Proton Perdana replacement is the Nissan Fuga – only for top level government use, no private sales planned

The identity of the model that will form the basis of the Proton Perdana replacement has been talked about not only at the mamak, but in the motoring circle as well. We’ve heard of this before, but the news is now out. Berita Harian Online reports that the Nissan Fuga will be the Perdana replacement model.

UPDATE: The Honda Accord-based Proton Perdana Replacement Model (PRM) has been spotted on the road, see all the spyshots here.

The Fuga is a large rear-wheel drive sports sedan that is sold as an Infiniti M outside of Japan. It sits on the Skyline platform and BH’s report says that the car will be brought in CBU with 2.5-litre engines. The current gen Fuga 250GT is the 2.5L V6 unit from the VQ HR series with 225 PS and 258 Nm.

However, before you think of another “Inspira style” deal, the report’s source reveals that the first shipment of 150 units will be brought in as official cars for top ranking government officials. We presume that this will phase out the stretched Perdanas that ministers currently use. The Fuga will be used exclusively by the government, although the source added that if Proton gets encouraging market feedback, it will consider sales to the public.

There’s no mention whether the Fuga in question is the muscular bodied latest version that debut in late 2009 or the previous gen car, which still looks handsome today. Also not revealed is Proton’s name for the car and the level of differentiation, which we guess won’t be much other than some badge swapping. And if the Fuga is for high level officials, what will be the replacement for the standard wheelbase Perdana currently in service?

This move marks Proton’s first collaboration with Nissan. Will there be more on the way? The report’s source says that it is possible that some Nissan models will be made at Proton’s Tanjung Malim plant as there’s excess capacity there. This statement however ignores the fact that long time Nissan brand guardian Tan Chong has its own facility in nearby Serendah, which rolls out cars like the Teana, Sylphy and Grand Livina.

The Fuga has plenty of presence in the flesh, and Infinitis have received lots of praise for how they drive in the West – it’s a pity that none of us will experience this, unless you’re a senior government chauffeur! What do you think of this move and the choice of car?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Balikampung on Jan 03, 2011 at 4:30 pm

YUMMY !!!

I want one NOW

• CocoBear on Jan 04, 2011 at 12:47 am

Salam 1MALAYSIA.
      I think it is a good move to replace the ageing Perdana Mentega. I fully support!

• Zacke on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:58 am

Agreed. It is a good move to replace the Perdana but can be a bad move if Proton keep it for another 10-15 years. Perhaps its time for Proton to do it right – create smart partnership and assemble quality new models. Save cost by shutting down the design, R&D and other related departments. Give us, the Rakyat a more affordable, latest technology and quality cars!

• rally_fan on Jan 06, 2011 at 6:29 pm

when proton rebadge lancer, give rakyat more affordable and latest technology car, kena bashing left right centre, including from parliment.

• Wisdom on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:20 am

Do we have to call it Perfuga or Fugana?

• Kevin on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:57 am

Another great example of the Government’s misuse of public funds, that’s you and my money! There is absolutely no justification why they had to buy such expensive cars when there are plenty of locally assembled models to choose from.

• TallPan on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:35 am

yeah agreed! what a bunch of FUGAs! haha

• hongleongbank on Jan 06, 2011 at 1:44 am

haiyyoo..that time PKR rule perak also they bought camry what??? this car one sure under proton meh..cheaper..liao.

• mant3 on Jan 04, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Danny, if its true, then uncle TC must be quite upset by now…..
      u know other people can bring in “new” Nissan model faster than ’em :-)

• Brandon Tee on Sep 27, 2013 at 2:07 pm

Outside Japan, the Fuga is called Infiniti M 25/35h/37/56. Optional is the four-wheel drive, which adds the “x” name (excluding the 35h) to state that the model is four wheel drive. Without the “x” name, it is just rear wheel drive.

• Tiadaid on Jan 03, 2011 at 4:32 pm

When the Satria Neo Lotus Edition and the Inspira was launched, many argued that nobody would buy a Proton that costs more than RM70K. So it’s understandable why Proton chose not to sell this rebadged Perdana replacement to the public. The govt. needs to replace the ageing Perdana but then they wouldn’t want to be seen as not supporting the national car industry by buying other makes (as seen before in the Camry/Mercedes furore in Perak & Terengganu), so what can they do?

• People would still know the new so-called Proton Perdana would really be a Nissan Fuga, not a Perdana made by Proton. The Govt is really buying a Japanese car and putting a Proton badge on it. The public, especially the younger generation can call their bluff.

So your statement “The govt. needs to replace the ageing Perdana but then they wouldn’t want to be seen as not supporting the national car industry by buying other makes ” doesn’t actually make sense to the smart public.

• I don’t mind, as long as I the rakyat can buy an imported car at national car price, nevermind if i’m required to nationalize it by swapping the badge.

• PROTON BOLEH on Jan 03, 2011 at 9:58 pm

Perhaps 1 day Proton get AP and import all kind of car from BMW, Porsche, Ferrari, Hummer etc and rebagde it as Proton.

Now we call that national car…hmm…

• You don’t get it do you? The “rakyat” don’t actually get to buy it! Only Gomen officials!

• perhaps you should support it in, then proton will see the potential of our market.But i wonder and puzzling, what is their actual planning, because i heard that proton need to setup tanjung malim plant for this perdana , but paul mention it will bring CBU in…????

• razibar on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:08 am

no you can’t but nobody will stop you from buying nissan fuga . BTW, the name should be Fatamorgana

• Hanssolo58 on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:25 am

Ya…it kind of sucks right.

The government is working for the rakyat…not the other way around.
            We should be prioritized instead of some government officials…

I must be dreaming…

Anyway…I personally love RWD cars…but I think Fuga’s external styling is a bit too ugly…

Why not a BMW 5 Series…even an E39 would be sufficient…Best Car of the Year…forever.

• Proton Perdana is or rather was a rebadged Mitsubishi Eterna. So with Nissan Fuga as a replacement is not a surprise.

• Bear in mind that proton has never produced any car of this capacity which is REAR WHEEL DRIVEN and with a V6 engine on top of that. Don’t you think that proton need a ‘lab rabbit’ first before they could embark on such an undertaking?

I understand if people can’t accept proton copying a B segment, but this is a D segment car and you can’t expect proton to simply stretch out a waja or persona platform to create another car equal to the size of this class.

• osh_kosh on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:01 pm

they can buy viva… save a lil money in these hard time & seeing all the YB’s in a cramp sardine can once in a while is a lovely sight me think :)

• They should car pool in a perodua rusa like they told us to car pool

• agree, no traffic police to open the jammed road, no VIP services, then they will know how the ppl feel !!!!!!!!!!!!

• Agree.

Big car only sit 2 people, the driver & menteri. than ask the rakyat to car pool. some more they dont have experience facing the traffic jam in KL / Sgor since they are escorted. Sigh..

• ...... on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:55 pm

When you become Menteri then you will know why you need special car.. not ViVa..
        You know nothing about protocol..

• mizzuddin on Jan 06, 2011 at 10:56 am

what protocol? care to evaluate?

• Sideswipe on Jan 06, 2011 at 9:06 pm

If you dont have privileges being a menteri, you wouldnt even want to become one. Its like you looking for a job that maybe gives you a company car and so on.

Its rare to find Menteris who are willing to move around in a Viva. If there is, I will give him a salute.

• Hanssolo58 on Jan 25, 2011 at 10:19 am

There is nothing special about Menteris…
          All I know is that you menteris are supposed to be serving us the ‘rakyat’ not the other way around…
          So stop blowing your own trumpet…

I suggest you menteris become more professional and stop talking about protocol like a cry baby…

If you menteris want to be part of us the ‘rakyat’ then you better learn to live like one…
          maybe then you will know what it feels like to be an ordinary nobody…without any protocol….

You dont demand for respect…it should be given to you

• osh_kosh on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:29 pm

wow, i got 4 ‘thumb down” for earlier comment from YB’s & Menteri’s??? or perhaps from their relatives??? come on, show your support to P2 lah.. buatan Malaysia kan?(konon).. or you guys prefer Savvy? also can loh… Fuga is not the way to show that “Rakyat Didahulukan, Pencapaian Diutamakan”… should go with a much cheaper model in this hard time.. for your own good, at least before the next GE, if u all want to buy after GE ok loh, what can we all say eh?? rakyat always get screwed one way or another.. cheers :)

• bridgestone on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:03 pm

Interesting movc…. current G evaluated this car …asked for rebadged….
      So next new G will evaluate new toyota crown…ask for rebadge also?

• mant3 on Jan 04, 2011 at 2:44 pm

cannot, otherwise after rebadge it will become Pro2 ‘s GV…… :-)

• Darren Lee on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:29 pm

very easy, just replace the emblem of Toyota and Merz to thunder cat emblem.

• Jimmy on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Not everything government is doing has to be seen as a political motivate. To say that government need a rebadged car to be seen as nationalistic is kind of narrow-minded.

Besides, using other maker’s platform is one of the way for a manufacturer to cut cost for their low-selling models (the current Perdana and its previous reincarnations itself is a rebadged Mitsubishi if I remember correctly).This helps them focus on their mainstream models. Whatever the facts being laid-out by Berita Harian above is still speculative – after all, they might sell it to the mass-market too.

It is also good gauge the response from the consumer on the reintroduction of this higher segment model to the market. Who knows, perhaps in the future, when the interest generated is good we can have our own locally manufactured and designed Perdana.

• Cars fan on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:09 pm

dream on dude….

• ibex7 on Jan 03, 2011 at 8:05 pm

Indeed! So now what we could say is the Govt. shouldn’t be too closed minded when speaking about selling some of their stakes in Proton to a renowned foreign automotive firm because they don’t want to lose the proton as a national pride. This is business and national pride won’t bring any profits at all. We had great opportunity few years back to collaborate with VW but national pride has conquered our politicians mind. Hence we have lost a great chance to be technologically advanced. Seems that now the Govt. may have given Proton some space to do its business with much conflict with our national interest. That the way to move forward! =)

• makeitmine on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:35 pm

VW wanted to buy 51% of Proton to take control. After they take control, they will destroy Proton since VAG has too many brands but VW will keep Lotus. Govt not stupid.

Lotus, as we all know is one of the largest in the world in the competition area and that of the electric car development.

VW’s goal is to have more reach markets such as Southeast Asia, but also acquire all the knowledge and technology Lotus gained during these years. And besides, the team of F1 is also important for Volkswagen.

It seems that VW wants to eat the whole competition.

• dude, nobody wanted lotus.

toyota got it, and sold to P1.

who wanted a car maker that never made any profit in the past 20 years?

1malaysia only la.

• Unforgiven on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:19 am

But you’ll be driving a good quality Passat instead of an old age Perdana.
            You’ll be enjoying 7 speeds DSG or more in the future.
            Our local manufacturing will have International standard or moving to the direction.
            Our living standard and demand for ISO standard will be higher.
            You’ll learn what is 1st class.
            You’ll improve your education/engineering level.
            Do you think Govt is stupid? Or they are scared to be that level? Or we are afraid that we cannot meet that 1st class level?

• I wonder why VW need Lotus when they have Bugati, Audi and Lambo which have far more advance technology then Lotus.
            You need to rethink your statemnet here.

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 04, 2011 at 12:58 pm

eh, how you know VW would destroy proton?! are you an insider in VW? and anyway, proton made crappy cars so why should we care if they scrapped like their crappy cars. lotus? last i checked, VW got Lambo, Bugatti. lotus is that a paste for filling a mooncake? lotus dont even have a f1 team, and all that came along after the talks with vw broke down twice! goes to show, you are just another proton fanboy with misplaced sense of national pride ad a proton ECU for a brain. Adoi!

