Volvo S60 “Naughty Level 4” Teaser Videos

Volvo Cars Malaysia have uploaded a few teaser videos for the upcoming Volvo S60 onto their Youtube channel. The videos feature a hot red Volvo S60 in some pretty impressive precision driving. Enjoy the videos (1 above, the rest after the jump), and we’ll get back to you with a launch report from the Volvo S60’s launch happening tomorrow.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jalan54 on Apr 05, 2011 at 11:07 pm

I’ve test drove the car, and it is pretty nice, I like it so much especially the auto cruise control.

• lancer on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:01 am

of all the modern features in volvo s60, cruise control u like most?..weird, don’t u like the superb sharp handling, pedestrian auto brake etc?…

• Victor on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:04 am

This is an adaptive cruise control… will automatically control the speed with the detection of traffic flow ahead. Do check it out yourself, you will be amaze by some of the newer safety features.

New 2.0T T5 is priced at RM288k with 240hp/340nm; 3.0T T6 at RM348k with 304hp/420nm. Both are CBU for now. Hopefully VCM will lauch the CKD T5 sometime 3Q this year… for better pricing. Not worth paying so much for AP.

BTW, I do not speak for Volvo, merely a satsfied Volvo owner.

• Unforgiven on Apr 06, 2011 at 5:52 pm

I wonder what’s the pricing for this Volvo globally, or is it in M’sia we need to pay extra for the bumiAP? 288/348k is on the high side…

• Volvo China Car on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:38 am

China made car also want to precision drive ah? Careful okey, halfway, the tire or gear handle might just come out. Steering wheel also might fall off.This Volvo Alado is actually a Cheery. Why should I buy it when I can buy a BMW 320d? or even a 323i?

Pay so much for China car, parts oso so so expensive. Resale value oso kaput. Even ex-Volvo owners, now BMW owners say most expensive car to maintain is Volvo.

• speculate on Apr 06, 2011 at 11:30 am

You can eat McD or KFC or nasi lemak, it is all up to you. Yeah, it is difficult to maintain a Volvo, the shock itself is $1700/ piece. But if you find the right workshop, you’d be looking at a massive reduction in maintenance $$. Talk about safety, and you say parts falling off. If you’re a car geek, just go and look underneath the chassis and you’d understand what it is all about. So many cases/ so many refrences, that Volvo cars saved their lives. China Volvo. yeah, so? It doesn’t mean the car is manufactured in China with “China standards”? Proton and Lotus. There are always people saying Lotus made by Proton, Lotus brand would fail. Look at Lotus now. Doing way way better as compared to last time. Proton also took advantage of the Lotus tie-up.
          No doubt the resale value is lower, so is any other continental car. Out of all the old Volvo saloons, this is the best handling one. Comfortable seat, pretty good engine… a good cruiser.
          I would sell my car to get a T6, but I’d still have to fork out another $300K for it,

• Mazda Fan on Apr 06, 2011 at 11:46 am

do u know that TATA motors from india owns Jaguar and Range Rover?does that means that these 2 cars have dropped in standard?the reason why large asian companies buy established car companies is to acquire the technology and reduces the need to built up a car from scratch and establish it.dumbass

• jalan54 on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:45 pm

You have bad experience before doesn’t mean that they wouldn’t improve. Like Hyundai and Kia, they were not good cars back in the 90’s, but look at Hyundai and Kia now, they have a lot of improvement.
          Please go to have a test drive yourself before you say anything. I agree with you that you have to pay a high maintenance cost, but please 20k km per server and if you drive the car till 100k km, the total service cost is about RM10k. What is RM10k compare to the price you pay for the car?

• get used to it, nowadays to cut cost, wherever is cheaper, then that’s the place to do it. As long as quality is decent, should not have big problems.

p/s: do you know malaysia also manufactures parts for airbus and boeing on the A320, 737/747 etc. Do you still plan to fly?

• jalan54 on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:34 pm

Please read carefully what I’ve mentioned, I like everything, just that I like the cruise control the most.

• AMan Shah on Apr 05, 2011 at 11:23 pm

Volvo among the first continental car using turbo and still continue till to date…recently, audi and mercdes even bmw had introduced turbo inline with the world initiative to reduce emission by using smaller engine yet same power as before. Volvo has been the pioneer in producing turbo engine, ans they also has introduced power shift gearbox which they are targeting to compete with VW DSG Gearbox… i hope this Volvo will attract yougster as well…but the perception is there..youngster who has money will go for BMW…the perception still has not changed…the people mindset has not changed or the car maker concept itself?

• Hope the price is reasonable!

• Vincent on Apr 05, 2011 at 11:43 pm

T5 2.0 is price near 300K (D segment), doubt that people will take it compare with A4 , c class or 3 series.

Wait for their T4 1.6 turbo, price around RM180K…

• Paul Tan on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:01 am

T4? You mean 2.0T? If that price comes true, that certainly sounds tempting.

