Proton Espire (Persona R) renderings from GLC Open Day

There was an event called the GLC Open Day held over the weekend of 24-26 June at KL Convention Centre. It was a government effort to educate the public on the unique roles played by various GLCs, and participants included GLICs such as the EPF, Khazanah Nasional and PNB to GLCs like Malaysia Airlines, Axiata, Maybank and national car company Proton. The latter had various activities for visitors, including a car configurator.

This digital application gave visitors to Proton’s booth the chance to customize the physical appearance of selected models, and as you can see here, the upcoming Espire or Persona R mid-sized saloon was among the playthings. Visitors got to switch colours and background, add decals and view the car from all angles. We’re told that Proton had something similar at KLIMS 2010 as well, where they showed the Persona R for the first time as the Tuah concept.

Disguised mules of the Persona R have been spotted regularly on the road, but here’s a chance to view the car from all angles and in various colours never seen before. These visitor-modified images were posted up on Proton’s Facebook page earlier today. While some of the more creative renditions are laughable, the car looks quite neat to us. What do you think?

More “postcards” after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2363]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• pdvilq on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:12 pm

Looking at it, make me feel like playing need for speed world…haha.

• the rear is very ugly

• motberg on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:16 pm

The first rendering is nice… But I think the rear end needs some work. It doesn't seem to 'gel' witht the rest of the car. Just my opinion…

• Yeay I'm 1st

• james on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:25 pm

the rear is so 90's… dated.

• Georgie on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:25 pm

Can't help but lamenting the ripoff Forte headlights. The taillights facade are a bit too old-school for the modern age. Reminding me the old days with my Mazda 323. Somehow, the fluidity of the design suddenly ends at the rear section. More room for improvement, Proton.

• Fair&Square on Jul 06, 2011 at 7:21 pm

I Agree. Its seems that the front and rear ends design do not conform with the fluidity design of the whole body. P1 designers should portray some fluidity form in its grill, front lamps and rear lights

• Zakri Yusoh on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:27 pm

proton always fail at looks…

worse of all their quality too :(

I hope proton just buy over some model like the inspira which would be much better than wasting money on rnd

• fail at looks?? bro, this espire is really nice la.. what car is nice to you? vios dugong?

• wak din on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:47 pm

haahahahaa…u r damn good man la asad…next time i wil ask proton to make special design for Mr Zaki…only for him…boleh aaa??komplen saja tau.. what do you think asad? heheee…

• Zakri Yusoh on Jul 06, 2011 at 5:00 pm

hey asad,

comparing apple to apple

hyundai is way ahead of proton interms of quality, looks and safety…

please open up your eyes before you comment

• hyundai is already in market for long time.. beside that, how suppose proton to be better car maker if the workers doesnt have spirit to do so.. they works in most advance factory, even Discovery Channel have talk about Proton Factory in “How do they do it”(if i’m not mistaken). proton parts also have good quality..

but they workers are spoiling their status. every car they assemble is with hurry.. simple laa, u go to any mechanic and said, “boy, pasang ini, itu, mau siap cepat aa.. kasi local punya sudah laa..” without testing is the part is suitable or not. look at ferrari, each car the built full of feeling.. they did it very precisely, they take the whole time just to put the badge ok the bonet.. we never ask proton workers to be like that, just want they assemble the car with more manners..

i have to said, perodua’s is way more better than proton.. their quality is much better..

back to the car design.. i wondering how if someone change the badge from proton to, let say honda or BMW, the whole world will say “waaa..!!! nicest car i’ve ever seen in my life.!” then if they know it was Proton, then everyone gonna said : most ugliest.. really happen when someone rendering mazda MPV and put Proton Logo, most of people said it is ugly, but later, when they know it was mazda, everyone said it is nice..

• ““How do they do it”(if i’m not mistaken). proton parts also have good quality.. ”

Have you owned and drive a Protong?

Hahaha.

• coco_nuts on Jul 07, 2011 at 7:28 pm

Bro ZY,

Looks is very subjective, please do not impose your view and will to the rest of the readers. Keep it to your self before you see the production car. Please do the designer a justice, this is not apple to apple comparison simply because this are only external photoshop pictures.

Eventhough my waja premium sucks but my japanese car sucks too, worse the korean….Beauty and look lies in the eyes of the beholder.

Belle la Neos

• Dear CoCo_NuTs,

What do you mean “please do not impose your view and will to the rest of the readers?”

Who are you to tell forumers WHAT NOT and WHAT CAN? Are you the owner of the website? For as long the admin of the website allows the comment to be published; means it is published, kappish? cophrendo,?

That’s why people BLOG, FACEBOOKING and FORUMING. So that we can read and comment others’ views/opinions. It’s a two-way communication.

There will always be pros and critics. There’s always be Yin and Yang. There’s always be Black and White. And I’m sure there’s always be a Protong Sampah and Perodua for people to munch their comments on!

Hahaha.

• vtecroar on Jul 08, 2011 at 10:56 am

be your self.

• kekuda on Mar 27, 2012 at 2:28 pm

ZY, you compare what hyundai model with what proton model? Do not tell me that you are comparing new sonata with proton tiara.

• Fair&Square on Jul 06, 2011 at 7:12 pm

Hi Zakri, aint wanting malaysians be like koreans someday. If you still have this kind of mindset….when will we be like Germans

• monshi on Feb 21, 2012 at 10:25 pm

So true our Malaysian like to bash their on products and look highly on imported brand.. do you think japanese and korean cars are that good if not because of their citizen always support their own car.. how do you think the japan car improve in quality, their government sent their people to learn the skills in making car, then this people will make use of ttheir knowledge to produce a quality car..but what happen in malaysia all the students who the goverment had spent money just to send them study engineering in germany or japan aren’t paying off..

