Proton Exora with CVT and turbo slated for 2012 UK launch, diesel version planned for 2014

Back in June, we posted spyshots of a Proton Exora mule testing a new drivetrain combination – CFE Campro turbocharged engine with CVT gearbox – so we know that such a car is coming, but not when. Proton also tested the same combo with ESP in snow as well. Some clues have now emerged (hat tip to reader Jerry & Mega), and they’re from the UK!

The UK public probably first saw the Proton Exora when an electrified version entered the RAC Future Car Challenge held in London in late 2010, where it managed to travel for about 4 hours on just 2.2 litres of petrol thanks to the majority of the energy probably being provided by the on board batteries.

And then we got an email from reader Dan, sending in some photos of a Proton Exora CPS spotted at the local Proton dealer in Bacton Suffolk.

Earlier this month, Autocar UK had their first drive of the Exora MC, powered by the usual Campro CPS engine. The review wasn’t glowing, which is expected when you take into account their standard of motoring, but the writer still called the Exora “a simple, inoffensive and comfortable MPV, offering plenty of kit and space for seven”. They tested a Malaysian spec car.

The story revealed that the Exora will be Proton UK’s fifth model when it arrives in 2012, and that “the engine will be turbocharged and paired with a CVT ’box instead.” Assuming that this UK launch will happen in Q1 2012, we’re expecting a Malaysian launch before that, which makes the end of this year, or early 2012, a possible time.

The next line of the article read: “A diesel variant will follow in 2014”. Now, isn’t a diesel powered Exora an interesting proposition? No more labouring, just let the torque do the job. And the boost in fuel economy will make it a great people’s MPV. It can’t come soon enough!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Great job from PROTON.
    But how long I have to wait this technology to be fitted in the PROTON cars?

• luristvan on Jul 19, 2011 at 10:22 am

just till end of this year or maybe early next year> as stated in article. Not so long anymore.

• MengQ on Jul 19, 2011 at 12:14 pm

For ages.

• i really do support proton..but in 2014 when the prices of oil is much higher..
      im thinking electric car..hurm..

• YAY!

• Just asking isn’t by then in 2014, this model will be outdated then ? It is like what 6 years old model ? how long they intend to keep this model running ? This model was launched in 2008 in M’sia but only introduce to outisde M’sia martket to UK in 2012. That’s like 4 years later after launching. Is this strategy working or not when other brands launching simultaneously domestaic and overseas markets ? Where’s the planning and direction of this company ?

• Expatriate VN on Jul 19, 2011 at 10:47 am

This company, being jaguh kampong, have the record of selling one model up to 23 good years. Current oldest model on line is Perdana, launched since 1996 (already 15 year). All model sold by P1 is more than 6 year. There is strong ground to believe Exora is likely to take a sam path.

• clement on Jul 19, 2011 at 11:43 am

they still sell proton perdana. what do you think the direction of the company? lols

• azrai on Jul 19, 2011 at 4:30 pm

No they are not anymore.

• peYnoob on Jul 20, 2011 at 10:25 pm

According to http://www.proton-edar.com.my they still list Perdana on their front page.

Slow update? Hmm there are Saga FL 1.6 in the list as well.

• zacharygibson on Jul 19, 2011 at 12:19 pm

I agree with you. 2014 is a tad too long to wait. By then, the model would be obsolete in UK. Proton should atleast introduce a major facelift of the Exora by then. Not just a grille and bumper change

• no at all since UK get ezora 2012 so 5yr cycle for UK market is 2016…n obsolete for Malaysian market….that what japan/korea car maker usually do..we receive latest model 2-3 yrs later the fastest a year later

• Scooby on Jul 19, 2011 at 12:39 pm

Hopefully, even before 2014, Proton will have closed shop and we do not have to pay exorbitant taxes to subsidise this hopeless car company.

• proton just beat up perodua to be number 1 what i get from yesterday news

• Yep, Proton beat Perodua while most ppl are holding out for the new Myvi..

