Both Lotus Renault GP and Team Lotus for 2011?

Lotus Renault GP

So the announcement has been made that Group Lotus is officially in F1, in partnership with Genii Capital – the owner of the current Renault F1 team – beginning from the start of the 2011 season, and that it will be competing under the Lotus Renault GP name.

Group Lotus’ purchase of all the remaining shares held by Renault in the team makes the former the major equity partner, though Renault remains as the engine supplier, hence the retention of its name in the scheme of things.

The resulting formation of the team is no surprise, but the choice of livery colours might be – the combination of black and gold heralds back to those JPS-sponsored glory days, and is an inspired choice. Only, it’s identical to that chosen by Lotus Racing, which earlier announced that it would be competing in 2011 in black and gold.

To add to the confusion, Lotus Racing (or Team Lotus, if you will) is also being supplied with engines by Renault. So, it remains possible that we could see two teams competing under the Lotus name, both in the same colours, with the same engine supplier, the first of course dependent on how the court decides early next year.

When contacted, 1Malaysia Racing Team’s CEO Riad Asmat had this to say: “We will be called Team Lotus next year and we’re making great progress in the development of our car. We’re focused on what we need to do next year. On them, its truly their choice since they seem to have the means to do it – it’s a huge investment having seen things first-hand over here, but a niggling question remains in my mind though; do we really need another Malaysian-backed team?”

Lotus Racing

Whatever the final outcome may be, Proton’s decision to venture into F1 is purely as a business opportunity to take the Lotus brand to a higher plane, and that because of the historical significance, motorsports was selected as a key communication tool to enhance the brand’s image and awareness as well as helping to support sales of its road cars further afield, something it had planned from 2009 before the ongoing dispute came about.

That was the underlying message that was conveyed during an informal session between Proton’s management and the media earlier today, in which questions about the current situation naturally cropped up.

The point was made that Group Lotus had extremely limited involvement in the Lotus Racing team – there was no management involvement, no technology exchange/contribution or staff exchange. The overview is that the collaboration with Lotus Racing did not bring the desired results – performance wise, while Lotus Racing was unarguably the best of the new teams in the 2010 season, the percentage of overall exposure was considered to be negligible.

Additionally, the reasons for the parting of ways have also been because of breaches – many ongoing – in the licensing agreement with Group Lotus. These include use of the Lotus roundel without consent from Group Lotus, wrongful sub-licensing of the “Lotus Racing” name and trademarks to third parties and selling “Lotus Racing” F1 merchandise excluded by the agreement.

Further breaches are in using the word “Lotus” in conjunction with “Team” on LR’s website and in marketing materials, the use of the Lotus Roundel and the word “Lotus” on its own on its premises, promotional materials and clothing without GL’s consent and the use of “Lotus Racing” outside the sphere of Formula 1, in British Formula 3 and Formula Renault.

Renault F1

And yes, seeking to obtain the right to use the name Team Lotus with the intention of using the name in the 2011 F1 season in contravention of the ‘Lotus Racing’ licence agreement contractually is part of it too.

Enough reminders were given to LR, with a final reminder issued on August 31 demanding full remedy/ rectification of these breaches, failing which termination would ensue. Instead of compliance, 1Malaysia Racing Team confirmed the termination of the licensing agreement. In essence, Lotus Racing invariably agreed to an end to things.

While the effects brought about by the dispute will definitely linger, Group Lotus is looking to move forward with its own F1 plans. It will provide Lotus access to a global branding platform that can showcase the brand’s engineering talent and ultimately, transform Lotus. Then there’s the access to technological advances that can be potentially incorporated into new Lotus vehicles. It’s all part of a big plan to bring Lotus to higher levels. Lotus in its current form has been unprofitable – so it seems it’s time for a new plan, a gamble no doubt, but the Lotus board members seem to be convinced by Dany Bahar’s turnaround plan.

In addition to this, it seems the deal with Genii also offers Proton the ability to leverage on its existing business relationships in Russia and other parts of the world, as a means to expand Proton’s global reach. It’ll be interesting to watch that unfold.

