Kia Ray – first images of Korean market-only compact

Click to enlarge.

Kia has revealed the first official images of its new Ray compact vehicle, which will be sold exclusively in Korea. The production Ray shouldn’t be confused with the Ray Concept that the company presented at the Chicago Auto Show last year – this one is very much a box-type city car, far removed from the latter in terms of styling and shape.

There are very little details about the Ray, which the company says combines fuel economy with a spacious and highly versatile interior. Indeed, there’s not even a mention of powertrain options for the vehicle – that’s set to be announced closer to the vehicle’s launch.

Click to enlarge.

Design-wise, the Ray features a simple exterior silhouette, and the front combines the brand’s signature radiator grille with unique headlamps and LED daytime running lights. The rear, meanwhile, presents a wide and stable stance, accentuated by prominent LED rear combination lamps and vertically positioned bumper reflectors

The passenger-side rear door – in this case, on the right hand side – is a sliding-type unit, enabling not just easier ingress and egress in tight parking spaces but also provides a wide, unobstructed side opening for cargo storage.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Beemie on Nov 09, 2011 at 4:26 pm

two type of rear passenger door entry….

• Gajen on Nov 09, 2011 at 4:29 pm

looks cool, this will compete with the toyota bb/daihatsu materia

• passenger side rear door is cool!

• Arrian on Nov 09, 2011 at 4:40 pm

nice car, really damn nice car….can’t wait any recond car importers to bring this car to malaysia and sell it at RM168K.

• The Enthusiast on Nov 09, 2011 at 4:41 pm

Turned off by the box-shaped design. Otherwise, reminds me a bit of VW up!

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:30 pm

Box = space.

I think it looks great for the simple reason it has no pretensions of being something its not. Its a box on wheels to give you maximum space utilization and ease of ingress/egress. These tall boy designs are popular with older folks (ie. Kenari, Atos, etc because its easy to get in and out, easy to park and frugal)

Wonder if sister hyundai’s Kappa engine would make it in this. Had a drive in an i10 with the new engine, can’t say i’m not slightly bowed over.

• MrDDR on Nov 09, 2011 at 6:12 pm

How about Juara. Sure you say fugly

• 4G63T DSM on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:05 pm

Fugly or not, the problem with the Juara is how it drove…which is not very well.

The Juara is a little too far up being a truck/van…and in all fairness, Proton during that time didn’t exactly garner a lot of consumer confidence with its string of limited models like the Tiara and Arena….the same fate unfortunately afflicts the Savvy as well….good car but just not many takers.

This Korean is closer to what a Kenari is.

• drMpower on Nov 09, 2011 at 7:06 pm

Proton had one. Just like this. Only better. Had we bit more patient and give it more in support, pretty sure it would evolve greatly 2nd or 3rd gen.

Unfortunately we didnt give it much chance and hope and even before facelift stage, Juara was killed beyond repair.

I personally wish we given Juara bit more hope..

• nobody going to say it resemble nissan cube a lil bit too much? or is this a join between kia and nissan? because nissan cube is definitely the first thing i think when i see this news

• ah lee bin ah tan on Nov 09, 2011 at 4:55 pm

china made?naza suria?

• KitKat on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:25 pm

And soon there will be KDM craze, time will tell :)

• seriusSAM on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:36 pm

seems like good car to replace my mom’s kenari

thehehehe

• as usual lah on Nov 09, 2011 at 5:45 pm

suzuki stingray & suzuki solio?

• Halem on Nov 09, 2011 at 6:02 pm

Perodua Kenari elder Brother.

Bread Loaf ;-)

• super ugly….it’s like bathtub on wheels…

• Pak Abu on Nov 09, 2011 at 6:09 pm

We already had it in Malaysia. Juara…. Oh lupa. Freed…

• everybody want town box car I think…their look so modern and sofisticated design…now proton must think Juara again …honda also launch town box several week before..dont get left behind….ehe

• Leseid Obrut on Nov 09, 2011 at 7:29 pm

i bet peter schreyer had nothing to do with this…

• kington on Nov 09, 2011 at 7:48 pm

K cars are still a big hit in Japan. It’s a market that Suzuki and Daihatsu created for the masses and almost every manufacturer have one or two in their line-up.

This looks cool and cute at the same time. Hope they bring it in.

• proton juara is really ahead of its time…

• Ray?

• ThinkTen on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:01 pm

I don’t want THIS COFFIN lurking around in our road, scary and ugly.

• _xXx_ on Nov 10, 2011 at 10:19 am

excuse me, did u mean Kenari? Plenty of them on the road oledi…

• Sleepwalkerz on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:09 pm

I do really think that Kia is launching the car on time.no doubt that Juara is quite nice but Proton has made a mistake by launching it at the wrong time.should they launch it this year,we might see Juara vs Ray and guess who will win?

• Mitsu and Proton already have this kind Roti car so long la. P1 also can lead them. P1 come out the REEV Juara la. haha.. Better than them even..

• yuhuu on Nov 09, 2011 at 10:53 pm

Please think out of ‘BOX’.. lol…

• ah beng on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:08 am

gila huduh..

lebih huduh dari p1 juara yg x laku tu..

• moto-moto on Nov 10, 2011 at 12:10 am

hahaha.proton juara came 1st ages ago.u say cool? ptuih!ptuih!

• Redrules on Nov 10, 2011 at 9:09 am

I can’t understand why carmakers especially from Asia develope this type of vehicle. It’s not spacious as a load carrier nor it is spacious as people’s carrier. I don’t think the ride is comfortable nor stable. It don’t look good due to it’s rectangular shape no matter how the front and rear lamp is put. It would probably not a cheap car and most importantly it’s not a safe car for driver, passenger and pedestrian. In short, it’s not really a practical car.

• guess it’s true. proton’s biggest mistake with juara was the proton badge in front.

had it been honda, toyota, kia etc people would swarm over it like hippies over cocaine

• Honda Power on Nov 10, 2011 at 11:54 am

The front looks scary. I bet people will run away when they see this box on wheels approaching. Juara looks nicer than this car. Honda Freed is 100 times nicer than this Korean product.

• OMG…P.Juara look nicer than this?….pls lah….both cars also look superb ugly….

• David D on Nov 10, 2011 at 2:33 pm

Don’t bother then. You’re such a sucker for Honda products, even bad ones, that you’d go to bash any other cars as if they’re so awful. Come on, it’s just Kia’s first shot at this small van category, so give them a chance!!

And, FYI, the Freed’s a good car, with a great packaging, but in no way it’s a hundred times nicer than the Ray, since it’s not even out on the market yet. And it’s insanely expensive for what’s an Indonesian-made Honda.

• Honda Power on Nov 11, 2011 at 12:22 am

I agreed that Honda Freed’s price is ridiculously high (expensive) but this is because of our G’s ridiculous tax.

• erikson on Nov 10, 2011 at 4:50 pm

any better models?
    come on la…make it price competitive & packed with up to date features to attact niche markets.
    I’m sure it gonna sell, below 80k with 1.3cc @ 110bhp at least

• LOLED HARD on Nov 10, 2011 at 8:12 pm

For those think this car looks like Proton Juara, you guys must never been to Singapore, Hong Kong, Taiwan and Japan.

LOL

• kusochon on Nov 13, 2011 at 2:24 pm

shameless korean copying nissan cube

• techboy_88 on Dec 24, 2011 at 11:56 am

Hopefully, this Kia Ray will provide South Koreans with an affordable and spacious vehicle while at the same time being economically friendly.