• Kevin Lee on Apr 06, 2011 at 1:25 am

t3 and t4 is a 1.6 litre petrol powered engine, different tuning stage, t5 would be the 2.5 5 cylinder turbo engine and the t6 would be the 3.0 turbo inline 6 engine

• Paul Tan on Apr 06, 2011 at 1:34 am

For non-US countries T5 = 2.0T with higher horsepower tuning, similiar to Mondeo Titanium X. The inline-5 continues in the US.

Both the 2.0T and T5 are 2.0 liter turbo with different tuning. If they offer the 1.6 liter T3 and T4 definitely good potential for nice price, since tax bracket drops below 2,000cc!

• Wednesday on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:20 am

Paul,

They have the 1.6 Turbo on the drawing boards for Malaysia… if my sources are correct.

• artworkz on Apr 06, 2011 at 1:44 pm

the 1.6 turbo is same as ford ecoboost?

• Paul Tan on Apr 06, 2011 at 2:37 pm

yup

• muddy on Apr 05, 2011 at 11:59 pm

Cool precision drive! (if no video trick!).

Volvo guys tried too hard in terms of styling which produced a bit weird looking car…

• Roocarroll on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:01 am

Does it pump the petrol for you too?

• Harris on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:07 am

This car only starting cost in us is just US$31000 (correct me if I am wrong) = RM 93 000.. Sigh.. In Malaysia we only get forte for that price..

• That is because majority of Malaysians are cheap. Our votes are cheap, therefore our lives are cheap too.

• ayam togel on Apr 06, 2011 at 8:28 am

beacause our lives are cheap that is why many people died in road accident

• shiftSpank on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:09 am

Purely from an Ad stand-point, I’m not too convinced from all the video editing. Granted it ‘seemed’ like precision driving but really… seemed faked to me (apart form the e-brake turns). Anyhow, always hoped for a hot volvo that’s cheap. Maybe a C30 T5-sport at the price of a Mazda 3 MPS?

• BeemerFreak on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:33 am

Tested the car already at Federal Auto Glenmarie showroom. The T6 has a good sounding engine and it is really fast…. Handling is also uncanny for a volvo. Hope they will retain the T5 engine for CKD. that will put a good fight against VW.

• Paul Tan on Apr 06, 2011 at 1:35 am

How come can test drive before launch :O

• many people already test drive XD

• Paul Tan on Apr 06, 2011 at 1:53 am

Care to share your test drive experiences? I’m sure many would want to know.

• BeemerFreak on Apr 06, 2011 at 8:52 am

Sure. I went on Saturday morning to look for the VW Passat CC at Glenmarie before spotting the Volvo. Even then they were selling the cars already. In comparison with the Passat CC the Volvo s60 T5 has 240bhp and 320Nm to torque however it feels more disconnected with the power it is associated to

Acceleration is very quick however Volvo some how manage to make it feel very subdued. Material quality are excellent, better than Volkswagen i would say. Handling is where this Volvo shines over others whereby the Torque vectoring system really keeps the understeer at minimum. While testing the car do make sure you give it the beans while coming out of a corner, then you will know what i mean.
            Acceleration is much more punch and VW like in the T6 with its AWD system.

This Volvo is more about the technology rather than the drive. The amount of passive and active safety tech are even more than an S-class merc. I will let Paul talk about this. Seat are very confortable and the Addaptive Cruise Control really works well in both cars. I took both out for about 30 minutes drive in total. Went on the stretch of straight to the Old Subang Airport road, the Cruise control duly followed whatever car i pointed the s60’s nose to.

• Gavin on Apr 06, 2011 at 3:21 am

If it’s 255k i don’t see why i should choose this over a 320d

• BeemerFreak on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:04 am

Forget your 320d, the space and power of this car will make the BMW look like yesterday’s news. Even a Beemer crazy guy like me is saying this, this Volvo is really something. Unlike others.

• Gavin on Apr 06, 2011 at 1:28 pm

When petrol prices go through the roof, then it’s another story, and i’m sure if euro4 is inrtoduced, again this volvo wouldn’t seem to much better buy then the 320d

now if they brought in the D5 engine, then it’s a different game again

• vince on Apr 06, 2011 at 6:12 am

is sg already lunch s60 ?

• clutch basah on Apr 06, 2011 at 7:12 am

Now I know where the old Stig went, he got a job in Volvo.. :D
    As for the S60, if I’m spending that much for a car.. I’d definitely go for a beemer
    no offense to Volvo fans.

• littlefire on Apr 06, 2011 at 8:39 am

The naughty night drive really proves that technology really saves lives… I still wonder why some ‘ppl’ (Hardcore supporter of our local industry) are so defensive of not having better safety technology in their cars… If we can implement all the cars with this safety technology, i wonder how much accident we can REDUCE in our country… Our G should set a safety guideline on our local car industry just like those in EURO, Australia & US do have their own car safety guideline to be follow by each car manufacturer..

