We found this cool video on Nasim’s peugeotmalaysia Youtube page featuring YS Khong and his son Ian “warming up” the Peugeot 207 before its Malaysian market introduction. The father and son duo show it’s perfectly possible for a front wheel drive sedan to slide around corners in the video! Enjoy the video embedded above! If you have the spare bandwidth, remember to select the 1080P resolution for the best full screen viewing.
After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.
AI-generated Summary ✨
Comments on the blog post "VIDEO: Peugeot 207 Sedan 'Extreme Test'" largely express disappointment and skepticism about the video's claim of being an "extreme test," with many calling it staged or unremarkable. Several critiques focus on poor handling, body roll, and the car's dull appearance, especially the rear design. Some defenders praise the effort in advertising but acknowledge the video doesn’t truly showcase the car’s capabilities. There is also discussion about the car’s suitability for Malaysian roads, pricing, and comparison with other brands like Proton, Honda, and VW. Overall, sentiments range from dismissive and critical to amused, with most comments doubting the "extreme" nature of the test and questioning its relevance and execution.
yeah.. i wasted 2 minutes of my time waiting for the so called “extreme” thing but nothing…
i love the front fascia, but i wish they could make the back less boring.
stop comforting yourself. if you can afford it, go buy it.
stop whinning and stop wasting time here defending p1. Unless P1 pay you for that.
if he drives a p1, he cannot afford other car, or he doesnt like driving(other car).
You got 100k, you can afford anything 100k, but you can only buy 1. If you do not spend that 100k, means its hard to come by, and after you spent it, you cannot show off already, cos you only have one 100k,. hahahhahahaha.
Why need to do extreme test for this segment of car? Just because it’s assembled here? Why not do it on 3008? And for the umpteenth time, when will they launch the 5008??
aisay, you going to buy 5008 meh? should be coming lah. just be patientlah. 3008? no need to do lah. for what? can’t even fulfill the orders now some more want to promote meh?
First ,with a car that ugly, you have to think ‘outside’ of the box to do an advertisement for it , second , a person buying a car that ugly is obviously not enthusiastic about cars … let alone drive them around full speed….
dude, bear in mind that the pseudo-207 comes with stuff like ABS, airbags, and even an automatic gearbox!!! so it’s not too bad after all, this video.
I mean, come on guys!!!!! They’re just doing this video to show how well this car can take it rough. If you’d do this to even some other cars on sale now, say a Vios, it may not be able to take it as rough as we think!
AGREE!! they should drive it at speed on Jalan Maarof, and then Section 16 and Section 17 and then into Lebuh Ampang and the vicinities of Cap Square and end in the Jalan Pasar area…
if the car does not rattle after that… it is a very good buy…
Wei you must be joking! Try lah Pasir Gudang highway especially from MMHE to Tanjung Langsat. Especially in front of Johor Port. Then you’ll understand the ‘Rally Look’ of their Wiras.
they should do something else better to promote this car. N i do agree that the back of the car looks dull. Proton has done better in turning its savvy into saga.
extreme huh? LOL … try making the gearbox more reliable, improve after-sales service and spare parts la Nasim… these stunts were so 80s la. Proton Saga also can do it.
1. The gearbox is reliable. How many gearbox failures have you heard of?
2. They are upgrading their network and spares already. Read Paultan’s coverage of that.
haha …i was a previous owner bro. I dont rant aimlessly as i hv a soft spot for this brand. Reality is, there are loads of it, network qty doesnt equal quality and there’s still unreasonable leadtime for spares.
U give a pro any car and of course they can do anything. Heck, u give me the car and let me do anything I want with it I’ll show u some extreme test. My mat saleh friends don’t call me Crazy Malaysian for nothing.
In fact, most Malaysian drivers are crazy!!! Those racing teams dunno what they’re missing by not coming here to scout for talents outside of rich buggers
you are right. the kiddies here think a handbrake turn is easy to execute. i dare them to post their effort to paul in their own FWD car and to make it lookk professional. my guess is, nobody will take up the challenge simply because they have not gotten their license yet.
i tried to do it in my toyota today. hopeless results!! so, imho, it ain’t easy to execute a proper handbrake turn. i even tried it on a wet road today to make sure it is easy to slide but bleah!
Whoa… looks like many people don’t like the car. But knowing Malaysians in general, if the price is right, it will do quite well. Maybe not as good as vios or city, but can lah… ;-)
Many also don’t like the word “extreme” used in the title. Well, considering that the car is a city car, with “stretched” rear end some more, taking it off-road at high speed is considered extreme lah. Anymore than that, considered beyond extreme lah. And will need special effects or CGI already.
That so called “extreme driving” could have been done in any car also. Nothing special about this video at all. Anyone can drive like that in an empty car park.
You know how some people just aint photogenic? Same goes to this car. In person, it really looks better. I was apprehensive when I first saw the initial pics, but after checking it out at the showroom, it really isn’t bad at all.