So, while this one will run and run, at least some facts are on the table. The battle of the Lotuses has just properly begun, and this should definitely prove intriguing.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kimi_ on Dec 09, 2010 at 1:54 am

WOW,This Lotus Renault GP will be a lot faster and upper standings than TF team lotus next year… So, if both carried lotus name, TF’s team lotus will be like sister team of Proton’s Lotus Renault like toro rosso to RED BULL RACING….

What a good strategy from Proton to regain the pride even they lose the court case, because it will be much more faster than TF’s team lotus and people will start to think Proton’s Lotus is the more rightful owner of Lotus name!

I wondered why Proton not buy into Tony Fernandez team Lotus instead BUT buy into Renault…..For Pride perhaps…..

• L. Poory on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:00 am

Could it be there:

A. TF didn’t want to sell? Or was asking for some silly inflated price?

B. They didn’t want to buy a “best of the worst” team?

• pomen_gtr on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:47 am

definately they want the team lotus name but DH didn’t want to let ot for proton….

so they choose this way by pressuring TF….

TF was acting cool all the time….

silly season have just began……

we’ll see..only time would tell the truth…

• mnazri.tan on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:33 am

best of the worst team definitely not a good investment

• team_lotus fans on Jan 06, 2011 at 7:06 pm

they are the best of the new team f**l. Next year will be beating Lotus Renault GP.

• The reason why proton do not continue Team Lotus is simply because TF doesn’t want to be associated with the lotus Group (the car manufacturer, own by proton) but he’s going for Lotus Racing (has nothing to do with the car manufacturer) instead, which own by a guy (no body care about him before but TF and making quite a buck for selling it).
      Dont know what is his plan… using lotus name…dont want to associate with proton… buying the name which is still in pending for a court hearing.. hmmm

NO WONDER PETRONAS DON’T TRUST THIS GUY AT THE BEGINNING….

• alamak on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:57 pm

it’s all a ploy from TF to say “look i manage Lotus brand better than Proton, see, i’m already achieving success in F1. Sell Lotus Cars to me for RM1.”

• TIGER - Esso, Maybank, (deduct) Proton on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:48 pm

TF is waiting Proton to sold Group Lotus to him in near future may be even earlier than 2017 their sponsorship agreement in Renault….Proton now fall into famous well known Businessman Tony business business trick & trap…. WE only can wait for more longer time will know the result of Group Lotus take turn to sold Euro 1 to Tony like Air Asia from DRB-Hicom… this kind of great RM1 or Euro1 buy company deals hard to find nowadays in this world…Agusta superbike already sold out Euro 1 in the past few year ago…Now Group Lotus is queue to be the next Euro 1….only in the world i think M’sia owned government link company is the only 1 can be found in earth do such kind of stupid, special, unique, poor judgement business way totally famous for sell company RM1….

• team_lotus fans on Jan 06, 2011 at 7:09 pm

The Petronas will be sponsoring Team Lotus after they beat Lotus Renault GP for 2011

• Good move Proton/Lotus! you are about to burn all your cash and then ask gov to clean the ass for you again. and we malaysian will forever driving crap expensive proton cars!

• najib on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:59 pm

Ya man. Proton got sore because of TF success and want to fight back. Why not spend money on R&D rather then going to F1. Proton never learn……

• kimi_ on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:07 am

I DONT CARE TF’s or Proton’s team calls: Group Lotus, Lotus Racing, Team Lotus, Lotus F1, Lotus Grand Prix, Scuderia Lotus, GP Team Lotus, Lotus Cars Racing, Lotus F1 Racing, Group Lotus Grand Prix, Team Lotus Racing F1 and 1Malaysia Lotus or WATEVER,,,,

Just bring the results on race instead of fighting for names…

• Ronaldo on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:25 am

Its obvious they dont have any good result so far…… except being best of the worst team….. so they have to fight for name instead.

What a stupid senario both team fight for the same name, both from Malaysia, made their fortune from malaysian. This is so called 1malaysia………WTH

i rather support Mercedes GP team sponsor by Petronas, trouble free………

cheers

• Angelina_jolin on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:48 am

so what if they ‘Bring you the good result” ? malaysian feel proud? or u share the ‘profit’ ? or simply bcoz they took over Lotus with a big bag of cash, Lotus = Proton = malaysia ?