• mamat kalut on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:27 pm

the front look very niceeeee..especilly the black one…

• I think to some people, everything is wrong for proton.

• yupe! count me and most of the people i know in :)

• Vincent on Jul 06, 2011 at 6:32 pm

This is so car branding crisis lor…

People just don’t like it..

• Hei Hei how many Car your great granfather design and produce if it better than proton so you can talk otherwise you look at your self first

• Naz@AE111 on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:29 pm

front, Love It… Rear, out of spec and not nice to my eyes… @_@

• MouMouRen on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:30 pm

Black tinted break lamp. Later Saman by JPJ. The side and rear need to do somw work. Seem like very bored and nothing attactive…heheheh The Front looks ok for me..

• Fortezen on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:31 pm

Looking at it make me feel like proton still need to push their design department harder..none of their model has 'wow' factor..pity lah

• Out of Luck on Jul 06, 2011 at 6:27 pm

At least this is a new design, not just another minor facelift
      :-)

• but it looks bad~ T.T….. Honestly, No Wow Factor at all….. Like 90's old car with LED….

• swifty on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:31 pm

I must say this is a creative move from Proton. Let the rakyat decide how they want their next Proton to look like, at least skin-deep. From the side and front, it reminds me of a current popular Korean car.

• the front is really really nice!! the rear is ok. overall, kereta proton paling cantik!!!

• uzumi on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:35 pm

the design look fine, ai these day modern car all look same…..copy this ,copy that…boring
    proton still carry the old persona some shape to this R. Nice front end, but rear seem messy and busy. Same issue again why proton and lotus like name start with 'E' so much? Exora, Emas , Evora , Esprit , Exige , Elise ,Elan , Eterne …….. Espire lol

• EsKIMO

• guest on Jul 06, 2011 at 7:02 pm

eternity… eksais tax

• Fair&Square on Jul 06, 2011 at 7:08 pm

so u think benz catagorizes their models with E200, E240, E280 are all boring to you. Start being an adult please

• uzumi on Jul 07, 2011 at 3:23 am

case like merc ,audi and bmw is focus on category segment
        E-class for D segment
        C-class for C segment
        CLK,CL,CLS,B,G class their have range focus right on market.

proton been mess up same word and name in all segment.

• shafa on Aug 17, 2011 at 7:27 am

i google espire and first thing came up is brand of condom… LOL

• yellowman on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:36 pm

The rear looks shit….The whole car look like a fat Saga FL……
    Tips for Proton. Put this car next to Hyundai Avante & hope u lot will see what is missing…..Design refinement!!! The rear look like Ah Beng workshop job…..Now, the front bumper also borrow some shit element from one of those crabby Toyota design…

• Agreed. Design refinement is what P1 should emphasize.

• just Rebadge Hyundai Avante better… change badge only & sales at current persona price Sure buy!!!!!!!!

• taboogen on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:40 pm

sudah kata pun itu kereta concept… it is a concept ler.. which part of the concept that u all did not understand

• Commenter on Jul 06, 2011 at 5:57 pm

as you mentioned it's a concept, then Proton should be more daring to produce a nice concept car to impress. This is more realistic to perhaps what they've been working on now.

• i think you are the one who don't understand

• KushKush on Jul 06, 2011 at 7:04 pm

I think concept cars is what determines how the car will look like in the future… This concept already looks bad… I am sure that the final product will look even worst… Should name it EXPIRE… Tip for proton: please don't cut cost!!…

• KushKush on Jul 06, 2011 at 10:21 pm

My favourite Proton is still the Satria Neo… don't care any variation… as long as it's a Neo… For now nothing can top Satria Neo…

• concept kalau design buruk dan obselete buat ape buat concept…

• If it's a concept design …does that mean it's not entitled to be criticized ? Why all the negativity to criticism ? Malaysia has a long way to go before we could be a global player…..sigh..!!

• mfinerva on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:43 pm

hopefully they'll make major improvement on the exterior of the car
    is looks very outdated to me

• as for now, Proton shall come out with compact SUV and mid-size SUV something like Nissan Qashqai and Chevy captiva. Then, we have more choice rather all new models line up from sedan base…too many sedan model by Proton with same engine size .

Hope to see Pick Up Truck Proton JV with other manuf. & SUV . That will make a lot changes !!!

• UdaSalleh on Jul 06, 2011 at 11:07 pm

I doubt that very much. They have no expertise in heavy-duty vehicles (too bad). Best hope is for a crossover vehicle with suv looks. Personally been waiting for their codename Lekiu (hate the name though).

• yellowman on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:45 pm

Now, what a name for a car…..EXPIRE….why don't they just called it Proton Koffin, Proton Matie, Proton Hancor, Proton 4, Proton Kondem, Proton Skrab, Proton Rosaak & etc ^_^

• drMpower on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:51 pm

why am i not interested at all?
    why cant we design something better?
    i mean, low roof line, sportier ?

where the hell are the designers?
    i thought when u design something
    it can be anything
    be bonkers
    be ridiculous
    whatever

• why dont you yourself design a new brand model. you talk,you criticize.. its easy right? you dont have to do a single rnd.

