Seventy months in federal prison and a fine of $12,500 is what Xiang Dong Yu a.k.a. Mike Yu has to repay after the ex-Ford engineer pleaded guilty to two counts of theft of trade secrets. In addition, the Beijing native who has permanent resident status in the US, will be deported upon completion of his sentence.
Yu, 49, was a product engineer at Ford from 1997 through early 2007. In late 2006, he accepted a job at at the China branch of a US company, which is not a crime. What is a crime was that on the eve of his departure from Ford (and before he told them of his new job), Yu copied some 4,000 Ford documents onto an external hard disk. These files include Ford design documents about engine-transmission and electric power supply systems.
He the left and eventually joined Chinese automaker Beijing Automotive Industry Corp. You would know BAIC as the purchaser of the old Saab 9-5 from General Motors. Beijing Auto is the joint venture partner of Hyundai and Daimler AG. It also assembles Chryslers and makes SUVs and 4WDs based on old Toyota and Jeep designs. The company’s group sales totaled 1.4 million vehicles in 2010, making it the fifth largest automaker in China.
What then happened to Yu? He was arrested in October 2009 upon arrival at Chicago’s O’Hare International Airport from China.
Come on who want to copy Ford, lousy car, want copy also will copy from Benz lah
maybe if he move to bolehland, then he can copy n not get arrested :-)
Problem is bolehland got nothing to copy lah. In fact most of the thing in bolehland also copy from other people, for example my US’s friend insisted that our national flag is a copy cat from US national flag. And my Indon’s friend told me that our national anthem is a copy cat from an Indon classic song…something like Mamula Moon.
What are u saying Fucus?? Regret born here? FYI Negaraku music is based from Perak State anthem. The original song is came from Seychelles Island and brought here by Perak’s Sultan who have been exiled there. Actually the Malay Bangsawan from Malaya who bring the Mamula Moon to the Indon..
But have to agree with u on national flag..
About our Jalur Gemilang, it was the British who selected that design to be our national flag during a competition to choose one, without any objections by the US.
This is not the matter of whom to be copied. It is a crime when that person intentionally took something that belongs to someone else.
It is the matter of principle, and a lot of Chinese national don’t practice that, including its government. In fact a lot of none China national Chinese does that, I guess it is in the DNA.
Copy this..copy that..they even make fake eggs!! What’s wrong with China nowadays?
Nothing wrong with the country, it is the people and the China government who doesn’t have moral anymore. As long as there is profit, these nation don’t give a dang. Sad but true, that is why Donal Trump once quoted in CNN news that “Chinese is mean”.
Even worse than Donald Trump himself?
He should have known that he could not get away with it. And yes, F is not really a leading automaker anymore.
US always put up some cheap stunts to make China looks bad. But this is not interesting any more.
China doing waht Japanese use to do and with less smarter way….Keep copycat and one try to be biggest automaker…
Japan is good at enhancing and iterate but not China.
China is good at copying and make it less quality, everything is “Good enough”, never takes pride of their products.
Malaysia is good at buying goods from Japan and China, huh?
At the very least, Malaysia does pay for it not steal aka “pirate” from it and claims as its own. Anyone who has had experience dealing with Chinese or the Government will know what it is like dealing with this “C nation”
y copied into external hd?… copy manually all the document into papers laa.. then rebus and drink the water.
happened anywhere actually.. he’s just a small fish..
You must be doing that often and also your name sounds Chinese.
hahahaha..this dude kantoi big time.Cheers.
Haha US much be worry..very worry, they got so much debt with China and this is just another desperate effort to bring down China, same old same old…..
Even Proton copy Lancer is not count, WHY??
That one is rebadge, not copy laa. Rebadge means reproducing a car model under licence. In China’s case, the copying is done without licence.
The thing is that Proton is incapable of copying except spend a lot of money in the loyalty payment with a straight face, Chinese counterparts are able to, just like many other succeed worldwide class automanufactures like those from Japan and Korea.
Bodoh. That’s why if Proton wants to use Mitsubishi Lancer design, they have to pay Mitsubishi for the permission. The same goes to Perodua when rebadging Toyota Passo as Myvi and Mira as Viva. That is ethical because they ask permission to use the designs and pay some of their profit in return for allowing them to use the designs. But how about those Chinese auto pirates? They only copy other design and never pay even a cent to the design owners. More shameful, they even claim their copies as their “original” design.
There is no shortcuts to succeed. All major carmakers (not including the Chinese pirates of course) develop the hard way, with some issues like the financial problems, recalls etc. From them they learn to become better. But how about those pirates…? All they know is to climb to the top spot in auto industry through illegal and unethical shortcuts. It’s like awarding a first-class degree to copycats who copy their friends’ assignments and plagiarize their seniors’ theses. It is a bloody insult to other carmakers who have worked hard to be what they are today.
Bodoh for you not to make out till today that copying in itself is actually a process of learning, while obtaining production permission by making royalty payment on the other hand is a slow suicide for P1 & P2 cuz both of them dont need to make every effort in cultivating their own team and meanwhile unnecessarily cope with the problems from beginning to end which the JV parterner would solve first. In this case, P1 and P2 are just as much as the frogs that are being long term boiled in the warm water can never jump out of the skillet even if they’re alive. The history of JV by P1 and P2 has proven that.
