Telephone interview with Tony Fernandes of Lotus Racing

With just over a day to go for the final title-deciding race of 2010, we have managed to score an exclusive telephone interview with team principal of Lotus Racing, Tony Fernandes. Although it was a rather short interview, slightly over six minutes to be exact, we managed to ask the airline owner a number of questions including his take on the issue of using the Team Lotus name next year. Fernandes expressed his confidence in keeping the Team Lotus name and said that the acquisition of the name was legitimate. Check out the interview below and do have your say at the comments section.

Harvinder Sidhu

Harvinder thinks there's nothing better than Formula 1, not even sliced bread. Having written about cars since 2006, he plunged head first into the industry out of a passion for all things four-wheeled. The F1 enthusiast has been following the sport since 1999 and has been keeping up with it since. In between races he keeps himself busy as the host of the Driven motoring show and as our version of the Joker.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments mainly focus on the legitimacy and heritage of the Lotus name in F1, with many supporting Tony Fernandes’s efforts despite some criticism and skepticism. Several comments emphasize that Lotus Racing was not originally owned by Group Lotus or Proton, and that Tony acquired the brand rights legally. While supporters commend Fernandes’s passion and investment in the team, critics highlight political and commercial motivations, expressing concern over the true legacy versus the commercial use of the Lotus name. There’s a general acknowledgment of Fernandes’s achievements, but also nuanced debates about brand authenticity, heritage, and the impact on Malaysian motorsport. Overall, sentiments are a mix of support, skepticism, and factual clarifications about the complex history and ownership issues surrounding the Lotus brand.

• Teamsleepnine on Nov 13, 2010 at 5:59 pm

Legitimate?…yes,morally??

• remp it on Nov 17, 2010 at 10:41 pm

How to improve motor sport in malaysia, where the common young ppl are riding a bike or a beat up old car?

how do we actually talk about handling and speed where we are struggling to merely get to a location?

UK is always the center of motor sport development. a lot of reasons, but i think the exposure to great handling cars at low price helps a lot.

how many young ppl knows about handling? heard of lancia? delta? its the whole environment. Thats why the local design is so bad. They are not exposed to the world.

F1? how many can actually afford for a race in our local go kart stadium? Rm100 for 1 hour? you kidding me? that is not expensive?

thats why the young europeans can get into F1, they go kart since 6 years old!! and they have tonnes and tonnes of ppl to choose from. How many normal malaysian get to race/karting? only the rich kids. and not many of them anyway.

F1? come on.

• Great work to be able to catch Tony alone, but disappointed by the quality of the phone call. It was breaking up~!

• Paul Tan on Nov 13, 2010 at 6:17 pm

International call, what to do.

• tokmoh on Nov 13, 2010 at 6:20 pm

Skype?

Perhaps you can write a full script of the interview in text. Useful for those browsing this on mobile.

• ko malu saje... on Nov 13, 2010 at 8:00 pm

Tony: Why the line so bad ah?

Paul: Cos I’m using TuneTalk.

Tony: …

• tokmoh on Nov 13, 2010 at 6:19 pm

Quick!! And I was reading the tweet just now, it’s already uploaded lol.

Well Tony, you and Group Lotus gotta strike up a deal somehow. Make it like Red Bull, having two teams with same owner. Hopefully Lotus will have similar ending to this saga.

• Ferruccio on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:14 am

The current Mclaren team has no resemblance or connection whatsoever to the original Mclaren team started by Bruce Mclaren

• Technically legit. Spiritually hollow. Can’t imagine the same model being applied to Mercedes and Ferrari.

But the technicality IMHO stops at the name “Team Lotus”. The colours and the ABCC badge don’t seem to be included in the value meal.

• Restaurant Lotus Nasi Kandar on Nov 13, 2010 at 6:48 pm

if he lose then he have to repaint all the planes back into red.

• clive chapman on Nov 13, 2010 at 7:47 pm

he may have won the right for the name but to win the heart of the pure lotuses gonna take a lot more than that. and i dont see it happen anytime soon. cheers

• Walter Wolf on Nov 13, 2010 at 8:10 pm

ABCC? I think it’s CABC as in Colin Anthony Bruce Chapmanm

• donadoni on Nov 13, 2010 at 8:13 pm

i hope to hear the news about the petrobras as their oil supplier soon..