• trav_da_man on Dec 09, 2010 at 2:12 am

Lotus and Lotus is fighting over Lotus this and Lotus that……..confusing!!!!

• pacifictuna on Dec 09, 2010 at 3:07 am

we used to wish for a lotus come back in F1 but this is just more than what we wished for….

• Teratai Group on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:20 am

Hahaha yeah. More competition = more exposure for Lotus. TF is just giving free publicity to Lotus, which benefits everyone.

However, if they continue their bickering into next season, it will just buat malu for everyone. Better not let that happen.

• and that is exactly why DB insist in Lotus Factory team…. to stop buat malu Lotus name…

• east43street on Dec 22, 2010 at 1:09 am

Just try to study TF, how he managed to manouver Malaysia Airlines to surrender to him. Air Asia then controlled almost all domestic routes in Malaysia while giving back the unprofitable rural routes back to Malaysia Arlines. So, these are all about profit. Buy Team Lotus ownership and try to sell ‘the best of the worst team’ with the old Team Lotus name to Group Lotus with profit? No way man…..

Group Lotus needs to revive their cars. They has the history of making well loved cars. The new cars unveiled in the Paris Motor Show seemed superb. Now, getting into the F1 with the benefit of the technology and worldwide viewing is definitely the way to go. Can wait to see the new Lotus cars on the road.

TF? Sorry man. You are just a spoiler.

• CocoBear on Dec 09, 2010 at 4:29 am

Hooray, Malaysia Boleh!
    But, which ‘Malaysian Lotus’ team to support?

• najib on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:03 pm

of course TF….. the original Lotus Racing. Not some copy cat sore loser company like P……..

• haitt on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:17 am

its good to see 4 lotuses . lol. its invasion of Lotuses.. beware

• Commenter on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:45 am

Lotus Renault GP=Got Future
    Lotus Racing=No Future, definitely for fun only.

Lotus Cars need Lotus Renault GP for branding.
    Tony need Lotus name for what? kiasuness?
    He should come out with meaningful name such as Tune Naza, Naza Tune, AirAsia Naza, etc. That name will benefit them much more to promote their own brand. Stubborn.

• napie on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:20 am

TF hoping that he will get the money after winning the court case. i think.

• Yes I agree, he should came out with the name like Tune Team or whatever, just like Bronson named Virgin

• Tengkurex on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:06 am

Seem like Group Lotus forgot they also doing “passing off” about declaring they are the 7 constructor winner in their mural at HQ. The fact is it Team Lotus that wins that. Very confusing. Firstly saying TF breached contract but at the same time the Group also breached Team Lotus historical right that have been granted by the UK High Court before.

• Chosun on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:11 am

Bodoh proton ni…engineer kat shah alam gaji ciput, increment laughable, model sikit nak mampus, why should them waste more money on Lotus? Lotus have been draining Proton’s coffers for years! Kia and Hyundai don’t waste their money on this, and look at Kia Optima/ Kia K5…awesome design….in facts these Koreans company can pay their engineers more money….Proton? keep on embarking on cost cutting, which also means keeping engineers’ salary low, but dare to waste money on Lotus….thank god I left Proton three years ago.

• Totally totally agree…… (the “gaji ciput & increment” part)

• ah poo chong on Dec 10, 2010 at 8:43 pm

bro berapa gaji engineer proton?? 1.8k atau 2k…aku rasa kalau sr lebih 8k… nak gaji banyak keje oil & gas la…

• azrai on Dec 09, 2010 at 7:47 am

Dear Anthony, how much do proton spend to buy 25% stake in Genii for this team?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:57 am

No comment was given on this, though of course the question was inevitably asked.

• e-tique on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:13 am

here comes the real Lotus!
    xmalu betul TF, what hv u gain from 2009 ventures?? to implement on your airplane ka?…or purhaps after this, NAZA also can implement F1 inspired NAZA badge on their rebadging activities??

main advantage for TF team is just for branding, merchandise & name marketing…c’monnnnn we need more! we need technology & engineering advantage at the same time lah machaaa!

