Nasim starts initiative to get closer to Peugeot owners

Local Pug boys Nasim have begun a new after-sales initiative aimed at providing its customers with in-depth understanding of their vehicles as well as the essential maintenance tips for their Peugeots.

Kicking of this initiative was the Discover Peugeot 3008 seminar, which was held last weekend at the Grand Dorsett Hotel in Subang Jaya for 50 owners of the Peugeot 3008. The two-hour long seminar included an in-depth presentation on the various features of the 3008 as well as practical sessions on 14-point checks and basic maintenance tips.

“This is a new initiative that’s being undertaken by Nasim to further grow the Peugeot brand. In the coming months, we will have seminars on the other models in our line-up such as the 207, 308 and the 5008. It’s essential that our customers get the very best out of their vehicles. At the same time, this is an opportunity for us to get to know our customers better,” Nasim’s COO Datuk Samson Anand George said.

Nasim had sent out invitations for the free seminar to all 3008 owners in the country and the first 50 to RSVP were given seats for the seminar; they were also invited to bring along a guest.

During the presentation segment of the seminar, owners were given an in-depth explanation to the various safety technologies featured in the 3008 such as ABS, ESP, deadlocking, airbag deployment, dynamic roll control as well as the various impact zones in the SUV that are designed to minimise injury to the driver and passengers.

In the practical session, the owners were shown the proper methods in changing a tyre, jump-starting a flat battery, deadlocking, reprogramming their keys, checking engine oil, power steering fluid and coolant levels as well as releasing the electronic parking brake on a flat battery.

Since its launch in June 2010, Nasim has sold some 500 units of the 3008, while 250 units are on the way to be delivered to new customers.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• This kind of activity is good, but if Pug open more service center, then will be great!!!
    By the way, any news update for the local assembly 408 sedan???

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 29, 2011 at 12:33 pm

Good move…may be can extend it to other states or something like southern region, northern region and so on…just my 2 cents

Salam…

• sound very interesting,,, but is that really be implemented?? Last year Naza say invest how many millions or billions for manufacture spare parts locally, but when i ask the price of the front brake pad, you wont believe me if i were told RM490!!!

• sacofa on Mar 29, 2011 at 3:23 pm

U know what u r not the only victim. Basically their strategy is to sell car at cheap price and cut Ur throat after that. Basically the spare part is slightly more expensive then any German car, u named it Benz, BMW, Volkswagen….. wake up people be alert…
      More bad news to come… the disc pad, engine belt, the disc motor, the battery, gear box they don last u for a very long time. Prepare to change it or service it at 20,000 service.

• mamakman on Mar 29, 2011 at 3:56 pm

Buy la Volkswagen TSI. better car for sure. for refinement. handling. performance.if u can afford RM150,000 la.

• sheldon on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:01 am

but, is there any proof that vw service centres are more competent than peugeot’s? and is there any proof saying that the vw transmission replacement cost will not burn a bigger hole in the pocket compared to the peugeot’s aisin transmission when the time for a replacement comes? there isn’t, so a this point it is mere speculation.

• Astronauts on Apr 02, 2011 at 12:02 pm

buy a proton if you not afford to spend!

• calvin on Mar 29, 2011 at 2:12 pm

i like

• sacofa on Mar 29, 2011 at 4:07 pm

I can afford…. just that I like to spend it the different way…
    Car 120k
    Services and maintenance (19 months) 5k
    Unforeseen problem coming up 25k
    Total 150k
    See money spend wisely…
    :-(

• Vincent on Mar 29, 2011 at 7:47 pm

This is right move….

They should make the owner feel different from others…

Those who bought continental car will always like to feel one class higher than japanese make…

To this group of customer, maintenenace cost is not a issue as they need to show people they afford it, and not those japanese banding car owner can…

If you check italiauto forum, in their marketplace, whenever there is a car to let go, when newbie ask how much the loan can get, they will advise don’t buy if you are serious consider loan amount as the maintenance might kill you later…

• jtiongwl78 on Mar 29, 2011 at 11:39 pm

In their service center, they shouldnt force people to use PETRONAS lube for the servicing. They should encourage people to bring in their own lube, with certain requirements on it.

I believe it shall be the main reasons for the fault it has.

• mamakman on Mar 31, 2011 at 10:34 am

Recomemded Lub is TOTAL for PUG car…. now they are using Symtium!! OMG!!!!

