Lexus IS 250 and IS 250 Luxury updated in Malaysia for 2011

2011 brings about a few changes to the new Lexus IS 250 including HID headlamps with integrated daytime running lights and washer jets as standard (JPJ approved), a bolder and more shapely front bumper and lower grille shape, a front grille with more visual depth, a new circular dual tailpipe design, new 17 inch 10-spoke staggered alloy wheels, and revised rear tail lamps.

On the interior, two different colour schemes can be chosen, with genuine Bird’s Eye maple wood trim available on the IS 250 Luxury, while the IS 250 gets high-gloss black trim. Changes on the interior are subtle – metallic accents on areas like the steering wheel bezel, meter rings, paddle shifts, instrument cluster surrounds, and glove boxdoor.

The IS 250 gets an 8 speaker Lexus premium sound system, while the IS 250 Luxury gets a 13 speaker version. Both feature a 6 CD in dash changer. The IS 250 Luxury has the option of adding a “Navigation Package” which costs RM23,000 and includes the Mark Levinson Premium Surround Sound system (14 speakers, 300-watt 10 channel amp, DVD capable), a 7 inch touch screen display, reverse camera, Bluetooth mobile phone connectivity and the navigation system that includes Malaysian, Thai and Singaporean maps. It should by right be called the Sound & Navi package or something. The IS 250 Luxury buyer can also specify a Moonroof for RM7,000.

Under the hood is the same 2.5 litre twin-cam D4 direct injection engine, making 205 horses at 6,400rpm and 252Nm of torque at 4,800rpm. This engine is mated to a 6-speed Super ECT transmission and drives the rear wheels. 0 to 100km/h is reached in 8.4 seconds.

The engine is equipped with a dual-tube exhaust manifold construction which minimizes heat-loss (for optimum cat operation) and noise. The mufflers have variable back-pressure valves to reduce low-frequency booming noise- 7dB less at 1,200 rpm – and reduce high rpm back-pressure by 30%.

Safety features include Lexus Vehicle Dynamic Integrated Management (VDIM), ABS, and a total of 8 airbags including knee airbags for both the passenger and driver. The Lexus IS 250 which has been updated for 2011 in Malaysia is available in two trim levels – IS 250 and IS 250 Luxury. The IS 250 is priced at RM 282,386.20 OTR with insurance while the Lexus IS 250 Luxury model is priced at RM 313,166.20.

When Lexus (the only Japanese brand in its segment) was first introduced into Malaysia its reputation had already preceded it as having a high level of customer satisfaction, so a friend and I actually checked the flagship Mutiara Damansara showroom out when it first opened, dressed up in a very simple manner, with short pants completing the look. The experience was interesting – the guard salutes you as you drive in and the sales personnel offered a drink as we checked out the various cars and trim options on display.

Very impressive, but of course the ‘evaluation’ didn’t go any further as a brand new Lexus is quite out of reach and there I didn’t get a taste of how the sales process was like :P

[zenphotopress number=999 album=1875]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Rovert on Jan 21, 2011 at 11:08 am

Paul obviously missed Anthony’s article about the CT200h…

http://paultan.org/2011/01/19/lexus-ct200h-rm168000-otr-without-insurance/

• nebula87 on Jan 21, 2011 at 11:26 am

WOW…expensive lor…i better stick with Lexus CT 200H~ >.<

• My dream car….

• tHe^CuLpRit on Jan 21, 2011 at 11:32 am

eh, earlier article already stated mah the CT200 will be launched in Malaysia. A case of mixed time line?

• Nice, the sale process should be good as Lexus is famous for that.

• Hi Paul, have you had any test drive reviews on the local IS250? I know there are many related reviews available out there, but I’m quite interested in your very own review.

Thanks.

• luvin it on Jan 21, 2011 at 12:00 pm

gorgeous!! consider getting 1.. hard pick among C-class,3-serie,IS250

• clutch basah on Jan 21, 2011 at 3:04 pm

Driven my buddy’s 2 yr old IS250, my amateurish point of view is it is more subtle than 3 series. not sure about c class though, never driven one.

? ?

• is lexus a gud choice on Jan 21, 2011 at 12:01 pm

gorgeous!! consider getting 1.. hard pick among C-class,3-serie,IS250..

