Peugeot ‘208’ to debut next year with new family look

It has been five years since the Peugeot 207 found early adopter homes in Europe, and it’s time for the next generation. Word is that a Peugeot “208” will make its motor show debut at next year’s Geneva show, and it will be a fresh start for the brand, design wise. That means the end of the current wide mouthed look, which is already not present on the Peugeot 508.

This is according to PSA Peugeot-Citroen’s director of design Jean-Pierre Ploue. “The new Peugeot 208 will be a break from the past, it must be homogenous. Each model must feed the brand and be part of the family,” the ex Citroen design boss said, pointing out that this family look method is also used by Peugeot’s Euro rivals Volkswagen and Opel/Vauxhall.

“The 208 must be able to be sold worldwide in Asia, South America, or wherever, as well as in Europe. It must be easily recognised as being distinctly Peugeot everywhere in the world,” he added.

What should we expect? “You see a little bit of what (the new style) will be in the SR1 concept car. The SR1 represents what we want to do, with an athletic, pure, elegant, and precise design with much allure,” Ploue said.

The SR1 and HR1 Concept from Paris previews Peugeot’s new direction. Do you like what you see, or do you prefer the current signature Pug look?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• No more big grill…..smaller grill but more of Audi look…..

• Peugeot designers are playing it safe again …..they should explore new modern look…..ini sama jer macam VW group….Toyota and Ford.

Cammon u french designers give us a flair of that french art thingy ….

• endre on Jul 07, 2011 at 12:50 pm

wow!.. very nice.

• boh make sense on Jul 07, 2011 at 12:52 pm

Somehow I like the look of the current 308 type of styling…which is also on the RCZ. I think the 308 is one of the nicer looking production model Peugeots around inside out.

• bReaL on Jul 07, 2011 at 1:29 pm

that latter photo looks very aston martinish

• campromania on Jul 07, 2011 at 2:32 pm

keta proton more cool design than this…

• vansgoh on Jul 07, 2011 at 2:52 pm

cool… love the design…

• Ash Menon on Jul 07, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Erm…no. I mean, the new look is nice, but the older one was so much more iconic. Jean-Pierre needs to recognize that the previous Peugeot front was already "easily recognised as being distinctly Peugeot everywhere in the world". Granted, not everyone loved the look, but everyone knew it was a Pug.

• tikus on Jul 07, 2011 at 6:42 pm

Still 308 Big Mouth look more nicer then this small mouth.

• LionelStep on Jul 07, 2011 at 8:48 pm

Please, don't make it 2-door….current Peugeot 207 is good with 4 doors, easily accessible.

• mr. boring on Jul 08, 2011 at 10:34 am

That means boring german and japanese look?

• vince on Jul 08, 2011 at 12:04 pm

aston martin dbs :D

• bobdbilder on Jul 08, 2011 at 4:44 pm

“The 208 must be able to be sold worldwide in Asia, South America, or wherever…"
    That means its going to be a 4 dooer sedan with automatic tranny, soft suspension, awful steering, plastic all over, cupholders, 2 DIN SatNav. Reliable. Pugs being practically boring like T+H…. But you'd better put your hope for a new C segment sedan aside coz its only like this year they've churned out the 207ish Sedan. Its gonna take at least 5 years when the sales curve slides (if it hasn't yet) and we'll get it. By the time we get it, the emission controls would be strangling us.

Well there's always Renault Clios and Megane to save us minority purists from dying of boredom. God bless Renault.

• matjoe on Jul 11, 2011 at 10:55 am

nice stuff from peugeot

• The new 208 will not look like the concept cars, but more like a 508. Here I think Peugeot is following VW in concept, take a simple design and do very little change. This is to play safe. Toyota has been following it for long, VW is doing it and other Europeans will follow. I dont much agree with this philosophy. As one comment said, Renault is doing it differently. Citroen too is very adventurous. But these two cars are not sold in mass, in Malaysia at least.

• slick shifts on Oct 15, 2011 at 12:21 am

true. but i wonder if they will have a sedan version or not and whether there will be an asianised version designed with the hatch’s architecture.