Nissan shedding weight in the design of future models

Even though emission standards don’t affect us Malaysians in our ownership of a car, it has and will drastically change the way cars are designed. This is so that car companies will be able to meet standards set by the EU, which is one of the biggest car buying markets in the world.

In a bid to meet those stricter standards, Nissan has announced that they will be slashing the weight of their models by 15 percent, compared to 2005 models. Nissan also aims to increase fuel economy in its fleet to about 30 percent by 2015. This is said to involve cutting up to 110 kilograms from the next generation of each model, giving a 5 percent increase in fuel economy for each car.

The company’s diet regime will comprise of three processes, which is the use of new engineering and design architectures, lightweight material such as high tensile steel and advanced construction.

A good example of this process is in the redesigning of the Infiniti M. The car shed 15 kilograms by just using high tensile steel. It lost another 1.4 kilograms when they replaced the car’s solid synthetic resin floor undercover with a spongy foam core. The Nissan 370Z also lost 20 kilograms by using aluminum steel instead of steel, just for the doors and the boot lid.

Other avenues for reducing weight are in the vehicle construction process. Components are usually made slightly thicker as it takes into account some margin of error in forecasting bending and breaking points. Thus if they use more accurate computer modeling, engineers can do away with the extra bulk.

Jacob Alexander

Jacob Mathew Alexander has been a motoring nut for as far as he can remember and has recently turned his passion into writing. After spending some time in the same industry in the UK, Jacob's work is from a slightly different perspective.

• Yes … more carbon firber please ! Say yes to carbon fiber and light weight materials…:)

• frossonice on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:21 pm

Unless they find a way to mass produce carbon fibre at low cost, I don’t see that happening any sooner.

I would suggest cloth-like fabric like one being used on BWM concept GINA. With the world in a hurry to develop electric car which will not produce that much heat, I think using fabric as body skin on the car is a good idea. Yes, there will be many negative points arises.

But imagine one day when we can change the look of our car with simple fabric replacement, just like we change cloth.

• Kevin on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:01 pm

Lotus has the answer to weight management.

I know some cars that use a steel inner structure, and fiber/polymer panels as the outer structure.

Im driving such a car now. Its called smart cars. The cars are ugly, but that concept can be used to reduce weight.

• Jho Low on Sep 22, 2010 at 1:22 pm

Won’t make that much of a difference for a fat rich bastard like me. :D

• lol at the statement.
    at least nissan under carlos ghosn is going to a direction which is right.

• squawk on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:28 pm

Weight reduction will benefit us somewhat too but what about engines? How will we benefit when these carmakers are focused on meeting EU standards e.g. Euro 5 (6, 7, 8…..) and these engines can’t be used here because of our petrol & diesel quality? Does it mean we should expect the current model ranges to stay with us for a while? Or will we get new models with old or detuned engines?

• Kambing Gurun on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:32 pm

P2 is actually the pioneer in producing light weight cars. Kancil was light weight. Viva is also light weight… Feeling like “terbang” everytime I drive it hahaha

• tikus on Sep 22, 2010 at 5:21 pm

Proton also mah…1st Gen Saga also light weight. That once we call it Milo Tin Can Car.”MTCC” Looks like we Malaysia is the pionneer that produce light weight car.If Nissan want to produce ask us.

• The Loner on Sep 22, 2010 at 4:47 pm

Hopefully future Nissan vehicles sold here have lighter weight with good safety features, not light in weight and “milo tin” quality.

• Jimmy on Sep 22, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Lack of brain or what?
    Milo-tin can never win in collision one, future sylphy versus corolla, eg 950kg vs 1280kg, who will win?
    Nissan always invests in something that most customers don’t want, unlike Toyota.
    Can you learn from or copycat Toyota, eg whatever that is available in Corolla, you make it available in Sylphy and with better quality and additional goodies.
    And improve the aesthetic of your car; your sylphy is a good wife who is FAT.