• makeitmine on Jan 07, 2011 at 10:40 pm

VW wants proton? You serious. What technology does Proton has that VW can’t have. Cheap labour.. plenty in China.

VW is only interested in Lotus. Even COO Frank Tuch was approached by the Volkswagen Group shortly after agreeing to join Lotus. But Frank will also continue to work for Lotus as an adviser.

• kwing on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:15 pm

well i hope the management at proton know what they doing, come out with a few re-badge model to quench local market needs of new car while working on onslaught of the market with their own innovative model in the near future. If they think they can re-badge others to make some quick buck forevers, in long term, proton will have no identity and either get bought over by better run company (lucky!) or become obsolete!

• JustUpgrade on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:57 pm

no one can question about the expensive maintenance in the future. I not surprise they spend over million to service 1 car for 7 years period..just wait and see

• for me..i think gov is doing replacement to proton perdana fleet not proton doing replacement to perdana…

• don u guy said(not all of us) that perdana is high maintainance la, not efficient la, always breakdown la, not tough enough la..blabla..so y the fuss bout it

• kamil on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:37 pm

Either close down Proton or sack DSZ and his management
      cos its an embarrassment for bringing in another no brainer.!!

• Am I the only one or are we seeing The Hypocrite and with his ‘cerita wayang’ up there. As the malay saying goes; “cuba menegakkan benang yang basah”. Nice try though. The true colour of Proton and the government has been revealed. The final chapter will witness the “rakyat” starts to cast their killer vote in the next general election.

• haidir on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:16 am

melaka ketua menteri propose to use Teana V6 for melaka official

• haidir on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:17 am

melaka ketua menteri propose to use Teana V6 for melaka top officier due to no new model by proton

• bridgestone on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:31 am

Melaka KM had just gotten new upgrade by Protonissan…. better than Teana….

• I’d say, that’s a good move for Proton.

earlier, we question Proton/Lotus buying Renault F1 team.
        i’d say, this is part of it.

We all know, D segment is not Proton’s bread n butter.
        Knowing the existing products in the market, to develop one on its own would require colossal investment.
        if it’s only stretched persona or inspira, u guys will bash, a lot.

it’s wise for Proton to bring in this model.
        n this is a good viral marketing move.

=qte=
        The Fuga will be used exclusively by the government, although the source added that if Proton gets encouraging market feedback, it will consider sales to the public.
        =unqte=

the last phrase shows Proton maturity in marketing. it’s OK to wait a little…

n it’s always good to pay less!

• beautiful oblivion on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:52 am

I think a lot of people are getting it wrong. Of all the rants, how many of you here is actually a government servant not to mention a senior one. This should be seen as an award of service. Most of the senior servants have been in service for a good 25-30 years and this would be one thing they can look forward to. There’s no longer any attraction to be a government servant especially in the medical sector. You see doctors and other professions leaving because of the higher pay in the private sector but can you blame them? Imagine you have the opportunity to earn probably a million a year, but you turn that down to be a government doctor. That is real dedication!!!

Now give them a nice car and everyone runs the government down. That’s a bit unfair. I believe that senior government officials deserve this. Do not be mislead and stereotype all senior government officials as just mere politicians. The definition of a senior is identified by the ranking “JUSA” which there aren’t many to begin with. In the past, JUSA holders could look forward to Mercs and Volvos but now just a Perdana. I think the introduction of the Fuga is timely.

Just my thoughts :)

• wolfsburg on Jan 03, 2011 at 4:37 pm

What a waste of our money… lolz!
    Congrats to Nissan for being able to change their identity and sneak into our country and become our National Car!

• prolover on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:11 pm

wait wait…. what about Daihatsu and toyota and Pug and last KIA…

• alldisc on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:45 pm

Proton has long collaborated with the French PSA (include Renault & Citroen). Renault owns Nissan. not very much surprising. anything the boss say goes.

• PROTON BOLEH on Jan 03, 2011 at 9:53 pm

PSA is only Citroen-Peugeot while Renault is alliance with Nissan. And since when did Renault collaborate with Proton? Renault only ‘sell’ and supply their 1.2 engine for Savvy.

This rebadge is nothing to do with either one because Proton have no plan to built the car their own rather than just change the badge. Just like WALD rebadge VW and Nissan Murano.

Nothing to proud of…

• the_fighter on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:34 pm

Renault also supply 1.8 engine for Waja 1.8. same engine also is used by proton to enter BTCC some time ago…now been use in Neo S2000

• Mayonaise on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:37 pm

Ur statement is only partially correct. Renault also supplied the 1.8L engine and gearbox to the now discontinued Proton Waja 1.8. And also, the current CAMPRO engine block is actually based on a Renault engine block, but I can’t recall exactly which series of the Renault engine block it was.

• Utusan Online said, DRB maybe proposed PASSAT.

source: http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2011&dt=0103&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Korporat&pg=ko_01.htm

• Aminlife on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:31 am

Hmm.. Fuga vs Passat. … for perdana? close your eyes.. what car appear in your mind :D

• Wisdom on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:26 am

I see….. now its clear…

The G wants to phase out their Perdana fleet. So everybody want to fight for tender.

Later Naza will propose rebadged Kia Cadenza.

Not to forget, Perodua will offer a fleet of Daihatsu Gran Max for government officials. This Gran Max should suit them well…

• Faddd on Jan 03, 2011 at 4:39 pm

Awesome, now we have the first RWD Proton.! how cool is that? imagine doing donuts and drifts in this car, like having our own Chrysler 300C Hemi, sports muscular sedan, yummy…….Time for Proton to make a V8 Supercharge.!

• lanwm on Jan 03, 2011 at 4:40 pm

nice.. still like my waja cps though

• wuttaheck on Jan 03, 2011 at 4:42 pm

heard in the news this morning that DRB-Hicom is going to propose VW Passat to replace Perdana used by the gov. servant…to replace the shorter wheelbase i guess.

• r1c3d on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:44 am

oh, i hate mk7 passat. it would be great if DRB can built mk6 passat here! or even better bring in SKODA Superb/Octavia…

• Utusan Online reports, DRB may offer PASSAT.

http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/info.asp?y=2011&dt=0103&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Korporat&pg=ko_01.htm

• Su Ber on Jan 03, 2011 at 4:43 pm

Nice ride. Speechless.

Infiniti range, premium finishes.

• mivec on Jan 03, 2011 at 4:44 pm

what engine will use? renault?? rb26dett?? or campro turbo?

• DonkeyKong on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Article says VQ series 2.5 litre V6. I guess you only glanced at the headlines and the pictures?

• With this news, Nissan has truly dissapointed me….

..unless, Proton tells Govt. that with this move, it should give same benefits and exemptions, as it does for UMW Toyota and Honda Malaysia, to ETCM so they can compete better and offer better-featured and cheaper Nissan cars in future to us consumers.

• trinity on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:37 pm

yeah, i agree with you…maybe this is a hidden deal that will finally see nissan getting the same treatment fairly.

• BMALOI on Jan 03, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Nice. But it is still a rebadged after 25 + 1 years.

Can’t see the reason why they don’t want to sell to public unless it is specially equipped with special gadget or bulletproof features for the top ranking? Or, maybe it can’t make a good profit unless they have to sell higher than Teana’s price.

Paul, Perdana will still be around for low ranking govt offices, because top guns get the imported big proton and low guns get the local made big proton.

• this news truely reveal that proton is scared to be a global car manufacturer..why dont they just follow the hyundai to make the luxury models like the genesis,equus and sell it to the world?..take the risk..the reason for that maybe the same like the inspira, because they dont expect to sell a lot of this..

• watever on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:59 pm

Cakap memang senang. If they really produce such car, and then nobody buys it, then you’ll say “waste of rakyat’s money” etc

• thats y i said, sell it to the world..dont only depend on malaysians to buy..thats what hyundai did..everyone was saying hyundai is a shitty car..but look where they are now?..even better than japanese car manufacturer..

• Heckler on Jan 04, 2011 at 6:41 am

Cannot. Ppl gave 5 yrs warranty. P can’t risk it. Power window will fail in 5 mth. (I know I’m bad. Can’t help it)

• BMALOI on Jan 03, 2011 at 9:56 pm

Proton R&D using rakyat money kah? or production using rakyat money?

But how about their profit? share back with rakyat?

Cakap is always senang, if just talk and no proper execution also susah. No wonder rakyat always bising for it.

If they can produce sure rakyat will support and buy only if they can produce same quality as genesis or what so ever. Examples have been proven such as exora, inspira and etc. Only if they make it right, then you will see their products are on the road.

It is useless to talk or rebadged unless they can really try and proof themselves harder and harder.

Returning to rakyat by selling at lower price (national/1 malaysia price), that is the return investment to rakyat. Also, currently the national selling price is higher than overseas taxed price which is a crazy facts. No wonder rakyat selalu bising also.

• yes,i agree.thats the human nature,find somebody else mistakes.if proton build such luxury car n nobody buy it,people put the blame on the gonverment…..

• DonkeyKong on Jan 03, 2011 at 4:57 pm

Hope they churn out something more cost-effective for regular folks, and not another rebadged vehicle despite the obvious benefit of lower development costs. Isn’t the Exora’s modular platform developed to also accommodate a D-segment sedan design?

• MoFaz on Jan 04, 2011 at 12:20 am

yes, but still it involves hundreds of millions to develop new sedan even though they share the same platform. Persona costs RM100 mil to develop even though it share many parts with Gen 2. Should Proton spend 100 mil to produce 150 cars for gov officials?
      the thing is, Proton is not big, their resources is limited. currently they are busy with Persona R, Emas, Hybrids and SUV (for youngman)… get the priorities right, produce what they can sell first.

• Mr. Mofaz with his “imagination tale”. Similar tactics by other protong people. Putar belit, putar belit. Hey brother, Malaysians are not idiot. Dah nama dia rebadge, rebadge lah. Hypocrite!

• aduss on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:26 pm

Persona costs RM100 mil clone from gen2.. gen2 500 mil clone from waja, waja +900 mil new R&D… jadi nik keluarkan kereta yg mgkin jual sebanyak 150 unit tak berbaloi nk buat baru.. nanti kata proton buang duit rakyat lak.. saya sokong MoFaz..

• mohdpaultan on Jan 03, 2011 at 4:58 pm

i thought proton is currently ‘building’ its own perdana replacement model?
    what happen?

• MoFaz on Jan 04, 2011 at 12:23 am

never heard of that. I only hear Persona Replacement, not Perdana.

• that was never mentioned before..

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 04, 2011 at 7:14 pm

suddenly all these proton fanboys not doing their research or what? just search inside paultan pun malas, apa lagi design staff kat proton? proton got say study being done for perdana replacement, involving last gen passat platform and mitsubishi platform. perdana replacement? mana ada? yeah right.

• Repo-man on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:02 pm

Walao!!!
    Sure use ppl’s $$ to go buy these sweet-looking cars
    for their own “u know what” d la~~~
    Don’t say, say le kena caught by ISA…..
    Sure buy 1 unit for 200k ++
    then 150 buah=???
    150 x 200k(basis)= RM30000000++
    The GOV really dare to spend this much yet they made statements that they are poor
    What the Heck………
    Really Kanasai 1 la…. Dissapointed
    Spend rakyat’s $$ like unlimited water supply meh…..****

• alldisc on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:48 pm

actually when govt buy cars, they are paying taxes into their own pocket. its like not paying anything also.

the cost of each Fuga maybe something like 50-60K only to Govt. why the hell they need to pay import tax?? pay to whom? samy vellu kaa??