• SeriuosSAM on Nov 13, 2010 at 8:31 pm

tony should sell that team lotus name to group lotus and use the money to further develope his current team.

yes current renaultf1 seems very competitive but that doesn’t mean they’ll remain competitive next year. Kubica in abu dhabi express his concern that renaultf1 is not yet develope next year car when most of the team across the paddock has now turn their focus to next year car.

good luck for proton if they decide to sponsor RenaultF1 for dany bahar
    good luck for tony’s team as well.

• Is Dato Tony, not Mr Tony.. :)

• Ferruccio on Nov 14, 2010 at 2:05 am

It’s actually Dato’s Sri Dr Tony now :) though he personally doesn’t really care for the salutations. Not surprisingly, neither does Sir Richard Branson

• drMpower on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:30 pm

i swear i read on the sport pages on NST last few weeks. its Datuk Seri Dr Tony.

how did they ever got a Dr i personally dont know. but i am itching and interested to know.

since he got no medical background, i suppose his Dr isnt medical related title. it must be from Ph.D study or ….. i just leave it blank.

ps- it just here we got phd scholar to use Dr. in the front. in other countries, they got the name as it is in ID card and then at the end of the full name they just put a bracket of his phd. example anthony ong (phd)

• Ferruccio on Nov 15, 2010 at 2:22 am

I saw that it was an honorary doctorate. Don’t remember which uni but I think its local. I could be wrong. More interesting is the French award Legion d’Honneur which I read is the highest French award an outsider can receive. This I think has to do with the amount of business he generated for Airbus

• drMpower on Nov 15, 2010 at 2:44 am

what? he got such honour from french as well? wow wow wow, hes now what….?

datuk seri dr french award tony?

yay yay yay

• Driver on Nov 15, 2010 at 10:07 am

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Legion_d%27Honneur

Please refer the 2010 recipient list

• Aidid Rizal on Nov 13, 2010 at 9:38 pm

From the original named 1Malaysia F1 team to Team Lotus, how is that legit, when he doesn’t own the brand/carmaker? I feel pathetic seeing “Lotus Racing’s” Green-Yellow-Green Guitar Pick logo on the Green Polo T-shirts advertised on AirAsia’s in-flight merchandise magazine. It’s a total corruption to the original ACBC logo (Anthony Colin Bruce Chapman). You should be ashamed of yourself Mr. Tony Fernandez, for racking profits in millions from this business adventure of yours which makes a mockery of the true spirit of Lotus Cars.

• Driver on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:24 pm

Go do some research before make any comment. Read the history of Lotus and how it racing brand end up.

• Teamsleepnine on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:47 pm

Agree.

• Diablo on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:06 am

If you’ve been reading the reports, he has not made a single penny. He has invested a huge amount with the partners in the team. He does own the ‘Team Lotus’ brand. he bought it from David Hunt, under Team Lotus Ventures Ltd(TLV). Group Lotus since 1996 tried to challenge those rights owned by TLV but have never succeeded. What does that tell you?

• frossonice on Nov 14, 2010 at 1:26 am

As I remember, Mrs Chapman and her son did support Tony and his Lotus Team. And Lotus Cars is totally a different entity from Team Lotus. Check you fact.

I suppose you are one of those patriotic nonsense who really hates Tony for whatever reason you have inside your heart. Read more and you’ll realise that in western countries, people are more appreciative of Lotus Racing compare with us here.

• Driver on Nov 13, 2010 at 10:46 pm

Seeming like many of us still don’t know the real history of Lotus. Team Lotus and Group Lotus aka Lotus Cars are 2 separate entity. http://joesaward.wordpress.com/2010/09/22/a-mess-developing-in-malaysia/

http://bbs.hellof1.com/1566891-1.html

Joe Saward is respectable F1 journalist. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Saward

Here another article from renown F1 journalist http://www.jamesallenonf1.com/2010/09/analysis-power-struggle-behind-the-scenes-at-lotus/

Team Lotus owner http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/11112010/23/hunt-dismisses-proton-group-lotus-claims.html

Why Proton/Group Lotus doesn’t own the Team Lotus name if they are the rightful owner as many of us say it is since 1994?

