Facelifted Chevrolet Captiva is here – 2.4 petrol, RM155k

UPDATE: Full gallery from the launch event added

Naza Quest, distributor of Chevrolet vehicles in Malaysia, launched the facelifted Chevrolet Captiva at its Jalan Ampang showroom this afternoon. This introduction is the start of a busy period for the General Motors brand in Malaysia, which will see the Colorado pick-up truck launched here later this year. There are also a few new models coming our way in 2012.

Back to the main point. This facelifted Captiva was first seen late last year, making its world debut at the Paris Motor Show. It wears a bold new grille that totally dominates the front end; not too all tastes, but it sure does give the Captiva plenty of road presence.

It’s not just the grille, but the entire front end, including bonnet and headlights, is new. The wing mirror indicators are now LEDs, and the 18-inch alloys you see here are standard. The rear end is untouched, however.

The interior ambiance of the original Captiva wasn’t one of its strong points, feeling very old fashioned (green lighting, with Casio style green digits) and cluttered. It’s much improved now with metallic elements and a slightly revised layout. There are additional storage spaces and the redesigned dials and displays now come with Ice Blue illumination, a Chevy trend.

Facelifted Chevrolet Captiva is here – 2.4 petrol, RM155kThere’s also a new panel between the centre air con vents that quite high-end Nissan/Infiniti in style. It carries a digital clock and buttons for ESP, Hill Descent Control and Rear A/C.

Blank buttons are not in sight – the Captiva comes very well equipped. The steering wheel has controls for the stereo (with Bluetooth and ‘3D Sound Stage’), cruise control and air con – the latter is new and very useful.

There’s also an ECO mode button (helps economy) and an electronic parking brake, a class first. Another new feature is Hill Start Assist, which holds the car on gradients (of 3% onwards) for 1.5 seconds after the brake pedal has been released, preventing rollback.

That’s quite a lot of changes for a mid life update, but the Captiva comes with a new drivetrain as well. Still displacing 2.4 litres (it’s actually 2,384 cc now, from 2,405 cc), the new petrol engine with Double CVC makes 165 hp and 225 Nm of torque, 21% and 2% more than the old model, respectively. This DOHC 16v Ecotec unit is now paired to a 6-speed automatic with Tiptronic, one forward ratio more than before. We’re getting only the AWD model.

The results are positive. Fuel consumption for this 1,860 kg seven seater SUV is now 9.1 litres per 100 km, quite a bit better than the old 10.4 litres per 100 km. CO2 emissions is down by 14% as well.

What happened to the diesel variant, you ask? We asked too, and Naza Quest bosses said that that one is coming in the fourth quarter of this year, which is not too far away from now.

Safety kit includes dual front airbags, curtain airbags, ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, ESP and ISOFIX mounts for child seats. Imported from Thailand, the new Captiva is priced at RM155,185.20 on the road excluding insurance. Six colours are available, including a new Auburn Brown, which wasn’t on display at the launch.

Full gallery from the event is after the jump.

[zenphotopress number=999 album=2557]

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 9.1 liter per 100km
    almost RM20 per 100km

not bad…..

• the car is not bad..
      the main concern for the chevy should be the market having less and less service center..
      once improve it, sure the chevy can sell better than now.. =)

• Joe Amigo on Sep 09, 2011 at 1:20 am

I like the Chevrolet Captiva both accessories and in term of power..compare with other suv o its class. What concern me most is the maintenance and parts especially in Sarawak. Can anybody out there give a fair comment on this matter especially who had owned a unit of the car, please. I hv not been able to make a final choice whether to go for chevrolet captiva although I like it. Tq

• I took delivery of this car 12th Oct and I have been doing 12l/100km combined. Even with the ECO turned on and 200 km in a day mostly highway it can’t even do better. This 9.1l per 100 km is plain rubbish.

• alfred weinberg on Aug 23, 2011 at 2:31 pm

the previous version’s grille is much more better than the new one….