This video can be considered “extreme” to some extent what. I don’t see anyone using this sort of car to do this sort of driving :p Nice shot of the suspension going through the bumps!
What I can see from the video clip is the two cars are swinging from left to right and vice versa….and the clips definitely not extreme at all….as what the above said, very boring! perhaps is Extreme Boring!
Well, I can see the solidness of the car from exterior and must stand far away, but, the ride is really funny…..such car should sell at RM 40-50K instead of at that price.
Most of us compared our car price wif PROTON, we all are GOD DAMN WRONG! we should compare with Thailand, Indonesia and Philipine……we’re getting such a GOD DAMN EXPENSIVE CARE!
well, off course its perfectly possible for a front wheel drive sedan to slide into corners..
nothing like pulling the parking brake and a long rear to help you slide, anyone could do it, but to do it without going 360 is the challenge..
i do agree with some of the poster, this is just like a gimick Proton used to do with its car, it was said to show the toughness of the car?
Bullshit!.. toughness is being able to go through a full year or normal use without anything falling apartment.
Anyhow, I don’t think the rear treatment is as bad as I thought it would be. Its just as good or ugly as a Mazda 2 sedan and the previous Honda City. I haven’t seen the Fiesta in real life yet.
I do like the front end though. Probably priced around rm70k to 80k… but who knows…
it’s not drifting if it’s done on a FWD car either.
it’s called @ss dragging.
You pull your handbrake, lock up the rear wheels, and drag that sorry @ss through a turn.
I just wanted to share some of our local talent punya stunt driving. I have a soft spot for any kind of local car videos since i know its tougher work To produce than you think, as we also have our own tv show. Nothing to do with advertisement.
Come on…..ask any senior mechanics and they will tell you about Pugs, Citroens and Renaults can well go haywire without warning. Go for some reliable Japs car….if you do not want to be stranded somewhere after few years down the road.
please promote your japanese cars in a japanese car post. thanks! :D your info is with ‘senior mechanics’ who probably have no idea about modern european cars. no offence but perhaps they need to stay with the times.
agreed, older europeans were a little more ‘charismatic’ than today’s cars.
honestly is like making them self look like a bunch of jokers.. these cars are not meant to be driven like this!! . 207 is for mummy to send their child to school or go market. NOT stunts like this… or back and forth from home to office.
yeah.. more mommy would want to buy this 207.. but probably daddy won’t approve. mommy get myvi or saga instead…. or if the couple have many kids, mommy gets exora or alza.
eh.. why you said mummy?.. mummy is the Egypt’s Pharaoh la.. should be mommy.
Off topic – Paul/Danny, do you have news of the driverless Italian vans that are journeying from Italy to China? I think they should’ve reached China by now.
As far as I know a kind of twist beam but the difference is, I’ve been told, in the shocks (made in-house by Peugeot) and the fact that velocity-wise, the vertical damper strokes are about 2.5 times that of the vertical movement of the wheel.
Obviously it uses non-independent torsion beam (on a 206 platform while masquerading as a 207-derived vehicle).. When you see the drivers doing those silly handbrake turns, such as those around the 30-second mark, notice how the inner rear wheel tends to lift up away from the road when the outer rear wheel bites down hard during the turn, resulting in a greater loss of traction compared to an independent rear suspension setup.
Finally someone sees the point in this exercise! You’re a breath of fresh air among the bashers in here. Maybe wrong ad but heck, hopefully, it shows that the car can take some abuse. And if anyone says that other cars can do it, let’s have the video link for it! The condition is… it must be a car sold in Malaysia and the video shot in Malaysia. Fair challenge?
Everybody feels Malaysian love sedans better than a hatch. Their marketing guys go back to HQ and reports this. Add a little bit of drama; local manufacture, rehash jobbies are good, they’ll never know the difference, local competition do it and increases sales blah blah blah. They would never say that more local service centers would help the brand. They would never say a Prince engine would help. They would never say a teeny tiny turbo would sell. The right thing to do would be the MOST expensive thing to do. Which makes it harder for marketing people to justify that much amount of investment.
So they whip out Pepakura Designer and slap on the additional weight and instant luggage volume enhancer. Consumers are at fault. Companies will make what people will buy. If we keep buying lame-o cars, they’ll keep making lame-o cars. Their competition keep making the same lame-o xcuse to make even more lame-o cars.
it is not always as easy as it seems. it would be ideal to slap on a prince engine or bolt on a turbo but perhaps, the rules are different in this game.
anyway, malaysia is still sedan country like it or not and companies will give the consumer what they want. a small percentage will demand the best technology in perhaps a hatch form… the way europeans are going but many are still stuck with the idea that the safest motoring is the most basic motoring (case in point – the nissan sentra and previously, sunny) and there must be a boot tacked on of course. the prevailing thinking is that a boot behind gives not only more space but better crash protection from the back. if you don’t believe me, just ask anyone why they bought a sedan rather than an equivalent hatchback.
so who’s to blame? the company that sells the car or the consumer that wants the car? the company will only sell what the consumer wants and the consumer will only buy what they want. it is a relationship that has gone on for ages.