When we as Malaysian,bashing Tony, many of the elite F1 journalist or blogger praise him. They knew what really happen not like us bashing blindly without facts. I’m not Tony worshiper but I put my flag on solid ground (actual fact). LU PIKIR LAH SENDIRI

• about joesaward comments on PROTON on Nov 15, 2010 at 12:22 am

he is good F1 journalist but it seem he do very rare about F1 technical development, he just like a F1 fanboy with less knowledge on technical issue and also motorsports, car industry.. who is he to blame any government in this world haa?? he just want to create many enemy in car industry.

for me i think i am more towards JamesAllenF1 and also scarbsf1 which always try to give very good technical explanation and the art of F1 engineering.

• RAC1NGengine on Nov 15, 2010 at 2:05 am

Your logic is nonsensical.

Does Bernie Ecclestone need to know how exactly the F-duct creates rear wing flow separation that stalls the wing thus reducing downforce and drag or how the inerter damper works exactly… in order for Bernie to make his billions from F1?

What yous talking ’roundabout’??

Joe Saward is good at what he does and his stories have always been well researched and consistently not far from the truth. You’ll know this if you’ve been following his site for a while

• Amin GmbH on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:03 pm

it was not easy to put up with a full swing F1 technology showmanship. the driver must endure burning heat and other extreme obstacles. that’s the original spirit of F1 so pls, from top to bottom, let’s keep F1 as a race of speed and technology not a management issue.

we labor very hard to tune FIFA ranking however, it’s driven by political will, every solid job done is left in the dust…

learn the mistakes, don’t open up possibility of reverberating our F1 team with such kind of tone again.

• botak on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:12 pm

why that tony still use proton name?? i tot that tony will not allowed to use it anymore??

• Driver on Nov 14, 2010 at 9:43 am

Proton just threatening Tony and Co to pull out from the team if Tony proceed using Team Lotus name next year. Proton do have sponsorship with 1malaysian F1 Team about 1.5% from the team budget.

• Ford_GT on Nov 17, 2010 at 8:48 am

So tell Gomen to pull out 1.5% share from the team, make less hectic and political sh!t….therefore everyone will live ever happily after.

• Diablo on Nov 13, 2010 at 11:59 pm

I don’t understand those the views who claim Tony has yet to ‘win the heart of the pure lotuses’ or that he has not done the brand justice.

If you actually talk to actual Lotus owners and long time fans of the original Team Lotus in Europe you will know that as far ass they are concerned, he has done the name justice and deserves the association and represent the brand in F1.

Talk to actual people. if you can’t physically meet them, have a look at the Lotus forums on the net. You can see their sentiments from there.

If they say it’s good, who are we to say otherwise? Keep in mind that they were the first ones to voice skepticism when this team first came about.

Fans who understand the pedigree (most in Europe) have expressed support for Tony and prefer him to Dany Bahar(Group Lotus). They don’t trust the latter and think he is in it for pure commercial gains. Worse, potentially at huge expense to Malaysia

• seriusSAM on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:44 am

let see if PROTON have a gut to say no to dany bahar

if PROTON willing spend EURO$60 Million to sponsor RENAULTF1, they should name the team PROTON-RENAULTF1 not LOTUS-RENAULTF1, because it’s obvious the money will not come from GROUP LOTUS plc.

• frossonice on Nov 14, 2010 at 1:30 am

Agree with your fact here. Though you may end up being thumbs down by those who are really Tony’s hater, nothing more. They hates Tony more than they hates what Tony did with Lotus.

• trav_da_man on Nov 14, 2010 at 3:25 am

The problem was most tony haters are malaysians with defeatist mentality or victims of flight elays or poor service of air asias. Check out autosport.com forums and most foreigners do support tony rather than dany.

In fact i felt dany bahar is the main pirate robbing off our rakyat’s money via Proton to fund his ambition which has higher chances of failing,

• Eyesore on Nov 14, 2010 at 8:04 am

Umm… 1 question..how do you know the money will come from proton? Insider or just speculation or one of our malaysian greatest gift ‘predicting the future’?

• seriusSAM on Nov 14, 2010 at 1:04 pm

no lah not proton meh

GROUP LOTUS plc is very successful meh
          every year for the last 13 years they’ve recorded multi billion euro profit
          by selling their sport car alone

LOL

• trav_da_man on Nov 14, 2010 at 4:31 pm

Group Lotus did not make any money or profit since Proton bought over them hence all these while Proton has been covering their loses. These were admited by Proton as well.