• pisnowar on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:51 pm

proton should put new engine + CVT tranny (even though I don't like this tranny)..+ enhancement of quality + safety stuffs…otherwise..looking other manufacturer ler…

• john die on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:52 pm

from a first time i saw this car at klims, the rear reminds me of subaru legacy on late 90s i guess….looks outdated, btw..front is ok for me but they need to workhard for the 'wow' factor…

• GABBA GABBA GABBA on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:55 pm

Dang~! The front looks like Prius, the side-view looks like Chevy Cruze or some Hyundai model and last the Rear looks like….i dunno what model i could think for the Rear….Haha!
    But…kinda dissapointing…

• Nice job, but it look like forte from side view. Hope Proton can avoid copy-cat job for their new cars.

• very nice, the design looks 'matured'.

while previous proton's models look like proton still looking for an identity in term of design, this one is the real proton.

look at saga, it is like an unfinished business, so does the current persona. this one is the proton's identity

thumbs up!

• niceone on Jul 06, 2011 at 4:58 pm

after all the hypes, this will be the final design?? proton, get this model back onto the drawing board! i dunno why but proton's design always has something missing, something tak siap

• ichi24 on Jul 06, 2011 at 9:03 pm

final design? you blind? if blind people can see, the will read the post first and comment without bias first.

ignorance at it's best.

• niceone on Jul 07, 2011 at 2:01 am

ok then, i will say it is a 'refined' design from the first clay model at KLIMS before. and this newly 'refined' design looks much more like the disguised espire car that has been tested on road few times before. so doesn't that mean this 'refined' design will more likely be the final design? got what i'm saying smart a$$?

• Joe Matt on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:29 am

heh… u call other a$$ but what about u? A$$ full of crap..

This is not final design, but i agree if this design is finalize, then there is something missing.

Please redesign the rear to new refreshing design, not that misai lamp

• Dont choose yelow color, u will be catch and jail..

• MoFaz on Jul 06, 2011 at 7:52 pm

it's ok la if your car yellow and dirty… you'll get problem only if your car yellow and bersih.

• Hafizi Pauzi on Jul 06, 2011 at 5:15 pm

wondering when the satria neo replacement would be schedule in the future…

• Arbisi on Jul 06, 2011 at 5:16 pm

Design, concept or beauty are very very subjective. This model penned by Italdesign Giurgiaro and yet people complained, designed by British also people not satisfied. What to do ? Anyway let's wait for the final product. But..how come SAGA designed by local boy became best seller?

• saga designed by LG ler…saga is only best seller for proton ler…

• Joe Matt on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:21 am

It is best seller because of its low price and decent design..

• Paula Kate Millers on Jul 06, 2011 at 5:25 pm

Wow, this car is amazing. I’d love to drive it

• chapchoy on Jul 06, 2011 at 5:26 pm

rear looks really ugly and retro.
    cant they design a bit better?

• The new rating system is not nice. It give the wrong impression on the overall response received by any comment.

Example: If 10 people like it and 0 thumb down it, then you got +10 but let say another comment received 100 like and 91 thumb down, overall rating is only +9. So, it look like the first response generate more interest then the second one. How odd!

Suggest to Paul to get back to the earlier response method but using this new look..

• ichi24 on Jul 06, 2011 at 9:01 pm

indeed, pretty much like the old rating system, balance out the rating.

this new implementation doesn't proves anything at all.

• Paul Tan on Jul 07, 2011 at 1:30 am

The old comment system had an issue whereby if someone replied to a comment posted in the middle of the whole list of comments, people would usually miss out on it because they'd scroll down to the bottom to check for new comments.

This new system, it displays the most recent active comment thread, so all new comments including replies get highlighted.

Don't you think that's far more important than showing off how much someone's comment is hated? Why so negative?

• MoFaz on Jul 07, 2011 at 10:52 am

somehow, i think they like to see how many people ‘agree’ & ‘disagree’.. not just agree minus disagree or the other way round.
        but yeah.. we had to scroll and scroll if we’re looking for new comment in the middle, especially on topics like proton, perodua and vios :)

• dothan on Jul 06, 2011 at 5:31 pm

The looks like a blown out version of savvy

• treblecase on Jul 06, 2011 at 5:36 pm

Espire? LOL!! Is there no other name? Expire.

• sayapolissohi on Jul 06, 2011 at 5:37 pm

test

• Anonymous D on Jul 06, 2011 at 5:47 pm

I think the front is quite nice but looks like a copy of the kia forte.. the sides are fine but the rear is aweful! My gosh it looks like tht dude from x-men with the sunglasses (cyclops i think was his name) and it looks like some old ford rear.. Horrible!

• stupid on Jul 06, 2011 at 8:36 pm

ya ya forte is the best la now all japanese and malaysian car sucks big time only korean should exist in this world ok….=.='

• Anonymous D on Jul 07, 2011 at 5:51 pm

umm ur getting the wrong picture, im commenting on the design of this car, i did not comment on proton's design capabilities and FYI Korean cars were criticized before for their lack of designing capabilities and look where Hyundai and KIA has come to now..and u cant say KIA has bad design, it has accolades to support my point and i didnt even say anything abt japanese cars although since u brought it up i like neither Honda or Toyota just Subaru. Have a nice day!

• protonmania on Jul 06, 2011 at 5:47 pm

proton memang boleh… Dr. M memang berpandangan jauh
    now everyone like proton…

• McKay1 on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:06 am

Really?..take out the duty tax,sales tax n whatever tax imposed on foreign make e.g forte,pug308,fiesta,etc..and u can see how rubbish that old man vision is..

