sloping low roofline?

Looks like a wagon.

Taped-up headlamp concealing projectors maybe?

• patrick on Jul 19, 2010 at 6:43 pm

looks like the rebadged mitsui grandis for new proton model?? …put in a v6 2.0 engine..wowwww

• Hm, the ‘C’ column is much too big and the rear side window is too small. This car seems to be much wider & lower than an Exora too…

Could it be, that the ‘wagon back’ is only a camouflage? I mean, that the real car is actually a sedan? ;)

My guess: It’s not an Exora, nor a MPV. It’s a sedan, possibly the sucessor of the Waja or Peradana… :)

• jamal on Jul 19, 2010 at 6:56 pm

waja replacement kluar dulu ke model ni kluar dulu nanti? hmmm

• ribut on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:33 am

waja replacement keluar suku keempat tahun nih…. model ni untuk tahun depan…

• EchoTango23 on Jul 19, 2010 at 6:59 pm

Probably the new Waja – Station-Wagon!!! Remember they say that the new Waja will be launch by the end of the year!

• rrrrriight….a station-wagon. that would make perfect sense, if Malaysia was in Europe.

• Tiadaid on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:05 pm

Hey, Malaysia have a sizeable wagon market. Look at all the Caldinas on the road. Caldina, Stream are wagons, not MPV. I dare say even Alza could be considered as a wagon.

• donno on Jul 19, 2010 at 7:00 pm

A few theories:

1) a 1.6 campro turbo test mule (a bit unlikely, as a powertrain mule rarely has that much camo)

2) a 2.0 mitsu test mule with cosmetic mods for the rumored “mitsubishi exora”

3) a really major facelift of the exora as the roofline is, from the limited angle, really different to the normal exora. The side profile IMO is very un exora-like. especially the doors. the belt-line is so so high. Need more clrearer pics of this thing…

• I think this is the PROJECK PHENOEX a.k.a PROTON PERSONA..!! The suspension looks lower………..

• this is definitely a new model. not exora. because the shape is different with exora. it is lower and the window is getting smaller to the back part which is really different with exora which has the same size of window (in term of the height). but the front part is the same though.

hmmmm…

• I think this is the PROJECT PHOENIX a.k.a PROTON PERSONA..!! The suspension looks lower……….. WOWWW!!

• nichkhun on Jul 19, 2010 at 7:22 pm

louis????????

• modomodo on Jul 19, 2010 at 7:25 pm

yup…definetely caldina wanabe!!!! seems gorgeous…..cant wait to see the actual rear lamp….hopefully differ from exora… price range??

• ???

• nice side profile.. cant wait to see turbocharged car from proton. hope this wil be the one.
    cheers.

• istvan on Jul 19, 2010 at 7:48 pm

wat ever it is, Exora turbo or new model, i believe that under the hood is the turbo version of somethin. Look at the front-side bumper, there is an vertical opening and i believe that is for intercooler!!! Quite difficult to see coz it all black.

• rihayz on Jul 19, 2010 at 7:53 pm

Cermin tepi nampak lain sangat dgn current exora,

• ribut on Jul 20, 2010 at 8:36 am

bila bumbung direndahkan, pasti cermin sisi pun dikecilkan…

• ayoo last time im patiently waited for turbo exora or turbo neo.
    but this time a do up exora turbo or not still a question.

endless waiting. waiting for perfection

• Roxas on Jul 19, 2010 at 8:33 pm

this is a five door hatchback,,
    the waistline is higher than the exora..
    and the windows are thinner n slimmer

• info from funtastiko design

sbnrnya idea ini datang dari concept car proton MSX tu..well harap2 ini totaly practical wagon car yg stunning dgn design yg zoom-zoom heh…

Nice…

• ManualHead on Jul 19, 2010 at 8:44 pm

Looks like wagon …..
    btw.. when is 2010 Waja gonna come out ….