• littlefire on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:47 am

Bro, the base Fuga is not cheap even in Japan as it is comparible to BMW 5series or Merc E class.. If not mistaken is almost RM150K above if converted from Yen…

• alldisc on Jan 04, 2011 at 7:45 pm

tell me – govt buy 150 units Fuga from nissan dealer in japan or nissan factory?

definitely not from Nissan dealerships, since they want to re-badge the cars. so the source will be direct from factory.

estimate factory price? 50-60K ringgit malaysia region. 150K is the dealer selling price. unless, there are some cronies wanting huge comission money from Nissan….

• bridgestone on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:38 am

Agreed…. If G spend this money for public transport is much better… 2 cars price can buy 1 very good bus…. can carry 40 rakyat rather 2 menteri dlm kereta….

Rakyat will not complain if all rakyat are been taken care on the public transport…then only menteri cars….

Spend wisely G!

• sukaprotontapimahal on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:02 pm

Bestnyer proton…tapi x mampu..mahal sgt.

• JonLing on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:02 pm

not too much against the idea, but i think since proton has to import the car here and do the rebadge job and then sell to the govt, why dun govt just ask proton to continue producing the chancellor and sell it exclusively to the govt?? it’s long wheelbase, and though it doesn’t have the engine and look or interior of the much luxurious cars, neither the perdana did right?? and the govt can just ask proton to source a v6 engine from nissan or some other engines from any reliable car manufacturer (or i think the phoenix aka 1.6 turbo engine from proton will do the job), and maybe making the whole car more upmarket, and viola! a good car to replace the perdana without risking to be bashed by all those politicians and others again (remember how many people against the idea of inspira??).

i think this move will definitely cause a new round of controversy again…….

• MoFaz on Jan 04, 2011 at 12:30 am

it costs a lot of money to develop. choose wisely:
      RM500 mil to develop, test & produce 150 cars, or RM15mil to buy 150 cars (if each costs 100k to import without tax)?

• Mr. Mofaz memerah otak dgn istilah putar belit marketing. Nice try, nice try. Maybe you will come out with better argument say in the next 25 years. Haha.

• osh_kosh on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:07 pm

interesting… what will ETCM do about this???

• DonkeyKong on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:36 pm

Even more interesting is what will Nissan owners do about this? Will they be as silly and childish as Lancer GT owners’ response towards the Inspira?

• Only if you had a Mitsubishi or Nissan, you would understand. Talking is so easy, try experiencing what the owners feel for a change.

• Eyesore on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:51 am

read the post…. only 150 for the top govt officials…. even that is not a confirmed thing…. it will not / never effect the current customer….

• osh_kosh on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:21 pm

chill bro.. Mitsu boys r not that bad.. try imagine what hybrid owners feels this past few years.. 1st Honda Civic hybrid was 160k, then 130k then 108k??? same goes to Prius… must be hard for the 1st batch owner eh?

• DonkeyKong on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Childish is childish. If you think cars are supposed to be investments rather than liabilities that will depreciate inevitably, then stick with a cheap car. Don’t buy an expensive car and then bitch about how bad it feels for it to depreciate. In the US and Europe, everyone is so used to different brands sharing platforms, and different brands depreciating no matter what. In third-world countries like Malaysia, it’s the third-world mentality that fear car depreciation and yet treat cars as status symbols.

• osh_kosh on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:16 pm

bro.. don’t blame Malaysian.. it’s the cars price that make them think it an investment… a ‘cheap’ B segment sedan already cost an ordinary Malaysian more than their full year salary, try compare it to other places & you’ll understand our situation.. of coz we can’t do what the US & Europe ppl r doing, cars there only cost them a few months of their full salary..

• littlefire on Jan 05, 2011 at 9:14 am

Well, i dont think is a problem here..

Fuga is higher level compare to Teana..

Is like comparing Toyota Crown to Camry..

Unless proton manage to reduce the price of the rebadge Fuga lower compare to Teana, then ETCM will be in big trouble.. As those who smart will pick Fuga over Teana due to more superior chasis & different driving layout also (FWD to RWD)..

• That’s proton way! Then Mitsu Lancer, now Nissan Fuga….

• hope that tis car give less problem if compare to perdana… it must be expensive though…. kesian the rakyat ..sendiri drive kancil…. but G ppl drive big car… i tot G is to serve the ppl…. democracy means by the ppl, for the ppl…. why it seem to be the opposite

• vw supporter on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:57 pm

This is what they call 1 Malaysia…
      This is what they call “rakyat didahulukan dan pencapaian di utamakan.”
      rakyat = UMNO
      pencapaian = pencapaian UMNO and not pencapaian negara.

MALAYSIA BOLEH!!! Always NATO only.

• Tiadaid on Jan 04, 2011 at 6:47 am

Welcome to the real world.

• Welcome to the third world….

• The hypocrite has revealed himself intentionally. A sign of arrogant, takbur and aib tahap maksimus. Just wait what real Malaysians will do in the next general election.

• Malaysia Bulleh! on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:14 pm

Haiz…nothing special lar!

People would rather just import a Fuga from Japan.

Malaysia Proton just know about Replacement….Replacement this and that. From Mitsubishi for the WALAN Inspira and Nissan Fuga for the perdana…..

GOing Backward! Malaysia Tak Bulleh!

lol

• DonkeyKong on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:38 pm

With this kind of low-class narrow-minded third-world mentality, please look in the mirror and realize why Malaysia tak bulleh

• tokmoh on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:15 pm

Fuh fuh…

Lotus Renault GP

Lotus related to Proton

Renault related to Nissan

This has gotta be among the benefits secured :)

Now, for the people… a small car suitable for urban driving? Maybe a diesel engine perhaps?

• SidewaysSyndrome on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:09 pm

I guess this is where the collaboration with Nissan on the Emas is supposed to be.
      http://paultan.org/2010/11/01/proton-emas-to-enter-india-using-nissan-march-platform/

• Medusa X on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:15 pm

Syabas buat Proton! Ini adalah satu satunya langkah yg terbodoh diambil, mensia siakan peluang utk buat keuntungan! Jual jer kat kerajaan mcm mana nk dpt profit margin

• udasalleh on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:54 pm

What’s the matter with u?? The market for that car is not that big lest Nissan would have brought it in in the first place. Duhhh..!

There wuz an agreement when Proton via Lotus bought Nissan’s shares in Renault F1 thus making it posibe for this model to be rebadged and sold in M’sia with 150units for a start n to gauge the market before assembling it locally. If the market does not want the Fuga then it is easier to discontinue bringing it without initial spending setting it up. Its just good business practice on Proton’s part.

• kamil on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:50 pm

Proton bought the remaining F1 share from Renault lah
        nothing to do with equity in Renault. Baca lah
        sebelum buat komen.!!
        What is a good business praactice???
        This a recycle old technology / rebadge
        and tak malu naming it Perdana !!!!
        DSZ you’ve lost the plot !!

• udasalleh on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:57 am

hey kamil. that’s what i wrote. u can’t even read right? i typed “shares in Renault F1”. the shares they bought were formerly owned by Nissan. I did not mention anything about Renault equity.

its good business practice when u need to sell a car in a small market. U make agreement to rebadge an existing model. (the fuga is quite good n not old tech mind u). Thus u won’t spend so much on R&D and plant set-up just to cater for a very small market. If the car sells well with potential to get bigger then u assemble it locally. Since local market prefers Accord n Camrys it makes sense to gauge the market first. P2 does it with Nautica CBD in M’sia… when it does not sell well they just discontinue. Its just a business decision.

• hare hare on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:15 pm

so what’s it called? proton gomen!!??

• makeitmine on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:19 pm

These rumors may be true:

1. Proton/Lotus collaboration with Nissan/Renault for Proton EMAS/Lotus City car production.

2. Proton entering India market using Nissan global compact V (for Versatile) platform for small car.

3. Lotus/Renault to build 1.6 liter 4 cylinder turbo engine for F1/road cars

Come Proton, buy Perodua but run as a separate company.. you can collaborate with Toyota/Daihatsu!!

• mivec on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:58 pm

101% agreeee

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:29 pm

p1 buy p2? who going to loan them the duit? u ah?

• makeitmine on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:19 pm

P1 buy P2 on paper..

P1/P2 gets platform from Toyota/Daihatsu so that P1/P2 can build new cars and buy engines.

P1/P2 pays for Toyota platform/engines from Lotus engineering partnership with Toyota to develop future engines for Toyota. In return, Toyota will also supply custom-made powertrains for future Lotus cars.

Currently, Lotus designs engines for OEM. Perhaps one day Lotus/Proton can form a new company that manufactures engines for OEM.

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 04, 2011 at 7:37 pm

you dont seem to understand that while p2 distribution is owned by locals the manufacturing side is 51% owned by the japs, there is no telling how they will react to this or if they may leave for indonesia or thailand? and anyway, what are the synergies of p1 and p2? there is nothing in it for daihatsu. lotus? is that a filling for a mooncake?

• dream on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Wonder why Nissan was picked. Is it due to its connection to Renault, which Proton may gain access to later on?

Last time there were rumours of Proton searching for a Euro partner.
    Some of the guesses were Renault, Citroen/Peugeot n Fiat/Alfa.

Could this be the first step towards achieving that?

• nimosy89 on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:58 pm

Renault is related to nissan, can u understand what i mean?

• alldisc on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:11 am

i guess Nissan gives the most commision to Najib’s think tank group?

• i read somewhere that the state of Melaka is weighing up replacing Perdana with Camry. Even Police force is using Camry, Lancer and Forte nowadays.
    As for Fuga, I think this is good choice. But for the regular Perdana, Government should use Inspira 2.0. IMHO, that is be the most viable option.

• freddie on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:23 pm

Please make it available for the public!

• freeze on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:26 pm

Great. This way they can still say they drive Malaysian car. Nice going BN.

Why didn’t go all out and rebadge a Rolls Royce instead of Nissan?

• busybody on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:15 pm

RR in later days when we achieved developed nation.

• They will if the rakyat got duped and belived that they support nissan..oppss, I mean proton by using it themself

• quattro on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:28 pm

rebadge je mercedes E200..just do it…change bintang logo and put harimau…..

• Rebadging 150 units just so the govt does not show itself to be supporting other makes?
    Doesn’t make sense and seems hypocritical to me. Unless there is a long term plan for mass production of the rebadged car, this is going to make our govt a laughing stock in the eyes of the world.

• dream on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:28 pm

wait til they see the newer Hyundais – Genesis, Equus…then maybe they’ll have 2nd thoughts…

• Malaysian Car Industry disgusts me on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:30 pm

omg…tan chong pls bring this in. hmm proton + nissan = PROTON GT-R? PROTON 370Z?

• mnazri.tan on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:30 pm

This is my comment…i foresee something alike to appear once rumors start circulating about LOTUS/Proton F1 venture in Renault…though i am expecting something like renault/proton model instead of nissan/proton but it aint a bad thing at all…i have been lucky to frequently visiting korea last year and the official car is the Samsung SM7 which is collaboration between Samung and Renault using Nissan Engine….it is a very impresive luxury car…love every bit of it…And i can only imagine succes for Proton…Head to Head with camry , accord and sonata i am sure they can have a good share of the pie…

next in pipeline…i am quite sure Danny Bahar would use at least one of his next 5 car using renault engine…and associate that with their partnership in F1…great idea to me…

i wont be surprise if Proton Emas being used as Nissan or Renault in near future….