• arsenalsan on Jul 15, 2011 at 11:58 am

Do not worry, syntium is now being internationally recognized. Some of the mercedes cars in europe now comes with recommended total fluid solution on PETRONAS brand like syntium. Thanks to the partnership between PETRONAS and Mercedes GP. We need to look high at our very own products from now on…

• arsenalsan on Jul 15, 2011 at 4:17 pm

Just to add some information, actually PETRONAS now own the rights in supplying lubricants to company like TOTAL, FINA, ELF and AGIP in Europe under its 100% acquisition of Selenia (Italy) in 2007. Therefore the technology in TOTAL is actually similar to what we can get in Syntium as the base technology is the same…

• Golf tsi is good when its working well until something gives way. There have been horror stories where its complicated gearbox and engine cost a bomb to put right.

• i believe the horror stories are not about the golf tsi but the polo tsi. something about wet and dry clutches but the stories that i read are mainly referring to the 7-speed dsg found in the polo.

cost wise, i dunno. maybe some vw owners can shed light on this.

• bobdbilder on Mar 30, 2011 at 12:02 am

Whoa. Wonderful. Live sessions teaching people how to do their own service. Now you don’t need to Read The F#$%ing Manual!

How about getting market feedback before you make something stoooopid. The 207 Sedan comes to mind. What? Too late? Awww shucks!

• laluan sehala on Mar 31, 2011 at 5:19 pm

what’s your problem? so what if people don’t need to read the manual? and so what if they build the 207 sedan? nobody put a damn gun to your uninformed head to buy it right? so chill out. if there are people out there who like the car, it is their choice and you have NO RIGHT to criticise them!

• sheldon on Mar 31, 2011 at 5:36 pm

what’s wrong with you? can’t behave with more civility?

• bobdbilder on Mar 31, 2011 at 10:47 pm

I am an Engineer. I am an Operation Manager. I read manuals. I teach techs and engineers to bring manuals whenever they service anything. Nobody is a specialist. If they don’t bring a manual with them they get a proper kick in their a$$. People who don’t read manuals are lost. Manuals are legally binding documents. Brochures are not.

I had a Pug. My father had a Pug (and 2 other MGBs). The 207 sedan is wrong. I wanted the 207 proper, 2 doors not much weight AND a manual. They brought this out. I got myself a Neo CPS R3. Now I am happy :)

• sheldon on Apr 01, 2011 at 9:57 am

i am a fan of that car too and i have also bought a gen2 cps manual. i am happy too but let’s be civil here and perhaps not everybody takes the manual (the book) seriously so, it is up to them. let’s hope that more of your students take the manual (book) more seriously when they join the workforce. i too feel the manual is important and i do keep my manuals for my washing machine, my dvd player, my fridge, most importantly my mobile phones! and etc. but then, not everybody is like that.

as for the 207 sedan vs the hatch, well, many have said that they will buy the hatch when it comes but the truth of the matter could be seen like this… ‘take the sedan and we’ll sell it to you at this price and here’s the hatch at THIS price’. i guess this could be how the survey went. pretty sure more opted for the sedan at a lower price tag. afterall, the peugeot people have been in the business for sometime and i’m pretty sure they have had some form of feedback before introducing the car. besides, i think some have commented that the 207 hatch will cost almost as much as the 308 so, there was no point in bringing that in that coud result in internal cannibalisation.

just my 2 cents worth on the matters brought up by you.

• inline 6 on Mar 30, 2011 at 12:17 am

i prefer they rather invest more on their service centre.. at least train more staff with “brain” know how to answer question nicely , correctly and not just reply like “ini problem memang take long time punya..” “eh..saya pun tak tau, i check dulu..”

typical government-like service attidude!!!

• ezracopters on Mar 30, 2011 at 10:40 am

haha..dude nasim not even gov agency!!!

• mmmmmmm on Mar 30, 2011 at 12:24 pm

i prefer u invest and service ur mouth and limit ur comment to what’s it’s due ….my government service work save life and people regardless of race, religion or wether they have big mouth and work in private sector not…

• kuching on Mar 30, 2011 at 9:17 am

good move by Nasim.

• Sunday on Apr 03, 2011 at 2:19 am

It is a good move to help owners understand more of their car. will also help dispel negative ideas about the brand and the distributor. hopefully they don’t lose steam along the way. good things like this must be part of the company’s annual budget.