• Norman on Jul 06, 2011 at 5:48 pm

Am I the only one? It looks like Passat CC front with Subaru Legacy back!

• Norman on Jul 06, 2011 at 5:53 pm

BTW, why use the name Espire? Sounds too dangerously close to expire. No?

• Dennis Choo on Jul 06, 2011 at 6:01 pm

Front ok (but like forte). Back just like it's name Expired (Espire) xD

• Dennischoowho on Jul 06, 2011 at 8:34 pm

ya why not say forte looks like civic poor korean fanboy….

• Eric Lam on Jul 06, 2011 at 6:01 pm

Rear light should change a bit.. dont combine left and right. It make look like misai style..

• afeef on Jul 06, 2011 at 6:03 pm

espire , sounds close to espirit (lotus)

• What for putting a so big number plate at the back?

• concepts are suppose to be futuristic and productions units are a little toned down, this concept already looking a little dated..by the time it come out say in two years, competition would already be a generation ahead..

• what the? the design makes vios dugong looks good.

• awg1031 on Jul 06, 2011 at 6:18 pm

just please maintain the name 'PERSONA' la..how many time must we have a new name? later on got 30 models also got 30 names..haih

• ichi24 on Jul 06, 2011 at 8:58 pm

it is persona, just the codename "espire".

proton are keen to follow their trend to name their car with the name end with "a".

• Out of Luck on Jul 06, 2011 at 10:28 pm

I doubt Proton will keep the PERSONA name because it's too polite, only Malaysian will appreciate it. They are trying to use a name that is more aggressive & acceptable internationally (or at least someone who knows English able to appreciate it), starting with INSPIRA. ESPIRE means ambitious (cita-cita tinggi), so sound better a little. Have you ever watch BBC's Top Gear and listened to Jeremy Clarkson pronounced Proton IMPIAN? It was disastrous!!! LOL!

• Chia Chwee Meng on Jul 06, 2011 at 6:24 pm

Enter text right here!

• Naley on Jul 06, 2011 at 6:25 pm

headlamp nice..i like it..rear lamp need to adjust a bit..maybe put some good looking LED design..keep it up Proton!

• Out of Luck on Jul 06, 2011 at 6:26 pm

Pity Proton, always got bashed no matter what they do. Add new features – kena bashed, remove features – kena bashed. Give extra lifetime warranty on power windows – also kena bashed. Helped to reduce costs for maintenance – kena bashed.

I don't particularly like Proton cars but if there's something that I can be proud off this Malaysian car manufacturer is the car design (I'm not talking about the mechanics, tech or interior). Surely it's not going to win any awards, surely it lacks the 'wow' factor like Hyundai/Audi but the design is actually quite good especially with Saga BLM, Gen 2 and Persona. It's not ugly until the buyer is ashamed to drive it out. I'm sure if the same design carries other badges (e.g T&H, Conti), people will praise how good it looks. For example, VW cars' designs (ordinary looks for such superb cars) are not particularly great either but nobody seem to complaint.

So Proton, keep up the good work. Good design alone is not enough, so please work hard to improve the car features and interior as well. Please make us Malaysian proud (although you constantly ripping us off) by making P1 cars on par with international standards/quality. Well done!

• anjez on Mar 23, 2012 at 8:19 pm

you buy proton and drive then you complaint.
      you thibnk mahathir and proton is good and done very good for your stupid country?
      its have deprived of many of owning quality cars.simple.

• expired…?

• Mask Ryder on Jul 06, 2011 at 6:46 pm

The blackened rear lamp remind me of those 90's ah beng car.
    I do hope it doesn't included in their production car

• as the name hints,,… it is "Expired"

• Proton is worthless. on Jul 06, 2011 at 7:08 pm

Ugly. Nothing to say really, no development at all. This is what happens when there is no competetion and massive over protection of the brand.

• sukasuki on Jul 06, 2011 at 7:24 pm

outdated to me ..

• so don’t buy it… the choice on your hands… lets other people support proton…

• i like the front a lot, but other areas not so impressed. proton either needs to a) polish up car design or b) select better rendering angle. the view from above to me is actually quite brilliant too

• Randy on Jul 06, 2011 at 7:36 pm

so many complaint. why not go and make ur own car la…. if you doesn't like Malaysia's car, why need so many comments? then why not ask yourself, since Malaysia's products aren't satisfy enough for you, why you still stay in Malaysia. Go aboard la. so many complaints. No wonder ppl like you never grow….

• ichi24 on Jul 06, 2011 at 8:56 pm

they are blind people, see new paultan post about proton, straight away bash

i bet they didn't even read what this post is all about or don't even bother to read

either the basher have no life are too poor to own a car and start emo, and blaming everyone that it's their fault and not them-self for their own incompetence, really.

it's soooo hard to read what our dear paultan and co posted about? all you people care is your own bloody opinion and never care of other people opinion, like you some kind of god or something. :facepalm:

• UdaSalleh on Jul 06, 2011 at 10:55 pm

These bashers are inherently negative people. Their hearts are void, minds are empty vessels and they like to kepoh just for the sake of it since everyone knows that negative people and their negative opinions does not matter.

If they don't like Proton then why read the article in the first place let alone give absurdly cynical & defeatist comments?

• MrDDR on Jul 07, 2011 at 3:31 pm

"so many complaint. why not go and make ur own car la" Stupid Comment…People like you will never grow up..Unable to accept other comment and to improve yourself.

• freeze on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:13 pm

dei bodoh. In this cunnt-tree If we build our own car, we can't get approval from JPJ thus making it illegal to drive. We could drive but will end up paying bribes to the damn B-End.