I think it is time for Proton to move away from MItsubishi…its been too long

oh i am sure a lot of basher will come up with lost of negative comment…For those…i pray that you have the opportunity to become Proton CEO someday for it seem u know better….

cheerioooo

• rifle on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:57 pm

sokong!!

• DewaSemut on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:16 pm

You give comment like a proton insider la bro… r u the right hand man of DSZ? hehe… btw all the things you said made good sense.. these is what we called in management term somethin’ like Business Process Re-engineering (BPR) for Proton. Go ahead Proton with your plans. Mind these narrow minded, tunnel vision bashers…

• makeitmine on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:48 pm

I think Proton/Lotus, Nissan/Renault and Mitsubishi are in the same team to take the global market.

http://www.leftlanenews.com/nissan-mitsubishi-to-collaborate-on-new-models.html

Nissan will build a small commercial van for Mitsubishi to sell in the Japanese market, while Mitsubishi will build an SUV for Nissan to market in the Middle East. Nissan says that it will also take advantage of excess capacity at a Mitsubishi plant in Thailand to build its Navara small pickup.

Nissan and Mitsubishi have also planned a joint-venture that will see the automakers working together to build a minicar aimed at both Japanese and export markets. The minicar will go on sale in 2012.

Is the minicar also a Proton EMAS/Lotus City Car?

Great to see Proton/Lotus in the middle.. come Proton, own Perodua and collaboration is possible with Toyota/Daihatsu.

• Cars fan on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:21 pm

i’m sure u r working with proton…..so u proton salesman…..

• mujahid on Jan 03, 2011 at 8:18 pm

dont care working with whom, his statement is acceptable, rather than those lousy comments….

• aduss on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:18 pm

saya sokong comment Cars fan ni.. kalau la proton salesman boleh bg statement mcm ni.. proton engineer lg power la yer… = ) hahahahahahaha.. his statement is acceptable (mnazri.tan)

• Azahari on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:44 am

Those bashers actually want to be politician but they complaint in the wrong forum. This is a car related blog! Not a politician forum. Please don’t spoil it.

Proton guys know better what they are doing and to me all the decisions they made lately was smart business decisions including rebadging Inspira. I just hope that they can solve their over capacity productions plant in the near future so they can lower down their overhead cost further.

To the bashers, you guys need to read lots more to understand the automobile business. Than you will understand Protons decisions. Proton is not the only company doing this. This kind of move is happening around the world. It is not even political. It is business. Get it?

Go go…..Malaysia boleh! We are proud Malaysian!

• Azahari on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:49 am

Those bashers actually want to be politician but they complaint in the wrong forum. This is a car related blog! Not a politician forum. Please don’t spoil it.

Proton guys know better what they are doing and to me all the decisions they made lately was smart business decisions including rebadging Inspira. I just hope that they can solve their over capacity productions plant in the near future so they can lower down their overhead cost further.

To the bashers, you guys need to read lots more to understand the automobile business. Than you will understand Protons decisions. Proton is not the only company doing this. This kind of move is happening around the world. It is not even political. It is business. Get it?

Go go…..Malaysia boleh! We are proud Malaysians!

• drMpower on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:31 pm

i thought they gonna use those EVs as fleet cars
    lab rats
    instead of us
    why not them aite?

surely no one will bash nissan
    because fuga nobody buy
    good move gomen

it just shame that this looks like a good drivers car

• MoFaz on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:50 am

EVs? yes for gov, but not for top officials. imagine najib in Exora Hybrid…
      most probably, those EVs for department use only..

• Zahar Zain on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:35 pm

Does Mitsubishi have a current bigger car than the Lancer? I know they used to have the 380 but not so sure now. My is guess that this is the reciprocal arrangement for the Lotus and Renault marriage since Renault owns Nissan. May it extend further to benefit Proton in the long run.

• They have a car called the Gallant but it is only sold in US i think…its as huge as the accord

• the guy who names these cars needs to be shot. maybe Nissan got sylphy-lis cos it fuga-ed around too much?

• carsut on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:41 pm

Why need to change to Perdana instead of Fuga.. just remain as it is.. rakyat know its not Perdana, its FUGA!!

• yamseng on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:42 pm

proton should just buy over tan chong motor and replace all nissan line up here with proton badge. tan chong motor also very slow getting nissan model here. then malaysian can have cheap japanese car that can match t and h…. then only t and h will shiver die die.

• The Loner on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:46 pm

Is it VQ25DE or VQ25HR? As what I know is current Fuga model uses VQ25HR 2.5L engine, which produces 225ps of horsepower & 258Nm of torque.

Danny, if the engine is same as current Teana, then the engine is VQ25DE 2.5L with 185ps of horsepower & 232Nm of torque.

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:44 pm

You’re right. Current Fuga uses VQ HR engine. I was thinking of the previous gen model, which also came with the VQ25DE.

• ibex7 on Jan 03, 2011 at 8:37 pm

All these 2.5L engine sure would consume a lot of fuel compared to low cc engine. I wonder if all this while the subsidy cuts exercise would be used to fund the petrol cost and later more cuts…haih…

• Bobot on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:47 pm

Will the govt reduce the roadtax for 2.5L car now since Proton has a 2.5L car

• rifle on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:47 pm

if it use the latest fuga, I LIKEEE…

• slekuzen on Jan 03, 2011 at 5:50 pm

Frankly speaking, I think this idea is quite encouraging. Hopefully, through the process and collaboration with Nissan, Proton will be able to keep the CVT transmission (and other if possible) for their public cars and gain more expertise in terms of assembly and parts quality.

But again, the cooperation with Nissan is not surprising, since there is also one with its sister, Renault. Seems like the Proton-Renault-Lotus cooperation in F1 is trickling down and quickly bearing fruit for government and F1 for now, but at this pace, defnitely the public as well ;-)

I’m gearing up for a great year ahead. For sure!

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:26 pm

dulu, kini dan selamanya rebadger. this govt is overgeared pun mau syok syok pakai duit rakyat beli kereta bukan2.

• just do it on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:03 pm

if new government win they will by viva 660 basic for all the politician…haahahahaha..

• Maybe the senior G guys will let the RAKYAT to have a free ride with them IF they get it :)

• Alpha on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:04 pm

If Proton gonna sell it to the masses,this baby gonna cost around the least,MYR 180k in my opinion.

This Fuga/M is not in the same class as the Accord/Camry/Teana.It’s actually sold as a mid-size luxury in the USA competing with cars like BMW 5-er,Merc E-Class,Lexus GS/ES and such.

• Mienzz on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:06 pm

A good decision from Proton

• blackbox on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:07 pm

What is the point to bring in an Nissan car, pay Nissan extra money to re-badge the car and sell it to the government? It will end up more expensive. The car not even assemble in Malaysia. This is worse than Inspira.

• makeitmine on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:34 pm

I think this is the beginning of future collaboration.

Nissan/Renault sees something in Proton/Lotus that they like. Maybe the Lotus City Car to beat Chevrolet Volt.

If not, why would Nissan recently offer Proton a V platform for small car to enter Indian market? Renault-Nissan is already working in partnership with Indian motorcycle maker Bajaj.

It is silly just for Proton to badge the car and sell it to the government. Maybe they will collaborate on hybrid or 100% electric car.

• You are not making sense lah kid. Lotus City Car is NOT comparable to Chevrolet Volt at all!

• JeremyNg on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:11 pm

Our goverment already facing loss since 2005 until now ……… but they still waste money like ntg happen ==”””

• lchan on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:19 pm

standard replacement for current perdana will be the inspira.

• aduss on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:23 pm

use Skyline platform??? patut la proton dapat rebadge model ni… rebadge??? not rebadge la, kan proton(Lotus) dan Nissan berkeja sama buat Skyline GTR.. kira buat kerata ni sama2 la kan.. ermm.. betul ka?? hahahaha

• JoeGTi on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:39 am

Lotus just improved their ride & handling for europe & states market

• justice on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:39 pm

enjin 2.5..?
    tak selari dengan laungan kerajaan. ‘mesra alam’

lagipun kenapa nak reBADGE model luar.?
    proton TAK MAMPU ke nk develope sendiri untuk pengganti Perdana?

sedih la…lg2 desas-desus penggabungan P1 n P2…takut persaingan la tu.haha

• alldisc on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:53 pm

lagi bagus menteri guna exora extended range. keta nasional. tiada pencemaran. just convert from 7 seater become 4 seater. luas gilerr!!

• what, you think all big cc engines are not ‘mesra alam’ kah?

a 660cc Kancil might be 3x more polluting than Fuga’s 2.5L VQ HR engine.

btw, MOST car manufacturers rebadge others to save development costs. what’s the problem?

• ibex7 on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:33 pm

Justice: Don’t be narrow minded. There are times we should consider other development made by other people that may save Proton billions of RM is not millions just by taking suitable model and re-label it as proton if such model isn’t an all-star profit making model. There are times we should develop new models if it going to be profitable. It’s about being able to decide what is our requirement and the best way to deliver it…=)

• wah just now u were labeling the 2.5L engine fuel consuming..now ckp dont be narrow minded at this guy..flop ka?

“All these 2.5L engine sure would consume a lot of fuel compared to low cc engine. I wonder if all this while the subsidy cuts exercise would be used to fund the petrol cost and later more cuts…haih…”

• Dissapointed on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:39 pm

What?! After all this years of suffering of “overpay” for non-national cars to keep Proton alive, now we can’t buy their “better” car? The lesser people can only buy their inferior products.

Thank you government and Proton for the good job of keeping on screwing us.

• alldisc on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:51 pm

time to maintain and change – next election is not far away!

• vw supporter on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:49 pm

Did they even discuss this in Parlimen before they decide to take 150 units? They are using our money to buy luxury cars and not even bother to discuss this in Parlimen. WTF!!!

• JustUpgrade on Jan 03, 2011 at 6:56 pm

hahaha, so in the future no one can question how expensive they paid to service the car!! since you cant get it in the market! hahaha…what a joke!

• torres on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:01 pm

Why not INSPIRA for thier own car?…Anyway a car is juz a car to take you from A to B…Driving a NISSAN FUGA doesn’t make u smart or somethg..Our G really knw how to use our hard earn money….

• bryan jones on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:07 pm

good move proton.. steal the accord & camry market with a rebadged model for a start. this is my suggestion:

1. proton want to tap into accord/camry market since they have inspira in civic/corolla segment.

2. use rebadged car for a start & take a slice of the market from accord/camry.

3. after (let say 5-7 years) life cycle, introduce “replacement” with collaboration in design/technical with Nissan-Renault.

so if they build on their own from zero – u only commit suicide.

forget the past, so dont waste another 25 years in future ;)

• qwerty on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:15 pm

even if proton sells this car to the public, most of u cant afford it, or will not buy it.

And most of u say korean cars are better. Then why bother asking proton to sell or make a new car? Just go ahead and buy those korean/perodua/honda/toyota

• After 20 over years of experienced Proton still like baby learning to walk. . . Agreed that we’d enough suffering of “overpay” cars to keep them alive. Desperately wish other company take it over, VW owned it should be nice! and released our burden. . .

• amel8488 on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:29 pm

good move G & proton. hopefully after this, any car want to enter Malaysian Market need to re-badge as proton… hehehe… less cost… imagine porsche re-badge as proton…

• serkop on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:31 pm

di saat minyak yang semakin naik harga.. top level management nak tukaq dari perdana ke Fuga pulak.. memang rakyat betul2 didahulukan.. tahniah!

• at least, i hope those rebadged Fugas won’t eat our tax money for some expensive maintenance…

unlike the current Perdana fleet.