Wait for 2nd half year report la~

• MoFaz on Jul 19, 2011 at 11:17 pm

no, people are actually waiting for Persona R… soon :)

• rookie on Jul 19, 2011 at 5:51 pm

n why does it always have to be proton against perodua again..?
          both sucks anyways :P
          n yes, 2014 is way too long..
          i’m afraid that time, other carmakers already busy with other kind of techs..
          EV perhaps?
          n yes, where will proton stand out in 2014 then huh?

even cvt is considered OLD..
          so damn slow la the progress…

• jl@ipl on Jul 22, 2011 at 6:21 pm

“even cvt is considered OLD..”

It is very old indeed. It was first used for motorcycle in 1910, for car in 1920!

The CVT gearbox has many type and applications.

Refer : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CVT_gearbox . Even tank using the CVTgear box!

• They need the diesel to have a fighting chance in the UK or Euro mkt….over there, ppl are spoiled already wt the high torque & excellent FC of a diesel….the current petrol 1.6 cps churning only 150nm at above 4,000rpm won’t have a chance against their excellent diesels which regularly pump out more than 300nm at below 2,000rpm (all have those diesel hv good above 15km/l fuel econ)

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2011 at 9:31 am

yes, even honda civic has a 2.2 turbodiesel. and it is popular there too!!

we all need to change too!!

• taboogen on Jul 19, 2011 at 2:24 pm

what i heard lah they will be exora R and saga r.. all will be replaced by 2014… they said they have to follow other manufacture.. 5 years life cycle

• hoooooyeah on Jul 19, 2011 at 7:51 pm

5 years life cycle mean take Gen2 add another big boot = New Persona?

or

4G18 Waja change to Campro engine = New Model?

• taboogen on Jul 20, 2011 at 7:56 am

all are new model and new model…
          btw if proton put new enjin on a car.. what they should call it then… i wonder if u work in advertisment agency you will be the first person they sake.. kasihan

• What’s all this R for ? Copy from Honda or what ? Build a proper sedan if you want, no need anything fancy. The engine and GB are R spec or not to start off with ?

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2011 at 9:29 am

malaysia is the test-bed for proton.

we are actually the guinea pigs!!

• wait after wait.
    huh,, so tiring.

• Littlefire on Jul 19, 2011 at 10:30 am

Should have invest the money in turbo diesel technology first, as diesel is a proven technology which have better fuel consuption and less maintenence cost compare to hybrid & petrol engine…

• rookie on Jul 19, 2011 at 5:55 pm

second that!
      proton so slow meh..
      afraid in 2014, others already busy making EV..
      n proton only just starting using just normal diesel engine ah? hayo…

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2011 at 9:34 am

yes, they already have the campro 1.6 engine. wouldnt it be easier if they convert the EFI system for common rail diesel instead?

then turbocharged it….

sighh…. proton really need to have far sighted engineers and product planners!

• rosdi on Jul 19, 2011 at 10:30 am

Diesel? woohooo!.. but why 2014?!.. that is way too long!… does that mean we are getting EURO 5 Diesel??

• wolfsburg on Jul 19, 2011 at 10:34 am

A turbo petrol coupled with CVT on a MPV will be so wrong in UK as it will ended up having high CO2 and low mpg… UK needs 6 speedo manual and it is quite clear that many drivers don’t like a CVT gearbox because they are noisy while accelerating… Exora is oversized to be a compact MPV and it is too small inside to be a S-Max/Zafira rival… Poor interior quality will be another major problem if they didn’t upgrade the materials…

• Autocar UK should appoint u as their writer..since the guy who make the article about ezora so wrong

• rookie on Jul 19, 2011 at 6:03 pm

couldnt agree more with the interior quality part..
      seen it, touched it..seriously..phailed…
      sighs..
      not just about d quality..its ugly too!

older wira also have much better interior..to me…

sorry proton supporters, i say this cuz i’ve once set my eyes on exora..
      n it just a failed attempt to me..

n again, 2014..?? taktau ape nak ckp lg dah…

• clutch basah on Jul 19, 2011 at 10:40 am

Looking forward for this. The Exora isn’t bad actually, it’s comfortable and practical. Sure the power isn’t there but it would be unnecessary if your are traveling with your family.
    Extra torque and improved fuel consumption is always welcome though.

