Horner: Tomorrow, it may come down to the pitstops

Horner: Tomorrow, it may come down to the pitstopsDid you enjoy this evening’s Malaysian GP qualifying? Those at Sepang certainly did, as World Champion Sebastian Vettel overhauled Lewis Hamilton’s 1m34.974s lap by over one tenth of a second at the death of Q3.

This website had access to the paddock courtesy of Infiniti, the premium marque that will be launched here in the fourth quarter. If you’re wondering where’s the link, Infiniti is a partner of reigning Constructors’ champion Red Bull Racing.

The Infiniti and Red Bull camp ended the day happy, as Mark Webber qualified third behind his teammate and Lewis Hamilton. We managed to get hold of fast moving team boss Christian Horner, who sounded quite cautious despite the promising qualifying results. Just as well, because anything can happen in the Malaysian GP, as witnessed through the years.

Horner pointed out that tyre degradation (bearing in mind the heat) and the weather will be main factors in tomorrow’s race, pointing out that a thunderstorm is possible as the race starts late (4pm). There were hints of dark clouds over SIC today, but the skies didn’t open – could there be rain (not the Korean pop star, which is confirmed) tomorrow? Even if there is, let’s hope that there won’t be a repeat of the 2009 aborted race.

Anything can happen if it rains, but in normal circumstances, Horner acknowledges the challenge of McLaren. He says that it will be close, and “perhaps it will come down to pit stops”.

Horner: Tomorrow, it may come down to the pitstops

At the post qualifying press conference, pole man Vettel admitted that “we would not be here” and behind the McLarens if not for the adoption of KERS, which wasn’t on the Red Bulls in Melbourne. Compared to Albert Park, Sepang is a faster circuit with long straights and sweeping corners, and we should see more of the effects of KERS and the new ‘Drag Reduction System’ or DRS here.

The young champ also gave an interesting view of qualifying in F1: “I think, when you go to qualifying, you put your trousers down and you see what you have got. I am very pleased that we made it!”

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• “perhaps it will come down to pit stops”
    this is typical F1 nowadays. not really a RACE..boring.

• steventan on Apr 09, 2011 at 11:48 pm

Get the bomoh into action if we
    don’t want another washout !!
    Would be interesting if it doesn’t rain and the
    track temperature plays havoc to all the team’s
    tyre/pitstop stretegy.
    Looking forward to an exciting race come rain or shine !!! ;)

• Imbhotep on Apr 10, 2011 at 12:58 am

RB stIll cheating….their front wings still flexing,that produce ‘ground effect’ advantages…aduyai!!

• I think Horner already explained somewhere why the front wing is so close to the ground. it is because the RBR design of the car is slightly different from others where the inclination of the body is slightly different resulting the front wing is closer to the ground. They did pass FIA inspection and testing. But I am looking forward for McLaren to win as Im a McLaren fan. I think Button could suprise RBR as he is one of the softest driver and really take care of his tyres. Should be worth something in Speang as the tyre degradation is expected higher.

• seriusSAM on Apr 10, 2011 at 11:54 am

no cheating meh..

I read somewhere maybe autosport; red bull said they way they design RB7 entire body is different that; it has something to do with their ride height setup at the back and make the front nose slight longer and that’s enable the front wings get close to the ground.

• tokmoh on Apr 10, 2011 at 11:55 am

“could there be rain (not the Korean pop star, which is confirmed) tomorrow?”

Hahaha, oh the pun!! You crack me up, Danny! :)

It’s sure gonna be very intense. So hard to predict, makes the race a must-watch! :)

And God dammit Msian TV, no live or delayed race coverage AT ALL?!?! Think they can force everyone to subscribe Astro sports with shitty commentators? Ini, ini bodoh… Good thing there’s internet to stream live with BBC commentators.

• Lim Kopi on Apr 10, 2011 at 1:59 pm

Hey he Looks like Liam Neeson…