• come on lah guys, it has to be picture distortion. I did some googling, a previous exora spyhot reveals it is probably the same car with the same trade plates. do a comparison with this picture taken from a similar angle.

http://www.ohbulan.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/10/prai-proton-mpv-spyshot-2-large.jpg

• onetwosteadygo on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:48 pm

look at the rim lah.obviously different! haiyoooo

• nope

• malaysia memang boleh on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:54 pm

Haiyo,look at the side profile,obviously the mirror looks smaller and sleeker design,see no wiper at the rear.

• Sean Lim on Jul 19, 2010 at 11:43 pm

This place can be put on any car…
      If you pay more attention, you will see the reflectors are taped differently… also the third piece windows… the distorted pic is fully sealed… but the old pic is not.

• Seriously on Jul 20, 2010 at 10:08 am

i guess automotives isn’t your strongest area huh?

• Norman on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:01 pm

In case,Thats the Soft turbo version Exora which is slated to released next year.Low pressure turbo doesnt need big tail pipe or large intercooler as High pressure one.The advantages of soft turbo is acceleration and mid torque is superb even for diesel ones.

• freeze on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:32 pm

Obviously its a different design. How dumb are you to think that both look alike?

• taboogen on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:43 pm

I heard that there is a gen2 turbo owner are buying exora and turborize the car soon. His old car can go up to 230bhp. Hoping to see his car soon

• arroncyl on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:44 pm

The windows like is smaller than the regular Exora. I think this is a new model of the Exora Family?

• Is new MAZDA 5!

• greasemonkey on Jul 19, 2010 at 9:53 pm

looks like a wagon to me,mayb to fight with alza.

• bryan.jones on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:03 pm

it’s not an exora, not a Waja station wagon. they’re using Exora body to carry out their test using this mule. just look at the gap between the door panel & limited angle window & also the body part. they’re trying to deceive you it’s an exora-facelift or waja-wagon. this will be a new sedan, look at the lowered end. Proton wouldn’t come out with Passat CC wannabe. it’s a sedan testing mule.

• MBX Boy on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:05 pm

My vote: Its a turbo!

• anak2 kita on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:23 pm

no lah this just normal exora n pic was taken senget
    thats why nmpak pintu cermin depan tu kecik skit dr biase

• namkul on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:28 pm

Semua model start gen 2 m’gunakan campro, tapi jaga2 ramai tak tahu oil pan enjin campro rata, bila melakukan pertukaran minyak pastikan anda membuka sekali oil pan kerana sludge(lumpur hitam) akan terkumpul dan masih tertinggal bila penukaran minyak hitam dilakukan, lama2 bila sludge dah banyak ia akan disedut oil pump dan akan menjahanamkan oil pump itu sendiri, kalau anda perhati design mana2 enjin mana ada manufacturer buat rata, proton aje design macam tu suruh kita tukar oil pump baru setiap 5 thn sekali. dah ada org yang terkena. Design failure beb.

• this is a totally new model not pic distortion look at the windows n roof soo low~~~

• Abang Kasim on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:41 pm

HUH..everyday must visit PAUL OCTOPUS..opss.. PAUL TAN BLOG..

Want to know about this MODEL SO MUCH…

PROTON MSXINA CPS Turbo Charged….. (WOWWW..sampai nak terkencing KETERUJAAN)

• Paul, ban or auto delete those with “1st!”… really irritating

• steve webb on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:47 pm

the 2nd picture like being pull side ways making the car look wider.

Finally proton manage to fix their exora website. I couldn’t view the site properly from day 1 the car was launch. Anyway too late i have already got myself another MPV.

• Aman Shah on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:52 pm

wholy cow..the structure, height the exora wants to compete with caldina..great job proton…i think they really want to do drastic changes starting right now! come on…we are waiting for sumthing big! turbo with 170hp perhaps?

• bean_maeko on Jul 19, 2010 at 10:58 pm

this is it!! finally somthin that really i’ve waitin for!! look properly you retards, use the plate number to judge whether its distorted or not. that is the real DEAL. Hidup PROTON!!