• meteoraniac on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:31 pm

nothing against proton but shame on the government, telling the rakyat they have no choice to raise the price of all essential goods/petrol, reduced subsidies with their usual excuses, but barely even a month after the petrol increase they are spending like nobody’s business…………..

• PROTON BOLEH on Jan 03, 2011 at 9:55 pm

they will told you they still using a ‘national car’ as their official car

• Agree..
      Since the petro price hiking, why still looking for using high cc car as Fuga?
      Dont proton already having the “Inspira” that they really proud of?
      Since they said the inpira had help them to save a lot of the R&D cost, why not keep using this inspira to optimum the cost saving purpose?

• modesto on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:37 pm

If Terrengganu government managed to ask Perodua to rebadge Camry to make it more like a National Car, then they wouldnt have been attacked by the BN government. now BN government is smarter, they nationalized Nissan first before they are back fired by opposition.

• jimbimdrunkmaster on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:09 am

and they think, most rakyats are still wearing cawat and live in caves…
      that’s why they want to tipu by changing name.

• Tiadaid on Jan 04, 2011 at 7:45 pm

Wrong state lah…Terengganu bought Pekan-assembled Mercedes. Perak’s the one who bought the Camry, now since auctioned off already.

• eeeriz on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:37 pm

I do not wish to comment on the collaboration between Proton/Nissan/Renault.. bla bla bla..

I only wish to comment about Nissan Fuga. It is essentially Infiniti M, which is the top of the line of Infiniti series. I’ve taken ride in G37 in Oman, and tell you it’s a splendid car. Very, very powerful and the way it behave similar to BMW 3 series.

Inifiniti M is much bigger, and much better ride with its supple ride. I won’t mind if it will be a rebadge Perdana as the car itself is really, really good. FYI Inifiniti direct rival is Lexus, and here I would prefer Infiniti better.

Price wise, I would think go around RM200k, if CKD’d here.

• Joseph on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:50 am

It’s funny, after so many years, Japs/Nips benchmark is always the German. So why bother buying from a Jap anyway, might as well just buy a BWM or an Audi.

• Jaaaaaguar on Jan 04, 2011 at 7:54 am

Maybe they want something a little more rare ^_^

I’m just sayin

• theanswer on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:40 pm

damn! my dad just finished his term few days ago..

• najib mabok on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:41 pm

I like Malaysia!!!!! that why he created 1 MALAYSIA……………all have to suffer….. only him and his wife can live richer day by day…. nowdays they look live a ‘clown’…

• Next Lotus Esprit will using Nissan Skyline GT-R 3.8 engine? I’m support 110% if Proton use Nissan Fuga rather than oldie 380 Galant. Smart move.

• Its really idiotic move by govn to have pradana replaced with Nissan. Why can’t proton improve perdana’s design and make it more appealling to the public as OUR OWN car designed. The money spend on the is more worthy is put back to ASN dividents for the rakyat, For 2 years running ASN dividents are not to the mark and expectation of the public, And the govn claim to make profits.. is it so?? The public is short changed by the political masquerades. If BN cannot to do better, better give up…. dude.

• Perdana? OUR OWN car designed?
      are you smoking? it’s a rebadged Mitsubishi Eterna!

Proton is rebadging a Nissan to replace a rebadged Mitsubishi model. i don’t see any problems with that…

• Ha Gnih on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:24 pm

Before they even think of revamping the Perdana, PLEASE improve the engine. What we have for the Perdana now is the VERY obsolete, behind class 1997 – 1999 technology engine. Try an improved 6 speeder or something. Seriously, Proton should learn a thing or two from the Japs, even the Koreans these days. We are still stuck with the gas guzzler of 4 speeders. Bila lagi nak maju ? Face lift this, face lift that, so the what ?

• SidewaysSyndrome on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:43 pm

Dude its simple math. It takes around RM700 million to develop a new car and you are planning to sell for only 150 units? For that, you would need to sell the cars at RM4.6 million each to cover the development cost. Doesn’t sound smart right?

Even if Proton decides to sell the cars to the public, who would pay RM200k for a D-segment Proton?

• altecs on Jan 03, 2011 at 7:59 pm

People are so pessimistic sometimes.. sheesh. Lets look at this in a positive light for once:

Instead of using rakyat as guinea pigs for proton models, now we can have our *beloved* politicians testing the newer models first hand. If this thing actually makes it to the open market then we’ll be damn sure that the car has a ton less problems thx to the hundreds of negative feedback from YBs.

As for rebadge, I think it’s a good opportunity for proton to learn from this.. Proton can make cars, they have proven that with waja, gen-2 and neo. Now they must learn to make BETTER cars in which they will learn by rebadging these models. Learn from mitsu, learn from nissan.. next step? be a world car auto maker. Good luck proton.

• Nazrul on Jan 03, 2011 at 8:00 pm

I’m just not happy with this, Nissan Fuga will be great for Perdana, I know, but, another rebadge? Even though this is for government only, but I’m sure Proton can built their very own car. Except the engine of course, we still in 1.6 level, Perdana need larger engine.

• SidewaysSyndrome on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:29 pm

It’s simple maths dude. It takes RM700 million to develop a car and you’re looking at selling only 150 units to the government. For that, you would need to sell the car at RM4.6million per unit to cover the development cost. Does that sound smart to you?

Even if they decide to sell the car to the public, i would expect the car to be priced around RM200k. Would the public pay RM200k for a Proton that they build from ground up?

• Nazrul on Jan 04, 2011 at 12:28 am

I just want Proton to stand out, haven’t you ever dream to see our only carmaker stand out? I do, because I’m a Malaysian. Yes, you’re right about making their own car, who want to buy a Proton with a price like BMW 520i, would you? And yet, what kind of car you driving now? Sound silly I know. Anyway, do you agree by this car should be the new model for the Chacellor?

• Tiadaid on Jan 04, 2011 at 6:39 am

You want Proton to stand out? Ckp senang. When Proton lose money you’ll scream like hell of “wasting rakyat’s money”. Now they’re trying to save money bashers still bash.

• Nazrul on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:31 pm

Well, I respect both of you gentlemen’s comments. Yes, you both have point. Proton don’t want to make the same mistake again. I know that making a perfect car is no walking in the park, if you don’t trust me, why don’t you try it yourself. Maybe it just me, I always thought more from Proton, I just want them to go further. Maybe this would be “cakap sahaja”, but sometimes “cakap sahaja” might inspire someone to do better.

• Ha Gnih on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:47 am

I would buy a 200K proton IF, only IF the quality matches the price. But for proton, we are paying SO MUCH for plastic. Not to mention, faulty tech improvisations and what not. Take the Waja for example. Brand new unit costs as much as the entry level of the Vios, OF COURSE Toyota would be the choice. A close contact of mine, whose working for a car manufacturing plant in Shah Alam told me before, the actual price of the (brand new) Waja if we take the quality into consideration is ONLY around 32K – 40K. How’s THAT for charging the rakyat too much ?

• if i am not mistaken proton cars also being taxed?? we call it as sales tax…. even those saga without the sales tax can be around 20k something… and viva?? lol…

• Tiadaid on Jan 04, 2011 at 7:47 pm

But Proton cars are also taxed as well too. Not all are profit margin.

• stephen on Jan 03, 2011 at 8:01 pm

the plan sound very weird….with the small volume… not surprise it might have no production at Proton…just rebadge…but how much will that be charge to gov?

sorry… all this ballooning budget for those mega project just make me feel this is some thing weird which benefit some middle man

• think on Jan 03, 2011 at 8:12 pm

starting from this year let only the high level goverment ministers pay income taxes,,who going to use this proton nissan fuga..this is because only they are given speciality to use the car..so this is called 1 malaysia,,where from the basic itself they already differentiated the people and ministers..well done proton…….people will still buy the nissan fuga even though it can be expensive because they knew it is not a fully proton engineered…think……….

• didie on Jan 03, 2011 at 8:30 pm

do you think how much proton will get for their grant for R&D from G, transform mitsubishi to inspira? now nissan…
    They not making money by selling car!!! but curi wang rakyat to survive!
    Good , 1Malaysia support zionis style..

• Research and development grant = RM143,688,000(2010) n RM80,656,000(2009)

Short term borrowings = RM142,236,000(2010) n RM306,039,000(2009)

• J@CK LIM on Jan 03, 2011 at 8:32 pm

huh! ? even government themselves also dunwan use local car?
    i wonder how local gonna convince public =(

• Pruton on Jan 03, 2011 at 8:34 pm

Another copycat from our national car……..disgusting!

• I don’t like this news coz it makes Proton like rojak and drag their history backward. 150 or 1000 I think not the good figures for company like Proton.

Most of the time just to accommodate only driver and pengarah, then use viva la. Police troops still can escort your viva.

After this, what? Did gomen will consider to buy Segway coz it is not economical to walk around department. Btw, Segway will reduce walking maintenance cost.

• Fugla! The real deal is VW Passat.

• 4G63TDSM on Jan 03, 2011 at 9:08 pm

I would take the Fuga any time over the VW Passat. Its not even in the same category. VW Passat = Nissan Altima = Honda Accord

Fuga/M37/M45 = BMW 5 = Mercedes AMG/E = Audi A6/S6

I’ve driven the previous model M45 and the smaller engined M37 (rental) before. It was an amazing car. Can’t wait till they bring the new one to Hertz’ rental fleet.

I would choose it over a basic E90 Bimmer any time of the day.

• BMALOI on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:12 pm

If they really go for VW Passat,
      It means higher maintenance cost!!! more alat ganti issues when the bills arrived to the finance department.

Why not govt consider our proton owned lotus such as elise, evora, exige and etc to be the perdana replacement? I am sure all our top ranking will be happy. Drive faster, reduce travelling time and work more efficiently to develop for a better negara.

also since it is owned by proton, i guess alat ganti will be cheaper because home produced.

The first country in the world whose all top rankings are riding in super cars. genesis world records ~ COOL ~!

• To keep it low cost, the Passat will come with no Airbag or ABS, just like that old Banana i mean Perdana.

• modesto on Jan 03, 2011 at 9:02 pm

We can always see minister sitting in proton perdana, with their body guards and escort in volvo XC 80, 1 in the front and the other at the back of proton perdana (proton perdana in the middle) they normally cruise in high speed like rushing to somewhere important. imagine if the first XC80 had an emergency brake and the last XC80 cannot brake in time, i wonder what will happen to the minister in the middle being sandwiched by 2 high impact resistance XC80. shouldnt be the other way round? minister car is XC80 and the escorts are perdana?

• modesto on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:20 pm

by the way, it is XC90, not XC80, sorry mistyped. happy new year

• sepul on Jan 03, 2011 at 9:03 pm

i say this is a good move.. nissan is not bad a car too

• haiz… copy this & that… P2 already finish copy & paste projek… now P1’s turn ah? If we see a Lambo or Rolls Royce or what car with P1 badge on road, it wouldn’t be surprsing.

• ttoyott on Jan 03, 2011 at 9:26 pm

damn seriously i want this fuga! pls bring into production proton!

• turbo on Jan 03, 2011 at 9:30 pm

i saw in Utusan Malaysia today…the perdana replacement would be VW Passat….collaboration with Hicom

• Kappa on Jan 03, 2011 at 9:36 pm

Wow,this car has to cost more than RM160K. Changing the Nissan logo to Proton logo. This must be the idea of the G.Now they can have a luxury car without getting the media attention since it’s a so called Proton a national car.

• Faisal on Jan 03, 2011 at 9:41 pm

i’m ok with it coz proton perdana is also a rebadge of mitsu eterna. i’m sure that any rebadge strategy by proton is a profitable one.. so all the best proton..

p/s: still think that car price in Malaysia is expensive..