• alldisc on Jul 20, 2011 at 9:39 am

when one travel with the family, the exora will be like 1.7 tonne heavy. the 1.6 CPS engine will be out of breath. it is not the power to out accelerate other cars but rather, to pick up speed easily and to cruise around effortlessly.

this is something a 2.0 MPV is unbeatable compare to 1.6, unless it is a turbodiesel.

• alxxx on Jul 19, 2011 at 10:41 am

turbocharged and paired with a CVT ? you got to be kidding me….
    good luck…you need it

• Expatriate VN on Jul 19, 2011 at 10:41 am

Great job! Bullshits, in Bolehland the sales already beat by P2’s Alza. This Exora is underpower, need to get 1.8L or 2.0L to fit in. But lately, P1 use same Campro engine in almost all models, with exception for Perdana and rebadge Inspira.

• altecs on Jul 19, 2011 at 11:06 am

underpowered? Agreeable. Anyone who drives the campro knows the engine is slightly lacking in the low revs but makes up for it in the mid-high range. Thus those driving auto tranny campros couldn’t harness the more decent side of the engine.

Hopefully the turbo could solve this problem. Combine this with a decent price tag and I believe it could decently sell. People are suckers for huge cars with small pricetags. :)

• dodohbirdz on Jul 19, 2011 at 3:30 pm

i think what proton should do is pair the CPS engine to the hybrid from lotus tech . so hybrid (electric or what so ever) will provide the low end and the CPS will provide the high end torque. what do you think? this also will help raise MPG figures as ppl will only use the engine for charging the battery and for more power. YOUR MOVE PROTON?

• MoFaz on Jul 19, 2011 at 11:31 pm

the thing is, rarely… very very unusual for normal driver to drive at above 4000rpm. at 3500rpm, my car already hit more than 150km/h. so, there’s no point putting CPS with the kind of hybrid setup you mentioned. it will only increase the weight of the car.
          but by turbocharging (soft turbo) and using lighter CVT box, they could solve the problem about low torque for city driving and fuel efficiency.

• ultrajo on Jul 19, 2011 at 12:51 pm

Ya lor…beat by P2 which use same engine also in ‘Lagi Best’ est. since 2005 till now until god knows when

• hoooooyeah on Jul 19, 2011 at 7:59 pm

People don’t care what engine it fitted, they more care for the look, interior and something fresh & new.

Infact, the perception are Japanese engineered engine is better than local IPTA student designed Campro engine.

• MoFaz on Jul 19, 2011 at 11:35 pm

then we all should be proud with our local IPTA grads… Research in UK shows Proton is the 5th mechanically reliable manufacturers.

• hoooooyeah on Jul 19, 2011 at 11:53 pm

Just based on the 767 unit car sold in UK on 2010? Yes if only 80 car have problem, very reliable.

• azrai on Jul 20, 2011 at 7:34 am

Expatriate from Sudan maybe..

• BeemerFreak on Jul 19, 2011 at 10:45 am

I thought they were supposed to launch the CFE turbo this year? Now they say next year, by next year they will say 2013. Come on, why are they so slow? Malaysia Boleh, kena cepat boleh juga…………..

• Expatriate VN on Jul 19, 2011 at 10:51 am

Lately, Proton also follow in Gov footstep in churning out not new model, but a lot of alphabets jigsaw puzzle like CVT, CFE Turbo, etc. Sadly to say, at the end still outdated Campro base engine.

• Annuar on Jul 19, 2011 at 10:48 am

Hi Danny,

Would you have the link to the Autocar review on Exora MC? Curious to see how they perceive our cars.

• jamal on Jul 19, 2011 at 11:00 am

too late. 2014. car already can fly.

• Unforgiven on Jul 19, 2011 at 11:03 am

This morning saw a light blue Gen2 with a faded Proton badge…
    I think Proton should provide life time warranty on the Proton badge to maintain the quality image…
    It’s really memalukan…

• rudolph on Jul 19, 2011 at 12:55 pm

ohh…

.. and i saw mercedeses and bimmers with “cataracts” headlamps. that’s what will happen when you left you car under hot sun all year long.

• It’s amazing…

… that so many can’t wait to be proton’s guinea pig.