• Front looks like SAVVY !

• freeze on Jul 06, 2011 at 7:44 pm

The first picture reminds me of Savvy.

Overall it looks like a futuristic design that was designed in the 1990s.

Tada stim la tengok ini gambar!

• the front design heavily reminds me of Kia Forte….

• why not say honda city then?get a life worship forte like god….=.='

• forte is better value for money than city..but still many people but city.weird

• Expatriate VN on Jul 06, 2011 at 8:08 pm

Keep on rendering until the cow come home, still Persona base and Campro engine!

• lan87 on Jul 06, 2011 at 8:14 pm

from front it looks really nice… the front headlamp look i lil bit like savvy's…proton need to improve the rear…please,please,please make the rear more interesting proton!!!

• Franc on Jul 06, 2011 at 8:29 pm

I'm anti Proton but for this design Proton shows that they now moving forward. The most important please make good interior design no more plastic material.

• anand on Jul 06, 2011 at 8:30 pm

kia forte

• ichi24 on Jul 06, 2011 at 8:50 pm

the first few early poster didn't read the whole post paul had hard time to type

is a bloody concept car, :sigh: malaysian mentality these day bash first read thousand years later

• Adalah on Jul 06, 2011 at 9:06 pm

Front is OK la..the back looks too desperate and from the side, oh god…give it a sleeker design please. That thing looks chubby :D

• design is so so. It was hot when the concept was released last year or so, but now with the fast moving motoring design, it looks a bit dated to be honest.

Anyone feels the name sounds a lot like a condom?

• Yeah, if you google "Espire" it's actually a condom brand, but the guys proabably knew this after they released it to the public, good thing it's a concept though, not a production car.

• i dun really care about the looks, i really believe it's ok already, not too much curves like sonata, maybe because proton wants to play safe, like audi

maybe the headlamps come with daylight LEDs that will be standard for all cars, the bumper, well like city, camry, passat cc, bmw 3 series. it's enough i think even the merc e series design nowadays is quite boxy.

now what i want now is the the turbocharged engine, so that the driving is more comfortable, when the car is in full with passengers and travels on highways and when to start to get moving from idle, not to say proton cars are felt quite heavy on foot but the torque power should give relaxing experience and most important is to save fuel.

of course persona is very stable at high speed, even on sharp corners. hope this persona will inherit those stability

can't wait for exora turbo at the end of year before this persona r comes out early next year

• LayKoon Tiew on Jul 06, 2011 at 9:49 pm

finally, Proton learned "copy",, which Korean did 20years ago…

• nebula87 on Jul 06, 2011 at 9:53 pm

guys, dont be a proton bashers…u will regret..XD

• Kerol on Jul 06, 2011 at 10:34 pm

nice, but need more improvement on external design.. what about the interior?? hurmm..

• RedBeanBun on Jul 06, 2011 at 10:42 pm

please make it a production asap before being outdated. The time line is also important…the more it delay, the more it become outdated since its already showout the design…please work it out asap.! I am a basher, but this I think at least a good move to be praise :)

• makeitmine on Jul 06, 2011 at 10:43 pm

2 tone colours for exteriors and interiors is a good selling point.. even carbon fiber stickers (good quality ones) may make cheap cars look good. Pls don't build another poor man's car. It will be difficult for potential owners to buy a Proton car based on "Lotus Ride & Handling". "Lotus Ride & Handling" can be spoilt by the tyres sold with the cars or another torque dip at low rpm. Moreover, new cars have tight engines and may be uncomfortable to drive- drive by wire delay.

Right now, no car manufacturer can tell how their car actually perform on the streets with performace parts without a dyno. But with latest technology, the car engine data can now be logged using obd to a wireless device to an iphone/ipad app. The data can then be used by tuners for diagnostics and analysis. If Proton provide access to car ECU, aftermarket performance parts manufacturers can easily convince potential customers to use their performance parts and this will generate lots of public interest based on advertisements which will be good for Proton brand.

• makeitmine on Jul 06, 2011 at 10:46 pm

Do consider adding more comfort and special features:
    1. more safety features (side airbags/curtain airbags) 2. front strut stabilizers, 19mm ARB for better handling 3. more soundproof to curb road roar and soundproof firewall/engine cover to curb engine & fan noise. 4. integrated e-Throttle controller to suit all types of driving styles (from economy to sport) 5. integrated HUD speedometer GPS 6. integrated OBD to wifi device so that owners can check and log engine performance for tuning from iphone/ipad and keep improving their ride. It is difficult to satisfy all drivers. 7. integrated car camera "blackbox" recorder for accident insurance claim 8. integrated tire pressure management system 9. blue tint side mirrors for better night driving 10. integrate change lane assist/collision mitigation system
    11. iphone/ipad/ipod friendly 12. signature exhaust sound 13. signature engine sound

If Proton does the above, it will not be just another Malaysian car but you will get the "BMW of Asia" title very fast beating existing Korean & Japanese.

• swoosh3553 on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:09 am

… but with selling price of only RM80k and below…. right?

• makeitmine on Jul 07, 2011 at 4:21 pm

I think still can make the selling price.. the devices are already manufactured in Taiwan, China and Korea. For HUD display, just need to have an IPhone app. accessing the Siemens ECU via wireless and a projector device to display on the windscreen.