• arroncyl on Aug 24, 2011 at 4:48 pm

The pervious version grille look more high standard. this new one look very ‘ugly’…

• Jimmy on Aug 23, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Ramping especially the rear view. Make it bolder like Ninja King. Jangan bulat buntut.

• taboogen on Aug 23, 2011 at 2:37 pm

correct me if i’m wrong, the center dashboard panel very similar to Nissan 370Z…

• ericmaxman on Aug 23, 2011 at 2:40 pm

Damn, that grille. Please make it less prominent. Love the meter clusters though,

• Kevin on Aug 23, 2011 at 3:24 pm

this is a very fine example of ruined facelift..
    the rear looks like a larger version of cherry qq now because of the bulat buntut….

• jgn takut kia ! on Aug 23, 2011 at 3:27 pm

wow !! What an ugly front !! WHat kind of a facelift is this???

• yayapapaya on Aug 23, 2011 at 3:46 pm

the price is same with santa fe.
    i will rather choose a santa fe.

• Iylia H on Aug 23, 2011 at 3:48 pm

it’s like a chopped shop car. where they attach a boxy designed car front, with a rounder designed car at the rear.

They should make a new boxy-muscular car all around instead of combining two different styling into one.

Rojak only works if it’s in edible form. No way rojak works other than that.

• Milton on Aug 23, 2011 at 4:02 pm

Why USD keep dropping in value & yet the price neva drop?

• sukasuki on Aug 23, 2011 at 5:40 pm

maw untung lebeh maaa…. raya sudah dekat, suma org maw kereta baru masa raya….

• Nothing to impress , Chevrolet could hardly sell in Malaysia

• cardreamer on Aug 23, 2011 at 4:11 pm

front side profile looks like mitsu..

• Expatriate VN on Aug 23, 2011 at 4:28 pm

Off topic, Paul Tan, what I know Toyota Camry new model (USDM) is launch today. When can you make coverage?

• Roberts on Aug 23, 2011 at 4:32 pm

I think this vehicle could work in the U.S.? I would rename it as the new Blazer or Trail Blazer. The vehicle would fit between the Equinox and Traverse.

• Er.. Good luck?

• Butt side look fat to me. Not so jantan look as in the previous version

• carcrazy on Aug 23, 2011 at 5:10 pm

Hai Danny, whats the fuel consumption figures for the current generation Captiva diesel and also the projected consumption of the upcoming facelifted Captiva?considering getting one now but now i have to reconsider with the face lift

• Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 23, 2011 at 8:15 pm

Not sure bout the upcoming one. Claimed combined consumption for the old five-speed auto VCDi is 11.6 km/l.

• Lim Kopi on Aug 23, 2011 at 5:34 pm

Don’t they all look abit retarded with their thumbs up ? :)

• Black Dog on Aug 23, 2011 at 5:47 pm

The only thing nice is the meter cluster. The rest…eow!

• hell no on Aug 23, 2011 at 5:58 pm

Yo mama is so ugly… she looks like the all new facelift captiva

• Yo momma is so ugly she looks like the facelifted captiva~

• OMG…dun facelift even nicer…

• front look like mit asx

• look like mit asx

• Most will rather wait for the exvellent vcdi diesel version ….more power but less fuel consumption

• Friction on Aug 23, 2011 at 9:54 pm

Yo… u sure about that??? as far as i know Malaysia’s diesel is still not suitable for any modern diesel engine…

• What happened to the diesel variant, you ask? We asked too, and Naza Quest bosses said that that one is coming in the fourth quarter of this year, which is not too far away from now.
        ————————————————————————————————————–

Pls read as above….new vcdi coming 4th quarter

• Joe Amigo on Sep 09, 2011 at 1:32 am

Any scientific journal or finding to substantiate your statement that diesel from M,sia is not suitable for modern diesel engine, please. M asking this cos m interested in the diesel version of Captiva but hvn make decision yet and m a bit skeptical about maintenance and parts,,jz like all korean cars..expensive and lambat..TQ

• Except for the diesel comments, ALL WE MALAYSIANS DO IS COMPLAIN! This not good la, that not good la, design looks like my grand mothers toyota la…..BLA BLA BLA. You so tera, you sindiri bikin la!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Iylia H on Aug 23, 2011 at 10:47 pm

it’s our voice who determines the future of a company.. so yes, we are tera…. that’s why makes like toyota have so many division in so many parts of the world, to understand the particular taste of a particular region. That’s why their cars sells and was once the biggest automotive company in the world (before the accelerator pedal crisis, which has nothing to do with styling).

yes we’re so tera, they need to bikin cars suited for us. only then can sell.