Group Lotus recent ambitious plans including motorsports involvement in GP2, Indy, Le Mans and so and 6 new models is obviously requires funding from the parent company Proton. It is great but many doubted if Proton reducing profits can able to support Lotus’s ambitious plans.

There are rumors Dany Bahar seeks funding from middle eastern investors to allow Proton to buy over Renault F1 team but these are just speculations.

• Ferruccio on Nov 15, 2010 at 2:37 am

seriousSAM was just being sarcastic. Everyone know Lotus cars have not made any profit yet now inexplicably embarking on a massive expansion exercise in all areas and targeting directly the Porsche/Ferrari market.

Scary just thinking about it. I’m sure such an ambitious brand building plan is probable given sufficient enough time but Lotus Cars time frame seem super ambitiious. Proper brand building takes time.

Oh well if it fails, it will be then end of it. Group Lotus and Dany Bahar will then just disappear never to return. Hopefully at little to no cost to Msian taxpayers

• i respect tony but i love proton! on Nov 14, 2010 at 2:13 am

what’s wrong if having 2 teams running on the track.. look at Red Bull, now world champion already.. and they have 2 teams racing on the race track.

anyway.. official announcement that PROTON already bought the RENAULT F1 Team will be announce this wednesday……. the deal on the RENAULT F1 engine F1 factory in Viry-Châtillon, France.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E15a6AEAXTg

Malaysia will start the F1 engine project again like before this the PETRONAS SAUBER ENGINEERING project where PETRONAS handle the F1 engine development, while Red Bull take care of the F1 chassis development.

• SeriuosSAM on Nov 14, 2010 at 2:50 am

during Sauber petronas era, red bull only act as sponsor to sauber-petronas team
      petronas didn’t develope F1 engine but they did some adjustment and modification to Ferrari engine that was use by sauber petronas team at that time.

there’s a report that said Proton-Renault deal will cost EURO$30 MILLION per year for the duration of 5 years sponsorship.

PROTON got so much money meh!!! I’m proud meh…

LOL

• i love PROTON on Nov 14, 2010 at 6:33 am

to SeriousSAM, if u don’t know u better keep your hand of the keyboard right now!

here i explain to you about SAUBER PETRONAS ENGINEERING and its relationship with Red Bull

“Red Bull Sauber Holding AG operates as a holding company for Sauber PETRONAS Engineering AG which provides automotive research and development services for PETRONAS Group. The company is based in Hinwil, Switzerland.

Sauber Petronas Engineering AG, a Joint-Venture with partner Petronas founded in spring 1996, a longterm contract was signed.

The longterm aim was for the company to design and build its own V10 E/Gs for the 1999 season… already bought the YAMAHA V10 engine.

At the same time the company began work on the design of production car E/Gs for the Malaysian national car company PROTON (now PROTON come-out with CAMPRO engine already)

These E/Gs were completed in 1999 in time for the first Malaysian Grand Prix,
        but the F1 E/G program was badly disrupted by the economic crisis which hit Asia in 1998 and the team announced that summer the plans for an all-new V10 had been postponed indefinitely because of Asia Economic Crisis.”

after PROTON acquired the RENAULT F1 engine factory in France, the engine R&D will continue.. u just wait this wednesday for official announcement to be made!

hopefully can get Kimi Raikkonen to be the F1 driver next year.. already signed contract with ART GP which produced alot of good F1 drivers nowaday like Sebastian Vettel, Nico Rosberg, Kamui Kobayashi, Lewis Hamilton, Felipe Massa (so many to name).

• RAC1NGengine on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:09 pm

Whatever you’re smoking for breakfast, I want it too!

• seriusSAM on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:18 pm

LOL dude…

first you talk about PETRONAS develope F1 engine… than out of no where you said PROTON will continue the engine R&D…

here’s the history of Sauber…

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sauber

which part it says RED BULL take care of SAUBER PETRONAS CHASIS?