• arroncyl on Jul 07, 2011 at 4:05 pm

Absolubly right…

• mattt on Jul 08, 2011 at 11:59 am

arb is after market part. Strut bar is good,but if u check back,even bmw dont use front strut bar as standard becoz its cons also. If accident, when side collision, the right side been hit, the left side also move aside due to front strut bar, so the damage will be double. They already use e throotle(drive by wire n adaptive driving),its not the same as pivot e throttle which is aftermarket, but the principle is the same. So, too much influence of aftermarket product, production car is diffrent.

• makeitmine on Jul 08, 2011 at 3:53 pm

Some UK buyers claimed that their Protons came with front strut bar as standard.. BMW M3 (2004) buyers also claimed their cars and newer m3's came standard with front strut brace.

Proton should support the aftermarket manufacturers as the returns will be recipocrated. The car warranty is generally 3 years out of 10 years' life and after 3 years, it is natural for the car owners go to aftermarket manufacturers/service providers for advise/service.

• Kai Ming Chow on Jul 06, 2011 at 10:46 pm

it looks like honda city. having the same feel.

• ah geli on Jul 06, 2011 at 10:58 pm

anybody go BERSIH at stadium?

• lonewuzz on Jul 06, 2011 at 11:36 pm

the persona r wheel use 4 nuts..usually car with below 1.6 engine use 4 nuts(correct me if im wrong). hope Proton can produce 2.0 or 1.8 engine n put in the new persona(i think they wont bcoz of inspira already hv the engine)

• Hayden Here on Jul 06, 2011 at 11:49 pm

amazing! :))

• AripSon on Jul 07, 2011 at 12:20 am

Love it.
    If p1 still use campro engine in it, I shall camproturbo it with Xenon Motorsport's kit…
    muahahahahahaaa…

• lailailai on Jul 07, 2011 at 1:02 am

kia forte front with Mazda RX7 back

• yes agreed, mazda rx7 back. but to say it has kia forte front, i dont think so. even kia forte copy exactly honda design cue!

• Simon Sez on Jul 07, 2011 at 1:04 am

Easily misread as 'expire'. Easily mistaken as a Kia Forte. That's the biggest rear license plate i have ever seen. Twin rear exhaust pipes for what engine? Rear windows doesn't seem it can wind down fully as its too close to the rear wheel arch. Gosh! All the R & D funding goes into this design? Proton could have done better. Just honest opinions here.

• teamsleepnine on Jul 07, 2011 at 2:22 am

damm…what up with the forte…..the car look more like the new passat then forte….

• MBX Boy on Jul 07, 2011 at 2:30 am

Come on, proton can come up with a better name than this!
    First, Inspira, not that bad, then something so similar sounding: Espire ??

I did a quick google search, and guess what i found? Check out this website: http://www.zanderasia.com/
    >> Doh!!! <<

• MBX Boy on Jul 07, 2011 at 2:31 am

To this exterior design: Thumbs up!

• Cheku77 on Jul 07, 2011 at 4:40 am

This car for men…. Other vios, city & myvi supporter go away! Your skirt may lift off when inspire passing thru….

• the question is, how soon can proton roll this out to market. if it takes too long, this design may be dated by then…

• azrai on Jul 07, 2011 at 7:42 am

It is Proton Tuah in rendering la…aiyoo

• petrol_head on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:08 am

Mini Volkswagen Passat look spotted. So photocopied version.
    Next thing you know, there'll be Inspira with CVT gearbox (a.k.a Lancer GT).
    Rebrand, come up with something new proton. -_-'

• TheInsider on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:50 am

as long as it looks better than dugong,than it's fine.. :)

• blackgenius007 on Jul 07, 2011 at 9:02 am

Kudos to Proton, the design is going to another level compare with all current Proton cars. But, it still looks plain and out dated, and I believe once it launched on over next two years, you will see it has a HUGE difference with those other brands launched at the same time.

The outlook should be on par with the design trend on year 2007-2009, but not >2012.. This could be the Proton flagship model for globally, but I'm worry Out of Malaysia, it is hard to convince people.. Take the Singapore car market as a benchmark, if one day full of protons on the road of Singapore, that mean Proton is successful.

And, improve the Quality please…

• sinCity on Jul 07, 2011 at 3:01 pm

For Singapore market, Proton need to install 70l fuel tank. 50l is not enough! Singaporean can only pump 1/4 tank of premium fuel in Malaysia.

• Ahmad Zunaidi Bin Zulkipele on Jul 07, 2011 at 9:08 am

like a ford…suka2…

• Jimmy on Jul 07, 2011 at 9:18 am

Please relook at the front lamps.
    Side view: the front end is too senget ke bawah.

• i am 100% this is not a final look of the car…perhaps the 1st stage design…we are talking abut Proton here…good in keeping secret nowadays…we only get to knew about Exora final look 1-2 weeks b4 launching…i bet this is not a 100% look of Persona R… especially the tail lamp…

But i am still wondering, what happens to EMAS?? why until now no testing on our highways…only leaked photo of doing testing on their internal circuit…aduhhhh………

• sinCity on Jul 07, 2011 at 3:11 pm

I guess that it only make sense for Proton to wait till the launch of the Nissan-Mitsubishi minicar JV in the Japanese market and use the platform or rebadge the car to replace Savvy.

Maybe there will be opportunity for Proton to manufacture some the parts since the recent tsunami has disrupted auto production in Japan

• Boleh Lah Proton on Jul 07, 2011 at 9:23 am

Proton should name it simply as new Waja. Add hatch version as new Satria (both 5-door and 3-door models) and also Coupe 2-door sedan as new Putra. Maybe good for Sports Wagon model too, Waja Sportswagon.
    p/s.The rear lights a bit overdo mazda-RX7. Cut it off like Forte design then it’ll be perfect.