• very well said…when they hired a failed over and over again mike gascyonne, it is clear they are only up for merchandising…

• BadBET on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:14 am

renault teratai vs pasukan teratai ; that sounds better

• omfg…3 f1 team with malaysian interest?? (mercedes, renault f1, team lotus)

what a waste of money…won’t it be better those hundreds of millions are donated to the poor and needy of this country instead of trying to show off whatever nonsense they are trying to show the world….

• Petronas is the one making real revenue in F1… TF maybe did some publicity on Tune Group in England and Lotus Renault GP is to stop humiliating outing of TF’s team which bears Lotus name, because they have a big plan ahead.

• rally_fan on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:27 am

to me, its simple.. the manufacturer of lotus cars, is the real lotus. you can’t change that. for tony and team to try to claim they are lotus, and the lotus F1 heritage, is quite sad.

• well said… while it is true that TF might has the rightful name for Team Lotus and that Team Lotus is of different entity with Group Lotus, the Team Lotus today is bought as a name rather than a team. The fact is that Team Lotus are dismantled totally but somehow david hunt squeeze a deal for the name, only the name! what ever factory and equipment and man power team lotus had were gone for decades. So naturally, the real Lotus had to go back to the company which actually run the Lotus name proudly all these times.

• Jaybond on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:49 am

I reckon the Group Lotus’ F1 team will be the more successful of the two, next season.

• Tiadaid on Dec 09, 2010 at 8:50 am

Simple solution for the whole naming conundrum:

Tony’s Team – Team Lotus

Renault-Lotus Team – Equipe Lotophage Renault (Lotophage is apparently French for Lotus!)

Simple.

• Is there any problem for two racing team to have similar name ? C’mon guys, this is not good for both Proton and TF..people may say TF team is much better because it was formed,run and sponsored mostly by Malaysians, but I think its not wrong for Proton to sponsor Renault either..someday, somewhere somehow the involvement of TF and Proton/Lotus in F1 will benefit the Malaysians automotive industries..they should just stop this endless battle and like kimi_ says “Just bring the results on race instead of fighting for names…”

We used to cheer Sauber Petronas and treat them like our own team just because Petronas sponsored them, so make us Malaysian proud TF Lotus Racing, Lotus Renault GP and Mercedes GP Petronas.. :)

• Elise on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:29 am

Both will DNF hehe

• mnazri.tan on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:32 am

I have been wanting to say this for long, but I know my opinion may not be agreed by many. However nonetheless, I think I should do this anyway.

For Proton and Group Lotus, this venture could be the very thing, which pushes their brand to the different zone. Firstly for Lotus, to have ambitious 5 car within 5 years time is not something easy to achieve and the current financial state of the company doesn’t help much. Proton will keep on pumping the money but they need result, and therefore they must produce the 5 car and sell it. Main obstacle surely the engine !!! Now Danny need the engine and Toyota, well it is not the best option for them but logical since it cost less. But to bring Lotus to different dimension, they need better engine. Now they can get it from other people but if they could associate themselves with a engine supplier, put in their car and demonstrate that in F1 by collecting points…aint that much better?(and we are having doubt the team run by TF could do that so soon and being backmarker wouldn’t help to demonstrate the ability right) And we do (as potential buyer) want that to happen as we want proven formula. You will have more confident buying…. So get Renault engine in F1 car with their name on top, and do the same for the production car. If they do well in motorsport, they do well in selling their car….but we cant help to say, it is a gamble, but one worth to give it a shot….

Next is Proton themselves, they need to lift the stigma of the brand…for now, no matter how good a Proton car could be, there be a basher group who for lives always hate Proton and other Malaysian brand. By doing this, in a way it could help to swing the natural to their side. The basher will always be the helpless basher…what to do ?..it also open up market for Proton, like Russia which is rather intresting. And next year they have confirmed to enter Indian market and what better way to promote than through F1.