Red Bull Sauber Holding AG is no longer exist lah dude

Renault and RENAULTF1 is different entity. IF proton become RENAULTF1 title sponsor, PROTON will not have any power decision making about RENAULT F1 engine developement because RENAULT F1 engine is still under RENAULT S.A

PROTON is said to have agree to be RENAULTF1 title sponsor for EURO30Million per year for the next 5 year…

can’t wait for next year F1 season meh…

LOL

• Nonsensical hack3line on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:10 am

What you talking roundabout Mr i respect tony but i love proton! ?

RedBull taking care of chassis development of what? Malaysia never had F1 engine project. Sauber’s Petronas engine was a rebadged Ferrari V10.

I also dunno if you know that Renault F1 is a separate company from Renault Group. Renault F1(under Gerard Lopez, Genii Capital) is an independent F1 operation based in Enstone UK. It seems Renault Group (under Carlos Ghosn) holds 25% in the team and wishes to sell their shares, for which Group Lotus is interested in buying the 25%. Renault Group wants to cease any F1 race team involvement and just be an engine and technology supplier to F1 teams.

The F1 factory in Viry-Châtillon, France is owned by Renault Group, not Renault F1.

• http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2010-11-13/renault-selling-stake-in-its-f1-team-to-malaysia-s-proton-figaro-says.html
    French carmaker Renault SA is about to sell its remaining 25 percent stake in its namesake Formula One team to Malaysia’s Proton, Le Figaro reported, citing people close to the matter it didn’t identify.

Proton’s Lotus Cars brand will be the team’s sponsor for about 30 million euros ($41 million) annually over five years, and the team’s new name may be Lotus-Renault as the French automaker will keep providing engines, Le Figaro said.

Renault will also continue making engines for Red Bull Racing and Malaysia Racing Team, the report said.

Renault last winter sold 75 percent of the team to Genii Capital Partners, Le Figaro said.

To contact the reporter on this story: Fabio Benedetti-Valentini in Paris at [email protected].

To contact the editors responsible for this story: Frank Connelly at [email protected]; Edward Evans at [email protected].

• different on Nov 14, 2010 at 4:58 am

It’s remarkable to experience different sets of emotions, support and encouragement from those in M’sia and those in UK. Seems like people in UK are more supportive and encouraging compared to people in Malaysians who tend to criticize more and discourage as well as attack. I have experience working with M’sian people for long time and UK people as well before migrating to UK, and this striking difference is particularly interesting. I wonder what do Msian people gain by attacking and condemning ambitions and efforts of fellow countrymen whereas UK people are surprisingly encouraging and supporting Msian efforts such as being done by Tony. I wonder where the root of this culture or mentality come from, is it from the US movies? They show too much US movies in Msia I think, not a lot UK or European movies. :)) haa! Don’t you feel Proton is just like puppet in the hands of Dany Bahar?

• Fact is fact. Proton/Group Lotus never own Team Lotus name. Please open your mind Malaysian. Don’t be “katak bawah tempurung”. I respect some of the patriotic sentiment backing Proton but you can’t deny the actual fact. Read article from renown F1 journalist and F1 fan forum especially European about the effort Tony have done. Dany Bahar move had given Proton and Group Lotus a bad name in F1 fan eyes. I’m not Tony’s worshipper but at least I search for the facts first before making any comments. So pathetic some of us just blindly bashing Tony because of previous experience with his airline maybe. I’m also had bad experience with Air Asia but I’ll not hate him forever about that. Why can we support any good effort from our countryman. When can we act like developed country mindset. Changing ownership of brand is a practice today like football club but still many of them doing great. Lu pikir lah sendiri.

• tokmoh on Nov 14, 2010 at 2:16 pm

Fully agreed!!

When Proton fired the first salvo, even I cannot contain myself but to wonder whether Proton have become Dany Bahar’s puppet.

DB is the mastermind, but since Proton is the parent company, doesn’t that mean Proton have power to influence some decision-making? As fellow Malaysian, I’d expect Proton to defend Tony, instead the complete opposite happened. Instead, they kowtow to those mat salleh’s ambitious wish. Why?