Next, review the current Savvy with new front and rear design, re-allign the step window as straight line, new door handle like Saga. Should be OK and it’s all based on current model no need costly all-new total redesign.

Perhaps an extended Savvy body as small MPV 7-seater 1.5L to slot in below Exora to nab the Alza market.

Hopefully Proton can rebadge Mitsu Triton pickup and Pajero Sports SUV!

• proton people please put very huge extra effort, make this concept into production line and please challenge Kia in term of design and not forget challenge Honda in term of quality also you need challenge VW in term of services and warranty packages.Then make us proud owning a continental Asia made car!

• Bayang Putih on Jul 07, 2011 at 9:42 am

u all have 2 think… this is not a executive car or even a sport car. its build as a family car, "mid-sized saloon". comfy are come 1st. so…………………. fikirlah sendiri!

• devil on Jul 07, 2011 at 9:58 am

awesome design!!
    very good.. this is what we want!!

• so belum launch oledi "Expired"? proton really know their product well.

• guest on Jul 07, 2011 at 10:24 am

too dark tinted glass, jpj saman xD

• Johnny on Jul 07, 2011 at 10:25 am

As for a rendering, i think theophilus chin’s rendering is far nicer. The overall design is just ok without any wow factor. BTW, the GTI / Gen2 rims is a shame.

• makeitmine on Jul 07, 2011 at 10:56 am

Pls also reengineer the Proton seats for comfort.. replaceable 2 tone colour seat covers with lumbar support.

• @cheeyuyanggg on Jul 07, 2011 at 12:07 pm

as long as its good looking, i dont care if they coppy

• gorgonjos on Jul 07, 2011 at 12:25 pm

rear view dah mcm bmw X6…bagus proton! mule2 je nmpk pelik nnti lame2 org sume biasa la

• Vincent on Jul 07, 2011 at 12:33 pm

how much is Proton Espire?

• whatever proton do you bashers will always b the same. semuanya salah.. so imho, pedulikkan aje dorang ni.. p la beli keta lain, aku tak heran pun..

• balboni on Jul 07, 2011 at 3:03 pm

the rear reminds me of challenger…..

• sinCity on Jul 07, 2011 at 4:11 pm

If Malaysia Boleh! cars have electric trunk automatic opening & closing, sure impressed Japanese & Korean cars owners especially at the Singapore immigration checkpoint.

• peepster on Jul 07, 2011 at 4:16 pm

front lamp from kia forte? cannot make it! the designer should shoot to death.. i feel like puking after looking at it. free also i dont want to drive. RUBBISH!!

• tail lamp need to refurbish. depan dh ok. nk kata look much like kia forte tak jugak. even kia forte front and rear design cue exactly copy HONDA design!!

• anjez on Mar 23, 2012 at 8:22 pm

the front looks like mahathirs face.so >? how can look like honda?
        are you blind?

• feisal on Jul 07, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Add a bit more gentle but clean curves. Now it's too clean.

• Acer Aspire on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:24 pm

I jadi basher coz my proton waja give me banyak problem. What more to say?

• nighttrain on Jul 07, 2011 at 10:15 pm

I was hoping more along the lines of the Lexus IS-F… y'know, sexy shoulder lines..

• fatimah juling on Jul 07, 2011 at 10:32 pm

Nice, simple design & sleek but i hope they will change the rims ..looks like truly outdated!

• Proton Basher on Jul 07, 2011 at 11:42 pm

Test

• Rocky on Jul 08, 2011 at 12:37 am

Volvo S40

• syamness on Jul 08, 2011 at 2:28 am

Here's what i think…

Exterior: as far as i am concerned, its good enough. Its not going to be a negative point for the car (if you carry the same exact design into production)..I mean come on peeps, who has ever said 'wow' to a Subaru Impreza based on its looks..yet it is still considered to be a good car, globally, and this looks WAAAY better than an impreza. Which brings me to the point which i think proton should be focusing more on from this point onwards…PERFORMANCE!

Performance: please please drop in a decent sized engine. Looking at it i think it should deserve AT LEAST a 1.8l…add to that one with a power/weight ratio that AT LEAST matches the other marques.

Technology: Proton should really start putting in some real high-end tech into their cars…Im talking bout all those intelligent systems, dual-clutch, hud, and all those creature comfort features. OK, you can sell a trim without all of that but at least give the option for ones with it.

Interior: PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE fix the creaking sounds and road/engine noise proofing. I have a 9 month old persona at it creaks like crazy, until i reach at least 100kmh (i think maybe the road noise cancels out the creaking by then..haha) Im thinking maybe some of the creaking sounds may have been because the frame of the car my have been slightly deformed by all the potholes in my area, hence all the plastics rub and vibrate against each other, so i guess you just have build a stronger frame (this is just my guess)..

CONTROL: I havent had the opportunity to drive many cars, but ive driven some of the the higher end toyotas, mercs, mpvs and myvis… honestly, control is not an issue based on my experience. goes where it is steered to.. not like some cars where you feel like steering a boat..

summary… as far as looks goes, this is good enough. im not saying its super pretty, but good enough. just raise the notch up level on its performance and interior…. keep it up… i like supporting underdogs like Proton…

• Hazwan Arif on Jul 08, 2011 at 2:43 am

wow!!!amazing!