Clearly 1Malaysian team or what ever name you call them cares less about all those, they have their own agenda and that doesn’t work for lotus name. In truth, the only reason they need lotus name is just to up their profile. I still don’t understand why cant they use their very own name. I don’t mind the livery but for once, use your brand..i would be supporting you nonetheless if you use AirAsia Team name…be proud with your name the way Virgin and HRT…

To Riad, remember your origin that help you bring up your name to F1…and yes, we do want another F1 team…if you want to accuse that Group Lotus used duit rakyat proton collected by selling crappy car, let us remember Naza do the same , and AirAsia do worst…they all bunch of businessmen and that is what they do…

• napie on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:31 am

remember wat air asia have done to MAS flight at East Malaysia. TF will do the same ? think of it. who actually support TF to involve in F1 Racing using 1Malaysia Racing Team?

• dear mnazri.tan

u are wrong to think that many will disagree with u. for those people watching F1 races since they knew the sport and also actively interested in automotive world development, we all agree on what u said. only those stereotypes and politically blind and lost people who look car by their physical appearance rather than engineering bits would support TF just because he pioneered airasia.

so very well said!

now my comment will be hated by many….

• Diabolique on Dec 09, 2010 at 5:29 pm

I wonder if Tony’s team did not have the rights to use the roundel on their car, wouldn’t the rights holder put the brakes immediately on such a blatant act rather than wait til end Sept at the 15th race to say something. If someone blatantly used what is rightfully mine I would put a stop to it right from the beginning.

Also. I’m sure Group Lotus/Proton did not decide in September after all the relationship broke down, to go into F1 themselves. Such a massive undertaking must have been in the works well before that, probably at the very beginning of the season itself. Thus I’m not surprised that Tony & co saw this early and reacted the way they did to protect their large investment.

It would have been nice if Group Lotus chose to get into F1 via the team that already existed in the form of Tony’s team but after reading all the reports sincce day 1 its very clear that Dany Bahar and Tony Fernandes cannot collaborate though I do remember reading reports earlier in the year that Lotus Racing did attempt to work together with Group Lotus in Norfolk. They had some join events where Heikki and Jarno went to Hethel to promote Lotus Cars.

Otherwise it seems that Group Lotus is just slapping expensive stickers on Renault F1. Thus DSZ’s comment on limited technical collaboration with Lotus racing is a moot point because they’re doing the same thing with Renault F1.

Best to let the season start and judge the two teams at the end of it. Then we see who is worthy, who is not. Who kept their promises who did not. We will see

• My View on Dec 09, 2010 at 6:38 pm

Just in case you missed this in the ariticle “Enough reminders were given to LR, with a final reminder issued on August 31 demanding full remedy/ rectification of these breaches, failing which termination would ensue.” – basically,the rights holder did give enough notice to LR to stop the breaches.
          I am not surprised GL did not distance themselves from LR earlier, if they did not keep their side of the agreement. Why continue partnering them? I remember when this issue first cropped up and Riad made it sound so “trivial” over some T shirts. Not only was Riad belittling the importance of the brand (merchandising is a major brand platform for many companies) he was was also not telling us the full story.

I guess buying the rights of TL was the final straw on the camel’s back “And yes, seeking to obtain the right to use the name Team Lotus with the intention of using the name in the 2011 F1 season in contravention of the ‘Lotus Racing’ licence agreement contractually is part of it too.”

I guess slapping those expensive stickers on Renault is a better bet for GL than partnering people that break agreements. Good for them!

• slekuzen on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:32 am

I am very disappointed with the way Team Lotus, but especially Fernandez, conducts business.
    They are in very clear breach of the name usage and have NOT been authorized by Lotus to use the emblem and name, but the team still insists.

I should say that this type of behaviour is absolutely despicable and I have no doubt the British courts will strike the right decision.

In the meantime, I wholheartedly support Proton and Lotus’ LEGITIMATE aim at improving technology, gaining new markets and ultimately have a better product. Whereas I am absolutely doubtful as to why a CEO of an airline is so adament on using, unlawfully, an auto name and stay. Naza is also being especially sleazy: they’re a simple auto-assembler, nothing more.
    As usual, Fernandez is a sly marketer, whiner and in the end, it’s his money and his belly. Fernandez should stop hindering the Proton-Lotus-Renault efforts who have genuine ambitions in F1.