Hancur 1Malaysia…

• RENAULT F1 Team fan from france on Nov 14, 2010 at 4:18 pm

if you guys understand french, LOTUS RACING cannot use LOTUS name next season or else the engine supply deal between RENAULT and 1Malaysia Racing Team will be broken.. it will be reveal on official announcement between PROTON and RENAULT F1 agreement towards collaboration in future F1 project, most probably this wednesday.

one of the source from France
      http://www.confidential-renault.fr/L-ecurie-de-Tony-Fernandes-ne-sera-pas-i1330

anyway, good luck Tony Fernandes.. i respect you.

• drMpower on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:51 pm

i am one of the people bashing tony. and the bashing got worse when they ‘backstabbing’ proton/ lotus cars when they acquire the brand name from that english guy. or whoever he is.

last time my criticism was about his credibility to lead the team as team principal. with someone WITHOUT an inch of knowledge in the sport, he should be the last person ever to be appointed to that post. infact i had this hunch about he appointing himself because like so many here say, he invested bla bla bla amount of money.

his PR was crappy. his comments were outrageous. and i felt the bet he got with Branson was the worst antics ever in F1 circus. it could be they have it for fun or sarcasm spectacle or just to hype things up or whatever, but it was dumb. luckily he got mike on board and the whole crews are from THIN AIR for which they are very experienced. if not the whole venture gone to the drain. ( i put it as THIN AIR because nobody can tell me where the crews are from. i read somewhere it was picked from the Litespeed but someone who claim himself to work WITH THE TEAM jotted in this very forum to say it wasnt Litespeed guys. not even single one of them from Litespeed. thats why i put THIN AIR meaning, the crews just come up from air )

and then this Lotus Racing saga. he bought the brand name from that guy. BEHIND proton. now i know why he buddied with proton in the first place. because at that time he CANNOT buy the brand name from that english guy but he wanted to enter as Lotus for some sort of publicity or something. so proton gave a documentation licensing him to use Lotus in a way or another.

if he used TonySmokeShite Racing or whatever when they first entered F1 (with the intention to buy the lotus brand and use it second year), i wouldnt care if he to buy the brand name from that english guy or not. but he wanted the be associated with Lotus. but only proton can give him permission to use Lotus so he licked proton booty.

then now by legal means he got that brand name. it pisses proton in a way or another. why it piss them, that u have to ask proton.

i hope that explains to anyone bother to know, why i dont like this person.

• seriusSAM on Nov 15, 2010 at 12:29 am

wahhh so long to explain

don’t worry meh.. proton on the verge of euro30million per year to sponsor renaultf1 for group lotus

hurrah meh on that… proton own lotus

• Diablo on Nov 15, 2010 at 1:46 am

Wah.. so long winded and typifies the typical defeatist Msian mentality. I just attended the Lotus Car Club Malaysia dinner. None of those Lotus owners have that issue yet they love their Lotus Cars to bits, respect the old Team Lotus pedigree and interestingly are always supportive of Lotus Racing. It’s the same sentiment with Lotus owners around the world and this extends as well to long time Team Lotus fans.

If anyone has the right to state disapproval, it would be these guys. Furthermore Tony is not using my tax money so I don’t have any issue with him.

To be honest I’m a little embarrassed especially when I meet British Lotus fans who have shown great support for this new F1 team. It is after all their heritage. I’m embarrassed because many of my countrymen are against the team and Brit fans don’t quite understand the rationale especially since it’s not even Malaysia’s brand heritage.

• drMpower on Nov 15, 2010 at 2:42 am

u are not listening. i am not against my country’s team. in fact, i am very hopeful 2010 would be great if they finish all the races and fantastic if they got some points on the board.

i am against tony. hes got the applauds for whatever u guys think, so i think he also is the person who has to carry the shite. and shite happens or so they say. why hes got the balls to square up to proton, after all what they have done for him? u know? leasing the name Lotus etc etc but in the end when he got what he wants, he simply say to proton ‘stuff it up yer arse, dude’

he knew the importance of that guys brand name to proton. even precedent-ed court case on that dispute, i am pretty sure he knew all about it. ya ya ya the licensing agreement was for only a year, but had Tony decided to name his 2010 racer something else, i certainly wud run out of issues. maybe i have need to dig up his amalina dangdut experience to have a potshot on him which gonna make me looked and sounded petty

u went to the dinner with those guys, arent u? u should ask them about 2010 F1 lotus team, whether they are aware of it has NOTHING at all to do with the great Lotus team last run 1993? or they were also gone played by the nostalgic songs by Tony about the Lotus came back after some 10 plus years?

should i start putting dp on an evora if i wanted to say my piece on Lotus? naaah. i am too skint to even think about filling up that beauty. but i am giving my piece nontheless. pity honda gone out of f1, if not i can attend those dinners and putting up bs about honda racing.