• jamal on Jan 03, 2011 at 9:58 pm

from automotive point of view, i think its a good move. buy 150 unit should get bundle price. lower cost. plus, its a start of a proton nissan partnership in the future. most of the perdanas almost already reach disposal stage so theres no issues about the replacement. i hope most of guys see it in the business sense of it. if buy passat surely the cost will be higher and the spareparts more expensive. rater than pay drb its better to pay proton. though most of the money will go to nissan. but again, its a start of partnership between proton and nissan. so should be nothing wrong as i see it as a win-win situation especially for the future of proton.

• I do hope the gearbox for this car dun cost 5 figures :)

• MoFaz on Jan 04, 2011 at 2:15 am

well, CVT gearbox for the old Honda City is also 5 figures.. RM20,000!

• Material Ferum on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:18 pm

Personally, i think only our Prime Minister can use Rolls Royce Ghost or Mercedes S class for our international and global image stand point of view and not just narrow minded for the national sake value our leader use cheap quality car plus with proton 3 star safety car ;) Please don’t ever let the media or government official tell you that they have no money or very limited cash-flow if they can’t show you their personal banking statement =)

• JustUpgrade on Jan 04, 2011 at 2:16 pm

but Obama is sitting in the USA made Chevy…I think Dr M start a good initiative.

• ericten on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:25 pm

Import a Fuga from overseas, when you are stopped at a road block, you can bluff your way through saying you are some high rank minister hahahahaha

• MoFaz on Jan 04, 2011 at 2:08 am

you need 3 or 4 police escort on bikes or patrol cars to make them believe you’re a minister.

• rain rain on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:27 pm

I m honestly damn pissed off of this 1M gov…only know how to abuse the money that sit in the bank… I/my family will NEVER put a single vote for BN in coming months..I SWEAR !!!

• tok they faced financial problem, and declared no bonus for government officer? Why they still spend like no others? Look at the EVO police car on road, tok it were suppose for highway speed car chase purpose but was mostly seen at town roadside hide and behind tree for catching phone/seat belt and etc. Beside police dept, those Animal/agriculture/custom/mostly all dept used good car like fortuner/x-trail…is it necessary to spend such money?

• The govn is asking us to tighten our belt but they themselves is spending like nobody business. Besides they should be sourcing from local assembler instead of importing from overseas. Our hard earn tax money is not suppose to be spend for these Govn servants ! I say let them drive Saga is more than enough

• F U G! spend a lot of money on high ranking ppl… WTF!! im working in a goverment agency and as of mid next year, they will stop paying epf! WTF!!!!

• MAxim on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:48 pm

Perdana Replacement Model = Nissan Fuga…..x
    Nissan Fuga rides on a Skyline platform……..y

can proton rebadge a gt-r r34 or r35 with lotus handling?

• sonyman on Jan 03, 2011 at 10:50 pm

yes, i love it… close down TCM and bring in CBU fully imported Nissan range, GTR, 370Z, Nissan Fuga, Nissan Teana, and not forgetting Nissan Sylphy, Sell the Fuga at RM150K, Sell the Teana at 100K, and the GTR at 180K, plus slyphy at 50K whoa, we all be driving nissan cars, Also bring in Nissan leaf and sell at 60K whoa Honda insight Ta pao , toyota Hybrid mati loh… Yeah We love the world of rebadge Misubishi and Nissan cars.. Super man. PLease Gomen, when you make this happen i will give you a vote.

• Skyline 250GT saloon already 3,297,000.00 JPY = 123,577.88 MYR
      The cheapest FUGA 250GT not Hybrid 4,273,500.00 JPY = 160,248.30 MYR

UK Infiniti M30d 39,250.00 GBP = 186,257.25 MYR
      M37 37,650.00 GBP = 178,662.26 MYR
      Cheapest Crown Royal Saloon 2.5 3,285,714.00 JPY = 123,216.18 MYR

In comparison, the Fuga 250GT uses less fuel than Camry 2.4 but l couldn’t find Camry Hybrid in Japan. Maybe they replaced by SAI (a Lexus outside Japan). D-segment saloon like Camry normally retailed around 2,500,000.00 JPY = 93,776.74 MYR.

It will cost Proton between 160,248.30 MYR x 150 unit =RM24m or without tax maybe around JPY4,000,000.00 JPY = 149,977.74 MYR x 150=RM22.5m+few thousand for Proton emblem+profit to few parties etc…

By the way, Infiniti M or Fuga is good car intended at executive saloon like 5er, E-class etc. Not bad, huh? I rather prefer Proton rebadge through collaboration like this than destroy taxpayer money to develop their own D-segment car for time being. First model of Hyundai Equus also borrowed directly from Mitsubishi above D-segment. Why not Proton for high officials?

• Dak Ajan on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:11 pm

Ah!! it’s an ancient story. All of them (OEM) doing this now. They going global with partnership. It’s a concept to strengthen each other for global market. Even during R&D time for Nissan GTR. There are pictures about Lotus Engineer’s to develop GTR at Nurburgring.
    It’s a based to optimise segment that Proton not strong most. Low cost and min time frame for R&D and some other aspect. Swapping current Perdana is really good move for Proton because it’s a high volume since the market is there from our goverment comparing to sell this at their showroom where Proton not strong in this segment. It’s economic scale for Proton and the return is high even it is CBU and was rebadged.
    In Europe, they talk about Proton and Renault partnership. About Proton Emas for low cost in Asia market. Europe market handed to Renault and sportier 2 door from Lotus.

• niceone on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:11 pm

just use any models available in the proton factory la.. why need to rebadge here and there then only few elite people use it. furthermore, it’s not something that they can call BUSINESS if it involves gomen. no profit that you can create from this move, but recurring expenditures (eg: astronomical maintenance cost) for many many years to come.

• no need to hentam2 anybody…just tukar Goverment…we will drive what we want…no hidden cost….satisfaction guaranteed!!!!

• buy direct on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:30 pm

Only in Malaysia that a government need to pay a middle man to buy 150 cars to rebadge when it can just order directly from Nissan. And why buy such a rare not available in the market car knowing that the maintenance charges will be sky high…perhaps that’s somebody’s retirement plan.

• buloss on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:35 am

i dont think it only happen i here

• DICKYBIRD on Jan 04, 2011 at 12:38 pm

well the fact is it is happening here when it should not.
        dont you think that would be bad since bn pleads poverty when they cutback on subsidies and services and yet thinks nothing of paying millions in socalled commission to buy useless submarines.
        first world education, public transit and living standards are happening in Spore, why is that not happening here? why dont they bring, instead of the corruption that you seem to imply happens everywhere.

• Li Auto on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:36 pm

fantastic!
    P1 should offer this to the rakyat as well…
    people first! remember…

• muammarhafiz on Jan 03, 2011 at 11:42 pm

Boring nye bace komen korang..byk sgt negative comments on proton.
    Its not easy to manage 1 national big company + malaysia pride+jage hati ahli politiks at 1 time lah..

Ade lah sbb die why proton prefer to rebadge this model FOR perdana fleet rather than letak duit for r&d berjuta2 for market yg mybe proton or market belum ready.

21years je pun baru..chill..
    Aku drive satria neo syiokkk je..nissan sylphy ayah aku tu pun x syiok sgt.hehehehehe
    Viva proton!

• alldisc on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:16 am

bro, govt can just buy any car they want. Nissan Fuga ke, Toyota Celsior ke, Mazda Luce ke, tapi mengapa MESTI tukar nama? just buy and use lah. whay waste time by changing name? bukan ke tu keja buang masa dan negative?

maybe KERA-jaan syok sendiri je kut… macam ko pun syok sendiri bawak sneo. mmg lah ko punya fikiran mana sama dengan org tua punya fikiran. masa ko sebaya ayah kau nanti, ko takkan beli keta 3 pintu punya… and handling is not as important a criteria anymore but more to comfort and arrive safely from point A to B.

• jerami klaxon on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:40 pm

betul betul betul…. terimalah kenyataan, to quote “sheiks pere”: A FUGA IS A FUGA…. IF IT GOES BY ANY OTHER NAME IT IS STILL A FRIGGIN FUGA JUGA… :)

• torres on Jan 04, 2011 at 12:24 am

Rebadge or not rebadge it doesn’t matter, do we rakyat gain anythg from the G driving nissan FUGA?

• Rakyat biasa on Jan 04, 2011 at 12:48 am

Wat the heck top official? Without us rakyat being robbed by various cukai and charges u can sit comfortably driving fame n luxurious life??

Coming election on the edge. Wake up before too late!!!

• Another great initiative from our beloved govt. ! Malaysia BOLEH

• kassimSelamat on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:15 am

This is an utter waste of resources.
    It would have been better to purchase a Camry / Accord / Teana.
    At least maintenance and parts are available locally.
    Forget about Proton cos they are just a parasite and
    expecting more subsidies to support blood sucking Lotus !!

• the G wants exclusivity and stands out from crowd ma…once saw the G/royalty was in a Aston Martin Rapide with police escort :O

• jerami klaxon on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:20 am

P1 will end up merely being an assembly plant for mitsu / nissan / renault (?) / youngman / ettc., etc., etc., eventually. As it is, P2 is assembly plant for T….

• SoMeOnE on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:31 am

i guess this shows that my hunch about a future pertnership between renault and proton could be true…i always have put my money on them as i feel they suit proton rather well but we will most probably use nissan platforms and tech as it is recognized well in this region..this is probably the start of things to come…

• swoosh3553 on Jan 04, 2011 at 7:56 am

I once remembered our great Tun Mahathir mentioned/stressed on the fact that government officials are to set examples to the nation in support of his brainchild…PROTON! All official cars are to be of Proton-made (less the direct re-badge, though) models. Seems, now they are moving away from it…. more in support of their collaborated partners’ models (Helang Evo, Inspira Lancer, Perdana Fuga). Are the current models like Neo, Persona, Saga notworthy of being the government vehicles of choice? I think the Neo is good as a hot-hatch for the police force (as per UK with our Satria GTI then), Persona as the police ronda vehicles (replacement of Waja), and the Saga as the police trnasport vehicles. Of course, government officials, just standardize to use the Exora…This is tweakable to have all the luxurious fittings in an MPV (bling-bling tyres…curtains…. strectched-out OSIM chairs… hi-end ICE system… all within space-constraints. This will surely be an indicative of leadership by example and henceforth, creates nationalism and 1Malaysia-ness.

• Unforgiven on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:08 am

Maybe they themselves are shy to drive a Proton? We know what Tun is driving right?
      We know what MPV the senior folks are using right?

• swoosh3553 on Jan 05, 2011 at 7:38 am

agreed wif u bro… that may be the true story behind on why Proton may just be a middle entity torn between business n politics. One hand wants to prevaill, the other is bound by external forces. Wish the best to us all…. :p

• Thrust on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:05 am

why do they want to rebadge a car just for government official use? i don’t think its economical to do so. the government can just import the nissan right off from Japan & it will be cheaper than having Proton collaborate with Nissan just to make a few thousands of these Fugas

• ahmad nisfu on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:18 am

Hmmmm. Now Gomen have 2 choice. Passat or Fuga. It is best time for gomen to replace Perdana which is very less safety . How many Perdana’s version equipped with Air Bag ? I’m not sure whether Perdana Executive is equipped with Air Bag too?. So. how long gomen would jeopardizing his senior official’s life by providing them less safety car. Ye le, kereta2 lain pun xcident juga. It depend on how you drive it.