• khaix19a on Jul 19, 2011 at 11:33 am

diesel in 2014….that a long time to wait and during that time many car developer already developed diesel engine in the market

• MoFaz on Jul 19, 2011 at 11:45 pm

current market is too small for proton to develop their diesel engine. that’s why they’re aiming for China and India, which are now the biggest car market in the world. 13mil cars sold in China last year! Proton’s initial plan is to penetrate these market with Saga, Emas and Persona R by 2013-14. but in order to do that, Proton need to provide more variants for their cars, hence the diesel engine development.

• salleh nawawi on Jul 19, 2011 at 11:46 am

Looks like Proton is based in UK with tests and
    launches geared for that market. Even MD DSZ and
    CM Nadzmi has made UK their second home.
    (watch out for balooning expenses.)
    The review wz just being kind to Proton.
    The Exora would fail miserably if it wz launched in UK
    as the Campro tech is decades behind.
    Proton should be more focussed and not speculate
    on the launcing of its newer models cos with news like
    this, its Exora sales will never improve – people
    would be either holding back their purchase or may opt
    for a different makes since the news is unconfirmed.
    Even current owners are frustrated cos the value of their
    Exora will drop once the newer engine specs are introduced.
    Poor marketing & PR strategy Proton cos Msians are always
    kept in the dark as to the progress of this co.!!
    Even 5304 share prices is hovering near its lows !!

• rookie on Jul 19, 2011 at 6:17 pm

well said..

we do not hate proton..
      just that proton IS TOO SLOW..

imho, they better copycat than develop all by themselves..
      current proton lineups can only be proud of by their lotus handling..
      nothing else..
      engine? old tech..but ‘petrolheads’ love it cuz all the high revs..but in real life, practicality comes 1st..where can u high rev in a cramp city drive anyway?
      quality? sucks (but i admit they are improving..SLOWLY..)
      design? exterior not bad, but interior? OMG…

again, i’m ranting..sorry to those who disagree…

• hoooooyeah on Jul 19, 2011 at 7:47 pm

less than 800 unit sold in 2010, a very ‘big’ export market for Proton.

• why go uk market? the most competitive car market in the world, they have jap, us,and europe cars converging there.

Can exora compete with Nissan Grand Livina in malaysia??

if cannot, then how to fight with Peugeot 5008 with 1.6 turbo and full panaromic roof IN UK ??????????

• MoFaz on Jul 20, 2011 at 12:14 am

u haven’t try but already declare losing?.. no wonder Malaysia can’t move forward. because people like you always thinking about the problems instead of solutions.
        now, back to the topic… proton is not trying to beat Pug, Merc, or BMW in term of gadget and finishing. proton’s selling point is always the PRICE. Exora 1.6 CVT + turbo will be sold at £14.5k, while the very basic 5008 is £18k (no sunroof, no climate control, no turbo)..
        and for your question about Exora vs Livina in Malaysia:
        Jan-May 2011: proton exora = 9098 unit, Livina = 5646

• DarkAvenger on Jul 21, 2011 at 1:00 pm

Which hole you come from??? The Grand Livina has been losing to Exora since forever….LOL

• I agree. What is taking Proton so long to introduce the turbocharged Exora (or the diesel version)? Don’t they realize that they have the opportunity here to be no.1, as no other MPV in the same price bracket will have such a spec. Here you need to look at the Peugeout 5008 or Citroen but with double the price tag. Buck up Proton and beat the others to the punch line for once!!

• the reason for late is to revise their price in order to suck rakyat money at max. Haha

Their are cheering for stupid malaysian which buying proton….

• rookie on Jul 19, 2011 at 6:22 pm

malaysians are not stupid to buy proton..
        we are just forced to buy it at higher price than it actually worth..
        which is why i said proton is SLOW..
        here, exora mc1 easily cost rm70k but with rm30k quality/techs..

wait, ur right..we are dumbfolded..by proton..

• yup… you have the point…. we were force to buy….. and one of stupid buyers is me whom bought the persona bundles with lot of troubles. My first and last proton!
          I bought proton with passion “Support Our Malaysia” and i got their shit.

I should considering VIOS that time…. maybe have technical problems too but at least less less less problems than proton.