I’ll blame the govt for not demanding higher safety specifications from manufacturers. The govt for not regulating cleaner emissions. The govt for allowing Mainland cars be sold here. The govt for over taxing quality cars. The govt for putting citizens lives at stake. The govt for not providing/allowing the best possible alternatives for it’s citizens.The govt for the people, by the people. Even if we change govt, it’ll still be the same.
I’ll blame manufacturers and the govt.
If you want to take vids of front wheel drive cars “drifting” , take la the video and burn it into DVDs to show to your uncles-aunties during raya or CNY or deepavali or whatever . Otherwise store the DVDs under your bed.
Sharing it on youtube in hope for promoting how interesting your new front wheel car could …”drift” (omg i feel so disgusted to put this word here along with the 207)
When I go to chverolet dealer to see the cruze, the salesman cum pro driver put the cruze in this type of ” extreme” test to see the traction control of the cruze. I think this is naza marketing strategy to show customer how good is their car.:)
everyday ‘extreme driving’? those stunts are choreographed and performed by professionals who are from the saab performance team. it is anything but everyday. it was also most probably planned by world famous (if you’re old enough to know) saab rally driver, erik carlsson. maybe you need to check for the definition of ‘everyday’. and the video you showed was on the old 9000. you should see what they can do today with the 9-3. but to be fair, the 9-3 has bags of horses and torque. this little car is doing the very best it can with whatever ponies it has. so, i guess it is pretty good for what it can do.
I’m pretty sure it was Remy Julliene’s stunt team that did this ad!! They did similar ads for Fiat and others too way back in the 70s and 80s, and even during the 90s!
1. What is the objective of this so call “Extreme Driving”?
2. Is there any data been collected during this “Extreme Driving”?
3. What data has been collected from “Extreme Driving”?
4. During “Extreme Driving”, what is the result?
5. If there’s result, how u measure it? What is the Measure? whats is the control item?
huh.. berpeluh ni mau jawab.. just wanna gain something new knowledge
Maybe it’s ‘Extreme’ within the context of a B-Segment commuter car. BTW I just drove the car for the first time ever during lunch at Peugeot’s Rapide centre, Ampang. Not bad. It’s a compact, nippy sedan with lots of features.
I’m pretty sure they’ve got some mean machines at home as their personal rides, only that they’ve been paid by Naza to make fools of themselves with these not-so-capable cars.
wrong marketing plan laa naza. most malaysian dont need their car to be like this. here some tips how to convince malaysian
– a car must able to go up genting. so show laa how does the car hike up and down the genting.
– a car must able to carry family balik kampung. so show laa how the ride through jalan kuala lipis – gua musang, karak highway, north-south high way, jalan kuala kubu, etc.
– show how the car can overtake L driver, lori balak, lori kontena, lori pasir, lori alam flora, lori ayam, bus rapid KL, etc.
– show how the bags can fit in the back.
– for city drive, show how the car can easily park, how the car can cilok and potong q.
– show the the cabin in term of sound, how quiet it is, and sound of the doors closing.
– show how the car can fit in 5 offce ppl (or 6 if possible) going out for lunch.
– show how the interior can easily be clean from chocolate, nose pickings, etc.
– then mention that the fuel consumption is better or a least in par with T and H.
i think the above can help convince malaysian to buy your car.
hey, at least yamseng put some thought to it! :D good job. others just come and bash but this post is actually useful and nasim people should make a note of the comments.
Hahah.. lookit them cars bouncing around on soft suspension. This viral makes the car look bad instead. During an emergency situation, this kind of wobbling is definately dangerous. Malaysian cars are better tuned for the low quality Malaysian roads. What else can you say about a Mainland only car (now available in other third world countries) ?
It’s not sold in Europe, the 207 is sold in Europe. I’ll say it again, will the real 207 please stand up..
Enjoyed the video tremendously. Good job to the production team and also to YS and Ivan? is it not? Maybe not Ivan..oh well.
Anyway a simple pug can be gamed. And scored. Jap makes of the same segment? Bagaikan langit dengan bumi. Nuff said.
AI-generated Summary ✨
Comments on the blog post "VIDEO: Peugeot 207 Sedan 'Extreme Test'" largely express disappointment and skepticism about the video's claim of being an "extreme test," with many calling it staged or unremarkable. Several critiques focus on poor handling, body roll, and the car's dull appearance, especially the rear design. Some defenders praise the effort in advertising but acknowledge the video doesn’t truly showcase the car’s capabilities. There is also discussion about the car’s suitability for Malaysian roads, pricing, and comparison with other brands like Proton, Honda, and VW. Overall, sentiments range from dismissive and critical to amused, with most comments doubting the "extreme" nature of the test and questioning its relevance and execution.