• lalok_stylo on Aug 24, 2011 at 3:00 am

rilex bob….
      that’s the reality of the world…..
      there’ll be praise and critics…..
      usually car makers make improvement through pepoles’ critics……
      let take example proton….
      the very first generation saga blm came with campro 1.3, 4-speed auto, 1 air bag and no ABS, EBD and etc…..
      with people critics they improve, there comes campro iafm and then they facelifted the saga a bit with better interior and 2 air bags….
      still there are some complaints the car is underpower, so they made 1.6 saga….
      and now, the latest they made saga FLX with CVT, ABS EBD and 2 air bags…..
      maybe there wont be another persona….
      i think maybe proton will make saga FLX 1.6 CVT, who knows……
      soo, critics always can be useful…..

• i understand what bob trying to say….people keep on complaining bout rubbish…im thinking of buying this car…we need to know the condition of this car thats all..

• Maserati on Aug 23, 2011 at 8:59 pm

That is one hideous interior.Good luck selling this car!

• RedBeanBun on Aug 23, 2011 at 10:02 pm

Now, CRV got challenger..

• Rosmah on Aug 23, 2011 at 10:47 pm

Really hate looking at sore thumbs of Fat Cats & AP Kings.

• jerung on Aug 23, 2011 at 10:52 pm

this facelift is like a cosmetic surgery that went awry. damn, that front looks ugly..!
    previous captiva’s a good car (i have one), but naza really sucks big time. naza after sales service is pathetic. i still haven’t received replacement parts ordered over 1 year ago…! friends who bought peugeot also complain of the same thing, and swear they’ll never buy from naza. naza is only interested in selling cars, and nothing else. don’t buy anything from naza…or u’ll regret it…!!

• Iylia H on Aug 23, 2011 at 11:04 pm

agree on u about the new design cue.

but i had the best experience with NAZA after sales as compared to cergazam. Bought the captiva in 08, way before NAZA took over sales of chevy.

I had difficulties in claiming for parts defect during the warranty period with cergazam. I had to threaten to sure them to change the crack rear lights, which cracks for no reason on both side (only after threatening, they manager told suddenly they got the parts in the store)

And for the second time, the stainless steel exhaust got rust on it, they say they need to take photograph, and which they did and would contact me after 1 week to decide whether it is eligible for warranty replacement or not. 1 week passed, still no call. Luckily, I was invited for the pre-cruze launch which was 3 weeks later, where I had a chance to meet with the After Sales Manager, which I totally complained to him. And changed he instructed his boys to change the stainless steel exhaust the very next day.

So when NAZA took over, I had ago with NAZA, just for trying sake. Which unfortunately, my auto folding mirror got stucked. Contacted NAZA, brought to their kg.baru branch. They change the whole set immediately. Just before my warranty expires earlier this year.

• Joe Amigo on Sep 09, 2011 at 1:43 am

I hope you r not exaggerating but I think what you comment ada betulnya when come to parts and maintenance..this is always the problem ,,lambat..n expensive too. I have not made a decision to buy it though I like it. I am a bit sketical with Korean or western car when come to maintenance and parts..NAZA probably be more sympathetic and care about the customers too..ANY more comment from you ,please?

