Mercedes-Benz S250 CDI – first 4-cylinder S-Class

For the first time in 60 years since the history of the flagship Mercedes-Benz S-Class, it will be available with a 4-cylinder engine. The first ever 4-cylinder S-Class model will be the Mercedes-Benz S250 CDI, using their new 2.2 litre twin-turbocharged diesel engine making 204 horsepower and 500Nm of torque. That’s probably more than enough torque to move the large luxo-barge around – it’s definitely more than the petrol-powered baseline S300 that’s sold here in Malaysia.

There are currently no Mercedes-Benz diesels officially on sale in Malaysia, and I think the new “250 CDI” engine is officially incompatible with our Euro 2M diesel fuel, since the C250 CDI test unit that was available only to selected media to drive earlier in the year used fuel that was specially imported from overseas.

The S250 CDI will also get auto stop-start technology, and combined with the turbodiesel engine it is rated to achieve a combined fuel consumption of 5.7 litres per 100km and output CO2 of 149g/km, which Mercedes-Benz claims is the first vehicle in its class to be able to hit CO2 emissions of lower than 150g/km. 0 to 100km/h is reached in 8.2 seconds.

And what are the company’s rivals doing? BMW CEO Norbert Reithofer said there are no plans at the moment for a 4-cylinder 7-Series, even saying at last month’s Paris 2010 show that he likes selling 7-Series with 6 and 8 cylinder engines. BMW plans to offer “electrification” of the existing 6 cylinder and 8 cylinder engines instead, which probably means some kind of hybrid solution.

Audi does have a 4-cylinder A8 in the plans but it involves a gasoline engine (probably Volkswagen Group’s widely used 2.0 TSI engine) instead of Mercedes-Benz’s turbodiesel approach.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ramun on Nov 09, 2010 at 11:29 pm

Why the signal does not follow E class concept? like u can see the “E”

• Freeman on Nov 09, 2010 at 11:35 pm

Go ahead, call me old-fashioned…. A S-Class fitted with a 4-cylinder, whether it’s turbo-charged, super-charghed or whatever just doesn’t seemed right…. I sincerely hope they are still selling at least a V6 powered S-class when I finally could afford a brand new one,

• Since when they are gonna selling V6 powered S-class? The making this 2.5 diesel so that people can afford a luxury car that is affordable to maintain. Well done Mercedes. Mercedes is very careful when lauching something new. Great car

• freeman on Nov 10, 2010 at 5:12 pm

No V6? what type of engine you think Merc use to power S300 and S350?

• merc owner on Nov 10, 2010 at 1:43 am

the problem with you is not old-fashioned, the problem is, you have never driven a turbo-charged mercedes benz CGI or CDI car. trust me, once you do try it out, V6, V8 or V10 will just be another useless digit on the shell.

• Paul Tan on Nov 10, 2010 at 1:47 am

I’ve driven the 5 cylinder W211 E270 CDI and love the power delivery!

• Bobob on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:02 am

Me too, I m driving W211E270CDI, the tork is superb and topspeed 230km is no problem.

• freeman on Nov 10, 2010 at 5:18 pm

Who says I never driven CDi? I’d tried both E250CDi and E300. I prefer the V6, it feels hell a lot ‘proper’. That’s my opinion anyway. You dun have to agree with me.

• BeemerFreak on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:52 am

I happen to own a 320d. man if u were not told it is a 4 cylinder diesel car, you would have thought that it has 6 or more. European diesel engines are just unbelievable. smooth, torquey and even rather high revving.

Good job to benz.

• Diablo on Nov 11, 2010 at 12:19 pm

You just can’t attain the same smoothness of a well balanced V6 with a 4cyl. Regardless of the power. There is certainly a difference though most of us will find the 4cyl in Mercs to be just as adequate due to good isolation and damping . I can feel the difference.

• bryan.jones on Nov 09, 2010 at 11:35 pm

turbodiesel 2.2L for this giant.. hmm…

• BeemerFreak on Nov 09, 2010 at 11:36 pm

Where is the promised EURO 4M diesel and petrol promised for this year?