Shame on Fernandez and Naza.
    What do you guys think?

• again well said… now i can see more and more people supporting Lotus compared to the previous post.

• najibest on Dec 09, 2010 at 9:36 am

i seriously won’t blame Proton for revoking the licensing agreement with Lotus Racing…i mean they did all of the things that Proton didn’t want them to do since it’s always been known that Proton has always wanted the Team Lotus naming rights ever since they bought out Group Lotus….

i mean, initially Mike Gascoyne wanted to name his team Team Litespeed Lotus or something by acquiring the rights from David Hunt, but somehow things later changed when TF took over and he licensed the brand from Proton instead….i mean if he really wanted to go the David Hunt way, why not buy out the naming rights before the start of the start of last season? the there’s no mess whatsoever except proton would definitely be mad at the team and not sponsoring them which what Proton is doing right now anyway….

and suddenly now almost everyone on Lotus Racing management team is talking about how Proton is wasting tax payers money etc…for me it’s a low blow…especially when it’s Mike Gascoyne saying that…..

• if both racing together, it will be a fantastic fight coz both want to show that their the best. this 2 team will be a rival enemy. people will not only see ferrari, redbull and mclaren fight but also this 2 team.

• And guess what, now we have 3 F1 teams! Malaysia is really super rich! lol

• Petronas is the clear winner… they are doing real business. that’s y they did not sponsored the idiot TF team from the beginning. many might say they lacked the patriotism shit but look at it this way. Petronas chose to be with a strong team for better brand selling. better brand selling means better profit opportunity in the future. and even if petronas is allegedly corrupted by the G, we still can’t deny it brings hack of an income to the nation with their international partnership and so on.

• My View on Dec 09, 2010 at 6:48 pm

Its not only the branding. When the partnership with Mercedes GP Petronas team was announced, they also announced that the partnership brought them direct business from Daimler, the owners of the team. A direct contribution to their revenue and indirectly to the nation.

• brakehorsepower on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:01 am

its good to have more involvement as long not the tax payers dough..
    it not wrong either to have two teams under nations interest… tho both are not sister teams, but well… do i see something ‘personal’ here?.. i mean personal battle or something…

• Driver on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:11 am

Here is a diagram of lotus and renault for better understanding.

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5123/5244302288_c11c7ff4fe_b.jpg

• bryan.jones on Dec 09, 2010 at 10:46 am

don’t care about whatever team, let the best man win.

• slekuzen on Dec 09, 2010 at 11:04 am

What is especially upsetting is that we have now three (!!!) F1 Malaysia related teams.

Why could we not have one massive team, Proton-Lotus-Petronas!!!!

Goodness, everything has to be so complicated in Msia!!! :-(

• Driver on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:40 pm

Yes. If we pool every resource in in 1 team only..sure we get a totally kick-ass F1 team.

• Putera Mulia Dazrul on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:50 pm

Dun be confused my frens. U can be a fan / supporter of either one, no worries.

But please mention clearly – LOTUS ENSTONE or LOTUS NORFOLK.
      Coz when you’re heading for shopping at JUSCO, u will mention JUSCO MALURI, JUSCO WANGSA MAJU, don’t you? So make it loud n clear which team you’re belong to.

Their original father is the same i.e. Colin Chapman, so they must bear the LOTUS surname.

Google also recognises both names.

This their family history:
      http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5123/5244302288_c11c7ff4fe_b.jpg

• Diablo on Dec 09, 2010 at 4:55 pm

As far as FIA is concerned there seem to be only one ‘Lotus’ next year. View their official constructors entry list for 2011 to see which one.

http://tinyurl.com/37oe3dj

• Wow.. so IF Team Lotus managed to get first place, we will hear Negaraku song, right? Nice…. :p

• brakehorsepower on Dec 09, 2010 at 12:09 pm

did you know Mike Gascoyne was sacked from Toyota and then from Force India as well, where he suit against the beer kingmaker VM and sorely lose ?… i wonder what is he doing in TL… i know TL don’t have the fund to hire people like Newey, but a sacked one?..

