Renaultsport Megane RS 250 Cup with Stage 2 tuning package – meatier at 320 hp and 488 Nm

This should definitely be of interest to Renaultsport Megane RS 250 Cup owners – 320 hp and 488 Nm running off the car compared to the stock 250 hp and 340 Nm should sound very much like a symphony to them ears.

Those are the numbers promised by a Stage 2 tuning package just introduced by UK-based performance specialist RS Tuning. The 320 hp at 5,500 rpm is dyno proven, and the maximum torque kicks in at just 3,250 rpm. Lots of tractability on call, what with over 350 Nm of the torque available from between 2,500–6,250 rpm.

It isn’t cheap, not at £2,499 (RM11,920) for the whole road legal (with sports cat) package, especially when you’ve also got to factor in shipping and taxes, but the outlay bags an alloy Forge Motorsport high flow intercooler, a choice of sports catalyst or cat bypass pipe (which cheapens things a bit), a Milltek stainless steel performance exhaust system and a specially developed RS Tuning ECU remap for the 250’s F4Rt engine.

There’s no timing data currently available for the RS Tuning RS 250 Stage 2 upgrade package, but the company says that road and track testing has revealed supercar style levels of in-gear and outright acceleration. For those who can afford it, the exercise should deliver an absolute stonker.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 320hp and 488Nm rough shod over the front wheels, then ask them to steer the car and do most of the braking too, this is insane. Unless Renault has come up with something very clever in the FWD to reign in the torque and power, I can’t see how this is going to be pactical.

• TurboMan on Sep 07, 2011 at 3:18 pm

Agree.

And 320 hp from 2 liter, meaning the turbo is boosting 1.8 – 2.0 bar.

I would change the engine oil every 3000kms or less. Fuel dilution from combustion blowby at that kind of boost pressure will be an issue. If not, im concerned about the longetivity of the timing chain. Evos and skylines are boosting at that level too, but they are designed to be boosted to those levels.

But other than that, it should be a blast to drive on track, torque steer or not.

• TurboMan on Sep 07, 2011 at 9:41 pm

Ppl who thumb me down obviously never owned and tuned a turbo vehical before.

Even modern turbo engines have issues with handling 1.8 – 2.0 bar of boost pressure.

• f4 ancient engine..still using timing belt..

• Lek9MmChit on Sep 08, 2011 at 9:19 am

and smart guy, which part of Evos and Skylines that were designed to take those levels of boost but not Megane?

Please don’t try to be too smart too quickly

• TurboMan on Sep 08, 2011 at 3:04 pm

And don try to shoot down ppl without offering a counter point.

Again, i blame the education system. Malaysians are really good at calling ppl names, whether directly or indirectly.

But are they able to produce a good counter arguement? If you disagree with me, let me ask you, have u owned any turbocharged cars before? And have you ever tuned them?

Let me ask you again you confused soul, what is the stock boost of evo x and the stock boost of this megane? How many bars?

What do you understand by fuel dilution and combustion blowby? How many percent fuel dilution is tolerable? If you need to look up wiki or “auto tuning for dummies”, then i shall rest my case, and end this arguement here.

• 1 malaysia on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:44 pm

mate, since you think’s you’re so knowleagedable about car, i think you should migrate to 1 world country instead of 1 MALAYSIA hear…

Let see what megane have….. remember, tuner is not local or asia, is orang putih lah……. why you so NEGATIVE…….

• Jeffkl on Jun 23, 2017 at 5:17 am

How come you don’t work or live in USA or China since you blame the education system ?

• Jeffkl on Jun 23, 2017 at 5:18 am

Sir- How come you don’t work or live in USA or China since you blame the education system ?

• TurboMan on Sep 08, 2011 at 3:07 pm

Looks like u r the “lek em chit”. Produce a counter point before bashing another person’s comment.

If not you look like a twat ( u r allowed to look up dictionary at this point ) or an uneducated fool.

• rally_fan on Sep 08, 2011 at 9:32 am

“Unless Renault has come up with something very clever in the FWD to reign in the torque and power”

which is why this is a 3rd party upgrade.. its not from renault.

• pomen_gtr on Sep 09, 2011 at 2:00 pm

well the 350hp ford focus RS black got clever electronic and torque sensing diff….to overcome the torque steer in corner….but jeremy clarkson test that car and found out that the straight line torque steer very obvious due to the electronic being too clever….hehehe…

interesting to see how this renault to get it done right(if)

• 1 malaysia on Nov 03, 2011 at 11:46 pm

u worries too much

• Geronimo on Sep 07, 2011 at 2:20 pm

This car is not cheap. So RM11k is peanuts for those going to own it and actually is a bargain for such a power boost.

• Citroën ds3 on Sep 07, 2011 at 2:30 pm

Sweetness… it was somewhat perfect… now.. the ultimate road weapon… i think renault will take over the helm of Evo and Subaru in terms of semi-affordable sports car?

• autojohndoe on Sep 07, 2011 at 2:48 pm

i thought the car in the picture is Myvi Extreme…

• Flat Black Ford Fiesta on Sep 07, 2011 at 2:52 pm

myvi tiru kaler megane!

• ridzyroo on Sep 07, 2011 at 3:10 pm

did anyone notice that the F4Rt engine actually spells fart? just saying

• megamind on Sep 07, 2011 at 3:17 pm

250’s F4Rt engine = FART ENGINE…hahaha

NOW thats a real upgrade…love the Megane RS250…if the new tuning is available in Malaysia…its gonna be yummy….wish other popular maker’s in Malaysia come up with similar upgrade package

• the car so small but with so powerful engine… madness… sure overpower..

• giggle on Sep 07, 2011 at 3:27 pm

320bhp is insane.. vw gti stage 2 is only 280 tops with all the hardware upgrades.. anyhow, it still looks ugly..

• Is this a good news for Harvinder? I wonder :P

• just wanna say that i do not like the looks of this car in pictures but in a flesh its a different story.. Really good looking car.. Need to work double time tho to have this car in my garage huhu

• this f4 engine can be trace bck to the waja 1.8..old skool engine..not very reliable after a while..renault biasalah..now is the era of direct injection turbo..320hp for front wheel drive..way too much..evo and sti’s are in totally different league..those are homologated rally cars for the road..

• I have a megane rs 250 stage 2 turbo boost 1.5 bar max i have around 330 horsepower ;)

• Mario Meganovski on Sep 09, 2013 at 10:35 am

I changed maps up to 295 horsepower and NM up to 400 and my clutch gone after 300km..:) And i never seen someone talking about clutch when they upgrade e.g 320hp and 488 NM. How is possible?
    (sorry for language, im not english:))