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 09, 2010 at 11:41 pm

i remember not too long ago that a sports car that has a 0-100km/h time of less than 9 seconds is considered fast. Now even this ultra large car can do it in just 8.2secs. What’s more remarkable is that it’s the so called basic spec engine.
    I think this car is ideal for city driving as it has alot of torque. As you can see there’s many s-class cars that’s just used to chauffeur people around in the city and this would be a very good alternative

• littlefire on Nov 10, 2010 at 12:00 am

Where is our EURO4 fuel standard that our G promise?!? I want it now! Even it is expensive, at least i can drive better performance diesel engine + cheaper fuel consumption compare to those Petrol heads…

• dickybird on Nov 10, 2010 at 12:20 am

coz proton got no diesel engine ma.

• Road tax for Diesel in Malaysia is almost twise the price of a petrol car road tax. If you travel alot,the Diesel is worthy.

• Paul Tan on Nov 10, 2010 at 1:24 am

Diesel and Petrol road tax are exactly the same now lah.

• mikey on Nov 10, 2010 at 2:45 am

Really? So 2.5 Liter Hilux road tax cost the same of petrol 2.5 which is RM800?
            Please let me know.Thanks,

• Bobob on Nov 10, 2010 at 7:04 am

Biar betul, my W211E270 cost me RM1600 on roadtax lohh!!!

• dodgeviper88 on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:51 am

Diesel used to be half the price of petrol therefore it’s only fair that diesel taxes are twice the amount compared to petrol taxes. Now since petrol & diesel prices are almost the same their road tax is the same as well.

• The Loner on Nov 10, 2010 at 10:10 am

Applicable in Penisular Malaysia but not for 4WD diesel vehicles in East Malaysia.

• this is very good model..diesel is well known for the torque..but this is turbo added..
    it is sufficient enough to move the car smoothly..
    bigger engines maybe good outside malaysia but not here since the bigger engine the lower price value..
    look at 5-6 yrs old previous s class s320 which initially 3/4 million..its the same value as bmw 318i e46..

• tishaban on Nov 10, 2010 at 12:58 am

Just because you guys won’t buy a 4-cylinder S-class diesel doesn’t mean that there’s no market for it. It’s a big world and lots of people want an S-class no matter what engine it uses.

• Gavin on Nov 10, 2010 at 1:56 am

with proton looking at hybrids and gov reducing tax on those cars, looks like high quality diesel is not coming

• longjaafar on Nov 10, 2010 at 10:41 am

Is the government listening to all this talk about the need for us to get good diesel?
    My take is that they hear but do not listen. After all, they are the bosses, and there’s nothing we can do if they refuse to even consider it.
    In the meanwhile, we fall back further from our neighbours, who are already using better diesel. The irony is that we make the best diesel in the world, but we export all of them. The last time we heard from the a deputy minister is that they do not want to increase the cost of transport companies if they are to use higher grade diesel. Since when did anyone say anything about forcing them? We are saying that we are willing to pay for good diesel (at leats euro4). Of course they have to ‘study’ first and probably make several study tours, before coming back to write a paper etc etc.

• tishaban on Nov 10, 2010 at 3:22 pm

sorry longjaafar, the governments are not supposed to be the bosses. They are the rakyat’s servants, government servants but they act like bosses.

But I agree with you. If they can have three types of petrol for the longest time (RON95, 97 and VPower), what’s wrong with having two types of diesels if those “transportation companies” are so adamant about keeping Euro 2 diesel around?

• zanggief on Nov 10, 2010 at 11:26 am

It is now very common for the down size trend but yet much more powerful output for the car ecspecially the continental machine. I agree with u guys coz this is one of the good selection for MB to provide new selection for users. The diesel in bolehland will definitely make this engine to speed up for overhaul. Even there is road map of 2011 for euroIV grade to be introduced if not mistaken there are still many other models from continental / japan set for euroV and euro VI is coming the way. Motor fans will have to spend time in order to enjoy the latest technology from MB..

• mitlanevo on Nov 10, 2010 at 11:36 am

high tech engines + 3rd world diesel = DEATH

• dieselpetrol on Nov 10, 2010 at 8:53 pm

Hi, can I ask the Merce diesel owners in Malaysia about its maintenance? I am planning to buy one Merce Diesel but not sure should get a petrol or diesel. Diesel is cheaper but in M’sia diesel is not as clean so we will need to change the fuel pump or fuel filter regularly? How frequent needs this change, kindly let me know and perhaps help me decide to buy diesel or petrol! :) thanks.