Proton gives orphans and schoolkids F1 experience

One hundred and thirty orphans and schoolchildren had a blast in Sepang yesterday, courtesy of Proton. They not only experienced the Friday practice session of the 2011 Petronas Malaysian Grand Prix, but also managed to get up close and personal with the Lotus Renault GP team.

The children, aged between eight and 17, were able to enjoy the excitement of watching the practice session from the grandstand as well as participate in fun-filled activities at the Proton booth at the F1 Village.

The highlight of the day for them was meeting LRGP drivers Vitaly Petrov and Nick Heidfeld during a meet-and-greet session at the pit walk. As an extra treat, the team’s reserve driver Bruno Senna was also present at the LRGP garage to welcome them.

The children, from Pertubuhan Kebajikan Yayasan Anak Yatim Piatu Darul Aitam (Busarah) in Temoh, Perak and Rumah Bakti Nur Syaheera in Cheras, Kuala Lumpur as well as schoolchildren from Sekolah Sultan Alam Shah, Putrajaya and SK Tanjung Malim Perak, also visited the National Automobile Museum and explored the SIC Mall area and enjoy a quiz session scheduled for them.

The educational visit at the SIC was part of Proton’s corporate social responsibility initiative during the Petronas Malaysian GP F1 race. Proton’s managing director Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin said the company was constantly exploring ways to further develop its CSR program, and this was a unique way of doing so.

“This opportunity offers the children the chance of a lifetime, to be part of the Formula One celebration with Proton, and it’s truly our pleasure to have them join us and have a day out with us,” Syed Zainal said.

“With so much going on with Formula One, we should not forget our corporate social responsibility – even as we aspire to become a global player in the automotive industry, Proton remains a responsible corporate citizen and is now more committed than ever to give back to society, especially for the next generation of Malaysians. It’s important for children to be given the chance to enjoy a world-class sporting event, and this is a great learning experience for them,” he added.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Whatever on Apr 09, 2011 at 12:43 pm

I don’t see any 1M’sia concept in all the kids

• sagatron on Apr 09, 2011 at 12:52 pm

so sweet proton…….can u sponsor me either??i want a scholarship to further my studies in UK..pleaseeeee….=(

• Yeah nice thing to do…right after their parents die in car crash – proton – …how many die or seriously injured crash in Proton car?

• autojohndoe on Apr 09, 2011 at 2:48 pm

you condemn first… then you ask… how come like this?

• hw abt u go finds the facts first, it doesn’t matter which is came first.

• they died bcoz people like u all who drive, change lane, oveertake like maniac..and they become unfortunate victim

• usually p1 & p2 drivers did that. i dont drive p1 cars and of course i hve a reason to be proud wit my Mazda 3.

• Mienzz on Apr 10, 2011 at 12:46 am

What reason do you have to be proud with you car ?

• same like P1 owners feel proud with their car. 1 more thing i m glad that did rides in a safest car.

• Jungred on Apr 10, 2011 at 11:40 am

You using Ron97?

• Boss Coffee on Apr 10, 2011 at 3:21 am

Obvious troll is obvious…

• yeah what ever, road crash statistics tell the facts

• autojohndoe on Apr 10, 2011 at 1:12 pm

road crash statistics… shows number of death… never a car brand…

• mmmmmmm on Apr 10, 2011 at 11:35 am

SO let me get this right….so all those brainless wild accusation….condemning proton for having charity event for unfortunate kids….and try to spoiled the children mood by rekindling past memory and accusing proton that kill their parents(some might even read this post)……JUST for u to be proud of your mazda 3………..please la if u want to sell car use other kinder humanly methods……..sighhhhhhhhhhh

• shawal on Apr 09, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Thumbs up proton, a good way to give back to the community….

• B33MER on Apr 09, 2011 at 7:46 pm

Well done Proton!!! Lead by example.

• Archer on Apr 10, 2011 at 1:30 am

Good way to show the community that you care. Well done Proton.