• exactly… and i still wonder y many in this blog still support that team…

• Dany Baher is going to take Lotus to the drain with all that spending and gamble on those super-cars. The money should be spend on Proton itself not Lotus cars, as Proton is the one making all the money why waste it on Lotus ? Merge Lotus and Proton make use of Proton’s Factories and Lotus know-how to improve Proton not the other way round !

• Diablo on Dec 09, 2010 at 4:39 pm

Word is Dany Bahar was also ‘asked to leave’ (sacked) from RedBull and Ferrari. So good rival to Mike Gascoyne eh? Despite the controversy everyone agree that Gascoyne is responsible for turning Jordan around making it competitive. They finished third in championship in ’99 I think

• My View on Dec 09, 2010 at 6:58 pm

Some many have said that GL has been bleeding Proton over the years, now Dany Bahar has ambitiious plans and you shoot him down? He is trying to revive the company, give him a chance. Why are you guys comparing Dany Bahar with Mike Gasgoyne? One is the CEO of Lotus the other the technical director of an F1 team, whats the relevance?

You heared word that DB was asked to leave, the ” word” I heard was that DB was approached by Proton long before leaving Ferrari and Ferrari were angry that he left to join GL.

• Diablo on Dec 10, 2010 at 12:49 pm

I was merely stating what has been alleged of him. There have been rumours that his previous employers were not comfortable with his ‘side deals’

I did not say that he was a jackass or anything like that. I am not totally against his bold plans. He is a dreamer just like Tony and dreamers are what keeps the world turning.

As I’ve expressed elsewhere. This high-stake, aggressive business plan will make or break Group Lotus. Group Lotus will either succeed or they and Bahar will completely disappear into oblivion. I’m fine with either. It’s better than where they are now.

However the stakes are sky-high because they are using money that they do not have.

All the best to Group Lotus

• Gabba Gabba Gabba on Dec 09, 2010 at 4:54 pm

This is BULLSHITS!!!
    I wish Lotus just managed by other overseas people or company…not by any MALAYSIAN COWS!!!
    Everything is just about Money & Show…

Btw, another 1 thing, M.Schumacher also should had start building his own Formula 1 Team in the 1st place too…don’t you guys agree?

• neh… alain prost’s prost f1 team was torn apart… msc might had look at that and thought twice bout that… even if one is a world champ, it doen’t mean he can go in there and rule as a constructor….

• Ferruccio on Dec 10, 2010 at 1:04 pm

Dany Bahar’s recent quotes are confusing.

“We have never claimed to be Team Lotus,”
    http://www.crash.net/f1/news/165450/1/bahar_we_dont_want_to_be_team_lotus.html

Yet in Group Lotus press release,

“The association heralds the return of a highly successful Formula 1™ association between Lotus and Renault from the 1980s. Lotus’ racing pedigree and heritage coupled with Renault’s technology in Formula 1™ will set the united team on a path to future success.”

“..and I’m delighted to be able to formally clarify our position: We are Lotus, and we are back.”
    http://www.lotuscars.com/news/en/lotus-renaultgp

Only ‘Team Lotus’ had an involvement in F1 and an association with Renault in F1 in the 80s. Group Lotus were never involved in F1 or with Renault in F1.

My conclusion to these confusing statements :

1. Bahar is saying different things to different people, OR
    2. There are many PR writers in the whole scheme(Group Lotus, Proton, Renault F1, Renault-Nissan) and none of that have the full facts and are not in sync with one another in terms of what the ‘story’ is.

• team_lotus fans on Jan 06, 2011 at 7:02 pm

How can a baby team such as Lotus f1 racing can be a world champion immediately. Proton should give time to Tony Fernandes. Tony want to bring back the Colin Chapman Lotus racing spirit which also start from ‘baby’ stage. Group Lotus will be bankruptcy after this and Team Lotus fan are lot larger than Lotus Renault GP which will be down to Team Lotus. May all people pray for Team Lotus success over Lotus Renault GP.

• Team Lotus will beat Lotus Renault GP for 2011. Let all pray for Team Lotus success over Lotus Renault GP.