• VW fans on Jan 21, 2011 at 12:10 pm

I thought CT200h confirm coming to Malaysia Paul? Anyway Lexus cars out sold many German brands overseas but here in Malaysia, tauke still think Merc or BMW only, pity!!!

• carkrazy on Jan 21, 2011 at 3:46 pm

Lexus only outsells the Germans in North America.Everywhere else in the world, the Germans reign supreme.

• carkrazy on Jan 21, 2011 at 6:58 pm

Lexus only outsell the Germans in North America. Everywhere else in the world, the Germans reign supreme.

• Rhys Millen on Jan 22, 2011 at 12:11 am

That’s cause in the US they do not make roads windy but straight…..so the German makes do not have any handling product advantage.

• overman on Jan 22, 2011 at 8:02 pm

hahahahhahahaah!

• BMW-More Problem on Jan 21, 2011 at 12:21 pm

Nice car.. only the price is a bit of out of reach.. I wonder if they will CKD this car to compete with BM and Merc…. But then again Lexus being quality fanatic will never
    assemble cars outside of their high tech Tahara plant in Japan.. Pity…
    Cos recon units are selling like hot cakes…. many outlet are out of stock… only coming in after CNY….

• vtec200k on Jan 21, 2011 at 12:42 pm

if lexus done well, will honda’s acura or nissan’s infiniti come to m’sia??

• Andre on Jan 21, 2011 at 12:50 pm

RM23k for a navigation system?? Wow rich people sure know how to spend their money “well” earned.

• BeemerFreak on Jan 21, 2011 at 12:53 pm

Hi Paul,

ABout your doubts on the Ct hybrid coming to malaysia, hasnt anthony just confirmed a few days ago the pricing and launch spec for malaysia ct hybrids?

• lovely… 300k for a normal 2.5l engine…
    I better end up with a CGI Merc or 3/X1 20d Bimmer…

• if u don’t have money…don’t comment…..orang miskin

• zaff1984 on Jan 21, 2011 at 11:09 pm

oo please… orang miskin cant give his/her personal opinion… childish.

• albert singam on Jan 23, 2011 at 2:58 pm

Lady, if you have 300k for a car you will buy Lexus, because folks in those brackets want something different from their neighbours who were mainly driving 3 seris, C class or import recon E class.

• carfan on Jan 21, 2011 at 1:57 pm

Many buyers underestimate two componenst in a buying a car ie ease of ownership and quality. I owned a 2003 2.4 Harrier and still find it ahead of many new rivals today. It is utterly reliable and its interior’s fit and finish is implecable. Only the power let it down (shd hv bought the 3.0 then). I have looked for a replacement and considered the Is250 high on my list even having driven the c250, 323 and A4 if I move awayt from SUV. There are good reasons why it sells so well in USA.

• ben yap on Jan 21, 2011 at 2:37 pm

nice…. very nice….

• theanswer on Jan 21, 2011 at 2:40 pm

one of my fav sport saloon..but too expensive..maybe in future can buy 2nd hand ;p

• BN=barang naik on Jan 21, 2011 at 2:42 pm

merz CGI would be a better choice!

• peeps on Jan 21, 2011 at 2:48 pm

only lexus drivers knows what this machine are made for. compact and comfort.. 3 series got no match for this interm of build quality and quietness in the cabin. i would choose this anytime..

• agree..
      i’ve sat in this IS250 during KLIMS..yes,it feels outstanding compare to 3 series..
      some people comparing this IS250 to CGI? CGI is only 1.8..
      i just hate to own 200-300k++ for 1.8 engine although it produce good hp..
      and i wouldnt feel solid to drive e class with 1.8cc..

• firefox on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:44 pm

is true, if compare with 3 series, but if compare with A4 and Passat CC, this LS250 is out on design, and technology, some more most important , it is over price.
        too exp for this technology..it should between 180-230K

• Gavin on Jan 21, 2011 at 2:51 pm

i would buy this, just oozes smoothnes and quiet cruising

• vincent on Jan 21, 2011 at 2:55 pm

I don’t see why I shouldn’t park my money on C250 CGI compare to this Lexus. This car is only targetted for Toyota die hard fan, who will be glad to contribute their already- fat profit to UMW so they can pay out 6 mths bonus.

