TC Euro Cars introduces dedicated Renault Sport engineers, owners to get personalised service

TC Euro Cars, the importer and distributor of Renault vehicles in Malaysia, will have delivered about 50 units of the Megane RS 250 Cup (read our review here) by the end of April. By the end of this year, it’s estimated that 130 Renault Sport vehicles will be roaming our streets. Doesn’t sound like much, but for niche performance cars with manual transmissions, that’s an encouraging sum.

Not only do these lucky enthusiasts get to enjoy one of the best hot hatches on sale today, they now also get personalised service from dedicated Renault Sport engineers, introduced by TCEC at their PJ service hub this morning. How personalised? Well, lets say that RS owners have their cell numbers and can call them at any hour of the day!

According to TCEC, the RS engineers (Mr Zulhelmi and Mr Luqman) will serve as the single point of contact for all Renault Sport vehicle maintenance and repair related matters. Every RS vehicle that leaves the workshop needs to receive a “Quality Control Certificate” by the RS engineers, failing which the car will need to be rechecked.

The duo are also tasked with overseeing all maintenance and repair work carried out on Renault Sport models, ensuring that all the components are operating within manufacturers’ spec. Optional parts, future models, community events – these are the guys to ask.

RS engineers have at their disposal a fully-equipped Renault Technical Assistance vehicle (Kangoo with RS livery) for off-site repairs. They also have direct access to the Renault Technical Center in Korea, with support from Renault Sport in Dieppe, France.

The main Renault workshop in Malaysia is a dedicated 15-bay facility in Section 13, PJ. There are 11 other outlets across the country with the capability to service Renault cars. These outlets are Nissan centres equipped with the necessary CLIP diagnostics and tools to service Renaults.

It was also revealed that the Tan Chong parts centre near Batu Caves holds RM3 million worth of Renault parts, and parts ordered this morning will arrive the following day within the country, as it rides on Nissan’s well established network.

Read more on the RS engineers after the jump.

Zulhelmi is a certified Renault Co-Tech (technical coordinator) with 12 years of experience in the automotive industry. Having graduated from the then Federal Institute of Technology, Zul has spent seven years of his career specialising in Renault vehicles under TC Euro Cars. He has overseen Pre-Delivery Inspection of all new vehicles, as well as being the Technical Trainer for new Renault models and technologies. He is also the technical advisor for all Renault branches in Malaysia.

Armed with a qualification from the Malaysia France Institute in Automotive Maintenance Technology, Luqman has six years of practical experience in the automotive industry. He brings with him a broad based work experience, having worked for national, German and Japanese automotive players specialising in vehicle maintenance, repair and trouble shooting. He also has extensive knowledge in Renault spare parts and Renault Sport models, having worked very closely with the Renault Service Hub since his employment in TC Euro Cars.

Future plans for the RS engineers include international exposure in major Renault Sport markets. Specialised Renault Sport training in these markets will allow our RS engineers to tap into the experience of other RS engineers around the world, to better serve Malaysian Renault Sport customers.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• VW_fans on Mar 31, 2011 at 2:30 pm

Sound exclusive for Renault buyers, but 230K (already added into the services) dy….

• considering the car is cheaper than a Golf R, it’s still a bargain. :)

• zaff1984 on Mar 31, 2011 at 4:43 pm

Golf R how much..? are they official available or from AP importer?

• mamakman on Mar 31, 2011 at 9:07 pm

you are looking at around RM280k for Golf R, better get renault 250 lah….. better around the corner…. perfect for front wheel!

• farizY on Mar 31, 2011 at 2:50 pm

now that’s exclusive!!

• insperut on Mar 31, 2011 at 3:07 pm

very nice!
    kudos to Renault Sport!

• This is a great stuff! As a RS250 owner, I am encouraged that I can speak with someone who knows the car in-depth. Impressive how many events Renault has built for the RS owner community. Looking forward to next week’s F1 dinner and even more RS250 events!

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 31, 2011 at 3:36 pm

May I ask if you’ve done your car service? I’m curious as to how much a typical service would cost. Also maybe you can tell your overall experience with the Renault after sales service. Thanks

• I’ve owned three Renault cars from TC Euro and I’ve always been satisfied with their services. Very professionally managed and I wouldn’t expect any less since they are pretty much the Tan Chong Nissan guys running the show. Maintenance costs have been very reasonable since each service interval is only every 10,000km. The first service for the RS250 is about RM500, and remember that this is a track ready performance car. I’m stoked that I now have dedicated and personalized service for my RS250!

• turbocharged on Mar 31, 2011 at 5:52 pm

you sounded like a salesman or marketing guy from nissan.

• yeah, what he said. typical service for RS250 is RM500. what impresses me is that TC Euro make no bones about the fact that they know their Renaultsport owners drive their cars on track. Hell, they even encourage it! This is the true spirit of owning a performance hot hatch.

• Bro, I saw the spec in malaysia says that the 250 is Ron95 compatible, do you think the car is detune for malaysia?

• vw_fan on Mar 31, 2011 at 3:13 pm

nice work by ETCM to jump start the Renault brand. many more expensive cars also don’t get this kind of service.