• Adham on Aug 23, 2011 at 11:38 pm

I think some of you guys might don’t know that all chevrolet that is sold in Malaysia like Captiva, Optra, Aveo and Cruze are Korean Car.. What I mean that the car were originally from Daewoo.. Daewoo is a korean automotive company that is almost bankrupt and then General Motors bought the company and now the company known as GM Korea in South Korea… GM change all the car name under Daewoo and sold as Chevrolet at most countries in the world… Anyway, correct me if gave the wrong information…

• Jeff Lim on Aug 24, 2011 at 12:06 am

You are right… Was in Saigon, Vietnam last week. Saw an OPTRA. But badged as “DAEWOO LACETTI”. And an AVEO badged as DAEWOO AVEO.

• Iylia H on Aug 24, 2011 at 12:07 am

yes GM bought daewoo… same as HOLDEN. Basically they are all GM’s car, which uses different names in different countries.

• treblecase on Aug 24, 2011 at 1:12 am

Well, it might be so but Cruze is available in the US and it’s the exact same car like everywhere else around the world with exception of Australia/NZ where it’s known as Holden Cruze & Korea’s Daewoo Lacetti.

• jerung on Aug 24, 2011 at 10:26 am

The current Chevy models are all global models under GM..i.e. they are not Daewoo cars with Chevy logos. The Captiva, Cruze etc are new models built by GM’s global design facilities and sold worldwide. Today, I don’t think there are anymore Daewoo models rebadged as GM/Chevy.
      But this still doesn’t change the fact that Naza sux big time…!

• carlito on Aug 24, 2011 at 12:04 am

i have to agree with everyone here, the facelifted front doesn’t really match the overall look of the car. i prefer the pre-facelifted front. The interior, especially the meter cluster, is a big improvement though.

• evoxi on Aug 24, 2011 at 12:55 am

dude,…add rm3k more and u can get a kia sorento!

• Jeff Lim on Aug 24, 2011 at 1:03 am

Totally 100% agree… Kia Sorento is 7 seater with PANORAMIC SUNROOF, 6 airbags… Better design… Auto cruise… Truly all rounder… BUT TOO BIG FOR ME… Prefer Kia Sportage…

• Will wait explorer to compare!

• ThePolygon on Aug 24, 2011 at 2:00 pm

Gosh… so much bad comment and not even a handful of good ones. Well from the numbers of chevrolet cars on road, I can see this brand is not selling well… I even see more cherry than this. It’s a shame as I kinda like the Cruze design…

• Joe Amigo on Sep 09, 2011 at 1:55 am

I dont know how is the efficiency and fairness in term of maintenance and spare charges in Peninsular. In Sarawak, KIA or any KOrean cars maintenance and parts are always a problem and lamentation of the customers ..lambat lah ,,mahal lah compare to other cars Japan cars. Any comment please.

• BumbleBee on Nov 13, 2011 at 8:31 am

I think this car is better looking than the previous one. It’s more American muscle looks. With the new engine, I think it’s going to be my next car. I like the looks and the performance data is impressive. It’s definitely one of the best Compact SUV out there. I’m going to replace my 6 year-old X-Trail for this when time comes.
    My kids said it’s a “transformers” car… :)

• Is Captiva CKD or CBU?

• Need your valuable input :-
    Amongst the current 2 diesel models – Chevrolet Captiva 2.0 and Hyundai Santa Fe 2.2 :-
    1) Which one has a better resale value for our malaysian market ?
    2) Also, if you are looking for a SUV, which model of the above 2 would you buy ? FYI, Santa Fe (Korean made) is providing a 5 year warranty period with only 2 years free maintenance service (labour & Parts) whereas Captiva (American) is only having just 3 years with 5 years free maintainance service (labour & Parts).
    3) Current Captiva (CBU) and have more safety features (eg 6 air-bags, etc) than the Santa Fe (CKD) – Like HM (Jazz), SD is beginning to treat us like fools (malaysian lives no longer priority to SD) & taking us for a ride. SD cars starting to be overpriced.
    4) Till today, is it true that the after sales-service provided for technical service and parts availability for both Naza and SD are bad compared to the japs.

• Isdin on Feb 04, 2014 at 1:28 am

My concern is the chevy logo …it look like a ‘cross’