• karthik on Apr 06, 2011 at 10:11 am

price is crazy !

• coolcar on Apr 06, 2011 at 11:19 am

in malaysia, lotsa of ppl will simply follow the trend when buying cars, they juz blindly choose beemer and merc without really study the tech that other automobile co have, nowadays audi, lexus even volvo are having even better quality and safety tech in their cars, go have a look at these greats cars!! pathetic outdated malaysian.

• clutch basah on Apr 06, 2011 at 12:10 pm

say whatever you want granpa.. but when it comes to forking out 300K to buy a car you better think more than twice. In the end the preferable choice would always be BMW or Merc.. it make perfect sense since you showing off your car to your friends not your next door uncle.

• Bloody Volvo Driver on Apr 06, 2011 at 1:32 pm

Bravo, you are a typical Malaysian (not that there’s anything wrong with that) … I drive a ’97 Volvo 850-T5, and you won’t believe the number of times I’ve smoked bmw 3/5-series on the highway (doing 180-200+) and they are never able to catch up. Must’ve been the severe shock and psychological trauma of a typical beemer owner being passed by a bloody volvo driver.
        BTW, I’m a 29yr old yuppy, kinda successful and can afford a beemer3 but when my friends ask ‘why volvo?’, I don’t answer and just ask them to take a ride in my car, normally they are speechless after that.

Beemers are for people who want what they think will impress other people, and need the constant adulation and envy of the other people.
        Mercs are … actually i’m fine with Merc

Lastly,
        Volvos are for people who knows who they are and what they want, what’s beneath the surface, Screw what other people say.

I’m a Bloody Volvo Driver, VOLVO FOR LIFE.

• clutch basah on Apr 06, 2011 at 4:36 pm

Chill dude, there’s no need to be too defensive.. so your volvo is the fastest thing on earth, well kudos to you..
          please note that I never once condemn volvo as a car, just stating a fact and it is a bitch isn’t it?

By the way my argument above still remains, don’t have too elaborate much.. a beemer doesn’t have to be fast to impress… so does a merc :D

• coolcar on Apr 06, 2011 at 4:54 pm

ya, finally met someone who is unique and knows whats called quality instead of a bunch of tasteless common ppl.

• Only Volvo’s owner always try to justify their car and compare it to Merc and BMW. But Merc and BMW’s owner will never compare their car to Volvo, to them Volvo is 1 or 2 level below these 2 marque.

• Speeding Saman on the way to ur house ASAP…. ha ha ha~

• volvo 850T, nice. my dad used to have one, managed to drive one yr occasionally after got “P”, then dad sold it off. solid car but i’ve never driven in crazy speed so not sure what u said was justified.

• Eponymous on Apr 19, 2011 at 1:39 pm

Haha so what? Ur 850T is fast on a straight line and all that…. Beemers and Mercs (not so much) are about the drive, not so much the straight line speed, to they are no slouches…. Btw maybe U jz smoked 320i Sports and C200s haha…. It’s the driving dynamics that matters lah…. And, say what u want bout ur Volvo, Beemers and Mercs are status symbols. They’re not exactly cheap but u get what u pay for….. the quality is there….. Ppl complain abt CKD Beemers and Mercs…. Volvo also CKD what? Hahahaha tasteless common ppl? Jeez wait till u have the money to afford one then we’ll see what u buy. When u dun have money u’ll say ‘oh yea I’ll buy this I’ll buy that’…. Suka u la…

• coolcar on Apr 06, 2011 at 11:21 am

bmw and merc suck!

• wonder why people in msia always say MERC and not BENZ. MERC is just the first name, the first name of a girl whose dad was a racer and a businessman who bought a lot of cars from Daimler(before merger with Benz and Maybach). His condition was to put in his daughter’s name MERCEDES.

i think it carries more weight in mentioning the last name.

• Not-So-Bloody-VOLVO S40-Driver on Apr 06, 2011 at 3:45 pm

Bravo bro!

Well spoken. Agreed.

I currently own S40 2.4i and while service and repair costs a lot (I bring it in to Swedish Marque), I never complain about the car. The handling and cornering of the car smokes a lot of BMW and BENZ.

Ya, a lot of people ask, WHY VOLVO? Coz u can’t afford them? I don’t think so.

Audi, Volvo, VW are not so popular here but they sure are popular elsewhere.

With the launch of this new S60, who knows, I might upgrade to it……..gonna book for test drive soon!

• Why buy Volvo? The answer is I can’t afford a Merc.

• Not-So-Bloody-VOLVO S40-Driver on Apr 06, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Oh, so sad to hear that u can’t afford a BENZ, neither a beemer or Volvo

Go figure……..