• poor thing… being bitter coz u don’t get your 6 months bonus

• toyota rules on Jan 21, 2011 at 8:41 pm

actually we got avg 7mth, top performers up to 9 months :p

• libralcl on Jan 21, 2011 at 2:55 pm

Err…VW passat CC will be a better deal? Of course it depends on own preference.

• peeps on Jan 21, 2011 at 3:09 pm

passat is a different category, ill compare that with something bigger and cheaper. dont get me wrong, passat still a very good car and equip with loads of things. bargain.

• letstorque on Jan 21, 2011 at 3:22 pm

Previously I don’t like Lexus, think it is just another high-end Toyota.
    But during KLIMS I don’t know how I end up in a IS250.

Wow,the quality is alot better than Merc or BMW in the segment.Everything is almost perfect quality,very well engineered.Even the grab handles,between roofliner and door sare are well designed and engineered.

It’s cramp inside(look the other way round,it’s wrapped around your,cosseting).
    If it’s the same price as 3 series or C class, I’ll buy a IS250. But since it’s more expensive, and less power,quality alone is not enough for me to justify it.

But it’s really an eye opener for me.Never know before that Lexus is that good.

• Nice car. Will go for this rather then Bimmer/merc

• inline 6 on Jan 21, 2011 at 3:44 pm

buy the CT200H to kill this IS !~ !

• Tiadaid on Jan 21, 2011 at 3:50 pm

If I got money to spend, in terms of luxury I wouldn’t even think about buying a Lexus (or Acura or Infiniti for that matter). Some how I feel Lexus is just a tarted up Toyota. Might as well buy a Jag (the new XF is perhaps the start Jaguar’s renaissance), or even Audi. Not so much BMW or Merc (too common, even OKB & politicians will buy those two cars).

• Repo-man on Jan 21, 2011 at 4:22 pm

Walao eh!!
    Everytime intorduce abit abit stuff start hike the price d,
    like money-sucking machine~
    cars will always be unprofitable invesments,
    haiya, buy so mahal buat ape?
    no fuel= scrap metal nia…..
    but if this car around 250k,
    still boleh “consider”…….
    But the rich sure dont care about it…..

• bryan jones on Jan 21, 2011 at 5:40 pm

better wait for the korean.. japs & ahbengs can go smoke themselves out..

• hexagon on Jan 21, 2011 at 5:50 pm

i wonder how much its price before tax?

• rhubarb on Jan 21, 2011 at 10:12 pm

DRL’s look like a total rip off from the Audi’s…they did not even try to change a bit…..overpriced Toyota

• sammy on Jan 22, 2011 at 12:13 am

Buy from grey importers. Lexus is not just another Toyota, only those who appreciate the finer things in life will know what luxury is about..oh yeah, I’ve never seen a Lexus (new or old) used as a taxi in Japan as compared to the sea of whit E-classse saloons in Germany and other parts of Europe. So much for class.

• razibar on Jan 22, 2011 at 11:03 pm

obviously you have not sat in the e-class. it has more rear space than the is250. even the c-class felt cramp in the rear

• blackjkx on Jan 22, 2011 at 10:06 am

My money goes for Jag xf

• It’s sad that many of the comments here were made by people, whom I guess, have been in a Lexus let alone own one. Amongst those wheels in the junior executive segments (Mercs, BMW, Audis, Lexus): for prestige buy Merc, for sports and handling buy BMW, for performance buy Audi and if you want comfort, luxury and reliability buy Lexus. Trust me because I own one and I am glad I didn’t follow through the booking I made for the C class.

• rexxx on Jan 22, 2011 at 3:54 pm

it has some toyota DNA. but well, it’s gorgeous.

• seriously speaking.. the car has most of the feautres like other car makers just that the marketing strategy is different and unveiling…

• I wish Lexus of Indonesia bring along the IS250 over here. Had they do that, I’m sure the car will be a huge hit.. FYI, the only IS line available here in Indonesia is only the IS300

• Cannot hide the Toyota DNA.

• Erran on Jan 24, 2011 at 7:41 am

whats d diff with is250 and is300? in brunei, they also sel is300 only

• Patrick on Jan 25, 2011 at 2:22 pm

Hi Paul,
      Do you think there will be a new model next year for the IS250… cause right now I am about to place a deposit for the car..

• Patrick on Jan 25, 2011 at 2:25 pm

Hi Paul,

Do you think is it worth buying the car now? Do you think there will be a model change next year? I am about to place a deposit.