• yeah seriously, 2 dedicated engineers just to service 50 cars? where else to get this kind of service? well done!

• turbocharged on Mar 31, 2011 at 5:52 pm

they just promoted 2 foreman/technician into engineer, viola, there you go, ;)

• mmmmmmm on Apr 01, 2011 at 6:20 pm

which part of engineer that u dont understand………u think they simply2 call technician an engineer……this is multinational company with reputable international car…….by the way most of fresh graduate engineer can talk bull about theory but when it come to the real world work they just a bunch of clerk with a degree………..experience matters even u are a technician….

• Hi Redd,
        A friend of mine speaks highly of you, heard you sold your Fiat Coupe. I was an Alfa guy but after the 159 PLASTIC headlight it turns me off…..Now I am a convert….to RENAULT250, getting my car this month end.
        See you at the dinner…..coming with a MAN UTD jersey…..hehehehehe

• B33MER on Mar 31, 2011 at 3:28 pm

impressive indeed. It makes the RM230k price tag even more attractive.

• this is a great marketing gimmick….well done renault…

• waqaf on Mar 31, 2011 at 4:13 pm

nice strategy..

• shawal on Mar 31, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Whoah… wicked cool , more reason to own that Megane RS250 cup ,

• Budin on Mar 31, 2011 at 5:07 pm

waaaa………. expensive gila maa…………… itu keleta

• I tot its every SC’s job to make sure all cars regardless of model are properly serviced and checked by an appointed person (an engineer i hope) before handing over the car to the customer. I know many SC do not do this, but i don see the big hoohaa over something an SC should already be doing. Like some said ‘great marketing gimmick’.

• swoosh3553 on Mar 31, 2011 at 6:12 pm

Agreed totally….. probably only difference here is this phrase… “How personalised? Well, lets say that RS owners have their cell numbers and can call them at any hour of the day!”. I dont think any SC has engineers/technicians that promotes official communication on 24-7 basis.

• whambam on Mar 31, 2011 at 6:44 pm

If you read the article carefully, it’s not just about after sales, but anything Renault Sport related. Things like community events, optional parts etc… I just think it’s nice to see manufacturers out there taking the initiative to take care of their customers, and not just focus on sales. This should serve as a benchmark for other companies if they want us to spend our hard-earned cash with them.

• Speed Racer on Mar 31, 2011 at 6:06 pm

wait….malaysia had the r26 r?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Apr 01, 2011 at 10:22 am

Those are Megane R26s fitted with original parts from the R

• Maserati on Mar 31, 2011 at 7:33 pm

Theres a reason why they do this.Firstly,I would lilke to say that this car is an awesome car in terms of performance and looks.

But the reason why TC Euro is doing this ,is that they know that Renault cars are blardy unreliable here in Malaysia ! Thats why they have the engineers HP number so that they can call anytime.The French parts dont seem to be able to adapt well to Malaysian weather.

And the last part about Renault Parts arriving the next day upon order received? Yes thats pretty quick but most of their parts cost a bomb.

• MechPebbles on Mar 31, 2011 at 9:06 pm

You’re absolutely right. My wife drove a Renault for 10 years and it’s maintenance, maintenance and more maintenance all the way.

• ibex7 on Mar 31, 2011 at 9:04 pm

Those 2 blokes would carry heavy burden managing every single thing on their own. I’m not in anyway to look down upon them but thru their credentials, I doubt they’re actually engineers. Seems that they are more like technicians than real engineers…

• GUNMAN on Apr 01, 2011 at 11:11 am

do U know them personaly, or are U saying it becoz they dont have the right ‘look’?

• Grandisan-Megane Soon on Mar 31, 2011 at 11:09 pm

Nice Nice …. I drove the car for the 5th time today and had a chat with Mr Lokman ..nice guy …cant wait for my Megane RS in 2-3 weeks time yessssssssssssssssss!!!

• HOW ABOUT PROTON SAVVY?
    RENAULT ENGINE MAA…

• Hm…..

Maybe that is why my Kangoo, with AT gear problem, cannot be fixed ASAP.

I have to leave my Goo on 30MAR11 (with TCEAS, who has a 15-bay facility in Section 13), wait until Monday (4APR11) for them to dismount the gearbox to “further” diagnose the problem.

Earliest for me to pick up is on Wednesday (6APR11)….

They must be very very busy, i.e. business service is good.

• Looks like I am wrong.

TCEAS began dismounting the GB today, not Monday . Sorry TCEAS.

But a digit is added to the bill, from 3 digits…and counting.

• bangi awesome!!!

• crazy after sales service. i like

• Grandisan-Megane Soon on Apr 01, 2011 at 7:03 pm

Jig , You mean now the bill is 4 digit already , Ouchhh! I presume your Kangoo has passed the warranty period right ?

• SoMeOnE on Apr 02, 2011 at 5:28 am

its funny how a brand selling ‘people champion’ (fast and affordable) cars are positioned in such an exclusive position in Malaysia…..anythin’s possible in Malaysia i guess…lol