• Diablo on Nov 15, 2010 at 4:14 am

You don’t understand the sentiments so let me repeat a phrase I wrote:

“It’s the same sentiment with Lotus owners around the world and this extends as well to long time Team Lotus fans.”

These Lotus guys, did not come into existence only in 2010. What you wrote would easily be taken as an insult. I certainly would. To express your displeasure for Tony is one thing. To imply that they don’t fully understand/appreciate the heritage is another matter. They were certainly the first to voice skepticism and to be protective of the heritage.

Other than it is absolutely your prerogative to dislike Tony. It’s your business. Maybe Dany Bahar would be better for you.

• roots on Nov 15, 2010 at 4:31 am

Not ‘thin air’. They got little elves building the car. The same also for Virgin and HRT also unless someone has revealed where their staff came from too. Human F1 ppl difficult to find these days lah. Wait a min! What happened to elves from Toyota, I also saw 200 of them leave Brawn factory last year. Want xmas presents just go to Lotus racing factory or wait for Santa to fly on his green F1 sleigh :)

• Driver on Nov 14, 2010 at 9:20 am

I’m so sad too see many of us Malaysian acting like those jealous pathetic Indonesian condemning any Malaysian on many things. Accusing Malaysian thief, destroyer of a good thing or name. So sad.

• trav_da_man on Nov 14, 2010 at 10:40 am

In fact what tony has done is remarkable and applaudable. He has sent i think more th1n RM200 million using his own money, to built an entire team from stretch and obtained better engines, gearbox and correct manpower within the F1 fertility.

He tried to change his countryman mindset to believe what you can do with passion, that what he always does with air asia.

However, being sour grapes malaysians who might be mostly victims of air asia’s incompetent services (i dont get one so far), they tend to bash tony personally. So what you wanna do?

Ask Tony to spend his RM200 millons to build more public toilets in Mysias?
    prrrfffhhhhh…….

• Teamsleepnine on Nov 14, 2010 at 4:56 pm

How about the other partner that involve??naza?meranun?,why only tony get the credit???

• Ferruccio on Nov 15, 2010 at 2:28 am

It seems Nasa and Kamarudin are publicity shy and prefer Tony to take the limelight due to his PR savvyness. However I hear all 3 are almost equal partners. Maybe Tony has slightly more shareholding

• Ford_GT on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:22 am

Nobody dares to bring Tony down to knees. Why ? I believe he can do things impossible possible as a successful person.

• mata katak on Nov 14, 2010 at 12:43 pm

haha…Tony sitting on the F1 car wheel….

So handsome la, and manly with his legs spread wide……

• i am sad Tony do not want to make wind tunnel in Malaysia on Nov 14, 2010 at 5:33 pm

yeah let recall back that statement.. very sweet talk at the beginning

“Lotus facility in Sepang to include wind tunnel”
      http://thestar.com.my/sports/story.asp?file=/2010/4/20/sports/6089546&sec=sports

and then
      “Lotus to build wind tunnel at Hingham”
      http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/87692

… SUCH A FLIP FLOP STATEMENT! shame on you Mike Gascoyne and Tony Fernandes

i think it is a good decision by PROTON to co-operate directly to RENAULT to joint the RENAULT F1 project rather than “LOTUS TEAM” wannabe who is only take advantage of LOTUS name for his own business marketing purpose.

it is more good for Malaysia when PROTON can send our Malaysia engineers, university students to learn from RENAULT F1 engine factory in France which already won 2005-2006 F1 world champion and now already win the 2010 F1 World Championship.. it is more better to be with the champion rather than be with champion wannabe who already did flip flop statement!

• Teamsleepnine on Nov 14, 2010 at 4:51 pm

I’m sure Most of us that upset with tony due to the fact that he did mention himself about putting malaysia as his team hq with wind tunnel and all….and the uk(current headquarters) as the satelite office/r&d center,which i support with my whole heart.but turn out just his sweet talk.

i feel like i have been cheated.that’s why i am upset.