That is why when my company offered me Perdana, i’d had made special request to use Waja bcoz Waja is equipped with Air Bag ( at least ada le safety sikit ).

Last but not least , gomen should consider seriously using hibrid or EV.

• thebugbud on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:20 am

the gov is screwing the chinese again. After robert kwok sold his sugar biz, all hell break loose. Sugar price raise and bunch of excuses given. Now, screwing tan choong for nissan. Why not honda or toyota? Again, it’s a systematic take over by the gov. Where’s merit if invincible hands are everywhere?

• wah, in this case, it was planned way long time ago. Starting with Proton + Mitsubitsi as the gov then knew that Nissan & Mitsu will colloborate within 25 years. Then somehow, the gov knew that Renault will control Nissan, so Proton buy Lotus so that Lotus can buy a share in Renault F1 team within 15 years. Gov also knew that Renault/Nissan willing to share small car platform. So Proton/Lotus design emas car.

This will ensure that Renault/Nissan will coloborate with Proton.

Now in order to screw the chinese (aka Tan Chong Motor), Proton will rebadge a Nissan car. The gov also reponsible with the family crisis in Tan Chong Motor last time.

Is this teory good enough for you?

• JoeGTi on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:45 am

Gud Move Proton!!!!
    pls hurry up since VW also pushing passat to replace perdana.
    Bear in mind DRB is very close with current PM and you still got TDM.
    I prefer passat but afraid it will end up same as tiara where you guys has been pushed to put your bashed by politicla power.

• neutral on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:52 am

this shows that gov only want to ‘syok sendiri’ buy whatever they want, but never think of its people where most of them still struggling to earn few cents just to fulfill their meals for a day.
    why spent this much of $, whereby lot of other alternative to be choose from. gov also feel malu to ride in a proton?
    we really have to think wisely and think twice when selecting the next gov.

• Aking on Jan 04, 2011 at 8:53 am

This all crap!!! Govt next official car will be the new VW Passat…

• prashnan on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:06 am

To all,

Nissan Fuga for Government Dept” we’ll may be for first 200 cars or less, then as usuall malaysia go for discount period for public” if maintenence go higher….

Than’ its completely belongs to public…..cos’ government have budget…we have personal cash….value….bro,

Fuga is 2.5V6 RWD, I saw the car in Sabah K.K” the price for recond is RM225,000.
    let see…for government price could be around RM150,000 with TAX or RM75,000 without TAX….mayb for public in the future could be around RM125,000 to RM140,000
    ANYWAY, lets we wait….wait, wait, wait……

• apamau on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:48 am

Wow, are you sure this is the price, if for RM140,000 can get this new model, or eve rm160,000, i would then think all Toyota , honda, hyundai or even nissan teana from tan chong gonna suffer big time, will teana be the next lancer in another 2 years ?
      teana 2.5 is now price around 170k, so not possible for this to be below rm170k..

• being a rwd u will see lots of accident with those drivers speeding beyond their driving skills ^^

• Vincent on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:13 am

When come to Proton topics, sure every one will raise their points..

Talk till the cow come home also no ending …

• dictatorism on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:15 am

Yakuza Cars
    :D

• Vincent on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:20 am

Anyway, previous generation look more suitable for Government Officer. Current generation is took sporty for official car…

• kerelbort on Jan 04, 2011 at 9:40 am

my comment, even global motor industries is an even bigger politics.

how do you make it global without being succumb to the belly of bigger shark like VW, or Toyota or GM? with the small fishes that crowd the mass i.e. china model.
    so you do collaboration, Proton buy a shared platform from Renault, while Mitsu buy shared platform from Proton. Renault buy a shared platform from Mitsu. Win-win.

Proton have excess manufacturing in Malaysia, Renault-Nissan need to manufacture in Asean to taps market without big cost to operate a manufacturer even in Viet-Kong. so Renault use Proton facilities. Proton need to sell in East Europe, Renault got the dealer line there. Maybe they share doing business there. or Proton could supply cheap car for Logan badge there. Mitsu have pickup factory in Thai, Nissan build Navara there. Win-win.

So, instead of competing each other, they collaborate with each other to achieve cost effective model to compete cheap China or cheap and old VW gang.

this reply so out of topic. but for Proton to rebadge Perdana, is a good move. The official needs a new car badly, and to build from ground up is no brainer in term of business. but to sell the car later on if there’s demand. is a good move. localized some of the parts like headlight or mirror. then can get more profit for it.
    go Proton. u are in a right direction. if the politician ask u to develop own car for official. just give them an REV-Exora.

• laaa dulu bukan pernah ada isu ke pasal toyota camry yang kerajaan Perak yang masa tu diterajui Keadilan, gomen BN kata membazirlaa, tak support buatan malaysia laa..bla bla bla…. skang pilih nissan fuga..mana agaknya dapat duit banyak2 nak beli keta ni ye? jalan raya pon masih berlubang sana sini macam kena bom… terbaikkk laa BN, satu Malaysia!!!

• handsome*dude on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:10 am

so this car is nice, and soon the ppl who gonna sit inside? nope~

• Jebat on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:24 am

Erm….the question to ask now is what is proton direction? And why are we supporting proton for?

If proton keep rebadging other model, we might as well ask proton to close shop and reduce the taxes so that the real Nissan can comes in cheaper.

The rebadged version of Lancer GT is not cheap. The price landed for real Lancer GT is only RM38K. Because of proton Lancer GT becomes RM122K. So selling Inspira at RM91K is still not cheap!!!!. Might as well Proton close shop and we all can buy at RM38K or even 50K …which is still cheaper than stupid proton

• It seems that Govt has pestered Proton 4 new Perdana Replacement for quite sometime but due 2 limited resources Proton unable to produce one. It is said that the Govt hinted that they will ask DRB to supply other makes as replacement for govt fleet in the event Proton cannot fulfill in the stipulated time. Bear in mind The PR Govt had purchased Camry for official car, so Camry wont be the perfect choice. So Nissan Infiniti which is the same class as Lexus fits the bill. Anyway if the market reaction is positive, Proton might offer the Fuga to the public n I think market will able to accept without fuss. Further more, ‘kaki ampu sana ampu sini’ would like to drive the same car as the govt official cars esp minister’ s cars. So the demand is there. Trust me.

• Proton Neo Ceo on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:49 am

Good day and peace be upon you.

Proton what happen? Thought you guys are coming out a new perdana replacement

based on the EXORA platform? Mana dia..dah lamer tunggu..ni..bet u guys in PROTON

can come out with a nice car…let say engine source a turbo bio-diesel….or ….work

with renault to procduce a global platform modular diesel hydrid engine…as we know

fuel prices r going up to be double in 2 years time!!! Or just turbofied the 1.6 cps…we

have the resources..why Nissan…come on lah… politics a side …. i want 2 see a

proton luxury car…i love the EXORA…. same fornula ….just make it a super saloon for

our leaders…

We Malaysian Can Achieve It !!!

• vincent on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:53 am

Gvmt tells the rakyat how good is Proton, but then they don’t hv confident with their own Frakenstein. So they look for E200s, Camrys and now Fuga. Good, while you guys are suffering with substandard safety garbage vehicles, they get to enjoy this exclusively.

• Needless for me to say, that it’s a prime time for the “rakyat” to choose the new government in the next general election. It’s very obvious, the government and protong becoming very arrogant, greedy and irresponsible. These evil people are the real parasite to the country. Berapa lama lagi nak kena tipu? Another 25 years, 50 years, 100 years?

Don’t mind if we have to suffer now (by changing the government), but at least our children, grandchildren and their children’s children will not suffer under this “Semua Boleh Government”. Our actions today will be the talk of our future generation.

Let us Malaysians unite against this dark forces! Don’t care if you are from different race, religion and states, the time has come for us to kick out this evil forces once and for all.

• I think they will call it Proton 1Malaysia…. for 1Party

• Last time PKR Nizar bought Camry to replace old Perdana V6 for their officials. Many people condemned him for not being patriotic and not supporting local product. Now see what is happening right now. Mcm meludah ke muka sendiri…Please laaa…support Proton and Perodua…if the minister wanted to buy other non-local product, then let them buy from their own pocket money…if they said local cars are expensive for repairs, then we as the people feels even more since this is the only car that we can afford….

• eimsperfume on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:02 am

another good move from proton.
    serampang banyak mata.

its good move to rebadge sometime when u can do lots of researches & gain more profits from less cost product. later proton could produce better product of its own.

nway.. fuuga is very yummy car.. :p like infiniti, very respectable.. hopefully it could get better styling.

• e-tique on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:09 am

there goes the first stage from Lotus-Renault collaboration! good news btw, & soon will be more engineering cross colabo…;)

• Carfan on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:15 am

Makes sense to use Teana instead. It looks more like an official car and is spacious. More important 1 Fuga (USD57K) equal to 2Teana (USD28K)

• ciput on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:16 am

I’m paying substantial sum of my income for tax and I don’t like this news. I’ll find ways it going to needy and one of it is by paying more Zakat.

• wow.. the new Passat cost only RM100k+.. so cheap

• rossi46 on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:59 am

Review by Whatcar uk

Performance 4 out of 5 stars

The M37 uses a 315bhp version of the 3.7-litre V6 from Nissan’s 370Z, so it’s seriously brisk, but a little short of low-end punch. Most people will prefer the 3.0-litre diesel in the M30d because it pulls strongly and smoothly, and is a lot more efficient. A hybrid model that combines a 302bhp 3.5-litre petrol V6 with a 67bhp electric motor will join the line-up in the spring.

• nolan on Jan 04, 2011 at 12:08 pm

Is there any vacancy for Driver in government….?….i need to apply right now …

• Jimmy on Jan 04, 2011 at 12:10 pm

Very cheap if it is RM140K for D-segment 2.5 V6 RWD.
    English name ya. No more Nusa, Perdana, whatsoever; sounds kuno.
    BTW how is the sale figure for Inspira?

• there are so many poor peoples , yet the gov spend money like water . just change new gov on next election … some peoples work like hell , but manage to drive potong or p2 only …

• its not about the CAR guys…. it’s something.. i mean really SOMETHING!!!.. if they want to replaced PERDANA, they should replace their brain first….

• anti-munafik on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:11 pm

ERM…MANA DIA LANGKAH BERJIMAT CERMAT KERAJAAN NI?
    MANA SEMANGAT KEMPEN GUNA ‘BUATAN MALAYSIA’
    HAMPEH…

• jerami klaxon on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:15 pm

The responses here are varied as it is because this is not merely about shrewd biz decision by proton… this is about ppl who are tired of politicians who mostly:

talk lies (BILA CAKAP, DIA BOHONG)
    break promises (BILA JANJI, DIA MUNGKIR)
    abuse trust (BILA DAPAT AMANAH, DIA KHIANAT)

If indeed truly 1Malaysia in spirit, then use either Saga (P1) or Myvi (P2) laaa…. ’cause almost 1Malaysia pakai either one of these cars… NO? Baru KEPIMPINAN MELALUI TELADAN….. NO?

• nihcwt on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:38 pm

Already so high profile, pergi US signed wat memorandum with Obama, promised wanna reducing CO2 emission, now sendiri pulak mau pakai 2.5cc punya kereta??? Hello, u slap ursef?

• tokkiyeng on Jan 04, 2011 at 1:38 pm

proton try 2 run a business here…national sentiment no 2

• Once it got demand and popular it may be open to order from the public. Sure Nissan and Proton also mau untung :)

• Hope the cost is cheaper than Toyota Camry.

