Goodyear recently launched two new tyres in the Ultra High Performance (UHP) segment in Malaysia, where the Eagle F1 Assymmetric 2 and Eagle F1 Directional 5 were shown to Goodyear dealers, car clubs (among them BMW Club Malaysia, VW & Audi Club Malaysia and Italia Auto) and car enthusiasts at Proton’s test track in Shah Alam.
We were at the regional launch of the duo in Hua Hin, Thailand in late July, and will bring you the full details as well as impressions soon. For now, here’s what the tyres are all about, in a nutshell.
The Eagle F1 Assymmetric 2 is as its name suggests, a sequel to the Eagle F1 Assymmetric that was launched three years ago. The EF1 Assymmetric is still one of the best UHP tyres money can buy, if not the best, but the Assymmetric 2 further improves on it.
The improvements are in areas such as wet braking, wet handling, dry braking and mileage, but the most significant difference is in rolling resistance.
As with the Assymmetric in 2008, Goodyear is confident that the Assymmetric 2 is the best performing UHP tyre in the market now.
The other product is the Eagle F1 Directional 5. A direct successor to the famous Eagle F1 GSD-3 (they skipped number 4 for obvious reasons), this “mid UHP” tyre is positioned slightly lower than the Assymmetric 2, specifically at aftermarket tuned cars as well as those looking to upsize.
While not as dramatic looking as the GSD-3, the Directional 5 comes with an aggressive and sporty looking tread pattern that will appeal to many. Needless to say, the Directional 5 beats the GSD-3 in every aspect. In line with its positioning, Directional 5 sizes start at 15-inch.
The Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 is available in 17”–20” and is priced from RM535 to RM1,710 while the Eagle F1 Directional 5 is available from RM290 to RM705. Full details coming your way soon!
Am using the Eagle F1 at the moment and its one of the best tyres I’ve used for the money. Cant wait to try the new one.
Hopefully they have eradicated the sidewall cracking issue found in some of the F1 Asymmetric tires v1…
I am currently also using the v1 tires but thankfully there are no cracks on mine (using for almost 2 years now as my mileage is quite low) and they handle very well on my C200K :)
Eagle F1 assymetric always wins tyre shootouts in foreign magazines…
The girls is nice! :-)
yes true…its one of the best….dry and wet…only thing is on highspeeds , the steering becomes abit light….bt cornering is great…very grippy….but the best definatly Toyo and yokohama prada…
The Parada is no where near the F1s or any of the class leading UHP tyres. I ate through 2 sets in 1 year. It looses on all categories except for looks and price. They are horrible in the wet and only so so in the dry, and handling is poor given the very soft sidewalls for a UHP class tyre.
In the past 5 years I’ve gone through F1 GSD1, RE001, 2 sets of Paradas, Kumho KU31, 2 sets of Silvertone FTZ Sports, and the FTZ Evol8, Michelin PP2 and now on fresh PS3 (just replaced them last month).
From my own personal experience, for UHPs, I would rank the F1, PP2/PS3, RE001 as the best tyres in the UHP class, in terms of overall performance (dry, wet, braking, handling, noise). Can’t comment on durability. My tyres only last several months before they are on its wear bars due to monthly track excursions.
the girls can perform better than ur tayar lah mr goodyear…
so…u better sell the girls…
I just changed to Assymetric 2 from Potenza R001. Very impress with the performance.
Finally a good performance tire made available for size below 17″.. too long Goodyear has been neglecting owners with 15-16″ tires who seek a good performance rubbers!
the model on the left manyak cantik lah :D
Bro, Eagle F1 GSD3 a.k.a King of Wet (good performance tyre) got size for 16″/15″ donut especially typical Malaysian size of 205/45/16 or 195/55/15 or 195/50/15. Used them before for my ride and you’ll never regret except for its noisiness….
Wow, at least Goodyear has done a good job in choosing the girls to represent the tires, not some cheap looking Ah-lians.
Girls are smokin hot…
They’re Thai :)
real gals?
any more photo shots for the pretty gals??
;)
Is that all we have for the gals?
Been waiting for the Asym 2 tyres for ages……..
Hope price wont be too steep……..
Safwan, U manage to change already? what size and how much U paid for them?
Been waiting for the Asym 2 tyres for ages….. Hope the price is not so steep….
Safwan,U jus replaced to Aysm 2?What size and how much U paid?
I have been waiting for the Aysm 2 for ages! Jus hope the price not too steep.
Safwan, u change to Asymmetric 2 already? May I know what size and how much?
I have been waiting for Asymmetric 2 for quite some times now, hope the price is not too steep…..
Safwan, mind sharing what size U change and how much you paid for the Asymmetric 2
Hope ‘Kedai Papan’ or any other Jalan Kapar shop got stock for Eagle F1 D5 with price-tag less than recommended retail price :-)
Never use Goodyear tyre much but looking at the girls….wow can change alredi.
i want the girl !!!
I only use budget tyre Achilles atr sport. Price very ok, and got traction level AA, tread ware of 400.
i am looking for quieter tyre to replace my good year excellence..
it this a better option?
I got the new GOODYEAR F1 D5 in Penang 9 days ago on my ride and I can tell you that I am very satisfied with it’s performance!
I had Michelin ps3 about 11 months ago from Singapore and was happy with it. But this new F1 D5 has made my car corner much better than the Michelin ps3!
Quietness is about the same depending on the tarmacs. There is none of the bumpiness on this new tyres! In fact I feel as if my car is more enjoyable to drive especially around the bends now.
I was using potenza re001 for one year n just changed to Goodyear D5,,,
here are the pros n cons:
re001: pros;
lighter feeling,sharp cornering,quieter than D5
cons: very useless in the rain,no confidence to drive in rain.tyre thread only lasted one year with normal usage,fragile.basically I wasn’t happy with it
D5: pros;
sticky,confidence in taking bends n corners at highspeed as u get the feeling it stick to the road, good in rain(got confidence), absorbs this country third world quality roads n pot holes very well,feels more solid,nice to drive due to the heavy n sticky feeling,it hugs the road
cons: it’s kinda noisy compare to re001 eventhough claimed to be quiet, cornering at slow speed not as sharp as re001,expensive for a mid range uhp. basically noisy at high speed n cornering not sharp as re001
end conclusion,,,I’ve used my01,ze912,hankook v8,ze 512,prada,nct5,potenza re001,,,I’m happy with the D5 n satisfied eventhough it’s rm 400 per piece n only mid range UHP
~tyre is not just shoe to ur car,,,it’s dope to the racing hearted driver
Oh n one more thing,,,D5 is lovely n superb in the rain n dry,now I love to drive in rain
re001 is superb in dry road,,,it really shine in dry road