But hey, it is Toyota.

• GEMINI on Jul 21, 2011 at 12:25 pm

i still dont get waht u guys complain about problems with the persona? i’ve had mine since end 2008, and till this day there’s been no trace of any problems with thw windows, IAFM module etc… what gives man?

• mattt on Jul 19, 2011 at 12:09 pm

wait for first global model that is persona r that will launch domestically n export market. Be patient bro, for exora, they are in euro 5 regulation, to launch exora there,they need engine that comply euro 5 like cfe n iafm plus. If they launch outside first,people will complaint, when they launch domestic market first, people will complaint, when they rushing launching,people will say the first batch will be test dummy,if they do long testing,people say it will be outdated. Do u think build a car take one day? So,just wait n see,whether they will arise or fall next year, i think u will be shock on how much proton has grown.

• rookie on Jul 19, 2011 at 6:29 pm

i’m waiting forever for a really great car from proton..
      i hope wat u say is true..
      cuz each time, its the same old issues..

making cars does takes time..
      but proton is so awfully slow at it..

at the time, proton looks more like a car tuning company (with all the race they participated in) than a car manufacturer to me…
      if thats what u mean by their ‘growth’ la..

grow faster as a true car manufacturer la proton! hurry hurry~
      ppl tired of being forced to backing u up already for so many years now..adoi…

• when persona r..but when it will be launch..plan to buy a new car..

• ex surbo on Jul 19, 2011 at 12:16 pm

proton slow…potential buyer keep waiting and waiting for the exora turbo…Q3 2011 exora turbo launching no more….

• drMpower on Jul 19, 2011 at 12:50 pm

i am a very impatient man
    the way i see it we must follow closely to the mercs and bimmers of the world
    meaning every 7 years new vehicle out
    after 4 years launching a new facelift
    after 2 years launching must have new minor facelift
    and going by the engine development thing
    a new vehicle very likely gonna get new engine or atleast refresh engine
    and the same story goes for the tranny

but to be brutally honest, i cant see it that way
    simply because proton isnt having the revenues of the mercs and bimmers
    and as result its financial might is not enough for them to churn out what i dreamt of
    and of course incapable of hiring a european stylish guru ala kia-peter shreyer

2014 is too long i figure out, it will be the 6th year of exora’s existence
    maybe the last hurrah but come on pak syed
    we need diesel here as well

• taboogen on Jul 19, 2011 at 2:37 pm

aiyo when proton update the saga to cvt also complain why proton change too fast.. change slow also said proton now slow… so let them do what they do best… if u cant wait go lah buy bmw….

• jl@ipl on Jul 22, 2011 at 6:37 pm

Aiyo, compare P1 with mersc and bimmers……………

German technologies with Malaysian price…………………..

• Oh yeah, Diesel coming from Proton.
    Better yet, offer on all model please.

Diesel with range extender is the FUTURE.

• Totally agreed…the exora need a diesel, a 1.6Hdi like torque/power wt good FC

• It’s normal that proton is slow and late …

… remember that exora was launched after thousands of korean MPVs hit bolehland?

• why do proton let ppl to renew their car 3 years ahead of launch? and the car given for review is less spec that car that said to be launch 3 years from now? ..what is the motive?.. i dont see it as brilliant marketing campaign..

unless..

they want to show off to PM (since he was in UK), that they are ‘do’ their work and proton picture is the front page or UK car mag… possible?

• i think proton should skips unnecessary step by step, one step after another, in fact they have to double step or jump to present/latest tech at least. then proton can be a world player.

• Gavin on Jul 19, 2011 at 1:51 pm

This is very good news indeed not because proton is doing it but because the effect it will have on the motoring market in malaysia.

Diesel is a fantastic option even more so for them in the UK where 90% of cars sold are diesel.

• hoooooyeah on Jul 21, 2011 at 12:12 am

wow, i never know almost all car in UK are diesel eventhough i am there.

• Proton Turbo. Owh. I do not trust Proton anymore after what their have done with my persona.