Things that are exsiting must be reasonable in some way, if their (Chinese) behavior have been in violation of WTO norms or local business law or local intellectual-property law then they are doomed to get sued by others that are copied, if not, then it just told us what the Chinese are doing is legal and follow the rule of the game, understand?
The fact that the China government does not give a damn, neither comply with any international regulation. This nation always looks for shortcuts and exploit others as much as they could. Especially playing as “victims” and launch propaganda where “Chinese has to show off to the World”? LOL
Read up the copyright regulation in China then you will know what is going on in this C land! I have been there and done that.
I bet this Cinese auto pirate cybertrooper always skip classes during study years, copy his friends’ assignments, bring along an army of toyols in exams, threaten his lecturers to give A+ for all his subjects, and then plagiarize his seniors’ theses for his final year project. That’s how he gets his first-class Bachelor of Engineering (Piracy Skills) degree in some cap ayam university.
That fella is just an ikan bilis who is responsible for Chinese automotive piracy controversy. The real ikan jerung will be the Chinese government and the taukes of Chinese carmakers.
Country like India, Japun, Korea, Singapore….. All have to Kowtow to america, they pay big sum of money for military junk from america. China is with big gut not to Kowtow to america, that is why america always come up with funny action against China. I admire our country not to Kowtow to america. Be your own boss not US slave.
Brothers, looks like there are Chinese auto supporters sending an army of cybertroopers to give thumbs down to Chinese auto industry bashers. What a shame, they never want to admit that copying other carmakers’ designs without paying even a single cent of royalty is a sin equivalent of stealing. Instead, those morons are proud of their copycat industry as a divine struggle to take the top spot of the world’s auto industry.
Very silly comment I’ve ever seen. Look, here is Paultan.org, a professional autoblog full of freedom of speech. If you dont like some comments, just dont read them.
Fully agreed with you, it takes a silly to believe in US’s cheap stunt. When US copy Chinese paper making technology, firework know how, did they pay anything to China?
Chinese piracy has nothing to do with US stunt or whatsoever. It is the European carmakers who sue Chinese pirates the most. And another thing, the intellectual property laws did not even exist during the time where paper and fireworks were invented. But still, the Europeans and Americans do give credits to Chinese people as inventors of fireworks and “modern” paper. And another correction, paper was actually invented by Egyptians and not Chinese. The only difference was the ancient Egyptian paper was made by papyrus while Chinese paper was made of wood pulp. Oh yes, there’s another thing. The Chinese only knew to use the fireworks to scare ghosts and wild animals; it was the Europeans who developed ways to use fireworks in weaponry. If you’re going to ask such silly questions about the invention of the already-existed items, then I’m going to ask you – is there any mamak stall suing all other mamak stalls for making exactly the same roti canai as his?
Intellectual property is different. It refers to unique creation by an individual. In the context of automotive industry, all carmakers make cars using the same materials, theories, principles, knowledge and systems. But no two carmakers make exactly the same cars. Their methods, designs, innovations and technologies differ. That is why every car design (as well as other industrial designs) is unique and protected by copyright laws. If you yourself make your own car, you are not stealing. But if you want to copy the design of another car model, then you must ask permission to use that design, which is not for free of course. That is still ethical. But if you copy the entire design without asking for permission, then you are definitely stealing. It is even worse if you claim a design which belongs to other carmaker as your own, because that means you are definitely robbing. Understood pirates?
totally! +1
nice!
Go and read your history, before come here and comment, well normally US slave is like that.
unsafe buildings collapsed, poisoned BABY milk, fake eggs, copycat everything……………this is just recent history……..and no need to go back to earlier one its about the same……….history does repeat itself……….
That is their problem, why so busybody…..Ooops sorry slave normal work extra hard.
It is you who have not read the real history books but only know to read propaganda books. Oh yes, even Wikipedia is blocked in China, which makes that country as “bodoh sombong”. No wonder why Chinese pirates and cybertroopers are nothing more than frogs under the coconut shell.
It is funny that you brought this up too. In China, very often one would make this statement “China created 5 great things in the world”, this is true and great, everyone in the world acknowledges that and thankful to the invention.
However, fast forward to 21st century, the West, to be specific, US created the world wide web, did anyone pay the US royalties?Nope. :)
on the other hand, what has been created by China in this century other than “Cultural Revolution” and propaganda to dump down their people and strong censorship.
There’s another “invention” by People’s Republic of China – The Great Firewall of China. Designed to block YouTube, blogs, every single “anti-China” website, Chinese basher websites, and pro-Dalai Lama websites. Oh, there’s another victim of that ruthless Great Firewall – Google.
Woo!!! so many US slaves work so hard here to bodek their boss, impressive.
My fren tell me when he was in europe studying , when my fren buying CDs from a shop, the shopkeeper saw a chinese man wants to buy CD & he didnt allow it, no wonder.