• mattt on Jul 08, 2011 at 8:41 am

a lot of comments here,by the way,this is not persona r, this is design by proton design as prototype. The real deal is persona r penned down by italdesign which actually different from tuah. All i can say is real persona r is different and its more on european design than asian one. Its like between hyundai n kia, new prtn design language on kia side,european. While hyundai fluiditic design is marvelous, its more towards asian or japanese design which is futuristic, but if u look at european design like ford, kia, vw or even bmw, the design is simple but yet bolder n more pronounce with sleek lines n curves. Interior also pretty descent i say, simple,clean,uncluttered n ergonomic. So, i think persona r will be a huge success for proton.

• Simon Sez on Jul 08, 2011 at 1:55 pm

Persona r is designed by Italdesign? that sounds great! but what does the in house proton design department actually do?

• mattt on Jul 08, 2011 at 8:44 am

on tech wise, it will 5,6 n 7 speeder, na n turbo, dimension wise, forte or civic size.

• Inderaloka on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:27 am

Such a boring design. Proton, why can't you come out with more distinctive car design?

• Inderaloka on Jul 08, 2011 at 9:35 am

I wonder did Proton designer do design studies. This design is OUTDATED and BOOORINGGGG! We are moving forward (2012, 2015, 2020…) not backward (2010, 2009, 2008)!!

• What does 'Espire' mean? Is it a misspell of 'Aspire'? There is no such word as 'Espire'.

• kamaji on Jul 08, 2011 at 12:21 pm

Wow…nama pun kena bash kow..kow.Maybe P1 should name this new replacement as Proton Dugong or Proton Siti..then I guess every bashers out there will praise.Btw, I feel it's not a poor effort at all but I do dislike the front outdated headlamp.

• notorp on Jul 08, 2011 at 2:01 pm

Just use back the name Wira or Waja. Like Toyota/Honda uses Corolla or Civic for 30 years.

• MOHA774 on Jul 08, 2011 at 2:34 pm

…compared to one displayed at KLIM, this one sports wheel with 4 holes instead of 5 at KLIM…might be the real deal here..

• FENDY on Jul 08, 2011 at 3:41 pm

FOR ME ITS OK LA.. THE REAR LOOK LIKE SUBARU LEGACY..

• Hanafi Sudi on Jul 08, 2011 at 4:07 pm

tak lawa… outdated

• makeitmine on Jul 08, 2011 at 7:44 pm

Proton Espire Rendering is great but fall short of showing what Proton is capable of doing and that you have a world-class team!

Proton, you need to do a little bit more to convince the bashers how your priced cars are developed and tested using the digital prototype (DPT) and what extensive investigations helped to achieve specific objectives such as the bodyshell design, weight distribution, engine position, center of gravity or axle design.

Pls also use the very latest simulation programs to allow engineers to test and show handling dynamics, aerodynamics, ergonomics, crash behavior and production process.

When the digital prototype is completed, you can show your virtual automobile to the public.

The final quality check and endurance trials which you will to show the results of
    the test cars put through a precisely defined test program on country roads, highways and in city traffic: all the components and systems are tested together in everyday operation; the entire vehicle and components loaded to their permitted gross vehicle weight are tested focusing on the powertrain, chassis and suspension;extreme acceleration and braking maneuvers with a frequent full-load operation, which place extreme demands on the cooling, fuel-delivery and braking systems; corrosion testing of the entire vehicle simulates the toughest dynamic and climatic environmental influences.

Whether you win on looks or not is a small matter as looks can be changed.

• Unforgiven on Jul 11, 2011 at 3:11 pm

Aiyoh, Proton cannot even maintain a good quality badge (Gen2 faded badge).
    Do you think they need life time warranty for the stupid badge?

Proton is the most hated car in M’sia. Who wanna own a Proton?
    Do you want to buy a Myvi or VW Polo if the price is the same?
    Do you want to buy a Saga or City if the price is the same?

We will only like Proton when there’s fair fight, 1 on 1 and without protectionism and AP system. Please do so…

• North_Boyz on Jul 12, 2011 at 4:10 pm

develop your own manufacturing and your own car….

• Razak on Jan 27, 2012 at 11:03 pm

You people just like to comment whatever made in malaysian. Are you really a Malaysian????

• One word to describe this car’s design;

“Espire” = Expire

• majavaz on Jul 15, 2011 at 11:09 am

redesign rear light

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6125/5939018684_4e6a985968_z.jpg
    http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6010/5939018844_f322a4ae69_z.jpg

• nice…lebih cun dari vios dugong…wuahaha…

hmmm..nampak mcm ramai yg tak suka P1 kat sini…
    design la, lampu la..tp apasal masih duduk sini…hahah…

• anonymous on Aug 21, 2011 at 6:07 am

Theres word on the street that, p-R will be the first proton car that will be equipped with ipod connectivity with in dash monitor.

• Agagagagaga on Sep 04, 2011 at 10:38 pm

*sighs* everyone is a critics .. It’s not easy to design a car interior … It take a professional designer for the profession because every design are not blindly made .. Give more support for our local brand car guys … let it be known the whole world

• mnurizam on Feb 12, 2012 at 4:28 pm

I have 3 cars, Honda Civic, Nissan Teana and Saga FL.
    I still love to drive my Saga FL.
    Actually, for me FL already a good car for the start.
    Anyway Proton now IMPROVE a lots.
    Keep it up

• maggimee on Mar 20, 2012 at 5:30 pm

what’s with the ‘R’ ? VW much?

• It was more than a decade design…..especially the rear lamp……. mazda rx7?