• Katak on Jul 19, 2010 at 11:11 pm

That 2nd photo is a result of some crappy cameraphone or error when converting the photo. LOL
    But, I hope it provide Proton with a bright idea.
    For their next design project or any conceptual work, they just distort whatever they have designed in Photoshop!!! Voila!! A crappy design suddenly become interesting & actually make our Paultan reader salivating….(You all can closed your mouth now, It’s still the same Alz….sorry Exora.)
    Save lot of money & no need to employ Mat Salleh design consultant or Korean advisor to do their work^^
    Photoshop Boleh!!! (But in this case, crappy cameraphone boleh!!!!)

• this exora is for real. every part and component is done. no time to waste money by proton simply to make a mule.
    its more of a shooting break alike.

for the engine
    cvvt turbo is completed.
    and as promised its destined to the heavier model range or sports

so this a spacious sportier version of a proton release. prepare for the wave,,,,,,,,,

• Barkcrack on Jul 19, 2010 at 11:13 pm

Pertamax?

You All wrong! That plat number from Jakarta (B=JAkarta). Its actually Indonesian national car, ESEMKA.

• takin on Jul 19, 2010 at 11:38 pm

http://paultan.org/2009/07/16/proton-exora-turbo-based-on-the-exora-prestige/

cube korg tgk link ni..
    turbo kt exora prestige..
    xde hood pn but still turbo!
    soft turbo ;)

• Chyan on Jul 19, 2010 at 11:38 pm

You arsewipes can stop downranking please?

All I see is downranks on every post here. Some of the opinions here are reasonable and some of you fools here still down rank. True faggots.

• ayamxxx on Jul 19, 2010 at 11:43 pm

where’s sifu?
    He usually end up in this forum a few trustful hint!

• proton actually extend savvy platform into a wagon. inside there still 1.2 renault engine with amt. another engine p1 goin to offer will be 1.3 campro IAFM. p1 reuse back exora components to reduce cost. the target market is school bus operator. will be equipped with extra loud horn to call students.

• this shall be revealed in the KLIMS’10.

• Proton nowadays are getting better at keeping their new model under wrapped… bet it is a new model… something sporty, maybe a crossover hatchback just like the Peugeot 3008.

• When Tun M said, “Kita bukan semakin muda….. lajukan idea2 dan produksi….”
      Sbb itu makin laju produk baru proton…

• engine turbo from proton?
    better u all think about condition engine proton made( previous model)
    huhuhu…

• dreamer on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:25 am

i would say this is really exora, with the changes on the door to make the overall flow of side more smooth and sporty, have faith ^^

• WhiteFox on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:44 am

if the picture doesn’t stretch up. i bet this model really change a lot. The most obvious is the small triangle window near side mirror which is total different size from current model.

• This is proton answer to toyota wish. The roof line is much definitely lower with the sleek front. This car probably has the same dimension as the Wish with a turbo campro engine
    If proton would produce this car, it would really become a great hit in the market.

• THIS IS A PROTON EXORA REBAGED MITSUBISHI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:31 pm

ha ha this one is very good. perhaps, its MMC (mitsubishi) doing the testings in malaysia.

• hongleongbank on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:58 am

haiyyooo.. wa balu beli itu exola ma..balu 4 bulan pakai sula kluar itu tulbo balu punya.. mikin manyak panas wa punya hati.. sikalang mau kluar itu exocaldina lagi?? haiyyo.. manyak susah la ini macam..

• Alvin Ng on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:16 am

I don’t care whether it is a Exora Turbo or a Persona R. Hopefully the turbo will be made available to all the proton cars now using the S4PH engine like Persona, Gen.2, and Exora will do. Then it’ll be all fun with the handling and power~!!! Go Proton~!