Booooo……………….ssssyyytttt

• Just me on Jul 19, 2011 at 2:57 pm

Proton really has big dream. Good luck for trying to sell in foreign country that do not have “special treatment” for Proton car. Whatever engine they try to fit in, no way it come close to other engine from more establish name. Furthermore, if just about few hundread or thousand different who want to buy proton. May be for those parent who tell their son “You think I’m going to buy you a Porche for your first car” eventually buy proton instead … Sound familiar?? from transformer movie ….

• mizzuddin on Jul 19, 2011 at 3:56 pm

i think most malaysian think diesel vehicles are dirty, only suited with buses and lorries… only few are aware about todays diesel powered cars

• khairul hilmi on Jul 19, 2011 at 4:07 pm

by that time, vauxhaa/opel zafira coming out and eat out the our exora as per link below.

http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/news/spyshots/253537/vauxhall_zafira.html

• taboogen on Jul 19, 2011 at 4:24 pm

what I know it will be interesting year 2013 and 2014… can’t wait…. :p

• hoooooyeah on Jul 19, 2011 at 7:44 pm

UK UK UK… still haven’t finish their UK dream? While 2010 only manage to sold less than 800 unit Proton.

Infact there are more Wira/Putra/Satria than Gen2 Waja Savvy in UK. Eventhough it already not in production for years ago.

So guess Proton would slot their ‘new engine’ into the old Exora body? If it is then it just wrong, very wrong. It just won’t help to improve their sales number at all.

• RedBeanBun on Jul 19, 2011 at 10:16 pm

Gota support this..thumbs up.

• I hope my waja CPS will be my last proton….proton, you need refinement, you are building cars, not lorry ok ?? Everything is rough and crude….

• tongek on Jul 19, 2011 at 11:21 pm

diesel for exora? wow…this is really a plan to enter india market to compete innova , at india they using innova most for tourist car ….definately….

• sleevesshop on Jul 19, 2011 at 11:46 pm

i can see that P1 is improving n moving forward.. but they hv to do it faster.. faster la Proton! u hv to work 24 hours a day! i want turbo cvt exora!!

• NO MORE PROTON on Jul 20, 2011 at 4:03 am

proton cant bring out a diesel… first proton sad in 2004 that thay will sell diesel engined cars in 2006!!!

But..!! Nothing happened.!!!

I dont trust proton on diesel news… No, Never.. Bullshit….

• Expatriate VN on Jul 20, 2011 at 11:17 am

To recap their countless bullshit, in 1990s, when they build Tg Malim plant, they said want to produce 1 million car per year! Until now hardly achieve even 20% of the plan!

• lawrence on Jul 20, 2011 at 5:18 am

That B2646A tailgate my E46 325i on 1/7/2011 when i just exited Kluang/Ayer Hitam toll plaza heading towards KL @ 110kmph.

I let it overtake me then the B2646A just sped off like it’s heaving bigger engine than my M54B25 so i pick up speed and only manage to follow closely behind it when my speedo shows 180kmph and it’s cruising at that speed.

When there’s traffic, we (the B2646A and my 325i) slows down but when the traffic is clear, the B2646A speeds off again easily.

After that I slowed down to 110kmph (that B2646A speeds off) coz my colleague who left Kluang earlier called me and informed me that there’s speed trap road block at the Pagoh R&R.

• cikuludes on Jul 20, 2011 at 6:34 pm

for real bro??? wow.. i was like…astonished…

• jl@ipl on Jul 22, 2011 at 6:50 pm

Bro,

I do believe, many people read your post, but the choose to ignore……….

• selamat on Jul 20, 2011 at 2:53 pm

proton just want to ensure the output of their product in 2014 is high in quality and satisfying all proton basher club complaints..if exora cvt is out in 2011/2012 and got problem here n there those basher will bising jugak..aiyoooo gila

• DarkAvenger on Jul 21, 2011 at 2:07 pm

i second that…..mating a Turbo to Campro and CVT and i heard the IAFM+ is a new version also….better do thorough testings with so many unknown variables mating together for first time. Later all the Proton bashers will accuse Proton of using them as guinea pigs…

• boyLosong on Aug 01, 2011 at 6:53 am

Saw more than 3 exoras at skve-ldp exit on saturday noon with bonnet air scoop if not mistaken la. got no chance to snap pics.