• i am sad Tony do not want to make wind tunnel in Malaysia on Nov 14, 2010 at 5:35 pm

i still remember clearly that statement! damn very angry with it!

yeah let recall back that statement.. very sweet talk at the beginning

“Lotus facility in Sepang to include wind tunnel”
      http://thestar.com.my/sports/story.asp?file=/2010/4/20/sports/6089546&sec=sports

and then
      “Lotus to build wind tunnel at Hingham”
      http://www.autosport.com/news/report.php/id/87692

… SUCH A FLIP FLOP STATEMENT! shame on you Mike Gascoyne and Tony Fernandes

i think it is a good decision by PROTON to co-operate directly to RENAULT to joint the RENAULT F1 project rather than “LOTUS TEAM” wannabe who is only take advantage of LOTUS name for his own business marketing purpose.

it is more good for Malaysia when PROTON can send our Malaysia engineers, university students to learn from RENAULT F1 engine factory in France which already won 2005-2006 F1 world champion and now already win the 2010 F1 World Championship.. it is more better to be with the champion rather than be with champion wannabe who already did flip flop statement!

• Flip Flop RAC1NGengine on Nov 14, 2010 at 6:08 pm

You sure you prefer the Dany Bahar’s project rather than Tony’s project? Seems to me the Dany backed project is more risky.

Read this story:
        http://joesaward.wordpress.com/2010/11/11/the-latest-in-lotus/

Btw, the F1 factory in France belong to the Renault car company. Not the Renault F1 team based in Enstone

• i am sad Tony do not want to make wind tunnel in Malaysia on Nov 14, 2010 at 7:51 pm

to the Fip Flop..

“We have been in talks with Renault since the Paris Motor Show (in October),” Proton chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Nadzmi Mohd Salleh told Business Times in Shah Alam, Selangor

source : http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/articles/plotun/Article

PROTON talk direct to Carlos Ghosn (RENAULT-NISSAN CEO) not just some journalist like joesaward or just Renault F1 Enstone base in England.. so what is your point actually?

about Dany Bahar.. his official statements
          http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RljqqlVwoZY

listen carefully to his word at minute 1:31 “special program for Formula One plan”

Proton talks with Renault, GM on technology alliance
          http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/4/8/business/3652665&sec=business

““We are just discussing how we can explore working together. An alliance is vital (with RENAULT). We need to have scale.” -PROTON CEO

“These meetings are generally private.” – RENAULT spokeperson before PROTON meet that french company in Paris motorshow 2010 and introduce 5 LOTUS concept cars!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nfN2ULV4Hxw

there is a reason why PROTON and GROUP LOTUS choose Paris Motorshow 2010.

• I am sad I dunno how to spell my name and so fill this field with my opinion on Nov 14, 2010 at 11:03 pm

If you read carefully, between, under and above the lines in the article, Proton, Group Lotus and Renault are actually planning to build a powerful 50L V36 engine together with trainee Malaysian gardeners to get to the moon for make benefit glorious nation of Malaisie!

• Flip Flop RAC1NGengine on Nov 15, 2010 at 1:30 am

Mr “i am sad Tony do not want to make wind tunnel in Malaysia”

How your long-winded reply is relevant to my post I have no idea

• Driver on Nov 14, 2010 at 6:17 pm

Maybe there is something that we all don’t know going around the back door regarding Tony flop flop decision like what happens now between Tony and co vs Proton/Group Lotus. But frankly speaking I’m also disappointed with their decision. They just want to make Sepang as their Asian base when racing in this region.

• seriusSAM on Nov 14, 2010 at 7:42 pm

okay… okay…

let’s call the team PROTON-RENAULTF1

• vision2020 on Nov 15, 2010 at 12:17 am

Harvinder….u could have done a better job pinning him down at the end….

I really wanted to know what the alternative name was going to be??? Team Tony……Team Kayu…….Team Pelita……….??!

Interesting to see that Tony now sees the Team Lotus brand as compromised…….i guess its obvious that it is…… He does say that altho they have the rights they may not necessarily use those rights……

• ohgay! ohgay! ohgay!

• Eric Ng on Nov 16, 2010 at 10:31 am

now i realized his english is just like normal malaysian….hmm….like some politicians. haha