• teamsleepnine on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:17 am

OBVIOUSLY ITS THE EXORA TURBO…ITS NOT A SECRET THAT THE TURBO WILL FIND ITS WAY ON PROTON NEXT AS THE GM DSZ ALREADY STATED/…

THE QUESTION IS WHY THE ROOFLINE IS VERY CLS’ISH…

• the question is why need a different design for turbo? why just use the normal exora and plug the turbo in…why should waste money!! think about it…

itsz not exora…itz is totally a different car…proton use toyota wish to test exora chassis…and maybe now proton using toyota caldina to test this new car chassis…maybe’

• Ericboy on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:19 am

I think it’s more to 4wd like triton… try to look carefully on the 2nd picture, after the 2nd window,the rear looks like just tape on plastic,and the rear window, just like snap on…

• hukaka on Jul 20, 2010 at 1:28 am

the back light are stick with rear bumper,i believe this time they may come out (grand livina version wagon or 7 seater sport multi utility car,the disk break size are same with current exora,real muffler also same.if the exora lunch the soft turbo will it like toyota hilux
    with out inter-cooler?but base exora plat form it can be different configurations like pick up,normal sedan on this platform.
    still waiting.

• today new paper said that new waja will be launch on desember so for sure it will be launch at KLIMS..and perdana replacement model will start to take place earlu 2011 :) that a good new..

• F1Fans on Jul 20, 2010 at 3:28 am

Exora + caldina = Exona
    or Exdina

• IMHO it looks like a caldina-ish design…huhuhuh

• i think is mitsubshi grandis.since p1 and mitsubishi is patner now.

• Proton LOL on Jul 20, 2010 at 11:38 am

its a Exora Aeroback…

• The Unicons on Jul 20, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Exora is more boxy type just like Toyota Innova. Now to imagine this prototype, as sportier look of MPV just like the Honda Stream RSZ. Hahaha….

Before, I do hope Proton comes out with a more sportier MPV like the Honda Stream RSZ. Is my wish / hope come true? hahaha…

• ngage on Jul 20, 2010 at 4:57 pm

Proton SUV?

• d3niel on Jul 20, 2010 at 6:53 pm

Malaysia 1st Caldina ? HAHA

• Neutral on Jul 20, 2010 at 7:40 pm

Mitsubishi Grandis lah…benchmark study la tuh..

• should the light falls lower ,it gives some volvo v70 cue

• hongleongbank on Jul 21, 2010 at 9:50 am

it kinda resemble a volvo v80. is it. more or less a wagon. a seven seater. price it under 90k and it will sell. but a note for proton, please improve the interior and the dashboard. give ur customers some sense of a little luxury. so that we dont feel like being in a viva ( too much cheap plastic), eventhough driving an mpv.

• Proton bought 20units T.Wish for reverse engineering to make Exora.
    Maybe they use the tech to create another mpv?

• the rear looks funny.. most probably not the final design.. but I could be wrong hahaha…

• bentuk lbh kurang mcm mitsubishi grandis…..kalau proton nak tangkap balik custmer n push up the market, proton kena upgrade enjin utk model nie, paling kurang pun 2.0 @ 2.4, baru padan dgn body model baru nie…..kalau tak caya, cuba try dulu….model2 keta spt mitsubishi, honda, toyota n etc dah lama buat. Proton bila lg nak maju ke hadapan……Good Luck!!!

• Waja 2 on Jul 27, 2010 at 8:12 pm

its look like exora kna penyek…

• arroncyl on Aug 09, 2010 at 9:54 pm

This version got sunroof or not??

• sun-sun on Aug 10, 2010 at 8:22 am

macam CALDINA…hahaha..
    mcm kete xsiap pn ada..

• vsixers0429 on Sep 17, 2010 at 9:06 pm

shape looks like toyota caldina type. hope they use beige interior and the engine works well.

• hub4port on May 15, 2011 at 10:34 am

This can’t be another 7 seator .. otherwise it will kill big share of exora market.
    Proton can’t afford to let it happen, given investment in exora body production line.
    So I bet it is turbo charged upgrade of uncle Waja. gone waja, come wajabo.

• it’s hybrid…. look at the honda and toyota hybrid… the back of the car is similar shape..