• ezracopters on Jan 04, 2011 at 2:10 pm

1. Nissan Fuga from my reading seem to be on par with BMW & the likes.

2. Please stop all these childish comment “menteri drove viva”, “make our own d segment car” etc coz u see i’m sure proton knew better what’s good for em. They aiming for a global market. but in order to do so, they need cash. not just built it here and ship everywhere.. all over the world first thing to think when we consider any car after the price, the power, and the looks..is MAINTENANCE. I had a friend in South Africa who drove and enjoy his neo but sadly although lot’s of positive feedback from the market there..people still resist to bought it coz of high maintenance. it’s hard to get it’s spare part and even mechanic over there are not familiar with campro. so proton setup their proton services over there yet still not gud enuff to cater the whole country and continent of africa!!

3. Good businessman knew that it is plain stupid to develop whole new D segment car from scratch and cost u 700million at least while the cost could be better put onto setup their dealershops, services, training locals, appointing local vendors and focusing on market presence with their popular product.

4. whilst i agree that this fuga could cost another few million on the maintenance alone, i do believe the ultimate Perdana replacement should be LOTUS ETERNA @ 2015@16 hence the 150 units of N.Fuga only.

5. 1 way or another, proton in a urgent need of new official car for gov if they didnt wanna lose the contract to DRB. 150 units minus tax should be okay in cost. they need to maintain exclusivity-image of the gov, with a rather cheaper price than BMW, mers, jag, audi etc and not offended current owner (lesson learn from inspira saga..btw i still think tagline SMART GUY GETS IT is brilliant, slap on ur face kinda felt!). so Fuga is a great choice.

6. long live proton!!!

• Top level govt officials should use Lotus.

Proton assemble 5000 units of Nissan Fuga hybrid. The excess can be sold to corporates and Taxi company since the fuel economy is giving 19km/l.

• jackspeed on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:24 pm

finally a smart comment from the reader

• mnazri.tan on Jan 04, 2011 at 3:37 pm

I think this rather a brilliant move by Proton albeit what would be said by the basher….

Proton should be given credit for turning around the company the way it is now.Lets admit, they screw up badly in the past…(and the basher suddenly jumping reading this) but mistake happen everywhere…Political motive aside, seriously would it be any different if Proton was managed by someone else before ? Anyone could make the costly blunder and to point finger is super easy….just point…

Now for Proton to put brave face and go against the odd…to dispose MV Agusta, to defend themselves from the German rampage (VW) , to keep on spending albeit the difficult time, to trust a guy name Danny Bahar to come up with close to border line between brilliant and madness with its 5 years 5 car campaign not including the City car…is not an easy task….what would the basher do if indeed they are the CEO of proton now ? sell Proton at lower price ? request for government to demolish the tax protection they been enjoying ? to spend another at least 700 million to build super quality Perdana replacement that work better than the Mercy S class…or simple they do exactly what the current management doing….

Mathematically, the figure doesn’t telly….to spent 700 million for a car segment that promise so little of volume…lets face it, Malaysia is only about 26 million people, and only a small percentage could afford car at that premium level…..you can say export and all but really, if you cant sell enough in the country how can you find money to sell outside ? That car segment wont sell well not solely because people wont buy proton at that price, but seriously how many can actually afford those numbers ? hence the overly saturated small market of malaysia is not a good option for proton to go rampant and spend at minimum 700 million…one might asked, what with the 700 million bombastic figure…dude…i am an engineer …and i can tell, the cost is right….a robotic arm is not cheap though…

those silly comment of the menteri riding the viva…come on…would you want the menteri to ride on viva….seriously ??? think carefully….

owh the rumors about me being the salesmen…hahah…to bad…i am not even in the industry….(too bad i wish i am in the industry)

• kanishka on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:18 pm

“Proton should be given credit for turning around the company the way it is now.Lets admit, they screw up badly in the past”…..Proton are still screwed up. Without government support and monopoly, do you think proton will survive? Looking at your style of writing and atrocious grammar, it’s hard to think that you are actually an engineer of any quality, or are you a mere inferior product of the NEP like Proton?

• mnazri.tan on Jan 05, 2011 at 11:35 am

perhaps I am ? i dont mind you telling that to my face…yes, i am bad with grammar….

but cant change the fact that i am smart….i have my brain …and i can do well with it….maybe not on grammar though :)

yes agree with you…proton cant survive without Govt help…but really, do u think it is better to let Proton go down… or perhaps you would feel better if we close the all GLC in Malaysia….Or perhaps Proton would be better if you yourself being appointed as the MD…. you should send your resume quick :) wish u luck….or better still you should contest to become the Prime Minister and demolish the NEP, because you know better than anyone else right :) ….all the best :)

p/s i might even vote for you

• squawk on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:05 pm

Who will service these cars, Proton or Tan Chong? Does the Fuga share any components with any current Nissan models sold by Tan Chong? If so and if Proton will be servicing the Fuga, can other Nissan owners buy parts from Proton (if it’s not at ‘govt level’ pricing)?

On the other hand, if I were TC, I’d get ready to pee in my pants if Nissan decides to do more JVs with Proton.

• narrowband on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:23 pm

They might as well buy Porsche Panamera, and because they want to appear ‘patriotic’ or support local brand, rebrand the damn Panamera to Proton lah.

They can choose any car they like and call it ‘Proton’.

• bonceng on Jan 04, 2011 at 4:41 pm

why not just they order directly this fuga rather than badge it under proton name..if it;s for pride name sake just forget it..
    salam 1M..

• cocacola on Jan 04, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Pakai Inspira tak boleh ke?
    Shouldn’t we martabatkan barangan buatan Msia?

• Finally RWD proton…..i want one

• Datuk Kong on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:14 pm

Seriously, who are they trying to fool?

(1) The ministers themselves have been complaining about the Proton Perdana and they are dying to get a Mercedes Benz or perhaps the Camry, but that will make the government looks wasteful. So what do they do? Select a car they like, and rebadge it. When this car arrives, they will tell you it’s a proton. Who are they trying to fool?

(2) If they really assemble Nissan cars at Proton’s plant, it is just another ploy by the government to force TC to surrender Nissan distributorship. Just look at what happened to Kah Motors who use to sell Honda. Who is the main distributor for Honda now? Thank God Hyundai is doing good too and in fact Hyundai is picking up a lot. Soon, the government will force Kah Motors to surrender Hyundai to Umnoputras as well.

• nasurudin on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:38 pm

Nissan is a good car. I mean the engine. The minister s driver can whack the engine. No problem with that. very reliable. My Sentra already 8 years but the engine feels as good as new, can still get 16km/l

• recca82 on Jan 04, 2011 at 10:50 pm

y use proton logo? juz bring in nissan fuga ler…

• Plotong on Jan 04, 2011 at 11:37 pm

in short formula, if plotong proceed the Fuga plan..

Malaysia will grow better..minister should use quality car by Perdana badge (evo,BM, Camry)

Proton=any car rebaged (gold plated -boost badge factory such as Royal selangor), markup 300% (help dealer to food-kroni), easily sent to repair (alatganti & repair business), technology transfer (understand engine better)..

apolah gomen..agreed with someone above..mcm tu jual aje gomen & take profit..brainless monkey..

Last year Proton won many competition..including EV challenge..but monkey Gomen dunno to appreciate ..very sad

• Sayno on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:04 am

What benefit do we the Rakyat get from this? Fuel hike? The top level G is already earning so much. Why can’t we still use the Proton Perdana till a replacement model comes up. The G encourage/wants us to support local made products but they are not showing any good example. This will make them even lazier

• xvtec on Jan 05, 2011 at 1:29 am

if this true….what ashame! Proton might as well be turned into another car assembler just like DRB or Oriental…forget about those RnD,hybrid etc…save money!

• whitefox on Jan 05, 2011 at 2:18 am

Question: why need rebadge fuga, why not direct buy and use
    Answer:
    1. when rebadge proton can tune the car to suit malaysia road better and also monitoring market respond to this segment of car.
    2. If proton manufacturing this car, proton can collect data from it and become good data when proton need to design this segment of car.
    3. Give change to local supplier to manufacturing the part for this kind of car and when proton need enter this market he got supplier ready to support behind.

What else hmm can’t think off

• Are you OK dude? 150 unit, just replace Nissan logo with Proton, front grille, rear grille, all wheels, engine cover that all. Steering wheel? No need la, as l afraid it will affect the SRS. Why should we waste our hard earned money (from our tax)?

• Jaki Jipang on Jan 05, 2011 at 7:44 am

nope, only top govt officials get it..

• Thrust on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:33 am

I agree with recca82. There’s no point for Proton to rebadge the Fuga if it is only meant for official use. The government should just import Nissan Fuga rather than rebadging it. Import duty is not relevant here as it will go back to the government. Rebadging should take place if the car was meant to be sold to the public & to minimize design cost.

• Krulle on Jan 05, 2011 at 8:51 am

A 4 years old child asking his father after watching a documentary on ASTRO Discovery Channel “Abah…. do you know any scary car that people do not want to sit or drive?????” The abah looks fuss, confuse and after few minutes he ask back his brilliant son ” What is it…..??” .. The boy replies with a sinister smile ” It’s the Nissan (pronounced “Nisan” in malay”…. no joke?? just laugh.. muahahahaha

• pelams on Jan 05, 2011 at 10:17 am

bagus..boleh aku merasa naik kereta free baru lg :)

• Pegaga on Jan 05, 2011 at 12:25 pm

You are wrong. rocky bru said its the passat will replace perdana.

• paultantoo on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:53 pm

Wise choice.

Better than typical PKR politicians. Promise the earth on so called serving the rakyat yet they buy Camry’s for themselves immediately upon coming into Perak.

• So, rebadging Nissan (even Mitsu) is considered “halal” lah? Is this the government’s way of “cara menghalalkan matlamat”?

• mat_kool on Jan 05, 2011 at 6:54 pm

Simply another dated & boring sedan design from Nissan, looks like a China car, even Korean cars nowadays even smarter …

• guys can’t you see that this is a start of a something new from proton. This is a hint that proton has gone more global and more accepted to be in a joint venture with more international carmakers apart from mitsubishi . All the best proton !!

• nissanfan on Jan 06, 2011 at 7:52 am

if P1 really have JV with Proton, they should bring in Nissan cars that Nissan Msia did not offer.

my vote is for proton rebadged Nissan Dualis/Qashqai ! The latest model is so damn hawwt!!

• gov.patut guna gen2 first bath model sebagai kereta rasmi.baru boleh rasa dia punya pukulan..

• stephen on Jan 06, 2011 at 8:21 pm

IF they really decide to buy it…. or having proton to rebadge…. I THINK THEY MUST MAKE SURE….

they have someone maybe at Glenmarie or any Proton centre near Jln Duta or Putrajaya that can fix it…don’t tell us later all this FUGA need to park in a huge car park because there’s no one who know how to fix it when broke down like those super modern public toilet at KL!!!!!

and don’t tell us when service needed, they have to fly a technician from Japan.

• Why for top ranking government officials use first. I thought Rakyat Di Dahulukan.What happen to our 1 Malaysia theme?

• Suhaimy on May 18, 2011 at 5:43 pm

Why does proton likes to copy from others….

• Meenk on Jan 09, 2012 at 3:48 pm

Call it PROTON BERSIH.|

I’ll buy that.

• Engineer Kereta on Aug 25, 2012 at 6:01 pm

this car also known as Mitsubishi Proudia :)

• Subash on Sep 09, 2012 at 1:36 am

when the car coming out

• What the hell? Only for officials? No such bullshit here in Brunei, lucky me

• Again and again , rebadging . Use the concept of Gen 2/Satria Neo , then you can call it real national car !